New York Mysteries: The Outbreak Collector's Edition
Exclusive

New York Mysteries: The Outbreak Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(426.35 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Be transported to the New York of the late 1960s. Laura, and her trusty workmate Will are investigating the complex case of a bizarre disease that’s plaguing the city! Together, you discover that it might have something to do with a mysterious artifact preserved in the archives of a secret order. There is a shadow hanging over New York City and time is running out!

  • The story continues in the bonus chapter.
  • Find collectibles and morphing objects.
  • Earn achievements and play bonus puzzles!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, music and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 899 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

New York Mysteries: The Outbreak Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(426.35 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
New York Mysteries: The Outbreak Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from synonymous with quality and excellence; 5BN games I am over the moon with happiness to see this production by my favourite developers . Others have given comprehensive reviews but I just wanted to say thanks, both to Big Fish and especially to 5BN for providing this wonderful game. Quality and excellence and fun!
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ask and thou shall recieve!!! In my review for the last 5BN Lost Lands game I expressed my keen interest for another installment to New York Mysteries and was certainly not let down. First of all this addition like the rest is excellent! The story line holds your interest the graphics are great the puzzles are wonderful and the HOPs are not tedious. 5BN is a very special developer that creates games that even "serious" gamers find enjoyable and this one was well worth the wait after the long period between this and Lost Souls. Again I wait with bated breath for the next addition to this series but I will wait patiently because the time and care put into this series shows and will pay off. These games are so great I can happily replay the previous ones quite a few times while I wait for the next. If you do not own this entire series I strongly suggest you rectify that sad sad situation.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kudos NY Mysteries Take a. bite of the Big Apple. It's deliciously fun!
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOMETHING HIT THE FLOOR!.............MY JAW! Ok, so I’m breaking protocol and writing a review before I’m barely into it. But I have to say, this is the first game I’ve played in a gazillion years, that has my attention! Whoa! It’s a buy! *1600 x 900 resolution possibility, if your computer handles it. *Ultra cool graphics and sound effects. *Music-top notch for thriller mode!
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from now that is what i call a good game! I love these devs... all their games a great value for gameplay, length, storyline and just good fun. Background music also unobtrusive and pleasant. Loads of morphs and collectibles and the map is brilliant. Just dive in and enjoy yourself.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finialy a fun, adult game! Lots to do. No kings and queens. Good story,great voice overs. I had more fun playing this game than I havei n a very long time.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New York is Under Threat Again! This is an exciting game to play. The graphics and quality of this game are second to none and the storyline is intriguing and thoroughly immersive. 5 Stars from me!
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game – And not a short one! I loved this game. Easily equal to the great quality of other games by this developer. The artwork has definitely been updated compared to the earlier games in the series, particularly the characters. Some developers have been producing shorter games recently. Lopping off a third of the content compared to previous games by the same developer. I’m pleased to say, this is not the case with this game. I hope five-bn continues making quality games like this.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can tell this is a great game!! Based on playing the demo. Even though I only played the demo I can tell the rest of this game has to be great. Kept telling myself to stop playing so I would not have to start over and replay all of it. The graphics were extremely clear. The story already has a twist just in the demo. Looking forward to playing it. And yes, it may be one of the best of the year.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from what happened to the subway trains I really like this series characters are superb I just miss the sub way trains she had to take to get to the locations. butt that's okay I still had an excellent time playing it.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIVE-BN DELIVERS ANOTHER TOP-NOTCH EDITION TO THIS INCREDIBLE SERIES!~~ Laura James, a fearless reporter with the 'Daily News', returns in the fourth chapter of the cold-blooded saga which transports us to New York City during the late 1960s. It's become extremely dangerous in the city with a recent outbreak of a mysterious bacterial contagion and it’s up to Laura to investigate who is responsible for this atrocity and stop it from spreading. The brilliant minds at Five-BN games have created an award worthy adventure that may prove to be one of this year’s best releases to date. It’s been three (3) years since the last edition of New York Mysteries, so I was really hyped to play this release...it was an easy must purchase for me. Fans of Five-BN Games are really going to enjoy this installment just as much as the previous ones. For me, New York Mysteries: The Outbreak has one of the best detective storylines I have seen in a HOPA in quite some time. The story was intriguing and captivating and kept me on the edge of my seat right from the beginning to the end. It’s also worth mentioning the fantastic plot is accompanied by some truly amazing features, flawless character animations and solid voice-overs. The graphics/SFX are modern and sharp and have some of the best cutscenes in the industry, kudos to the visuals team! Immerse yourself in an exciting HOPA that delivers an extraordinary and exciting crime story containing lots of unexpected twists and turns and offers more than six (6) hours of gameplay. The Collector’s Edition includes a nice array of achievements, several interesting sets of collectibles, an above-average bonus chapter and other gallery items. What a surprise it was to see another episode of this popular series and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment!!! I also highly recommend this game to players of every level. Cheers! In this series: • New York Mysteries: Secrets of the Mafia • New York Mysteries: High Voltage • New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally A Gem So finally we get a quality game with originality, good story line and a bit of a challenge. This really did tick all the boxes and for the first time in awhile I was sucked in and lost track of time. Bravo! I knew this genre wasn't dead yet. Whatever creative team put this together, please have them make all the games from now on, so we don't have to keep wading through weeks of duds, just to get to a gem.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At Last!! I've been looking for a game to buy for months. This is a great one, and challenging.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Series I love this series and have all the New York Mystery games. However, I know I have played this game before. It was very familiar to me from the beginning when she is kidnapped and in the first few scenes such as the carnival scene, in the canoe and in the laboratory. I also remember the puzzles such as the masks and the constellations for example. The collectibles were also very familiar. I have several hundred games so I can't be sure which game it was. If anyone else thinks this is familiar please let me know.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderfull gaming experience! This dev. is one of a handfull that do not churne out game after game, after game, after.....! They allways manage to weave story and gameplay into a wonderfull gaming experience! Even without the cinco de mayo sale I would have hit the buy button before the demo finished! My reviews are few and far between but I just had to get my word in where this one was concerned. I found puzzles and hos very doable and my eyes are not what they used to be! What i really like about this dev is the fact they are so good at having you (the player) forget you're in a HOS!! I usually start my first few minutes staring for morphs and collectables before suddenly realising there none to be had ;)) Im not going to say anything about the story just that its very interesting immersive one and that IMHO the game is suitable for all levels of players and that it is DEFINITELY one I will play again! so sit back, relax and have fun!
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS GAME IS A PERFECT EXAMPLE OF WHY THIS IS MY #1 FAVORITE DEVELOPER! Completed Game approximately 6.5 hours (including the CE Bonus Chapter & all puzzles) It can go undetected and unnoticed by nearly everyone. It can remain dormant for centuries, it can affect anyone, it often affects everyone. It may be curable, it may be deadly. It may happen anywhere, it may happen everywhere. It could come on strong and disappear quickly, but it could also be apocalyptic and deadly, and it could be intentional. It could be happening right now, running ramped through the streets of New York. It could be The Outbreak that destroys the human population, and the world as we know it...it could, but will it? Five-BN is my absolute favorite developer, I fell in love with these dev's the second I had to chop my way through a tree to save little Jimmy in the Lost Lands. They have some of the best Computer Generated Graphics around, clearly, their graphics department is top-notched, so much so, that they deserve some well-earned praise, so I "tip my hat" in recognition of your incredible talent, kudos ))) ? ((( My favorite Five-BN feature, besides the graphics, is the Morphing Objects, and Collectibles. They can be quite elusive at times, but that's how it's supposed to be! There is a Morphing Object in each of the 31 Scene Locations (no morphs within the 10 CE Bonus Chapter Scenes) completing the Morph Collection unlocks an achievement and 20 extra Mini-Games. Each scene also has a Collectible (there are 5 different categories of Collectibles) and for each completed Collectible, you will unlock an Extra Square Puzzle. The Morphs & Collectibles alone make this game very CE worthy, receiving extra games and puzzles is just icing on the cake, not to mention this is a very long game with a lengthy Bonus Chapter! There are 10 Hidden Object Scenes +3 in the CE Bonus Chapter. Five-BN Games is by far the champion in this department. Most of the HOP's (some include mini-game puzzles) are Interactive~Progressive with either Listed Item Finds or Silhouetted Shapes requiring you to find objects and use that item Interactively to expose the next object and so forth. They are far more challenging and definitely more entertaining than any HOP by any other developer...period! There are also Multiple's of the Same Object Finds, Replacing Inventory Item Finds, and Interactive Listed/Silhouette Item Finds available. There are 38 Mini-Games +7 within the CE Bonus Chapter,6 of which are within the Hidden Object Scenes. Several puzzles required you to remember clues found earlier, a feature I'd love to see more often because the alternative "sticky note" clue has no challenge whatsoever, which is simply a time-waster! I loved ? these puzzles, most of them are original, all of them are creative. Here are some of my favorites: 1~Use rotational arrows to guide the steel ball to the center button using gold balls as bumpers. ? 2~Slide trains along patterned tracks to their color-coded slots x3 challenging layouts. ??? 3~Arrange masks so no row or column has the same color or emotion. ? 4~Use the blue buttons to swap 14 key positions and then rotate the adjacent gem positions according to the clue.? 5~Swap numbered buttons so each row equals the sum of 34.?? 6~Rotate angles and guide wires through every point x3 boards. ??? 7-Arrange square blocks with 4 edge colors to complete a pattern. ?? 8-Find & use items to navigate rooms w/o being caught before the timer runs out (or you will have to restart) ??? 9~Empty all water tanks to the upper right tank by clicking tanks in the correct order. ? The Collector's Edition Bonus Chapter winds back the hands of time to discover the origins of The Order, playing as Hank, one of the founding fathers. Several catacombs were discovered during the construction of St. Patrick's Cathedral, and The Order has been investigating what seems to be remanents of a similar organization abandoned two decades ago. The priests became concerned and alerted Hank when the investigative team disappeared two days ago, one of which was Hank's sister. There are 10 scenes within this lengthy CE Bonus Chapter that has 7 Mini-Games, and 3 Hidden Object Scenes. There are no Morphing Objects remaining but you will start a new Collection of The Order Medallions, one in each scene. This Collector's Edition version has 11 Wallpapers 15 Concept Art Pictures, 15 Movie Video Cutscenes, 6 Music Soundtracks, 13 Replayable Mini-Games, 22 Achievements, 31 Morphing Objects, 20 Additional Mini-Games (when Morphing Object Collection is Completed) 41 Collectibles in 5 Categories (9 St. Patricks Figurines~6 Vinyl Records~7 Four-leafed Clovers~9 Feathers~Bonus Chapter~10 Medallions of the Order) 5 Bonus Square Tile Puzzles (unlocked with each Completed Collection Category) 5 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-in Strategy Guide...ps~take lots of vitamin C and if someone sneezes, RUN! NEW YORK MYSTERIES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Secrets Of The Mafia (April 19-2014) 4.6 2-High Voltage (June 6-2015) 4.4 3-Lantern Of Souls (April 2-2016) 4.3 4-The Outbreak (May 4-2018) n/a By: Five-BN Games (The best developer ever)
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AH AT LAST, ANOTHER NEW YORK MYSTERIES IS FINALLY HERE! It’s been a little over three years since the last New York Mysteries game was released and I wasn’t sure there would be another game in what I consider an excellent series. It’s been a long wait for me and when The Outbreak was released this morning, I purchased the game instantly. Five-BN Games is a developer that gives me what I want in a game and I didn’t need to think about hitting the buy button. The Outbreak has an excellent storyline that will keep you guessing as you play. You play the game as Laura, an investigative journalist, who not long ago was brought into a secret order by the elusive Mr. Bishop. The Order of the White Stone is not only a secret organization, but it deals with supernatural incidents that the police can’t handle. As you play The Outbreak there are so many twists and turns in the game that you don’t always know who to trust and you soon discover that things are not always what they seem. I love the interactive HOPS in this game. The scenes are not always easy as you try to find the needed items and then where to use them to perhaps find another required item until you finally complete the scene. The Puzzles are fun and even though there are a lot more of them than HOPS in this game it doesn’t bother me too much since the HOPS are so well-crafted. I love the Puzzles in this game where not all of them are easy to solve. Aside from the standards such as being able to customize your mode of gameplay, there is also an old school journal or diary included that keeps track of the story as you play the game. It is not often that we find a diary included in more recent games, but I happen to appreciate having one and, at least for me, it enriches the gameplay. If you purchase CE games because you appreciate the extras you will certainly not be disappointed with New York Mysteries: The Outbreak. The game includes not only one collectible to find but five different sets that each have anywhere between one and ten different items to find. There are also morphing objects hidden in each scene and some are difficult to spot. The Strategy Guide is excellent if you happen to get stuck and are not sure what to do next. It also provides the steps needed to solve puzzles rather than simply showing screen shots of the end result. If you want a game that will keep you entertained and involved in the action, then New York Mysteries The Outbreak is the game you have been waiting to play. If you have played the earlier games in the series or even other games by this developer than you know exactly why I love this game. Even though the game is exactly right for me, please try the demo to see if New York Mysteries: The Outbreak is a game you will enjoy as well. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BREAK OUT OF THE PLAGUE OF MEDIOCRE GAMES – UNMASK ONE OF THE BEST GAMES THIS YEAR REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME: 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Game – Strategy Guide: 52 pages OPINION: What a fantastic game! This is a superb action-packed sci-fi delight! It is a very long game and well-worth the price. I seldom replay games; however, this is one which I feel is worthy of replaying. This game has a few surprises concerning the storyline. The plot is not disclosed until after the demo. The graphics are cartoon-like with some magnificent scenes of St. Patrick’s Cathedral in New York City. I found it a game of middle-difficulty. There are two types of collectibles; many are well-hidden within the scenes. Most scenes have a morphing object and one of the five (5) collectibles. The game is puzzle-intense. There are forty-four (44) well-crafted puzzles within the game. This is not an easy-peasy game. Codes are not written down and placed in the inventory for reference in playing puzzles. The player must either write down or memorize the codes. The puzzles have well-written directions which is not always the case in many HOP games. They are explicit and easy to follow. I loved the timed escape puzzle. This is one of the most creative puzzles I have played this year. You must search for items to help you escape while avoiding guards. There are only thirteen (13) HOP scenes. Nevertheless, the HOP scenes are some of the best I have played this year, and some have puzzles within the scenes. The HOP scenes are interactive. Most are silhouette and lists of items. However, many of the scenes require searching for an item and then using it within the scene to uncover more items from the list. There are puzzles within some of the HOP scenes. Throughout the game, there are instances where a specific number of some item must be searched within several scenes. My favorite chapter is the one in which Laura must help an elderly woman organize and clean up her apartment. I felt this part of the game was creatively designed with plenty of puzzle-like activities included. With a fantastic story, a good pace, interactive and creatively designed HOP scenes along with well-designed puzzles, this is one game you will not want to miss! MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • Twenty-two (22) achievements. • Collect thirty-one (31) morphing objects • Collect 9 feathers, 6 vinyl records, 10 medallions, 7 shamrocks and 9 figurines of St. Patrick • Eleven (11) wallpapers along with concept art, music and video sequences • Replay thirteen (13) mini-games • For each collection of the collectibles completed – a new puzzle, a mosaic puzzle is added. • Collect all the morphing objects to receive another 20 levels of a bonus mini-game. OVERVIEW/STORY: As a member of the Order of the White Stone, you, Laura, investigate cases involving the supernatural. When you are kidnapped, you find yourself an amusement park. There you learn that there is an outbreak of a deadly disease. Meet Travis, a scientist who informs you that he developed a powerful antidote for this disease and was kidnapped as well. As you prepare to help Travis reformulate this antidote, you soon discover you are being deceived. The truth is being masked – hidden from you. Now, you must learn the reality of this situation and take steps to rectify it. BONUS CHAPTER: Return to the past during the construction of St. Patrick’s Cathedral. In the catacombs beneath the newly constructed cathedral are ruins from an ancient civilization. Members from the Order are now missing beneath this cathedral. You, as one of the Order’s members must locate them, one of which is your own daughter. The chapter is long with seven (7) mini-games and three (3) HOP scenes. Collect the ten (10) emblems from the Order within this chapter. I found this chapter similar in quality to the main game. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Maze puzzle. Choose the correct paths to get through a ventilation system. No map is given – simply trial and error in this puzzle. B. Sequence puzzle. On a grid – turn off all lights. Clicking on a light will either turn it on if it is off or the inverse – turning it off if it is on. C. Clock puzzle. Set the time. Move hands of a clock to set the time as per clues seen within the game. There are 3 latches to open which require three different times. D. Mathematical/Switch puzzle. Switch numbers in each of four rows so that each row adds up to 34. E. Matching puzzle. Place cubes with colors on four sides into a box so that each cube has contiguous colors with the cubes next to it F. Timed puzzle. Escape/maze puzzle. Within the time allotted get to a designated location (water tanks) while avoiding guards in your path. Interact with the scenes to locate necessary items. Excellent and one of the best puzzles to come out this year. BONUS CHAPTER: G. Mathematical/Connection puzzle. On a number grid, connect numbers so each set adds up to 15 and all the numbers are used. H. Alignment puzzle. On a grid with planets, move the planets so all align in a specific position on the grid. Moving one planet affects the others. I. Switch puzzle. Switch the positions of blue and red tokens on a grid. Tokens can move only by jumping over another token or to an empty space. (In HOP scene)
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad to have another edition of my favorite series. A few days before this game was released I was online trying to find out if we were ever going to get another game in this series and wham'o to my great surprise and excitement this game was released just a few days later! While I liked this game it wasn't my favorite in the series, it seemed to drag for quite a while before we really get going and meet up with a former lab tech. We didn't interact with each other as much as I would have liked, which was a bummer. Don't get me wrong it's a well made game, music, graphics, hidden objects, and mini-games were all fun, if not somewhat predictable. It just didn't feel as indepth in story as some of the others in the series and it was much shorter than the other games too but the biggest bummer for me is we see little to nothing of New York!! Each game I hope they will have us spend more time outside looking at and investigating some of the many wonderful famous places and each time we don't and I'm really let down. Why can't we have a murder on the top of the empire state building this way we could look down at many of the sights or a murder near the Statue of Liberty, we could take a subway, go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, tons to see and do there. Just a few suggestions that maybe someone who makes these games will see. I do recommend this game.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not perfect, but better than most. BASED ON COMPLETE DEMO OVERVIEW Five-BN is one of my favorite devs, mainly because they always come up with interesting storylines, but also because their graphics are so beautiful, almost Pixar quality. The storyline here sounded fascinating, but it practice, it moved a bit slowly for me. WHAT I LIKED • This dev's HO scenes are always sequential find and use, which most resembles looking for one particular object IRL. (Pro Tip: The best way to figure these out is to start at the goal, then work you way backwards.) • The mini-games were well designed and most presented a decent challenge. • The map shows the locations of collectibles and morphing objects. • The CE bling is comprehensive. • The graphics are lovely, with lots of detail and a realistic palette, and this dev has the best posers in the HOPA business. WHAT WAS 'MEH' • The storyline moved relatively slowly; the demo finished before I'd even gotten my scientist friend to the laboratory, and there'd only been one interaction with the victims of the plague. • Given that the game is set in NYC, it was much too quiet; no city noises. Also, when have you ever seen the streets of NYC utterly deserted? The city that doesn't sleep was, apparently, taking a siesta at last. • Replacing shaped keys with actual keys is not an improvement. Or even a change. Devs need to formulate new ways to move the story forward, other than locking up everything possible. WHAT I DISLIKED • I lost count of the number of times that the tool I needed amounted to a hook on a stick, which I would use once, only to need it again a few minutes later. And why would I use once, then discard a knife, a pair of scissors, a screwdriver, a wrench, etc? • Given my position in the Order, why would I need to scrounge around for a flashlight, a lockpick, a knife, and other common detecting tools? MINI-GAME DETAILS • Rotate the maze to move the silver ball to the green button in the center, using the gold balls to avoid dead ends. • Move train tokens along the lines to return them to their matching slots. Three levels of increasing challenge. • Play Sudoku with mask tokens. There are four colors and four emotions represented. Each row and column must contain four different emotions and four different colors. Much more difficult than traditional Sudoku. • Set all nine statues to match the given clue. Each spot has buttons that cycle through the available statues. This one was much too easy since you just have to copy the clue. I would have liked fragments of clues, leaving me something to deduce. I'm going to revisit this one when the SE comes out. In the meantime, I recommend that you play the demo. This one is a bit different from previous games in the series.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't Know What to Expect Going in.... I'm only about an hour into the game but I'm really enjoying this! I wasn't sure what to expect since, for me, a lot of HOG's are hit and miss for me. But NY Mysteries: The Outbreak is holding my attention. I'm enjoying the storyline, the graphics, and atmosphere of the game. This is my first game in the series, and I have to say that I'm excited not only to finish up playing this one, but all picking up the other ones as well.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Story A fun ride, not, perhaps, quite up to its predecessor but well worth playing. I had a great time except for a curious couple of game mechanics problems, largely made up for by an excellent plot and CE worthy by virtue of a neat Bonus Game. Pros: Great graphics, fascinating scenery as long as we're above the surface, which regrettably we weren't long enough. A believable player character without gadgets or superpowers. Some very nice supporting characters whose allegiance we have to consider. Overall, a rich, nicely laid out mystery. Cons: Some odd games mechanics issues on certain of the puzzles that may have been simply hot zones too small. It is frustrating to have the right answer and not find the exact place on the screen to click to effect it. Quite a bit of back-and-forth that makes the player lean too heavily on the excellent map. Nothing fatal, really, just a few rough edges. Bonus Game: Unusually good, a prequel with a male POV which contrasts with the female POV of the main game (this is such a nice touch!). No villain in this, but it sets us up for the main game very nicely. Well done! Overall, an excellent and very playable entry in a great series. It seems unfair to give it four stars because it wasn't quite up to its predecessor, but that's a pretty high bar. I had the good fortune to beta test this one and they didn't let me down.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oh no, a dreaded disease! Hello friends! As always, I mostly review on the game play and not the story, as others do a much better job than I. Graphics in this addition to this series are excellent, very clear, even though they look a little old school. The animation is superb, with very realistic and smooth body and facial movements. Even when Laura hears a crash, she jumped and the movement was very realistic. Colors were a bit muted, but still very clear and true. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen quite well. Voice overs were pretty nice, when you had them. For the most part, during the demo, there was little character interaction. You could click through dialog if you read faster than they speak, without missing any clues or extra inventory items. Yes, the inventory items were more cartoon like, e.g. big and clunky. The sound FX weren't bad, but mostly when we found or used something. As the game progressed that did pick up a bit. The music was actually fairly soothing and unobtrusive and did move with whatever was happening at the time. HOPs were mostly just interactive lists. Scenes were fairly clean and items were not all that difficult to find once you figured out which one to find first. I did not see that you could switch to another game. This game is not a junk pile of HOPs, they are few and far between. Puzzles were quite simple, nothing new. Hint system is helpful and it does transport to longer locations. This is very helpful, as you do a tremendous amount of back-tracking in this one. Jump map is helpful in this respect and it also indicates if you have missed a collectible or morphing item in a scene. There are a lot of collectibles in this game, which I do like. You need to find 6-9 various collectible items, e.g. records, birds, feathers, etc; and 31 morphing objects. Some of these collectibles are quite easy to see, others are not, because they are quite small, or in very dark areas. The morphing items pop in and out quite quickly, so be on the look out. The story is nothing new, a disease gone rampant and a crazy doctor, but it was interesting. This game was not really challenging, but I really got into it for some reason. Naturally, the character interaction began to pick up at the end of the demo, and made me want to keep playing to see what was going on and why. The game actually flowed quite well. It just needed a bit more to make it better. I think this game would appeal to most players for one reason or another. I like it well enough to add it to my collection of CE games. Besides, I like a game with lots of collectibles. I gave this one a 4.5 on my scale. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stop Me if You've Heard This Before Laura is back and sucked into another New York mystery seconds into the Demo. She will have to rescue herself as well as the rest of the city, if not the world, before this adventure is over. We will all travel into the hidden headquarters of the Order as she tries to conquer new challenges. Good luck, Laura. Good News: Another New York Mysteries has finally landed with multiple collectibles, morphing items, great characters, good puzzles, interactive HOPs that are part of the story , and that stylized artwork that I, for one, appreciate. Bad news: You know where the demo is heading after the first five minutes and will collect as many as ten items to open a lock. Good News: There are no bees, broken zippers, or potions to mix. Bad news: You do know where the demo is heading after the first five minutes and that takes a lot of the fun out of the adventure. And those groups of items you collect to open doors, cabinets, etc., are overworked in this story. Good News: But you don't know where your journey will end up so the story still holds some mystery. Bottom line: Will I get this new entry in the New York Mysteries series? Yes, mostly because it is a cut above the games we have been seeing. Is it the next great game? No, but it is good enough to join the other NYM games in my collection. Please try the demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a perfect game to me I liked some parts and disliked some part. It's hard and doesn't flow. I still managed to finish the game but I had to put it on the shelf and play other games in between because of frustration. It took me a long time to finish it. The best part to me is Laura's outfit. I liked the circus, the swan boat ride in tunnel of love and St. Patrick's Cathedral so I bought it. Liked the St. Patrick's hops. I liked about half the puzzles. The strategy guide is in a inconvenient place. You have to go to the menu and then click strategy guide and then hit resume if you want to keep playing or save if you don't. The bonus chapter is a prequel. St. Patrick's Cathedral isn't even finished being built. It has 5 chapters + bonus. Collect 41 hidden objects and 31 morphs. You can go back and get something you missed. I used the map constantly and checked my collectibles before I moved on. It said I missed 2 morphs and I know I didn't. After the bonus chapter I went to the collections and it asked if I wanted to finish my collection. (Morphs are below the collectibles). I click on it and it brought me to a scene. I know I already had that one and it wasn't there so I clicked hint and it brought me to another scene. I clicked on the morph I already found. After you finish the morphs it had a message you have 20 levels of addition mini-game. The bonus content looked the same to me. So maybe that could be one mini-game with several levels? The extras are 15 videos, 5 puzzle, 13 mini-games, 6 music, 11 wallpapers and 15 concept arts. Achievements. The game was just ok for me. I like other games better.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been better Based on the demo,this game could have been so much better if the graphics for the figures had been improved. They looked about 10 years out of date. There were lots of different types of puzzles, some easy, some hard which I liked. I wanted to like it and generally did, but the characters were very off putting.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Robotic and predictable, boring I have enjoyed other games within this series ( I'm just about to play "High Voltage" Collector's edition so I'll let you know) but this one fell flat. There is almost no thinking required so I was bored the entire game: I finished it because I bought it. I felt I got "scammed" with the so-called "bonus game play" because it was even more boring - "you need this, oh, there it is..." kinda play and didn't even seem to relate to the main story or characters. I'm so done with the "cookie cutter" games (just to get a game out every day?!) I just recently began buying games again after a 3 year absence because of the parade of assembly-line games with same plots, same tasks, no logic that was being promoted at the time. I also resent paying double the price for a Collector's edition but getting one and a quarter game content like this one in return.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Old? Based on the demo, this feels really old and clunky, poor graphics/animation and simply slow moving. I'm not keen on this series anyway, so I won't buy this game.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Back and Forth I purchased New York Mysteries: Secrets of the Mafia on 06/15/14 and New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls on 04/06/19. Unfortunately this one seems just like the other 2. You go here, find something, go back to where you were, use what you found only to find out that you need it again a few minutes later. I find it repetitive. The graphics aren't bad but for 2019 they're not great either. And the story line didn't hold my interest.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not another darn key The negatives: If you hate finding keys for locks, this is not the game for you. The key finding was endless!! Also, don't make me look for a tool that is basically the same as the one I just used and disappeared from inventory. I found the graphics a bit dark and fuzzy in places as well, but the animations were good. On the plus side, lots of originality here. Story was interesting, many unique mini-games (the timed game was a fun challenge), and a lot of the usual tropes were not present (bee smoker, etc) but they filled in all those missing things with - you guessed it - another search for a key.
Date published: 2019-05-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_30044, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

New York Mysteries: The Outbreak Collector's Edition

There is a shadow hanging over New York City and time is running out.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.