Golden Rails: Tales of the Wild West

Golden Rails: Tales of the Wild West

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(95.25 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Tame the Wild West as you build a railroad from coast to coast! Rebuild a string of ramshackle towns and have trains bring much needed supplies to the station. Don’t worry, the sheriffs will lock those pesky bandits behind bars. To earn your stars, think ahead and beat the clock!

Download Golden Rails: Tales of the Wild West for free and make history as the king of the tracks!

  • 50 rootin' tootin' levels!
  • Classic Wild West characters!
  • Rockslides, droughts and other dangers!
  • Trains, steamships and a mechanical lumberjack!
  • A tutorial, an easy mode and simple controls!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 314 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Golden Rails: Tales of the Wild West

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(95.25 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Golden Rails: Tales of the Wild West is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Music and graphics are awesome. Love the owl characters. Looking forward to the next one!
Date published: 2020-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! This game is like a cross between Rush for Gold and Next Stop - Both of which are my favorites. I really like the variations they have included here, like the small stations that supplement your supplies. This is just different enough to be very entertaining. I purchased after only 6 levels. Like this game a lot. Keep a look out for OWLS!
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Gem of a TM game Plenty to do in this great game. Collect, build and upgrade as normal but lots more in terms of resourse management. When and what to order and often takes redoing the level - which I love. Some levels are easy so it doesnt get monotonous with just enough challange. The find the owl on each level is just hard enough and fun. Thankfully thats all you have to find as each level gives you enough to do. The are work is great too as its easy on the eyes, it almost has an older feel but it isnt. Workers wait around a second or two which is useful when chopping trees and collecting gold or ore. This game ticks my Royal Envoy box nicely. OInly gripe is on some levels the red arrows and dialogue box gets in the way when you need the amounts of resourses needed to build, leaving you having to guess.
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A cursor change makes all the difference When I first started this game it starts with the hand cursor and I had real problems with it making the game very difficult to play (For me anyway) but then Joybelle told me to change the cursor and I did to the arrow and it was a different came much better. This has everything I want in a TM game and more. I loved the one stop games with the trains and this just improves on that in its own way. They even throw in collectable owls which are a bit hard to find so to get the most out of your demo look for them after you have bought. This is quite challenging from the start and you have 50 levels to enjoy. If you like TM games you are going to love this one. Enjoy
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once you figure it out...It's great! It took me quite a few repeats on the low levels to really get a handle on this game, as every level is so different and introducing new features there's a lot to take in. But that's what makes this a great game. It is a gather, build and meet goals TM, but there are lots of novel features (bits of quite a few games by this developer). Firstly the railroad is the main feature. There is a train that delivers recources to the main platform that you buy with the gold from your houses..but there are also small stations that it drops stuff off to you free of charge. And on every level till you get your first delivery you have no idea which resource (food, ore, wood etc) it is actually going to bring you. So it keeps your interest just hoping for something special lol Once you have an idea what the train is bringing..then its pure strategy. You must do it the right way, right upgrades, right direction and then stuff like remembering to actually put a worker in the production buildings you built. There is a fellow who sells you food for cash, and a sherrif and robbers (requiring a jail) and extra resources can be found by chopping trees, digging ore or gold so you are not totally reliant on either the buildings nor the train. So lots of running around, lots of thinking and plenty of fun once you get the flow of it. There are three modes including relax, but I find that just normal is plenty enough challenge for me. Every level has something a little different and it makes you look forward to what may be in store. I think its great, but play the demo and give yourself a chance to find your rhythm. Enjoy!
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great TM Game,Train and Western Theme, One of the Best!! Thank you developers and Big Fish!! I have been waiting for a TM game such as this one for a long time. The Western theme is something I really love and to have a train also!! What more can you want? We need more TM games like this one. I am tremendously enjoying this game that has all of the fun factors: beautiful scenery, great music, excellent story, and a relaxed mode for those of us with arthritis issues. Please make this a series. Thanks again for this game and God Bless.
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I loved the train stop game but I love that this has country music in the background and I love the challenge. I figured it out pretty well. I have gone back and done some levels to try to get the 3 stars. It is just a great game. Keep em comin.
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooray Game Folks Have Given Us What We Have Wanted Hooray someone has given us what we have been asking for and that's a game you can sink your teeth into and then "strewth is that the time" and this is it. Game reminded me of "Next Stop" but is far superior to that one, which one would expect it to be, being that this one is a few years later than the other I just mentioned. I used my free game for this as it is a fabulous, not boring, keeps you on your toes, there's more to this game than just grabbing food/wood/iron - just go grab the demo and have fun.
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly enjoyed this TM game I have to admit, when this first appeared as the game of the day, I only played a couple levels and felt it was not for me. However, after seeing the reviews, and not having a TM game available I had not already played, I decided to give it another try. And, I am happy I did! I agree with previous poster that what may seem an easy game at first, the challenge became more challenging as it moved to later levels. I was pleasantly surprised that a game came out w/out being a Collector's Edition and had 50 levels, some of which had to be played 4-5 times before determining the strategy to obtain 3 stars. I enjoyed searching for the owls on each level, and the "Wanted" tab shows the owls found and those not found so that you could go back to the level to find the missing owl. The levels to shoot the bad guys before they shoot you was a fun exercise. I still have not been able to get close to 3 stars on the last of those levels, but it is fun trying. If you like TM games, I honestly think you will enjoy this game.
Date published: 2020-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You need to "lasso" this game! I love tm/strategy games and am always looking for a new one to play. This game is wonderfully fresh and unique in its approach...lots to do with new and varied tasks to perform! The dialogues are not long and drawn out and can be skipped through quickly if you prefer. Little hidden owls are fun (and not always easy) to find. All the mechanics of this game have worked flawlessly for me and I was easily drawn into the storyline. I usually play on the relaxed or easy mode as I like going at my own pace but I can see this would be a challenge if you prefer timed. No Vikings or witch doctors in Golden Trails and I suggest you give it a try!
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I am really enjoying this game! It seems to have all you would want in a TM game. However I did have to change the curser like someone else mentioned here.
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game. Love it. Need more game like this. If you like TM games you should try this.
Date published: 2020-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ive been working on the railroad fast and fun tm game. good story line and fun music,
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden Rails Fun Great game easy to play and fun!!!
Date published: 2021-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good Railroad Game I enjoyed this game. It is not as easy as it looks. Even after many tries, on most levels I was only able to make silver. Gold stars were hard work and I'm still trying. I like the train running by to drop off materials at the station. There is a lot going on so it is necessary to keep your eyes peeled to the tasks. It is amusing that the workers can run through the train when its moving to the station.
Date published: 2020-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review Completed Game Near Perfect Game is Heavy on Strategy Light on Beating the Clock Excellent!! To beat the clock it takes strategy and skill More TMs should be like this I tried the demo and did not like it So i dont think the demo is long enough to give one a good idea of what this game is like I purchased the game and I enjoyed it a Lot as i got into it Played both normal and hard Hard was only slightly harder As game is based more on strategy and thinking skills Rather than speed Could not give it a Perfect rating Because Needless Cussing in this game Why add curse words? Making it unsuitable for younger children Owl Totems are in Bad Taste right now imo nevermind that is the trademark icon of Yustas.. an owl Overall its an Exceptionally Good TM for adults or older teens
Date published: 2020-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Even with Blaso Graphics Even though the graphics are somewhat pasty, but nice, the game itself is a winner. It has a nice story line of the classical villein of the old West. The levels are challenging but not difficult to figure out to get 3 star awards in the timer mode. The music is of the appropriate theme but has this Scandinavian flavor twang. It has easter eggs of owls that get posted on a varmint wanted poster. You can go through the casual untimed mode to find them initially but one you go to timed mode you back to square 1. But once you find them in a particular mode you can go back to the replay if you didn't get the 3 star and not have to find them again. Good for kids. The game also has arcade shooting galleries if you like that sort of thing. I think this game developer will have sequels, if it becomes as popular as I think it will, hopefully with improved graphics.
Date published: 2020-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Viking Bros. Go Western Style Well this developer collaboration has produced a number of great resource management games, notably Viking Brothers series. You probably recognize some of the character motions when picking up stuff, as well as sound fx. I also see shades of Next Stop, another RM game featuring a fancy train. This review is based on the demo. Familiar collect-and-build gameplay. Modes: Easy, normal, hard. CE features achievements, among other things. Graphics are fair, with one predominant color and small, more colorful details. Hover your mouse over structures to determine their costs. You can change the hand-like pointer to your system one, which I've always preferred, as well as adjust music and sound fx volumes and disable tutorial. It's a bit of a hassle to exit out as the loading page takes longer than in other games I've played. Overall, though, like the Viking Bros, I'll consider the Standard edition as the extras aren't especially tempting.
Date published: 2020-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just One Small Quibble Really fun game, but it doesn't keep track of your best time on each level. For players like me, who like to keep improving their performance and beating their best time, the absence is a bummer. Still, the game runs really well and is quite addictive.
Date published: 2020-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Golden Rails Tales of the Wild West I found that this a fun game I really like Time Management games enjoyed it all the way through as I have now played all the levels on relaxed and I built the railway I may try it on a timed level in the future
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Train Left the Station Without Me. I don't get what all the hype is about this boring game. I played as long as I could about 10 mins. The graphics are so so and there is no challenge at all. I am as desperate as the next to have a good TM game but this one is not it. This is a hard pass on the Choo Choo game
Date published: 2020-02-08
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_31224, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Golden Rails: Tales of the Wild West

Tame the Wild West as you build a railroad from coast to coast! To earn your stars, all you have to do is think ahead and beat the clock!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.