Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(1.85 GB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The celebrated ship “Heerlijkheid,” is usually the centerpiece of an Icelandic town's local festival. Now that its captain has disappeared, the renovated vessel has become an eerie distraction. Did Captain Magnus sail away with a legendary treasure, or was he carried off into the night? Take the helm as detective Nancy Drew and set a course for the Sea of Darkness!

  • Explore a Ship Hold and Ice Caves!
  • Follow in the wake of an ancient sea legend
  • Chill with this amazing Icelandic setting
  • More Nancy Drew Adventures!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2015 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(1.85 GB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE real adventure games!! Please bring us more games like Nancy Drew and Hotel. Love point and click and true adventure. Unfortunately I'm all caught up on Nancy Drew so once again I must patiently wait. I only like adventure and hidden object but truthfully, I could do with less hidden object. Maze 360 was amazing! Please keep these coming!!!
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent Nancy Drew I am a fan of Nancy drew and this one is really really good. Incredible puzzle, challenged and cool.Find the sail name was a long and fun process using the net like in real life. Nice place to visit ,some educational thing.. It is Nancy or not. A good change to the too easy game Big fish is offering
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I wish there were more games like this. I love a variety of challenging puzzles and I hate hidden object scenes, so this is perfect.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ND Sea of Darkness - Great Gameply I love the Nancy Drew game series as much as I loved the books growing up. Sea of Darkness was a wonderful game that held my interest until the end. True to the series, you need to examine everything, talk to all the characters, study maps, read books, pamphlets, dusty old manuscripts, and search for clues. Encounter some cranky rude characters who didn’t trust outsiders and tourists. Nor did they give our sleuth much help. Frigid weather and people. Bah! Couldn't figure out how to make tips in the kitchen. Made several meals but, never saw tips. Gave up. However, I did well on the Icelandic words and made money re-doing the game in the tavern. Had fun sleuthing away in the caves, under the ship, in the captain's quarters, lighthouse and cupboards. Graphics have improved along with the characters. Nicely drawn scenes and fantastic puzzles. I like puzzles that I have to work at and there were a few that had me working the brain cells. Thanks, Big Fish for a great treat among all the dark games that have been released lately.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sea of Awesomeness...challenging gameplay and an excellent storyline. Nancy Drew is hot on a case in the frigid cold of Skipbrot, Iceland. She’s been hired by female fortune hunter, Dagny, who believes her partner, Magnus, has betrayed her. The two had partnered to restore the famed ship, Heerlijkheid, in order to look for the treasure its original captain is fabled to have possessed. But Magnus has gone missing, and there’s a town full of suspicious suspects, including Magnus’ ex-lover, Elisabet, and his sworn enemy, Gunnar. Gameplay is typical of this series. Arrows appear onscreen to indicate where you can move, and the magnifying glass glows when you hover over an item of interest. You can also mouse over the edges of the screen to look around. There’s a lot of conversation, because there’s a lot of information Nancy needs to learn about the case. However, you can click through convos as fast as you can read them. You’ll also encounter a number of books and papers to read, as is usual for adventure games. The task list keeps you on track—just check off the ones you’ve completed—and the notes remind you of important info. Also, you have a smartphone to make calls and take photos. Lastly, you have an inventory of items to use and clues to look at. I didn’t get too far along during the demo, but I did run into a few fantastic mini-games. • Correctly match up the Icelandic words with the given English words to earn money (which you can spend in several places). • Correctly label the fifteen sails on the old-fashioned sailing ship with multiple masts. • Restore the display of sailors’ knots by placing the fifteen images (which show the steps to tying the knots) in the correct places. Excellent fun factor and level of challenge for all of them. The production was terrific, as usual, with superb voiceovers and realistic dialogue, lovely graphics and animation, and appropriate music and environmental sounds. I found the storyline intriguing and, even though I’ve only played the demo, I was left with multiple possibilities for where the story might go, as a well-written mystery should unfold. Kudos to the devs for presenting a unique, well-developed game in what has seemed to be an unending line of simplistic and boring clones.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I have bought all of the Nancy Drew Mystery Games. I love this game series and enjoy playing these games
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's an adventure game! Yes, it is an adventure game! You are going to have to pay attention to where you are because movement can be tricky, maybe even take notes. You will do some back and forth, you will not have sparkles. The puzzles are not insurmountable, tedious at times, but they can be done.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My First Nancy Drew Adventure! This demo was tempting because of the storyline. and turned out to be lots of fun. I'm looking forward to a good story based on the locale and the plot involving a treasure hunt, a mysterious ship, and a missing business partner. I hope some history or foreign language has been included so we can learn a little something of this far away icy place. I loved the interaction with characters, it adds more interest. Actually Dagny got a bit irritated with me, coming back to her a few times after her initial meeting with Nancy. I ruffled her impatient feathers with my inexperience, I guess! Navigation throughout the demo was easy to learn, with just a few rough spots to overcome. Had a little trouble with backtracking after I overlooked a couple of important places. Other than that, no problems! I took my time, listened to the entire tutorial and learned about all the icons which were a slight challenge for me for a short time. The graphics were really quite good, sharp and appropriately colored for the scenes in that particular wintery locale. I think the characters displayed good facial expression and body language, although body movement was a just little stiff. The voices and expressed emotion were excellent. I would venture to say if this game didn't present a negative for ME, being a first-timer, you may enjoy it, also. I did play as Amateur Sleuth but did not encounter a bunch of hints and pop-up stuff that I feel is more of an interference than assistance. I was very grateful for our demos! I've read many reviews of other Nancy games in my Big Fish years, claiming they are so complicated, too complex, too this or too that (which inhibited my courage to ever try one). But there were also many stellar reviews from long-time Nancy fans. So I finally took that leap of faith and was not a bit disappointed. I already bought the game with today's sale for $4.99 and will soon brew a delicious cup of coffee and get started with a very long, good-time game! God Bless....
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful atmosphere you'll want to play again I got this game directly from the makers and have played it three times over and loved every second of it! The wonderful atmosphere they have created for the game relaxes you and lets you enjoy just being there. The music and voice acting is great, and the attention to detail in each scene is fantastic to see. There are enough challenging puzzles to keep you going, as well as a lot of things to do that are storyt driven so you don't get bored. (Although I confess I did cheat on a few of the puzzles the second and third times round when I was playing for atmosphere reather than challenge.) As usual with Nancy Drew games there is an element of learning Icelandic words, and about ships, among other things. The only thing that let it down slightly for me was the total story line, some of it seemed added just because 'it had to happen somehow', which was such a shame, and is not like the original games where story line was the most important thing. Overall though this should not deter you from playing, it's the best Nancy Drew game launched for a while and I totally recommend it.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nancy Drew: just OK....maybe less than This was NOT a favorite. I would have picked another game if I knew too much about this one. The portrayal of characters were terrible.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SEA OF CONFUSION I would try this game to see if you like it. I found the navigation to be very frustrating as the hints are not really very specific and wound up several times going in circles. Also, for me there is too much talking.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The easiest ND so far I found this the least challenging of all the ND games - in terms of the adventure and crime-solving as well as the mini-games. Most of the mini-games were suduko-style although there were a few more fun ones towards the end. This game also lacks the jeopardy of previous games, there was no-one on Nancy's tail and it was very quiet and subdued in tone. The characters were all moody or depressed and overall the cast lacked the comedic tone or energy of earlier games. The phone also played a smaller role in this game, whereas it holds vital clues and comedy in other games. They have also removed any vehicle racing games in this one, so when Nancy uses the snowmobile and boat the scene simply cuts. It would've been fun to have an action game for at least the first time she uses each vehicle. :( Overall I enjoyed this game, but completed it quicker than any of the other games and only used the Walkthrough twice - once for the Ship's Wheel game - which made no sense even once I had the solution! and once to get out of the ice caves. I would recommend this for beginners as it's by far the most linear and simplistic of all the range. Fingers crossed the next one is more thrilling!
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from meh I downloaded the trial but didn't purchase. It wasn't intriguing.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not excited I was into it for many minutes and was too hard to understand for me ... didn't ask for my name.... conversations way too long.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Play the trial first! Please! You have to be in the mood for this game, and I just wasn't. I don't see myself ever being in the mood for this game. Don't get me wrong: I like to immerse myself in an imaginary universe as much as the next person. Does anyone remember "Riven"? All time fave! My problem with this game was that I just couldn't figure out what they were getting at, with the puzzles. Another reviewer here said that the puzzles are of the 'Sudoku' type. I've never played Sudoku, so that must be why I had no idea what was going on. I like solving puzzles, but I need to have an idea of what I'm aiming at, or what I'm trying to do. There were hints scattered around the game, in various locations, but I couldn't figure out which hints referred to which puzzle. Anyway, this just didn't click for me. Some other reviewers liked it, so maybe you will, too, but do yourself a favor and play the trial version first. You'll know from that if you'll enjoy this game.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Old School...Not a full screen! Not a full screen which I found annoying. Letter at start was hard to read because of script and it was long. Beginning dialogue was long and drawn out but I still wanted to give it a try. Typed dialogue was in addition to voice. When it went back to the dark ages with follow the arrows, I decided it was not a game I wanted to pursue any further. i think I played it about 10 minutes. Just felt like an old style game with improved character animation and okay graphics. Like me, i suggest you take a trial run to see if you enjoy this style.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not my favorite ND game I am glad Big Fish offers trials on ND games. I found their recent games lack charm and replayable value. Recent games, including this one, just throw you to the game with no background story. It confuses me from the beginning as to how Nancy get to know Darby(?), how Darby(?) Able to get Nancy to such remote village of 300 to investigate? How come Ned, ND boyfriend doesnt even know she went to Iceland? The fight in their phone conversation reminds me much of their other game, Captive Curse. Again, repeated. Boring. The good thing, the graphic is by far the best from all the ND games, but I think that is all. The conversation, although not skippable, on earlier games is moderately long and interesting. The new games, the conversation is long and boring. The character are not memorable. I cant even remember their names. They are snappy and not friendly. The font is way too small for my eyes. And why they speak so American? It is in Iceland, in a super remote village. Its not logic. Also not all ND game players are native English speakers. Make the sentences easier to understand, please. One funny thing, even if Nancy sleeps at night she will wake up also at night. I found this illogical. Not sure what happens in the real game, but this makes me enough to stop the trial game after 30 minutes. It took so long to download this super large game, but the gameplay is not worth it. Again, a no ND game for me.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much running around. Have to write stuff down I was disappointed in this game. You search and search areas and there are very few items to ever get and it's kind of a time waster. All the searching areas for nothing gets to be annoying. I also don't like games that you have to write stuff down. I like a challenging mini game but I don't want to have to use a pen and paper to solve it. If I had played the trial version first I wouldn't have bought it.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nancy "Drew" a blank on this one I have played some Nancy Drew before and this game confirmed why I have never bought any. At first I jumped right into it and was immediately put off by the fact you can't completely skip conversations. You can sort of fast forward but not skip and this, to me, wastes time. Graphics, although nicely drawn, are some of the most boring I've seen in awhile. And there is not much color at all even in the daylight scenes. Exited out but came back later and tried the tutorial. Maybe I missed something. I did. One of the dumbest tutorials I have ever seen. C'mon, a talking stuffed Teddy? That was no help whatsoever when you are trying to learn a game. I completely gave up on this one and will uninstall as soon as I'm done here. Needless to say, I don't recommend this one at all but play the demo and decide for yourself. Have fun!
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Update Game Play and Graphics I have purchased every Her Interactive Nance Drew game. Twelve years ago the gameplay style was current. Today, it makes these lovely stories and vehicles of learning for everyone, not only young women so outdated. The hard part of these games is working out the strange avenues or click points. It saddens me to do anything but rave about a cherished learning opportunity for all.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do not like this game I have never played ND before, and now I know why. Too much talk and not enough play. Boring and complicated. Give me HOG's any day.
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Weird Game. First time I come across a game like this one. It's kind of a strange game. Too much talking and you get to pick which question to ask. That's weird in itself. Then you end up turning here and turning there just to end up with not knowing where there is anything you can do. Kitchen has you assembling dinners and the instructions use foreign words and it is not clear what you have to do. Then you go back and walk around again and still can't find what to do to get ahead. There is no hints available and no map. You're supposed to find the lady to allow you on the ship but all I could find was the rude bartender. I disliked this game so much from what I experienced with it that I didn't even finish the trial. It's just too frustrating and confusing. I don't understand all the 5 star reviews. I am uninstalling this game. Not fun at all.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very dark and boring atmosphere I am a Nancy Drew fan, but this one game is a disaster. Screen is dark all the time, there are several super-strange personages and no fun at all. For me this was the worst out of all games. I recommend you first try it in trial mode
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you like talk, you will love Nancy Drew First off it took too long to download the game. Next there was too much conversation in the game. I did the tutorial, talked to two people in the game, and all I had left of the demo was 36 minutes. The game was obviously moving at a snail's pace. I was bored to death so this is the end of my Nancy Drew experience. I wanted to try Nancy Drew so I tried it, but I just couldn't stand it!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible game This is probably the worst game I've tried on Big Fish. Not worth the effort or time. Takes forever just to get through the dialogues.
Date published: 2017-04-29
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_26662, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

Did Captain Magnus sail away with a legendary treasure, or was he carried off into the night?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.