Family Mysteries: Poisonous Promises Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Family Mysteries: Poisonous Promises Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.68 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Emma Emerson, famous police detective, has been called to investigate an ominous drowning. While following the clues, Emma ends up unravelling the greatest murder mystery of her career. Help Emma dig through the poisonous pieces of this family mystery and solve the case! Play Family Mysteries: Poisonous Promises Collector’s Edition!

  • Unravel a dark family secret
  • Follow a web of deceit to crack the case
  • Collector’s Edition includes replayable cut scenes, extra puzzles, music tracks and wallpapers.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2266 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Family Mysteries: Poisonous Promises Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(399.68 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Family Mysteries: Poisonous Promises Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had a lot of fun Why so many bad reviews? The game and the story were very exciting for me. So, I recommend this game.
Date published: 2019-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GAME FOR 5 STARS GREAT GAME I LOVED, INTERESTING AND VERY WELL MADE. KUDOS TO DEVELOPERS!
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun murder mystery Nothing groundbreaking here, but that's OK. Solid graphics, gameplay. Solid murder mystery. Plenty to do.
Date published: 2020-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAMILY DRAMA CAN BE MURDER REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 50 pages (My time: 6 hours) OPINION: Planning a Murder Mystery Weekend? Consider this fantastic whodunit! Play a detective off to help her partner solve a murder case, one involving family drama. The story is well-written, full of suspense and surprises as it unfolds the story behind the crime. It is an action-packed adventure filled with numerous activities to be performed within a wide variety of locations. The game consists of investigating various locations and collecting evidence by taking photos with a cell phone. Analyze these photos by placing them into their proper locations on an evidence board. Assumptions will be made from the evidence and will lead to further sleuthing in other locations. Within most scenes, there are two collectibles, morphing presents and playing cards. One scene has more than two collectibles. They are easy to locate, practically jumping out from the scenes. MINI-GAMES: There are thirty-four (34) mini-games with eight (8) which can be replayed at the end of the game. Many of the puzzles are physical in nature and provide an action-packed, realistic element to the game. There is one, a variation of a Match-3 game, which is used repeatedly throughout the game, used to battle criminals. There are also several other puzzles involving a physical activity such as scaling up a cliff or escaping danger by sailing a boat past obstacles. Being an aficionada of nonogram (griddler) puzzles, I was delighted this developer included one within this game! HOP SCENES: There are nineteen (19) HOP scenes with eight (8) which can be replayed at the end of the game. Most of the scenes are either lists of items or silhouette scenes. Most of the scenes have a morphing object. The scenes are creative in design and interactive. Items in the scenes must be manipulated in some way to uncover the items to be removed. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a prequel. Play a Coast Gard officer off to save the characters from the main game the night of the storm which wrecked their yacht. The quality is equal to that of the main game. I feel the puzzles and HOP scenes are better designed that those of the main game. There are ten (10) mini-games and five (5) HOP scenes. The player is given the choice between two puzzles to play to navigate a boat. This is something new I have not seen before and feel it is a nice touch. It is a chapter worthy of a collector’s edition designation. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • Twenty-four (24) achievements. • Collect thirty-two (32) cards • Collect twenty-nine (29) morphing gifts • Sixteen (16) wallpapers along with concept art, music and video sequences • Phone camera to collect evidence • Replay eight (8) mini-games and eight (8) HOP scenes SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Strategy puzzle. Scale up a cliff by choosing the proper holes in which to place support rods If you choose the incorrect hole, you will fall. – and even worse – start over! 3X B. Nonogram (AKA Griddler) puzzle. Create an image by filing in spaces within a grid according to numbers on the sides of the rows and at the top of the grid. C. Picture puzzle. Rotate triangular shapes to restore an image. D. Variation of a Match-3 game. Match up 3 or more of your symbols to fill up tubes. If you have no moves, then you must match up those of your opponent. If the tubes are filled up for your opponent, your tubes will empty. (Used several times within the game) E. Storybook. Like a HOP scene. Search for items in highlighted letters or associated with it. Use items within the scene and interact with them to locate all items. (Used several times within the game) F. Multiple step. Picture puzzles. (1) Jigsaw puzzle. Place jigsaw pieces into position to restore an image. (2) Switch puzzle. Switch picture fragments to restore an image (3) Rotating rings puzzle. Rotate rings to restore an image BONUS CHAPTER: G. Choice between two puzzles (1) Map puzzle. Maneuver the boat while avoiding obstacles or (2) Connection puzzle. Connect dots in one solid line without retracing steps. H. Mathematical puzzle. Move a dial two or three spaces clockwise or counterclockwise to land on given symbols in the order in which they are given. I. Map puzzle. Move a boat 1 space at a time on a grid avoiding storm clouds which can move 2 spaces. Reach the port.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good detective game I was so happy to see a potential new series released. This is a classic whodunit with lots of twists and turns. Not sure if I've ever played a game by this developer, but with all the games I've played, I must have. Graphics are clear and on spot. The story is fun and believable. Lots to do and interesting characters. I don't recall seeing achievements. There are 2 collectibles in each scene but I didn't see a place where they go either under extras. Bonus chapter was kind of short and disjointed. I'll definitely be playing the next games in the series.
Date published: 2020-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME WITH LOTS OF TWISTS AND TURNS REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS This is a great who dunnit detective game that keeps you guessing right to the end. You play a female police detective (E Emerson) and you have your partner Duke to solve a murder/mystery. Yes, you will be shot at, tasered and push off cliffs to name a few! There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advanced, Expert and Custom modes; * Interactive map; * Diary; * 24 achievements; * Evidence of your smart phone; * Find 32 collectibles (cards) and 29 morphs (presents); * 8 repayable HOPs and 8 replayable mini-games. The graphics are crisp and clear, with just the right amount of colour. I loved going from scene to scene never knowing what to expect next. Sound is good and the music is mainly orchestral. The hidden object games are highly interactive straightforward and silhouette. There are even morphs in them as well. I enjoyed doing these as they were not as straightforward as you think. However, if you feel like a change then you can play pairs instead of HOPs to give you a bit of variety. There are a great variety of mini-games and I enjoyed them all. These are not hard to do and the instructions are clear. I noticed there were a good mixture of jigsaw puzzles to do and even though, not hard, still took a while to do. There are 29 morphs (presents) and 32 collectibles (cards) to find throughout the main game only. These are very easy to spot, so you will get the achievements for these. I wish they had been a bit smaller and harder to find. I just don't see the point in having them in there if they are glaringly huge. Make us work hard for them so that if we get the achievement, then we feel like we've earned it. Also, make sure you get them all within the game as you can't collect any you missed or wanted to do later in the Extras. You will be collecting evidence and taking photos on your smart phone. When you have enough photos, this will go on the evidence board to piece out what happened. Haha I thought its him! Oh no wrong. Haha I thought its her! Wrong again. All up the game took me a good 5 hours or so and I really enjoyed it. I am now about to play the second game which has just come out "Family Mysteries - Echoes of Tomorrow". Definitely comes recommended. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid mystery I agree with the other reviewers that this was an engaging mystery and a nice change from all the supernatural games being offered. Collecting clues and interviewing the characters was fun. The HOPS were somewhat easy, but the mini games were not particularing engrossing with a couple of exceptions. The MC detective voiceover was excellent (and sadly not credited.) The quality of voiceover is important to my enjoyment of a game. As much as I like the MC, some of the other VO were not as good. For instance, it was quite jarring to have the doctor voiced in such an odd way. Overall, however, I thought the main game was very good. I can't say the same for the bonus game. It's hard to believe that the same team produced both games. The voiceovers were ridiculous and waay over the top. And the game was short, boring, and pointless. I have not marked off for the bonus game, but it was not CE-worthy. If BF can up its game with regard to VO (and please include credits) and put more effort into the bonus game, I'd like to see this as a series.
Date published: 2019-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Detective Mystery I enjoyed the game and was happy to play a straight-up mystery rather than the usual supernatural storyline. Wish that the devs would make it where you could go back and find collectibles you missed along the way. Also, one collectible gift was positioned where it was impossible to click on it without clicking the arrow to leave the scene, making it impossible to earn all the achievements. Due to this, I deducted one star from the overall review.
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast-Paced with Whodunit Twists The storyline is solid in this fast-paced game, a classic whodunit with just enough red herrings to keep us wondering. We move in and out of scenes quickly and don't carry a lot of inventory (and we have a pocket knife for most of the game)--all of which I appreciate. Many HOs are interactive, a bit easy but not over obvious, with some items small.The puzzles are easy and not intrusive. Graphics are clear and the music appropriate to the action, all of which I usually find with Brave Giant games. I liked collecting evidence using my smartphone and then classifying the evidence when necessary. I've always liked this technique in detective games. If you are a fan of 9 Clues, you will find another clue gathering technique in some of the scenes using the question mark,. I do think the game is not as polished as it could be--editing mainly--but none of that stopped me from enjoying the game. There were times I couldn't quite figure out what was needed but that's probably down to my game play. I found the Bonus Chapter quite short but it's a good one and again, concise play. This review is based upon completed play of the game and bonus chapter. As always, try the demo.
Date published: 2019-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Based on demo I tried and this is based on demo with no sound. Qaullity is good but you have to take a picture on your phone of everything. No matter what you have to take a picture which is sooo annoying. You can't move on without it. There is so much dialog that you are continously clicking through it or skipping. I didn't even finish the demo, I got bored and frustrated.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointed in this one well, I bought it and played it through, however, can't say it was a favorite of mine. Certainly not one that I would replay. Far too much cut scenes and dialogue, and as was mentioned in another review, far too much usage of the phone taking pictures of everything. Plus, there was nothing in the Extras. Didn't think this warranted being a CE game.
Date published: 2019-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed in this one Choppy Story Line, Bad & Overly-Dramatic Voice-Overs, Gameplay/Story Had Potential, But Missed the Mark.
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SERIOUSLY? WHAT AN INCREDIBLY BORING GAME! Completed Game approximately 5.5 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) *29 Scene Locations +7 CE Bonus Chapter* Difficulty Range: Beginner-(possibly intermediate) I love this developer, I love that he always visits and interacts with us at the pond, but I had to force myself to complete this game because I bought the game thinking this would be a great who-dun-it mystery game, a genre I happen to love! But, there are ONLY 2-3 AREAS OF INTEREST PER SCENE (zoom zones, hos, mini-game etc) there's nothing to do, nothing interesting to see, and when there is something to do, it almost always involves having to unlock a door or drawer, cut thru and/or use acid on a locked chain or cut the straps of a suitcase. How many times can I repeat these same 3 tasks before I go insane? The games are repeats, the games are boring, the HO scenes are boring, the repetitive tasks are really boring, the story is okay-ish but it's difficult to keep up with because the characters all look similar and getting from point A to point B is soooo slooooowww! Gadget: You will use your Smartphone to take pictures of 18 different Evidence items. (the pictures are taken automatically) After collecting several evidence pictures, you will click the Phone Icon to make 6 different Case Analyses Deductions. This involves rifling through the images (how did phone snapshots magically turn into old polaroid photos???) and then placing them into the correct categories while hearing the conclusions the detective has concluded. Collectibles/Morphing Objects (CE version only) There are 32 Collectible Playing Cards and 29 Morphing Presents. The Cards are huge and stick out like a sore thumb and the Presents morph way to quickly. Even if they didn't morph at all they would still be easily spotted because all you have to do is scan the scene for a square or round object laying in the middle of the floor. Hidden Object Scenes: There are 13 Hidden Object Scenes +6 in the CE Bonus Chapter that vary with Interactive Listed Item Finds, Silhouetted Shape Finds, and Multiples of Related Items. There are a few Keywords in Sentence Finds, but they are listed as Mini-Games, not HOP's. The scenes are nothing more than large, unorganized lumps of clutter-junk and the items to find are usually blurry and difficult to recognize. To make matters worse, the scenes are located in unappealing, uninteresting locations. This would be a perfect time to add a "Skip" feature to a HOS, fortunately, there's an alternate Matching Pairs game where you flip over 2 available tokens at a time to find related images, such as a Rose and a Vase, Mini-Games: There are 25 mini-games +10 in the CE Bonus Chapter. These are the same exact puzzles that were offered in the last couple of games released by this developer, most of which are easily solved on the first attempt and not all that impressive. One of the mini-games that this developer has used in nearly all of their games is repeated several times as a "Fight-Scene" scenario. You are challenged with dragging lines between 3 or more tokens that match your colors and hopefully, not your opponent's colored tokens which drains your amounts. There are 3 different boards to clear before you deck your male opponent (Do you really expect me to believe that I could win a fistfight with a testosterone, pumped-up dude who is ruthless enough to punch a woman?) however, the game is maddening because there are no more than 3 matchable tokens in your color vs. 7-10 matchable opponent tokens so the game is completely boring and not fun to play once much less 3 boards, and then having to agonize through the same game two additional times is maddening! I have listed a few games that were slightly more interesting: 1-Click directional arrows to slide 2 tokens to their matching slot, using obstacles as bumpers to change the destination paths. 2-Swap groups of 2 triangle puzzle pieces to complete the image. 3-Use directional arrows to steer the ship clear of obstacles. 4-Connect ends of colored wires into partial symbols to recreate the symbols. 5-Assemble a series of jigsaw variation puzzles (jigsaw-square tiles-rings) Bonus Chapter: The Great Storm (CE version only) Relive that stormy night from a Coast Guards point of view as you rescue the crew of the Yacht. This is an average-length chapter that takes place pretty much entirely aboard the yacht with 7 additional scene locations. There are 10 Mini-Games and 6 Hidden Object Scenes to stretch out the length of actual gameplay. There are no Collectible Playing Cards or Morphing Presents to find which I find odd considering the game takes place on the yacht that is owned by the Present-giver? Once again, the Giant Brave guy does not give us an opportunity to pick up any missed collectibles or morphs. (I missed a card because 3 scenes had 2 cards instead of 1 and I just wasn't paying attention) Collector's Edition Extra's: 16 Wallpapers from 16 of the scenes & w/o characters, yay! (can't download until completion of the main game...why, do I not own this game??) 5 Music Soundtracks, 8 Movie Video Cutscenes, 8 Replayable Mini-Games, 8 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 24 Achievements, 32 Collectible Playing Cards, 29 Morphing Presents, 4 Main Chapters with 29 Scene Locations, +Bonus Chapter with 7 Scene Locations, and a Built-In Strategy Guide.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Holes.... So..Many..Holes. . . . . You play as a detective who, with your partner, Duke, is investigating what maybe two cases. Or is it only one? You have a body of a young woman who has been poisoned and a yacht that has exploded while at sea. There are two women, Veronica and Ellena; their father, Stan; their boyfriend, Mark; and lots of clues for you to work on. Good luck, detective. There will be the usual cascades of items to open/unlock with the usual plethora of keys, combinations, and lockpicks, along with sets of evidence you must sort into catagories to make your deductions. The game has an alternative Pairs puzzle to the HOPs, collectible cards and morphing gift boxes, cartoon artwork, and a baragge of anomalies that should have set off alarm bells while this game was in development. Unfortunately no one heard them. I can tell you that you will not have to fight aliens, magic, or cart around an animal helper. No demon is out to take over/destroy the world. It would have been so nice to be able to tell you what a great mystery story this game had, intriguing puzzles and mini-games, and charismatic characters. Oh, well, better luck next time. Please try the demo for yourself.
Date published: 2019-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so fun The game began well, but several puzzles, such as the microscope puzzle, did not work (clicked on the correct microbes to no avail). The CONSTANT objectives and messages - let us decide if we want these - were intrusive and irritating. The game is not for me.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Boring...Poor Script and SLOW! Graphics are okay, voice overs were confusing with varying accents. The Hidden Object Games are overflowing with objects. I won't even go into the Mini Games. Skipped them! The hospital didn't have any staff. The doctor even seemed suspicious The fiancé was raging and violent at the hospital? Maybe he was poisoned too? What happened to her partner he was trying to fight off the fiancé? Then she is fighting him. Lake of continuity was annoying. The introduction turned me off right from the start. When SHE picked up HER phone she had MAN hands. Okay, maybe that statement isn't politically correct, but come on developers...Really! There was also a small dopey looking detective character with a huge pipe, magnifying glass and hat that looked like a bowl. I hoped he would disappear. Didn't see him again. Whew! Cop started out with an accent that sounded foreign then it disappeared and he looks like a thug. DNA detected poison? Glad mine didn't! Then a fight game to overcome the finance and that was annoying. Final straw...LOCK PIC. I can't believe a developer would be foolish enough to add it after all the negative lock pic comments. Maybe they don't read the comments. Maybe the should! I didn't even finish the trial, YAWN. Hire new script writers or maybe even an editor! Give the player something that moves forward.
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzz Need I say more? o:( Well...looks like I have to; my review was too short, soooo I will just say.....don't waste your money!!
Date published: 2019-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from COMIC BOOK GRAPHICS AND JUNKPILE HOS MAKE THIS GAME A BUST FOR ME I love a good whodunit game but this is not one of them. What I played of the game seemed rather hokey to me and simply wouldn’t hold my attention. The cartoonish graphics that seemed flat in the scenes simply made the game seem second rate and couldn’t compare to some of the better games from this developer. The worst part of this game for me were the overcrowded, junkpile HOS that had almost invisible items to locate and the mini-games that were far too easy. I dislike too many puzzles in HOPA games and it seems like the ones in this game were far too many and simply thrown in to give the gamer something to do. As much as I appreciate a good mystery, Family Mysteries Poisonous Promises just wasn’t one of the better ones. I guess the voiceovers and the graphics simply didn’t appeal to me at all. At times the game seemed that it was pieced together and rushed to publication. The storyline was okay but the gameplay didn’t appeal to me. In fact, I could hardly complete the demo as the game didn’t hold my attention. I happen to know that this developer is capable of so much more than this comic book type game. I guess the bad HOS in the beginning of the game simply put me off. As always, I recommend that you try the demo because you might enjoy this game far more than I did. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I skipped through almost everything I skipped through almost everything (I always skip through dialogue and there were endless phone calls - which I hate - so I skipped through those). I did not like the HOPS and got fed up by the time I played ten minutes with NO fun at all.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I Never Bothered to Get Past the Difficulty Menu. As many years as I have been a member of Big fish Games, and as many games as I have bought, these developers are hard pressed to come up with new and ORIGINAL ideas for plots and true difficulty options. Because a TRUE customized play would include 0 seconds for hint and skip options, and to check OFF for click penalty. This game had none of those. I can't comment on anything else about this game, because I didn't go any further. I DON'T recommend this game.
Date published: 2019-10-26
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_30781, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Family Mysteries: Poisonous Promises Collector's Edition

Help Emma dig through the poisonous pieces of this family mystery and solve the case! Play Family Mysteries: Poisonous Promises Collector’s Edition!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.