Paranormal Files: The Hook Man's Legend Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Paranormal Files: The Hook Man's Legend Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(394.60 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games presents the latest spine-tingling installment of the Paranormal Files series!

News of your paranormal investigation prowess is spreading! A young woman calls you from Ashen Valley, a town you can only find on one map. The townspeople are being plagued by ghosts every night, and only you can help! But there’s much more to this story than a simple haunting. Recent disappearances and legends of a maniacal murderer with a hook terrorize the town. Can you separate fact from fiction and save the town in time? Find out in this chilling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Help a possessed child in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games and earn achievements!
  • Unlock even more content by finding eyes, collectible dolls, and morphing objects!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, screensavers, music, and concept art!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2067 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Paranormal Files: The Hook Man's Legend Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(394.60 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Paranormal Files: The Hook Man's Legend Collector's Edition is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rick Rogers Rescue. Good game. Not as good as the others in this series but better than most games coming out. I had a hard time seeing what to do on some of the area's. Some items use made no sense to me but other might see it. Sorry not to sure what to say but a good game with a discount.
Date published: 2019-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nasty little thing those bugs Let me start by saying I do like this game: the story line, voices, music, atmosphere and so on. Most puzzles and hops I enjoyed and where more challenging and different then other games I have played. Which I like. I'm a big fan of puzzles and do not mind if they are a bit more challenging. There are not much puzzles and hops in it though. However not everything in this game made sense to me or was accurate. Some of those things are already pointed out by the reviewer Granny_Gruff. I could have looked past those irregularities if I hadn't encountered two bugs. Possible spoiler: The first was after I collected the herbs in the green house of the psychic. All of the sudden my bag with herbs disappeared from the inventory. A moment later, it showed an empty slot in my inventory. Luckily restarting the game fixed this bug so I wouldn't had to start over. Possible spoiler: The second bug was with three characters needing to move through a house with obstacles. Each character had three unique tools to overcome those obstacles. It’s up to you to figure out when to use which tool. One of my characters only had two tools. The third tool, a key which I needed, was not there. Instead of the key, it showed an empty slot. Restarting the game a couple of times didn't help this time. I had to skip the puzzle because I couldn't proceed. When I don't manage a puzzle, this is one thing. When I can't manage a puzzle because of the game itself, I get annoyed and frustrated. I do NOT like using the skip button. This was not the only time I got annoyed throughout the game. Maybe those bugs are not there anymore if I start over and play the game for a second time. I don’t know. Luckily I could work around those bugs without starting over because, for now, I don’t want to start over. By the time I was in the forest I was pretty much ready for the game to wrap up. I finished the main game and need a little break from it before I continue with the bonus chapter. Due to my conflicting feelings about this game I don’t make a recommendation if you should buy it or not. Best is to play the demo and see for yourself If you like it. When I play a demo I usually know within 5 minutes if I like the game and want to buy it. Like I did with this game. Maybe play a bit longer when playing the demo (you got 90 minutes, use it).
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Best Part of the Demo Was the Dissolve! You play as Rick Rogers, paranormal investigator, called by Karen to come to Ashen Valley and investigate what seems to her to be numerous ghosts from the time the town was stalked by a serial killer, the Hook Man. When you finally get into town, Karen’s grandmother wants you to leave, but you persuade her to cooperate. Eventually you “save” Karen from the Hook Man after she hides in a derelict car trunk out by an old bridge, but this is only the tip of the iceberg that is this case. Good luck, Rick! Good stuff: The story line was vague enough to have some potential. There were collectible dolls, eyes, and morphing objects as well as assorted CE bling. The characters were interesting and the VOs well done. Bad stuff: In fact the story line was so vague that you may be left with a "take it or leave it" attitude as I was. There was nothing that seemed compelling enough to make me care what happens to the characters. What was there was sometimes very confusing. You fix a "mouse trap" in the garden of Karen's grandmother's house. - Only it is more of a cute garden decoration as it consists of a mechanized mouse going after a piece of plastic/metal cheese. And when you come back to it with a bowl, you will dig up some rope - with a marsupial buried in the hole with the rope! Huh? You climb a rope to the second floor of the police department and snoop around - after reminding yourself to be quiet so as not to attract the attention of the sheriff downstairs. You then proceed to break a door handle off the evidence room, knock things off of shelves, and climb in and out of that window repeatedly. When the sheriff finally throws you out the front door, the scene behind him is the second floor room you've been climbing in and out of the second floor window to get to - only it has moved down to the first floor. Huh? You need to get a tile from a racoon you find in a closed refrigerator. You put sleeping pills in a can of food and drug the racoon to get the tile. But wouldn't he have been so excited to get out of the closed refrigerator he would have taken off running? Add to those and other confusing moments the mini-games that were not working as someone hoped - either due to bad instructions or failure to perform as needed - and I was disappointed. Bottom line: This new Paranormal Files game is definitely better than the last one; it's just not really compelling me to buy it. Please try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I FEEL OBLIGATED TO INCLUDE HOOK IN THE TITLE NOW..OMG! IT'S BEHIND YOU! THE VALLEY HOOK-ER IS RIGHT BEHIND YOU? Completed Game approximately 5 Hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 28 Scene Locations Rick Rogers, Paranormal Detective extraordinaire, endowed with supernatural Electrodermal abilities, and ready at a moments notice to de-Haunt the Haunted, Exterminate the Ectoplasm, Grab the Ghostly Grigori Glossolalia, Abduct your Aliens, Banshee your Bigfoots, Cartomancy your Chimeras, or Yeren your Yetis. Rick Rogers has foreseen the unseen and explained the unexplainable but can he rid an entire town of their ghostly ghouls, one of which has a deadly right-hook? I thought the storyline was way better than the last episode of Paranormal Files, and it took a turn that I should have seen coming but didn't. The graphics were decent and reminiscent of Elephant's earlier games which back in the day were second to none. I also loved that I didn't have to find and place a million "emblems" which was becoming a thing with this developer and super annoying, I also loved that they didn't include every HOPA cliche known to mankind, there are still a few of them here and there, including the ole fish pond/fountain that seems to be where the entire town throws away their junk? What I found absolutely maddening was an audio glitch of some sort that caused the dialog to stick and stutter on a loop, repeating the same word over and over, like a scratch on a vinyl record, even though I kept playing on, even if I moved on to the next scene. It would literally loop for an entire minute at times, and nothing I did seemed to make a difference. I also found it to be a constant back and forth, mindless task after mindless task kinda game. I do however, think it is a vast improvement over the last several games by this dev, and I remain hopeful that they will climb to the top again and start making games with the quality they used to insist on in their original blockbusters. There are a few Elephant Eggs available in this fourth installment of Paranormal Files. Each of the 19 locations in the main game (+9 within the CE Bonus Chapter) has a Morphing Object that morphs way too fast and furious. Each Morphing Object you find will unlock a Jigsaw Puzzle Piece to assemble a 28 piece jigsaw. Each of the scenes also has a Hidden Eye, some of which are well-blended. When you collect 7-15-25 Eyes, it unlocks a really clever HOP in the Secret Room and keeps track of your Best Time as well as Current Time scores. Twelve of the scenes have a Character Doll collectible which makes no sense to me, even if they are supposed to be voodoo dolls it has nothing to do with the theme of this game??? There are 10 main Hidden Object Scenes and 4 smaller Zoom Zone HO's +6 in the CE Bonus Chapter. There are the standard Interactive List Finds, Silhouetted Shape Finds, Progressive Interactive Finds, Spot the Differences, Finding & Replacing Items and Keywords in Sentence Finds, There are a few interesting scenes such as finding objects that match Swatch Samples (some of the colors however, were WAY OFF!) another HO scene required using arrows & a slider bar to combine images on 2 wooden cubes. In the CE Extra's section, you can unlock a very unique HOP with the collectible Eyes that I really enjoyed. There are black & white paper cutouts and props that tell a visual story and you are tasked with finding 2 small details at a time. They are very cleverly blended into the drawings and quite entertaining to try to decipher the story being told. There are 24 Mini-Games +5 in the CE Bonus Chapter that range from fairly easy to medium difficulty. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games I enjoyed throughout the game: ?Swap tokens according to the progression of day & night time. ? ? Select directional arrows to move map pieces into place, using other pieces to stop the continuous movement. ?? ? Create a continuous chain thru all orbs to connect symbols in the order shown. ? Select 2 hand positions that are used to create the shadows shown in the center (would have been awesome if it were a little more challenging) ? ? Use directional arrows to control the forklift to push the boxes to the designated slots w/o getting stuck. ??? ? Move thru the house while overcoming obstacles by selecting 1-3 character tokens that have different skills. ? In the CE Bonus Chapter, Rick Rogers returns to Ashen Valley to search for Greg Odell whose father vehemently insists is being possessed by an entity. This is an average-length chapter that takes place across 9 scene locations with 6 Hidden Object Scenes and 5 Mini-Games. You will pick up the remaining 3 Character Dolls, 9 Morphs, and 9 Hidden Eyes that consequentially unlocks the final Bonus HOP with the Eyes, and the Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces to finish the Bonus Art jigsaw with the collected Morphs. This Collector's Edition version has 10 Wallpapers (Dear Elephant: your scenes are gorgeous, why can't we save images of the artwork WITHOUT a character profile slapped on every one of them??!!??), 11 Concept Art Pictures, 1 Screensaver, 1 Bonus Art 28 Piece Jigsaw Puzzle (receive a Jigsaw Piece for each Morph discovered to assemble the puzzle...completed image rather disappointing) 5 Music Soundtracks, 10 Achievements (two of the achievements have 3 categories or star-tiers and two of the achievements have 5 categories or star-tiers) 14 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 13 Replayable Mini-Games, 28 Morphing Objects, 12 Collectible Character Dolls (huh?) 28 Hidden Eyes, a Secret Room to unlock 3 very clever Bonus HOP's by collecting 7-15-25 Eyes, (why are ther 28 eyes to find but only 25 are needed to unlock the HOP's?) 3 Main Chapters with 28 different scene locations +Bonus Chapter with 9 new scene locations, and a Built-in Strategy Guide. PARANORMAL FILES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Fellow Traveler (May 31-2018) 4.5 2-The Tall Man (November 15-2018) 4.0 3-Enjoy The Shopping (April 27-2019) 3.6 4-The Hook Man's Legend (September 26-2019) n/a by: Elephant Games
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another mediocre, short sequel that should have been much better Definitely the weakest in the series. Game felt like it was over shortly after I began. Decent fun factor and interest, but falls well short of prior entries in series. Story felt very shallow, and game felt like it had to be thrown together very quickly. If your a fan of the series, you should, at least, enjoy this game to some degree. If not, probably best to skip this.
Date published: 2019-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from the big runaround did not even finish the demo... waaay too much running back and forth. sound and graphics decent. storyline--meh.
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful Only played 10 minutes of trial...so boring and amateurish...sorry
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Elephant Dropped the Ball on This Game I'm a fan of Elephant Games and typically buy most of their games. This time around that was a BIG mistake. In my opinion, this is the worse game they've ever released. The story was absolute nonsense. The tasks were quite frankly an offense to one's intelligence. Most of the tasks were just plain ridiculous and had no logic at all. (Sometimes I wonder if BFG developers even care about logic anymore.) Further, the graphics in this game were cartoonish and cheesy to the extreme. Elephant, if you are listening, a course correction is definitely needed.
Date published: 2019-10-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't Buy Knew I was in trouble right from the "get go". Voices repeated continuously like a broken record so, had to turn the voice sound off to continue. Not the 1st time this has happened with Elephant games. The secret room was BAD. Enough said...
Date published: 2019-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from COULD NOT SINK MY TEETH INTO THE STORY-LINE!!! I started playing the demo but I just can't get myself to finish it. Yes graphics are great, colorful where needed and drab where needed but it doesn't save the game. The story-line is just awful, its all over the place and can't make up its mind whether it is paranormal or real-world, it tries to fit it all into this game to give it a good story-line but it fails. The story is so boring that I don't care about the towns people, rick or the town and what happens to all of them. I usually get very excited over the collectables and morphing objects but they didn't interest me this time. If I find a game engaging I will play the puzzles but I skipped most of them. I realize now just what a good game Fellow Traveler is now.
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unfortunately all the minigames in the demo was unplayable... This could have been a good game, but isn't. Not a single minigame in this demo was playable, without, either a) using the SG or using the Skip button (eg not pure guesswork, or crap trial'n'error kind), this is easily the worst in the series. Furthermore, you can't set the skip button below 15(!!) seconds in custom mode. Should at least be able to set to 5 or lower. I cannot recommend this to people who like games with playable minigames, where you don't have to guess or skip all the time, and since I don't think this would get better in the full version, I have no intention of buying this.
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from what happened here ? Firsttime reviewer but i couldn't go past this one - this is the worse game - i have the Enjoy the Shopping, Fellow Trevaler and the Tall Man - and this game is nothing like the others. Because i loved all the other games i purchased this without demo (dumb me). The story line was so thin, puzzles needed more detail. I have tried to finish it twice and succeeded on the third attempt but didn't both with the bonus chapter - the bonus was the that game was finished.
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Demo would not run Tried installing it twice. Both times when I launched the game, I got an error and it wouldn't play. First time this has happened with a game from here, so not sure what's going on. Pretty annoying.
Date published: 2019-09-28
  • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_30654, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Paranormal Files: The Hook Man's Legend Collector's Edition

Can you save the townspeople from a maniacal specter in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.