Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Bells Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Bells Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(470.78 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

AMAX Interactive presents Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe’s The Bells, the next harrowing entry in the Dark Tales series!

Albert McClain is an author with the strange ability to predict the future in his novels, a talent that propelled him into the limelight. Now, he’s vanished during the release event for his latest book, and with a city-wide celebration ahead, the fiery destruction depicted in its pages is far from an empty threat! Can you and Monsieur Dupin unravel the secret behind McClain’s disappearance and save the city from impending tragedy? Find out in this grim Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game based on Edgar Allen Poe’s poem, “The Bells.”

  • Stop a dangerous experiment before it’s too late in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games!
  • Find collectibles and earn achievements!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, concept art, music, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 984 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Bells Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(470.78 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Bells Collector's Edition is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A solid 4 stars The main game would have gotten 3 stars. But when you throw in one of the best bonus chapters I've ever played I upped it to 4.
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No challenge here but was fun This game is pretty and pleasant and has a bit of creepy thrill thrown in, like most of the Dupin games. He's here and in his usual form. I love this guy. He takes the character to the hospital and leaves you to defuse the bomb, put the fire out and save the villagers. Lol. There are way too many 'find the multiple emblems' to open things so you can get more emblems or keys. But it was still a pleasant diversion. I do wish the developers wouldn't make it laughably easy. The password you need for the typewriter? It's scratched into the table next to it. Really? So this falls into the category of pleasant no-brainer entertainment and if that's your cup of tea, enjoy.
Date published: 2020-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Like The Early Days of Edgar Allan Poe I much prefer the old games in my Poe collection. "The Bells" provided minimal fun during the demo but it was still entertaining. The games were very simple. I thought the HOPs were much better. I was not impressed with the graphics and they appeared faded, the usually rich color palette was missing. It all just looked flat and lacking in interesting scenery as well. The characters moved stiffly and looked almost cartoonish to me. Dupin lost some of his appeal, looked a little shabby and I did not care for his voice. Costumes were not exactly keeping to the time period. which I first noticed with the female wearing the hooded cape-style coat and modern day eyeglasses. Looked just a little too up-to-date, at least to my eye. The game presented no tech problems, sound was good. I did like the storyline, being familiar with this particular piece of Poe's writings. The demo didn't take me far enough along to see much of the story unfold, however. A couple of reviews mentioned it being a very short game, but everyone has a different perception of "short". If I get a few hours of play, I am satisfied. Very often I am unhappy that there are so many mini games that take time away from the actual story. Hopefully that isn't the case with "The Bells." It has been ages since my last purchase from this series, so I decided to purchase this new addition and hope I won't regret it. Even though the stories are loosely based on the actual books or poems, I find them interesting and usually enjoyable if they don't become absurd in the storytelling. I normally rate Dark Tales with 4 or 5 stars. Even though today's game didn't thrill me as much as previous ones, I don't consider it a loss. You may very well enjoy it immensely. For me, it is okay for simple non-challenging fun. CE worthy? Don't think so this time.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They have had Better I know many will give a detailed review, so I will just say how I felt about the game. As always the graphics are very good. I found the story line quite mundane. There was no excitement in the game at all and Du Pine seemed so depressed. The games were easy and seemed just thrown together.Even the dialog was very curt. I have all their games and liked them all very much. But this game is a no buy for me. As always try it before you buy it. I am sure others liked it far better then me.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kind of game you can play in your sleep The artwork is lovely; however, this game can be played in your sleep, or on automatic pilot. It is the opposite of "hard," or "requiring you to use your little grey cells," (sorry, Dupin, for bringing up a rival) because it is so very easy. So easy to automatically click on what's needed in the HOPs...so easy to type in the password when it's right there in front of you...so easy to just point and click away. I remember when games required some thought and cogitation to play. I miss those times. Heck, you could even lose. I wish the "Recommend this Game?" had a "Yeah, sure, why not?" option.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun at first, then complicated I have played (or tried to play), several, of the Edgar Allen Poe games. Some I liked and have played two or three times. But, not this one. I played most of the SE game and liked it, so I got the CE version. What a waste. The game starts out easy enough (custom mode), But the more I played the game the more complicated it became. I ended up using the hint button, as well as, the guide. Once in the Archives, I became completely lost. I could not use the beakers because I never found the second fire symbol. These games in the "so-called" custom mode may make your hint button and skip button work in your favor, but the rest of the game is still hard to figure out. I only recommend this game to people who like to be confused and like "hard to figure out" games, And the game is not short. A lot of your time you will be asking yourself (where do I go next) ugh
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Bells Collectors Edition This game is not worth the price. I played the game and finished the game in 45 minutes. This game does not have anything the other Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's other games. I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2020-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, but... I love the Dark Tales enough to buy them even without doing a demo, although in this case I was a beta tester so I had already done it. I actually maintain a list of all the DT games and how I rank them; I'd put this in the lower middle. It's not a bad game, not at all, but the story doesn't always make a lot of sense and the bonus chapter really doesn't add anything to it. It's just... meh. The puzzles are generally good, the visuals are pleasing, and the voice acting is decent. The length is suitable. I just wish there was more substance to the story.
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Please let this series fade with the bells Same story, same graphics, same hand holding and same lack of challenge. Total lack of originality. Couldn't hold my interest even through the demo. This might be of interest to anyone new to hidden object games but cant see much interest otherwise. Try for yourself.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I've never seen you, but I'll leave you to watch the hospital. I am baffled how this game could be released. The dialogue, story line, length, tasks, hops, puzzles and characters were ridiculous. It wouldn't have been difficult to make this even a little bit better simply with the dialogue. Tired of these games that assault our intelligence the whole way through. I agree with the others, this game should not be a CE.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What Did E.A.P. Ever Do to Deserve This? Despite the fact that this series ran out of steam YEARS ago, we are presented with another game in the Dark Tales series. This time the Devs have embroidered E.P.A.'s poem, "The Bells" to confound more players. You and Dupin are asked to investigate the disappearance of author Arthur by manager Jeffrey. You arrive at Arthur's house to see Jeffrey arguing with reporter Martha. You will proceed to enter the house and start the investigation. Good stuff: The constant rain says it all. We should be crying. Bad stuff: This game has you collecting multiple shaped keys to open multiple locks to get multiple items to get multiple shaped keys to open multiple locks to get multiple items to get multiple shaped keys to open multiple locks to get multiple items to get ..... You catch my drift. Dupin performs his usual non-supporting role and the minimal story is lost in the cascade of shaped keys. The usual stupid actions reach their height when you see a character you are chasing climb through a deserted factory's window and you stop to find the keys to the various places in the cemetery where the three shaped keys to that window are hidden. Bottom line: Take a hint when the usual cheerleaders don't review a new game; it means nothing good. The eternal rain means the same thing. This is all sadness and even the weather is weeping over this one! Please try the demo. Please.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Base on the Demo - simply not fun. This game is disjointed and inconsistent in controls. The story line is typical but the actions to achieve advancement are so unrelated to the story they are laughable. The voiceover is unbalanced and often muffled. The highlights that most time is spent on are those related to violent activity. This is not a CE game; this is not an SE game; this is not a fun game. I can't even recommend trying the demo.
Date published: 2020-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dupin's voice and cadence could put the Kraken to sleep This one was so so so boring, I found myself dreading having to click on Dupin because he voice was so annoying and dull, what happened to the real Dupin?? It was so grating I had to quit half way through, just like the last game. This is the last Dark Tales I will waste my money on. They've just gotten so terribly boring, same puzzles over and over and over in the same game over and over and over. These games used to be enjoyable to play, now I just can't stand to even play them. The voice actor for Dupin has no life, he sounds like he's reading from a script. A definite awful game. Save your money.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing... boring and silly This was the most disappointing game I have played in a long time. The story line was silly and and the game play was just plain boring. Dark Tales started as a great series.... that makes this game even more disappointing. Inspector Dupin needs a remake.
Date published: 2020-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I feel frustrated I have played this game more than 10 times, never neglected any single dialogue and never used any hints and never made any mistakes regarding the hidden objects, but still I did not receive the three bills, the one for not making any mistakes and not using any hints and not leaving any dialogue behind. what is the problem? what did I do wrong?
Date published: 2020-05-26
  • y_2021, m_1, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_31612, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Bells Collector's Edition

An author has vanished, and someone’s enacting the terrible events of his latest novel!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.