Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(279.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

When a terrible storm overtakes a squad of brave Roman soldiers and workers on their way home from yet another military campaign, their ship crashes upon the rocky shore of a deserted island. But they quickly discover that there's more to the island than meets the eye when they find a mysterious portal hidden inside an ancient cave, where they're faced with a choice – face certain death on the island or step into the unknown. Now it's up to you to help the heroic Romans find a way home by building settlements, clearing paths, and defeating their enemies for the glory of Rome in this fast-paced Time Management game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • 8 exciting bonus levels to keep the fun going!
  • Help the Roman heroes get home with the official strategy guide!
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 296 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(279.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome has always been a favorite It's still the same game play--gathering, building, accomplishing the goals--but now they've made some small changes but good changes. One of the best one is all those "secret hidden objects" are shown to you so you know what you're looking for but they are still slight enough and hidden pretty well so it's not a cakewalk. I need cataract surgery so I can't see as clearly as I once did so this is a big challenge for me since I can't always tell what in heck I'm looking for. They seemed to have changed artists on the "cover" pics (like the one fronting the game) and the little workers are now in judo gi but they're the same go-getters. A few new types of things to deal with, new wild things, but it still feels like Roads of Rome and moves quite well. I've only begun play and am looking forward to playing some more today. I love all of these "Rome" games..
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Romans Get All The Fun Yet another mystical realm to discover and tame. This series has been refreshed yet again, with larger resources, new apparel (yep no more burgundy tunics--so last century) and different tasks. Resource management and strategy game which you can play untimed (relaxed) or via three timed modes. Each scene is lavishly detailed, with hidden objects here and there--and now they're displayed on the side so you can keep track of them more easily. Don't be lulled into complacency by the easy-peasy early levels; things will get tougher. Graphics are so lovely, you almost wish you could dive into the screen and be a part of it all. If you click on various critters in the scene, they'll make noises--the owl is a hoot! You can adjust sounds, music, switch to your pointer and disable tutorial. There are still a lot of familiar elements so that you're not too lost starting out. Since I was informed earlier this year by the publisher that there are no immediate plans to develop the third season of Roman Adventures: Britons, this lovely game definitely takes the sting out of that. Have fun with this one, I know I am.
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Latest Roads of Rome Thank you !!!!!!! I was just playing the old ones for the umpteenth time when I found the new game so unexpectedly. Beautiful graphics, old favorite characters (missing the vikings :-)), love to interact with all creatures and "village people"..Thank you again and hope there will be more - you made my weekend !!!
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A hybrid of old favourites! If, like me, you loved Northern Tales and ROR, you're in for a treat! This new game is a cross between the two; the basic gameplay from ROR together with the sounds and some elements from NT. The result is an excellent hybrid that's loads of fun to play; I was smiling all the way through the first levels! Bought without even bothering to trial it, as I've bought every past ROR game and loved them all. You can choose from 4 modes of play; I started off on 'relaxed' with no timer (but no points either). The hidden objects are back but with an upgrade; there's a small panel on the right of the screen that shows you what to look for e.g. a mushroom, a Viking helmet or a flower. Starts off with 3 to look for and increases the further on you get. You are also now given the choice to have your gameplay options highlighted with a green circle (or not, if you prefer). I turned it off but you can switch it on/off during the level. Otherwise it's basically ROR as we know and love it! The characters are larger but move slower and often 2 will work on road clearing together. The barracks are back but this time the soldier is fighting rats, with the help of a beer or 4!! I assume the beer gives him strength or perhaps just makes him feel invincible (as a lot of beer is often prone to do!!). The usual buildings need constructing, along with strange green obelisks which, for the moment, I'm puzzled as to what they do. No doubt I'll find out as the game progresses! Lots of achievements to earn but some may feel only 8 extra levels is not enough to warrant the CE price, even with the built in SG and the 'hidden object' map. Personally I have no problem with paying the extra for this excellent little game, especially when I got an SE I wanted for free with the offer. Absolutely no regrets buying it without the trial and I foresee many happy hours playing ROR: Portals CE :-)
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW It's been a long time since I enjoyed a game so much. Seems to me any more they are pretty much the same but I knew after the first 3 to 4 levels that I was going to buy this game. I usually do not buy Collectors Editions as I believe they are a waste of money but I cannot wait for the SE on this one, plus it is 60% off. As always test the demo to be sure it is your cup of tea but it was definitely mine. Gotta go, I am off to buy the game.
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best What a game, one of the best Time Management games I've played. Spaceships, golems, ghosts, bombs and lots of fun. The usual choices of modes of play. The strategy guide is on a video for each level. A reasonable amount of strategy required without having to pull your hair out. A variety of powerups ranging from 'move faster' 'instant recharge of resources and bonuses' Trade one resource for another. There's a variety of well hidden, small objects to find, you can turn of this feature in the game. You don't lose any stars for not finding all the objects, just a bit more fun or frustration...lol Well worth a demo, definitely recommend.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these Qumaron games This is a great game and really makes you think. i am on level 9 and trying to figure out how to make or get more gold or else i am stuck can anyone help me out there thanks!
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome : Portals Collectors Edition love the game - really enjoyed it yesterday but today just will not run - anyone else having problems with trojans???
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new feel and yet memorical game I feel like playing Roads of Rome and Northern Tale in one screen. Those two games are my favourite all the time long, and already finished all of the series. For the one who has not played it yet, I bet you'll be soon addicted as the game started.
Date published: 2021-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great challenging game At last another episode in this series. It is not just gathering resources, you have to complete tasks and really think about what the aim of the stage is. Plus there are hidden objects to find. It has a story. It is not the same as Adelantado Trilogy but I feel starved for a really good Time management game right now
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Winner! A definite buy for me AND it's a BOGO, too!
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent new TM game I enjoyed this so much I didn't want to go to bed! The spaceships - I have clicked on them during their descent/ascent and on the cargo. Nothing seems to be of any use. If you find something different please post! I enjoyed the new assistants (demolition, etc.). Enjoy and go to bed!!!
Date published: 2021-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition I enjoy playing games by this developer and I enjoy playing games of this style because they allow me to think about making certain moves
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Series Love this game - it takes more than an hour to get through it. You have to think about your strategy to get 3 stars on all levels. The hidden object are a fun extra. Love this series! More please.
Date published: 2021-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best One Yet! I have all the Roads of Rome in the series and play them over and over. This takes the best of all of them and rolls them into one. My only gripe is that the Little guys run SOOOO SLOOOOW. It is maddening. I do appreciate immensely the bonus objects being easier to track and find.
Date published: 2021-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the game, hate the jerking screen I'm a longtime fan of the Roads of Rome series, and appreciate how they always aim to make each new game fresh. When I saw there was a new one out, I was certain I was going to buy it. After playing the demo, I'm not so sure. They did two things with this game that I don't like. The most important is that the screen extends past the sides of your monitor. Every time you get close to an edge (collecting resources, for example), the screen jerks to show more on that side. It made me very queasy. The second disappointment was the hidden objects. Even though they've driven me crazy in previous games, I loved the hunt to find them all. In this game, they're not hidden at all, but lying in plain sight on the ground. At most they'll be slightly obscured by a bush. On top of that. when you get close they do the rainbow thing. And on top of that, there are pictures of the items on the screen at all times. So far, there's also been very little variety in what to look for. :( One feature I think is new is the possibility to toggle on and off the coloured circles that show whether an action is available. If it's off, you still get the action cues when you roll over something. It can be handy to turn on if you're at the end of a level just waiting to collect enough beer to get rid of one more animal. (I think beer in those days was as much a food as a beverage, so it's nutrition, not just drunkenness to make them brave?) I appreciated that in this game, they're helping aliens who came through the portal and were trapped. It's a refreshing change from the standard 'white man helping the natives' that is painfully common in time management games. All said and done, this is an excellent line of games, and the developers have worked hard to make it fresh fun with each new release. It's a lovely change from the more 'cookie cutter' serials that started out great and then tanked.
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fun! But not what I have been waiting for... I love the Roads of Rome series. They are typically the absolute best but this time I'm not as happy with this release. I find it not as challenging or as fun - it reminds me of Northern Tales 5 Revival which was not a favorite from that line of Northern Tales games which I use to really enjoy playing. I like this game but certainly not as much as all the other previous games such as the Britons line etc. Those were super fun, this one...not so much to me. The graphics are good and there are some fun changes but it does seem a tiny bit dumbed down. It is actually good, not what I have been used to with Roads of Romes games...but...I bought it anyway! Good fun all in all!
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, but stuck on level 9, can't select barrier I was enjoying this - some new features, like that it tells you now how many hidden objects there are to find. But, on both levels 8 and 9, I was unable to select a pile of wood that needs to be removed. On level 8, was able to select the next obstacles and move forward, but can't on level nine (wood pile blocking road to crystal). Very frustrating, so hoping a restart and/or a patch is forthcoming.
Date published: 2021-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Close, but could be better I'm not sure if this game is supposed to be "Roads of Rome" or "Roman Adventure", but it contains some of the best of both. However, it looks much more child-like than the "Roman Adventure" games. You don't get to choose where to build anything and the whole board is shown from the beginning. Toward the end of the game, it gets a little laborious to wait for items to spawn and monotonous in clearing the roads. Storyline? I'm sorry... there's a storyline to this? While you do get interesting facts, there is very little "interaction" between characters and after a while you forget why you're doing all this. Still, the game manages to be fun. While it's no "Roman Adventure" (how I wish they'd make another of those!), it's enjoyable and worth adding to your collection.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy to have another Roads of Rome (though not exactly the same) I am a big fan of the Roads of Rome, Northern Tales series, so first, thank you for coming out with another one. This is a different spin on Roads of Rome although as someone said, the fawn, moose, owl, ducks, fox are there but could not find the cute hamster(s). The hidden caches and general theme is there. Once I got used to it, it's quite fun. However, I have ONE big issue. I play these games in RELAX mode because I want to enjoy the scenery and little details, interact with the animals, etc. and not be stressed trying to beat a clock, but I DO WANT a SCORE! I try to beat my top score each time, part of the fun. Why are you NOT allowing for a score just because someone is in RELAX mode. Roads of Rome does not behave that way. Other than that, it was creatively re-invented and a lot of fun.
Date published: 2021-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game Liked the game but would like to see another Britons game.
Date published: 2021-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sooooooooooooo Close on this one Love the games from this developer!! Loved it so much that when I saw this released, I didn't waste time with the demo. The game play is what you're expecting; graphics and music are what you're expecting. My only complaint really is the fact that gathering resources on this one is difficult at best. You have the stumps that regenerate resources but it feels like they're slower than before which means you're sitting around waiting for more to show up before you can do anything. One level is impossible to get by because of this issue. (I've replayed 4 times, using different tactics each time and I'm still stuck so I'll have to wait for a walk thru to show up. It just seems a lacking this time around. I'll recommend it but be prepared to get frustrated.
Date published: 2021-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Scores??? I really like the Roads of Rome games but this one is quite different. I don't understand why I have no score at the end of each episode? I always play the relaxed mode and all the other versions give scores. If someone has the answer I would be interested in knowing what it is. I tried to use the Help pages and didn't get anywhere.
Date published: 2021-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mouse Pointer Issues I have played every ROR game and enjoyed all of them. This one though was frustrating because there were some mouse issues. It was difficult to aim the mouse pointer perfectly where it needed to be. I tried other games and it worked fine so I don't know why this one the mouse was so hard to aim but it made playing difficult. I did finish the game with all three stars after a few levels trying multiple times but it wasn't as enjoyable due to the mouse issues.
Date published: 2021-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from RoR series was great but New Generation RoR isn't I loved Roads of Rome, good time management games that you could play on a variety of levels even if there was a lot of nonsense about a young woman called Valeria having the respect and power over men in the storyline ... someone doesn't know their Roman history very well, but historical accuracy wasn't the aim, they were still good. This is a pale imitation of what went before. It's an OK TM game, nothing fancy, nothing special, has some level of challenge so OK for a quick game. Game play is very buggy, it freezes. crashes or you just can't complete because the items sometimes don't destroy the monsters. The only way around it was to sign out and back in again to restart. The twee rainbow help for finding secrets is somewhat patronising. The buildings and stumps take an age to produce, some levels were well over 20 minutes long, most of the time is spent waiting to get resources. This makes it a lot less fun. The resources are much more oversized than they used to be and the trolls constantly popping up is tiresome. If you love this kind of game, that's great, some do, it's changed too much for me, I preferred it prior to the rainbow tweeness.
Date published: 2021-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Total Click Overload! After 3 levels my wrist was already hurting from all the continuous CLICKING required in this Game. Why couldn't the Game developers just make a swipe to collect the materials or better still, create a SLAVE House where the Slaves come and collects all the materials for you. Now that would have been a good addition to the game as the Roman Empire was built on Slave Labor. Unfortunately the way the game is now, with all the continual clicking every second, I will definitely NOT be replaying this.
Date published: 2021-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition I love these games and this one is great! The only issue I see is that the games keeps freezing and unfreezing throughout all of the boards.
Date published: 2021-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of resource collecting!! Overall, this is a fun game that has alot going on in each level. However...the inability to upgrade to get more gold and bricks early on is frustrating and makes it hard to get stars. Some tasks require 100 gold and when you can only get 10 at a time from the mine and an occasional pile on a stump (which loads VERY slowly), it makes each level take 20-30 minutes to finish. It just seems like I spent most of my time running and collecting to finish a building, only to discover I needed even MORE gold or brick for the next one.
Date published: 2021-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Changed game play The game itself is fun with one exception This addition to the series seems to be on a track like all the other time management games. For me what made this series fun was the freedom to get extra supplies you needed without having to wait so long for the buildings to produce. I have played all the games in this series and have so enjoyed them all, I was disappointed when the game play changed. Hope the next one is back to how the rest are
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed for 1st time with Roads of Rome I was so excited that there was a new Roads of Rome instalment (although was really hoping for a new Britons!), but found this one to be lacking. I own every Roads of Rome game & regularly play them from the original through. For those who know the series, this game has much smaller screen areas (like playing on a zoomed in screen with no panning). And you don't actually do any road building! There's a few other things you don't do - very few bushes for food, and no option to cut trees for extra wood. It also seems the devs have taken a few shortcuts - one of the pre-game tips suggests using the cobbler quickly, but the cobbler isn't available in this game, nor any of the other 'upgrade' buildings like the hammer or pick. The hidden objects (as others have mentioned) aren't really hidden & there is a scroll on the screen to tell you what to look for. While I bought it, I don't love it and hope that the series will go back to its roots for any further chapters. One more thing - what on earth is going on with spaceships in Ancient Rome???
Date published: 2021-07-21
  • y_2021, m_7, d_31, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_32711, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Roads of Rome: Portals Collector's Edition

A mysterious portal spells trouble for a lost squad of Roman soldiers!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.