Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(384.72 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Grandma Studios is back with the latest gripping installment of the Whispered Secrets series!

When your friend’s new job turns into a nightmare, you rush to help her. But what you find is no mere hospital. A dark presence tracks your every move and someone’s trying to keep you trapped inside for good! Can you rescue your friend and escape the deadly halls of Acorn Hospital in time? Find out in this exhilarating Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Go back in time to help patients trapped in the hospital during an air raid in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-Games!
  • Unlock a hidden chapter to crack an additional case!
  • Tons of figurines and healing herbs to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive concept art, music, videos, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 754 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(384.72 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do not apply for jobs at run-down old hospitals I wasn't sure if I would enjoy this, but I got addicted pretty quickly. Others have gone over the storyline, so I'll just list the plus & minus points. Plus - -Choices affect the story outcome. I'm already itching to play a second time through to change the story. -Collectible icons. The herbs and morphing objects are not always easy to find, but you have a flashing icon for morphs and a sliding screen for herbs to keep you looking. -Interesting HOPs and puzzles with 2 levels of challenge. - Most voices were pretty good. Minus - -The boy's voice was annoying. Why do developers always have whiny children? Have they ever actually worked with real kids? I do every day and most of them don't sound squeaky. -Cheesy monsters -My conscience when I made a poor choice
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game This a very good game. Fun and challenging. I bought it right away. You will not be disappointed!!!
Date published: 2019-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Excellent game - One of the best I have played. Loved every minute of it.
Date published: 2019-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool game !! Amazing game i really enjoy it i love every minutes of it :)
Date published: 2019-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHISPERED SECRETS DREADFUL BEAUTY WOW FINALLY A REALLY GOOD GAME, THIS ONE HAS DIFFERENT RESULTS DEPENDING WHAT YOU CHOOSE AND I ONLY PLAYED FIRST COUPLE SCENCES AND I BOUGHT RIGHT A WAY , DONT LET THIS ONE SLIP AWAY, I CANT WAIT TO SEE THE END. GOOD LUCK ,THIS HAS ALL THE NORMAL THINGS BUT DIFFERENT ENDINGS .
Date published: 2019-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superficial Beauty can be Dreadful Newspapers put this drama starting in 1912. Fifteen years later in 1927 we still have a problem. My friend Cathy calls me and she's in the Acorn hospital and she needs my help. The game is a mystery and horror game both. But this game has color and it's not that dirty. Some places are beautiful and very detailed. There is a box by a man projector and I kept playing with it. You have choices to make and it effects the out come of the story. It's fun. It would have made a nice Halloween game. The hops are pretty and some are used more than once. I only liked the easiest puzzles like the jigsaw and skipped the rest. It has 6 chapters + bonus chapter + solve a mystery. I Loved the collectibles. You collect 20 figures from the passed games in the series. You have 20 morphs and 52 healing herbs. The place where you have the herbs only has 26 herb plants with information of what they are used for. You can replay 18 hops, 11 mini-games, 8 music and 21 movies. Achievements in the form of medical equipment. Ten wallpapers and ten concept art. The game has a journal. The bonus chapter is a prequel. The bonus little mystery after the bonus chapter was a bit confusing to me but I got it. The main game has a funnel tube that you converse with a character and I found this quite fun and original. So I liked the story, choices, hops and gameplay. But the gameplay in the bonus chapter had me using the map a lot.
Date published: 2019-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from help I am in deap but happy medical delema Love this game the different choices in game play have me wondering what will happen with my choice. but I am getting De Ja Vu in this game a feeling like I have done this before placing the knives and the grenades and other thing ( forgotten the name of the star weapon ) but I have no complaints excellent game . love the morphs collecting the figurines and looking for and collecting the herbs 2 in each scene.
Date published: 2019-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contender for my favorite game of the year! I love Grandma games I believe I own almost every game they've made and never been disappointed but this game took it to a whole new impressive level! I really, really enjoyed this game. I loved being given different questions and options that will affect the gameplay. I have to say I was extremely happy when I got the opportunity to save or not save Laura an annoying person who's presence I never fully understood. She had to go for a few reasons but mostly because she was really annoying! lol The rest of the gameplay, graphics, music, scenery were just perfect! I loved talking to my secret helper using a beautifully ornate old fashioned pneumatic tube. The graphics and music as always were just perfect. The mini-games were ok not my favorite part of any HOG, I loved all the hidden object games, they were so lovely too look at and the interaction was so much fun. I played this game and the two bonus chapters nonstop due to the fun factor. I haven't done that in quite a while. For me, this is a huge contender for the best game of the year. As always, great job Grandma games. BRAVO! I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AN EXICITING NEW LOOK FOR GRANDMA – A FACELIFT IN GAMING DESIGN 6 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter and Hidden Chapter – Strategy Guide: 42 pages (My Time: 6 Hours) OPINION: Wow! What a fantastic game! Hands down, this is the best game to date from our sweet GrandMA. To me, it is worth its salt – something you will need plenty of while playing this game! You will be throwing quite a bit of salt at creepy ghostly hands from creatures grasping at you. Travel back in time to the post World War II era. At the bequest of your friend, Cathy, investigate mysterious events happening at the Acorn Hospital, an asylum operated by the crazed doctor, Harry Jules. Investigate his obsessive research involving his wife, Arabella. Lurking behind the scenes is Arabella herself, will provide guidance in dealing with her husband’s insanity. GrandMA has modernized her look with this game. Some new creative touches have provided a much-needed facelift for their HOP scenes and puzzles. Some fresh new concepts in game design also give this game a fresh new look This developer has provided a choice of actions which result in multiple outcomes for the game. Throughout the game, the player will have between two to three choices in responses or handling a situation. This is one game which I will replay to witness those different outcomes. The story is well-written. The pace is excellent with plenty of activities to keep the player engaged as he/she snoops around this creepy hospital. The collectibles are herbs, figurines of the characters from the game and morphing objects. I found the figurines and morphing objects easy to locate. However, I found the herbs somewhat difficult to find. They are well-hidden within the rafters of this spooky hospital. It requires some sleuthing to locate some of the collectibles. HOP SCENES: There are twenty (20) HOP scenes plus eight (8) mini-HOP scenes. My favorite scenes were the interactive scenes in which items are located and then used within the scene to discover other items. Most of the scenes are lists of items or silhouette. The mini-HOP scenes are lists of items – most containing six (6) items to be located. A Match-3 game can be played in lieu of the scenes. There are morphing objects within some of the HOP scenes as well. MINI-GAMES: There are twenty-three (23) mini-games. They vary in difficulty. Some of the puzzles have the option to be played in either an “easy” or “hard” mode. My favorite puzzle was playing checkers with a mannequin. I also enjoyed a puzzle in which gas is moved through flasks using 8 stoppers to direct the flow. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • Fifteen (15) achievements. • Collect twenty (20) figurines and twenty (20) morphing objects • Collect 52 healing herbs • Ten (10) wallpapers along with concept art, music and video sequences • Replay eighteen (18) HOP scenes and twelve (12) mini-games BONUS CHAPTER: It is a prequel. Return to World War II. Play the doctor, Harry Jules, as he battles a fire engulfing the hospital. Help the doctor try to save his wife, Arabella, and the soldiers residing there, as they try to escape the burning building. There are four (4) HOP scenes and five (5) mini-games. Continue collecting all the collectibles within this chapter. It is of the same quality as the main game and worthy of a collector’s edition designation. HIDDEN CHAPTER: This little whodunit is NOT to be missed! Just exquisite! Return to 1939 as you sleuth a hospital in search of clues and evidence involved in the death of Dr. Lewis Horton. Uncover clues as you examine the scenes locating evidence to discover who was the mastermind behind his murder. At the end of this chapter, after listening to the statements of all witnesses and examining the evidence, identify the killer and provide the evidence to substantiate your claim. There is no assistance from some fictional detective. You are on your own! However, if you make a mistake and choose the wrong culprit, you can go back and try again. Hopefully we will see more of this type of activity from this developer and others as well. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Facelift in a puzzle! Switch puzzle. Switch puzzles pieces to restore a picture. In this case, the pieces are jigsaw in nature and must be switched with like pieces. B. King me! Easy/Hard options. Checkers. Play checkers and defeat a mannequin. C. It’s a gas! Connection puzzle. Awesome puzzle in which you must move gas through flasks using 8 stoppers to direct the flow. D. Stay within the lines! Connection puzzle. Create connections between matching colored tokens without crossing lines. All cells must be used. E. Symbolic gesture! Rotating rings puzzle. Rotate rings so that the symbols on them create the two symbols in the middle of the grid. BONUS CHAPTER: F. Put out the fire! Sequence puzzle. Put out a fire by choosing the numbered tokens in sequential order based on the number of connections it has with other tokens. 2X G. “A-maze-ing!” Maze puzzle. Move a key from the top to the bottom of a maze H. The nut doesn’t fall far from the tree! Switch puzzle. Slide and rotate pictures of the Acorn family members to create a family tree. I. TKO! Sequence puzzle. Follow the sequence to knock out Captain Harwell. Fill up your tube before he does with punches. 3X
Date published: 2019-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! Just started this game and it is great! Not much of a review I agree, but it is so much fun. Love the choice factor and replayability.
Date published: 2019-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Best game I played in some time. It keeps going on and on and I love it. Well worth buying the Collector version as it comes with 2 extra chapters. Don't know how it could be better. I am now going to check out all the other Whispered Secrets games. Give it a try and I don't think you will be disappointed.
Date published: 2019-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty Collector's Edition I enjoyed playing this series of games even though I didn't play them all
Date published: 2019-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally, a Game I liked Well, I bought it. First one in a long time. Although it started out needing two glass shards, (there has to be a better way to open things), I truly enjoyed it. Along the way, you will have the opportunity to make choices that do have different outcomes, which allows you to play the game again. The level of challenge was perfect for me, in that I never had to use the hint button (which I always turn off), yet I had a bit of a struggle every once in awhile. The story line isn't all that original, but we have never had a plastic surgeon go mad yet. There is no "Magic gadget", which is such a relief, and it kept me engaged. I can't explain why, except to say that I have been fed up with these games lately and for some reason, this brought more to the table for me. I also played the bonus game, and enjoyed that as much, if not more,than the original. It wasn't just a short put together "Must Add"..... I was unable to find 2 morphing objects, and I think there was a technical glitch because I truly looked in the places they said they were.....and had my husband do the same....and my niece...soooo.....overall, much better than previous games.......
Date published: 2019-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Same game? Seems like the story line seems familiar ? A good game . It is creeper than most games I get but not to bad. I used the hint button more than other games I have played. Little disturbing which might be the reason I didn't give it a 5 star just couldn't get into the game. I recommend it if you like creepy games and slightly disturbing.
Date published: 2019-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When You Think Of Laura, Laugh, Don't Scream This is a very challenging game where you have to make choices that affect what happens next so it presents the opportunity for a fun re-play. And interesting storyline and the usual great graphics you expect from this developer, with challenging puzzles and the usual morphing and hidden objects to search for. I have one criticism, but it's a big one. Not long after running into Laura, I wanted to smack her upside the head. She gets trapped(several times so far, the ninny) and you have to go in and out of rooms to find what you need to free her. Every time you return to the room she's trapped in, she screeches at you to help her and whines that you are taking too long. After the second save(for which she never expresses gratitude), I wanted to shove her back in the arms of the ghost arms, use the salt to season my popcorn and leave her to her fate. Granted, I'm still in the early stages of the game as I write this, so perhaps the developers know she's an entitled "Karen" and have something nasty in store for her later on. If they do, I would proclaim this the best game ever made.
Date published: 2019-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty Collector's Edition Not Bad at all, like more like this one...
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My new friend Laura is so accident prone in this demo- lol Based on completed demo only I just didn’t seem to connect with this game. I found it a bit too dark and weird. It has a soul transfer storyline with a steampunk feel. WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: ~ An icon appears whenever my character speaks of a blank shadow person. I prefer to know who I’m playing as and what I look like otherwise it creates a disconnect for me with the character and the game. ~ You play all the scenes of the demo in inside locations and they all have the exact same color scheme. I just prefer when a game mixes up the color tones in the scenes so you don’t feel like every location you play in is the same as the last. ~ In chapter 2, pg 7, you come upon a rat that is trapped in a glass container that has been used for animal testing for soul transfer. He bites you so your character kills him with a syringe of poison. I would have stopped the game at this point but continued to the end of the demo for an unbiased opinion of this game. WHAT I LIKED: ~ The diary/notebook- Grandma is the only dev. that puts the cut-scenes in order with the notes you find in the game. They are all kept in a binder together so you can follow the story by reading and re-watching the videos sequentially. I will often wait to buy a CE on sale and play other games while I’m waiting so it is so great to have this feature to brush up on the story and reconnect with the game after the demo. This diary is on point, and you feel so much more connected to the story and characters if it’s all fresh in your mind. ~ I love the tab indicators and icons that tell you if you still have a morph or collectible in the scene. ~ I liked the MG in chapter 2 with the microscope. ~ The personal items you find were excellent in this game. Pictures, articles, photos, notes and articles were all done with care. This game just wasn’t for me. I don’t recommend this game- but Grandma made one of my top favorite games (I’ll add a link to) Whispered Secrets #5 Everburning candle. If you haven’t tried the demo for it be sure to check it out. It has these cube HOS, and special HOS like I’ve never played before. I highly recommend that one instead.
Date published: 2019-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A twist not far enough This seemed at first to be standard play, but once into the game I was given the option of choosing a resolution - and if I didn't like it then I could begin the game and make another choice. Sounds good, but what was the story? I've no idea - no backstory, just into game, game, game. The art design was really very nice and the playability was good too, but it was a bit frustrating to play a game that was so 'in your face' and not in your mind; some people will like it though.
Date published: 2019-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'd like to join the cheering masses but... Your friend, Cathy, has asked for your help. She has taken a new job at Acorn Hospital that has taken a sinister turn. You rush to the rescue and awaken to find yourself handcuffed to a bed with a journalist, Laura, trying to open the handcuffs with a hairpin. Disembodied arms drag Laura from your room and you will need to rescue yourself, Cathy, and Laura, as well as solving the mystery of Acorn Hospital. I'm on board with the kudos for improved artwork, good selection of collectibles, the two extra chapters, and the innovative ability to affect the game's outcome. But...I felt like I was playing another round of the Mystery of the Ancients: No Escape. That being said, I do want to purchase and play the game through. That is as much a reflection of the sad assortment of games put out this year as it is an endorsement of the innovations in Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty. And once again: Please play the demo. You need to support the developers that are giving us quality, not just quantity.
Date published: 2019-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad Audio Might have given this 5 stars but, when the audio is like a broken record and you have to play with the sound off, NOT good... This is the 2nd game from Grandma Studios that this has happened so, I am wary of buying them again.
Date published: 2019-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Main character should have stayed asleep... The main character should have stayed asleep because given the choices it would have been more fun. I base my opinion on the DEMO and have to say that whoever started the trend of adding all kinds of bells and whistles in lieu of real substance and intrigue should expand their horizons a bit. Being an avid gamer, I just can not recommend this game. It is a rehashed mix of the same ole stuff that cookie cutter games have offered for years; including the so-called choices matter (been there, done that on other platforms!), Bottom line, it is boring and contains no varied substance enticing me to fork out $ no matter what choice I were to make within the game; it basically offers the same cheesy animations, graphics and SFX that most casual game developers regurgitate over and over and over. Try the demo; maybe you will like it more than I did; and I surely hope so!
Date published: 2019-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Dreadful" is Right!!! This is a perfect example of what is good for one, is not always good for another. I found this game ANNOYING. Also, what was the point of the journal? Shows you everything you just saw but no story. What a waste. Yes, there are things to find but I just didn't get this one at all. And the constant ding, ding, ding after every item you find. I hate going back and forth and this one has lots of that. I just got too annoyed and couldn't finish the demo. Try it for yourself, maybe it's just me, but it's not a five star. I think we are all just getting desperate to find a high quality game and this isn't it.
Date published: 2019-11-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Ho Hum! Back and Forth! Nothing New! Graphics are bright or tend to be drab and gritty. Script is boring. Character voices overdone! Journalist repeats herself to the point of annoying "What's taking so long?" Well yeah what is taking so long to rescue her? Puzzles, tasks, hidden object games, etc. Mail chute became boring after numerous drops. Plenty of Mini Games. Hidden Object Games are overflowing with many objects, some two level, with interaction. Bottle of nitro tossed at door...that much would have blown the wing off! Three part puzzle when one was enough. Lots of back and forth. I'm really tired of dull games, with predictable steps, back and forth tasks and fill in puzzles that break any possible continuity to move the game forward. I try to be fair and honest in my opinion and I respect other opinions, but it seems developers that continue to present cookie cutter games with few new innovations or creative concepts are not respecting the player either.
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Erratic cursor. (Unable to Play) Don't know if it is my computer, but I was unable to get the cursor to do much of anything. It was very slow and moved too erratic to play the game. Anyone else have that problem?
Date published: 2019-11-10
  • y_2019, m_12, d_10, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_30807, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Whispered Secrets: Dreadful Beauty Collector's Edition

Can you save your friend and escape from Acorn Hospital in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.