The Secret Of Arcanesium: A Mosaic Mystery

The Secret Of Arcanesium: A Mosaic Mystery

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(99.96 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

It all started with a cryptic message from Professor Baumgartner. The task was to find Arcanesium, hidden away in a secret place. Play through more than 100 mosaic nonogram puzzles to discover clues and collect useful items. Crack the codes in the minigame puzzles which will guide you towards your goal.

Unravel the secrets of Arcanesium!

  • More than 100 mosaic puzzles
  • Three tile colors and autofill feature
  • Decipher clues and crack the codes
  • Solve challenging minigame puzzles

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 136 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Secret Of Arcanesium: A Mosaic Mystery

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(99.96 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Secret Of Arcanesium: A Mosaic Mystery is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a good game I just finished this one, and overall it was enjoyable. Had one glitch I had to close out of the game for, but when restarted it, it was fine. Would love some more interaction with the puzzles or searching, but it was a fun addition to the nonogram puzzles. Suggestions for the continuation, which would be cons for this one, but not insurmountable: 1. The gray is really hard to see on the grid, would be better to make it like a metallic gray or black (more shiny) so it would show up better. 2. For the white it was very hard to see what the numbers were...suggest putting those number in black with a gray outline, instead of having white on white. 3. Please oh please make a way to restart a level if you make a mistake instead of making yourself lose enough lives to have it tell you to restart, or going back to the main screen. Also, would be nice to be able to left click to cancel out a chosen square before you commit to it by releasing the left mouse button. Looking forward to seeing a continuation of this story.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from There is lots of good and bad in this mosaic game When I started this new offering my initial thought was I'd find a mystery to be unraveled withing the framework of a grid puzzle. This proved to be true. So far so good. Now let's get to the pluses and minuses of The Secret of Arcanesium. On the plus side, we find multiple colors ( 3 each in the time I spent on the demo. Even better is the challenge within many of the grids . I hate using hints in this sort of games so I was forced to restart at least half of the grids that I bombed on. On the minus side we have many objects once deciphered that look nothing like it should. The most egregious of these is a DONUT that appears nothing like one. Another is a BUTTERFLY. This bothered me no end. I also did not appreciate some of the colors used. There is a dark grey sometimes used and with a black background in all grids it made my old eyes squint way to much. When each grid is completed the finished product is then reproduced line by line horizontally and I found this time consuming and boring. There is some interactivity required after grid completion an example being using a key to open a door. Another is using clippers to trim a hedge. Overall I found this to be rather amateurish. I think lots of players will relish this mosaic style game and that's OK with me. Unfortunately the product does not move me enough to consider it worthy of purchase. I'll stick to the penguin in Fantasy Mosaics until such time that another developer creates a griddler that appeals to me.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A novel nonogram game Whilst I agree with the positive comments made by other reviewers of this innovative game, I think that there are also a number of negative points. The main problem for me is that sometimes you have to either use a hint or risk losing a life by guessing whether a square should be marked or not (e.g. in puzzles 6 and 7). Also you cannot change whether the numbers are crossed off before you finish a line as you can in most nonogram games. Others have mentioned the difficuly with dark squares on a dark background. The sound levels can only be on or off (and for me the music was too loud). As a minor point, you cannot insert your own name as the player. Overall, I liked the concept of the game but I am afraid I will not be buying it. However, please give it a try because you may think I have been too critical.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Brilliant concept, mediocre execution. Like many others, I like it, but don't love it. The concept is brilliant! Love the idea of a real story and minigames to break up the nonograms. (It's easier to quit after a chapter, with a logical stopping place, than in the middle of an endless run of grids.) The execution, however, leaves a lot to be desired. One gripe is the unforgiving nature of the game in regards to mistakes - which are really easy to make, despite the fact that the game is really easy. And what I mean by that, is that some colors are truly hard to see, especially the black and white ones. Another is that the numbers cross off automatically, rather than giving you the option to cross them off at the finish of the row. I never play in that mode, and it confused me. Can't say anything about the sound, because I turned it off. The graphics are okay, but not stunning. The grids, as far as the demo got me, are very easy and logical. I found no conundrums that couldn't be solved by changing colors. The colors are okay, but the only multi-color puzzle I ever found truly mind-bending is Chroma. I wish that were a straight buy it game. But, then, World Mosaics remain the gold standard for me. The minigames, if you can call them that, are too easy and require no thought. Now, I'm off to try the OTHER griddler of the day. At least I know it will be challenging. I'll buy it. This one I'm on the fence about. Try before you buy!
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from glenard I love these types of games, whatever they are called, nanograms, picross, etc. However, the majority of them offer no challenge whatsoever, just nice colors and ease of play. For instance the Fantasy Mosaic games. I wasn't able to play them at first because of problems with my old computer. I just recently bought a new one and was excited to play these Fantasy Mosaic games. What a disappointment. I like the idea with the colors, but they get boring really fast because there is no challenge. I can go through a whole game without using help more than one or two helps. There is no challenge whatsoever. I gave 5 stars for visual, but only 1 star for level of challenge.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I liked this, but... I love these sorts of games. There were a few drawbacks that I found to be annoying. First of all, the mosaic puzzles were transparent and the backgrounds showed through which made for a more difficult, if not disruptive, sort of puzzle. I found that I couldn't figure out some of the mini puzzles, but then, maybe that was just me. Thank goodness for the skips. Also, there were so very many misspellings of words and typographical errors, etc. Someone should have proof read the game before releasing it. I hereby volunteer to be a proofreader going forth. Otherwise, it is a long game that can be enjoyed, but it could have been much better. Hope the sequel is corrected and improved.
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not that mysterious It's a mystery to me what is supposed to be mysterious about a searching scene when a big sign says "search here". Any detective superintendent would be very happy of course, but for me as a player this is sort of boring. Very much so. And the nonograms are quite low level as well. Not much challenge here. But maybe for very new players of nonograms it could be a start, if they don't expect the mystery to be mysterious. Although I must admit I didn't find out if there is any guessing involved later on because I quit long before.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a true nonograms/griddler game This is not a true nonograms game because you have to guess at which squares to x out. A true nonogram is mathematically formatted so logical thinking is involved -- no guessing. I was intrigued by the story and tasks involved, but the guessing -- even on the very first level -- is a waste of time. For that reason, I can't recommend this game.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Such a disappointment Based on most of the demo. I love nonogram games. One of my favorite types of games to play. When I saw the description of combining those puzzles with a story -- well, what could be better? The unfortunate answer is "A lot of things." First, the VISUALS. Each puzzle has a choice of 3 colors to fill the grids. Completed rows and columns are autofilled (which is nice), but it is very difficult to distinguish between the vary dark filled square and the very dark unfilled square, leading to mistakes. There is no way to brighten the scene. SOUND: Sound and music can only be "on" or "off." I usually turn off the music, but I like to be able to hear the clicks so that I know I've entered something. The sound for the clicks is an annoying ding that gets louder the more squares you fill in and an annoying scratch for the X's. I had to turn it off. GAME PLAY: This is the worst thing in this game. In the nonogram puzzles, there are levels that cannot be solved by logic. You must either guess or use a clue. One of the great things about the Penguins is that you never have to guess. So this makes the game close to a no-go for me, without any of the other issues. Then there's "search and find." This must have been meant as a joke. Once you get to a "search" screen, a symbol lights up and says "search here." When you click on it, you get a tool. When it's time to use the tool, there is a balloon on the screen that says: "Gee, you could probably use a screwdriver here" and you click on the screwdriver in inventory and it does something on the screen. Really no input by the player into any of these "search" activities. STORY: The story is actually good, and I am sorry that I so can't stand the rest of the game that I won't find out what's next. Oh, the story only gets 4 stars because most of the objects discovered in the puzzles in so far as I went in the game have nothing to do with advancing the story. I mean, why was the cat there in the first (or last) place? Sorry, no recommendation from me.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Far too easy I wanted to like this game, but after playing for 45 minutes hoping for the pace to pick up, I finally gave up. The gameplay is tediously repetitive, the mini games are ridiculously easy, and the only options available are the ability to turn off music and sounds. This game would have been too simplistic 10 years ago; there are many better games today. The only reason I gave this an overall 2 stars is that it might appeal to someone new to this type of game. By the way, I usually discount posts by reviewers who, overall, rate the vast majority of games they review as 5 stars. Ditto if they rate most games as 1 or 2 stars.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could be good for beginners. I found this game too easy. I played through 30 minutes of the demo, to see if it became more challenging, but it did not. What I didn't like is that it fills in the blanks for you, and also crosses off the numbers as they are filled in (I find it more challenging if you need to figure out the whole row/column on your own) there was no option to turn off those features. I also find the multiple coloured mosaic games to be easier than the old style griddlers (World Mosaics). It is different in that there are 'items to find' and puzzles to solve (I came across 2 in the 10 levels I played). These were also quite easy. I was going to give this game 3 stars (rounded up from 2.5), but it lost a star because I had to GUESS (or use a hint) with the Donut and Juice puzzles. I was left with 1 or 2 squares to fill, and there were multiple options which would logically work. This should NEVER happen in a good griddler game. It should always be logically solvable. I think this game could be a fun game for beginners, or those who enjoy this level of challenge. I recommend you try the demo. Happy gaming fishies!
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Mystery Here In This Beginners Game This game is fraught with technical issues, game hang ups and other problems. Yes my graphics card is up to date and no technical issues found on my computer. Even though I am a self-proclaimed master mosaic player the mosaics in this game are very simple and would be good for someone new to mosaics. The story line is inconsequential to the mosaics and a "skip" button would have been nice. The "Investigation" "find a clue" or "use an inventory item" parts of the game are complete nonsense because all is done for you by the game. The only challenge is clicking on target icon and the rest of the challenge is solved for you. If you have to use an inventory item there could be a small challenge of selecting the right item but the correct item is usually very self evident. The only other challenge is keeping your fingers crossed that the game doesn't freeze when you click on the "investigation target". The game also runs very slow, you're forced to wait for the story line to display and then the long wait for the finished mosaic to build block by block by block.... This may well be the most disappointing game ever purchased and the first ever to make me wonder if there is a refund policy for those dissatisfied with a particular game. By the way I have been buying games from Big Fish for years and my list of owned games is very, very long.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A bad step They hailed it as a novel idea. An adventure game with grids instead of boring HOS. Yes, it is novel, all right. BUT... I reviewed some of my old HOGs. And those were GOOD. They were fun. It was only when HOS were put inside adventure games that they became boring junk piles, looking for the same objects over and over. I love griddlers. I would hate them go the way of HOS. And this game shows that they will. Simple minded grids, with too many that can only be solved by hints or guessing. The storyline is a bit dull, and the minigames are simpleminded. This is a very bad idea.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Griddler Game Ever After playing World Mosaics Chroma, this game is an absolute bust for me. Most of it is far too simple, except that even in the demo I came across one level that can't be solved by logic. The design is abysmal; some of the colors can hardly be distinguished from the background and there is always a row or column that stays highlighted, making it even harder to determine the colors. The music is just boring. The so-called mini-puzzles are far too simple; nice idea to include these but they could have been made more challenging and fun. I hope no one makes the mistake of buying this without first playing the demo. PS: I don't usually even bother to write reviews for games I don't like as I know tastes vary, but having playing the best of all griddler games -- aforementioned Chroma -- I've seen it's possible to create these games to be a challenge worth playing so just had to give the devs a thumbs-down.
Date published: 2016-12-15
  • y_2019, m_10, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_26012, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Secret Of Arcanesium: A Mosaic Mystery

A quest filled with more than 100 mosaic nonograms to find Arcanesium. Gather clues and crack codes to solve the mystery.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.