Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(460.86 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Make a wish... if you dare. A series of unexplainable fires has swept through the Danish town of Stars Hollow, leaving behind no bodies and no signs of fire. The only common clue behind the incidents is the appearance of a match girl at each crime scene. You set out to track down the girl, but what you discover is a dark mystery that defies imagination. Can you put an end to the deadly fires and uncover the heartbreaking history of the little match girl? Find out in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“As always, Blue Tea Games has produced a beautiful and fun game. LOVE your graphics. You always introduce new elements and challenges in each new game. I have them all.”  - beta tester

“I absolutely loved the game. Great story line, excellent graphics, beautiful scenes...everything I have come to expect from Blue Tea and Eipix. I have all of the games in this series. This is a must have for me!”  - beta tester


  • Help save a once-thriving kingdom from peril in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs, mini-games, and earn achievements!
  • Tons of parable pages and cursed objects to find!
  • Enjoy the exclusive soundtrack, videos and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 862 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(460.86 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Match girl with a twist The only 'match' this game has with reference to H.C. Andersen, is that it takes place on the Danish island Funen where he was born. As I'm not a fan of any one developer or series, I judge a game in itself. And found this excellent. Some of the puzzles are new, and can be challenging. The FROG's are in themselves good, but I don't care much about this aspect of the game.The map (which I needed quite a few times) is very helpful. I loved the graphics. I don't play with sound, so can't say anything about that.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fragmented in more ways than one Based on the finished game with bonus material In Denmark our Detective follows the match girl Giselle. I found pieces for six parables (two in the bonus chapter) and 20 morphing objects. The music is pleasant. I found flaws- The guide said 6 chapters but the game had 9 chapters. I found two puzzles with no instructions and the guide didn't help. But one puzzle is replayed and has instructions there. I had one place that paused itself and I turned it back on. Besides these things, I loved the game. The bonus is a prequel called The King's Fiery Clothes. Has replays on 17 mini-games, 20 lovely fragmented hops, 9 video, 6 music and 8 wallpapers.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Tragic Chapter to the Dark Parables Franchise This story is loosely inspired by the Little Match Girl, with a bit of the Emperor's New Clothes, and Narcissus. The game starts off slow, but picks up speed and by the end my heart was ripped to pieces. I also liked the connections to certain past Dark Parables games. The VA was superb, and the bonus chapter provides some backstory for the match girl.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Blue Tea I have bought all of this series. An automatic buy when I see them. Beautiful graphics and pretty music. It is fantasy so doesn't have to follow the old story.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game series Great Game, I have all of Dark Parables games and all are truly awesome
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fantastic DP addition! Yet again, I'm amazed by the art, animation, puzzles, and story for this, the newest chapter of the Dark Parables series. It was great to be taken to the homeland of the creator of The Little Match Girl and see what twists her story would have. The connections to past games were good. There's no teaser for the next game, but at the first glimpse of nutcracker soldiers, I couldn't help but wonder if it might be Nutcracker related... As usual, I'm left craving for the next installment... Can't wait!
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Just wanted to add my voice to the positive reviews. I love that they've made the map easier to use. The art is amazing and I actually liked several of the puzzles (which I usually skip). It's a definite buy for me.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be Careful What You Wish For... ...the Little Match Girl may be near. I am always super excited to see another Dark Parables game - and this one was no exception. PLEASE DO NOT STOP making these - they are one of several series I have in completion. It would have to take drastic changes for me to stop buying them. I just love this series of games! The ambiance of the music always fits so well with the D.P. games, creating just the right atmosphere - I love the brilliant jewel-tone colors and that everything is jeweled or detailed, filigreed or fancy in some way (though in the first scenes of the game, I agree with another reviewer, it was a bit hazy/blurry- perhaps because of the fire and smoke in story and that it is nighttime in game - but as I played further into the demo, like when reaching the maze - the colors became brilliant, the picture sharper. The same artistic rendering was used for people - though I wouldn't exactly call it cartoonish- as in all their games. If there was a change made, it isn't a big one that I could see. As in all their games, the stories they devise are massive twists on classic fairy tales/parables - The Little Match Girl no exception. Yes, it is different than Andersen's work, but so are ALL of these Dark Parables stories - and with every one of them I was satisfied with character growth, plot resolution, etc, by story's end, so I'm sure I will be with the Little Match Girl too. One of the parables to unlock was The Little Match Girl story, (one of my favorite Andersen fairy tales growing up as a girl) but rewritten with an ending that fit this game. Another thing they like to do is blend classic tales - (I think this one also was a take on the Emperor's New Clothes? Or maybe King Midas with everything turning to gold? Not sure on that yet.) And of course, beloved characters from former D.P. tales make an appearance in some form or other, if not in person, with a mention in things found as you play...I like their way of telling backstory through things run across in your quest - extravagant plaques and statues with things written, or a page or picture or other item - not a cut scene telling backstory (that's okay too, but Dark Parables has a unique way of doing things that have always made them stand out and I admire that) - I'm happy they still have the parable pieces to find and their challenging morphs in many scenes! Please don't stop that either - but like another reviewer said - it would be SO COOL if you could go back to how you did it with the first game - where the morphs were triggered after entering other places and then going back - finding morphs where there were none before. Oh, that was such fun! I remember when I first saw that happen in a garden scene of Curse of Briar Rose - I did a double take - super excited to see such a neat concept - it was like a surprise gift to run across - and each time I found one that had been triggered after that, I squealed like a kid at Christmas time. lol I think only Dark Parables ever did their morphs that way. Back to the review - lots of fun, would recommend, is #1 on my "to buy" list. But check out the demo for yourself- and enjoy! :)
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cup of blue tea please.... have all of these.. the past 5-6 have been dreadful, this one is an improvement..still needs a lot of work..graphics were blurry, and everyone is so stiff. that said..the HOS were very easy..needs work..over all, a much better game than the last dozen...
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Match Girl Exquisite game in every way! From the plot, to the graphics, to the hidden object scenes...there is nothing that I didn't absolutely love about this game! Well done!
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Parables continues to be one of the few series that never disappoint Whenever a new Dark Parables game is made available I am more than pleased. For one, this is a fantasy genre entry that is not a cartoon, does not overwhelm the player with cute little creatures, elves, goblins, etc. and most importantly is geared to adults. As is always the case with DP games, the Match Girl is stunning to look at and the fractured object segments provide challenge to complete not to mention the finished product in all FROG scenes are gorgeous. The story does not keep with the original fairy tale by Hans Christian Andersen in that in the game the Match Girl is not a very nice character but I'll wager this will change as the saga reaches its conclusion since all DP games resolve issues with the " bad guy " and bring them back among the gentler souls. Although it is a minor flaw the opening cut scenes should not have the detective using a modern recording device since it never is in keeping with the otherwise old-fashioned flavor of all Dark Parables. Like I said a minor flaw but Blue Tea should nevertheless address it. I own all entries in the series and always enthusiastically endorse them. Match Girl is no exception as it is another Blue Tea diamond.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A DARK PARABLES GAME THAT IS EXCELLENT AND CLOSE TO WHAT I LOVED IN THE ORIGINALS Dark Parables The Match Girl’s Lost Paradise is the fifteenth game in the series and is the eighth one developed by EIPIX with the first seven games coming from Blue Tea Games who is the original developer of the series. Although this game was completely developed by EIPIX, it is in my humble opinion one of the closest to the original series aside from The Little Mermaid and The Purple Tide. After a rash of very short games that have only three or four chapters I am finding this game to be quite long with six chapters plus the Bonus Game. I have played for several hours and still have quite a long way to go in the game. As I played the game I was swept away by the touches that reminded me of what I loved in the original series. Although the HOPS might not have had the complete glitzy appeal of the originals they were close enough that I truly enjoyed them. The Puzzles are great and started off with a mechanical maze puzzle where you move the pieces by selecting arrows and moving a central bar. I found more HOPS early in the game than I did puzzles but I found both the HOPS and the Puzzles enjoyable and well done. I think the instructions for solving the Puzzles were a bit better in this game and it was easier to understand what needed to be done. Since I don’t believe in giving away all of the details of the game I will only say that if you loved the original Blue Tea developed Dark Parables, then I think you should enjoy The Match Girl’s Lost Paradise. What EIPIX brings to the table with these games is a functionality that I found missing in the originals. I was never able to get the maps to work correctly even when I was told they would be “jump” type where I could immediately move to another location. I also find the storylines a bit more compelling. If you happen to prefer the CE version of the game this one has morphing objects and collectible parables that are located in various scenes in the game. There are also the other goodies to be found that we all love in CEs such as Wallpapers, Concept Art, Achievements, Music, a Bonus Game, a Strategy Guide and we also get to replay HOPS and Puzzles. In the past year or two I have fairly much lost interest in the Dark Parables series as I missed the beauty of the original games. That being said, I must say that EIPIX has done an excellent job with creating The Match Girl’s Lost Paradise. As always I recommend that you try the demo to see what you think about the game but I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE ANSWERS YOU SEEK ARE RIGHT HERE IN THE MATCH GIRL'S GARDEN The Match Girl lived in fear nearly her entire life. Her Grandmother taught her to forgive those who treated her poorly, even her abusive drunken father who fell to pieces after her mother disappeared! But the tides have changed now, she's no longer that frightened little girl who sold matches in her father's shop. Some say she's an evil forest witch casting spells of sorcery to grant peoples wishes and desires. Others say she has just Lost her way to her garden Paradise! When I first discovered the Dark Parable series, there were already 4 games released, so I started with the original (scroll down for the series list in order) I was probably into the third chapter by the time I discovered the first Cursed Object. Sure, I was fairly new to the HOPA genre, but the reason I didn't "see" the Cursed Object was because of the geniuses programmers and game designers of Blue Tea! The first time you would visit a scene, the Cursed Object wasn't Cursed! No matter how long you stared at an object, it just wouldn't morph because it required an action to be taken in a different scene, a scene you hadn't yet unlocked. It may be 3-4 scenes later in fact, and you had no idea which action would trigger the Morph and in which scene! How cool does that sound? FOR THE LIFE OF ME, I CAN'T UNDERSTAND WHY BLUE TEA ABANDONED THIS FEATURE? (caps in case they are reading this review) When Blue Tea made a come-back with the Eipix Production Team financing their work, I thought the non-linear cursed objects would surely return now that they had no financial worries, but I was disappointed, and I'm even more disappointed that they have chosen to overlook several pleas from several Dark Parable fans to return to their roots to offer the feature that THEY created in the first place! To my knowledge, no other developer has offered this incredible feature in their games, if they have, please let me know in your review or at pf because I WILL purchase that game sight unseen! The Hidden Object Scenes or all Fragmented Object Scenes or FROG's, made famous by Blue Tea Games. These are the ONLY hidden object scenes I've ever found to be challenging. Nobody is able to blend objects into the scene like these devs can! I wish there were more FROG scenes in this game, I actually anticipated unlocking new locations because I wanted another opportunity to find more fragments. If you aren't familiar with Blue Tea style FROGS, you may not like them at first because they are so much different than the normal HOG's. There are 3 sections located at the bottom with pictures of several fragmented objects to search for. As each fragment is found, that object will become opaque. Once you have found all fragments in a section those fragments will join together to show that you have completed that section. Once all 3 fragmented objects are completed, the 3 sections will join together to become an inventory item that you will need to proceed. Many devs have attempted this unique style, but Blue Tea perfected it back in 2010! (now if we could just bring back the non-linear cursed objects I'd be one Happy Camper) The Mini-Games were good but could be better, for me they seemed rather easy to solve and are mostly the same puzzles we've done a thousand times, but they do have fairly good instructions. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter before and after the demo: 1-Guide gems in a dual screen maze to the top using individual directional arrows. 2-Swap triangular tiles to complete the image. 3-Rotate the circles to complete the scene. 4-Arrange the items to complete each character's activity. 5-Interact with the scenes decorations and place trumpets into their matching symbols. 6-Collect the gold from each character. 7-Select the center button to match the animal with the cylinder. 8-Select the button each time the slider crosses over the red marks. 9-Use red arrows to pan and green arrows to focus to find all symbols. This Collector's Edition version has 8 Wallpapers, 6 Concept Art pictures, 6 Music Soundtracks, 9 Movie Video Cutscenes, 17 re-playable Mini-Games, 20 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 13 Achievements to earn, 20 Morphing Cursed Objects to earn, 28 Parable Pieces (collect 4 pieces to unlock each Parable 5 Main/2 Bonus Chapter: The Little Match Girl-The Star Coins-The Forest Witch-The Ominous Beauty-The Second Prince's Revenge-Fire of Youth-The King's New Clothes) 6 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter. Enjoy the Dark Parables! DARK PARABLES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating  1-Curse of Briar Rose (March 11-2010) 4.3  2-The Exiled Prince (February 2542011) 4.3  3-Rise of the Snow Queen (December 1-2011) 4.6  4-The Red Riding Hood Sisters (September 20-2012) 4.6  5-The Final Cinderella (May 23-2013) 4.4  6-Jack and the Sky Kingdom (February 6-2014) 4.2  7-Ballad of Rapunzel (June 26-2014) 4.3  8-The Little Mermaid and the Purple Tide (November 13-2014) 3.7  9-Queen of Sands (May 21-2015) 3.5 10-Goldilocks and the Fallen Star (November 19-2015) 3.4 11-The Swan Princess and the Dire Tree (July 7-2016) 3.8 12-The Thief and the Tinderbox (September 22-2016) 3.4 13-Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow (February 23-2017) 3.0 14-Return of the Salt Princess (March 15-2018) 3.9 15-The Match Girl's Lost Paradise (November 1-2018) n/a by: Blue Tea Games
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise I played the beta version of this game and loved it. I have been waiting for the release will be getting this game too I have all of the Dark Parables games love the story line in all the games and the HOS in this game are good the story line is a good one the coloring and art work are great had no glitching game played great for me. if you like the the Dark Parables game you will like this one as will.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE ‘FROG’ PRINCE HAS GRANTED YOUR WISH FOR A MAGICAL GAME REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 51 Pages STORY: Detective! - you are off to Funen, an island off the coast of Denmark to investigate a case of arson. Fires are appearing all over the village; however, no trace of a fire is seen afterward. People trapped within the burning building are missing; however, no bodies have been found. It is as if the body is engulfed by the flames. The only clue is that a girl selling matches has been spotted near the crime scenes. Rumor is that she is a witch who grants wishes. However, is that true or just a myth? Find yourself switching between the worlds of illusion and reality in search of the answers to solving this case. Be careful what you wish for! You may get it in this game! OPINION: Our FROG princes have created another opalescent, gem-like masterpiece in their Dark Parable series. This game has a touch of magic brought to life by the magic wand wielded by the genius of this developer. This is an old school style gem which displays master craftsmanship. You don't find many games like this any longer! The game is of decent length and has a good pace with plenty of activities and action to keep the player engaged. The graphics are incredibly beautiful with gem-encrusted inventory items which look like fine jewelry. The parable behind this game is excellent. There are hand-drawn scenes packed with fairy tale characters. There is a moral behind this gaming parable which makes it a great game for the whole family. MECHANICS: There are four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are thirteen (13) achievements. Collect twenty (20) morphing objects and twenty-eight (28) picture pieces to open five (5) parables in the main game and two (2) in the bonus chapter. I found some of the morphing objects somewhat difficult to locate. There are eight (8) wallpapers along with casual art and music and video selections. You can replay seventeen (17) puzzles and twenty (20) HOP scenes. In the main chapter the parables are: “The Little Match Girl,” “The Star Coins,” “The Ominous Beauty,” “The Forest Witch,” and The Second Prince’s Revenge.” In the bonus chapter they are “Fire of Youth” and “The King’s New Clothes.” BONUS CHAPTER: It is a prequel. The misguided Match Girl is off to visit King Oberon to try to save the kingdom. She is out to make her missing grandmother proud of her. The old king wants to be restored to his youth, but at what price? It has four (4) FROG scenes and four (4) puzzles. The bonus chapter is not very long, but I feel the story is excellent and provides more detail on the background for the main chapter. HOP SCENES: They are all FROGS – producing incredibly beautiful jewel-encrusted inventory items. Most of them are emblems of some type. There are twenty (20) FROG scenes in the game. PUZZLES: There are twenty-one (21) puzzles within the game. The puzzles are creatively designed. They vary in difficulty and there are some puzzles within this game which provide three (3) variations of the puzzle, each increasing in difficulty. There are some multiple-step ones as well. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME SAMPLES OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Multiple step: (1) Rotate zodiac symbols with markings along the outside of each symbol so that the markings match up with those on the symbol next to it. (2) On an astrolabe, rotate the signs which match those in the first part of the puzzle, so they are both oriented in the same direction. 3X B. Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide tiles into place so that each row has tokens matching the one along the side of the grid. C. Sequence puzzle. On a grid, turn off lights so all are off. Clicking on one light affects the others which surround it, either turning it off or if it is off, turning it on. 3X Increases in difficulty D. Matching puzzle. Match up symbols on a bow with those on a monster E. Connection puzzle. Rotate seven (7) tokens, each with four designs on them, so that matching ends are the same. F. Maze puzzle. Move a token from beginning to end by logically stepping on the correct tiles. If you step on the incorrect tile, you are sent back to the beginning. G. Physical puzzle. Keep the pointer on a symbol as it moves around the screen. 3X BONUS CHAPTER: H. Toggle pieces of a picture until they fit together to reconstruct a picture. I. Connection puzzle. Switch foods so that a twisted path leads from the food item to what it is made from. J. Connection puzzle. Connect all dots on a mirror without retracing steps. K. Pipe puzzle. Interconnect all pipe segments so they connect to each other.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from twists and turns absolutely another success. Great graphic's through out loved the music. Will recommend this to all. Well done team. enjoyed immensely.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Parables are back! That is what a dark parables game should be! It has all the elements a good game should have. Nice music, charming characters, well-designed puzzles, and a good plot. I really enjoy the story. At the same time, it has some shrotcomings. First, the movies are a bit blur and jagged. I think EIPIX and Blue Tea Games should make them better. Second, the puzzles and HOPs are too easy to me. The items in a HOP are easy to click because the color isn't toned well. It doesn't take me too much time to slove them. In short, Dark Parables: The Match Girl's lost paradise is a good game for those who want to enjoy good plot and beautify artwork, but it isn't a challenging puzzle/HOP game.
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the world is but a dream... The king of artwork returns in a somewhat sad but fairytale-worthy game. Mesmerizing scenes, atmospheric music, characters that stand out... The gameplay itself and the puzzles become not so important and the only thing I could see needing an improvement are the puzzles. overall rating: 4,3
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eipix / Blue Tea Finally Found Their Combined Groove I was actually surprised at how much I enjoyed this game. While puzzle complexity is a personal thing, this game got it right for me...not brain-busting and not kindergarten easy either.. Overall the graphics were pretty good all though the animation could definitely use some improvement. (For the life of me, I don't understand why EIPIX does improve this and the graphics compression). They once told me they create games in HD and then compress them for BFG. Here's an idea - create them at a level that doesn't require compression!
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful graphics - Terrible story Not too sure what else to say beyond the review title. The graphic quality of the game is absolutely gorgeous, but the story is so convoluted and fragmented that I never really got any sense of it. It's all about the little match girl -but not really... Puzzles are OK. I prefer games that offer alternatives to HOP and I also skipped two puzzles that were so slanted towards the arcade/fast reflex type that I was unable to completed them. (If I wanted to play arcade game buy them) I wish the rest of the game had lived up to the excellent graphics
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from disapointed great game till i got to a certain area and then couldn't pick up an item i needed so game came to a quick end. un-installed, re-installed still can't get it work. really disapointed.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So Frustrating There's one puzzle where you have to look through a telescope and focus on half a dozen symbols but it just takes forever. It's very tedious. You have three buttons to choose and you're just clicking, clicking, clicking until it either focuses or not. I switched difficulty levels so I could just skip it but the skip feature isn't working so I'm basically stuck here now. Too bad. I was really enjoying the game up until now. It says you can switch difficulty levels but maybe not.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not up to the usual Parables standard What a mixed up game. Story line very confused. Games were generally OK but not as difficult to find objects as others in the series. Glad I brought this on offer and not pay full price.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened ? I always loved "Blue tea" game for their graphic. Very intricate almost real feel to it . This game feel like it was created by a child . Storyline all over the place,Very cartoonish feel to it . For the first time I actually sorry that I bought this game . After having all of them.....it is very disappointing .
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Poor Quality Game I was so excited when another Dark Parables came out but was so very disappointed to learn that it was such poor quality! The last release was excellent, like the old Dark Parables used to be! This one, unfortunately is like the previous ones, poor quality! I always purchase these games but not this time.
Date published: 2018-11-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Forced myself to play As soon as I started this game, I could tell it would not be top on my list of games. Boring. Way too much back and forth and the hidden objects required piecing items together. Been there, done that too many times. Too repetitive. Graphics were not much and way too much dialogue. I wish there were more puzzles and less hidden objects. I play many hidden object games, but this is one I will delete. Only finished playing because I paid for it so I was going to play it.
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I loved the real story of the Little Match Girl. When I first read the story as a child, I cried because I felt so sorry for her. So why did they have to cast her as a villain in this? That really bugged me. While the graphics were better than they have been in the last number of games since Eipix joined up, it wasn't enough for me to enjoy the game. I felt like I was constantly moving from place to place. There was exactly one thing to do in a location, and then you had to move. I found myself just getting annoyed. In fact, I have not played the bonus chapter yet, and don't know if I will even bother, for that reason. I used to love these games when it was just Blue Tea Games. Since Eipix came on board, I have been completely underwhelmed. The only reason I bought this one was because it was The Little Match Girl. I should have known better. I think this may be my last Dark Parables venture. It's such a shame, because I love the FROGS.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a worthy addition to the Dark Parables series. I truly wish (*lights a match*) that Eipix would stop taking over other developers' series, because they don't seem able to maintain the elements that we all loved. I disliked the graphics. What made Blue Tea's graphics so incredible was the ornate nature of the scenery, items, and outfits. The graphics in this game just look gaudy; everything is overly bright and much too ornate. The result is that everything looks the same. Which makes it difficult to remember which shaped key goes where. And that's all the gameplay was...finding and placing shaped keys. In 20 minutes, I encountered one HO scene and one puzzle. The rest was shaped keys, which is both annoying and boring. The HO scene was, of course, a FROG, the design that characterized this series. The puzzle was a dual maze, but mine didn't seem to work. I was able to move the pieces a couple times, then they became stuck in place. Lastly, I didn't care for the storyline. The little match girl was pitiable in her suffering, not a heartless villain. While I like fairy tale reboots that are clever, this one isn't, and Blue Tea's reboots were always clever and interesting. I recommend playing the following episodes instead... From Blue Tea: • Curse of the Briar Rose • The Exiled Prince • Rise of the Snow Queen • The Red Riding Hood Sisters • The Final Cinderella From Eipix: • The Swan Princess & the Dire Tree • Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I see retirement... Hello friends! As usual, I mostly review on the game play and not the story, as others do a much better job of that than I. Wow, is this really #15 in this series? The graphics aren't bad, but still a bit blurry. The characters have no real animation and if anything does move, it's very stiff. Colors are mostly faded with some purples here and there. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen very well. Voices, what we had of them, were okay. Our bad little girl has a very high pitched and annoying voice. This is the only plus to a quiet game, so you don't have much contact with her, or anyone else. We do still have that annoying chime whenever we find something. Sound FX are few and far between. The scene pictures in the strategy guide are very small and blurry. Again, we have nothing but FROGs. I don't mind fragments now and then, but not for the entire game. I did not see that you could switch to anything else when you got bored with the same thing over and over again. The fragments can be small and are either colorless or blend into the same color background. Yes, the scenes are quite cluttered, with the fragments overlaid onto other items, trying to make them harder to see. Hint system was helpful, but occasionally tells you there is nothing more to do here. Eventually there is a transport feature, but I was well into the demo before it showed up. There is a lot of running back and forth between scenes for one thing or another...too much. Puzzles were very simple and nothing new. Collectibles were 20 morphing items, which were not difficult to spot. We also have "parables," which are actually puzzle pieces to complete 5 different puzzles. There are only 4 pieces to each one. These are not as easy to spot, as they are usually quite faded in color to try to hide them. All that I ran across were plenty large enough to see, you just have to look for them. Definitely needed more in this area. As usual, there is nothing new in this old series. I haven't purchased any of this series for quite some time. The story is old and boring and moves very slowly. There was absolutely no challenge anywhere in this game, and almost no character interaction. I'm not even sure a beginner would find this one worth the CE price. However, I'm sure there will be some who find this game fun. It was difficult to find something positive about this one. It just needs to be retired. I didn't even find it interesting enough to consider it as an SE, so no buy for me and no recommendation to others. Too bad, this used to be a nice series, but they don't upgrade to keep it fun. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for today. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BAD GAME Hard to figure what the games need to solve, the story line doesn't make sense. If I exit to the menu my game and profile are gone. Have to restart game from beginning. I regret buying this game.. I hate it
Date published: 2018-11-05
  • y_2018, m_12, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_29184, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: The Match Girl's Lost Paradise Collector's Edition

A sizzling take on the classic tale of greed, yearning, and redemption.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.