Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Ligeia Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Ligeia Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(430.68 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Amax Interactive presents the newest spine-tingling case in the Dark Tales series!

When an anonymous letter arrives foretelling the murder of a prominent Lord and asking for your help, you and Dupin jump on the case! Nothing’s quite what it seems at the Phoenix estate. The Lord of the manor is receiving threatening letters from his deceased wife, and a cloaked attacker is lurking in the shadows just waiting to strike! Can you unravel the mystery to save innocent lives before it’s too late? Find out in this chilling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Follow the tale of the thief Robert Fowles, and his treacherous journey from criminal to fierce protector of the Phoenix family!
  • Play more challenging puzzles and mini-games, earn more Achievements, complete your collection of potions and poisons, and uncover every morphing object!
  • Download original soundtracks, unique original artwork, and other collectible content!
  • You'll have a trusted ally at your side with the helpful Strategy Guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 932 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Ligeia Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(430.68 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Ligeia Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game Don't think the voice of Dupin fits him. Love the graphics. I got done fast on Advanced play. Not the best of this series for sure but OK.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MEET A NEW MEMBER OF “THE AVENGERS” – LIGEIA REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 36 pages (4-1/2 Hours) OPINION: Detective! You and the debonair Dupin are off to the Phoenix Estate to deal with Ligeia, an avenging ghost, in a story with some unexpected twists. The game is mediocre fare, consistent with other games from this developer. The story is loosely based on the short story by Poe with the same characters as those from the story; however, the plot is much different. The scenes are beautifully illustrated as in all this developer’s games. The main game is short but has a decent pace with a variety of activities. The main game flows smoothly and kept my interest. However, I found the bonus chapter snail-paced. To me, this is a decent but not outstanding addition to the series. There are twenty (20) HOP scenes and seven (7) mini-HOP scenes – those in which the player searches for a small number of items. There is not much variety in the scenes, with most being lists of items, silhouette, or matching. Nevertheless, I found them creatively designed. They are interactive requiring the player to manipulate items in some way within the scenes. There are twenty-six (26) minigames within the game. Half of those are in the demo. I was disappointed by the lack of minigames after the demo. Although not as many as in other games, the ones in this game are well-designed and some have the option to be played in either a “casual” or “hard” mode. The minigames range from extremely easy to moderate difficulty. There are none which are difficult. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • Twelve (12) achievements. • Collect twenty-six (26) morphing objects • Collect twelve (12) poisons and medicines • Nine (9) wallpapers along with five (5) screensavers, concept art, music and video sequences • Replay eleven (11) mini-games and fifteen (15) HOP scenes BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. The housekeeper, Robert Fowles, narrates his long-winded life’s story and how he ended up working for the Phoenix family. The chapter begins with a good pace but slows down toward the end. There are five (5) HOP scenes, most of which are storybook (searching for items within the narration of Fowles’ life) and lists of items. There are also mini-HOP scenes searching for a small number of some item. Toward the end of the chapter, all the HOP scenes are lists of items. There are five (5) minigames as well and most of those are creatively designed. I think the bonus chapter is too lengthy, slowing down the pace of the game. To me, it is not worth the price of a collector’s edition designation – not because it is too short, but because it is too long with a lot of filler. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINIGAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Switch puzzle. Switch parts of 18 lock tumblers so that each one meshes with the piece opposite it on a grid. B. Assembly puzzle. Click on 3 runes which, when combined, create a symbol at the right of the grid. C. Maze puzzle. Rotate a center disk to create paths for 3 scarabs to reach their matching colored slot on the opposite end. Increases in difficulty with each scarab. D. Domino puzzle. A variation in which the player places pieces onto a circular grid so that abutting pieces match. Use arrows to maneuver pieces. E. Jigsaw puzzle. Fit boards together so they mesh to create a bridge. BONUS CHAPTER: F. Escape puzzle. Move down a ladder while avoiding police spotlights. Use two buttons to control both the movement going down the ladder and the police spotlights G. Maze puzzle. Maneuver through a maze while dealing with obstacles in the path. Collect items to destroy those obstacles.
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hidden object this was good , but disappointed that there was no bonus section, i thought all collector editions had this very sad !!!
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ANTICLAMACTIC ENDING Great story, enjoyed playing, some games were annoying, but the end was just plain sudden and disappointing.
Date published: 2019-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from somewhat disappointing so I just finished this game. I didn't mind it. But was somewhat disappointed. I missed 2 of the collectibles, could not go back and retrieve them. nothing else, other than the standard stuff & some replayable HOPS games and mini games - no secret room, no souvenir room, no ultimate HOP. so many developers are not putting in enough extras to make a CE game worth buying. So, yes, this was disappointing. I am on the fence about whether or not I would recommend or not, but would actually have to end up saying no.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too patronizing! I love the Raven and the Fall of the House Usher and all other Po's work including the detective stories with Dupin but this game series again do the same thing. They simplify too much and it feels to patronizing. The dialog is nice as the voice acting and music. The visuals are like all other Amax games, nice and sometimes little blurry. I like the plethora of items to use and great cinematic. Still, everything is too easy an to over explained. I won't buy CE but I recommend all to try and play.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from E.A.P. Spins In His Grave Again! Dupin is back, taking you to the Phoenix Estate in response to an anonymous letter claiming the owner will be killed at midnight. Once there, you will collect two or more of everything you find to open locks on everything to find more items to collect to open more locks, etc. Good stuff: The artwork is beautiful, the HOPs are better than usual, there are morphing items to find, and a nice assortment of CE Bling. Bad stuff: Once again E.A.P. has been rewritten. Does anyone on this development team understand the concept of a world renown author? Why don't they just write something new and leave E.A.P. to rest in peace? Other than the character names from the short story, "Ligeia," and the title, there is little resemblance between this game and the story. They could have given Dupin his own game series. I'm sure he would be just as smug. Bottom line: This is an average game with a so-so story and the usual game progression we've come to expect from Dark Tales. Please play the demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not much for Dark Tales Nice graphics but kind of hollow. Took me no time to get through it. The mini games leave a lot to be desired in the way of a challenge. The game was OK.
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Game is short This was over soon after I paid for the whole game. Disappointing. Otherwise the game play was fairly simple and maybe good for a beginner.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you play Nacy Drew and Like them... If you play Nacy Drew and Like them then this this will most likely not be the game for you. It lacked so much for me, the puzzles where okay but too easy, I am going to try again on a harder levels, the culprit was like "oookay"...no real build up. The game lacked direction at times but the strategy guide came with it and was very helpful. I finished it pretty fast. It was very pretty, and I really enjoyed the "hidden object" parts. All and and All its a good game, but Nancy drew offers more brain work and a much better story line, I enjoy that.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LIGEIA IS A GOOD DARK TALES GAME BUT NOT THE BEST IN THE SERIES Dark Tales EAP Ligeia is simply put another of those games in a never-ending series whose characters are culled from the author’s short stories. I didn’t expect much and that’s exactly what I received. At one time the Dark Tales were excellent games and is now the general rule, most CE games are short with providing the gamer not much to look forward to when playing. Recently, when playing the Dark Tales games I am left with a feeling of “been there, done that”. The good in the game comes from the beautiful graphics but the bad is Dupin constantly repeating the stupid dialog telling me what I must do to proceed. Gone are the days when a developer realized that gamers are smart and if we see a key stuck in a lock, we can figure out what we need to do to fix the problem without Dupin repeating the obvious next move. As much as I love to play my games with the sound, I was ready to turn it off in Ligeia since I found the voiceovers to be very annoying. Other good things in the game are the HO scenes. I enjoy playing scenes where I can actually see the items that I need to find. Although the items are not always obvious, they are at least visible and not minute unrecognizable blobs on the screen. The other thing I did enjoy are the puzzles although the developer does tend to use the same puzzles in all of its games. Some of the puzzles are quite easy while others take some time to solve. One of my favorite puzzles in the game is the one with the rotating disks that will give a complete picture when all of the pieces are moved to the correct places. There have been better games in the Dark Tales series but Ligeia is at least a decent game. I felt that the game could have been better and a bit longer. I consider myself a slow player because I have to look at all the details in each scene and I was surprised that I finished the game in six hours. If you love playing a game that has beautiful graphics, fun HOS, and interesting puzzles then Dark Tales EAP Ligeia is a game that you will most likely enjoy. As always, I recommend that you try the demo because you might find that Ligeia is a perfect game for you. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not as good this was ok as it goes. was a bit disappointed in the length of the game very short compared to some I have played also the games were so easy it was unbelievable would not recommend this
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A VENGEFUL LOVER RISES FROM THE GRAVE WEARING A BEAKED MASK & CLOAK...HOW ORIGINAL Completed Game approximately 4 Hours (including the CE Bonus Chapter & all mini-games) Well, they do claim that imitation is the highest form of flattery Detective Dupin has received an anonymous letter of impending doom which states that Lord Royce Morrissey has a date with death at the stroke of midnight. As Dupin's' most trusted assistant (after all you have helped to solve 15 previous Dark Tales cases) you know that Time and T?i?d?e? Death wait for no man, and surely, the clock has been ticking for several days whilst awaiting the arrival of the early 1900's snail-mail postal service. As luck would have it, you arrive 2 seconds before the clock strikes midnight, just in the nick of time to thwart the Ghost of Morrissey's late wife Ligeia who really knows how to pack a punch. Clearly, she's been working out while Royce was working on Mrs. Royce Morrissey the 2nd. That pretty much sums it up, if the storyline is still unclear, go back to Dark Tales games number 1-15 which all have the same plots, just different names to protect the innocent of course. There are Morphing Objects in every scene of this CE version, 26 scenes that look exactly like the scenes in this game. There are several new characters introduced in "Ligeia" as well, which coincidentally, look exactly like the characters in games 1-15. If you are tired of the same ole, same ole, save your hard-earned money and precious time by just replaying any of the previous 1-15 Dark Tales games for the same gratification experience. There are 12 Hidden Object Scenes +5 in the CE Bonus Chapter, not including the smaller Zoom-Zone HO's. They aren't located within interesting locations, and they lack even the slightest hint of color, not to mention the fact that most of the scenes are repeated because they can't bother to create a new scene location. I also suspect that they recycle HOS & HOP scenes from one game to another. Most of the scenes are Interactive List Finds, but there are also Matching Pairs, Related Item Pairs, and Silhouetted Shape Finds. There are 18 Mini-Games +11 in the CE Bonus Chapter. Some of the games are available in an Easy or Hard difficulty mode. Here are a few examples of games that I enjoyed: ? Adjust 4 slider tabs so their light beams will intersect all symbols on the tablet that match the symbol in the center x3~??? ? Swap lock tumbler sections that will intertwine with its counterpart~?? ? Several labyrinths/maze puzzles such as avoiding being caught by police searchlights, or use directional arrows to navigate hedges~? The Collector's Edition Bonus Chapter is an average-length Chapter narrated by Robert Fowles as he takes us back to the origins of his employment as a housekeeper for the Phoenix family. There are 11 Mini-Games and 5 Hidden Object Scenes offered in this rather dull Bonus Chapter. You will finish Collecting the final 3 Medicine Bottles, and 8 Morphing Objects as well. This Collector's Edition version has 9 Wallpapers, 6 Concept Art Pictures, 5 Screensavers, 4 Music Soundtracks, 17 Movie Cutscenes, 12 Achievements, 15 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 11 Replayable Mini-Games, 4 Main Chapters, +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-in Strategy Guide. DARK TALES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Murder's In The Rue Morgue (December 17-2009) 3.7 2-The Black Cat (September 9-2010) 4.4 3-The Premature Burial (October 6-2011) 4.5 4-The Gold Bug (January 10-2013) 3.8 5-The Masque Of The Red Death (April 25-2013) 4.4 6-The Fall Of The House Of Usher (March 20-2014) 4.0 7-The Mystery of Marie Roget (February 19-2015) 4.1 8-The Tell-Tale Heart (November 14-2015) 2.7 9-Metzengerstein (July 21-2016) 3.5 10-The Raven (December 29-2016) 3.2 11-Lenore (August 10-2017) 2.9 12-Morella (December 16-2017) 3.7 13-The Pit and the Pendulum (April 5-2018) 3.2 14-The Oval Portrait (August 30-2018) 3.0 15-Speaking With The Dead (March 23-2019) 2.9 16-Ligeia (July 25-2019) n/a by: Amax Interactive
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Totally disapointed This game is a sore disapointment. I adore the Dark Tales series and purchase a new one when I can afford to, but this one is barely worth the price. The voice acting is crummy, the game feels rushed and ends stupidly. It appears to be a game created because someone had to fulfill a contract order more then they put any sort of thought into it. They even reused a scene from a totally different game (Haunted Legands: The Secret of Life) in the bonus game. Awful!
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Predictable Same dark style - same type of supernatural plot - same twist. Honestly, I think it's time to end this series, they haven't done anything new with it in years. Plus the game is short. I beat it in under and hour. If you can get it for free and you really like these Victorian ghost stories then get it, but otherwise, steer clear.
Date published: 2019-09-23
  • y_2020, m_8, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_30378, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Ligeia Collector's Edition

Can you stop a dangerous cloaked assailant before it’s too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.