Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(460.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Make a wish... if you dare. A series of unexplainable fires has swept through the Danish town of Stars Hollow, leaving behind no bodies and no signs of fire. The only common clue behind the incidents is the appearance of a match girl at each crime scene. You set out to track down the girl, but what you discover is a dark mystery that defies imagination. Can you put an end to the deadly fires and uncover the heartbreaking history of the little match girl? Find out in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“As always, Blue Tea Games has produced a beautiful and fun game. LOVE your graphics. You always introduce new elements and challenges in each new game. I have them all.”  - beta tester

“I absolutely loved the game. Great story line, excellent graphics, beautiful scenes...everything I have come to expect from Blue Tea and Eipix. I have all of the games in this series. This is a must have for me!”  - beta tester


  • Help save a once-thriving kingdom from peril in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs, mini-games, and earn achievements!
  • Tons of parable pages and cursed objects to find!
  • Enjoy the exclusive soundtrack, videos and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 862 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(460.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another bright spot to the Parables series! Not going to lie when I saw this game pop up last week I was a little nervous that this game would be a disappointment like Requiem for a Shadow and the Thief and the Tinderbox, however I was very pleasantly surprised to be wrong! Once again the graphics are all Eipix but the storyline is all Blue Tea. This game is definitely ranked among my favorites of the franchise, keep up the work blue tea!
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Match girl with a twist The only 'match' this game has with reference to H.C. Andersen, is that it takes place on the Danish island Funen where he was born. As I'm not a fan of any one developer or series, I judge a game in itself. And found this excellent. Some of the puzzles are new, and can be challenging. The FROG's are in themselves good, but I don't care much about this aspect of the game.The map (which I needed quite a few times) is very helpful. I loved the graphics. I don't play with sound, so can't say anything about that.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE ‘FROG’ PRINCE HAS GRANTED YOUR WISH FOR A MAGICAL GAME REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 51 Pages STORY: Detective! - you are off to Funen, an island off the coast of Denmark to investigate a case of arson. Fires are appearing all over the village; however, no trace of a fire is seen afterward. People trapped within the burning building are missing; however, no bodies have been found. It is as if the body is engulfed by the flames. The only clue is that a girl selling matches has been spotted near the crime scenes. Rumor is that she is a witch who grants wishes. However, is that true or just a myth? Find yourself switching between the worlds of illusion and reality in search of the answers to solving this case. Be careful what you wish for! You may get it in this game! OPINION: Our FROG princes have created another opalescent, gem-like masterpiece in their Dark Parable series. This game has a touch of magic brought to life by the magic wand wielded by the genius of this developer. This is an old school style gem which displays master craftsmanship. You don't find many games like this any longer! The game is of decent length and has a good pace with plenty of activities and action to keep the player engaged. The graphics are incredibly beautiful with gem-encrusted inventory items which look like fine jewelry. The parable behind this game is excellent. There are hand-drawn scenes packed with fairy tale characters. There is a moral behind this gaming parable which makes it a great game for the whole family. MECHANICS: There are four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are thirteen (13) achievements. Collect twenty (20) morphing objects and twenty-eight (28) picture pieces to open five (5) parables in the main game and two (2) in the bonus chapter. I found some of the morphing objects somewhat difficult to locate. There are eight (8) wallpapers along with casual art and music and video selections. You can replay seventeen (17) puzzles and twenty (20) HOP scenes. In the main chapter the parables are: “The Little Match Girl,” “The Star Coins,” “The Ominous Beauty,” “The Forest Witch,” and The Second Prince’s Revenge.” In the bonus chapter they are “Fire of Youth” and “The King’s New Clothes.” BONUS CHAPTER: It is a prequel. The misguided Match Girl is off to visit King Oberon to try to save the kingdom. She is out to make her missing grandmother proud of her. The old king wants to be restored to his youth, but at what price? It has four (4) FROG scenes and four (4) puzzles. The bonus chapter is not very long, but I feel the story is excellent and provides more detail on the background for the main chapter. HOP SCENES: They are all FROGS – producing incredibly beautiful jewel-encrusted inventory items. Most of them are emblems of some type. There are twenty (20) FROG scenes in the game. PUZZLES: There are twenty-one (21) puzzles within the game. The puzzles are creatively designed. They vary in difficulty and there are some puzzles within this game which provide three (3) variations of the puzzle, each increasing in difficulty. There are some multiple-step ones as well. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME SAMPLES OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Multiple step: (1) Rotate zodiac symbols with markings along the outside of each symbol so that the markings match up with those on the symbol next to it. (2) On an astrolabe, rotate the signs which match those in the first part of the puzzle, so they are both oriented in the same direction. 3X B. Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide tiles into place so that each row has tokens matching the one along the side of the grid. C. Sequence puzzle. On a grid, turn off lights so all are off. Clicking on one light affects the others which surround it, either turning it off or if it is off, turning it on. 3X Increases in difficulty D. Matching puzzle. Match up symbols on a bow with those on a monster E. Connection puzzle. Rotate seven (7) tokens, each with four designs on them, so that matching ends are the same. F. Maze puzzle. Move a token from beginning to end by logically stepping on the correct tiles. If you step on the incorrect tile, you are sent back to the beginning. G. Physical puzzle. Keep the pointer on a symbol as it moves around the screen. 3X BONUS CHAPTER: H. Toggle pieces of a picture until they fit together to reconstruct a picture. I. Connection puzzle. Switch foods so that a twisted path leads from the food item to what it is made from. J. Connection puzzle. Connect all dots on a mirror without retracing steps. K. Pipe puzzle. Interconnect all pipe segments so they connect to each other.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Parables continues to be one of the few series that never disappoint Whenever a new Dark Parables game is made available I am more than pleased. For one, this is a fantasy genre entry that is not a cartoon, does not overwhelm the player with cute little creatures, elves, goblins, etc. and most importantly is geared to adults. As is always the case with DP games, the Match Girl is stunning to look at and the fractured object segments provide challenge to complete not to mention the finished product in all FROG scenes are gorgeous. The story does not keep with the original fairy tale by Hans Christian Andersen in that in the game the Match Girl is not a very nice character but I'll wager this will change as the saga reaches its conclusion since all DP games resolve issues with the " bad guy " and bring them back among the gentler souls. Although it is a minor flaw the opening cut scenes should not have the detective using a modern recording device since it never is in keeping with the otherwise old-fashioned flavor of all Dark Parables. Like I said a minor flaw but Blue Tea should nevertheless address it. I own all entries in the series and always enthusiastically endorse them. Match Girl is no exception as it is another Blue Tea diamond.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be Careful What You Wish For... ...the Little Match Girl may be near. I am always super excited to see another Dark Parables game - and this one was no exception. PLEASE DO NOT STOP making these - they are one of several series I have in completion. It would have to take drastic changes for me to stop buying them. I just love this series of games! The ambiance of the music always fits so well with the D.P. games, creating just the right atmosphere - I love the brilliant jewel-tone colors and that everything is jeweled or detailed, filigreed or fancy in some way (though in the first scenes of the game, I agree with another reviewer, it was a bit hazy/blurry- perhaps because of the fire and smoke in story and that it is nighttime in game - but as I played further into the demo, like when reaching the maze - the colors became brilliant, the picture sharper. The same artistic rendering was used for people - though I wouldn't exactly call it cartoonish- as in all their games. If there was a change made, it isn't a big one that I could see. As in all their games, the stories they devise are massive twists on classic fairy tales/parables - The Little Match Girl no exception. Yes, it is different than Andersen's work, but so are ALL of these Dark Parables stories - and with every one of them I was satisfied with character growth, plot resolution, etc, by story's end, so I'm sure I will be with the Little Match Girl too. One of the parables to unlock was The Little Match Girl story, (one of my favorite Andersen fairy tales growing up as a girl) but rewritten with an ending that fit this game. Another thing they like to do is blend classic tales - (I think this one also was a take on the Emperor's New Clothes? Or maybe King Midas with everything turning to gold? Not sure on that yet.) And of course, beloved characters from former D.P. tales make an appearance in some form or other, if not in person, with a mention in things found as you play...I like their way of telling backstory through things run across in your quest - extravagant plaques and statues with things written, or a page or picture or other item - not a cut scene telling backstory (that's okay too, but Dark Parables has a unique way of doing things that have always made them stand out and I admire that) - I'm happy they still have the parable pieces to find and their challenging morphs in many scenes! Please don't stop that either - but like another reviewer said - it would be SO COOL if you could go back to how you did it with the first game - where the morphs were triggered after entering other places and then going back - finding morphs where there were none before. Oh, that was such fun! I remember when I first saw that happen in a garden scene of Curse of Briar Rose - I did a double take - super excited to see such a neat concept - it was like a surprise gift to run across - and each time I found one that had been triggered after that, I squealed like a kid at Christmas time. lol I think only Dark Parables ever did their morphs that way. Back to the review - lots of fun, would recommend, is #1 on my "to buy" list. But check out the demo for yourself- and enjoy! :)
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm just glad Blue Tea is developing these again! This is the second game since Blue Tea took the series back (another reviewer was incorrect in saying this was an EIPIX game) and I am loving the return to the look and feel of the games. I played the beta and had a good time, and have now purchased the full game.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Tragic Chapter to the Dark Parables Franchise This story is loosely inspired by the Little Match Girl, with a bit of the Emperor's New Clothes, and Narcissus. The game starts off slow, but picks up speed and by the end my heart was ripped to pieces. I also liked the connections to certain past Dark Parables games. The VA was superb, and the bonus chapter provides some backstory for the match girl.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cup of blue tea please.... have all of these.. the past 5-6 have been dreadful, this one is an improvement..still needs a lot of work..graphics were blurry, and everyone is so stiff. that said..the HOS were very easy..needs work..over all, a much better game than the last dozen...
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Match Girl Exquisite game in every way! From the plot, to the graphics, to the hidden object scenes...there is nothing that I didn't absolutely love about this game! Well done!
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Blue Tea I have bought all of this series. An automatic buy when I see them. Beautiful graphics and pretty music. It is fantasy so doesn't have to follow the old story.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Just wanted to add my voice to the positive reviews. I love that they've made the map easier to use. The art is amazing and I actually liked several of the puzzles (which I usually skip). It's a definite buy for me.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game series Great Game, I have all of Dark Parables games and all are truly awesome
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does not disappoint! I absolutely love the Dark Parables games. I own all of them. When I saw there was a new one, I bought it without even playing the demo and was not disappointed! I won't go into every small detail and option of the game since others have already done that, but will just say that if you love the previous Dark Parables games then you should love Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition.
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fantastic DP addition! Yet again, I'm amazed by the art, animation, puzzles, and story for this, the newest chapter of the Dark Parables series. It was great to be taken to the homeland of the creator of The Little Match Girl and see what twists her story would have. The connections to past games were good. There's no teaser for the next game, but at the first glimpse of nutcracker soldiers, I couldn't help but wonder if it might be Nutcracker related... As usual, I'm left craving for the next installment... Can't wait!
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the beauty of the FHOG! Brilliant!! Dark Parables by Blue Tea are my favorite! I own all the games done so far, and will continue to buy the CE as long as they are made! The talent executed by the devs is fenomenal! The beauty of this game is magnificent! The FHOG are executed in such a way and the item it creates is wondrous! A MUST buy!!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They're Back! This reeks of "Blue Tea" being involved again. Woo Hoo!!!! DP had long been my favorite series. But, alas, the heart of the series had left when Blue Tea went to games for I phones. For me what made the series was, an aura of Fairy Tale. The music was perfect, the stories MADE you keep playing. I loved the hops putting all the jeweled goodies together. THIS game brought that back for the first time in years!!! Just finished the first playing and the bonus chapter. And, going again thru my favorite "The Exiled Prince". If you loved this game, try the early ones too. :)
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! It's good to have the Dark Parables I know and love back! The graphics are awesome (the colors so crisp and clear), the story line easy to follow. The mini-games were challenging. I have every one in this series. Can't wait for the next one.
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not as good as previous ones in the series My wife and I have played this whole series as they came out, and we've found the last two rather disappointing. There wasn't as much material here as in the previous game, the bonus chapter was particularly short, and there's no opportunity to go back and find the missing Parable elements. This means that to get the whole back story we'd presumably have to replay the whole game and not miss anything. The artwork and music in the HOPs continue the high standard we're used to. The strongest parts of the game were the opening sequence (with one really creepy incident) and the illusory garden maze. There were a few nice nods to earlier stories but they aren't continued in the later stages. The puzzles contain some confusing elements and a few outright errors. It doesn't help to be told you have to go over each line in a network, when in fact the task is to visit each point. For the first time we're left wondering whether to buy the next in this series.
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from twists and turns absolutely another success. Great graphic's through out loved the music. Will recommend this to all. Well done team. enjoyed immensely.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Parables are back! That is what a dark parables game should be! It has all the elements a good game should have. Nice music, charming characters, well-designed puzzles, and a good plot. I really enjoy the story. At the same time, it has some shrotcomings. First, the movies are a bit blur and jagged. I think EIPIX and Blue Tea Games should make them better. Second, the puzzles and HOPs are too easy to me. The items in a HOP are easy to click because the color isn't toned well. It doesn't take me too much time to slove them. In short, Dark Parables: The Match Girl's lost paradise is a good game for those who want to enjoy good plot and beautify artwork, but it isn't a challenging puzzle/HOP game.
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the world is but a dream... The king of artwork returns in a somewhat sad but fairytale-worthy game. Mesmerizing scenes, atmospheric music, characters that stand out... The gameplay itself and the puzzles become not so important and the only thing I could see needing an improvement are the puzzles. overall rating: 4,3
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eipix / Blue Tea Finally Found Their Combined Groove I was actually surprised at how much I enjoyed this game. While puzzle complexity is a personal thing, this game got it right for me...not brain-busting and not kindergarten easy either.. Overall the graphics were pretty good all though the animation could definitely use some improvement. (For the life of me, I don't understand why EIPIX does improve this and the graphics compression). They once told me they create games in HD and then compress them for BFG. Here's an idea - create them at a level that doesn't require compression!
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from disapointed great game till i got to a certain area and then couldn't pick up an item i needed so game came to a quick end. un-installed, re-installed still can't get it work. really disapointed.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful graphics - Terrible story Not too sure what else to say beyond the review title. The graphic quality of the game is absolutely gorgeous, but the story is so convoluted and fragmented that I never really got any sense of it. It's all about the little match girl -but not really... Puzzles are OK. I prefer games that offer alternatives to HOP and I also skipped two puzzles that were so slanted towards the arcade/fast reflex type that I was unable to completed them. (If I wanted to play arcade game buy them) I wish the rest of the game had lived up to the excellent graphics
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So Frustrating There's one puzzle where you have to look through a telescope and focus on half a dozen symbols but it just takes forever. It's very tedious. You have three buttons to choose and you're just clicking, clicking, clicking until it either focuses or not. I switched difficulty levels so I could just skip it but the skip feature isn't working so I'm basically stuck here now. Too bad. I was really enjoying the game up until now. It says you can switch difficulty levels but maybe not.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened ? I always loved "Blue tea" game for their graphic. Very intricate almost real feel to it . This game feel like it was created by a child . Storyline all over the place,Very cartoonish feel to it . For the first time I actually sorry that I bought this game . After having all of them.....it is very disappointing .
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not up to the usual Parables standard What a mixed up game. Story line very confused. Games were generally OK but not as difficult to find objects as others in the series. Glad I brought this on offer and not pay full price.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Poor Quality Game I was so excited when another Dark Parables came out but was so very disappointed to learn that it was such poor quality! The last release was excellent, like the old Dark Parables used to be! This one, unfortunately is like the previous ones, poor quality! I always purchase these games but not this time.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from it was very frustrating at a point in the game I became stuck..and so finially went to the menu - game help...it didn't help, it shows a broom, leaning against the wall to pick up, well my broom is in the frame where you put the heart, it is a whisk broom not a full length broom and NOTHING I do will give me the broom. Finially I go to the forums to see who else is having trouble..there isn't a forum for this game....whats with that...I am disgusted, and unhappy. I buy a collectors edition, and this is what a get a whole lot of frustration. not having fun...I do not recommend this game
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a worthy addition to the Dark Parables series. I truly wish (*lights a match*) that Eipix would stop taking over other developers' series, because they don't seem able to maintain the elements that we all loved. I disliked the graphics. What made Blue Tea's graphics so incredible was the ornate nature of the scenery, items, and outfits. The graphics in this game just look gaudy; everything is overly bright and much too ornate. The result is that everything looks the same. Which makes it difficult to remember which shaped key goes where. And that's all the gameplay was...finding and placing shaped keys. In 20 minutes, I encountered one HO scene and one puzzle. The rest was shaped keys, which is both annoying and boring. The HO scene was, of course, a FROG, the design that characterized this series. The puzzle was a dual maze, but mine didn't seem to work. I was able to move the pieces a couple times, then they became stuck in place. Lastly, I didn't care for the storyline. The little match girl was pitiable in her suffering, not a heartless villain. While I like fairy tale reboots that are clever, this one isn't, and Blue Tea's reboots were always clever and interesting. I recommend playing the following episodes instead... From Blue Tea: • Curse of the Briar Rose • The Exiled Prince • Rise of the Snow Queen • The Red Riding Hood Sisters • The Final Cinderella From Eipix: • The Swan Princess & the Dire Tree • Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow
Date published: 2018-11-02
  • y_2019, m_12, d_12, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_29184, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition

A sizzling take on the classic tale of greed, yearning, and redemption.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.