Memoirs of Murder: Welcome to Hidden Pines Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Memoirs of Murder: Welcome to Hidden Pines Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(337.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment presents a riveting new series - Memoirs of Murder: Welcome to Hidden Pines!

It’s time to relocate to the town of Hidden Pines! Your excitement over escaping the big city and enjoying your new home quickly turns tragic when your neighbor is murdered! To make matters worse, your spouse is the prime suspect! It’s up to you to piece together the evidence and clear their name. This small-town is hiding some big secrets. Can you crack the case in time? Find out in this gripping Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Investigate a new crime in Hidden Pines in the bonus game!
  • Tons of collectible gifts, souvenirs, and morphing objects to find!
  • Earn achievement awards for your strategic game play.
  • Replay your favorite mini-games and HOPs.
  • Enjoy exclusive artwork, music, and videos.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 641 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Memoirs of Murder: Welcome to Hidden Pines Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(337.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Memoirs of Murder: Welcome to Hidden Pines Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from finally a crime story hurray, no witches, castles and dragons
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When the Welcome Wagon is a Hearse... ...you might just be in Hidden Pines. The last of the boxes aren't unpacked before you find yourself accused of murder! Playing as either Mary or Aaron leads you to the same conclusion -- this is not the quiet little burg you hoped it would be. Eixpix has created a wonderful premise, well-fleshed interesting characters and a bagful of imaginative puzzles and HOP scenes. The graphics are eye-catching. Usually I ding developers for bonus games -- but this one carries on the theme of the full game and holds your interest from start to finish. Hope to see more of this series in the near future. I have a feeling that Hidden Pines holds a great many more secrets that will keep the Fletchers busy!
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Pretty graphics, good voices to the characters. Good stories. Scenes change fast from one to the other. Fun playing Supreme Achiever at the end. Lots of extras at the end too. I really liked this. Remember checking it out on Beta and couldn't wait. Thanking this dev.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intriguing, Different and Twice the Fun In Brief (Based on demo) This one is a treat. Along with all those wonderful things we have come to expect from those quirky guys and gals at Eipex, like great graphics, varied and imaginative HOPs and puzzles that challenge but don’t destroy all hope, and a dozen great reasons to buy the CE – collectibles, morphing objects (in HOPs), achievements, replayables, helpful strategy guide, pix and sound and videos and souvenir room - there is a new twist. Two characters to play! Now, we have seen that before. But not like this. At the beginning, the player chooses whether Mum or Dad tells the tale. And the tale is genuinely experienced differently (throughout the entire demo at least). Without giving too much away; who goes to jail differs on the basis of who you chose at the beginning. I checked. I am really intrigued about the rest of the tale! Did they write two completely different stories? The theme for this new series is, obviously, murder. It has a murder board where you accumulate clues and draw conclusions. Based on them, you move to the next stage. I did find putting up the clues physically a pain. Not hard to work out what to do, but the actual placement of the clues onto the board was counterintuitive and fussy. I did like the general presentation of the game, with its new multi-layered and angled close up boxes, and the unusual styles for the cursor. It gave the game a unique feel. And I loved the voice of the cabbie. In all, I am very happy to recommend this game, in CE, for those looking for class and variety.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game So Far in 2018 This is such a good game. Not only the quality of the game that others have mentioned but it's so much fun to play and is not your typical cookie cutter game. The storyline keeps you engaged. I can't say enough...it's excellent. Highly recommend!!
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honest mystery game - makes it a buy for me. I'm so far past done with monsters, robots, evil spirits, colored smoke, royalty in distress, evil misguided siblings and all the overused other tripe. I'm buying very few HOPs these days and the above is the reason. This game may not be perfect but it also contains none of the above. That makes it 2 thumbs up and a definite purchase. Some complained about the lack of reality in some tasks. Uh, what is more unreal than evil monsters that morph into royalty in distress and vice versa, etc?????
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Memoirs are Very Welcome and will be Well-Remembered Thrilling, funny, entertaining! Just completed this game and enjoyed it tremendously. Changing the player’s character is not new, but I’ve never seen this variation: you can play as Mary, your partner Aaron gets arrested or you can play as Aaron - and Mary gets arrested. The first part of the game is a double bill. With great attention to detail everything giving away the identity of your player is changed: you see yourself as Mary in the mirror or as Aaron, you sign the guest book with the according name, you visit your partner in the cell. Later on you play as her or as him. The story is good, the graphics are beautiful, the puzzles interesting, most of them were great variations I had never played before. The HOP’s are outstanding, plates overflowing with fresh ideas, twists and humour. Main Story and Bonus Chapter are a treat, extras are very well done. I particularly liked the Mustache Pedia. And I love having the possibility to toggle pop ups. Great feature! Kudos to the devs! Extremely well done!
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game ! Love love love this game, it reminds me oh Mystery case files. Also I LOVE the morphing objects and the gifts to find. Good job !
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ~~WHO MURDERED DOROTHY GREENWALD IN HIDDEN PINES?~~ This is one intriguing murder mystery you don't want to miss! In Eipix's new series Memoirs of Murder you begin by selecting your role as either Mary Fletcher or Aaron Fletcher, though it doesn't change the storyline which ever spouse you choose. Mary and Aaron Fletcher moved from the city to pursue a more relaxed way of life on Maple street in the small town of Hidden Pines. A town where everyone knows one another including small town gossip. The Fletcher's arrive and find a note left from the last tenants which reads: "take what furniture's left; we don't want anything related to this place"! (Suspicion #1). While unpacking, they receive an invitation to the annual town party from Mayor William Greenwald and his wife Dorothy Greenwald (who live across the street in a huge manor). One spouse begins looking for a bottle of champagne while the other heads across the street to greet the Greenwald's and attend the party. William Greenwald greets you when you arrive and asks you to sign the guestbook. You observe everyone who has been invited to this mustache theme soiree which include: •Mayor Greenwald •Dorothy Greenwald •Marvin Greenwald (William's brother) •Betty Parker (Diva of the silver screen) •The Family Attorney •Mildred the Housekeeper •Peter Jones (Employee of Greenwald Inc. who works on pier) After you sign the guestbook Mildred approaches you and asks if you would take Dorothy Greenwald's dinner up to her room. Dorothy has been confined to her bed with terrible headache's since her car accident some months ago. You somewhat reluctantly agree and take Dorothy her dinner. Upon meeting Dorothy (who is surprised by your presence)you hand her the dinner tray and begin talking. Dorothy remarks, "Welcome to the neighborhood, it's nice to finally meet you"! Then she begins to eat the dinner....suddenly she shouts, "I ONLY TRUST MILDRED, DON"T TRUST ANYONE"! Then she falls to the floor dead; she's been poisoned. You rush to the floor to inspect Dorothy's condition and find ash on her sleeve from the fireplace in her room. (Suspicion #2) You also find a secret box she had been holding (contents unknown). Stricken with panic by what you've just witnessed you head to the fireplace and see a small niche' behind a brick. You quickly stash the secret box behind the brick just in the nick of time and in walks Mildred... Mildred immediately accuses you of murdering Dorothy, the police arrest you and take you to the police station for questioning. It's now up to your spouse Aaron or Mary to discover who really murdered Dorothy Greenwald and the incredibly circumstances surrounding this fascinating mystery! WHEW!!! I can't wait to find out what happens next in this exciting new series. The development team at Eipix did an outstanding job with this new endeavor. This game is NOTHING like any of their previous series, not even DEAD RECKONING and Eipix was long overdue in introducing a new and original series! Eipix fans may appreciate all of the new and improved style and format of this new series. If you are bored with the numerous editions of various Eipix games series then you definitely have something to look forward to with this five star release. Cheers!
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A colourful game - at last !! I had given up on HOGs - most of them come nowadays only in shades of blue and turquoise (with some red and green thrown in), and I won't buy any HOG now that doesn't have a decent colour scheme. So I was happily surprised to see that this game is multi-coloured. That alone would have made it an instant buy for me. But on top of that, we have a decent story as well - a murder mystery (oh, how I longed for something like this - am so fed up with dark and evil beings). I also like the collectables, and the HOS (Hidden Object Scenes). Yep, an instant buy for me.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun solving crimes I completely enjoyed this game. It's fun to switch between husband and wife and in some areas have them working together. I loved the plot, the way everything was played out and it didn't involve magic, monsters (except the human kind), devils or other unworldly critters. It was lighthearted fun if you can call a murder mystery lighthearted. I liked the variety in puzzles including in HOGs and the different characters presented. The game reminded me both of Jessica Fletcher (Murder She Wrote) and Dead Reckoning games which I have played over and over. As always, play the trial first to see if it fits your playing style. A big thank you to BFG and ERS for this game.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A GREAT WHO DONE IT! LOVE PLAYING BOTH CHARACTORS! MEMOIRS OF MURDER IS THE BEST NEW SERIES I'VE SEEN!
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Murder Mystery Fun! Wow! I love this game. Even the HOP's are challenging. After the demo I immediately purchased this game and so far I am not disappointed. The story-line is captivating. There is a variety of HOP's. The mini games are challenging. FYI: I customize my level of play. No sparkles, no tutorial, Skip and Hint recharge over 60 seconds. This game could make one of my top 10 list. My one complaint is the notification for Morphing and hidden "gifts" within the game is too much. It distracts from game-play.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Tops! Oh, I do love this game! It has everything that makes me happy and it is a good length. I'll keep it short and sweet. The storyline is excellent. The graphics are beautiful, The characters, dialogue, background detail, scenery are done without flaw. Really top notch! How wonderful to drop in on the 80s again. My memory banks are overflowing with so many great images from that era. I love that we have a murder mystery and setting that is so similar to Murder She Wrote (loved that series!), right down to the seaside village locale. Throw in a bunch of great puzzles and HOGs, some goofy humor, smile at the typical personality types, check out the 80s detail along the way, get busy solving a fun murder mystery and you have a fantastic game to keep you occupied for a good while. I do hope that we see more of these lovely games. We need to shoot all the demons, monsters, witches and soul stealers to the moon! Seriously...too many, for too long, too unnecessary to make a game entertaining. Plus. IMO, it just is not healthy! Thanks Big Fish for bringing us a refreshing new series. The game was so enjoyable and I hope it will receive great reviews, so that this and other developers are encouraged to keep creating them. God Bless....
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE OF THE BEST NEW SERIES THIS YEAR – A GAME WHICH WILL CURL YOUR MUSTACHE! REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE GAME: 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 37 Pages – Time: 5-1/2 hours (a long game) OVERVIEW: Don your mustache and welcome to Hidden Pines! Relive those golden days of detective dramas EIPIX-style. It is blast from the past as the Fletchers, Mary and Aaron, a husband and wife crime solving duo, relive some of the cases from their early years as detectives. In the first game in the series, this crime solving team move next door to the mayor of Hidden Pines. During a party thrown by the mayor, the mayor’s wife is found dead next to either Aaron or Mary Fletcher (depending on which character you choose to play in the game). Being caught next to a corpse automatically brands that person as the guilty suspect, although neither of this duo has ever met this woman. This crime-solving duo will need to team up to get to the bottom of this murder and locate the guilty party. Get ready for some family drama! OPINION: “EIPIX got their groove back!” I LOVED playing this “groovy 1980’s” game. This is a vast improvement for EIPIX! It is a great whodunit for those who love detective games. There is also some delightful tongue-in-cheek humor as well. From the type-cast characters to the off-beat dialogue with some “fishy” dialogue such as a “tilapia diet” and a “puffer fish poison,” I laughed at the stereotypes and dialogue as much as much as playing the game. It is a great first entry to the new series. For me, this is the best detective game EIPIX has created. The plot behind the game is excellent. There are new concepts and a fresh approach within this game. It should bring back memories of Jessica Fletcher in “Murder She Wrote.” You will play both characters in solving this crime. The tag team approach is reminiscent of many of the Domini games. I believe switching the characters freshens up the pace of the game. The graphics reflect the bygone era of the 1980’s. Cabot Cove is transformed into the seacoast town of Hidden Pines. I love the panoramic views for some of the scenes. Okay detective! Can you solve this case and don’t forget to fax the facts via your “groovy” fax machine! MECHANICS: As in other games, you have four settings which includes a customized setting. You receive a shoulder bag in which to collect evidence for this case. There are twenty-four (24) achievements. There are eight (8) wallpapers along with music selections, concept art, and video sequences. You can replay fifteen (15) HOP scenes and eighteen (18) puzzles. There is an additional Mahjong puzzle which can be played at the end of the bonus chapter. Collect thirty-three (33) gifts. There are fifteen (15) morphing objects within the HOP scenes. These are easy to locate. There are twelve (12) types of mustaches to collect for the souvenir room. The mustaches require some interaction with the scene to get them. BONUS CHAPTER: The bonus chapter is a sequel. This time Mary Fletcher is working alone on this case. Mayor Greenwald is involved in a suspicious auto accident and it is up to you to decide if there is a culprit behind this accident. I found the bonus chapter a good length with some great puzzles and creative HOP scenes. HOP SCENES: There are eighteen (18) HOP scenes in the game. Although most are lists of items, they are creatively designed. EIPIX has upped their game in creating some novel scenes. Shoot ‘em’ up partner as you shoot down items with a rifle in a shooting gallery in one scene. I enjoyed the use of two separate lists of items for most scenes. For me, this provides a little break in the pace of the game. You finish one before moving onto the next! Returning are the rebus scenes which is unique to EIPIX. There are also the usual silhouette scenes, storybook scenes and a few multiple-step ones. And guess what? NO RUNES to ruin your day! PUZZLES: There are twenty-seven (27) puzzles within the game. They vary in style and difficulty. ALL ARE EXCELLENT! This developer has some slightly difficult ones to curl your mustache along with some easy ones as well. There are so many great puzzles it is difficult to list just a few. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SAMPLES OF MY FAVORITE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. 3-dimensional box puzzle. Connect-the-dots puzzle. Connect gems on a box in one continuous line as per a given diagram. Neat puzzle. B. Maze puzzle. The grid is the inside of an air conditioner. Move a ball through the maze avoiding obstacles within its path. Move a dial and use arrows to regulate the air flow and direction to push the ball through this maze. Use items within this air conditioner to help overcome obstacles. Make a mistake – you start over. C. Assembly puzzle. Play a chemist and create sulfuric acid by following given instructions. Don’t burn yourself! Within this is a mathematical puzzle in which you must alternate liquid between tubes to get the proper amount needed for the preparation. D. Tangram puzzle. Place wooden planks into position on a pier so that there are no spaces between the boards. E. Beat the computer! Play a card game with your opponent (a seadog which is the computer) in which you must win by getting a higher card number than the computer. Whoever get the most cards wins 3X F. Mathematical puzzle. Do some addition to calculate which numbered connection connects with the proper lettered fuse to light up a warehouse. G. Bonus Chapter. Maze puzzle. Guide three (3) marbles through a circular maze until each one reaches the center. You will need to maneuver them to release gates which block them from entering other parts of the maze.
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good, Wish it was Longer I won't repeat what others have said regarding the overall game itself, just what I thought of it once finished. This was one of the shortest games I've played to date and because of that, I gave it 4 stars not five. For the $ value, this is not the best, but the graphics, voice overs, storyline make the game. I still recommend the game if you are after something to take your mind away for a couple of hours.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from detective columbo could handle this good game enjoyed playing it I like who done games if they are done right and have a good lpot
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game I bought this after giving it a brief trial. Initially, I thought I wouldn't like it when I first saw it, but I just finished the entire game and found it enjoyable. I wasn't the biggest fan of the washed-out color scheme chosen for it, and there were a few quirky game mechanics at times (but nothing that was a showstopper). I was also concerned about play length at the start but that was OK as well. I will give it a recommendation, but I do suggest a trial to see if it's for you.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eipix did well with a new series Based on Main & Bonus Games Eipix has retired some of its series, likely to avoid them dwindling into mediocrity, and has a new offering based on a couple's memories of solving a murder case from the '80s. I like the modern setting, the mystery not being given away quickly, and the variety of scenery. The graphics are good, not great, with some scenes not very crisp, or having an artificial computer graphics look to them. The music is smooth, unobtrusive. The storyline is easy to follow and holds your interest. There's a lot of pan-right, pan-left to the adventure, which I like. Adventure is pretty good, with a lot of non-linear moves. HO's are interactive and traditional, simultaneously. Puzzles are easy to moderate in difficulty, with some new ones I enjoyed. None are difficult. Collect wrapped gifts in every scene, and you can find any you missed in Extras. Also morphs are in every HO, and you can replay HOs in extras to find any you missed. The souvenir room is a mini-HO hunt, finding hidden mustaches. (Yes, mustaches). The main game lasts about 4 hours in hard mode, the bonus game about an hour. The bonus game carries the story a bit further. CE bling also includes a timed mahjong game, replayable HOs & puzzles, souvenir room, collectibles, plus the usual. Achievements are pretty standard with a couple of quirky ones, so read them before you play. Hey, Eipix, I would love to see more quirky achievements to add fun to the game. Also, I miss your funny comments in the credits! Is it worth a CE? I happen to like Eipix' CE bling, so if you do too, I'd say yes. If you're lukewarm on extras, then the SE would be fine.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What happened in Hidden Pines… The game starts with an elderly couple, the Fletchers, sitting on a sofa, and telling a story. It will be our game’s story and we may choose, whose role we will take: Mary’s or Aaron’s. When they were a young, hard working couple and tired of the hectic life in the big city, they sought a new home in the small town of Hidden Pines. They were just moving in and excited about everything. New neighbours, a welcome party….. Arrived at the new house, they are unpacking, an invitation for a party at the neighbour’s house has arrived. Then the cosy atmosphere changes, as something out of the picture happens: the neighbour, who invited us, was murdered. Not enough: our spouse is suspected of being the murderer. While we had been searching for the bottle of champagne, we wanted to bring to the party, our spouse went over to the place already. But can it be? You are convinced, this all must be a terrible mistake, your spouse is innocent. So you begin with your investigation, as the police is not on your side. Murder and betrayal in a small town, where usually nothing out of the picture should happen – from the beginning the game feels like the scene of an older crime classic. Plot unravels fast and your investigation is accompanied by many varied and entertaining but not very challenging puzzles and HOS. Not all things in town are what they looked like and some respectable citizens are not what they pretended. And do we need to play the game more than once? Will a role change bring other results?
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What's with the foggy look in this game? Every scene in this game looks like you're playing in fog. It's hard to see the smaller items. This game is not the usual quality of Eipix. It looks like some young teenagers designed a game what with all the hearts. The game doesn't flow correctly so that the player has some intuitive sense of where to look next. I didn't like the switching from one character to the other. All in all, not a fun game unless you're a teenager.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It wasn't always beer and bon bons back then I can tell you that Based on the completed game with bonus material. I bought it because I wanted to know the mystery and I though Betty was funny. The hops were good with the morphs and I didn't like any of the mini-games. I quickly lost interest. I wanted more excitement and adventure and I don't feel it was delivered. Since I bought it, I finished it and the best part to me was the collectibles, extras and hops with morphs. I counted 12 hops in the main game and 4 in the bonus chapter. I collected 33 hidden gifts and found 15 morphs in the hops. The Souvenir room had a humorous items to find and that was 12 different mustache styles. It has Mahjong in the Extras to play but it's timed and I like it more Zen. (not hurried) It has replays on 15 hops, 18 puzzles, 6 videos and 5 music. 4 Chapters + Bonus. From Eipix I liked these series better- The Andersen Accounts, Vermillion Watch, Mystery Case Files, Phantasmat, Danse Macabre, some Hidden Expedition and some Amaranthine Voyage. So, I'm a Eipix fan.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but not Great! Based on entire game and bonus. I am a huge Eipix fan and usually enjoy all their games. I also love murder/mystery storylines...reading everything, gathering evidence, analyzing situations in order to find the culprit who committed the crime. I thought this game was a bit boring and yawned through most of it. When I'm playing a game, my focus is on gameplay and how well everything comes together to form a decent, coherent story. The hidden object scenes and puzzles were excellent, as usual, but I just felt there was something missing...the Wow factor!
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok Not so great. The puzzles were pretty easy and the storyline didn't really do it for me. I didn't like the switching characters, it muddled things for me. I wasn't so impressed with this one.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's "okay" but not sending a 'wish you were here card' on this one Easy enough HO game to pass the time on. There's a murder, you are framed, you find out what really happened. - Artwork and sound is lovely - Medium difficulty actually was pretty easy - Puzzles were of a good wide variety, and I enjoyed the take on HO of shadow objects or clues to get objects. - Interesting to play first one part of a couple and then the other, but that didn't effect game play - Story line - I didn't really feel strongly emotionally invested in it, and that's the clincher for the score. So overall, it's ok - but I won't be writing home about it.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea; execution disappointing This review is based on playing the demo. The story starts simply enough: we meet a couple who take us back to events in the sleepy township of Hidden PInes where they have recently moved. They are invited to a local party and at this point it goes horribly wrong for our heroes. As a plus point, you get to play the game from the perspective of either Mr or Mrs - nice for all those who want the choice. At first I found the visuals pleasingly retro and then they started to grate on me: that's a very personal response, and others may really like them. Graphics are really important t me - if the game is visually sumptuous, I am more likely to enjoy it! The game play was a little clunky. Demo games/hidden objects scenes were okay - neither particularly original or challenging but sufficiently so to keep my interest. However, in the end, I just didn't find the look and feel of this game worth investing in.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from boring considering the maker of this game it was not up to par, Had to keep going back and forth a lot some of the hidden games were way to small and this game is to short for a CE
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as Dead Reckoning I love a good murder mystery, in books, television shows and games! Ones that have a human suspect, no evil bogey men escaped from their demonic prisons, or witches bent on revenge. Ones that are set in modern day, or at least during my lifetime! That's why I always loved the Dead Reckoning games (nooo, they weren't set in my lifetime, but still recent enough!), especially Death Between the Lines. This is a murder mystery, set in modern times, but it missed the mark for me. I just didn't find it interesting enough to buy. My review is based on the demo. One huge problem for me, and the same goes for television shows. Fans of a genre watch or play them all. So, when actors return to play a different role I notice. So would any fan of a series. I assume the "actors" in games are real people, perhaps employees of the game developers or programmers. The mayor in this game is the same "actor" as one of the writer's in Death Between the Lines! Not that I'm not glad to see him again (I always thought he was the cutest game character I'd ever seen, and was so sorry he was murdered in the game!), but I am not happy to see him again! Unless later it turns out his twin brother was a murdered writer, well... don't use the same "actors!" The game itself now... too easy and some of it was just plain silly stuff. I wondered, "why would I be doing this?" or "doing that?" "This doesn't make any sense." I know, I know, "It's just a game," but really, it's a more realistic game, so things just might be more reasonable. Just the entire premise of the game, a poisoned woman we had never met before. Just where did we get poison on our way up the stairs? And why is the housekeeper so inept? Just look at that stairway! Don't give us a housekeeper and then show us a mess! I did enjoy the HOSs in the demo, but not the puzzles. I hate the "match the frequency" pattern tasks. Actually, when the first HOS appeared I did sigh about it, "oh, a lovely EIPIX HOS, how nice," but I was being sarcastic to myself. They do wonderful HOS, but they always do, so they're boring. The graphics and colors etc. were just so, so usual for this developer. I thought it would be an instant buy, so I'm glad I took the time to demo. Why bring this one out when Dead Reckoning could have filled the mystery game niche? Unlike others, I don't see anything similar to Murder She Wrote, other than the last name of our characters.
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A good, but not great offering from an otherwise excellent game maker. It’s no secret that I’m a fan of Eipix games, you already know that from other of my reviews you may have read. This game, I’m sorry to say, does not meet the very high standard Eipix set with so many of its other products. While it does offer the rather unique ability to choose the narrator of the tale, and lets you play as different characters when appropriate to the game play, there is really not much here that gave me the same level of fun and enjoyment as I have come to expect from this developer. The lip sync, very surprisingly for an Eipix game, was either non-existent or quite far off the mark. Likewise, the graphics were a long distance from the crisp, sharp, realistic rendering usual to its other offerings. Hidden object sequences and mini-games, on the other hand, were as well done as usual. The story line —wife/husband in trouble and only you can save her/him from an unthinkable fate— has been done so very many times before. In truth, though, there are just so many different plots that lend themselves to these types of games. There are the usual, and not too difficult to find, bonus and morphing objects in each scene. The interactive map while, again, not quite up to Eipix visual standard, is very helpful in finding, and taking you to the next place to go. Even though I found this game a little disappointing, I’ll probably buy the SE version when it’s released.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TELL ME 'BOUT THE GOOD 'OLE DAYS***like that time you were arrested for murder! Welcome to Pine Hills, New England Aaron and Mary Fletcher, a quaint little town where everybody knows each other by name. You're just in time for the annual neighborhood party at Mayor William Greenwald's house. Bring a bottle of your favorite wine, and don't forget to don your mustache, this will be the perfect time to meet and greet your new neighbors and tell them a little bit about yourselves. They get to know you fairly well all right! Enjoy your first night's stay at your new home in Pine Hills. Unfortunately, your accommodations will be less than ideal, because the Mayor's wife has just been murdered, and you're the prime suspect! I had high expectations of this new series entry because of the title alone. It sounded like it would be similar to a tv series called Wayward Pines where the residents of this idyllic town pretended that life here was normal when in reality, they were surrounded by an electrically fortified fence. Anyone who tried to escape was executed in the town square. Because they were so intimidated, they were terrified of breaking the rules, so they acted as if everything was perfect, and wouldn't speak about all the "rules" they were forced to obey. Unfortunately, Pine Hills is nowhere near that interesting, and I don't understand why this game is any different than a Dead Reckoning game by this same dev. If I had to guess, I think they simply couldn't "imagine" a completely new storyline plot, so they decided to create a new series that they know will sell, just because it's a new game series. You will switch between characters (mom & dad) but this is a feature that was perfected in the (censored) series a long time ago, so this wasn't a feature to get overly excited about. The graphics are horrible! Once again, the graphics are faded with a whitewashed appearance, everything is huge and lacks detail. It's impossible to make a connection with a game when the graphics are cold and uninviting, they look like the graphics you'd expect from an older "video game console" you just picked up at a garage sale for a buck! As far as a CE worthiness, this game falls short there as well, offering a hidden Present in each scene and Morphs within the HOP's. The presents are impossible to overlook, they are brightly colored (especially in contrast to the dull yellowish colored scenery) and to make it more obvious, they have a huge red bow and ribbon around each present. (what do presents have to do with a murder or anything for that matter? Once again a huge disconnect) I'm sure many will love this who-dun-it mystery, but it just didn't float my boat. The Hidden Object Scenes vary with just about every type, Interactive List finds, Keywords in Sentences, Multiple Item finds, Silhouetted Shape finds, Replacing items into the scene, and Progressive Interactive Silhouetted Shape finds where you find an item that matches the Silhouetted Shape, and then use that item within the scene Interactively to find the next item. In this CE version, each HOP has a Morphing Object. Some of the HOP's are well done, however, the graphics aren't that impressive and one of the HOP's with keywords didn't make a whole lot of sense as far as related items go. The Mini-Games aren't bad for the most part, some of which are new or have newish twists. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter in the demo and a few after the demo: 1) Replicate a signal pattern using arrows to change sections. 2) Select when footprints are on a stable section. 3) Move plate to keep balance within the outer circle. 4) Rotate 3 disks to fill the center entirely. 5) Move thru a maze to pick up and use items to progress. 6) Rotate numbered tiles to correct combination slots. 7) Draw a continuous line by selecting gems to match the map 8) Swap plates on the bottom to match the information on top. 9) Guide ball to the top using knobs & arrows to direct airflow. This Collector's Edition version has 8 Wallpapers, (very uninteresting picture choices) 8 Concept Art pictures (simplistac pictures of characters/actors standing or sitting in midair) 5 Music Soundtracks (who cares?) 6 Movie Cutscenes) 15 re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, a Secret Room, Mahjong Games (boring) 18 re-playable Min-Games, 33 not-so-hidden Presents, 24 Achievements to earn (most of which are automatically earned just for progressing in the game and doing things you have no choice to do to progress) 15 Morphing Objects (HOP's only!) 4 Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a built-in Strategy Guide.
Date published: 2018-05-07
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_28397, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Memoirs of Murder: Welcome to Hidden Pines Collector's Edition

Play as both members of the Fletcher family to crack the case!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.