Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Devil in the Belfry Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Devil in the Belfry Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(492.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Amax Interactive is proud to bring you the newest chilling mystery in the Dark Tales series!

When a series of strange deaths occur in the town of Morden, an old friend jumps on the case. But it’s not long before he goes missing himself! You and Dupin quickly arrive to find a town in panic. Each night, someone dies after the 13th chime of the bell tower. And to top things off, no one can be seen ringing the bell itself! Is a sinister specter to blame, or are illusions wreaking havoc on reality? Find out in this stirring Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Help Louise Wheeler’s clever children free their mother from jail, and save their Illusion Theater from criminal Benjamin Barlow. Join their quest for their father’s will and an ancient hidden treasure!
  • Find magic cards and puzzle pieces throughout the game – and access an extra puzzle and stories.
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games - and add to your achievement awards!
  • Save your favorite Tale in the Belfry twists with screensavers, wallpapers, concept art, and music.
  • Keep your adventure on track with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1049 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Devil in the Belfry Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(492.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Devil in the Belfry Collector's Edition is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Invisible Ghost? It's a murder mystery. I loved it except for most puzzles. I only liked the bird puzzle, grabbing things in a machine, fitting keys and the dangerous course, out of the 18 puzzles. I don't like fool with it puzzles. Some places I had to hint out of because there wasn't a skip. I liked all the hops. The screensavers are great because they usually have a moving one. The one I liked is the town square with the moving wind mills. I liked the story. I collected 60 morphing puzzle pieces and 12 collectible magic cards that have really life facts. I read the cards before the game was ended afterwards I couldn't access them. They were interesting to read. The map has icons for morphs and collectibles that you need to pick up. I collected all the way into the bonus chapter. Replay 16 hops, 18 mini-games, 16 movies and 4 music. Has 8 screensavers, 7 wallpapers, 7 concept arts, achievements, 4 chapters + bonus and collection which is a jigsaw.
Date published: 2020-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid 4 star game Good story line. Lots of puzzles from easy to hard. HOPs are done well with some novel twists to them. Enjoying the game immensely.
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a better one of the Series I surprised myself by enjoying this Game. In recent times I haven't bought any on this series because they were so repetitive. this was somewhat different!
Date published: 2020-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Belfry? Hello friends! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to those who do a much better job than I. Dupin is back, but for some reason, his voice sounds younger. He definitely needs an accent. He's still a bit stiff and rather boring in his facial movements, which are rare. I have no idea which number this makes in this very long running series. The graphics are nice and colors aren't too bad, although a bit muted, which makes the graphics seem a little fuzzy. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and it fit my large screen. Not a lot of animation, but what we had was stiff but okay. Music was quiet and moved with whatever was happening at the time, but got very monotonous very quickly. Sound FX were lacking and badly needed. HOGs were okay, but nothing new or exciting. Items were not difficult to find and most of the scenes were fairly clear. What we had were interactive lists. I did not see that we could switch to anything else. Puzzles were nothing new and I only ran across one that was any challenge at all. I actually ended up skipping it! Hint system was quite helpful, but I did not see a transport feature during the demo. We really don't back track too far, but there is still enough. Collectibles were very disappointing. We have to find 60 very large morphing puzzle pieces to complete a jigsaw puzzle. We also have 12 card with various information, which is not helpful to the game play. These are not easy to see, as they are often quite small and only a piece might be visible. Definitely could have used a bit more challenge. As much as I love Poe, there have been a number of these games that had unfamiliar story lines, but I probably haven't read them all either. This story began quite slow, but naturally, it picked up a little when the demo ended. Still, not much action, no adventure, nothing that really grabbed me and made me want to play it out to see what happens. I may have to play it again and see if I missed something exciting, but doubtful. I am sure some will like, but I do not feel this is CE worthy at all. Quite often, I find that the SE version makes a much better game and I think this might be one of them. Gave this one a 3.75 on my scale. For now, no buy for me. As always, give this one a try and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Play on!
Date published: 2020-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from And the Answer is . . . . . . . . Nothing, as in this game has absolutely nothing in common with Poe's short story. Of course that fact has never stopped these Devs in their attempts to grab hold of Poe's coat tails before. So long as you expect nothing more when you try this game than an average game without a lot of thought going into it, then you may consider that they have succeeded. I want a decent story, a nice mix of HOPs and mini-games/puzzles and some engagement that makes me wish to solve the mystery. Instead I have a game that put me to sleep. I gave it one star for it's own merit and another for the nap as I've been suffering from insomnia and appreciate the rest! If you read through the reviews and notice the reviewer who was surprised by the roar of a car engine in a game set in a time well before automobiles, you will have discovered one of the many things I pointed out when I played the beta version of this game back in April. As nothing makes any impression on those responsible for another assault on the works of E.A.P., I just throw up my hands and wish you would try the Demo for yourself. Please just try the demo. Consider it on its own merits. Hope they run out of E.A.P.'s works to bungle into a story.
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another Game I Have To Pass Up Why is that? TOO MANY PUZZLES!!!! This game has 4 chapters of nothing but puzzles and more puzzles. Hardly room for much of a story and there's a scant amount of HOPs. A reviewer claims this game contains 41 mini-games and only 16 HOPs and 2 collectibles. That, right off the bat, sways my opinion toward the negative. I went ahead and tried the demo anyway, being familiar with this EAP tale. But was unable to sample much of it because of the too many puzzles I encountered, they were somewhat easy and there was not much challenge to the game. In my opinion it was rather boring but I managed to finish, hoping for improvement that never materialized. The graphics were dark which made sense due to the storyline, they were interesting and beautiful as in most Dark Tales games. The tasks didn't pose any problems and everything seemed to move along nicely. The characters were so-so and the evil one was the average sicko bad guy in this type of mystery theme. The era always adds a special touch to the stories. I won't be adding this one to my collection because of the puzzles and hope this isn't always going to be the case. It would be great to see a more reasonable amount of mini-games. After all, this is a HOPA, not a puzzle-mania category. Check it out and see what you think. Just because I don't like it, doesn't mean you will have the same opinion. I wish I could have added this to my collection. I've loved Edgar Allan Poe stories, ever since my school years many moons ago!
Date published: 2020-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not to my taste Installed the game , played the trial and kicked it in the rubbish. Seriously ? Played something like this years ago ! For me just boring! However, try for yourself and let us know what you think.
Date published: 2020-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing The first question I ask myself, when playing a new Dark Tales game, is "Is this as bad as Lenore?" You see, I hated the installment Lenore, so it's the baseline to which I compare all the other DT games. The answer here is no - but it's pretty close. I rank all the DT games on my own personal list, with Lenore at the very bottom and Morella at the very top, and this one falls close to the bottom. I did the beta test before the game launched, so I went into it expecting better than what I got. The first act is decent. Lots of red herrings, enjoyable puzzles, interesting backgrounds, subtle nods to previous games. The beta version ended on a pretty exciting note and I wanted to see where it went. But the game just continued to throw twists and turns at me with no end in sight. The killer is this person! No, actually, it's this person! No, actually, it's these people! No, wait, it was Colonel Mustard in the billiard room with the candlestick! On and on. I like a good long game, but this one just dragged. The music is okay, if earwormy. The backgrounds are well done as usual. The voice acting left much to be desired, especially the high-pitched Anna Wheeler, who just sounds whiny most of the time. I also can't figure out where the game is supposed to be taking place - Dupin lives in France, but there's no Morden in France. There's one in England, but we have major characters named Lars and Otto, which are Scandinavian names, and Otto has an accent I can't place at all. The puzzles are mostly decent. I can't be the only one who is sick and tired of "puzzles" where you have to have a fistfight with another character. They're annoying and tedious. The hidden object scenes are pretty good, if few and far between. One puzzle near the end was maddening, because some of the answers are inside the diary that you find but others are in the trunk where you find the diary and there is absolutely nothing in the game to suggest this - even the hint button and strategy guide are completely useless for this puzzle. Also, the final puzzle sequence in the bell tower just went on way too long, stretching my suspension of disbelief until it snapped. It was completely unrealistic, even for these games. The collectibles didn't appeal to me; you have to find two or three disappearing/reappearing puzzle pieces in each scene, and a dozen cards hidden within puzzle scenes. The cards weren't bad, as they gave interesting tidbits about real-world magicians, but the puzzle pieces drove me nuts. The story, which is always the biggest deciding factor for me, was bewildering in places. I'm still not completely clear on what one bad guy's motivations were. I also don't understand what prompted the murders, or why some characters who turned out to be innocent were acting so completely suspicious. I have loved this series since the third game, and many of the games in it are replayable because they're so well done. But I think after eighteen installments, it's losing steam and even the developers are getting tired of it. It might be time to retire my beloved Dupin.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Puzzle overload. I didn't even finish the demo. In my opinion, if a game has as many puzzles/mini games as this game does, it should be in the puzzle category. It certainly shouldn't be in the hidden object section. There's so much dialogue it's ridiculous. I don't want to read a mini novel. I want to play hidden object games, that are listed as such. I don't want to play puzzle games - I have plenty of those - with the odd hidden object thrown in. Too many devs are jumping on the same band wagon nowadays. I don't buy as nearly as many games as I used to, which is a shame. For a hidden object game, surely there should be more H.O. scenes than puzzles.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Trial: Filled with Mini-Games. Quit Before End Graphics are beautiful with attention to detail and design as are the characters. Voice overs are well done. Story was good until almost the end of the trial. Unfortunately, the continuity was broken consistently with Mini-Games. So too little story and too many games Lazy development or someone really likes to create games. Sadly they are boring and nothing really new. I want to see interesting stories that move forward without constant interruptions with Mini-Games. Surely with the creativity and technology available to developers today, they could hire good writers, create interesting and intriguing scripts and develop a story that moved forward with minimal game interruptions. I feel like I'm playing a Mini Game story these days instead of a Hidden Object Game. Hidden Object Games don't take too long and don't take away from the story but usually provide a necessary item to MOVE FORWARD. Mini-Games halt the flow of the game and are mostly frustrating and/or boring and so overdone it's annoying. Another disappointing game. At least they got the graphics and characterization down, not lets see if they can come up with a game that is developed around a good story that isn't filled with Mini Games as a filler to waste time!
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Game I generally like the games with Dupin but this one was very annoying. Not enough direction, I had to keep hitting the hint button. Also, too much dialogue. Plus this was another game in the last few weeks where my computer warned me that the game couldn't be downloaded securely?
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from All Puzzles, Not Much Story I dislike puzzles. I will not buy a game that every time you turn around, there's another puzzle.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too. Much. Talking. Couldn't even finish the demo. The amount of dialogue is insane. Artwork is mediocre. There are some interesting puzzles, but this is really a poor quality effort.
Date published: 2020-08-07
  • y_2020, m_9, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_32040, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Devil in the Belfry Collector's Edition

Can you save an old friend from a deadly legend in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.