Dark City: Vienna Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark City: Vienna Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(449.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

4 Friends Games brings you the next exhilarating chapter in the Dark City series!

When a masked assailant wreaks havoc on a theater in Vienna, you rush to investigate. You quickly arrive to find that this is no ordinary criminal. A dangerous phantom has descended on the local opera house, promising swift justice for past wrongs! This theater is filled with history and secrets. With the lives of both patrons and performers at stake, time is of the essence! Do you have what it takes to uncover the deadly secrets surrounding the opera and unmask the malevolent entity before it’s too late? Find out in this riveting Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Help find a mysterious muse in the bonus chapter!
  • Search the rooms and streets of Vienna by replaying HOPs and mini-games!
  • Tons of collectible letters and theatrical morphing objects to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, screen savers, a bonus game, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 859 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark City: Vienna Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(449.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark City: Vienna Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Elusive Phantom brings down the House again! Based on demo only: I am extremely critical when it comes to any Phantom of the Opera game, (being a big fan of ALW’s show/movie especially), and after the last big letdown, I wasn’t expecting much with this game – but I was pleasantly surprised. :) The mystery and story are engaging – I love how they kept to the Phantom idea, with props, notes, etc, that player runs across - but I like that they did their own thing too, building what appears to be a different yet similar backstory…I love the unique, as long as any different adaptation doesn’t crucify the original character of the Phantom and/or his love for Christine (though in this game, there is no Christine, but it does appear he is gaining revenge for a lost love of some sort; at least that's the impression the demo gave)… The gameplay was fun and at times a bit innovative – the chase game was intriguing – (traversing a maze of rooftops with the need to find boards and things to get across) – the morphs and collectibles were also nicely done, the masks changing to another object at a decent amount of time lapsed, though I admit, I do like the actual change a little slower, so it’s a bit more difficult to pinpoint. Morphs and collectibles are in every scene and have a hidden counter on the left to track them. The metal numbers you find (the collectibles) are to a game in the extras section - a counter game, where you need to spin the wheel either right or left the amount of spaces needed (there are four options) to get the right letters you need to form the word provided. One thing I didn't like so well: As another reviewer said, the accents were inaccurate for some, not all, of the voices - they sounded American and not in sync with the time period, with the way they talked then. (I guess if I want to suspend disbelief, I can just think of it that a couple of casual Americans went to Vienna and got jobs there - lol) - It was only two of them I noticed that were all wrong and not Viennese / European - unfortunately they came at the very beginning, so gave a bad first impression of what to expect for those, like me, who crave the historically accurate in historical games.... Otherwise I thought the game well-crafted, and well-played... I give it 4/12 stars - and have put this on my to-buy list - recommended to any Phantom fans or for those fans of opera and period pieces/dramas especially – to give this a try.
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WALTZ AROUND VIENNA IN ONE OF THE BEST WHODUNIT GAMES OF THE YEAR! REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide:45 pages OPINION: What a fantastic whodunit! Enjoy sleuthing through Vienna as you, detective investigate the case of another phantom of the opera. This phantom is threatening the cast and crew of the Vienna Opera House striking fear throughout Vienna. This game is a creative delight filled with exquisite puzzles with creatively designed HOP scenes baked into the mix. It reminds me of the fantastic HOP games from the past. To me, this is the best game from this developer to date. The gaming script is well-written based loosely on “The Phantom of the Opera” blended with the addition of the historical figure of Viennese Waltz King, Johann Strauss. The game is fast paced with most of the activities centered around collecting data and then analyzing it. The game has an all-seeing eye, placed on the inventory bar. It opens a mini-HOP scene with items used in making deductions concerning the case. There are eleven (11) of these within the game. The player is also given a notebook in which to collect evidence. “There will be justice!” states the Phantom throughout the game. The player will be judge and jury and have the option to choose that justice at the end of the game. Collect morphing objects and letters of the alphabet. There is a bar at the left side of the screen which indicates how many collectibles are within the scene. The chapters for this game are designated, which is a nice touch and one I wish more developers would employ. It makes it easier to use the strategy guide if one knows what chapter he or she is in while playing the game. There is an additional word puzzle provided at the end of the game. HOP SCENES: They are the best part of this game. The scenes are some of the most creative ones I have played in some time. There are twenty-three (23) scenes plus a few mini-HOP scenes. They are highly interactive, and many have puzzles within the scenes. They include a wide variety of formats. Some of the scenes include two different styles of searches. There are scenes with rebus clues, matching scenes, replacement scenes plus the usual list of items, storybook, and silhouette. My favorite is a scene in which cut-outs of various items are placed within a scene over an item within the scene to create a new item to be removed. I have never seen this type of HOP scene before. But then again, this is an example of the creative design which went into the development of this game. Some scenes are repeated; however, the searches are different formats. MINI-GAMES: There are twenty-five (25) mini-games. They vary in style and difficulty. I found none challenging. Some of the mini-games are repeated within the game. My favorite puzzle is a unique map puzzle which requires the player to formulate the number of spaces to move in order to lead a tram to the Vienna Opera House. It requires some math skills to formulate the steps needed to move through this maze. MECHANICS: Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. Twenty-three (23) achievements. Collect thirty-four (34) morphing objects. Collect twenty-seven (27) letters of the alphabet Eleven (11) wallpapers along with concept art, music and video sequences All-seeing eye. Click on it when you want to make deductions about a scene or person. Briefcase in which to collect evidence throughout the case. Replay twelve (12) HOP scenes and thirteen (13) mini-games BONUS CHAPTER. It is a sequel. Johann Straus has lost his muse. This masked muse is unknown to him and appears just after sunset. Some of his friends believe the muse is a figment of his imagination and he is going insane. Save him from an asylum by searching for the identity of the muse. There are seven (7) mini-games and seven (7) puzzles. Continue collecting all the collectibles. I found the chapter long, of the same quality as the main game, and worthy of the collector’s edition designation. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Maze puzzle. Move a tram to its exit using arrows to indicate direction and then selecting from a set number of spaces the tram is to move. If it reaches a dead end it will continue going backward and forward until the number of spaces have been met. B. Within a HOP scene. Switch puzzle. Switch pieces on the spine of a book to recreate a design. C. Picture puzzle. Rotate circles to restore an image on a portrait. D. Switch puzzle. On a 4 x 4 grid which is a wine case, switch bottles so that each bottle is listed in a row with the proper city listed at the side and the proper symbol listed at the top of each column. E. Map puzzle. Create a route to lead a tram from City Hall to the Opera House by visiting all tram stops along the way. BONUS CHAPTER: F. Moving tiles puzzle. Move a fox token and a bird token simultaneously. Both must pick up 5 related tokens within the grid at the same time. G. Within HOP scene. Switch puzzle. Switch blades of a fan to create an image H. Logic puzzle. Switch pieces on a 3 x 3 grid so the tokens match a given schematic by column and row.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They down sized the data There is a supernatural phantom who is scaring the workers, performers and audience. The director calls you the detective to stop the phantom. 4 Chapters + Bonus. The hops are nice with a new type hop that is used a few times. You take a picture off the toolbar and try to match up the cut out in the picture in the scene. It's a little time consuming and puzzle like but still enjoyable. The puzzles I liked in this game jigsaw, in the right order, match 3 type and matching pairs. This is the third in the series. 1. London in 2017 and 2. Munich in 2018. Both of those games were over 1G. of data. This one has 793.5 mb of data. Don't know if that is special effects data or length data. I just noticed the change. The collectibles are in every scene. Some morphs are two per scene. 38 morphing objects and 24 collectible letters that look like they are made of wood and tacked together. This is a mystery game and you use a matching deductive symbol on the scene and on your tool bar. It leads to a short hops for clues. You also have a folder on the other side of the tool bar that you keep things you find and have to put into categories. I was happy to have help with this part as I dislike doing it. The map also has achievements, tasks and notes in the form of movies. In the extras it highlights a D and a violin. It has the same puzzle as a special bonus for finding all the collectibles and morphs. The puzzle help is not in the guide. Replay 12 hops, 13 mini-games, 26 movies and 5 music. It has 11 wallpapers, 4 screensavers and 19 concept art. I liked how the story unfolded and finding out about the mystery in the main game and bonus chapter. The cheerful tram driver is delightful.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MEDIOCRITY STIFLED THE BRILLIANT Completed Game approximately 5 hours (including all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) The Phantom of the Opera is wreaking havoc within the Vienna Opera House, seeking Justice and demanding the guilty atone for their sins! The lives of the troupe and the Opera House are at stake because the Phantom won't stop until the criminals confess, but who confesses and for what crime? The first of two Gadgets is the All-Seeing-Eye which requires you to collect "evidence" in the form of a small Hidden Object Scene. As you find the Listed items, they show a brief description next to them and the detective gives a brief summary of events that took place. This gadget is used 7 times in the main game and 4 more times in the CE Bonus Chapter. The second Gadget is a Deduction-Conclusion Notebook. Once you gather a slew of evidence and photos, you are tasked with placing them into corresponding oval slots that highlight automatically, no actual deductions necessary (What's the point of this annoying task? At least let me try to figure out where the items should be placed!) This gadget is used 7 times in the main chapter and 2 times in the CE Bonus Chapter. There are 30 Morphing Opera Masks in the main game and 8 within the CE Bonus Chapter. There are 20 Hidden Alphabet Letters in the main Game and 7 within the CE Bonus Chapter. They have done a really good job with both features, the Opera Masks not only morph slowly but they don't morph into something that looks out of place. Once you find all Morphs and Letters, they are used to unlock additional Bonus Super Puzzles! There are 14 Hidden Object Scenes +6 within the CE Bonus Chapter, not including the Evidence All-Seeing-Eye HO's. I have to give kudos to our 4 good Friends who were able to reinvent the wheel to bring a new type of HOP to the table! You have to grab pictures or images that have a missing section from the inventory bar and align the hole with an item in the scene. The First one simply required finding a logical shape like a missing bouquet of flowers but the second go-round was way cooler because the objects were so well blended into different fabric textures in the scene, Nice! ? There were also the usual Interactive List Finds, Silhouetted Shape Finds, Replace Item Finds, and several Multiples Finds that were usually offered in a repeated scene. There are 18 Mini-Games +10 in the CE Bonus Chapter. There are several smaller puzzles to solve before using an inventory + item and within most of the HOP's such as placing torn photo fragments, rotating circles on disks, etc. Below are brief descriptions of some of the mini-games I liked: ?-Jump Red and Blue Chips until only one remain. ?-Use the empty slot to replicate a bird's flight on a film strip. ?-Select the number of moves & direction to travel from point A to B. ?-Place wine bottles of different categories for each country. The CE Bonus Chapter story takes place shortly after solving the Phantom of the Opera case when the Detective receives an urgent message from Johann Strauss, the conductor at the Vienna Opera House. A Muse has been appearing to Johann shortly after sunset and everyone thinks he's lost a few nuts and bolts and desperately needs the detective to validate and identify the Muse and its purpose. The chapter is slightly longer than any of the main games' chapters, spanning over 8 scene locations. There are 10 Mini-Games and 6 Hidden Object Scenes and you will collect the remaining 7 Letters and 8 Morphing Opera Masks. You will use the All-Seeing Eye Gadget 4 times to collect evidence via HO scenes, and the Deduction Notebook Gadget one final time to draw your conclusion and put another Dark City notch on your belt. This Collector's Edition version has 11 Wallpapers (psst, Friends of 4, most ppl want wallpapers of the beautiful scenery you created so can you skip the character cameos?) 19 Concept Art Pictures, 4 Screensavers, 5 Music Soundtracks, 26 Movie Video Cutscenes, 23 Achievements, 12 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 13 Replayable Mini-Games, 4 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a Built-in Strategy Guide. DARK CITY SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-London (November 29-2017) 4.5 2-Munich (November 8-2018) 4.5 3-Vienna (September 12-2019) n/a by: 4Friends Games
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME BUT ONE STAR DEDUCTED FOR TOO MANY PUZZLES Dark City Vienna is the third game in the Dark City series and it is, IMHO, the best. I enjoyed the first game but the second game not so much. Dark City Vienna is a vast improvement in the HOPS but still has far too many puzzles as far as I’m concerned. This developer has been a long time favorite and has consistently created some excellent HOPA games over the years. In Dark City Vienna they have taken creativity to a new level in the design of the HOPS. I’m not going to give you all the details as I believe it is far more fun for you to discover those for yourself. If you play the demo for the game you will soon see the excellence and creativity in the HOPS and even some of the puzzles. The story is told in a well-constructed manner as you use your detective skills and a deduction journal to help you categorize the clues that you find as you play the game. The only issue I have with the deduction journal is that you really don’t need to figure out where to place the items you have gathered. I don’t know why the developer found it necessary to highlight the circles where the gathered items should be placed. It would have been far more fun to figure it out without all the hand-holding. The gameplay was excellent but there were far too many puzzles that cropped up before I could make any real progress in the game. For example, there were nine puzzles or mini-puzzles in the first chapter of the game. Although I do enjoy puzzles, I dislike having so many that they overwhelm the gameplay. Puzzles are often used as game extenders and replace the necessity for a well-crafted HOP scene in a game. Although I am not a fan of having far too many puzzles in a HOPA game, I did find several of the puzzles fun to solve. The game was one that I purchased before the end of the demo and I have enjoyed discovering who was behind the phantom’s mask and his motivation. I’ve not yet played the bonus chapter but I do highly recommend Dark City Vienna as a terrific game, even more so if you happen to enjoy puzzles. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entertaining but... I love the developer and i love the serie! I've replayed them all. But this game is not as well designed as the others and one can feel it almost in every scene. Additional the game is very short. Makes me sad, because it could have been outstanding like the others of the serie.
Date published: 2019-09-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too easy, too easy, too easy Graphics okay, lots to do, some new mini games. A chance to place victims, clues, etc together but designers chose to tell you where to put them. Find an item use the item. I've grown frustrated with the baby fed games - never carry an inventory item farther than the next screen, there are never any helpful tips just right to the answer of what to do next.Not only this game but all recent games. I recently played a Lost Lands game and was reminded of what challenge was in a game... ended up playing all of them - you keep the knife and hammer all through the game and carry some inventory items through many levels before using. Is it that designers don't actually play these games or that they have gotten lazy or they feel all players are just happy to have a game. I recommend this game on the merits the designer may have intended - it is fast paced with lots to do. Matouks
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL GRAPHICS.....TOO MANY PUZZLES There are too many time consuming puzzles in this game. I feel that most of my time and effort is taken up with an overabundance of puzzles, outweighing gameplay, and I end up skipping them. It is frustrating to be encountering so many puzzles. I like to have more gameplay than being bombarded with puzzles. All it does is lengthen what is a short game to begin with and lessens the enjoyment of the scenery and story. The graphics are beautifully done, as is typical of this developer, but this is my least favorite of the series and did not leave me with a feeling of satiety. I thought it was basically mundane and boring, leaving me with the feeling, "Is that all there is?" There is a replay of only 12 HOS and 13 puzzles...cheap. There are many more puzzles than just 13. I wouldn't want to replay any of it. Some of the HOS were innovative where you had to match silhouettes with items in the scene, which were rather like puzzles in themselves. I saw no alternative to play. The HOS are repeated in the Bonus as well as some main game scenes. Most of the time is taken up with puzzles if you do those....I didn't. If there weren't so many puzzles you could complete the bonus in 10 minutes. The collectibles are unimpressive.You collect 38 morphing masks and 27 wooden letters that are only good for yet MORE PUZZLES to do. The only indicator for these is a pop out tab on the left of your screen. They are also marked in the strategy guide. I am thoroughly disappointed in this. The excessive amount of puzzles ruined this game for me.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Snooze alert! This was a very boring game. The HOPs are obvious. The puzzles are way too easy. And the storyline is the same one that's been used a million times. Play the demo so you can see what you think. It may just save you some money.
Date published: 2019-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only Thing Viennese is the Title First, the game is nothing new. Plot is a reworking of the standard Phantom/Opera thing supposedly set in Austria instead of Paris. The voices are bizarrely American or in some cases, inexplicably British. WHY doesn't BigFish have experienced stage/film directors cast and oversea these ridiculous choices? Can't you see that your gamers value the experience of the journey as much as the gaming part? It's nothing less than arrogance to think "anyone" can do it. Clearly, it aint workin'!
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Same old story set in Vienna instead of Paris. I don't understand why some folks think this is new and special. Graphics are flashy, lots of flaming stuff, but mediocre at best. The squirrel was cute, but that was about it. The characters stand stock still like paper dolls with moving mouths pasted on. HOS are the standard ones. The phantom keeps appearing and disappearing. I'm pretty sure there'll be a magic lantern projector showing up later in the game, but I don't care to hang around to find out. Show less
Date published: 2019-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful, Just Plain Awful Without Any Redeeming Qualities I know I've seen this storyline at least twice before, so I don't understand why some folks think this is new and special. Graphics/colorization is mediocre at best. HOGS are the same as other games. No updates here. The storyline is a bit busy with the phantom popping in & out along with inanimate objects coming alive. I just found it to be disconcerting.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy with it Too obvious, this phantom thing is way overdone.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Game froze It wouldn't let me pick up the cylinder in the opera which was the first chapter. Game wouldn't go on without it. So had to quit.
Date published: 2019-09-12
  • y_2019, m_11, d_17, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.2
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_30571, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark City: Vienna Collector's Edition

Can you save Vienna from a masked Phantom’s wrath?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.