Detectives United II: The Darkest Shrine Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Detectives United II: The Darkest Shrine Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(462.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Your favorite detectives have teamed up for another mystery and this one spans the globe! James, Anna, and the Mystery Trackers each rush to investigate paranormal activity related to places from their past cases. Meanwhile, a dark organization looms over them all, threatening to take them out, one-by-one. Will they survive, or will this be their final case? Find out in this heart-pounding hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Elephant Games has done it again! Rich graphics, combined with attention grabbing storylines, makes for a most enjoyable gaming experience! I found nothing at all about this game to dislike.”  - beta tester

“I loved it! I've played all of the Grim Tales so it was great to see Anna and her Dad again. It was also fun having three different detectives to play. I will certainly be purchasing the first one, and I hope that the second one comes out very soon. I definitely think this is a five stars game!!!”  - beta tester

  • Travel to an alternate reality in the bonus game!
  • Replay HOPs and mini-games from castles and caves, and earn achievements!
  • Tons of collectible figurines, puzzle parts, and morphing objects to find!
  • Enjoy an exciting Secret Room challenge, exclusive wallpapers, music, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1264 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Detectives United II: The Darkest Shrine Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(462.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Detectives United II: The Darkest Shrine Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Time For Our Favorite Detectives To Unite Again I enjoyed this game in this new series almost as much as I liked the last one. The plot line seem somewhat dependent on having played the newest Mystery Trackers Fall of Iron Rock to complete understand what Shrine is and what was going on. That's the only reason I did not give it 5 stars, but I an for give that. It's a fun and good game, get the CE, it's worth it. Beware though if you miss a collectible during the game it doesn't give you a chance to go back and look for it. This is the 2nd one of these that I've missed only one and it's aggravating.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WOW! Didn't regret buying this game! Played it, enjoyed it, and even uploaded to Youtube! :D Recommended to those who are hardcore fans of Grim Tales, Mystery Trackers and Haunted Hotel! Overall, I think this is a pretty good game! Growing up with the Haunted Hotel franchise, I enjoyed the puzzles, difficulty level, and the design! My goodness! I have to say, 3 detectives working together is like a dream come true! It is definitely about time that the 3 games merged into a crossover, and made into a series! However, of course, there is still room for improvement. The storyline might have been exciting and great to look forward to, but there are some moments where I feel that the storyline seemed too rushed. All 3 just walked into trouble, despite possibly knowing that the others were in instant danger. No one was curious, or held their wits about them, and just ran into danger. Kinda raised an eyebrow on those moments. Anyways, still have to say, this is a good game! Looking forward to the sequel! COWABUNGA! 8D
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but way too short I absolutely love Anna (especially her father!) and the other Agents in their regular series. I've played them all. I LOVED Detectives United #1 and thought what a fantastic idea the developers had! I couldn't wait to play the second installment. Puzzles were fairly easy if you take your time to think them through. The HOPS were an assortment of variations, which I liked. The collectibles were pretty easy to find, although the puzzle pieces can elude you if you aren't careful. I'm glad they finally came out with the next installment, but (as usual), I'm gonna complain about the length of the game. Way too short. This had enough story content to go on for at a minimal of another 1/2 hour. It took me about 2 hours to finish this game (including the bonus contents). Thank goodness for the bonus game! At least it was interesting and (I'm assuming) sets up the next series installment. I would have given this game 5 stars if it had been a 3 hour game. I do recommend the CE because of the bonus game set up, but the rest of the bonus features are a snooze. Please try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trial: Another United Faction. Oh No! Graphics are excellent and Gamma allows a player to adjust color preference! Introduction was nicely crafted. I enjoyed the story as well as the switching of characters. Even with switching characters the developers were able to maintain a strong continuity. On a very positive note, they changed Richard's appearance and voice, which is a lot better and no longer cartoonish. Good job developers! The story maintained my interest, inventory items sometimes were actually used in the same room instead of making me run back and forth. I like a forward moving game like this. Wasn't so sure about the creatures in the stone that another faction possesses and plans to use against the Detectives. Apparently this new faction has the ability to move back in time, too. Guess I'll have to purchase the game to find out what happens and how the Detectives overcome this new faction with special abilities. Hidden Object games are well designed, a couple of dark corners but an abundance of well-crafted items. Only negative are the Mini games, not a fan of them anyway, but really dislike the ones that requires switching items and as you do it changes other moves. OLD and BORING! Find some new, innovative games. Tired of time consuming games that seem to run a player around in circles. Other than the Mini Games I recommend this game!
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from you left out our favorite { canine } not a bad game I like anna 's father Richard he has a wrap sense of humor !!! I think this will be a good series butt I hope they put { elf } in the next one.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Zombies, ghosts and monsters... Hello friends! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others. We have #2 in what looks to be a series. The graphics are very nice, with no blurring when going in and out of close ups. The colors were a bit muted, but very clear and true for a change. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo and the game fit my large screen quite well. We have very nice animation, when we have it. Voices are very well done, but character interaction is few and far between in this addition. Sounds like Anna's Dad has his old voice back, which is much better and more ghostly. Sound FX are very well done and throughout the game. Music stays mostly in the background, unless something is about to happen, or is happening, then it can get a bit sinister. We don't have any helpers, as such, but we do have a paranormal scanner that we use now and then. Personally, I didn't feel it was necessary, considering what it did. Yes, we have spooky ghosts with red glowing eyes, but I didn't really see anything that would completely creep me out. Be aware, things do occasionally jump at you. HOPs are somewhat varied, but mostly silhouettes during the demo. We have a combination silhouettes, interactive lists, and fragments. I didn't see that we had another game to switch to. Puzzles are mostly challenging, and a little different. They do take some time and thought to complete. Hint system is very helpful and we do have the transport feature for long distance travel. This is very helpful, as we do a lot of back tracking. I didn't even bother with jump map, since the transport does everything I need. Collectibles are well done as well. We have to find 14 morphing character figurines, that morph fairly quickly; 30 various morphing objects within a scene, and 20 puzzles pieces. None of the collectibles are difficult to see, you just have to remember to look for them, especially the puzzles pieces. The strategy guide shows you where the collectibles are if you miss one. We have Brown, Blackthorn and Anna Gray, along with her Dad, to help us out. I enjoy switching between characters...breaks up the monotony. The story is interesting, a bit different and flows very well. Even though there isn't much character interaction, we do have action and challenge to keep you interested. I was drawn into this game almost from the beginning, because of the story line. Of course, the end of the demo really left me wanting more! I think all levels of players will find this one fun, challenging and well worth the CE price. I really like this new series, so of course, I will add it to my collection of CE games. I gave this one a 4.5 on my scale, only because it needed more dialog. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game; too short The main game only took me 2.5 hrs to complete. Had it not been for the bonus game and buying on sale, I would have been highly disappointed. The HO scenes and puzzles were easy even though I play at the hardest level. Spotted a continuity error. Something is missing (can't say what but they have to try to get it back) but yet shows up in a scene with the 3 detectives standing before you get it back. Anyways, I hope they do better for the next game.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Disppointed I was really looking forward to this game as it includes my 3 favorite characters and the first game in this series was so well done and fun but this game is very disappointing. It was ridiculously short and I am not a fast player and the story line had no depth. Although the graphics were amazing, I feel let down as these developers should know we want a decent story as well as a decent length of playtime for our hard earned money.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from THE DARKEST NIGHT LEFT ME WITH SO MANY QUESTIONS THAT WENT UNANSWERED Completed Game 4.5 hours (including CE Bonus Chapter & all mini-games) The famous paranormal Detectives have joined forces once again to investigate "Operation Darkest Night" Anna Gray from Grim Tales uses her unique Time-Traveling, Time-Freezing abilities to investigate and often change life-altering events. James Blackthorne from Haunted Hotel brings his unique Paranormal investigative skills to the table, and Agent Brown from Mystery Trackers brings all the gadgets and gizmo's needed to solve this paranormal case. Elf has NOT joined this dynamic trio, therefore, an automatic star reduction!...a really big mistake...Anna brought Richard's Skull because that's what Grim Tales is about, so why would not include the 1 feature that's always a part of Mystery Trackers games?...huge mistake! I have to agree with one of my favorite reviewers who always "calls it as she sees it" I played the entire game, I read every note, but the storyline is as vague as it can be. Portals appear out of nowhere but all of the agents seem to be privy to them even though they just arrived. I have no fear as I eagerly step into the mirror world. Once inside the mirror world, I turn "Dark" why did I turn Dark? How did I turn Dark? All three of the agents are on the same page even though James heads to St. Mary's Orphanage (Grim Tales: Bloody Mary) Agent Brown heads to the Alps to investigate Schneider's Hotel And Spa (Haunted Hotel) and Anna Gray heads to the Blackhill mansion (Mystery Trackers) Wouldn't it make more sense to send the agents to their original investigation locations that they know everything about rather than sending them to an unfamiliar case? I completed the game, yet I have no idea what S.H.R.I.N.E stands for? Why did John create an entire organization just to suck the life force from an innocent person to revive the dead? Just a few days ago, Elephant Games turned a new leaf and offered a game that avoided all the cliche tasks, and Emblem-placing scenarios, only to borrow them for this game! I tried to keep track of how many times I was burdened with placing an emblem(s) but I lost track after placing 20 sets of Emblems within the first 3 chapters. (actually, my pen ran out of ink, which was another burden) If you think about an often used HOPA cliche task, I guarantee you, it's used in this game, Bee's swarming a much-needed inventory item (there's no hive, no pollen, thus no reason for the bee's to swarm a horn?) A well that's missing a bucket (and filled with random junk to taint the only water supply?) Locks encrusted with 30+ years of decayed Rust requiring a fresh squeezed lemon or anti-rust spray (works instantly and restores the item to factory specs instantly) Crows, Cats, and various animals viciously protecting a much-needed item that requires a dramatic fright (probably from the horn that's being guarded by a swarm of killer bees) Tweezers to tweeze all of those above-mentioned Emblems out of floorboards and every crack, crevice, nook and/or cranny imaginable. Something thin to open a door latch (how does a shed get locked with a latch from the inside...unless someone is still inside?) We are blessed with another Device, <sigh> a Mystery Tracker Paranormal Activity Detector, which also downloads paper maps and slips of paper with coordinates written in charcoal by simply placing the papers behind the device, yes, it downloads a map that has been neatly folded (and we all know how much of a pain those maps are to fold) no unfolding necessary...no QR code necessary, no scan or barcode required...the only thing required here is a lot of imagination? Even better, if a part breaks, and always does, it has interchangeable parts, buttons...perfect fit!...battery...perfect fit! Not only can you use parts from any other electrical component, but they work magically without actually being connected electronically! There is a slightly repetitive mini-game to complete using the device to "catch" 8 Paranormal Whisps" but it was only used 3 times and the third mini-game required you to connect the dots without back-tracking. A Mystery Trackers anti-Back-Tracker game lol. Actually, there are two Devices because Anna Gray has lugged daddy Richard's Skull to work again, but at least we don't have to complete a repetitive mini-game to summon him! There's one scene where they actually show Anna, James, and Agent Brown standing together and Anna has Richard's Skull neatly tucked into the crook of her arm. I don't recall ever seeing Anna actually carry Richard, he just appears in front of us. There are 10 Hidden Object Scenes and 8 smaller Zoom Zone Hidden Object Scenes requiring you to find 6 objects shown one at a time as a Silhouetted Shape (+7 CE BC) The scenes tend to be a little dark and some of the Silhouetted Shapes are pretty vague but for the most part, the items are well blended. There are only 2 types of Hidden Object Scenes offered, Interactive List Finds, and Silhouetted Shape Finds, and no alternate game offered for non-HOP fans. There are only 19 Mini-Games (+7 in CE BC) but they are really creative puzzles. The only game I wasn't crazy about was the repetitive "whisp collection" via the Mystery Trackers Paranormal Device, but it was only used a few times. Below are brief descriptions of some of my personal favorites. 1~Move tokens to their color-coded slots using directional arrows to rotate the central path hub. 2~Rotate groups of tokens to place symbols according to the clue shown. ? 3~Select numbered buttons to move the token in the indicated direction to avoid landing on obstacles.?? 4~Find and place track sections & use switches to guide the token through each section. (#1/3 part puzzle) ? 5~Rotate 4 knobs and select arrows to swap symbols to the correct knobs. (#2/3 part puzzle) ? 6~Rotate each token to align all color-coded wires. (#3/3 part puzzle) ?? 7~Connect all dots without retracing paths. ? 8~Direct tiles correctly from left to right moving vertically or horizontally. The Collector's Edition Bonus Chapter takes place shortly after the main game's timeframe when Nathaniel Prior contacts Agent Shade asking for help after the S.H.R.I.N.E organization is attacked. Anna Gray is unavailable so James and Agent Brown are assigned to the case. In some ways, the BC has a better storyline than the main game, and the length is decent. There are a lot of plot twists that take place over 8 scenes, but to elaborate further would ruin the plot, which someone else has already done, again. There are 7 Mini-Games and 7 Hidden Object Scenes, and you will pick up the remaining 8 Morphing Objects, 3 Morphing Character Statues, and 5 Zoom Zone Picture Fragments which unlocks the 4th and final Screensaver. This Collector's Edition version has 12 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art Pictures, 4 Screensavers (unlocks with Picture Puzzle Fragments collected) 4 Music Soundtracks, 18 Achievements (some in 3 categories) 12 Replayable Mini-Games, 15 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, a Secret Room (search for Morphing Objects) 14 Morphing Character Figurines, 30 Morphing Objects, 20 Zoom Zone Picture Puzzle Fragments (unlocks 4 Screensavers) 4 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-in Strategy Guide. DETECTIVES UNITED SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Origins (August 9-2018) 4.4 2-The Darkest Shrine (May 2-2019) n/a by: Elephant Games
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is anyone else wondering what Shrine is? I only played the demo because that is as much of this game I could stomach. What is Shrine? In the demo, we never find out. There's a lot of running around back and forth to locate things like keys and shaped objects for locks. One skater's shaped key was in 4 places. (Sigh) But I hate not recommending this game because I loved the concept of playing three different detectives. The first game was a great game. Not much thought seems to have been put into this one. Just try the demo. You may like it.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than the last...BUT I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline and being able to change characters. BUT, and it's a big BUT - it is way too short - it only took me a few hours to complete. The hidden objects and mini games are fun, but there is absolutely nothing challenging in this game. I'm recommending it but with the above proviso. It is also a shame that, unlike some other games, you can't go back afterwards and finish the collections.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed Waited months to see if they would come out with a part 2 and I am so disappointed. Loved the first one and this one is pale in comparison. On the fence whether or not to even buy it. Oh well just like with books and movies usually the second one is a dud and this one sure is. Just my opinion so try for yourself.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not happy I was looking forward to this second game in this spin-off series with 3 “old hands”; i.e., Anna Gray, (and her spooky Dad, Vincent, Yay!) from Grim Tales; James Blackthorn from Haunted Hotel ; and Agent Brown from Mystery Trackers.(minus the helpful dog; what’s with that?) Having said all this, for the first time ever, I hated this game! Mostly because I feel the devs pulled a fast one; I felt I’ve been had. Instead of a regular game and a bonus game, there was a _very_ short game followed by another game, called the bonus game. But this was the same game, just split in half! All the same characters, the same plot, although it was technically a sequel. Don’t get me wrong the puzzles and hops, morphs and collectibles were fun. But knowing that I wasn’t getting what I’ve come to expect gave me a sour feeling as I finished the game. To top it all off, the “Secret Room” (after the “bonus” game) that you knock yourself out in finding all the morphs, statues etc, had a timer on it! I hate timed games! I play to relax, and not having the option to turn off the timer was a big bummer. Also they got rid of my favorite, Vincent, and presumably you won’t see him again unless you buy another game in this series. This feels like blackmail. This is bad business and worse pr. And to be honest, both the games in this series are not as good as the other series this dev has put out. It is like all their energies were split between the three characters and there was just too much to cover and so they did nothing well. This has got to be the worst review I’ve ever given any game, and it hurts more because I’m a big fan of this dev and (previously) loved all their work. So, Caveat Emptor my friends. Let the buyer beware. For a better experience try any of the Grim Tales, but I recommend The Nomad, The Legacy and Crimson Hollow but all are good. Also all the Mystery Trackers are fun. I especially enjoyed Queen of Hearts and Four Aces early in the Mystery Trackers series, but they are all good.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Warning: This is Not A Great Follow-up To a Promising Serie's Opening Anna, James, and Agent Brown have decided to open their own agency. (Some one is confused as to what that would mean. Instead of a small private agency to cater to private clients, what they have apparently opened is an off-shoot of Mystery Trackers. This is illustrated by the three alarm emergency at their office, manned by Agent Shade. While it is a reasonable set up to start the game, it does not support the opening premise. ) Agent Shade alerts all three detectives when the paranormal alarms go off in three different locations simultaneously. So each of the three agents picks a destination and heads out to investigate one of the three alarms. (Who set up the alarms? And why?) The detectives each come across references to Shrine in their location yet no one is curious about it and they all run into trouble. Good stuff: You will take turns playing as each agent. There are several collectibles, like morphing statues and morphing objects included in the CE bling along with a barrage of shaped items to find in each location and enough running back and forth to max out a fitness tracker! You will have a piece of equipment that detects paranormal energy in the air. Find eight little sparks and move on. Bad stuff: Start with the story. This is not story lite; this is story MIA. Our characters are not particularly curious about the "Shrine" name that appears at each location and as these three people are investigating something neither they, nor we, know anything about, there is not much to go on story-wise. The use of multiple amulets to open things is constant and totally silly - James finds two watering cans to get bug spray for those ever present bees, to get them away from a horn to get a bird away from a light to repair the light's switch so we can unscrew the bulb, all while the resident malevolent spirit stands and watches us running back and forth in the room where it is "menacing" us from a few feet away. (And I so wish I was kidding.) Agent Brown opens a locked trunk and it explodes, leaving him with a pile of skis,climbing equipment, electronics, and snacks to sort through. When we catch up with Anna, her father's ghost speaks S L O W L Y, very S L O W L Y. His skull now has buck teeth and his ghost has put on weight. How odd. Bottom line: I can only recommend that you play the demo. I was sorely disappointed in this game as the first Detectives United game held so much promise.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gameplay is the same as every other Elephant game. I'm not paying for content I already own. I lasted 7 minutes before quitting in disgust. FIRST SCENE • device missing a part • mailbox missing 2 shaped keys • stuff floating in a well out of my reach • thorns to be pruned • boards to be pried off • a simplistic zoom box HO with no hidden objects SECOND SCENE • bees to be smoked • box missing 1 shaped key • box missing 2 shaped keys • fountain missing 4 shaped keys • stuff floating in the fountain out of my reach Are you sensing a theme here? This is the exact same game as the last one Elephant released. All the tasks are the same and there's literally no challenge at all. Been there, done that, got the T-shirt, not interested in doing it again.
Date published: 2019-05-27
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_30017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Detectives United II: The Darkest Shrine Collector's Edition

Whenever heroes gather, villains are sure to follow...

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.