Academy of Magic: Lair of the Beast

Academy of Magic: Lair of the Beast

PC

Match 3

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(130.83 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After discovering his heritage as a wizard and banishing the dark power that held the once-beautiful Academy of Magic under a curse, Dennis Griffin now attends classes with other young witches and wizards, including a girl named Elera who quickly became one of his best friends. Life has never been better.

When Elera's younger brother is kidnapped by a monstrous beast and students are forbidden from leaving the school, Dennis is desperate to help her save him. Yet there seems to be nothing they can do… until his rival, a student named Max, reveals he has a plan to find Elera's brother.

And so, the three sneak out of the school to begin a desperate quest to find the kidnapped student and save him from the beast, even as their greatest enemies begin to stir!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 147 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Academy of Magic: Lair of the Beast

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(130.83 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Academy of Magic: Lair of the Beast is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Academy of Magic: Lair of the Beast I enjoy playing games through this developer and I enjoy playing games in this series because it is to do with fantasy and Ilike playing games based on fantasy
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nostalgia to Harry Potter I noticed that this is similar to Harry Potter, but I don't mind. I feels nostalgic. It still has different story and I enjoy play this game.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the characters The characters are unique. I like Dennis has a rival, Max, plus there's the wise one Elera. They complete each other and are cute together as a team.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing game!! this game is so good..love it, make me feel so fun, happy, this game so cool
Date published: 2021-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from like it I am a senior who has been a member long time I like these kind of games yes they are easy but do take some thinking
Date published: 2021-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to play It's easy to play this game. I play it with my little brother to spend our time together. The tools are simple to understand and the world upgrades are excellent. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this magical-themed game I love it. It brings back Harry Potter's vibe, but with different plot of course.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FOR RELAXED SETTING PLAYERS :) Small warning: this game has the annoying tile that changes icons so one can choose which icon to play. Blink, blink, blink. I feel honest sympathy for the posters who enjoy the challenges of limited times or moves because the game is Relaxed setting only, but since I can no longer play with the challenge settings, this game will do just fine for folks like me and our kids/grandkids. And fortunately, I did not play this dev's last Match3, so I was not frustrated by any sameness. I know too well how nettling that can be, as this is not the only studio to pull that trick. Really, I'm having a good time and just bought the game with a coupon. There's nothing new here, it's just an ordinary M3, but still, it is a welcome relief from stress of our planet's current "carbon unit" misadventures.
Date published: 2021-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh Boring. Same old same old. no bangs no extras. No real rewards. I just didn't find anything to draw me in. Last time i will buy a game on the strength of reviews. My Bad
Date published: 2021-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy The thing that annoys me the most about this game is last weeks Match 3 was by the same developer and guess what ? It is virtually the same game apart from different tiles. What is the point ? Yet again there is only an untimed mode. I said in that game that people will be put off without timed or even limited moves. It stands to reason you will sell more games if you cater for all tastes. Some like untimed but more like more of a challenge There will be those that will like this game but come on, two weeks running, virtually the same game. Are there not any other developers of Match 3 games out there?. I know there are but where are they ? Please add a bit of difference. I am sorry but it is a big no from me and I was being generous with 2 stars.
Date published: 2021-01-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from IF YOU CAN'T LOSE, WHY PLAY? I don't understand why they can't offer a Timed option in their games, if someone wants to play in an untimed mode that's perfectly fine but why cut out 90% of Match 3 game players all because you couldn't bother to add an option...again? I just don't see the point of playing a game just to be swapping tiles with no reward when you can't lose therefore, you aren't really winning? If you get all the time in the world to complete a level, all you have to do is keep swapping tiles to get more elements to progress the story, etc, just saying! They have made the tiles bigger and less similar to each other so they can easily be differentiated, and they have changed the level layouts slightly (at least the order presented) other than that, everything else is still basically the same with the same features and game mechanics,(with the exception of no spiders) there are chests to open by making adjacent matches but not all of them have hidden elements, just a very select few. Once again, you can only play in a Relaxed Untimed Mode in this Swap type Match 3 game, where you swap tiles to make matches of at least 3 identical elements. You must make matches over all of the Gold Cells (and eventually Red cells that turn Gold) and make the required number of matches of each Element shown to the right of the screen. Elements inside of Bubbles, Morph (I think they appear when you make large matches, but I'm not positive) which allows you to pop the bubble when the desired element appears inside the bubble. The Chained Tiled has been replaced with Spider Webs although I'm not really sure what spiderwebs and elves have to do with each other? But I did I ask for something different and if spiderwebs are what they chose, then spiderwebs it is! You must purchase all 4 World Upgrades to progress to the next Chapter, with the Stars you earn playing the Match 3 levels. The upgrades still aren't very interesting nor are they colorful. It completely defeats the purpose of an upgrade, the purpose is to keep the player enthusiastic about playing so they want to finish building the kingdom, not inconvenienced by the annoyance. Large Matches allow you to use any of the Power-ups once the Mana Meter recharges. The larger the match, the quicker the Mana Meter fills. Once the Mana meter fills, Power-ups become available (included as you progress with upgrades) Here's a list of the available Power-ups (they are the same power-ups that do the same things in ALL of the Match 3 games by this developer, but you probably already knew that too!): *A Witch's Spoon: destroys a single tile and/or chain. *Max's Potion: destroys a 2 x 2 range of tiles cells/chains. *Wizard's Staff: destroys 5 horizontal tiles. *Fire Staff: destroys 5 vertical tiles *Forest Elf's Wand: destroys an entire horizontal row, cells/chains. *Advanced Wand: destroys an entire vertical line, cells/chains. *Azure Sword: destroys entire vertical & horizontal lines. *Ancient Wizard's Potion: destroys all of the same tiles. *Confusentus Hour Glass: Shuffles the entire board. *Magic Mushroom: destroys 20 random tiles. *Shaye Secret Bomb: destroys a 9 x 9 cluster of tiles, cells/chains. *Book of Incantations: destroys a 12 x 12 range of tiles You can purchase outfits with Elements in the Extra's tab that allows you to dress up Max with different school uniforms as well. You can find my series lists at my new forum thewoodsforum.boards.net
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from How not to do a M3 To exit from this game, one must hit menu twice, quit twice and OK once. That should illustrate how poorly this game was written. There are power ups which the authors have made mandatory to use in order to finish a level. Not good. This was a horrible M3 to play.
Date published: 2021-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from why? Another game with untimed mode only. What is the point exactly? Would it be so difficult to add a timer or so many moves to complete the game. I guess you don't read the reviews. The first Match 3 we've had offered to us in months it seems and 'this'! UGH. No thank!
Date published: 2021-01-12
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_32296, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Academy of Magic: Lair of the Beast

Join Dennis and his friends to save a kidnapped student from a monstrous beast in this exciting match-3 adventure!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.