Rite of Passage: Embrace of Ember Lake Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Embrace of Ember Lake Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(576.04 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games presents an exciting new entry in the popular Rite of Passage series!

Halsey was only a baby when you took her in as your own daughter. For the past sixteen years, she seemed like a normal child, but the shocking powers that were revealed on her birthday made it clear that she is anything but ordinary! Your brother Jason is the only one that can help, but Jason is missing, and a mysterious agency is combing the area around Ember Lake for you and your daughter! You’ll need your best observation and puzzling skills to rescue your daughter, stop the agents, and discover the secret of Ember Lake in this mystifying Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Return the magic crystal to Ember Lake in the bonus chapter!
  • Complete challenging achievements and replay your favorite HOPs!
  • Stay ahead of Damien’s agents with the strategy guide!
  • Download high-quality wallpapers to decorate your desktop!
  • Enjoy exclusive concept art, music, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 717 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Embrace of Ember Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(576.04 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Embrace of Ember Lake Collector's Edition is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from THIS IS AN AMAZING STORY, GIVE IT A CHANCE! Completed Game approximately 6.0 Hours (including completion of all puzzles & Bonus Chapter 22 Scene Locations +6 CE Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Beginner-Intermediate Halsey is just your typical 16-year old girl, except for the fact that she was kidnapped from an experimental laboratory, possesses weird powers, and seems to be the key to the strange crystal growing deep within Ember Lake. Now it seems everyone else knows about her connection to the crystals that are slowly mutating the nearby residents, but why Halsey? Morphing Objects/Collectibles (CE version only) Each of the 27 Scenes, throughout the Main Game and Bonus Chapter, has a Morphing Object and Collectible Crystal. The collectibles are rather large but they both were difficult to find in some of the scenes. There is also a Morphing Object in all of the Hidden Object Scenes, (15) which are definitely not easy to spot! Any missed Hidden Object Scene Morphs can be picked up by replaying the HO's in the extra's menu, which also allows you to better your star or accuracy score. Graphics & Sound: The graphics have room for improvement because MHG changed their graphics a while back and they do tend to be large and cartoonish during close-ups or zoom zones. The graphics remind me a lot of the former Eipix developer where they opted to make the scenes bright and colorful but very plain, you are fooled into thinking they are beautiful scenes because of the beautiful color palette but if you pay attention you'll notice that there are no details, buildings don't have individual bricks, for instance, they are smooth surfaces which makes everything seem huge and cold, instead of giving it a warm and cozy feeling. Hidden Object Scenes: There are 14 Hidden Object Scenes, +3 HOP's in the CE Bonus Chapter as well as 4 smaller Zoom Zone HO's where you are tasked with finding 6-8 objects shown as silhouetted shapes. This is the one area that MHG's shined, the HO scenes had a good variety of styles and the objects are really well-blended into the scenery. None of the objects are obvious to spot, on HO's by every other developer, I'm able to spot the correct objects without even looking at the list, but that never happened with these HO's! There are a lot of different variations such as Silhouetted Shape Finds, Matching Pairs Finds, Interactive & Listed Item Finds, Symbol Finds (MHG loves their symbols!) Swatches Finds, and Spot The Differences, one of which requires spotting a symbol that was an oddball out of each grouping of symbols. Each of the Main HO Scenes has a Morphing Object that can be picked up within the CE Extra's menus as well, but there are no alternative games available in lieu of HOP's. Mini-Games: There are 17 Mini-Games +6 in the CE Bonus Chapter. I really enjoyed them because there were a lot of mechanical type puzzles which are my favorite type. I did deduct a star because you can't replay any of the mini-games! Here are a few of my personal favorites: 1-Connect dots on a phone to combine 2 symbols in a continuous line. x3 2-Click on sections to fill in or stop the flow of the correct colors to paint a mural. 3-Adjust the bandwidth of the yellow wave to match 3 different red waves using vertical & horizontal sliders as well as shape. 4-Place 3 chips onto 3 groups of numbers to equal the sum of 96. 5-Move the mechanical arm using controls to manipulate the switches and following the clues. Bonus Chapter: (CE version only) It's been a few years since the incident at Ember Lake and Halsey is excited about her first class at the University...that is, until she discovers that her biology professor brought back a vacation souvenir from Ember Lake! This is a pretty short Chapter spanning 6 scene locations with just 3 additional Hidden Object Scenes and 3 Mini-Games. There are 3 Hidden Object Scene Morphs, 6 Scene Morphing Objects, and 6 Collectible Crystals. After completing the CE Bonus Chapter, you can access the Ultimate Hidden Object puzzle where you'll open 3 cabinets to access 3 HO scenes. You'll also be able to access the Treasure Hunt game where you return to the 27 scenes to find a single Treasure Hunt object. Collector's Edition Extra's: 12 Wallpapers (not 4!) 7 Concept Art Pictures with a Before/After slider bar, 10 Music Soundtracks, 11 Achievements (6 available in 3 categories) 15 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 27 Collectible Crystals, 27 Scene Morphing Objects, 15 HOP Morphing Objects, an Ultimate HO, 27 Treasure Hunt Objects, 4 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a Built-In Strategy Guide. Please join us at my new forum at thewoodsforum.boards.net where you can find my series lists, talk about the games and so much more!
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a good game. I read all of the negative reviews but decided to try the game anyway. I'm sorry, but I don't agree with those other reviews at all. Yes, there is talking but no more than normal. You have to have some narrative in order to know what's going on. When I finish the trial period without feeling like I'm forcing myself to do so, then that is a pretty game. I really think most people will find this a fairly good game. Try it. I think you'll like it.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better than the last 3-4 offerings I thought Mad Head had been sold, so I was expecting quality to drop. Is this a great game? No, but in my humble opinion it was way more enjoyable then several recent games released by other devs. The collectibles are fairly difficult to find (they are engraved rather than being solid). I did not like having to use the cell phone to search for symbols in order to advance the game play, it happens twice in the demo(hope that's it). I like the more real world feel(as opposed to made up worlds), and the graphics were clear. Yes, a horn is used to scare a crow, magnet on a rope etc, but I find that the gameplay somehow makes it more tolerable. How I score is, a 2 just for releasing a game, a 3 if I finish the demo, a 4 if I actually enjoy it, a 5 if I know I will be playing it over and over. So, I will probably buy this game, but it will be a pleasant surprised if it is a game I play more than once.
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FAMILY LOYALITY WITH IMPENDING DISASTER Mother's love for family is sorely tested with mystery, danger, and impending disaster. The storyline has elements of the supernatural. The puzzles are a variety of familiar and tricky. The realistic conversations are refreshing. The story is engaging and should be tried. Big Fish does provide a variety of games for every taste.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommend Don't Rush to Judgement Very rare that I skip a game based on early reviews. I will purchase this game at some point. It is not a disappointment based on the 90 minutes look see nor would I rate the game a blockbuster. Recommend give it a try --
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A buy for me I am so glad this game has normal scenery. I really hate the games that are dark with purple and pink colors. Like the story line. There is a little too much talking and after awhile all I hear is blah, blah, blah, lol. My only real complaint is I was not very impressed with having to use the phone to find symbols. Got a little annoying but all in all am enjoying the game.
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Extras not worth the extra cost I enjoyed this game. Some good puzzles and a nice story. But don't buy the Collector's Edition. There is a morphing object and a collectible in each scene and they are really easy to find, so that doesn't add much. Also, the extra game play is super short. Use your points and get the regular version.
Date published: 2021-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Where Are The Thrills in this supposedly sci-fi thriller? I found none in the demo which I endured to its end. It was so full of dialogue, the story went nowhere fast and it greatly affected the pace of the game. The storyline sounded interesting but didn't deliver enough plot in the trial to show what it was really all about. The characters had nothing special about them and the voices were not good. Although the graphics were colorful, they were cartoonish, which I don't typically like, and gave a childish feel to the story. I have no major complaints about the tasks, there weren't many HOPs and puzzles in the demo but they were easy and not very creative. The activities were just average. To be fair, things might pick up after the demo and the story may be a very good sci-fi adventure. But I'm not willing to spend the $$ to find out, based on the lack of activity and fun elements in the demo. Far too much dialogue used up time that could have been better used. Boredom and impatience took over early on (for me) as a result. I finished the demo hoping for a glimpse of sci-fi fun, but it never happened. This was a surprising disappointment for me, coming from Mad Head. I hope they are not going down the lazy-path like many other devs are doing these days. I rated 3 stars for benefit of the doubt, since sometimes games do improve after the demo. The trial may give you an entirely different view of the game, I hope you discover more entertainment than I did.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from RESCUE HALSEY REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS I quite liked the game. It wasn't spectacular or really a sci-fi, but it filled in a few hours. There is: * Easy to Custom modes of play (you can turn off Hint and Skip); * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Interactive map (you won't need this); * 11 Achievements (some with 3 stars); * Find 27 morphs and collectibles (game and bonus); * Replayable HOPs; * Ultimate HOP at the end of the game. The graphics are great - everywhere is crystal clear and life-like. The scenery is beautiful with lots of colour. The music is orchestral and lovely to listen to. The hidden object games are straightforward, silhouette, finding pairs, matching materials to items and one symbol game. These are all very easy to do. There were no new or original HOPs this time. I enjoyed the mini-games, however they were all very easy to do. If you are a beginner or casual player, then these will be perfect to gain experience. There is 1 morph and 1 collectible to find in each scene. These are very easy to spot and you should get achievements for these. However, if you miss any or want to do them later, then you can do these in the Extras at the end of the game. I always enjoy the Ultimate HOP at the end of the game. Its a great way to finish off. These are silhouette this time and I found it quite challenging. I always think of this as a dessert after a main meal - satisfying. All up the game took me about 4 hours to play - with Hint and Skip turned off. I liked the story line as it was easy to follow. I played this game over the course of the week and knew exactly where I was each night I went back to it. Overall, its not a bad game. Its a very easy game to play but nothing memorable. Comes recommended if you feel like a casual day of playing.
Date published: 2021-02-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So Much Potential - But Didn't Follow Through I played the entire demo and do not feel inclined to purchase. The story line is a good one had they just tweeked it a bit. The characters were not very interesting and at times they seem cartoonish. Most of the tasks are the same as all Domini games, which is boring. The demo did make me want to know more, but the game was just too slow with a lot useless dialogue for me to purchase it. Try the demo and see what you think.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I kind of liked it This has never been a series I liked. However, this game isn't too bad. I didn't notice excess talking and clicking through dialogue. Maybe I'm just used to it. I only played the demo. Kind of up in the air if I'll buy it or not. HOS were Nice. Puzzles were a bit challenging but they always are for me. Plot seemed ok. I'm going to wait on this purchase to see if anything better comes along.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Story Had Potential . . . . Once again I am confused as to the process of bringing these games to market. This story had real potential and then Mad Hatter derailed it completely. You and your brother were visiting a lake sixteen years ago when he brought you a baby girl and asked you to raise her. You both look to be in your late teens. . . .huh. He stays at the lake doing research while you raise this child alone. When she turns sixteen, strange things happen and you are off to get answers from brother dear. You just drive off to the lake without calling him . . . huh. You arrive to find his front door unlocked and see someone inside running out the back way. Then a black van kidnaps your daughter standing out front. You decide to run from the kidnappers and find your brother. Your brother's phone call sends you to an old clock tower at an abandoned facility. The bad guys are searching the area for you and you need to climb a rope up to the top of the tower repeatedly trying to find the items your brother wants you to see. The last item of the group of four is down at the bottom of the tower, under the feet of a crow. You use a bicycle horn to scare the crow to retrieve the item. The bad guys know where you are, now . . . . huh. Bottom line: The story tanked, the game elements were not particularly interesting or challenging, and there was nothing to entice you to keep playing. Please play the demo. This is one of those times when I wish the developers had given the whole thing much more thought.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Little Good to Say Here I'll keep this short. This is another Mad Head fail. The graphics were childish and the game felt like it was thrown together. Mad Head once made great games, but that was years ago. To be honest, I uninstalled it within 20-25 minutes.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spent More Time Waiting Than Playing As a long time fan of this series, very disappointed. Spent more time waiting for the skip button to appear during dialogue, and waiting for the zoom in/out effects to stop every time I clicked on something than I did playing the game. Quite nice graphics but not worth the aggravation of constant interruptions to game play. As always, try before you buy
Date published: 2021-02-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Total waste of time This review is based on 24 minutes of game play. That's as far as I could get into the game without being completely bore and frustrated. The storyline is weak at best as are the characters. Graphics are ok but nothing to write home about and voices are obviously computer. Also way too much talking between scenes which adds nothing. Spent more time clicking through that than playing the game. I don't recommend this game at all.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much story telling I am going to be honest. I didn't get past 24 minutes of the trial. Too much story telling, and clunky movements. Sorry, this one is not for me.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uninstalled after 3 minutes playing the demo Just no, for me. Trying to find a new game to play as the top ten HO games have remained the same for what seems like a couple of weeks, nothing new at all. Come on Devs, surely you can get a decent new game together! Have to replay all the favourites of my old games now as there are no interesting new challenges. As always, you must make your own minds up.
Date published: 2021-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too easy! In this new offering from Madhead games, your foundling daughter, Halsey, becomes the target for malevolent agents seeking to misuse her powers which are linked to a mysterious force emanating from Ember Lake. You & your brother find yourselves in a desperate battle to thwart the forces of evil, rescue Halsey and save the world from destruction! Actually, it's not that exciting. The visuals suffer from a lack of cohesion. It feels like the developers couldn't make up their minds what they wanted the overall look to be. Some of the scenes felt unfinished, lacking the kind of polish I associate with the earlier games from this developer. I chose to play with the sound muted and skipped through the dialogue, as - for me - it wasn't enhancing the game in any way. The level of challenge was minimal. Some of the games, were barely worth including - for example, a passage of explanation accompanied by the task of reassembling a landscape comprised of only six large rectangular pieces. I expect a little more difficulty than that. There are morphing objects to find, some of which are in HOG. There are also collectibles, in the form of crystals hidden in the scene. The toolbar lets you know if there are still morphing objects or crystals to find, so you have a reasonable chance of getting them all. There is a bonus game which I didn't get around to playing. Overall: there are better games out there.
Date published: 2021-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Slow. Poor Script. Back & Forth. Graphics are average and mostly plain and uncluttered or on occasion very cluttered. Characters are wooden and have little to say which is a good thing because the dialogue is horrible and overacted. Search, find and match runes to examples is old and takes time with little reward. Game moves forward very slowly with silly tasks, overused objectives...put together fishing pole to retrieve an object. Hidden Object games are general and some items are hard to identify. Mini Games are plenty for those who like them. I skipped them. Tasks often lacked clarity or purpose other than to make the player run back and forth. Just not much innovation or new ideas. Girl whisked away as baby because of some mysterious and apparent dangerous reason. At 16, she experiences something and is taken back to where she was found. If she was taken away to be safe why put her in peril by taking her back? Later, woman who brought girl back is on 2nd floor of building trying to discover location of a mystery key and the bad guys toss a fire bomb trapping her inside! Duh! They need her to find the key! She did escape. So the story continue. Like I said, poor script and story, not a lot of thought went into this one. I could see returning to save the girl and solve her mysterious turning of age condition, but to take her into danger is just dumb writing. Honestly I can write a better script and dialogue and so can you probably! Run of the mill game that may satisfy fans of Mad Head but I found it boring and was happy when trial was over. As I always say, take the trial run to see what you think.
Date published: 2021-02-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Meh I had a lot of fun with the first "Rite of Passage" games, back in 2014. Mad Head games has in my opinion lost all of their good developers and are now linear, always. Either there are new owners or the game developers have lost their passion for making great games. 0 points for puzzles. 0 points for creativity. 0 points for challenge and story line. We all know by know that a certain "Sunnyglow" always give ALL games 5 stars, lists challenge as 5 stars and says in her/his review that the puzzles are ridiculous. Please try before you buy and since there are so many bad games these days, here is a list of some I highly recommend if you are bored of these under par ones: - Haunted Hotel Charles Dexter Ward - The Lake House - Children of silence - Nightmare adventures (once you get over the graphics there are amazing story lines and puzzles in both games) - Surface - Mystery of Another World - Echoes from the past - Witch's prison (in fact all the games in this series are great) - Hallowed Legends - Ship of Bones - Enigma Agency - The case of shadows - The Lost Lands series - MCF Fates Carnival - MCF 13th Skull - MCF Dire Grove
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Waste Your Time I quit plsying after 15 minutes. You need a new PuppetShow or Labyrinths of the World game.
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gave me a headache worse game out of the 100s i have played
Date published: 2021-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Bad Very Bad, the Hints are not useful
Date published: 2021-02-04
  • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_32350, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Embrace of Ember Lake Collector's Edition

Your daughter’s uncanny gift draws the attention of a sinister organization!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.