Haunted Hotel: Beyond the Page Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Hotel: Beyond the Page Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(397.06 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games invites you to check into another Haunted Hotel – hope you packed your courage!

A prolific horror writer invites you to a desolate hotel for an interview. But when you and your partner, James, arrive, the place is completely empty… and completely creepy. As you wander the darkened halls looking for the author, you start to see impossible things, monstrous things, things that could only come from the mind… of a prolific horror writer. Is his world coming to life? Or is something more sinister going on? Find out in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • You must return to the Prime Hotel to defeat the Musketeer, a terrible creature from Beyond the Page that threatens Michael Carpenter’s life - and yours!
  • Play and re-play more challenging HOPs and mini-games as you complete your Achievements, find Character Figurines and Morphing Objects, collect Picture Pieces to access exclusive Screensavers, and reveal the Secret Room!
  • Download original wallpapers, concept art, soundtracks and more!
  • Get some helpful support from the Strategy Guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1139 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Beyond the Page Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(397.06 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Hotel: Beyond the Page Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another topnotch Haunted Hotel game VERY good game in the series. The right kind of atmosphere, the graphics, the sound and voice acting all sublime. The level of challenge is spot on, not to easy, but not to hard either. And, so far, NO guess-infected minigames, which is a BIG plus for me. And the story-line is also as it should be in this kind of game. All-in-all a must buy for fans of the series.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game! I almost didn't purchase this game based on the original reviewer's bad review of the game. I am enjoying this game and DO NOT find it boring at all. I am loving everything about this game so far!
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fun game Granted, I only finished the demo but I really enjoyed it. Was it really scary? No. However, the story line was clear, the hidden objects and mini games were fun and I always love being around James.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun for a snowy afternoon. Not complicated, but a nice diversion on a snowy day.
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as good as older ones I like the Haunted Hotel series, but enjoyed them more, and thought the story line and graphics better, in the older versions, set in the 19th or early 20th century. Also, has anyone else noticed that James just stands around while you do the work, then takes the credit for solving it?
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thanks for sending the fix to correct this game! I had given up towards the end because I could not move forward. And low and behold today they sent an update to fix the point I could not solve! I thought it was me and was about to start over but the fix came and i finished the game in 2 minutes! Good game. Thanks for the fix! P.S. most of the mini games are not clear...
Date published: 2019-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TRULY ENJOYED! First let me say-everyone has their own type/style of games they enjoy.so naturally opinions of a game will be different. I truly enjoyed this game! Liked the artwork (not those sliding around figures Eepix used in the Ravenhurst that they did- and poor story telling interrupted with a gazilion puzzles-which pretty much killed off that series-one of the best in my opinion..The Original people doing that series, Especially in Return to Ravenhurst; had a story, had writers who knew how to tell a story, very good art/graphics/sound. Yes had puzzles but not so many that they interrupted the story too much. and had Great Atmosphere. Eeipix can't really tell a good story. Too bad because I think there were a lot more 'branches' on that strange family tree.). However - I have enjoyed this Haunted Hotel series quite a lot and This game is no exception..even more than some of the others. I like my games mysterious, creepy, atmospheric, Good story, great to look at and have good sound...and not puzzles that interrupt the flow of the game every time you make a small advance! There has gotten to be quite a shortage of this type of game here for some reason. I enjoyed playing this game quite a bit. And It is a Long game! Even the bonus game is Long!! You get your money's worth for sure. We need more good mysterious, creepy/eerie/mysterious games on this site (not talking about splatter or that type of thing) that an older person can get their teeth into. To this developer -ELEPHANT GAMES - THANK YOU FOR THIS GAME! Keep up the great work!
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from You Can Check Out Anytime You Like... It may be stretching it a bit to call this a "haunted" hotel but it's certainly stretching things no farther than need be to make for an interesting plot. We play as The Detective once more with the indispensible James at our side, and we're after the figments of a horror author's imagination that have grown all too concrete and are now threatening his very being, not to mention that of certain others who have been dragged into the fellow's surreal worlds. Pros: Excellent graphics, particularly weird in the case of the imaginary worlds of the monsters. Limited cast whose voice actors were very convincing including a young lady named Lou who actually sounded, well, like a young lady for a change. A bifurcated plot whose other route I'm going to replay the game to explore, because it's good enough to justify the effort. Plenty of puzzles, HO scenes varied and not at all boring. Cons: It's a rather short game, somewhat ameliorated by a generous Bonus game, but still a bit abrupt in the ending. It was rather late in the game that we got any nomenclature or reasoning behind the sundry spooky threats, which as characters of somebody else's horror novel remained a little too abstract for any real feeling of fear. Generally excellent game mechanics except for one puzzle, that got the correct solution and just sat there. Overall: Quite an entertaining game, better than I had expected from the early reviews. In a month overladen with Santa Claus riffs it was a breath of fresh air.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pace I found this game to be a nice casual game. No new bells or whistles... but at least its" not all talking & videos. The games are a bit tedious.... a little clunky... not smooth... so I've skipped many. There is however a glitch (if one were to call it that).... The sound won't play on my samsung tv speakers... I even temporary disabled my laptop speakers & restarted the game... no luck.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not dark and creepy, very well done! Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others who do a much better job than I. Is this really #18 in this series? Graphics are very well done, even with a little blurring now and then. Colors are fairly nice, but we still have quite a lot of blue and pink. These are not over powering, but tend to be a bit tiring on the eyes. Animation is very well done, with mouth movements and all. Didn't care much for the jumpy movement of the skeleton in the cemetery, makes my eyes feel weird. Voices aren't bad, and are age and character appropriate. We do have some creepy and sinister voices when needed. Music is exceptionally well done, quiet but sets the mood of the game quite nicely. Sound FX are nice when used. There is a lot of background sound, but mostly the music. HOG's are varied and quite well done. We have interactive lists, silhouettes and fragments. Items are not difficult to find and scenes are fairly clear and uncluttered. Puzzles are challenging, for a change, and take some time and thought to complete. Hint system is helpful and we do have the transport feature. This is quite helpful, as we do a lot of back tracking in this one and it is a great time saver. Collectibles are very well done. We have to find 30 various morphing items, 14 character figurines and 20 puzzle pieces. None of these jump off the page at you, but if you just have to remember to look for them. There is a bit of a challenge here as well. This one is probably the best in this series in a very long time. The story is interesting and no where near as dark and creepy as most of the others in the series. Some will find this story predictable, but quite well done. The story line is easy to follow and the game flows very well. I think most all levels of players will find this one fun and challenging. I gave this one a 4.75 on my scale. Downgraded only because of the color. Yes, I am adding this one to my collection.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HAS ATMOSPHERE....AND FOR THE MOST PART PLAYER FRIENDY This is not very characteristic of previous HH games, but that's ok because it is good to have something different and uncomplicated. We still have James to accompany us on our journey and what is not to like about that? He is like an old friend and is a welcomed feature in the games. The main issue I have is the graphics which are hazy and cloudy rendering it a strain to see at times, particularly in some of the HOS which were too dark in places. It would be much more enjoyable to be able to see clearly instead of being in a fog. I realize it is to create atmosphere, but that can be accomplished by definition instead of obscurity. There is a gamma to adjust the brightness, but it didn't clarify scenes any better. I found it to be distorting when set too high, so just left it in the middle. Another issue is the tiny screen shots in the SG. Could someone PLEASE make them larger? There is surely room enough for them on the pages. The game has an eerie atmosphere and is not complicated to play. There is a great deal of going back and forth, combining items and the assembling of items. There is a very useful transport map. After having to find logs to construct a ladder, I was very grateful not to have to look all over for nails. I am not fond of having to find multiple items in multiple places just to assemble something. I also had tons of inventory to keep track of which was rather inconvenient scrolling back and forth to remember what I had collected. The Extras are not overly impressive. There are 14 Character figurines that are quite large taking up too much space from being crammed in their places in the Bonus section. It's like they jump out at you and are distorted. There are 20 picture pieces that didn't look like picture pieces to me at all. Sometimes they just looked like a slab or mosaic. There are also 30 morphing objects that were large enough to see. The collectibles are indicated in the SG, but the shots are very small to see. For indicators, all you have is a tab sticking out on the right hand side that you can access and it also pops out when you have found one and the numbers of them. It would be more convenient to have the glowing icons for these along with the tab which should not be sticking out so far taking up a portion of your screen. It is distracting and unnecessary. There is a replay of 15 HOS and 12 Puzzles. There are more puzzles in the game than this, however, some of which I found very annoying and too time consuming. The HOS were decent and other than not being able to see clearly, I did enjoy them. Some effort went into them as well as their atmospheric artistry. For the most part, this is player friendly and relaxing to play. It is well balanced with an enticing atmosphere and likeable characters. There is always room for improvement, but I think it is a job well done with consideration for those who enjoy a non stressful game that is not exhausting to play.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haunted Hotel: Beyond the Page Collector's Edition I enjoyed playing the game. The puzzles are challenging and somewhat original. The first two reviewers didn't recommend this game and I almost passed it by. However, I decided to try it and it didn't let me down.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not a bad game I am no where near finished this game, but I don't mind it. It's not a difficult game, but as one other reviewer said - it's passing the time on a really cold & windy winter day. I do like that there are "extras" to find in the scenes. some of the scenes are a bit dark, so find it a bit hard to see them. I do love HOPA games, and only got 1 new one this past week (sob, sob !) I am getting tired of having to keep replaying games in my library of games. I will enjoy this one and hope there is a really good one coming out this weekend.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as bad as the 2 star review! I can only base this on the demo. It was quick paced and to the point. A previous reviewer found it boring and slow paced which I didn't experience. I played on advanced level. The demo ends on a cliffhanger where you have to make a decision about a situation you're in. I can only assume this will decide how the rest of the story goes. I mean it's not the best game I ever played and by no means is it the worst either! It's a decent game (so far) that didn't warrant any negativity towards it. I will most likely download the full game when my punch card is full as it left me wanting to know whether the decision I made in the final moments of the demo were good or bad! ;-)
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not true to form in the line of this Series The Haunted Hotel series is my favorite. I own every one of the games in this series. The graphics are always amazing and mostly the same can be seen in this one. I am a big fan of h.o.s so this game did not disappoint with h.o.s. or the puzzles. The only thing I did not like was the storyline. It started off with so much promise. Then approximately halfway thru it diverts into what I call 'Portal World'....a land with stones that rise in the air and bridges to join with another larger Rock with something on it. The graphics also seemed to degrade (become somewhat cartoonish) when going to 'Portal World'. E.G. knows the draw for all its Haunted Hotel series fans. 'IF' we wanted portal-type games there are so many out there already; in my view way too many last two years. We come to this series to escape 'Portal World'! Yet they chose to create this diversion that I found to take away from the overall appeal of the series, making it way less haunted and way more comical with monsters that mostly are laughable (like the one-eyed spider...which was very cartoonish in graphics). These monsters reminded me so much of the movie 'The Mist' based on a Stephen King novel. This is the only negative feedback I have ever had to say about any of the Haunted Hotel games. I truly love all the rest. If I had known I would have just purchased the S.E. and not the C.E. version of this game. I of course still recommend the game for the portions that were good (the first half of the main game and then the Bonus chapter). And I am sincerely hoping they dont err again with thinking of 'change' by ever taking the character of James away since his character has always been an asset to this series. If its not broke dont fix it E.G.!
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worst installment in my favorite series I won't describe the game play because other reviewers have done an excellent job already. My biggest problem with this game, besides the tediousness of tasks (find a key that opens a box that gives you another key that opens another box etc etc), is that it's sort of a ripoff of Stranger Things. !!! SPOILER ALERT !!! If you haven't seen Stranger Things 1 or 2 but plan to, don't read on! The monsters' world looks eerily similar to the Upside Down, similar colors and noises, even the floating ashes.... Also, someone has a pet monster called Musketeer(!!!) that later turns wild, this is a complete ripoff of Dustin and D'Artagnan's story. I really hope this was meant to be a joke?! I guess fans of the series will play this game anyway, but newcomers won't be impressed.
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Scary but too many spiders This game is definitely scary and has a great premise, a horror writer's stories come to life. Unfortunately I couldn't get past the seventh location as the sixth and seventh location has too many spiders that's too many for me. I generally like this series and if you don't have an issue with spiders, definitely play the trial.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ugh I could not wait for this game to end. To me the back and forth was to much I got so bored with game could not wait to finish it
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Truly haunted around every corner Again, BF needs half stars. This is better than a 3 star but not quite a 4 star. The story line is believable and moves along at a good pace without the constant useless back and forth so prevalent in so many other HO games. There is actually a purpose for the moving around in this one that I enjoyed and kept me on my toes. Characters are well drawn and act like humans and I actually got to play as a man and not a woman. The monsters that show up throughout the game are actually on the scary side and not clownish. I just wish they would jump out at you and give you a jolt rather than just sort of saunter through the scene. Graphics are a little dark but that fits for this game and enhances some scenes. If colors were bright the feeling of dread and fear would not be the same. Played the complete demo and it was over before I realised it so that means I was really into it. Now, who do I save...? I highly recommend this game despite some of the negative remarks. Enjoy!
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hohum. I know the Haunted Hotel series has settled into a pattern, and that happens to most series, but the earlier games were so much better. This games suffers from the inclusion of the clicheed possessed little girl (yawn),the clicheed giant evil eye (yawn), the clicheed portal to a evil world (yawn), saving my partner from a curse (again), and run of the mill minigames I've played in other games. The morphs are really obvious. There is no creepiness to the game. Some of the "monsters" are actually kinda cute. The "terrifying" skeleton creatures have a bad case of the twitches and look like you could knock them over with a poke from a small stick. The boss evil spirit is no more than a head sitting on what looks like antlers (probably the reason for his bad mood). And who knew? All that is needed to defeat him is one of those restaurant discs that lights up when your table is ready (at least that's what it looks like). I have only bought the latest Haunted Hotels at sale price. I would feel very ripped off had I paid more.
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Blah! This game was not up to par. I play hidden object games almost exclusively and just blah! The only reason I even finished the game was because I felt obligated certainly not because I wanted to. The story line was boring and the many of the locations seemed to essentially be the same. I recommend playing the trial before buying!
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turn the page, play another game. I have eleven of the Haunted Hotel series, so you’d be right in thinking that I like these games. Now comes Haunted Hotel - Beyond the Page Collector's Edition and, being the cautious purchaser —okay, make that cynical— I downloaded and played the demo instead of just buying it, or using some of the twelve credits I have stored up. I’m not going to describe the game play-by-play, or the so-called extras, others have done that and there’s no point in reinventing an already well-built wheel. Compared to some of the other Haunted Hotel games — Death Sentence, Phoenix, The Axiom Butcher, Personal Nightmare, to mention just a few— this game is very disappointing. Apparently Elephant Games graphics engine needs a tune-up because the clarity, the sharpness, the almost life-like movements of the characters, are all nonexistent in this game. I’m searching for a word or two that adequately describe for you what you’d see. Wait, I’ve got ‘em! Muddy, blurred out-lines, wooden movement! There you go, friends, that ought to give you the, ahem, picture. I also have to wonder if the writers of the other games have all gone to work for another developer because the quality of this story is far below the games that precede it. Even the dialogue is below par; stilted, trite, even childish. Speaking of childish, I have to yet again wonder where the directorial finesses has gone when the voice of the child —oh, yes, we have yet another terrorized child here— is so very poorly delivered by an obviously adult performer. After about ten minutes of playing this game I began to experience a feeling all too common to most of the this past year’s offerings —boredom! I really don’t expect much from a game, but I do expect that it will keep me engaged and give me some enjoyment. This game does neither. Nor does it get a recommendation from me that you buy it. In truth, I’d not even recommend it for a try-before-you-buy.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry This is not my Haunted Motel anymore. Visual/sound quality is OK. But the rest is not. No buy for me. But see for yourself. I really did not like it at all.
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HMMM, A HAUNTED HOTEL THAT'S NOT EVEN HAUNTED, IT'S JUST A MONSTER MOTEL Haunted Hotel USED to be one of my top 5 favorite game series. The only thing they got right on this Haunted Hotel was the excellent sound effects! I love creepy games and this series used to push the envelope with images of ghosts briefly popping up in a mirror, a ball coming out of nowhere as it slowly bounces down a flight of creaky stairs, images of dead people flash from the corner of your eyes where they met their demise, ghostly images appeared in windows, paintings that morphed slowly. A lot was left to the imagination, and it was always about ghosts in a Haunted Hotel, but this game is going down the tubes at a break-neck speed. Monsters? Really? Cheesy red-eyed monsters, really??? This isn't a Haunted Hotel, it's a Monster Motel. Why can't anybody develop a truly creepy game? These games are getting more G-rated by the minute. If you want a light-hearted G-rated game, make a Fairytale game series, make a Fantasy-themed game, but don't continue to make games for a HAUNTED Hotel if you are afraid to scare someone and have to compromise the plot! I guarantee you Elephant Games if you make a Haunted Hotel game that is really creepy (not gory, just creepy) people will love it. I realize a lot of you don't like the horror genre, but it's the number 1 genre everywhere else, and the number 1 reason gamers have packed their bags and checked out of this Haunted Hotel! There are no Gadgets or Helpers in this game, however, it does have ever cliche HOPA feature included. Elephant Games seem to love repeating the same scenarios in every game they offer, and to me, this is proof that they don't have much of an imagination. They don't push the envelope, they don't push themselves to make each game slightly better than the one before. You can count on using Oil to remove decades of rust instantly, you can count on every zoom zone to have a box missing emblems, a door missing emblems, a statue missing emblems, eyes, and limbs. You can count on something being blocked by a swarm of bees, you can count on thorny vines requiring something to protect your hands, you can count on discarding the hand protectors only to need more hand protectors a few scenes later. You can count on giant spiders and webs to cover those important missing emblems you need to progress. You can count on having to find several torn fragments with the combination to open everything from locked luggage to locked doors in every scene and zoom zone. The problem with these cliche tasks is that the game is too predictable. You'll know exactly what item is needed and where an item will be used. You know you'll need to use a coin as a screwdriver, you'll know the World Globe tucked in the corner of the room is going to be a zoom zone and you'll know for certain that it will require an emblem or two. You'll know the fireplace is an area of interest, the cabinet is missing a drawer pull or requires a key. This is a game you don't need Black Bar Tips or a cursor to change to a magnifying glass because it is so predictable. The Hidden Object Scenes are boring and so easy that you won't have to worry about earning all of the HOP related achievements (except for the one that requires you to finish one in over 10 minutes) They are mostly Interactive Listed Items with some Multiples of the same object (3 bones, 3 dogs) The ones that aren't Listed Items are Silhouetted Shape finds. There are 10 HOP's throughout the Main Game and a handful of smaller Zoom Zone HOP's that require you to find items shown as Silhouetted Shapes, one item at a time. There are no alternate puzzles available. Mini-Games were either so simple a small child could solve them, or so complicated you become maddeningly frustrated. Some of the instructions I would read, then reread, and finally just start fiddling around with the puzzle because the directions didn't do a very good job of explaining what needed to be done and how to go about solving it. There are 16 puzzles throughout the main game, so the balance ratio of HOP: Mini-Games are pretty even. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1-Slide square symbol tiles using empty space to the sequence shown. 2-Press directional & angular arrows to move token thru the maze. 3-Press arrow-shaped buttons to move blocks to the order shown in clues. 4-Rotate groups of triangles to join all small squares with matching symbols. 5-Move the skeletons parts to match the sketch shown as a clue. 6-Navigate the air shaft using a map, obstacles automatically update. 7-Follow the recipe steps, if you make a mistake you'll have to start over. 8-Rearrange books so the image on their spine creates an image. 9-Follow another stupid recipe in the correct order. 10-Use side buttons to shift skulls & crystals and drag to rotate disks to recreate the image. 11-Rotate tiles using directional arrows to recreate the symbols shown in the middle. This Collector's Edition version has 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art Pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 18 Achievements to Earn, 15 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 12 re-playable Mini-Games, 14 Morphing Character Figurines, 20 Picture Fragments to assemble 4 Scene Pictures, 30 Morphing Objects, a Secret Room (to locate progressive Morphing Objects in the Hotel) 3 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a built-in Strategy Guide, enjoy your stay at The Prime Hotel! HAUNTED HOTEL SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Haunted Hotel SE only (March 5-2008) 2.9 2-Believe The Lies SE only (January 7-2009) 2.7 3-Lonely Dreams SE only (August 28-2010) 3.3 4-Charles Dexter Ward (June 10-2012) 3.9 5-Eclipse (October 10-2013) 4.1 6-Ancient Bane (May 29-2014) 3.9 7-Death Sentence (December 18-2014) 4.1 8-Eternity (April 25-2015) 4.2 9-Phoenix (August 20-2015) 3.8 10-The X (November 12-2015) 4.3 11-The Axiom Butcher (April 30-2016) 4.1 12-Silent Waters (September 17-2016) 3.7 13-The Thirteenth (December 24-2016) 3.5 14-Personal Nightmare (May 25-2017) 4.2 15-The Evil Inside (September 30-2017) 3.8 16-Lost Dreams (March 8-2018) 3.8 17-Beyond The Page (December 26-2018) n/a by: Elephant Games
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A MONSTROUS BORE REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME: 3 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 41 Pages OVERVIEW: Are you ready for some true horror? You are off to the Prime Hotel to interview the noted horror novelist, Michael Carpenter. Within this hotel, Carpenter has created his own world of horror, bringing to life pages out of his own novels. Monsters from his books are everywhere within this hotel. Now the author, a prisoner within his own hotel, is being held captive by an otherworldly entity, the Creature. Learn the complete story behind this famed novelist’s success while battling the Creature and his fellow monsters, all while freeing those locked within the Creature’s monstrous grip. OPINION: I purchased this game and then regretted it. I love the games in this series; however, this one, to me, is neither scary nor of the same quality as the other games. I found this game a “monstrous” disappointment. It is a SHORT game which I found boring. The demo is not reflective of the true nature of the game. Most of the game is slow-paced, centering around chasing down monsters and running to-and-fro searching for inventory items. And although it is short, the game also has some filler. I got tired of all the monsters and remembering all the various classes of monsters within this game. It is overkill of monstrous proportions. MECHANICS: There are four (4) levels of play including a customized version. There are eighteen (18) achievements. Collect fourteen (14) morphing characters from the game, twenty (20) picture parts, and thirty (30) morphing objects. I found most easy to locate. You can replay twelve (12) mini-games and fifteen (15) HOP scenes. There is a secret room in which you search for more morphing objects within the rooms of the hotel. You can earn more achievements if you complete this activity within a certain amount of time. The number of items to be located within the scenes increases with each new item you search for. In addition, there are ten (10) wallpapers long with concept art and music selections. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. Return to the Prime Hotel to help the author, Michael Carpenter, with another monstrous problem. Carpenter found a stray animal wandering the grounds and decided to adopt it. Now the monster, named Musketeer, is grown, craving more hearty food and releasing more monsters into the hotel. Now you must stop another monster invasion. I found this chapter to be a carbon copy of the main game. There are five (5) puzzles and five (5) HOP scenes within this chapter. To me, it felt as if I were replaying the same game. The bonus chapter is long, but, to me, not worth the extra price for the collector’s edition. HOP SCENES: There are only nineteen (19) HOP scenes within the game including the five (5) from the bonus chapter. This number also includes four (4) mini-HOP scenes which contain a small number of items to be located. Except for two scenes, all the scenes are either lists of items or silhouette. They are standard fare with little, if any, interaction within the scenes. The other two scenes are matching in which you match up pairs of items by uncovering items within the scene. I found the scenes extremely boring. PUZZLES: There are only twenty-one (21) puzzles within the entire game including the five (5) from the bonus chapter. Most of the puzzles are easy – some ridiculously easy. Switching three (3) books to restore an image of a monster from the images on its spines is NOT a puzzle. Creating a medicine by combining only four (4) items in the right sequence is also, to me, NOT a puzzle. However, there are several puzzles which I did consider of medium difficulty. All the puzzles have been seen in some variation in other games. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Maze puzzle. Navigate an air duct by referring to a given map and choosing the proper path to exit the maze. Make choices by clicking directional arrows. Making an error requires you to reset the game. B. Logic puzzle. Plan a route for three tokens to reach their place on the other side of the grid. You can only move a token to a space which matches its image and the spaces change to another image after landing upon them. Strategize your moves so that you do not run out of places land upon. C. Alignment puzzle. As per a given diagram, move four tokens so they are in the same order as shown as per a given diagram. D. Sliding tiles puzzle. Using arrows, slide tiles up-and-down and sideways to restore an image. E. Beat the Computer. Fill up a grid with your chips before the evildoer fills up the board with his chips. Move a “James” chip within a square. If you land next to a token of the evildoer, it will change to your token and vice versa. BONUS CHAPTER: F. Go down a wall. Match up like symbols on wooden boards. You move down when you match up a series of symbols for each of three (3) scenes. G. Match-3 game. Connect 3 or more like tokens to remove them. You are given the required number of each token to remove at the bottom of the screen. You are limited to a specific number of moves to accomplish this task.
Date published: 2018-12-27
  • y_2019, m_3, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_29391, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Beyond the Page Collector's Edition

Survive a fictional horror turned real-life nightmare in a creepy hotel!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.