Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Pit and the Pendulum Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Pit and the Pendulum Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(370.17 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Amax Interactive brings you the newest chilling installment of the much beloved Dark Tales series!

Your good friend Dupin has invited you to Pendulum House for an event filled with magic and illusions. But the show is interrupted when a murderer strikes! You quickly find a suspect, but nothing is quite as it seems in this mysterious manor. With Dupin in danger, do you have what it takes to find the culprit before it’s too late? Find out in this hypnotizing hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Make sure Zula's killer is stopped for good in the bonus game!
  • Uncover secret identities and hidden motives!
  • Discover hidden collectibles and morphing objects as you play.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 846 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Pit and the Pendulum Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(370.17 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Pit and the Pendulum Collector's Edition is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bonus Game? This game went very quickly--too quickly for the price. At the end the prompt said I could play the bonus game, but...no bonus game. Eventually I figured out that just pushing "play" on the Extras menu started the bonus game. Overall the game was like other Poe games--good ambiance, story is good, and the play was fine. Nothing too different.
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DUPIN IS PULLING SOME SURPRISES OUT OF HIS HAT IN THIS GAME! REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE MAIN GAME: 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 33 Pages – Time: 3 Hours OVERVIEW/BACKGROUND: Things are not always as they seem, detective! Expect some twists and turns in this game. Enter a world of illusion beginning at the Pendulum House, as you assist Dupin in another mystery based upon a Poe classic. Dupin has asked you to help him investigate the death of his friend, Zula, a psychic medium and illusionist. She has been shot by a poison dart and it appears her assistant, Jacob may be the culprit. When he – POOF – disappears right in front of your eyes, you will both find yourself on a case containing some surprises! Beware! Sleight of hand is at work here and what you see in the demo may be an illusion in more ways than one! OPINION: This is a great game for those who love this series, those who love whodunits or those who want an easy breezy game. I purchased this game based on the demo and soon regretted my decision. The game is short! I played the main game in less than three hours. I was also shocked at the poor quality of this game after the demo. The game seems to have been rushed. It lacks all the beauty and quality of the first games in this series. The graphics are shocking! Some of the scenes are blurry. There are one-dimensional pop-up scenes toward the end of the game. I felt as if I were reading a pop-up book. Returning within the game are scenes with annoying animal sounds. Please, AMAX, get rid of the baying wolves, screeching cats, and howling dogs. The saving grace within this game is the story, which is excellent. It has nothing to do with original Poe classic “The Pit and the Pendulum.” It is a well-written story with elements of surprise throughout the game. It is an excellent whodunit. Unfortunately, the game mechanics do not display the same quality as the story. To me this game is poorly constructed. The activities are boring. Most of the HOP scenes are straight lists of items with little or no creative design. Most are not very interactive. The puzzles are ones seen in many other games and most are not thematic. They just seem to be thrown into the game. There were only a couple which I felt were decent. To me, this game is NOT worthy of the collector’s edition designation. It is a shame that a game with such a great story lacks everything else to make it a spectacular game! MECHANICS: There are not many collectibles within the game. You collect nine (9) cards and twenty-six (26) morphing objects. Most of the items are easy to locate. There are sixteen (16) achievements for you to earn. You can replay sixteen (16) mini-games and twelve (12) HOP scenes. There are six (6) wallpapers along with the standard concept art, music and videos. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel to the story. The story revolves around the quest for an ancient artifact which could be deadly if it falls into the wrong hands. I have not finished the bonus chapter and may not bother to complete it. The activities are like those of the main game. HOP SCENES: There are nineteen (19) in the main game (including the mini-HOP scenes). Most of these are lists of items, and toward the end of the main game, they are all lists of items. They lack creativity, and most are not very interactive. I found the ones in the demo better than those in the actual game. There are quite a few mini-HOP scenes in which you collect a small number of one item. There is one multiple-step scene in the game, which is probably the only scene I found somewhat well-designed. One of the scenes also contains a mini-game. PUZZLES: There are twenty-six (26) puzzles in the main game. Most of the puzzles are easy. However, there are several puzzles which provide the option to play them in either a hard or casual mode. Most of the puzzles are easy to solve even in the hard mode. I found none which were challenging. I found the puzzles better toward the end of the game. There are three which I enjoyed. There is an interesting modified chess puzzle involving knights (in this case horses) and a mahjong puzzle, which is seldom seen in games. There is also a maze puzzle which involves a train trying to reach a station while avoiding other trains in its path. SPOILER: HERE IS A SAMPLING OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Sequence puzzle. Ye olde bar removal puzzle. Remove bars from a door in sequential order. The bars must not have any other bars stuck within them. B. Casual vs. Hard. Chess puzzle. Move 3 knights (colored horses) to the appropriate colored slots following the “L” shaped move from chess. C. Casual vs. Hard. Sleight of hand. Watch a ball under a cup switched around with two other cups. Choose the cup which has the ball after they stop moving. 3X D. Casual vs. Hard. Maze puzzle. Take the train. Take a train to town by choosing the correct tracks to traverse while switching tracks and avoiding other trains in your path. If you make a mistake, you return to the beginning. E. Switch puzzle. Switch twelve (12) tokens so that four rows containing three tokens each are all related to each other. F. Mahjong puzzle. Remove blocks according to pattern design and color.
Date published: 2018-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmmmm It's good... I mean it's just good but there's something missing, and it's so very short... AND WHY ON EARTH YOU RETURNED DUPIN'S OLD LOOK???? This game seems like it's coming from the episodes before Morella... Morella was great and have fixed a lot of mistakes in the series including Dupin's look, but I don't understand WHY you ruined it again I love this series, it's my favorite and I'm always pleased to play it... And I hate seeing it running down like that Please fix it like you did in Morella, and make Dupin looks good again Waiting for the 14th game, and I hope it will not disappoint me
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another One That Misses The Mark The Edgar Allen Poe series from this developer has been hit and miss from the beginning, but I have usually found them to be reasonable to play. What I find with The Pit and the Pendulum, is that this is so far removed from the original story that the only thing that ties it in is 2 scenes with a pendulum to be escaped. It was quite disappointing. I found this an incredibly easy and boring game. The HOPA's were ok, but the puzzles (which I mostly skipped due to the constant repetition) were tedious and, did I mention, repetitive...as was the consistent find this key, emblem, etc. C'mon, guys...a little creativity would really be appreciated. And, I really expect more out of a bonus game than 15 minutes that just continues or, in this case, ends the story. Shame. I bought this with long unused credits, so I won't begrudge that. But, had I paid money for it, I would be wanting it back. This will be the second BF game I have deleted from my computer today. Not only do the developers need to step up their game...BF needs to do so as well and expect more from them. Please do play the demo and decide for yourself. What I don't care for may not be the same as yours. But, I wouldn't recommend it to my friends.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dupin...no! Hello friends! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to those who do a much better job than I. I've lost count for this series, mostly because I don't have them all. The graphics are not bad, but a bit of a blur in close up scenes. Colors are a little muted, but for the most part, are well done. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and it fit my large screen. Voices are okay, but we, as the detective, do not speak. Instead, we have to click on the dialog. Definitely takes away from the game play, and not one of my favorite features. Not a lot of animation in the extremely short demo, but what we had was fairly nice and smooth. Music was okay, and seldom used. Not much in the way of sound FX, which is very disappointing. We do still have the annoying loud bell, or whatever it is, every time we find an object. As usual, HOPs are very few and far between. Items were not difficult to find. We had a variety of silhouettes, interactive lists and highlighted words. I did not see that you could switch to something else. Puzzles were simple and took no time or thought to complete. Again, we had that annoying "follow the line" puzzle. Hint system is very helpful, but there was no transport feature during the demo. There is a lot of back tracking, so this feature would have been nice. The game was quite easy to follow. The map is very bland, but it was okay and nice for a quick jump to another location, since we didn't have a transport. Collectibles were a little disappointing. Unless I missed something, all we have are 26 morphing objects. What I've found so far, is quite large and easy to spot, except that they morph in for about 8 seconds and out for only 2 seconds, making it easy to miss one if you are in a hurry to move on. We also have 9 collectible cards that tell you about each character. Plenty large enough to see. No challenge here. I love Poe, but having his name on these games is very misleading, since none of them have actually been the true story, or even close to it. Personally I think the game would be far more entertaining if the devs actually stuck to the story. I think this one is the most disappointing of them all, but the demo was so incredibly short, that it was difficult to really get into the game and get a feel for it. What little we had, did not grab me or make me want to get it. I definitely do not feel this is CE worthy at all. Usually, if I don't care for a CE version, I will wait and give the SE a try. I've found that the CE often makes a much better SE. Because the only part of this game that has anything to do with Poe is the title, I will not be purchasing this one. Maybe a beginner would find this one entertaining, but not challenging. Rarely do I not find some reason to recommend a game, even if I don't care for it myself, but not this time. As always, give this one a try and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews. Play on!
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poe must be rolling in his grave. My current library includes 634 computer games dating from 1980 through today. I'm most interested in a well-developed storyline and challenging gameplay. —————————— QUICK & DIRTY OVERVIEW • plot has nothing to do with Poe's story • exploration is mostly finding and using shaped keys • half the HO scenes are simple zoom boxes • puzzles are a mixed bag, mostly stupidly easy • cutscenes are blurry, but still graphics are superb • music is annoying —————————— STORYLINE Given that Poe's story is a firsthand account of the narrator's torture and escape during the Spanish Inquisition, you might be surprised to learn that this game is a revenge murder plot which frames an innocent man. Once again, ERS…er, I mean AMAX…has merely used Poe as the equivalent of clickbait. Hence my 1-star storyline rating. Both a pit and a pendulum appear briefly, but don't play a starring role by any means. In fact, the plot would have been the same without them. —————————— GAMEPLAY • 45 minutes, 30 indentations awaiting shaped keys. NO. NO. NO. This ridiculous contrivance doesn't constitute gameplay. If the game is 4 hours long, there are 160 of these stupid things to find. No thanks. • The anachronistic fire extinguisher was locked up with TWO shaped keys. Good thing I only needed it as a battering ram. • Half the HO scenes were zoom boxes with either multiples or fragments in plain view. • The full-sized scenes included puzzles that would insult a child. Click and hold two spots until the timer runs out? Seriously? A jigsaw puzzle with a mind-boggling 9 pieces. • 25% of the puzzles were just copying the clue. This isn't gameplay by anyone's definition. • 2 more puzzles were jigsaws. In case your intellect was taxed by the 9-piece one, rejoice! These were 7 and 5 pieces. • Randomly trying 5 keys in a lock isn't a puzzle. Neither is dragging things along a path without touching the sides or clicking when the balls cross the target zone. The puzzles that the dev actually put some thought into: • Navigate a darkened maze, searching for items to help you escape. (Personally, I found this tedious, but at least it was a real puzzle.) • There are 3 screens, each containing 3 cards. But their halves are mismatched. Swap the halves, moving from screen to screen as necessary, until all 9 cards are completed. Not incredibly challenging, but fun anyway. • There are two screens surrounded by numbered buttons. Each screen contains 4 tokens. Use the buttons to push them into the center squares. This one was challenging, because the buttons affected both screens. • A 4-part puzzle that increased in difficulty. For the first 3, use the arrows to move both token and goal until they meet. The challenge lies in moving them to block dead ends. The 4th: there are several tokens that each only move in one direction. Use them to push each other to their goals. Gears along the side will change the tokens' movement. That one broke my brain…and it was awesome. —————————— PRODUCTION The characters were drawn well, but animated mostly in stop-motion style. Backgrounds were nicely detailed with a beautiful depth of field and use of light. Up close, a lot of thought was put into details and textures. The music, however, I turned off. The screeching violins are back, and the monotonous piano arpeggios didn't add to them. Voiceovers were ok, but there wasn't much environmental sound. (I really wish we had separate ratings for graphics and sound.) —————————— TECHNICAL The custom difficulty had too few options…why can't I customize everything? Well, to answer my own question, the game wouldn't be very long if the dev allowed you to turn off banners and unnecessary animation, would it? The design of the cursor was awful; it had a gear that constantly rotated and, when it caught your attention, it made you believe there was an interaction in the scene. OTOH, the little guy that represented your location on the map was as cute as a button. —————————— CE BLING Gameplay—bonus chapter, 12 HOs, 16 puzzles Collectible—9 cards and a bunch of easy-to-spot morphs (they just faded in and out) Portfolio—6 wallpapers, 5 screensavers, 8 concept art, 12 videos, 4 soundtracks Other—achievements, strategy guide I'm at the point where I'm uninterested in CEs unless the gameplay is close to doubled, the music is DL-worthy, and the collectibles are hard to find and interesting. Rewatching the cutscenes is NOT an "extra" and earning achievements for simplistic gameplay is about as awesome as getting a participation award just because you showed up. —————————— BETTER GAMES BY THIS DEV Gothic Fiction: Dark Saga (2012), Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium (2010), PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville (2009), Souls of the Innocent (2010), Return to Joyville (2012), The Price of Immortality (2015), Redemption Cemetery: Salvation of the Lost (2013), Clock of Fate (2015) —————————— SHORT & SWEET CONCLUSION While I liked a few of the puzzles, that's not enough to overcome the multitude of shaped keys, copy the clue, jigsaws, and simple zoom HOs. And the fact that the plot has nothing to do with Poe's story. At all.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short Game = No Buy Judging by the demo and download size of the full game, this is very short game. I typically like AMAX games but I won't buy a game that's this ridiculously short. Their last few games I've completed in under 3 hours and the value is just not there for me.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Shortest gave ever! It was over so quickly! I couldn't believe it was finished! I actually went back in to see if there was a glitch & it said I had completed the game! I checked to make sure I had actually bought the game & wasn't just trying it, but I had purchased it.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Pit and the Pendulum Guess the made up storyline was ok. Puzzles and everything were alright. I had one major problem with the game: it has nothing to do with Edgar Allen Poe's "Pit and the Pendulum." I'm not sure why it is even titled that. I was really disappointed because of that, was looking forward to some horror and possible violence that didn't happen. Would have given it a higher rating if they had stuck to the original story.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from When Will I Ever Learn! I'm probably the crabby old curmudgeon, but when will I learn that these games are never going to change. I keep hoping for something different, but it never happens. It's my fault and I will just stop purchasing them. What grates on my nerves is that this is supposed to be a "dark tale" with a disturbing plot. Appropriate music and graphics... fine. All juxtaposed with the ever-present insipid comments like, "good job" or "well done." To further ruin the atmosphere and immersion into the game are the cheerful little sound effects when you find something or finish a puzzle. I guess I'm expecting too much, but then there is the voice acting. How many ways can they pronounce Dupin? It's either overly done or cheerful or just awful. Maybe I should just accept that these are casual games that are just not meant for me who keeps hoping for something less insipid. But then again, I've paid $13 and $20 for other games which are just excellent in all those respects. They will just no longer be Big Fish Casual Games. OK. I'll just shut up now! The fact is that these poorly done casual games are just not for me! I truly hope everyone else enjoys this one!
Date published: 2018-04-09
  • y_2020, m_5, d_30, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_28227, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Pit and the Pendulum Collector's Edition

Can you save Dupin from a malevolent murderer in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.