Mystery Case Files: Rewind
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Rewind

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(272.72 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Eipix Entertainment presents a new kind of case in the latest installment of the Mystery Case Files series!

Strange reports have come in regarding the abandoned Victory Hotel. When you arrive to investigate, you find people from your past cases lost in time and trapped inside! It’s up to you to find where they belong and uncover why one of the Dalimars is meddling with the past. It’s a race against the clock to solve more challenging puzzles than ever before! Do you have what it takes to fix the timelines before it’s too late? Find out in this exhilarating Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 401 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Rewind

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(272.72 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Rewind is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Old Days Game! I loved the original MCF games and this one is very similar to them .I really enjoy the puzzles and solving the cases.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for HO game lovers. I played the Beta version of this game, and loved it right away. This is the kind of game I can get my mind set around. One of the reasons I own almost 300 BFG is the fact that I get to pick and choose the ones that I love, and there are new ones to love every month. It is cheesy, and cutesy, and a very challenging HO puzzle. Not for the easily bored.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the best!! I started out playing Hidden Object games. I think they are a great way to keep your mind thinking in different directions, and keeping it healthy while having fun. Some of the first games I played on Big Fish are the Mystery Case Files games. They are the ones that made me love Big Fish, and years later, I still go back to the early ones. So to find this game was the highlight of my week!! It is a fun hidden object game. There's a story and goals to achieve, but no back and forth between scenes. The story is funny, not dark at all. The graphics are cartoony-cute and well-drawn, appropriate for the scene. The hidden objects aren't in obscure locations that make them almost impossible to find without a magnifying glass like other games. Each of the mini games required moving around the scene to figure out the mechanics. Even putting the keys in the computer was fun! The music made me smile. I usually play games without the sound effects because most of them are distracting from the game. This music is soothing and spooky at the same time. Thank you, MCF, for a throw back to games I really enjoy! I strongly urge everyone to play the early Mystery Case File games, especially if you like this one. They are great!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Vibes Having played all the games that it cited I enjoyed the memories, although Allison looks very different from each other in Dire Grove, The Black Veil and Rewind.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ACTUALLY A HIDDEN OBJECT GAME!!! I am so thankful they finally went back to the original HIDDEN OBJECT game. The newer mystery case files seemed 2 be more about the puzzle and story line than actually being a hidden object game. I loved the 1st couple of Mystery Case File games, when you looked for objects without having to chase all the other bs.
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last.... Finally back to something recognizable as Mystery Case Files. Still waiting for a "Madame Fate" (original one) format game to emerge, but this one is fun. Very entertaining!
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this Game Rewind is reminiscent of the first game of the MCF series, Huntsville. I see some reviews here that gave Rewind low ratings. One of the biggest complaints was that the puzzles are "easy." Maybe that's true for some of the individual puzzles, but when you play the game against the clock, it becomes harder to complete all the tasks within the allotted time. If the tasks were really difficult or complex, nobody would ever succeed. This is the same paradigm as the original Madam Fate, where you were racing to finish before time ran out. Personally, I love this type of game.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Choose some friends to send your free gift to! So much like the old school MCF! As much as I enjoy the more complex and challenging games in the Mystery Case Files series it is a lot of fun to just relax and play!!
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Retro-Magic I loved this game - so reminiscent of earlier Mystery Case Files. One of my favorite features are the "super puzzles" I first experienced in Madame Fate.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rewind I enjoyed this one. You have to be a MCF fan to understand the true meaning of the game. I was able to play it with my grandson and he also enjoyed the challenges.
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OLD SCHOOL IS COOL! Life may be on fast-forward at times, but at Hotel Victory life is on Rewind. Take a step back in time, to the good old days, and the good old HOG days of the earlier style of Mystery Case Files games, back when you were just a newly appointed Master Detective working for the Queen. Back to the days of Blackpool! You need to make a major decision right from the get-go when you decide which difficulty mode you want to play in because there's no option to change it unless you start with a new profile! (but that's how it was in the beginning) You can play in a Relaxed mode, a Master Detective mode or a Custom mode. In the custom mode, you must make several choices that may seem confusing. You can set the Level Timer, Hint Recharge Time, Hint Charges (how many x's 1-5) Hint Time Penalty (10-60) and the Skip Time Penalty (10-120) I would suggest you play the first chapter on Easy mode to see if the game would be too difficult for you if it were on a Timed mode because you only get 20-30 minutes to solve each Case or Chapter, and that includes everything (HOGS, Door Super Games, Puzzles) There are 11 different chapters or "Cases" The Hidden Object Scenes are really fantastic! That's right, I actually said the HOG's were fantastic and if you've read my reviews, I don't favor most HOP's lately! They are Interactive List finds with mini-games to solve. Each scene has a Morphing Object to find as well in the CE edition. You will receive Blueprint sections for completing the HOG's and once you complete the blueprint you will complete a Puzzle to make the key to unlocking the next door. Unlocking the next Door (once you have made the Key) requires you to solve a Super Puzzle. This is the MCF famous Rube Goldberg puzzle where you must interact with the entire scene by fidgeting with several different and bizarre items like toasters, pipes, valves etc. There are 11 Door Super Puzzles and each Door puzzle has a hidden Electric Capacitor to find in the CE version. The Collector's Edition version has 8 Wallpapers, Concept Art pictures, 6 Music Soundtracks, 7 Movie Videos, 36 re-playable HOG's, 11 re-playable Mini-0Games, a Diary (story added after each Case is solved) 13 Achievements to earn, 36 HOP Morphing Objects, 11 Electric Capacitors (within the Super Puzzles) 11 Case Chapters and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy your trip down memory lane! MYSTERY CASE FILES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Huntsville SE only (November 14-2005) 3.7 2-Prime Suspects SE only (April 6-2006) 3.8 3-Ravenhearst SE only (December 15-2006) 3.6 4-Madame Fate SE only (November 7-2007) 4.0 5-Return To Ravenhearst SE only (November 26-2008) 4.2 6-Dire Grove (November 25-2009) 4.7 7-13th Skull (November 25-2010) 4.4 8-Escape From Ravenhearst (November 23-2011) 3.6 9-Shadow Lake (November 20-2012) 2.6 10-Fate's Carnival (November 26-2013) 4.4 11-Dire Grove, Sacred Grove (November 25-2014) 3.6 12-Key To Ravenhearst (October 27-2015) 3.6 13-Ravenhearst Unlocked (November 24-2015) 3.5 14-Broken Hour (November 22-2016) 3.5 15-The Black Veil (March 23-2017) 3.0 16-The Revenant's Hunt (November 21-2017) 3.0 17-Rewind (June 21-2018) 3.4 by: Eipix Entertainment
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well, I enjoyed it I've been playing Mystery Case Files since I joined Big Fish and that was a long time ago. I remember the first one I played, Dire Grove and found them challenging and fun. Although there have been some real Mystery Case File losers, I always try to download and play. I personally found this one a lot of fun, although not as long as others, which is fine. Basically this game has it for everyone's taste, challenging puzzle/games for puzzle lovers, flip pictures, and a lot of HOS...actually this game is basically HOS which have puzzles in them and I found varied and creative. The whole idea is it brings together the whole cast from other Mystery Case Files games in a sort of a reunion. Just fun stuff. So, I guess it just depends on what you want in a game...at least give the demo a try and go from there. Mystery Case File games produce a lot of varied reviews; gamers either like them or hate them. Good luck.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yeah, super puzzles! In the regular version you have to solve 11 cases about 11 characters and figure out the time line they belong to in order to send them back. The details of each case varies but the format of each case is the same: - Play a couple of HO scenes in different rooms of the hotel to collect key parts. - Ensemble the key by clicking the key picture. Each key is different. - Open the door that goes with the key and play a super puzzle to unlock it. - Behind the locked door you find the character you have to send back and another HOS to play. Solving those give an item closely tied to the case. - The item automatically opens the crime analyze computer to figure out the origin (time line) of the item by playing another fun puzzle: assembling a photo, by either turning or swapping tiles until the tiles are in the right direction or place. - The characters who are found, gather in the dinner room which you can access whenever you like. All characters have to be connected to the time machine with another fun puzzle. Something like connecting the dots based on the color: each color has to be connected to the same color of the adjoined dot(s). - After solving all cases and connecting each character to the time machine they are send back. The characters you encounter are from other mystery case files. Years ago I played one other case file but I can't remember the details of characters anymore. I have found it's NOT needed to have played other mystery case files in order to enjoy this game. But chances are, after this one you probably will buy another mystery case file (like I'am going to do after typing this review). Considering what I like in adventure/HOS games, I took a risk buying this game. I'am a big fan of mini games and puzzles but when there are to many HO scenes I easily get bored by them. That's why I like HO scenes to be interactive and not just find and click. The reason I bought this game was to get my hand on those super puzzles. The last time, years ago, I attempted a puzzle like that, I was terrible at it. This time around, not so much. I had a lot of fun with them and was able to solve them. I even enjoyed the many HO scenes although they where less interactive than I would like. However they where different enough to keep me interested. You can play with a time limit in which you have to solve each case. I didn’t do that because I had no idea how I would manage those super puzzles and I wanted to enjoy them and not feel pressure in any way. On hindsight I would have managed with a time limit. Those limits are doable. The voice-over of the first character is awesome. Think Joan Collins (I don't know whose voice actually is used), perfect. I enjoyed her very much. Tip. The diary has two entry’s: yours and Victors, the one responsible for messing up the time line. But his entry’s only show in the diary after you collect the notes which appear on your map after solving certain puzzles. I didn’t notice those notes at first, that’s why I mention it.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trip Down Memory Lane? It was designed to be a trip down memory lane but I'm not so sure that they got there. On some levels, it did simulate the older Mystery Case Files, notably Huntsville and Prime Suspect. It has the same great quirky and epic end-of-level mini games but the characters aren't as vivid. It also misses out atmospherically but still has good environmental effects and the graphics are excellent. I liked the fact that there was an immediate skip on puzzles.That was an improvement on the old games. The objects were far too easy to find. There were some interesting puzzles in the HOS which I would like to see more of. The HOS are not as fun and quirky and interesting, as the old. The most annoying thing is the cut scene in between each and every HOS, when you walk down the same corridor, accompanied by the same music and open the same door. I don't think that was needed. Once is quite enough. Games trying to emulate old ones are only able to do so very roughly and generally, due to all the new technologies and elvolving progress in game development. I think because of that, retrofit doesn't really work. Comparing it to the older games made me want to give it a three star rating but that's not fair. If I wasn't making comparisons, for nostalgia's sake, I would give it four stars and so that what it's going to get.
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MCF THE BEST I play mystery case files games ,and i love the OLD ONES like ravenheard,,escape from ravenheard ,prime suspects,madam fate, This one is like the old MCF games,,please make more of the old ones,,i play the demo and im buy me the full game..
Date published: 2019-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much improved! I played the demo, thinking that this game wouldn't meet my standards, much like the last few games that Eipix has developed for the MCF series. I was expecting it to be trash and to disregard completely the storylines of previous MCF games because that's what the last few games have done, which drove me away from the series entirely. But to my surprise, this game actually exceeded those standards. I wasn't expecting this much of a throwback to the old games, of which I adored. Everything, from the Crime Computer to some of the puzzles, was spot on. I'm hopeful there will be more games like this. I know many people don't like games that are strictly centered around Hidden Object scenes, but those types of games were what the first few original titles were all about, including the very first Ravenhearst game. My only two beefs with this game were: 1.) The cutscene that played whenever you switched rooms. It got to be a bit repetitive, and honestly reminded me of the previous games by Eipix, which, in my opinion, were less than stellar. 2.) I WANT CHARLES TO MAKE AN ACTUAL PHYSCIAL APPEARANCE!! He is my favorite villain in the entire series. I'm hoping that in future games that Charles will be revived, as well as Emma and Rose. Other than that, this game pleasantly surprised me. Kudos to you, Eipix, for actually listening to your customers and recreating the old games. Bravo!
Date published: 2018-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap Looking! If only the makers of this game could have put more effort into making the game more appealing and harder to play it would have been much more welcoming and fun. The only thing that saves the whole experience of this game is the original like puzzles that were in 'Ravenhearst'. The characters in this game are of poor quality to the original games that they belonged to-why on earth did they change them to tacky looking things is beyond me. Very disappointed :(
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not like the earlier case files This game is boring. It is the same challenge and same puzzles with just different floors, etc. I am having trouble finding the interest to finish. The only thing that is great is the usual collection of odd puzzles at each case where you see a screen and have to figure out how to interact with it in a specific order to find clues in succession and make the device work. Other than that, don't waste your money
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HO's galore This game started out good with some challenges but soon turned into strictly finding hidden objects and no other side games which is not what I want. I'm disappointed.
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was ok The graphics and sound were good. There was no challenge to this game, and the hidden objects were not hidden at all. This would be a good game for a young beginner.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from MCF Rewind back to the good old days Good game in the style of the earlier MCF. The door puzzles were fun but a bit too easy. Overall the hidden objects were way too easy to find but still enjoyable to play. Plenty of time to complete each case.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from meh reminds me of the original ravenhearst which i didnt care for. yes i know its a hiden object game but just about everything to do was hidden object and it gets boring and tedious after a while.
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Redundant Rewind So, it sounds like they took everything that I didn't like about the first Ravenhearst game, and threw it into this game. Now, before I name the cons, let me name the pros (because there are actually some). PROS: -The story, while short, is actually kind of funny to think about. Although I'm disappointed that Charles really didn't make an appearance, it was still fun to meet old friend/foes, as well as reminiscence on the games that they were from. -The HO scenes were actually quite nice to look at, and it was actually really cool to see that ancient interface layout again. -The characters were summed up nicely so those who haven't played the games that they were from would be able to know who they were. -There are several homages to the previous games scattered throughout the game, and they're fun to notice/find. THE CONS: -While the HO scenes were nice to look at, they got redundant after having to play them for the fifth time. Compared to the previous games, this gameplay is way too linear. Granted, past games would reuse HO scenes, but you'd have other things to do and mini puzzles to solve along the way. Here, you solve some HO scenes and then build a key. Which leads me into my next complaint: -The gameplay. While some of the super puzzles were fun to solve, there was one that irked me a bit (I'm pretty sure if you played this game and are reading this, you'll know what I'm talking about). The hints that they give you were way too vague for the solution that they were looking for. That and overall, the gameplay was too redundant, and often of the times the game glitched on me when making the keys. I wouldn't even get close to solving it, and the game would move on as if I did finish it. -Because the game lacked a way for you to properly explore/have other things to do, the game really seemed to drag. I know some games, the backtracking is bad and sometimes having to go to another scene for an item and then having to trek back is a pain sometimes too, but you're looking at different scenes and interacting with different objects, and to me that helps break up the redundancy. There was no way to break up the redundancy here, and honestly having to do the HO scenes to find the parts of the key seemed kind of pointless, because nothing you found (sans the ones where you met the characters), had anything you could use later in the game. My tone would have been different if they had incorporated keys into the scenes, or things that you could use to actually make the keys. With all of this considered, I'm honestly disappointed with how this game turned out; when I watched the opening cinematic I got really excited to see what Victor was going to do, because it's been a while since we've seen that lug. Although this game is a trip down memory lane, I don't suggest it at all. This is one game in the series you can definitely skip.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unexpected Let Down I have purchased and played every MCF game and I was really looking forward to this because they were bringing back characters but it's so boring! No challenge, almost 100% hidden object, no investigating and the graphics were really cartoony. A complete let down, I hope the next one doesn't follow this pattern.
Date published: 2019-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If only I'd known..... Right from the start I did not like this game. Personal preferences do not include any game with a timer. I didn't like the snarky female character and I'm really glad I got this as a freebie.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why MCF ??? I have played all the MCF games and this one disappoints , having the whole timed wasn't fun nor enjoyable. The story wasn't there the hops we too easy and the puzzles weren't changeling
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Let down Mystery Case files have always been my go-to games. Dire Grove was the first HOP's game that I ever played and I loved every minute of it. Since then I have played all the games, and sadly they have just gotten worse! This game is so easy and has a pointless 'Cinematic' screen before every level - so annoying!. MCF go back to the good old days of decent games like 13 skulls and Shadow Lake and stop making these half hearted games. So disappointed.
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing in the Line of MCF I always look forward to the release of MCF games - their puzzles are challenging and unique. This one is definitely an overload of finding objects and too many repeats in scenes to find additional objects. I would say to purchase all of the other MCF games first and buy this one if you are really out of options but still want a quality game as far as graphics.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did they rewind too far? Based on demo If this series were ever to rewind again, I would hit the stop button at the original Dire Grove. Observe that game and add a portal task map- maybe call it Dire Grove Fast Forward. :) The other game I’d stop the rewind at in this series is The 13th Skull. Listed under HOPA, this MCF Rewind- has no A for Adventure.... This seems to be the type of game players will either love or hate so I highly suggest you try the entire demo first. The funny thing is, I am more of a HOP fan than a MG fan regarding the HOPA, and even I don't like this game (which is HOP heavy). I really loved the initial cut scene that showed all the other past MCF games quickly and was excited to play it, but the monotony of seeing the repeated door cut scene to bring us from one HOP to another grew annoying. I absolutely hated that you couldn't "walk" from one room to another. In my opinion, all of the newer Eipix games have great graphics, perfectly presented characters, etc. so I hated the "rewind" on character development in this game, as well, because overall I prefer realistic looking characters. Even though I disliked this game, I highly suggest these in the MCF series instead: 1. The first Dire Grove (the mystery was amazing) 2. The 13th Skull (with its live characters, just perfect) 3. Shadow Lake (I know a lot of people didn't like this one but after playing the whole thing, I still love it) This game may pick up after the demo as I know some games do but it just wasn't my cup of tea.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nothing Like the Other MCF I have lots of favourite game series I follow and this was one of them...until now. The set-up, story and game play were nothing like the previous games. The characters were cherry-picked to make it seem like it was part of the series but they had nothing to do with the actual game. HOP after HOP and easy ones at that. Some odd - figure out the page stuff that if you can't get the first game-within-the-game you have to skip the whole game. Timed levels that reset if you miss it or don't pay attention (I like to relax and watch TV while playing a game) Overall not happy. Would I be happier if it was not listed under Mystery Case Files - yes. Because I wouldn't purchase it.
Date published: 2018-07-29
  • y_2019, m_12, d_6, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_US, sid_28813, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Rewind

Can you keep the past from destroying the present?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.