The Unseen Fears: Body Thief Collector's Edition
Exclusive

The Unseen Fears: Body Thief Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(395.03 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

An old friend has called you in to help investigate a string of recent murders. The latest victim was only missing one thing…their skin. As you start investigating, you're quickly thrown into a world of dark magic and creatures. Do you have what it takes to find the murderer in time, or will you be their next victim? Find out in this bone-chilling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Save Sorrel's family from the Hunters in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite mini-games and HOPs.
  • Earn achievements and hunt for hidden collectibles.
  • Enjoy concept art, wallpapers, screensavers, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 864 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Unseen Fears: Body Thief Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(395.03 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
The Unseen Fears: Body Thief Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THE SHAPESHIFTERS!!!!!! based on demo ... i love everything about this game especially the editorial direction ... gameplay is UNIQUE and so different ... finally something new and not the same old car crash! ... gonna get back to all the supernatural FUN! ...
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GRRRR8 game Have to say this is an awesome game..everything about it is what I like to play in a HO game...lots of fun..puzzles are cool and so clear to understand.... I didnt wait for a sale I bought it right away.. Hope to see what this developer comes out with next!!!
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ugliness looking for eternal beauty? LOL I really like it, always play the Demo. Do not always rely on bad reviews. A little different twist in this story keeping my interest. It also hopefully continues to go smoothly and not get carried away trying to make the expert players happy. I hate when they stagnate a game extremely frustrating puzzles that take 10 to 20 min to figure out. I hate spending more than 6 hours in a game. It is more fun, if you replay a game because it does not take forever. This game seem to be interesting and to the point. Try it before you buy and enjoy. I have been many times to Amsterdam, love it.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aren't Thieves Happy With Cars and Bank Robberies Anymore?? I liked being an investigator in this game with such an unusual storyline. I had special psychic abilities acquired as a child in a near death experience. These abilities have helped me my entire life and are useful to me now as I try to close in on an especially horrible murderer. My first crime scene in this case was unsettling, seeing that the victim was flayed. I do not want to reveal any details because this is a really good story with an unusual reason for the killings. Anything I share might very well spoil the fun, surprise, etc. So I hope you enjoy the adventure. It proves to be very different. In spite of my choosing the "creepier" version of the game, I saw nothing in the trial version that scared my socks off or made me cringe. Maybe all of it gets scarier or more gross further into the game. As investigator you are kept pretty busy gathering evidence and looking for new clues. I really enjoyed doing all that. You'll also meet a couple of unusual "people" who give you some helpful tools and new leads and you have to stay clear of the hunters. The game moved at a really good pace and thankfully there were, so far, only a couple of things to be unlocked...the keys were easily found and the task quickly over with. The tasks in the demo were do-able without a lot of running around and a recipe to be made was fun. Quite a few symbols throughout, there are some in each scene and there are achievements to be earned but did not check them out. There is a good map and uncomplicated journal and evidence folder. A custom play mode allows reducing refill time on the skip and hint down to 10 seconds. Love that. And you can choose either creepy or not so creepy versions of the game. The graphics were excellent and color appropriate for all the nighttime and club scenes. The characters were nicely rendered and the voices were good. Can't say much about games and HOGs, as I only got to play a couple of each. But they were quite good, not extremely challenging. I believe the game will be very entertaining due to subject matter being so interesting and different. Don't recall ever seeing a game with such an unsettling way and reason to murder someone. Nonetheless, it will surely be very popular. I do think, though, that the creators of these games could do better without using such "cartoonish" creatures, if they are really wanting a strong scare factor. It just looks silly to see those things doing all these scary things to human characters. If the creatures looked more realistic I think the impact would be much greater and the games would be even more popular. Just a thought! Make sense? I will purchase the CE mainly for the guide and I think one of the reviewers mentioned 2 bonus chapters. Also have to know what the heck is going on and who the evil-doer is behind all the horrific murders. God Bless....
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get ready!! I did the Beta test on this one and could not wait for it to come out. This game is very different in several ways from the norm. The games are new and fun, makes you think ahead and react to what is going on. This game is fun but the theme is a little off-beat, not by much so it is a really good game. It is well drawn and sound is good. The story line is good. As always, please do the try me and see if it fits you. I am buying it now. Hope you enjoy.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's not to like, I'll tell you This 5 star game is just really good. I'm rarely ever interested in playing a game twice unless its been a year in between, but I'm already looking forward to playing this game again. The story line isn't totally new but what is anymore. To give you a comparison, this is my favorite game since Maze: The Broken Tower. I know someone will hate this game someone always does but I feel very confident telling you to go straight for the buy on this one. You need to own it. The HOPS are fair and not overly hard which some people won't like but I do. There's a special magic ability which you can use to find hidden clues, just something a little different to make it fun to play. In summary just buy this game and have a great time...enjoy!
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It'll Make Your Skin Crawl Have you ever watched the movie, The Cell starring JLo? It was a very bizarre movie, and this game has some of the same features as the movie, so I wasn't totally shocked with the MO of the first victim. The Unseen Fears has raised the bar with their first game, Body Thief, it's a really good game, however, it could have been fantastic, but they just had to introduce fantasy creatures and ruin the direction I thought it was taking. I don't mind fantasy creatures, when they are in a fantasy themed game, but I really thought this game was going to be a somewhat realistic game about a deranged serial killer. They could have pushed this game a little further to cross the blurred sugar coated lines, and give us an epic, never been done before genre in the BF gaming world. Why can't they? Why don't they? A simple disclosure to e-sign before downloading or purchasing is all they need to present a rated R intense psychological thriller. If that kind of game is offered, I guarantee sales would go through the roof. So, the bottom line is, this is a good game, but it's really just another game about a paranormal investigator called in to solve a crime. You are given the option to play this game in a sugar coated "dark" version complete with things that go bump in the night, or an even more sugar coated version where everything in the world is good, because that's what you want to believe, that there's no monster under the bed. I chose to see the things that go bump in the night, so far I saw a spider, and a couple of attempts intended to surprise the gamer with a couple of pop up ghosts. The Amsterdam police have asked for your help to solve what seems to be an unsolvable case. There has been a rash of murders that seems supernatural. All of the victims are void of skin, (and by skin, I mean all tissue because the only thing they show is a skeleton so don't get the heebie jeebies yet) but their clothes remain in tact. Your supernatural ability to see the unseen, is the only way these cases will be solved because these women have been murdered by something very supernatural. You weren't born with this ability, it was given to you as a child, by an archangel, Khepri (or perhaps the mothman) who saved you from drowning. Khepri taught you how to see what no one else could, but he disappeared one day as quickly as he appeared. Perhaps these cases are related to the disappearance of your cherished mentor, perhaps your search for answers lies within this case. Your Seal is used during the investigation, to activate your supernatural abilities, and see the unseen. Too bad they don't help you "see" the 77 Hidden Symbols throughout the game, because a lot of them are really difficult to "see" but that's a good thing! Your first task is to gather evidence that may help the detective solve the case. I found it kind of funny that you gather the evidence using contaminated tweezers that you found during your investigation. First of all, shouldn't you be wearing gloves? Shouldn't you have come prepared with your own tools? The Hidden Object Scenes are creative, such as finding the correct objects to ward off your attacker's as described and shown as a Silhouetted Shape. There are also Multiples of Symbols, Silhouetted Shape finds and Zoom Zone listed item finds. You can opt for a Match 3 game instead of the HOP. The Mini Games are usually presented in several layers, below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Connect the matching colored tiles without intersecting paths, and the entire honeycomb grid must be filled. 2) Select the facts that correctly connect the murders. 3) Match the victims with the places they were murdered, by placing photos on the crime scene. 4) Place the clues into the correct folders. 5) Find all pairs of symbols by selecting tokens to see the hidden symbols. 6) Rotate groups of tokens until they omit a beam of light. 7) Untangle the threads. 8) Press the button when all blue spheres are in the target zone to shoot. This Collector's Edition has 14 Achievements to earn, replayable Mini Games and Hidden Object Scenes, 77 Hidden Symbols, 8 Music Soundtracks, Movies, 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, a built in Strategy Guide, and 2 Bonus Chapters (Being Human and New Crime Murder In Alley) enjoy!
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MYSTERIES! WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE I only played about ten minutes or so of this game from Grandma Games of which I have quite few. It took a very short time for me to become very interested in the story. The main character has magic powers and has been asked to help police investigate a series of murders. For once the main character is a bloke instead of the usual female investigator, which makes for a nice change. I didn't have to play for long. The story caught me up in it straight away, so therefore, I can't tell you very much of what is going on. You will have to play it yourself. I enjoy good mysteries and with this game you will need to use the "little grey cells". There are clues to collect that relate to the murders and you have to work through them to find the answers needed to solve these crimes. Good hunting. Storyline is great, as are the graphics, audio and visual effects. I am looking forward to continuing this game as it has been a while since a game has caught my interest enough for me do a review. Thank you Grandma Games for Relctions of Life series and Whispered Secrets series and I will be adding The Unseen Fears to the collection.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GRANDMA HAS DISCOVERED HER DARK SIDE IN A SUPERNATURAL THRILLER! 7 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide 47 Pages OVERVIEW: GrandMA – what big teeth you have! Big enough to take a big bite out of the horror gaming market. What a great 5-star plus game! I LOVE this game! Play a paranormal detective on the case investigating a case of a serial killer who is targeting a specific type of victim. The murders are occult-based with the victims still clothes but missing their skin. Your immense psychic powers, developed by your mentor, Kephri, will help you in this case. Interact with the hidden world of ritualistic magic, orchestrated by a Master of Dark Arts. Along the way, meet shapeshifters Sorrel and his wife Marjolaine and help them avoid the Hunters. THE FRIGHT FACTOR! To what degree do you wish to be scared? Our creative GrandMA provides an option never seen in the games on BFG – the ability to choose your level of “fright” You can choose between “Grim” versus “Brighter” while playing this game. Of course, I chose “Grim.” The “Grim” option exposes you to more realism in the dark work of the occult. For the maximum effect – play in a dark room. What can I say except that the story is a brilliant portrayal of ritualistic serial killings. This game should appeal to everyone except the weak of heart! The graphics well display modern-day Amsterdam. The pace is excellent, keeping you on your toes investigating this case. Your “helper” is a seal at the side of your inventory bar. It allows you to access supernatural powers to see the unseen. You will also collect evidence as you proceed in the game. HOP SCENES: HOP scenes are a natural fit to detective games, and these are exceptional. They include the usual silhouette and lists of items. In some you locate the items and then replace them back into the scene. There are two which I thought extremely well-crafted. In one you fight a zombie by locating items in silhouette. Ever feel that suffocating feeling while a dance partner hold you too tightly, this game takes it to a whole new level. While a girl is dancing, you switch her from front-to-back searching for items to recreate a VERY LARGE BOA CONSTRICTOR who is acting as her dance partner! You can play a Match-3 game in lieu of the scenes. (Also, making her appearance is a girl in this scene who looks a lot like Jennifer Anniston) PUZZLES: All the puzzles are easy. They are not as challenging as I would like; however, they are decent and fit into the story. Some of the puzzles include a rather unique matching puzzle which has you matching up clues with cases. Other puzzles include a connection puzzle which involves connecting tokens without crossing wires, a rope puzzle of the same vein, and a matching puzzle which replaced another puzzle in the beta. The beta puzzle was better in my opinion. My favorite puzzle involves placing jacks into a circuit board so that all lights on the board are lit. FINAL THOUGHT: GrandMA, you are a natural in the production of this type of game. I am astounded at the quality of this game. For your first attempt into the world of the occult, you are a true natural Master Gamer for the Dark Arts! Hope to see more of this type of game from you! A BIG THANK YOU! LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hint: 10 to 90 seconds Skips: 10 to 180 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 14 Achievements Collect 77 symbols Replay HOP scenes and puzzles 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art, Music, and Videos HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: A. Multiple-step. (1) Locate 8 symbols (2) Silhouette. (3) List of items B. Very cool. (1) In a fight scene with a zombie, locate items in silhouette. (2) Locate 6 valves. C. Silhouette. Locate teeny snakes and replace parts on a snake. Realistic and awesome PUZZLES: (1) Easy 2) Moderate difficulty (3) Difficult (4) Challenging A. Connection puzzle. Connect 4 like-colored tokens so that lines do not cross with other tokens. Rating: 2 B. Matching: 3 Scenes. First wo scenes - Match up evidence in five cases with the clues provided. Final scene - place clues into the correct packet. Rating: 2 C. Matching: Match up symbols then rotate all gems within the symbols so they light up. Rating: 1 D. Rope puzzle. Untangle ropes so they do not cross. Rating: 1 E. Manual dexterity puzzle. Ready, aim, shoot! Center a ball within a bullseye to hit a driver with sleeping potion. 3X. Rating: 1 F. Logic puzzle. Select four wires and connect them to jacks on a circuit board to a series of lights at the top of a circuit panel so that all the lights are lit. Rather unusual puzzle. Rating: 2
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from UNSEEN FEARS BODY THIEF IS DIFFERENT AND CREATIVE Unseen Fears Body Thief is one of those games that you will most likely either love or hate. Although I found the storyline rather odd I did like the mix of fantasy and good old-fashioned crime mystery. There is an effort by the developer to bring something new to the table and I appreciate the result. You play the game as an investigator with special psychic abilities. You had a near death experience from drowning as a child and you were rescued by a mystical being you named Khepri. Over the years he was your only family and your mentor who taught you to see the unseen world. Then one day Khepri vanished and you have been searching for him since that day. The game is technically not the best work by this development team and at time the graphics seemed downright cartoonish. The first scene in the game had me searching my past games because I know I have seen that same warehouse that was most likely recycled from another game. A very creative touch in the game is that at the beginning you make a choice on how realistic, or perhaps graphic you want the game to be. I chose the more realistic mode and personally I didn’t find anything too gross that upset me. Aside from the standard interactive map your tools include a special ability that as a psychic investigator you can use to see what is generally hidden from those with “normal” vision. There is nothing new in the HOPS or the puzzles although there is a great deal of creativity used when looking over and categorizing the information from the crime scene. That was a nice touch and I did enjoy figuring out exactly what I should do. We have the same building potion mini-game that is quite often used in fantasy type games so there was nothing new with that. All in all there are portions of the game that are quite well designed and do show an attempt at something a bit different. If you prefer the CE version of a game, this one includes spotting 77 symbols that are hidden throughout the game. Standard extras in the game include achievements to earn, a strategy guide and the bonus chapter. Of course you will also find wallpapers, artwork, videos, music, replay of HOPS and puzzles. Unseen Fears Body Thief was a game that I have been waiting for since playing the beta a few months ago. It does have some twists in the plot and I do like the creative touches for solving each crime. It remains to be seen where this game will go as it moves forward. I generally enjoy the games from this developer and if I can get over the bit of oddity in the story, then it may turn out to be an excellent game. Please try the demo to see if Unseen Fears Body Thief is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining Game I don't often review games even though I play a lot of them and I tend to avoid the reviews that tell me the entire story. (IDK why people are compelled to ruin the story for others, and high drama in a review seems cheesy.) While games seem to have gotten easier in the last year, and this game is no exception, I really enjoyed playing it. For those of you who want a good story and a variety of puzzles, buy the CE. Definitely a solid buy.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for the nervous or easily disturbed! Shapeshifters, flayed bodies, a mysterious and threatening crossbow-wielding villain, arcane symbols, and much more, they are all here. All of the now-usual game settings are available, including one that is unique. At the very beginning of the game you have the choice of darkness of game play, and this has nothing to do with the ambient lighting. The interactive map is very useful as you trek around the canal-bound Dutch city. Graphics are a little indistinct around the edges at times, but that may be the artist’s intent. Background music is appropriate to the overall game as well as to particular scenes, and definitely adds to the playing experience. This is not a game for the faint-of-heart, nor for children, but if you have a taste for the bizarre this game will certainly satisfy. I played the demo twice, and I’m still not sure of the mission, but the game is so intriguing that I don’t care! My recommendation comes with the usual caveat that you play the demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad This was a surprisingly good game. The majority of the gore is in the demo which was a bit disappointing and the hunters didn't really serve any real point to the game but the games were fun. I'd like it this became a series as long as they don't skimp out on the shock factor and violence after the demo again.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Story Line Great story ! And excellent graphics ...only down side it was way too short :( I would love to see a series of games .
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Supernatural strikes again! Hi all! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to others who do a much better job than I. The graphics in this game are exceptionally well done, nice and clear even when moving from cut scene to full scene. Game play was very good, with no problems during the demo. Colors are bright and true, no faded or washed out colors. Animation is extremely well done, true facial and body movements, no skips or lags in movement. Voices are very nice and have emotion, not just someone reading a script, and are age and character appropriate. Music has a very sinister sound and fell when needed..that edge of your seat kind of music, which builds up to something about to happen. Yes, we have supernatural powers, which is fun and different, but is not over-used. HOPs are a little different in their set up. Yes, we have interactive silhouettes, find it here and use it there, but they were fun and interesting. Scenes are fairly clean and items were not difficult to find. Some of the puzzles were quite challenging and did take some time and thought to complete. We have a jump map, which is helpful since we don't have a transport feature. The map is easy to follow and areas are well marked and identified, but it does not show if the scene has any collectibles. Hint system is very helpful. Collectibles left a lot to be desired. All I found was that we have 77 symbols of different shape and color to find in each scene. They aren't difficult to find, but you do have to look for them. Each scene has more than one and some have three. Could have used just a bit more, maybe some morphing items in the HOPs, unless it does have it and I missed it. There is a lot of back-tracking between a couple of scenes at a time, so be ready for it. Sort of felt like we spent a little too much time in an area before moving on to something new. I love mysteries and hunting for clues and this one has it all. I especially liked the ability to choose your game play, e.g. bright and airy or true dark and scary. Of course, I chose the dark and scary. Be aware that in this mode, there are things that jump out at you, so if you don't care for that, don't choose that one. The one thing I did not care for was that once you have completed an area, you cannot return to pick up any collectibles you may have missed. Hopefully you can do this in the extras. The story line is a little different, and keeps you moving and interested. I think most all levels of players will find this one fun, interesting and a bit challenging. Yes, I am going to add it to my ever growing list of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from look its a bird ,plane, no it's the blair witch not a bad game like the graphics/art mini games and hops where cool really hard to find the rune signs butt did pretty good.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Only Skin Deep Though a little dark on the eyes to see it was worth it. Very good game with good inventory, Really nice game flow and good cast of Characters. I too was a little thrown off by the Chameleon type creature persons. I too would have love to see this done in R intense version, but for family fun will do quite well. The structure and functionality went so well with game flow that this goes near the top of the to buy list.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult to negotiate A bit too challenging especially for those who are not familiar with the intricate searching room to room to room
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't see many stars on this one This is one of those games that looks great at first but soon goes down hill. Of course, you as the "expert" are the only one in the world who can save the world. This gets tiring after a while. Plus, it's another of those find this to open this to get this to open something else etc, etc, etc. I dislike that kind of premise. How about doing things that progresses the story. HO's were not that great except for the one in the nightclub. That one had great graphics and the characters didn't look cartoonish. And the HO part was fun. Well drawn. I played the complete demo just out of curiosity to see where it led and that was nowhere. I don't recommend this one if you are a serious gamer looking for a story and not just back and forth.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too confusing I played for an hour hoping it would improve, but there are too many signs, too many 'have to get this before you can do that', and I'm not that keen on seeing skinned bodies. It's all rather grim as if the creators were trying to go to an extreme of excessive grim, awful, blood curdling, fearful, terrible and darn right out of it all just to beat every other grim game. Not my cup of tea.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth ce I don't review very much anymore. sure did make a mistake going by the 2 5 star ratings instead of waiting. even with the sale this game was a bad disappointment for a ce..short last chapter. The symbols you have to find will make you go blind. They are sooo had to see. story ok, just didn't see the big wow for a ce--terrible. But that's me..play the demo.. will recommend game but not this ce..
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm Not Sure Where They Wanted To Go, But They Didn't Get There You are called in to use your "Special Abilities" to help investigate the latest in a group of serial murders. There will be mystic signs, magic, drugs, shape-shifters, vigilantes, and anything else the devs can think of to throw at you. You just follow along the trail. You find lots of evidence which the detective in charge missed, hand it over, and keep on going alone. Trouble is bound to pop up. Good stuff: You start out with a choice of two basic modes, one lighter and one more creepy. There will be HOPs with a Match 3 alternative, puzzles, your "special power"(Which does not require a repetitious puzzle each time you use it!), two extra chapters, collectible "signs," and CE bling, along with the Mystery to solve. Bad stuff: As the various elements are thrown at you, there will be moments when you wonder why there had to be so many bits stirred into this pot. You alone can determine if there is any sense to be made of this stew. The various game elements are familiar, just rather oddly mixed. You will need to play the demo on this game as reading the reviews should tell you there is some conflicting messages out there when even reviewers known for their rah-rah attitudes include the word "but" in those rave reviews. I am still not sure I want to travel this road. Please see for yourself.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for the faint-hearted Downloaded the demo , looking forward to some mystery solving and got stoped in my actions coming across the first body. It looked so disgusting , this half rotten human remain. I felt sick to the core and eliminated the game straight away. Maybe I'm a chicken , but for me it was to much !
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My mystical powers say avoid this inane game. OVERVIEW When I began reading the game blurb, I thought, “Yes! Creepy murder mystery.” Then I read “a world of dark magic and creatures,” and my excitement quickly dimmed. Frankly, the supernatural storylines are getting old. And this one was completely inane, cobbling together a supernatural investigator raised by some sort of paranormal creature, the Wesen from NBC’s “Grimm,” a group of genocidal racists trying to off them, and an ancient evil witch committing ritual murders toward an unknown purpose, I’m guessing immortality. STORYLINE (2/10✭) Your police detective friend asks for your help investigating a series of ritual murders in which the victims have been flayed while their clothes remained intact, sort of a sociopathic version of yanking off the tablecloth without upsetting the wine glasses. Your mythical powers reveal all sorts of dark magic shenanigans, so you collect all the clues while your friend tends to his headache, keeping your cool even when a crossbow is aimed at your face point blank. GAMEPLAY (4/15✭) Gameplay is extremely puzzle-heavy, with only two HO scenes during the demo versus ten puzzles. HOs are multi-layered but all objects are in plain sight. • Collect the glowing symbols, then find the silhouette list (easy since the objects in the scene are surrounded by neon auras), then find the straight list. • Find the snakes, then use the given fragments to assemble the giant snake. Puzzles are mostly simple and familiar, including matching pairs, untangle the ropes, connect matching tokens without crossing paths, rotate the circles to the correct position where one affects others, assemble the mosaic by copying the clue, shoot when the moving balls are in the target zone, and use the wires to turn on the lights without having more than one jack per column. Two were original: • Find similarities among the six crime scenes, then match the victims to the crime scenes, and finally, sort the clues to their appropriate folders. • Chase the supernatural girl, dealing with obstacles that get in your path with what’s available. Adventure and exploration were mostly what we’re used to: shaped keys, broken things that needed fixing or McGuyvering, NPCs who needed help. INTERFACE (2/5✭) Game mechanics were a nightmare, as hotspots were too small. It was difficult to find the “go back” sweet spot without grabbing an inventory item, and you had to be exactly on point when placing an item in the scene. The map wasn’t necessary, since each section only consisted of a couple areas. And I’m not sure why the “mystical eye” was needed; why not just leave the mystical powers “on” all the time? LOGIC (1/5✭) I don’t recall much that was logical, to be honest. The second I saw the backpack, I knew the zipper would be broken. I’m certain that a glob of pitch on a dish brush would never glue together a glass pitcher sufficient to be able to use it as a scoop for ice cubes. Nor would a dozen ice cubes put out a fire I couldn’t reach across. I feel certain that two people standing a hundred feet away would notice me stealing their SUV, especially when the keys made the alarm beep. Who thinks up this nonsense? PRODUCTION (5/10✭) Graphics varied from impeccable to horrible. NPCs were drawn incredibly well, but animated so badly that it was laughable. The textures, realism, proportions, and perspective were amazing, but the palette was garish to the point of eye-searing. The music started and stopped randomly, leaving large areas of silence where there wasn’t much ambient sound. Voiceovers were done fairly well. EXTRAS (5/5✭) There are two bonus games, the strategy guide, and performance achievements. Find 77 hidden signs, and they are well-hidden for the most part. Replay HOs and puzzles. Check out the dev’s portfolio of wallpapers, screensavers, concept art, movies, and soundtracks. CONCLUSION Overall Rating = 19✭ ÷ 10 = 1.9✭ (rounded to ✭✭) For me, convoluted and inane story, too easy gameplay, and massive departures from logic equal no purchase. I’m with LogieBaby; I see nothing that warrants a five-star rating here. Better games by this dev: • Reflections of Life: Equilibrium CE • Whispered Secrets: Everburning Candle CE
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I hope the Body Thief gets away I lasted about 1/2 hour into the demo and just couldn't take anymore of this drivel. I have no problem with games that delve into paranormal activities but this effort is a total mess. Something strange is occurring in Amsterdam as the story opens. Young women are being murdered and there is only one person ( the player ) who can decipher what is going on since it is apparent that otherworldly events are happening simultaneously with the crimes. The player arrives in Amsterdam and meets up with a local detective who just happens to speak perfect American English. This is in itself the first sign that all will not be well with Unseen Fears. The player is then tasked with obtaining clues about the latest victim and in a rather jumbled mess of activity amasses items which tie certain facts about obvious serial murders. Then the player is accosted by a bloody looking spectral woman and she must be fought off. Then we get to a houseboat and learn from some dude who sort of looks like the Wolfman that he and the spectre are shapeshifters who mean no harm. This did it for me. I had to leave. Some reviewers who normally allow 5 stars to most games have done so here. While everyone is entitles to his/her opinion I cannot fathom a superb rating for this disaster. Yesterday I beta tested an Eipix effort that IMO is one of the best games ever, so perhaps Unseen Fears just pales by comparison. Judge for yourself, for me it is a definite no sale.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Extra Bonus play Though promised when purchasing the Collector's Edition, you do NOT get to play the bonus game unless you have collected all symbols during the main game. After completeing the main game you cannot revisit the scenes where you missed a symbol; the only possibility is to start the game completely anew.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from odd and awful not sure where these dev. were headed with this dreadful game. seems like these new games are going in an area that i can not reach. i will let the other reviewers go into detail, safe to say, tedious,choppy, and it makes zero sense.good luck.
Date published: 2017-03-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_26308, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Unseen Fears: Body Thief Collector's Edition

Can you stop a mystical murderer in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.