Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(1.85 GB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The celebrated ship “Heerlijkheid,” is usually the centerpiece of an Icelandic town's local festival. Now that its captain has disappeared, the renovated vessel has become an eerie distraction. Did Captain Magnus sail away with a legendary treasure, or was he carried off into the night? Take the helm as detective Nancy Drew and set a course for the Sea of Darkness!

  • Explore a Ship Hold and Ice Caves!
  • Follow in the wake of an ancient sea legend
  • Chill with this amazing Icelandic setting
  • More Nancy Drew Adventures!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2015 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(1.85 GB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A delight if you love brain teasers! Or wooden sailing ships. HER evidently went to Iceland to film this game. The backgrounds are compelling and quite beautiful, and it's nice having actors rather than animations. You will be crawling all over a fully-restored, utterly gorgeous, Dutch East Indies three-master -- from the bilge to the crow's-nest. That alone will have me coming back to replay the game. And I loved that the history of the ship, and how it ended up wrecked in Iceland, is a mystery-within-the-mystery. However, what I most enjoy about the ND series in general is that the games have such a wild variety of puzzles. Sea of Darkness is no exception. In fact, it has the best replay value of the three I've played thus far, because two of the puzzles are actually mini-games with a random element that I can load whenever. I like Nancy Drew's variety specifically because some of the puzzles are bound to take me out of my comfort zone, while others are old-shoe comfy. It's likely that which ones are comfy for you will be different, but not the result. You'll stretch yourself playing this game! Caution: one puzzle involves reading musical notation. And if you also have no ear for music or ability to read sheet music, Sea of Darkness will require you to resort to hints for a solution. On master level, an outside hint guide like UHS becomes a necessity for me. I have a few complaints. Like the other ND games I've played, Sea of Darkness does not provide adequately explained rules for some of the puzzles. I definitely resorted to UHS more than I liked, just to figure out what I was supposed to do. I hope that HER has fixed this in their more recent games. Second, you can simply fail to notice something you need to explore in order to advance the plot. On my first playthrough, it was the fish-gutting station; on the second, the sign clearly labeled "Crow's Nest." Again, the hint guide rescued me! But you may be better at sorting details out of a complex scene. The only flaw I observed that might have you turning away to a different ND mystery is that there was a bit of choppiness in the writing. For instance, you see someone walking and pulling a sled at one point, while you are riding on the snowmobile she loaned you. She beats you back to town! Not a crucial detail, you see, just an irritant. If you like thinking your way through puzzles and can gloss over minor short-comings, by all means try Sea of Darkness.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I have bought all of the Nancy Drew Mystery Games. I love this game series and enjoy playing these games
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adventure! This is the fourth of the Nancy Drew mysteries I've played, and it's my favorite so far, with gameplay, graphics, and story all a cut above this series' typical entries. First, I don't usually make a big deal about these things, but the setting and graphics are really beautiful and play a huge role in contributing to the game's atmosphere. From the aurora borealis in the sky to the ice caves to the ship's rich textures, it just looks great. The storyline is more complex and emotionally involving than usual, involving small-town prejudices and its effects, and the characters feel like real people. And the puzzles are challenging without ever being too frustrating. This game is one to enjoy--and play again some day!
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Nancy Drew Last time I played a Nancy Drew was a few years ago. This one was the best one I've played in the past few years. I played at the master level what was more challenging and more fun! Looking forward to more ND games. It was easy to control however at times I found it hard to see what I had to do because the colors blended in. I love that it had easter eggs and I only found 2/4. Overall, I am very satisfied with the game.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the environment, kept me entertained! Fun game, kept my busy, but not overwhelmed!
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a challenging game! If you love actual character dialog, hard puzzles and a story line that wasn't done a million times before you are in the right place. This game reminds me of old adventure point and click games that actually put effort into the story line and dialog. I found my new favorite series!
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game So Far This Year I just finished playing this game, and I can't say enough great things about it. This is one of my favorite ND games. I love them all, but this one is great! They put alot of time and effort into these games, and it shows on this one. There are lots of tricky puzzles, which I absolutely love. If you are familiar with ND games, then you know that there is dialogue, but in my opinion, that adds alot to the story and ADVENTURE part of the gaming experience. If you don't want to use your brain, and just click along mindlessly with simple HO games then this game isn't for you. I suggest you start with the first ND games, and once you start and fall in love with the characters, you will be hooked and will want to play them all. I immediately purchase ND games when they come out without bothering with a demo, as I know I will enjoy playing. Please keep bringing them to BF. I wouldn't even mind the complete version where you can collect all the extras, like the phone charms, and easter eggs that aren't offered in the regular version and offer it as a collectors game.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A true adventure game A true adventure game for those of us who don't like hidden object frames where you have to look for random garbage items, unrelated to the story. The puzzles are challenging and that is the kind of fun I am looking for.
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful atmosphere you'll want to play again I got this game directly from the makers and have played it three times over and loved every second of it! The wonderful atmosphere they have created for the game relaxes you and lets you enjoy just being there. The music and voice acting is great, and the attention to detail in each scene is fantastic to see. There are enough challenging puzzles to keep you going, as well as a lot of things to do that are storyt driven so you don't get bored. (Although I confess I did cheat on a few of the puzzles the second and third times round when I was playing for atmosphere reather than challenge.) As usual with Nancy Drew games there is an element of learning Icelandic words, and about ships, among other things. The only thing that let it down slightly for me was the total story line, some of it seemed added just because 'it had to happen somehow', which was such a shame, and is not like the original games where story line was the most important thing. Overall though this should not deter you from playing, it's the best Nancy Drew game launched for a while and I totally recommend it.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The easiest ND so far I found this the least challenging of all the ND games - in terms of the adventure and crime-solving as well as the mini-games. Most of the mini-games were suduko-style although there were a few more fun ones towards the end. This game also lacks the jeopardy of previous games, there was no-one on Nancy's tail and it was very quiet and subdued in tone. The characters were all moody or depressed and overall the cast lacked the comedic tone or energy of earlier games. The phone also played a smaller role in this game, whereas it holds vital clues and comedy in other games. They have also removed any vehicle racing games in this one, so when Nancy uses the snowmobile and boat the scene simply cuts. It would've been fun to have an action game for at least the first time she uses each vehicle. :( Overall I enjoyed this game, but completed it quicker than any of the other games and only used the Walkthrough twice - once for the Ship's Wheel game - which made no sense even once I had the solution! and once to get out of the ice caves. I would recommend this for beginners as it's by far the most linear and simplistic of all the range. Fingers crossed the next one is more thrilling!
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SEA OF CONFUSION I would try this game to see if you like it. I found the navigation to be very frustrating as the hints are not really very specific and wound up several times going in circles. Also, for me there is too much talking.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not excited I was into it for many minutes and was too hard to understand for me ... didn't ask for my name.... conversations way too long.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from meh I downloaded the trial but didn't purchase. It wasn't intriguing.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nancy Drew: just OK....maybe less than This was NOT a favorite. I would have picked another game if I knew too much about this one. The portrayal of characters were terrible.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Play the trial first! Please! You have to be in the mood for this game, and I just wasn't. I don't see myself ever being in the mood for this game. Don't get me wrong: I like to immerse myself in an imaginary universe as much as the next person. Does anyone remember "Riven"? All time fave! My problem with this game was that I just couldn't figure out what they were getting at, with the puzzles. Another reviewer here said that the puzzles are of the 'Sudoku' type. I've never played Sudoku, so that must be why I had no idea what was going on. I like solving puzzles, but I need to have an idea of what I'm aiming at, or what I'm trying to do. There were hints scattered around the game, in various locations, but I couldn't figure out which hints referred to which puzzle. Anyway, this just didn't click for me. Some other reviewers liked it, so maybe you will, too, but do yourself a favor and play the trial version first. You'll know from that if you'll enjoy this game.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not my favorite ND game I am glad Big Fish offers trials on ND games. I found their recent games lack charm and replayable value. Recent games, including this one, just throw you to the game with no background story. It confuses me from the beginning as to how Nancy get to know Darby(?), how Darby(?) Able to get Nancy to such remote village of 300 to investigate? How come Ned, ND boyfriend doesnt even know she went to Iceland? The fight in their phone conversation reminds me much of their other game, Captive Curse. Again, repeated. Boring. The good thing, the graphic is by far the best from all the ND games, but I think that is all. The conversation, although not skippable, on earlier games is moderately long and interesting. The new games, the conversation is long and boring. The character are not memorable. I cant even remember their names. They are snappy and not friendly. The font is way too small for my eyes. And why they speak so American? It is in Iceland, in a super remote village. Its not logic. Also not all ND game players are native English speakers. Make the sentences easier to understand, please. One funny thing, even if Nancy sleeps at night she will wake up also at night. I found this illogical. Not sure what happens in the real game, but this makes me enough to stop the trial game after 30 minutes. It took so long to download this super large game, but the gameplay is not worth it. Again, a no ND game for me.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nancy "Drew" a blank on this one I have played some Nancy Drew before and this game confirmed why I have never bought any. At first I jumped right into it and was immediately put off by the fact you can't completely skip conversations. You can sort of fast forward but not skip and this, to me, wastes time. Graphics, although nicely drawn, are some of the most boring I've seen in awhile. And there is not much color at all even in the daylight scenes. Exited out but came back later and tried the tutorial. Maybe I missed something. I did. One of the dumbest tutorials I have ever seen. C'mon, a talking stuffed Teddy? That was no help whatsoever when you are trying to learn a game. I completely gave up on this one and will uninstall as soon as I'm done here. Needless to say, I don't recommend this one at all but play the demo and decide for yourself. Have fun!
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Update Game Play and Graphics I have purchased every Her Interactive Nance Drew game. Twelve years ago the gameplay style was current. Today, it makes these lovely stories and vehicles of learning for everyone, not only young women so outdated. The hard part of these games is working out the strange avenues or click points. It saddens me to do anything but rave about a cherished learning opportunity for all.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much running around. Have to write stuff down I was disappointed in this game. You search and search areas and there are very few items to ever get and it's kind of a time waster. All the searching areas for nothing gets to be annoying. I also don't like games that you have to write stuff down. I like a challenging mini game but I don't want to have to use a pen and paper to solve it. If I had played the trial version first I wouldn't have bought it.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Old School...Not a full screen! Not a full screen which I found annoying. Letter at start was hard to read because of script and it was long. Beginning dialogue was long and drawn out but I still wanted to give it a try. Typed dialogue was in addition to voice. When it went back to the dark ages with follow the arrows, I decided it was not a game I wanted to pursue any further. i think I played it about 10 minutes. Just felt like an old style game with improved character animation and okay graphics. Like me, i suggest you take a trial run to see if you enjoy this style.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very dark and boring atmosphere I am a Nancy Drew fan, but this one game is a disaster. Screen is dark all the time, there are several super-strange personages and no fun at all. For me this was the worst out of all games. I recommend you first try it in trial mode
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you like talk, you will love Nancy Drew First off it took too long to download the game. Next there was too much conversation in the game. I did the tutorial, talked to two people in the game, and all I had left of the demo was 36 minutes. The game was obviously moving at a snail's pace. I was bored to death so this is the end of my Nancy Drew experience. I wanted to try Nancy Drew so I tried it, but I just couldn't stand it!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible game This is probably the worst game I've tried on Big Fish. Not worth the effort or time. Takes forever just to get through the dialogues.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do not like this game I have never played ND before, and now I know why. Too much talk and not enough play. Boring and complicated. Give me HOG's any day.
Date published: 2018-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Weird Game. First time I come across a game like this one. It's kind of a strange game. Too much talking and you get to pick which question to ask. That's weird in itself. Then you end up turning here and turning there just to end up with not knowing where there is anything you can do. Kitchen has you assembling dinners and the instructions use foreign words and it is not clear what you have to do. Then you go back and walk around again and still can't find what to do to get ahead. There is no hints available and no map. You're supposed to find the lady to allow you on the ship but all I could find was the rude bartender. I disliked this game so much from what I experienced with it that I didn't even finish the trial. It's just too frustrating and confusing. I don't understand all the 5 star reviews. I am uninstalling this game. Not fun at all.
Date published: 2018-04-23
  • y_2020, m_9, d_26, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_26662, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nancy Drew: Sea of Darkness

Did Captain Magnus sail away with a legendary treasure, or was he carried off into the night?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.