Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(293.36 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You're off to America! Reports of a supernatural creature terrorizing the town of Avondel have brought you across the pond. This won’t be an easy task as you race against the clock to uncover the dark secrets behind a fiery crash from the 1980's. Do you have what it takes to stop the dead from destroying the living? Find out in this spine-tingling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 456 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(293.36 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 26.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from IT'S NO RAVENHEARST BUT IT'S STILL GOOD I sure do miss the older style HOPA games, like Mystery Case Files: Escape From Ravenhearst, Forbidden Secrets: Alien Town, the original Phantasmat, and even some of the earlier Mystery Trackers games. There's just about those games that were more appealing, and they were able to draw you into the story, making you want to keep playing...just a little while longer. I've often asked myself if I've simply grown tired of playing theses games after so many years. Well if that were the case, then I wouldn't find myself totally engrossed in one of those above mentioned games, as I re-play them for a second, third or sometimes even fourth time, as I often do! The answer then, is that these games just aren't as magical as the games of yesteryear! I believe the devs have become lazy and less creative lately. I found this latest MCF game to be a really good game, with excellent graphics with a somewhat creative plot, but if you compare apples to apples, The Revenant's Hunt to Return to Ravenhearst, it doesn't hold a candle to it's predecessor. I do prefer the Collector's Edition version over this Standard Edition version, because I'm a fan of the CE bling, especially Morphing Objects. To help you make a decision on which version, if either is right for you, here's a recap of my CE review: Avondel is a small urban town in Vermont, so small you'd barely see it on a map, but Avondel has a very big problem! A supernatural problem! All those childhood urban legends about the Revenant's Hunt are true, and now the dead are returning to terrorize the living, but why? It's fall, and the leaves in Vermont are falling. Since this game is all about childhood legends returning when you least expect it, MCF has given us some good childhood memories to apply, when we least expect it, kicking piles of leaves of course! Throughout the Collector's Edition version, you get to kick 10 different piles of leaves you come across, as you search for 16 Morphing Objects (which is a feature I DO expect from MCF, but is surprising considering Eipix rarely offers Morps outside of the HOP's). There are 2 small icons underneath the inventory bar, to help you keep track of the CE bling. The CE version also has 9 collectible Lore Cards that are stored neatly in your file box for easy reference, with various fun facts about the history of how the Reverant's Hunt came to fruition. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied with different types such as Interactive List finds, Keywords, and Interactive Progressive Silhouetted Shape finds, Some of the scenes are repeated in the same location, which is a feature I really don't like, however, most of the HOP's in the CE, have a hidden piece of Alvin's Letter, to collect and eventually read in it's entirety within your journal. The Mini Games are really good, but aren't really what we've come to expect from previous MCF games. The puzzles are much easier to solve, even the Super Puzzles, have become, not so super. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Make all dials point to the circled numbers. Select the valve you want to move to, then select the lever to choose which way to move those dials. 2) Move the colored squares to match the colors on Malcolm's watch by selecting and dragging squares to move them. Matching colored squares connect when placed next to each other. 3) Recreate the flag by swapping flag sections. 4) Select the tiles according to the clue on the emergency light. 5) Insert the coin into the slot, then select the same objects that are shown briefly, within the allotted time frame. 6) Place the coin and then select and drag items shown in the correct order as shown. 7) Use the phone dial to enter the correct number you discovered in step #6, and repeate the same process over 3 times. 8) Memorize the pattern on the tuner then select the guitar's parts in the same order shown. 9) shoot down the spaceships by selecting the red button when the spaceships cross over the target. 10) Create a mirror image on the right side of the screen by selecting the colored button you want to use and a screen tile to color it in. MYSTERY CASE FILES GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Huntsville SE only (November 14-2005) 3.7 2-Prime Suspects SE only (April 6-2006) 3.8 3-Ravenhearst SE only (December 15-2006) 3.6 4-Madame Fate SE only (November 7, 2007) 3.9 5-Return To Ravenhearst SE only (November 26-2008) 4.2 6-Dire Grove (November 25-2009) 4.7 7-13th Skull (November 25-2010) 4.4 8-Escape From Ravenhearst (November 23-2011) 3.6 9-Shadow Lake (November 20-2012) 2.6 10-Fate's Carnival (November 26-2013) 4.4 11-Dire Grove, Sacred Grove (November 25-2014) 3.6 12-Key To Ravenhearst (October 27-2015) 3.6 13-Ravenhearst Unlocked (November 24-2015) 3.5 14-Broken Hour (November 22-2016) 3.5 15-The Black Veil (March 23-2017) 3.0 16-The Revenant's Hunt (November 21-2017) 3.0 The Collector's Edition has 9 Movie Videos, 8 Wallpapers, Artwork, Case Report Files, Pieces of Alvin's Letter in the HOP's, 9 Music Videos, 14 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 14 re-playable Mini Games, 20 Achievements to earn, 9 Collectible Lore Cards, 16 Morphing Objects, 10 Piles of Leaves to kick, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy the Hunt!
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ~~MCF EDITION 17: A RIVITING ADVENTURE FOR SUPERNATURAL FANS!~~ Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt is a casual puzzle game with hidden object gameplay mechanics, in which you play the role of a supernatural investigator and travel to America in order to tackle a curious case. Since the game follows the usual standards set by the genre, MCF fans should feel right at home from the beginning, while beginners can use the tutorial to get the hang of things in a matter of minutes. There are thousands of monster stories all over the world, regarding everything from dragons, to ghosts and vampires. Some apparitions appear more common in certain parts of the globe, but there’s definitely no safe place if you are willing to believe such legends. Naturally, the subject is much safer and more approachable in the world of video games, given the fact that you are never really at risk. The story starts with the main character setting off to America, or more exactly to the town of Avondel. Here, you realize that a menacing monster is terrorizing the locals, and things get pretty hairy as soon you step into town. Hence, you have to track the beast to the best of your abilities, as well as prevent it from making more victims in the future. In regards to the visual presentation, Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt is as pretty as the old technology used to develop it allows. Granted, the hand-drawn environments are definitely detailed and colorful, while also requiring very few system resources. In addition, the game features full voice acting for every dialog sequences, which is better than average and always nice to have. When it’s all said and done, Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt is clearly a bit more polished than your average HOPA, especially in terms of puzzles and the graphics. However, it’s just as approachable as any game in the genre, so anyone can have a blast with it. The puzzles were somewhat tedious (some players may just skip them) but referencing the strategy guide helps. IMHO this is one of the better MCF installments that casual gamer's of every level can enjoy. Cheers!
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed it I did enjoy this Mystery Case File, however there were a lot of fairly intricate puzzles which I skipped since I'm not a big puzzle person. You can chose your option for playing which allowed me to customize what I wanted which included reducing the skip down to 10 seconds. Interesting story but kind of got confusing, especially toward the end. A lot of standard HOS, like most MCF games. Fairly long game, but the ending was confusing and I still had one item left in my inventory...blood. A lot of dialog which you could skip over, but maybe that is why I lost track of the story line a bit. Anyway, I did enjoy playing it and it moved along fairly well. Great transporter map which was a real help.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game if You Like Them a Little Hard This is posted after playing the entire game. I played the demo and was just a bit let down. I guess it was from reading a raving review and was expecting more than I got. (Note to self, quit reading reviews before you play) It turned out to be a good game and I'm not sorry I bought it. Sound was excellent including the voice overs and music. The effects went along with the action. Only difficulty I had with the sound was what apparently an advertisement that came over a TV screen. I couldn't really understand what was being said and by the time I tried to read it, the words disappeared. Maybe that's where the humor is that was mentioned. My only real disappointment was with the graphics. Looked like they cut them out of a magazine and them pasted things over the background. Not horrible, but enough to mention. I rated the challenge so low, because even the hidden object games were difficult. They were lists, but the items would show, say a corner of a heart and I was suppose to see that? I found everything thanks to my handy dandy hint button. The mini games were horrible for me. I usually like the mega puzzles, but these were rather boring and/or difficult I started skipping after the first section. Others I just couldn't do. If you like challenges, you are going to love this game. The map was of tremendous help. I had to play this over two days and I forgot where I had been and what was left to do. The map showed where there were things to do and would transport me there. Others will go into depth about the story so I'll not bore you with details. I kind of enjoyed the story. I got a tad bit confused who everybody was and the next time I play this I will play it in one sitting and then maybe I can keep everybody straight. Good story at any rate. Give the demo a try, hopefully before you read too many reviews, and see if you won't like this one too.
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so good I have all Mystery Case Files games this game is well below all the early ones The "Ravenhurst series could be played over and over and still be a challenge to play I am still annoyed that I cannot play Dire Grove due to updating to Windows 10. Not happy!
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Revenant's Hunt As others have stated, I also have played most of the MCF games and I was disappointed with this one. I kept getting lost as the game keeps going back and forth -- not an even flow. I did like the three part puzzles but I would always try it yourself before buying.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from . This so far below my expectations for a MCF game. They have consistently been 5 stars but this was just a run of the mill everyday game.....nothing special. I liked the part where the finger was cut off with the cigar clipper...other than that, boring. Thanks to my fellow bigfishers I didn't cough up twice the price for the CE.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Declining series I have all of the MCF games and I hope I speak for many people when I say they have continued to decline on being a challenge. It seems with each game the puzzles are dumbed down and are no longer a challenge or even interesting. I cannot comment of the story bc I skip through it. Take note MCF..many of us would rather wait longer between games so it can get back to its heyday (for me Madame Fate...the puzzles were different and made you think)than just wait for a subpar game to be rushed out around Thanksgiving. I would not recommend to a hardcore fan. You will be bored to tears. Thanks for your time.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WHAT HAPPENED, MCF???? I had hopes for this game...not high hopes, but hopes nonetheless. Everyone knows that the MCF games have deteriorated from gloriously devious to "you've gotta be kidding me"! The puzzles were different, which was good; however the directions for some of them were confusing at best (prime example: a battleship-like puzzle with directions that made absolutely no sense until I finally figured out that it was supposed to be like battleship). The story line was somewhat entertaining, but I still was not as vested in it as in previous games. Additionally, the game was VERY short. MCF games used to be a challenge with great story lines that kept me busy for HOURS. This game did not measure up--it was quite a disappointment. I will probably pass on any future installments.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BORING I was bored playing this game, and was so disappointed as I love MCF games, I own most of them, but this one just didn't hit the mark for me., so for the first time, in a long time, I'm sorry to say, I won't be buying this one.
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't bother. Why do the developers of these games get away with creating such boring rubbish? It's far too short and a complete waste of money, not even worth the 50% off!
Date published: 2018-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointment I have all of the Mystery Case file games and this one just didn't stand up to the rest. I purchased the collector's edition so the standard version must be worse. Not enough of the puzzles that the game is famous for and way too short. I would not recommend this game if you have played the others and know how good they can be.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wouldn't bother with this one I've played many of the MCF games and most are worth buying but this is in the 'don't bother' category. Seems all you do is flit around getting things to open other things and never really progressing in the game. HO's and mini games have no real challenge a left me with the HO HUM's. I don't recommend this one and I sure wouldn't waste money on it.
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from At least it wasn't Ravenhearst... And that's about the only good thing I can say about this one - the story was unoriginal, the puzzles are either stupidly easy or have instructions that make absolutely no sense, and the HOPs are, well, simply boring. I have been begging for a MCF not connected to Ravenhearst and was so happy to finally see one. Now I'm glad I waited and bought this on special. Oh, Mystery Case Files, how the mighty have fallen...
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the usual quality from MCF It was OK. Really that's the best thing I can say about this game, it wasn't up to the usual MCF standard, it was a pretty standard HO game. There was some original puzzles but just an extension from some other MCF games. Glad I didn't pay full price!
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not remotely worthy of the MCF franchise. TL;DR VERSION Shadow Lake was a better MCF game than this abomination. EXPANDED VERSION Out of sheer boredom, I decided to demo this to see if my 2-star rating of the CE was accurate. It wasn't; 2 stars was much too generous. Not only is this not a MCF game, I question whether it deserves to be called a game at all. It's a series of illogical, disconnected actions no sane person would consider taking. • "Hey, I think I'll lug around this gross, discarded bedroom slipper full of hot chestnuts on the off chance it might be useful later." *rolls eyes* • "How thoughtful of that crow to knock the water tank's valve out of that tree so I won't have to be bothered with actual gameplay. Er…Alister? Is that you?" • "Amazing! This disconnected segment of neon sign is still glowing, despite the fact that the neon gas has escaped and the segment isn't hooked up to electricity. Oh my, it fits perfectly as the missing digit of this house number." *facepalm* • "Why am I collecting flag pieces? Oh. For a 6-piece jigsaw puzzle. Thank the universe I have that kindergarten class on speed dial for these challenging puzzles!" *headdesk* • "I'll bet the volume knob from this guitar will work to control the sewing machine, and that the sewing machine's tension wheel will work on this video game," said no one ever. • "Super puzzle? It's neither super nor a puzzle! Simon Says?" *sigh* "Ooh, copying the visual clue…how innovative. Wait…another Simon Says?" *shakes head in disgust* This was not a thoughtful, creative, challenging, or interesting game by any stretch of the imagination, and it's certainly not worthy of the MCF franchise. The "bad guy" is a murder victim, while the "good guys" are self-centered, entitled bullies who aren't remotely relatable. It seems certain that Eipix has no idea why the MCF franchise was so successful, and why we treasure it. Unless Adrian Woods takes pity on us, I'm afraid we must accept the fact that MCF is dead. Personally, I'm partitioning my hard drive to install Snow Leopard so I can replay the real MCF games. I can't WAIT to immerse myself in the intricacies of Ravenhearst, Madame Fate, Return to Ravenhearst, and The 13th Skull.
Date published: 2018-03-24
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_27982, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: The Revenant's Hunt

Can you stop the Revenant before it's too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.