Mystery Case Files: Rewind Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Rewind Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(343.16 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment presents a new kind of case in the latest installment of the Mystery Case Files series!

Strange reports have come in regarding the abandoned Victory Hotel. When you arrive to investigate, you find people from your past cases lost in time and trapped inside! It’s up to you to find where they belong and uncover why one of the Dalimars is meddling with the past. It’s a race against the clock to solve more challenging puzzles than ever before! Do you have what it takes to fix the timelines before it’s too late? Find out in this exhilarating Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“WOW!!! Great graphics, storyline and challenging puzzles galore. Five PLUS stars, all the way”  - Tristan, beta tester

“The characters made this game an absolute delight! And what a fantastic storyline, plus very clever referencing the other games! I had so much fun with every part of Rewind. I loved the very challenging puzzles and the HOGs were terrific with their variety of style. The graphics and hidden object scenes were amazing. Extremely well done everyone, I had the best time playing this jewel of a game!”  - Sofie, beta tester


  • Protect all the timelines in the bonus chapter!
  • Challenge yourself with replayable HOPs and mini-games!
  • Never get lost with the helpful strategy guide!
  • Enjoy exclusive art, music, videos, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 584 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Rewind Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(343.16 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Rewind Collector's Edition is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 343.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memories! The good old days of the hidden object! Been a little while since I've left a review, haven't found one in a whille that has sparked much interest. Not Big Fish's fault at all . So glad the start of hidden object games has returned to the feel of the games that sparked the craze. Love the trial version and will buy the collectors version. Won't be able to wait for the standard. Eipex deserves applause.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from M Loved this game. So different from any others and I really like HOP scenes anyway. A lot of items you really had to hunt for. I think what made this game so fantastic was that each section is timed, 20-30 minutes to complete. That was a real challenge. If one had all the time in the world to solve the cases it would be a completely different and boring game. I also like the mini puzzles within the HOPS.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TAKE A STEP BACK IN MCF HISTORY!! I love MCF...all the way back to the beginning!! I have them all! It was very enjoyable to play a HO game that actually had HO's in it...and lots of them. Took me back to the good ol' days. It was great fun!! Thanks gang..ya did good!
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best since Madam Fate Great game. Second only to the original Madam Fate. Loved the storyline & art. Loved the way the game played out with no back & forth. Had not had this much fun with a game in about 10 yrs. Great game! This one is a must have.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old School MCF Pure Hidden Object If you loved Huntsville, Prime Suspects, (the first) Ravenhearst and Madame Fate, REJOICE! Rewind is the perfect name because this game takes us back in time to the beginning of the MCF series: before the endless scavenger hunt item gathering, before the tedious clicking back and forth between scenes, and before the overly dark and complicated plots lost all traces of humor. This is a classic/retro MCF hidden object gameplay - rooms with a list. If you like HO games with a emphasis on action and adventure or haven't played early MCF games, try the demo first. If you play the early games over and over because you haven't been satisfied with MCF since Madam Fate, this is the game for you!
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lt's in the Details..... .....and if you haven't played the whole Mystery Case Files series, you won't appreciate how they've drawn them all together in this game.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memories of Case Files Past. This is based on the demo only but I will be buying the full version. Eipix have done a great job of re-creating the feel of the early MCF games. This one is reminiscent of 'Ravenhearst' in it's HOP's, reproducing the same type of lists but with the addition of a morphing object. The 'super-puzzles' aren't as complex as the originals but lots of fun to complete! Other puzzles include recreating a picture by swapping or rotating tiles and making keys to fit locks for access to other rooms (there are more but too much detail would only spoil it for other players). The atmosphere of the game is spot on; creepy and gloomy, quite dark in places and I felt at times like I was back in one of the old MCF games. Kudos to Eipix for this aspect of the game! As well as morphs there are capacitors to collect, which are located solely within the super-puzzles. I only looked at the SG to locate the morphs so can't comment on it's content. One thing I did think was different is that the chapters are timed but only if you want to play the game this way; you can choose to turn the timer off. I seem to remember an early Ravenhearst game used a timer so again Eipix have included an aspect of the original games. I found myself totally immersed in this game. I loved the feeling of being back at Ravenhearst and the Carnival, meeting some old friends and one or two old enemies! Whilst there are no 'live' characters, the way they are drawn is very well done: Victor looked just as batty as he did the last time we saw him! A definite buy for me; I can't wait to get back to it!
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes! MCF Memories! I love this game. It brings back memories of the classic MCF games. I rarely replay games, but this one will be played over and over I'm sure
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fun! I enjoyed this game from start to finish. Loved seeing all the old characters. Loved the humor and the creative and original nature of the puzzles. Great job!
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you liked Madame Fate, you'll like Rewind I'm a huge fan of Madame Fate, Ravenhearst and Prime Suspects and this game is very similar. I don't like games where every scene is dark. Also if a game is hard enough to offer a Strategy Guide, that's a deal killer for me. I like mindless hidden object gameplay, I'm not trying to split the atom. I get irritated with going back and forth in one dark scene after another, pick this up, take it somewhere else, try to figure out where to go next, blah blah blah. Linear, brighter games like Rewind are more my style and I liked this one very much. One annoying thing in Rewind was the cinematic that preceded opening the door to every scene, but you could skip it. And I would have preferred a higher degree of difficulty with the HO scenes. I didn't have to use any hints during the entire game so that should tell you something. Some of the puzzles were mindbenders, but you could skip those too. I what I described is the type of game you like, then I recommend MCF Rewind.
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REALLY ENJOYED THIS GAME!! I finished the demo and really enjoyed playing the game. I understand it is different for those who never played/enjoyed the Ravenhearst Series. I too struggled through the first two games in the series and didn't even finish one of them. BUT, the further I got into the series, the more I enjoyed the game play. The developers changed the design as they went along, which made me enjoy each game more than the one before it. Because I wanted to follow the series without yearly breaks between the games, I played them all last year from first to last. I had no idea they would be coming out with this game that touches each character. What fun! I loved the old style HOS and was able to figure out the puzzles. This game doesn't really have a strong adventure to it, but will attract the many thousands that loved the Ravenhearst Series. What a great idea for a game! I know many players have joined BFG since Ravenhearst Series was out and never played that type of game, thus the bad reviews. It was so different from what is out today, which is really too bad since the Series was loved so much. You would think a developer would come out with something similar. I can't wait to purchase and play the entire game. I stopped my membership June 15th, because I had so many games that I had not yet played. And, most of the games out today are fairytale, Sifi, other world, etc. Definitely not as much fun as in 2008 when I joined. I now have to wait for a good "non-member sale. Hmm..
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to the old days Had flash backs of Madam Fate! The super puzzles are very challenging. Scenes are vivid. Voices fit the characters. Hidden objects are tricky at times. The timed game is quite difficult (at least for me). I had to use the "skip" button a few times. Casual mode is a good option. FUN!!
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best game I've played in a long time! I'm honestly confused at the rating this game got. I started yesterday evening, when I bought it, and played until I was practically nodding off, only to pick it back up the moment I had some free time. I'm disappointed that it didn't keep going. The game was much too short, in my opinion, but only because I liked it so much. It's possible the low rating could be because the CE could have more features, but to say this game was bad or something can't be the reason. I loved how I went into the game and was reminded of all the MCF games I've played in the past. I enjoyed the mini games and the super puzzles, which made you have to think a bit about how to solve it. The morphing items are always nice and the timer made things interesting. The story was good, not great, and also kind of made up of some of the past stories, but it still worked. I'd have played 50 chapters if it had it. I liked the map and all the little commentary from the characters. The artwork and music was great, too. Since I've just come back from a break in BF games, this one has set the bar very high.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In the Tradition of the Great MFCs Though not as difficult as some MFCs, I find great pleasure in playing this game.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun factor Too much fun. I'm so happy that a good old style game has returned to Big Fish.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for the memories I have every MCF game from Huntsville on. I have really enjoyed this one it was back to a timer, back to the old room feel back to the random puzzles with a spooky feel. LOVE IT. Thanks
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to Basics! I absolutely loved this game! It is exactly what it's supposed to be...a hidden object game, with some fun "big door" puzzles to solve, and a few other mini games. This is exactly what I loved about MCF when the series first came out. I am not a fan of the HOG games that are mostly an adventure game with a few HOG's thrown in. I get tired of having to run all over the place when to get this or that to open a door or fill someone's request. If you want true HOG fun, this is the game for you. I really hope MCF creates alot more of this type of game in the future.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best MCF Game in a Long Time I absolutely loved this game! I own all the MCF games and still play them all, including Huntsville and Prime Suspect (which is my all time favorite). When I read the reviews, I couldn't wait to buy this game and see some of the old characters from Madame Fate's Carnival (which is also one I play over and over). This game finally feels like someone actually went back and played all the MCF games from the beginning and decided to expand upon that, which is what I have been waiting for. Love this game!!!
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memories!!!! This takes me back many years ago when I first played MCF games!!!It has a lot of the different old games in it and a lot of the newer ones.Older characters and newer ones.I loved and an am so glad I bought it.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Since the beginning, playing my first MCF game, I've chosen to download without even testing it. I've never been disappointed and I'm certainly not with this game. The play is unusual for MCF but very enjoyable. It makes references to many of its other games, and is quite funny. I have been waiting for this game to come, researching it online under Hotel Victory, and decided to replay Broken Hour, when this happened to come up. So glad I downloaded it! I do enjoy the different way to play this, but I must say that I like the original way. I'm trying not to reveal too much, but if you are a MCF fan, you will enjoy it too.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real blast to the past MCF game! Loved it! Eipix really put a lot of thought into this game. A really true nod to the originals with a little bit of every MCF game in it. I chose the 2nd option of difficulty and it was for the most part challenging. I haven't tried it yet in the hardest mode so some things may be different than the difficulty I chose to play in. The HOS's were great but there was too much detail given on items to find which made it easy to find them - whereas in the originals you had to really be on your toes to find the items as the descriptions were more vague. I'm not sure if it was a glitch but in chapters 8 and 9 my keys made themselves....?? Some of the puzzles were really challenging however the door ones were quite easy. I was a bit disappointed that the rest of the chapters HOS's weren't as detailed with hidden puzzles within as the first one. Still a lot of fun and I definitely will be playing it again - in the hardest option. This game was worth the full price. I think that you really have to be a true fan of MCF to appreciate the thought and work put into this game.Thank you Eipix and Big Fish for this wonderful trip into the past.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I rarely review but this is SO MUCH FUN! Wow, amazing! This game is like the good old days, but with new twists and great puzzles! The characters are funny, the scenes bright, and the humor is over-the-top excellent! I am so happy I get to play this game!
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Throw Back Thursday Game The fun that was had in the good old MCF game days was very much felt during this game. But it was a one off as long as Eipix goes back to the formula that it has developed for MCF over the years for the next game Rewind can keep my 5 stars,
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files - The Best I love the Mystery Case Files series and find them wonderfully entertaining games. I was delighted to see this long-awaited MCF episode and am relishing every minute playing it.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow Amazing! This is like a throwback and a new game all in one! I am loving the throwback to all the other MCF games and I also love how the characters are still the characters. They still have those quirks that make them so lovable (err or well not so lovable in some cases XD). Amazing addition and loving the throwback to the first Ravenhearst game as far as the puzzles and HO scenes go.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Blast From the Past I am absolutely loving this latest installment of the MCFs. I replay several of the older installments quite frequently because I really enjoy the graphics, music, complexity of the mini-games and scare factor. This latest installment is definitely a blast from the past and contains everything I love. I am really enjoying catching up with 'old friends' as each new case is introduced. The only thing I wish is that the developers used real people instead of graphics, like they did in the earlier Ravenhearst and Dire Grove series. The use of actors gives a sense of authenticity to the storyline. I am SO tired of all the newer games coming out with the same theme and storyline...even the mini games are becoming mundane. I was really excited to see this and bought it immediately. I am loving this current game and will be repeat playing it often!!
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Family is Crazy.... and are't we glad? Really what more could you ask for? A group of terminally crazy people, a spooky setting, characters we know from the previous games in the series and creative gameplay. It is all here folks, the gameplay is a challenge, there is so much going on in every room it is amazing. Take time to notice the subtle things hidden in each scene. Some are very funny. The game has a pattern but within that each part is unique to the scene it is in. What I love is that you have to slow down and think in this game to get through it. Love the super puzzles. I get so bored sometimes in other games I rush through them just to get the unsatisfying end. But I have enjoyed every minute of this game. The developer took some risks here. I know it is not for everyone, perhaps too unusual for some. I think having played and loved the MCF series is a bonus but anyone who loves the unexpected, has a sense of humor and laughs at a bit of crazy will love it. Give it a try.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best MCF Game Eipix has ever Made! The Mystery Case Files series has been on a downward slope ever since Shadow Lake. The reins of the series was given to Elephant Games and later on to Eipix Games. Both studios made games that, while good on their own merits, lacked the high caliber of quality that earlier games in the series such as Dire Grove and 13th Skull possessed. As such, I slowly began to lose interest in the releases of MCF games. I got The Revenant's Hunt when it came out last year and it took months before I felt the desire to complete it. I was saddened by this, as Dire Grove is a game I replay at least once a year and still haven't grown tired of it 9 years later. I felt that MCF games would never be as great as they once were, but then along came MCF Rewind, which I played through in its entirety on the day it released. Gameplay: The gameplay is the most drastic change Eipix has made to the MCF formula, and it's returning to the gameplay style of Prime Suspects and the original Ravenhearst. The game is level-based, and you go through a series of hidden object scenes before concluding the level with a jigsaw puzzle where you have to move or rotate the pieces to rebuild the picture. Interspersed within the levels are puzzles to build a key that you use to unlock a super puzzle and open up another hidden object scene. I am a big fan of this formula, as most modern "hidden object games" feature so few HOPs that they shouldn't even be called a HOG. This game has 36 distinct hidden object scenes, and most of them are revisited at least once with brand new lists of objects to find. There are quite a few that change up the typical object finding too, such as a bunch of computer monitors that are cycling between images or needing to use the ACME Scan-O-Ray from Prime Suspects to look through a locked door into another room. The puzzles are on par or slightly better than the ones in the other Eipix MCF games. The only thing past Eipix MCF games have over this one is that they feature point and click adventure elements which only serve to transport the player to the next puzzle or HOP. MCF Rewind trims off the fat of these moments and leaves you with pure gameplay. The game is roughly the same length as the prior MCF games, but there is a much higher amount of puzzles/HOPs in an hour of Rewind than there would be in an hour of another modern "HOG". My only complaint with the gameplay is that you will always have the same object lists for an HOP and there are never randomized object lists, not even when you go to replay the HOPs in the extras menu. Having randomized hidden object lists was a huge part of what gave the classic MCF games their replay value. Eipix put in the effort to randomize the order that objects show up on the list, but the actual items you need to find are always the same. They tried to create the illusion of having a distinct experience every time you play, but you actually don't. Graphics/Audio: I enjoyed how diverse the HOP aesthetics were. There are blue-colored outside scenes, more grey colored basement scenes, and vibrant scenes in a nursery and arcade. The diverse visuals help to keep the scenes from feeling too similar (something I've felt in past Eipix installments). You use a set of blueprints ripped directly from Ravenhearst to navigate Hotel Victory. There are 5 floors, but each floor is laid out in the same pattern of 6 rooms. The blueprints are confusing, however, as apparently the hotel has a garden on the fourth floor, a back alley on the third floor, and a basement on the fourth floor. There also isn't any space for any bedrooms anywhere in the hotel. The blueprint map screen is the only part of the game that feels thrown together and rushed. The game has decent voice acting, and the music is competent. Difficulty: The difficulty gets a perfect score because you can customize it to your liking. There is a time limit for each level that can be switched off, but I enjoy actually having consequences for relying too heavily on hints or skips. The levels are 20 or 30 minutes long and you can set it so hints use up a minute of your time and skipping puzzles will take up 2 minutes of time. I also enjoyed actually having consequences for misclicking. In past Eipix MCF games you could click all over the screen until you found all the items by luck and didn't even need to look at the object list. Story: I won't go into too many details here but there are some things regarding the story I'd like to say. The premise is that Victor Dalimar used the time travel machine from Return to Ravenhearst to try and find Charles. I'm glad to see the barely touched on plot point that the Dalimars have a time machine get developed on. Victor ended up opening a hole in the fabric of time so now many characters from past MCF installments are trapped at the Hotel Victory and need to be sent back to where they came from, with each level corresponding to one character. There are 10 levels (Technically 11, but one is just a single puzzle). One problem I had with the story was how inconsistent they were with what characters to bring back. Three characters from one game make an appearance, but there are some past games that don't get any representation. There are also some incorrect entries about what the character's first game was. Gwendolyn and Charlotte are listed as first appearing in Key to Ravenhearst, even though they were in Return and Escape from Ravenhearst. The game doesn't seem to use nostalgia as a crutch as much as some MCF games (I'm looking at you Dire Grove Sacred Grove). There are some really subtle easter eggs to past entries included too, like the Freezer that is stocked with Sparky's Dog Food. The Future of MCF: I hope that this was not just a one-off game formula and that that future entries utilize this style. I would rather have a superior hidden object game than a mediocre point and click adventure that cannot hope to match the level of the cinematic masterpiece of Dire Grove or Escape From Ravenhearst. I have nothing against Eipix, but they have neither the manpower nor the budget to effectively utilize live actors and have incredibly detailed and realistic graphics. Eipix can, however, make a good game with what resources they if they put effort into it. This game proves that. This is the only game I've ever seen on Big Fish Games where there were 2 beta surveys before the game came out. Eipix clearly wanted to make sure they crafted the best possible experience, and aside from non-randomized hidden objects, they did. I'm wary of the next game in the series, but if it is as good or better than this one, I'll confidently say that Eipix have redeemed themselves. Now that there's a new game in the classic style, maybe my dream of an expanded HD remake of Madame Fate will become a thing.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A blast from the past This brings back memories of some of the first MCF games. Instead of having to run all over (and over and over) an estate you did one scene at a time. Yes, it is heavy on the HOs. It does have the typical super puzzles where you have to figure out what to do and in which order. The ones in the demo, however, were not as difficult as some of the latter MCF puzzles (which was a blessing to me). I did use the guide for one piece of one puzzle. I played in relaxed mode (no timer) and still did the entire demo in 61 minutes. This one will be a "buy" for me - but as always, try it for yourself. As you can see, it's not for everyone.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game already Just started playing and am already having fun. A super puzzle in the first chapter! Once you pick your difficulty level YOU CAN'T CHANGE IT! And you really have to be observant because you might not get the opportunity to go back and look at something again.
Date published: 2018-06-21
  • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_343
  • loc_en_US, sid_28599, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Rewind Collector's Edition

Can you keep the past from destroying the present?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.