Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(252.35 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Have you heard about the mysterious Book of Gold? A tome of many secrets, it’s already brought an unlikely couple together on a quest to find it - the introverted thinker Mortimer, and the extroverted, spontaneous Kate. But there’s many more twists to come. Help Mortimer and Kate on their quest to find the legendary Book of Gold!

  • Brainteasing puzzles and challenging riddles
  • Use tools and reveal clues like a detective
  • Enjoy 60 story levels and 18 timed challenges
  • Explore 30 locations and test your wits
  • Earn artifacts for Mortimer's private collection

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 539 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(252.35 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition is rated 2.2 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Sure.... Downloaded trial. I'm not too sure about these crossover games. This is not the Mortimer Beckett I remember of old. The graphs are very time management- like (Delicious, etc). I admit that I prefer voices rather that writing on screen when characters are talking. puzzles are good. The atmosphere that the old MB games is just not there
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as fun as the previous games I didn't really care for the change in game play from the previous games. The search and find was reduced to everything being in the same place instead of multiple locations and they added some time-wasting segments that you can't skip. Probably won't be buying any more of these.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the others This new game is one dimensional compared to the rest. The graphics are not as good. The game itself is hardly challenging.I loved the original Mortimer games! The instructions for the games were non existent. It wasn't CE material at all. I buy a lot of games and have all of the other games in this series.This was a BIG disappointment.I was sooo looking forward to this game only to be let down badly.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Based on Full Game played until the End! This game is more like an animated picture book, than a game. Better suited for children than for adult players. This review contains !SPOILERS! The Good: 1)The puzzles are pretty straightforward and fun to play; not too hard and not too easy. If the player uses a hint,the level has to be replayed later to get all the achievements. 2) The graphics are nice and the soundtrack does not have to be turned off. 3) Regular levels advance the story and bonus levels help the player to collect prizes, that complement the story, adding a bit more insight into the characters personality and details to the adventure. 4) There is a fantastic quote from one of the characters in the middle of the game: "Sometimes we forget to want what we already have". The bad: 1) The game attempts to merge Mortimer Beckett with the Emily Series, putting Kate (Emily´s sister in law) as a romantic partner to Mortimer. The story, however, lacks real momentum. Kate is dissatisfied with her life and wants to experience a new adventure. No amount of travelling or getting into trouble makes her happy, though and her dissatisfaction is a bit of a bummer throughout the game. Mortimer, who has every reason to be upset since he got dragged into the adventure against his wishes, on the other hand, is always polite, helpful and competent... not that Kate ever acknowledges that. At least her personality remains consistent throughout the game: when she is not complaining about her life, she is complaining about Mortimer, constantly putting him down despite him being always there for her. The Ugly: 1) Like in every Emily game, there is a mouse to find in every level. The mouse is only drawn from the neck up, because it is always hiding behind objects. Usually this is not an issue, but in this game, when you click on the Mouse, a severed mouse head flies through the screen... which is really disturbing for a kids game. Would it really be so hard to draw the entire animal? 2) In the end scene, when Emily appears, all Emily characters are off scale in relation to Mortimer and Kate. I know this seems like nitpicking... but if a game relies a lot on graphics like this one, characters must blend together. This flaw made the game seem unpolished. 3) Finally, there is a glitch in the game. Even if the player gets all the mice in all the levels, he doesn´t get the "found all mice" trophy. Maybe it´s because I forgot the mouse in some levels and then went back, found the mouse but didn't play the level until the end... but either way, the mice are all there and the trophy isn't. It has never been so frustrating not to get a piece of cheese! That being said, the game does have a lot of playing value, since the main problems are in the storyline and some of the graphic choices.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'll wait, thank you. I totally agree with the other reviewers....this was a bit of a let-down after the quality of the first MB games. Developers just keep going for the cheaper version, anymore.....sad. I will buy the standard game, probably, but only if it's on sale.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Long wait...disappointed I was expecting something so much better and challenging. I only did the 1 hour free and am not even going to buy it.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Left something to be desired Only played the trial and will not be buying this one. I loved the old Mortimer Beckett games. This one, not so much. Instructions were sparse on some of the challenge games and it seemed like so much hunt and click, as opposed to the old Mortimer Beckett games. A disappointment.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I've played and loved all the other Mortimer Beckett games and was excited to see this one had come out. I knew from the opening graphics that this was not going to be the MB I remembered. On it's own, it's a cute puzzle game. Cute animation, cute mouse to find, just... cute. But it's not the adventure story based game I had hoped for. Too much dialog! And why did they have to put in TIMED challenged levels? I hate timed games! Granted, I have never played a game like this before and that in itself is refreshing. It just wasn't what I expected. I wish I had played the demo first. Not a bad game if you can forget it's a Mortimer Beckett game. Just enjoy it for what it is and hope that the devs bring back the original MB soon.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I have liked the past Mortimer Beckett (MB) games. This one however was more like one of those "Emily's Eats" or whatever they're called. Just lacked challenge and cohesion, storyline was so bogus just wanted to skip over it. On top of that. some of the mini-puzzle games had no explanation regarding what you were supposed to be doing and I still do not know what was supposed to happen or what the aim of the puzzle was, after attempting a plethora of attempts, had to skip over about 3 or 4 of them. I don't know what the significance of finding those mice in every scene was since the mice did NOTHING. After a while decided the "Diamond" extra puzzles were not worth the effort. Finding 25 mice that only popped up when the game felt like offering you one, when you were playing against the clock, and enlarging the scene so you could not see the whole room was cheating bigtime. No, this newest MB game seems to have been designed by a completely new team that did not adhere to the former MB style, and it felt as though they were designing this for young children mentality. I was serious disappointed; had been looking for games to tide me over the holidays until BFG came out with a whole new line up of games to buy.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not like original I loved the original Mortimer. Follow ups leave me wishing for the original. My best description is "wooden". There isn't much to it. The items were kind of hard to find. It may appeal to some people.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3½ stars for me, but would make a great game for family play. It's not my cup of tea, mainly because the story moves slowly and the gameplay is rather repetitive. However, I don't think it's a bad game. Gameplay is divided into map levels, each with a collectible, and some with achievements. The HO scenes are all FROGs and, to be honest, I found them quite a bit more challenging than most HOPAs coming out these days. The dev really made an effort to hide the fragments. None of them was in plain view, but camouflaged in a variety of ways. You can use your scroll wheel to zoom in and out. There are some puzzles and mini-games as well, with clues to be found in the scene. Mostly, gameplay was fairly intuitive; if you stopped and looked around, you could always figure out what needed to be done. You can also replay levels to improve your performance. I do think the timed scenes would be frustrating for kids. There are an awful lot of silhouettes to decipher and find, and not a lot of time is provided. Plus, the scene automatically zooms in for these scenes, so you have to drag your mouse to view different parts of the scene. Overall, it's a well-made, thoughtful game that I think would be fun for parents or grandparents to play with kids in the 8-12 year age group. It's definitely different from the cookie cutters!
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mmmmm not sure I have all the MB games and find them brilliant and challenging, don't like this one, you don't need to use your brain to do the game, very disappointed with the game, shan't be buying it. Bring back the old style MB
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This game has nothing to do with the old Mortimer Beckett I was thrilled to see a new MB game on BF, but what a disappointment! The old MB was complex, the FROGS where spread out over multiple rooms and sometimes it was hard to find out how to use the found objects. This new game is one dimensional compared to that. I like about this game that it is a lighthearted adventure game, there are to few of those on BF, to my taste, so that is why I gave it 3 stars.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from THERE'S A MYSTERY COOKING RIGHT WHERE YOUR LOOKING Well, well, well, at least the music is catchy! Mortimer Beckett, he's the best of detectives......It's been a while since MB had a case to solve, but I think Book of Gold is going to be a hit or miss kind of game. I actually enjoyed playing this demo, but it's certainly not worth paying the Collector's Edition price for it. To be quite honest, I'm not sure what criteria this game met, that constituted slapping a CE sticker on it. There was no Strategy Guide included that I could find, and I didn't see any Bonus Chapter Levels either. There are no Wallpapers, Concept Art or Music to download, and the only "collectibles" included are auctions to access with Diamonds earned, to purchase artifacts for Mortimer Beckett's private collection. (I'm assuming the challenge levels to earn diamonds are not available in the SE version?) There are 14 Trophies to earn, again I'm assuming these achievements won't be available in the SE version, but none of these "iffy" features are worth double the money of an SE game, are they? This is the 5th Mortimer Beckett game in the series, and in my opinion, it's not as good as the earlier games. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the demo, and I will probably use a coupon to buy this game in the Standard Edition, when it's released. This is an old school, click and drag type of Hidden Object Game, that has many of the same graphics and features similar to the Time Management games, such as the Delicious series. In fact, Kate O'Malley joins Mortimer on this adventure, and she is Patrick O'Malley's little sister, or Emily's sister-in-law. There are no difficulty modes available, which is hard to fathom nowadays, and is one of the reasons I gave this game a lower star rating. You play this game in Levels, and each level is basically a different room or at least has different tasks to accomplish. Each level features Carl the Mouse, that cute little mouse that makes an appearance on every game featured by this dev. If you spot Carl popping his head up (sometimes he's partially hidden with just an ear to catch a glimpse of) you will earn a badge and he will be shown on each level that he's been found. If you don't use a Hint, a check mark will also appear on those levels, and you can replay any level at anytime. The Hidden Objects you must find in the levels, are shown as Fragments in the inventory bar, with a number that indicates how many fragments you must find to make the object whole. Once you have found all fragments of an object, the completed object slides to the bottom of the (vertical) inventory bar, and can then be used to help you progress. This is usually in the form of a Mini Game. The Mini Games don't have instructions, but you can skip them. I actually liked the fact that I had to figure out how to solve the puzzle. For example, SPOILER ALERT: you use a black light to receive hidden codes to unlock a door, on each of the pictures hanging up, but these are merely clues, so you have to figure out what the clue is suggesting. END SPOILER ALERT Some of the Levels have Challenge Levels available, but not required. If you complete the challenge, you will earn Diamonds. If you complete the challenge within the allotted time frame, you will also earn am Hourglass achievement. You can replay the challenge levels as often as you want, and include finding several items matching the Silhouetted Shapes shown, assembling a Jigsaw Puzzle, or finding a specified number of Mice within the allotted time. It took me 3 tries on the first Silhouetted Shape find HOP, to find all of the items within the allotted time frame, they were the same items, but each time I replayed it, the items were in a different place, or different items to find were included on the list. MORTIMER BECKETT GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Original Release Date***Average Rating 1-Mortimer Beckett and the Secrets of Spooky Manor (July 4-2007) 3.5 2-Mortimer Beckett and the Time Paradox (November 12-2008) 3.3 3-Mortimer Beckett and the Lost King (January 19-2010) 4.1 4-Mortimer Beckett and the Crimson Thief (April 26-2012) 4.0 5-Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold CE (October 19-2017) n/a by: Paprikari *note: BF release dates: 1-May 9-2015 2-May 12-2015 3-May 7-2015 4-May 27-2015 5-January 2-2018 This is one of those games you'll have to see for yourself. If you don't like games you have to drag the screen around, and zoom in and out, in HdO style, you won't like this game. The scenes are bright and colorful, so it should be fairly easy for those with seeing difficulties.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lacking charm The first titles in this series were tons of fun requiring jumping from location to location and then using items in unexpected ways. This title has you simply looking for the pieces in one set location and has little follow up in using the items.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Collector's Edition.............NOT Might have been half decent but NO strategy guide? You have to go to the dev's web site? Should have saved my $$$$
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh I've played the first three games and loved them all. So looked forward to playing this game, but. . .guys, I have to say it - it's BORING! JUST - PLAIN - BORING. Hate the style, the graphics, the stupid mouse (especially in the timed games in which it is absolutely impossible to get all the mice in the time allowed), and the incessant conversations. Yeah, so Mortimer has a girlfriend. No problem with that, but each 'scene' is more and then more and THEN MORE of the same! The first three games I still play over and over. This game - stopped in the 30s and DELETED it. Waste of money. So sad.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointing I like the style of the previous games in the series and I was waiting for the next one and to my surprise, the developers changed everything! Didn't like the gameplay, slow and boring. Please bring back the old Mortimer! I couldn't even finish the trial!
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not your ordinary Mortimer Beckett Why fix what wasn't broke? I have all the Mortimer Beckett games and this one lacks Everything that made Mortimer Beckett games so much fun to play. I do not purchase time management games because they do not interest me. Trying to beat an insane hourglass is not up my alley. The conversations were something else I could have done without. And the addition of Emily is something I don't understand. This game is not up to the standards of Mortimer Beckett and it is an insult to the other games.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not your Mortimer Beckett you knew The original Beckett games were fun and set to a more adult level. This new one is more like Candyland for preschoolers.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Beckett ever I Love the Beckett stories but this is BAD.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not What I Was Expecting This is not the same Mortimer Beckett I fell in love with! I hate the childish graphics, the storyline is uninteresting - I used to love waking in the morning & sitting down with a cup of coffee, knowing that my Mortimer Beckett was waiting there for me!! I thought I would have that feeling back for a little while, but it's just not to be with this game! I bought it before I played it, so I am stuck with it...but I shall not be playing it.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bore-timer Beckett As a fan of the Mortimer Beckett games, I was thrilled to see another game added to the series, but in my opinion, this game throws away all that was delightful about the preceding Mortimer Beckett games. This entry dramatically changes the graphics of the earlier titles, and not for the better, as well as changing the gameplay to something entirely different. Judged by itself, the game merely rates a "meh", but as an addition to the Mortimer Beckett series, it's disappointing.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointing Not a patch on other Mortimer Beckett games
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Um not what I remembered I have all the Mortimer Beckett games. I was stoked this came out because its been awhile. Its NOT what I remembered. Its not the same and its like its NOT a Mortimer Beckett game at all! I was sooo disappointed. This was something else. I didnt go very far because it just wasnt what its supposed to be. I've never had to downgrade a game this way but sorry to say its well deserved. :(
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too frustrating, not enough clues. I have played too many games like this to count and was excited for this one due to the graphics, etc. However, I have found myself going back to the walkthrough way too frequently to make it fun to play. The last straw was the puzzle having to catch 5 buzzing flies in a net. Won't buy these games anymore. I love a good challenge, but this was frustrating, not challenging.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So sad I bought this game. I loved the first to games in this series. But this is no sequel. It is done by the people who do Emily time management game. The graphics are cartoon-like and not like the wonderful graphics in the first two games.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfulfilled Expectations After so long, I was excited to see a new MB game. The previous games are charming & engaging. I thought for sure this one would be even better. I was wrong. From the absolutely horrid opening song to the cheesy animation, this game is an utter disappointment. It neither charms nor engages me. I kept hoping it would get better but gave up 10 minutes into the demo.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HOW DISAPPOINTING Really disappointed with this game. I love Mortimer but this is nothing like the Mortimer of old. I have all the previous Mortimer games and my friend and I enjoy playing them together. We actually USE OUR BRAINS to solve the puzzles, no hints and no map showing us where to go, just brain power! Probably won't buy this one - sorry.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT MY MORTIMER Was thrilled to see a new Mortimer Becket game after all this time, then I was very disappointed. I love the original MB series of games and have replayed them many times as they were fun. This new version of Mortimer is terrible to say the least and is in no way worthy of being called a collectors edition. I do hope a new Mortimer game comes out in the future but with a lot less reading and more like the old Mortimer games. Will not be adding this to my collection.
Date published: 2018-01-05
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_27717, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

Ready to solve a gripping mystery? Tackle ingenious riddles in this hidden object puzzle adventure!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.