Haunted Legends: Monstrous Alchemy Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Legends: Monstrous Alchemy Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(431.26 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

AMAX Interactive presents a new adventure in the classic series Haunted Legends!

The Cardinal has a top-secret mission for you, straight from the Vatican. Princess Isabella has been kidnapped, and now it’s up to you to rescue her, before it’s too late! Your investigation will take you through secret passages and ancient castles, but this kidnapper isn’t the only danger blocking your path. A supernatural force is threatening the Royal Musketeers, turning your friends into foes! Can you put a stop to this menace, or will all of France fall? Find out in this striking hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Learn secrets about the Fontainebleaus in the bonus chapter!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide.
  • Gather collectibles to unlock additional missions!
  • Enjoy exclusive concept art, videos, re-playable HOPs, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 860 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Legends: Monstrous Alchemy Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(431.26 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Legends: Monstrous Alchemy Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not really challenging I liked the idea of the game and really enjoy the story, but there's something, it's not really challenging, even in hard mode the puzzle want take more than 2 minutes. So it's relaxing and nice, but I would appreciate more challenge :)
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intrigue, black magic, old aquanintances....... Meet again with the Cardinal (and his cat). Isabella of Spain was to marry the French Prince but she suddenly disappeared. Only clue: an envelope with the Fontainebleau crest on it was left at her quarters. The Royal Musketeers were given the task to search for her but now they have gone missing as well. The Fontainebleaus were once a powerful family but were accused of practising black magic. So the Pope pressured the King to strip them of their title. Apparently there is some truth to the rumor, as they seemed to have created a monster. Our task: Go to the island, where the family lives now and find the Princess…. On the island we see a woman, meeting the description of missing Isabella. We instantly follow. When she vanishes in direction of the castle, we have to find a way in. Trying to get into the castle, we find a strange hunchbacked man, Pascal. He was supposed to look after the Princess but when he saw the monster, he panicked and ran away. After a making our way first into the castle, then through the catacombs to the other side and to the tower, we have a real surprise: on entering the chamber, in which we saw Isabella sitting on a bed, Pascal locks a grilled door and just tells us, we would understand soon… Then a woman, who changes into a monstrous figure comes nearer. Again a story about intrigue, a once powerful family, now in disgrace and apparently using every means to return the lost. A princess, used to regain it with black magic – in all this, we are a pawn, who has to save the princess and himself. During the demo we do not meet the usual dwarf count St Germain but are introduced to a new character – Pascal, who seems to have taken the role as helper of the dark side. All packed in beautiful visuals, variable HOS and relatively challenging puzzles – a Haunted Legend with the known but also new details to the paranormal story.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thank Goodness No SG! I was getting really tired of Saint Germane in this series, I'm happy to say that if you dislike the annoying, evil dwarf you won't be bothered with him in this came. It's another twisted tale of Star Crossed lovers. Be very careful to collect all the apples so you can complete the secret missions. The art, music, and voice overs were up to the usual standards of this series. I enjoyed it, but it wasn't the best game I've played this year, but it was probably one of the better ones in this series. I didn't understand the ramification of the bonus chapter, so I could have lived without it. If you're a fan of the series, go for it. I founds a lot of puzzles annoying, so I hit the skip button for them multiple times. I didn't like the pop up rating system for your HO scenes, but you can turn that off.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I HAVE TO GIVE CREDIT WHEN CREDIT IS DUE It's no secret that I'm not a fan of Amax (formerly ERS) because the relevance of their game series has deminished. The hand drawn graphics and whitewashed appearance of their earlier games became dated, and the storylines repetitive. But things are improving with each game released by Amax lately. The crude graphics are being replaced with CG graphics, and it's apparent that Amax is going to great lengths to introduce different aspects and features, seeing what works and what doesn't, isn't that what we want? Don't we want a developer to step outside the box? I'd much rather see a developer try something that doesn't work or isn't liked, than to try nothing at all! That is exactly why some devs continue to spew out one identical game after the other, giving birth to the Cookie Cutter games we have today. Because they bother to try, I will bother to notice. I'm not saying this is a blow your socks off kind of game, and the storyline has been beaten to death, but it's a good game that held my interest. This Collector's Edition version isn't floating my boat so to speak, the Collectible Crystal Apples in itself aren't bad, but using them as currancy to buy Costumes is just kind of stupid and worthless. I'd much rather see a Morphing Object in this genre, including Beyond skeletons or shadow creatures seems more of a fit than a crystal apple doesn't it? The Hidden Object Scenes are far and few between, although some of the Mini Games qualify as HOP's such as finding symbols, and vice versus, some HOP's qualify as MG's. There are Keywords in Sentence finds, Multiples of the same items, (using a torch in a dark room) Finding Pairs of Related items, and standard List items. There are no alternative games available. I've always wondered why devs don't have HOP alternatives for Mini Games, and Mini Games as an alternative to HOP's. It seems to me that this is an easy fix, and would bring joy to fans of either MG's or HOP's......oh how I wish I could create one of these games lol! There are a ton of Mini Games available, and I found many to be creative, and enjoyable. I'm not a fan of games, where moving 1 affects others, but this feature is used sparingly this time. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Guide tokens along track to matching slot shapes. 2) Click when balls of various speed are in green zones. 3) Click tentacles to correct positions, 1 affects others. 4) Drag tokens so all elements are placed correctly. 5) Release all skeleton fingers, 1 affects others. 6) Select 1 token on each knight to recreate symbols on clue. 7) Navigate through the catacomb maze. 8) Bend sections on a wire to match the lock teeth. 9) Repeat the sequence of Musketeers shown. 10) Move the token through the path w/out touching the sides. 11) Use a magnet to locate Nails, magnet vibrates when close. 12) Select unbroken tiles in each scrolling column. 13) Swap book binders to recreate image. 14) Place pins to match vertical & horizontal clues. 15) Find 4 matching symbols for each symbol shown. 16) Rotate or swap tokens to recreate each symbol shown. This Collector's Edition has 5 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art pictures, 5 Screensavers,4 Music Soundtracks, 27 Movie Videos, 12 re-playable Mini Games, 15 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 15 Achievements to earn, Collectible Crystal Apples to purchase 3 different costumes for 3 missions, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter. HAUNTED LEGENDS GAMES AVAILABLE Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-The Queen of Spades (December 9-2010) 4.2 2-The Bronze Horseman (September 8-2011) 4.1 3-The Undertaker (November 15-2012) 4.4 4-The Curse of Vox (June 20-2013) 4.0 5-The Stone Guest (November 15-2014) 4.0 6-The Dark Wishes (May 7-2015) 3.7 7-The Secret of Life (November 5-2015) 3.9 8-The Iron Mask (June 30-2016) 4.1 9-Faulty Creatures (December 3-2016) 3.1 10-The Black Hawk (March 9-2017) 3.4 11-The Cursed Gift (August 24-2017) 3.9 12-Monstrous Alchemy (March 24-2018) n/a by: ERS (games 1-9) by: Amax Interactive (games 10-12) ERS/AMAX GAMES: Haunted Legends, Puppet Show, Redemption Cemetery, Spirits of Mystery, Dark Tales, Grim Facade, Shadow Wolf Mysteries, Queen's Tales, Twilight Phenomena, Reveries, Christmas Eve, Maestro, Ghosts of the Past, Forgotten Books, Beyond the Unknown, Haunted Halls, Flights of Fancy, Azada, Reality Show, Phantasmat (Crucible Peak only), Gothic Fiction, Dark Alley's, Hidden Wonders of the Depths, Pathfinders, Sarah Maribu, Steve the Sheriff, Many Years Ago, Mysterious Travel
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Are We Sure This Game Is Part Of the Haunted Legends Series? So we've got Princess Isabella missing, the Three Musketeers missing, most of the population of the Fountainebleau ancestral Island missing, and a commission from the Cardinal to fix all of this mess. As the Cardinal's Detective, you need more help than you will get from Pascal, the little man you rescue/meet in the Fountainebleau castle courtyard. Whatever you have known about the Haunted Legend series, toss it out. The familiar little miscreant, St. Germaine, is MIA in this chapter of HL. Instead you will have Pascal who may or may not be helping you. You will have only a glimpse or two of the missing princess and a close-up of the monster. The HOPs, puzzles, and artwork are OK. The collectible crystal apples that dispense coins are part of the expected CE bling. The banners for each achievement and HOP completion are unnecessary for adults. As a pale echo of the older HL games, this is not as bad as the last couple and nowhere near as good as the first few. Please try the Demo for yourself. It was very short for me and lackluster. You may find more to like here.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ENJOY A MONSTROUS ISLAND ADVENTURE OVERVIEW: Detective – The Cardinal has given you a “monstrous” task of international significance! The Spanish princess, Isabella has been kidnapped and sequestered to a private island owned by the infamous Fontainebleau family. This is a matter of international importance as the princess is betrothed to the Prince of France. Uncover why has the princess been kidnapped by this nefarious family. This is a “beastly” task, but you are the Cardinal’s last hope in this tale of intrigue and revenge. This is a great game for those who like this series, or perhaps those who have a penchant for French history or hunchbacks (as in “The Hunchback of Notre Dame.”) However, although I am a Francophile, the demo did not ring any bells for me. I did not purchase it. I have enjoyed other games within this series; however, for me, this game is not as good as some of the others. The incredible AMAX graphics are amazing. The pace is excellent with plenty of interaction within the scenes and little back-and-forth movement. MECHANICS: This is a bare bones game. There is only one collectible - coins hidden within an apple. It would not be an AMAX game without collecting coins. They are in all their games. You use the coins to purchase clothing. Please AMAX, find some other collectibles! You can replay twelve (12) mini-games and fifteen (15) HOP scenes. There are achievements which you can earn. The amount is not given in the demo of the game. There is no mini-game to play in lieu of the HOP scenes and there are no morphing objects. THE HUNCHBACK OF THE CATACOMBS OF AMAX: The grunting dwarf, St. Germaine, does not make an appearance in this game. However, not to disappoint those who love the bizarre, AMAX has added a little hunchbacked man, Pascal, as a guide within the game. He is the cowardly personal attendant to the princess. I have no idea if he is with you for the entire game; however, he is omnipresent in the demo. On the plus side, at least he does not grunt. This game is rather quiet without the usual howling cats, baying wolves, or barking dogs – and of course, no ringing of any bells! CONGRATULATE YOURSELF WITH BIG BANNERS! Want to know how well you did in locating the items in the HOP Scenes? A BIG BANNER will appear to give you statistics of your accuracy in locating those items. If that is not enough of a BIG FLOURISH within this game, you will be lauded with another BIG BANNER when you get an achievement. These banners cover the entire screen, so it will be hard to ignore them. After the first one appears in the first HOP scene, you have the option to get rid of it. However, you cannot get rid of them for the achievements. HOP SCENES: The scenes are standard fare. I found no scenes which had that “awe” factor. However, they are thematic. They include the standard lists of items, matching, silhouette, and storybook. There is some interactivity within them. You begin the game with a storybook scene outlining the game’s storyline. I felt this was a nice touch. There are several mini-HOP scenes. Symbols and runes abound in this game and there is a HOP scene in which you locate more than one symbol in the eye of a snake. PUZZLES: The puzzles vary in style and difficulty. They are all variations of puzzles seen in most games. Most of them are easy. There are three (3) in the demo which I found moderately difficult. The demo consists of a variety of matching puzzles, moving tiles puzzles, Simon Says puzzles and sequence puzzles. Surprisingly, there are some puzzle-like activities which are not considered puzzles. As good as some of the puzzles are, others I felt were poorly constructed or just plain boring. Returning is another tracing puzzle in which you must not touch the sides of the figure which you trace. The most ridiculous puzzle I played was one in which you must locate nails using a magnet. Not much imagination needed here – just move a magnet up and down and nails will magically appear. THIS GAME WILL 'RUNE' YOUR DAY: No! Not again! Returning for the umpteenth time in a game is the assembly puzzle in which the player must combine two symbols to create a larger symbol in the middle of the scene. There are two within the demo. However, one of these is somewhat creative as it uses light reflections to create those symbols. SPOILERS: HERE ARE MY TWO FAVORITE PUZZLES FROM THE DEMO: A. Amazing Maze Puzzle. I wish all the puzzles in this game were as good as this one. In a maze puzzle you must traverse the catacombs by choosing the correct path to exit. There are items which you must collect to perform actions which are needed to proceed. If the other puzzles were as good as this one, I would have purchased this game. B. Battle for Global Domination: Logic puzzle. Place On a globe, place tokens so that the number of each of three (3) tokens matches up by row and column. Nice puzzle design.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from New Developer Name not a New Game You can change the name of the developer, but that doesn't hide the fact this is just another ERS game, in a series that used to be very good. In fact, last week I installed The Queen of Spades to replay. The old games had replay value. This is another missing princess. We've had several missing princesses and a missing prince in just the past few weeks. Could we please have something original? No black fog evil creatures either? We may be missing the dwarf (as it should be, we learned his back story, be done with him), but perhaps we will be gifted a hunchback instead! Are physical deformities what comes to mind as both "bad guys" and "helpers" now? The HOS are insults. The first was just to locate images of what word is highlighted in a story. Two words per story part, total of just 8. Find 5 spoons. Matching objects, which some developers do well by hiding the similar (not identical) objects behind, or under other things. Here they are huge and out in the open. The worst thing about the HOS is at least an option. Find out how you did as soon as you complete the HOS! How long it took you. If you used hints. How accurate were you? And whether you got a bronze, silver or gold star. Worthless option, since you can't replay the HOS right then and there to better your score. A really bad idea in and "extra." Puzzles were super simple too. The first I remember was to assemble a broken wheel. I had played the demo on custom mode, and went back to see if I had forgotten to un-click a help option, because the wheel parts are highlighted where to put them! But, highlights are featured in other areas of the game, like them or not! There are highlighted silhouettes of things you need to use (not inventory, from the scenes), in places I'm pretty sure any player could figure out. We all know if there is a location too high, pick up that ladder, right? So, why the silhouettes? Collect crystal apples to buy clothing for mannequins? I can't think of anything I'd like to do less... The only fun dress-up in a game was the ERS raccoon, and only because it was so ridiculous! We're adults, come up with something a bit more adult than dress-up please! I am replaying Dark Parables from the beginning right now. I had forgotten how great, how long, how hard the first few were! I'll gladly give up the silly options and achievements for a good game.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bought It but Wish I Hadn't I made the mistake of buying this game. While the story is pretty good, the game is either ridiculously easy and no challenge or else it makes no sense as to why or what you are doing. AMAX definitely seems to have lost their way these days. This will likely be my last CE from them.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from We've seen every element of this game a million times. QUICK & DIRTY OVERVIEW • human "good" versus supernatural "evil"…again • another princess in peril • the same childishly easy puzzles we've seen a million times • pro forma HO scenes, mostly zoom box multiples of the same object • loads of shaped keys, mostly in pairs or groups LONGER, MORE DETAILED REVIEW The storyline is one that has been used repeatedly: evil, demonic monster kidnaps helpless princess. The best thing I can say is that Saint Germain and his perpetual grunting were gloriously absent. Gameplay was also familiar and much too easy. The usual back and forth completing silly tasks and finding shaped keys, of which there were 27 in the demo. That's one every two minutes, which is ridiculously lazy game design. HO scenes were pro forma. Most were zoom box sized, find multiples of the same object or fragments of one object. Other presentations included straight and interactive lists, words in a narrative, silhouettes, pairs of similar objects, and multiple symbols. Puzzles were the same old, same old. Jigsaw puzzles, matching pairs, sliding and swapping tokens, Simon Says, dexterity tests, mazes, copy the clue right in front of you, and randomly guess the order. No challenge and, therefore, not much fun. The best puzzle was a maze with obstacles in the catacombs. It wasn't difficult, but it was at least interesting. In-game graphics were well-drawn and nicely detailed with quite good animation. Cutscenes, though, were pixellated and blurry. I could have done without the numerous, gigantic banners. Music was neither annoying nor memorable, and voiceovers were professional. CE bling was fairly comprehensive: Gameplay—bonus chapter, replay 15 HOs, replay 12 puzzles Collectibles—glass apples containing coins that were really easy to spot Portfolio—4 soundtracks, 22 videos, 11 concept art, 5 wallpapers, 5 screensavers Other—performance achievements, strategy guide Hotspots were huge. I kept thinking I'd found a new spot to explore, when it was a place I'd already seen, because the hotspot extended really far away from the actual area of interest. Map was ok, although I noticed the "actions available" icon was difficult to see. SHORT & SWEET CONCLUSION Since storyline and gameplay are most important to me, this game isn't my cup of tea. And I can't justify bumping up my rating solely because the production was good. I'm bored with the supernatural, good versus evil, innocent kidnap victim plot, because it seems like every game that's released nowadays has that same storyline. And the gameplay wasn't the least bit challenging or innovative. Your mileage may vary, obviously, so give the demo a try. I might recommend this for rank beginners to the genre, but I think experts will be bored to tears.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Game Sucks I have bought at least 50 games from bigfish and this is by far the worst game ever.So childish and boring that I don't even want to finish it.Save yourself the money please!!!
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Where is S.G. our devilish dwarf? It doesn't seem right to have a game about a noble who got turn into what he is on the inside (A devilish dwarf) without him. The puzzles are the ones I don't like, the fool with it kind. The hidden object had a limited sight one (in the dark). The matching pairs scene was constantly moving. I don't like hearing bang, bang. This game has the ick factor. I couldn't dislike it more.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why do they call these 'collector's edition'? There is nothing collectors edition about this game. I wouldn't even call it SE. There is not one redeeming value in this game other than the fact I can exit and delete it. Nothing new here at all. Same back and forth junk that is in so many HO games and the mini games are a joke. If there was a rating less than 1 star, this game would get it. Don't waste your money or credits on this one. Pay attention to the 1 and 2 star reviews and don't become enamored with the 4 and 5 star. I think they must have played a different game. I don't recommend this game at all.
Date published: 2018-05-11
  • y_2021, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_28190, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Legends: Monstrous Alchemy Collector's Edition

Embark on a secret mission to save Princess Isabella!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.