ReDrawn: The Painted Tower Collector's Edition
Exclusive

ReDrawn: The Painted Tower Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(283.26 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Friendly Fox Studios invites you to experience a classic given new life in ReDrawn: The Painted Tower!

In this remastered and enhanced edition, revisit a classic and experience Iris’ painted world like never before! Beautiful new artwork fills modern displays and adds new depth to the Drawn world. The updated user interface includes an improved hint system, new puzzle elements add more ways to interact within these incredible environments, old scenes are packed with new detail, and much more!

A mysterious tower holds the secrets to untold power and the little girl who wields it. Iris is the key to your world’s future and can bring her art to life, but an unknown evil wants to keep her from her destiny. When she’s captured and trapped somewhere in the tower, only you can rescue her and save the kingdom in the process! Can you traverse the worlds inside her paintings to reach her in time? Find out in this spell-binding Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Keep evil at bay and become a hero in the bonus game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games!
  • Tons of collectibles and morphs to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, music, videos, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 787 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

ReDrawn: The Painted Tower Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(283.26 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
ReDrawn: The Painted Tower Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Game I say kudos to the team that remastered this game ! It is calming, almost ethereal. There are also life lessons here. The game is good to play, has some stuff that you need to think about, not the same ole same ole. I would not really consider it a hidden object game, but it has a smattering of them.
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting "Remaster" First off, I do recommend this game! That said, I have mixed feelings about the remaster. Some things are definite improvements over the first version. However, the voice of Franklin and the music were much better in the original version. I'll admit that the original had an oppressive (and close to depressing feel) but that's part of it's magic also. The new version just doesn't have the same emotional impact as the original. The good news is that we don't have to choose. We can play either depending upon our mood :)
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from heaven from a friend oh yes excellent everything about this game there is nothing I can find that I would change ..have to stop playing now.... my husband wants his tea selfish man xx stay safe stay well jab jab jab makes life easier xx
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game ever!! I have been a member for many years and have bought and played many games. This series has always been a favorite of mine and I was so excited to see this updated version. Don't waste time thinking about buying this....just do it and you will not be disappointed!!! The game will pull you in...enjoy the journey!!!
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drawn comes close to perfection In my opinion, the games of Drawn (the 3 originals) is the best and most creative series to date (although the original Moritmer Beckett games come in a close 2nd). I have played all the original Drawn games many times. I've noticed some minor changes in the game. They have added morphing objects as well as collectibles in the scenes (did not need these). There is more "hand holding" in Re-Drawn vs. the original. I felt I had to think more with the original game. Re-drawn is more vibrant and has added dialogue. I liked some, but not all, of the changes. Regardless, it is a MUST play. My only hope is that the developers/BF will give us a whole NEW original Drawn series. That would be GREAT.
Date published: 2021-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic the first time; ReMagic the again This was one of the first games I played on Big Fish. It was magical. It was one of the few games, ever, that dragged me into the story, graphics - everything. I really cared what happened. It was sweet, clever, challenging with the cutest animals and things in the corners. It stopped working on my comp years ago and every time I wrote to BF with a tech issue I'd add a "PS - please remake DRAWN and the series!" I hope it's been redone because a lot of us were being pests about it :) This game is a great story about a very loved little girl who is more special than you. I won't spoil it. No dead relatives haunting you, there are several scenes where you'll just sit and look at the artwork and go "woah". If you like sitting and playing a great game, like you're reading a great book, taking it in and absorbing it, you'll love this. Not breakneck paced, lots of emotion to it, you can't help caring about what happens to our little Heroine and a lot of the characters within. All I can think to say without ruining too much ... just get it, get a cup of tea and take your time enjoying!
Date published: 2021-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RE-ENTER THE WORLD OF DRAWN: THE PAINTED TOWER *A 5-STAR GAME WITH A 3-STAR REMASTER* Completed Game approximately 5.0 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 24 Main Game Scene Locations +7 Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Intermediate-Expert (but doable for beginners because of the Strategy Guide) Review Based on Comparison of Drawn versus ReDrawn: This is the first installment of the Drawn series that tells the heartbreaking tale of Iris who has been locked away in the painted tower. Iris and her family have a special gift, they can draw their way into magical doors and enchanted worlds, they are only limited by their imagination! Katherine had sent Iris to live with Franklin, to protect her from the King and his evil Chancellor, now Iris is a prisoner, Franklin has been turned to stone and Iris is the sole survivor of her family! You must rescue Iris one drawing at a time as you desperately try to reach the painted tower! NOTE: My 5-star review was submitted early Thursday morning but somehow it posted with only 4-stars (I screenshot all reviews before submitting and my screenshot clearly shows I clicked all 5-stars) I felt so strongly about this that I asked BF to withDRAW my original review so I could PAINT a better picture! To be clear, I gave this game 5-stars because the game itself is incredible, I played the entire original Drawn series and no other game has utilized this much creativity. Certainly, none of the games released over the last couple of years have had such an incredible story with such unique graphics! I was willing to rewrite my review because I didn't want anyone to pass on playing this amazing game because of the mistaken star rating... and the game itself deserves 5 stars! My issue is with the RE-Mastering features as explained below. I have RE-entered the world of Drawn....hello old friend...it reminds me how amazing these games used to be! When I first played the Drawn series, I was blown away by the uniqueness of this game. Even though I considered myself an expert player, I found the original Drawn to be quite challenging but it also gave me a sense of accomplishment when I completed my adventure through Iris' imaginative drawings. Although the gameplay is still somewhat challenging, I felt that Friendly Fox did the game a disservice when they revamped some of the mini-games to make them really simplistic, and the fact that they felt the need to add HOP's. What really made my heart sink was when I discovered that they had ReVamped the original Hint feature! We aren't the cowardly Scarecrow, we already have a brain...so next time give us some credit because the "old" Hint system was really cool and made us think for ourselves with just a point in the right direction...besides if we had to, we could use the newly added Strategy Guide! In the original Drawn, Franklin had still been turned to stone, but he was still able to assist, without the normal hand holding hint system that we see in today's remastered ReDrawn. Instead, you could choose which objective you needed help with from the list provided to the left of Franklin's portrait and he would give you a nudge with the first of three vague clues. If you couldn't figure out what to do next, you simply asked Franklin for another clue. Usually, you could figure it out by the third and final clue. This is the kind of gameplay that made older HOPA/Adventure games fun, nowadays they are so fool-proof that they are downright boring...REMASTER---don't REVAMP a masterpiece! There were no Hidden Object Scenes in the original Drawn game, unfortunately, ReDrawn was ReVamped, not ReMastered, to include Hidden Object Scenes...there was a reason the original Drawn got 138 amazing 5-Star reviews, so why would you assume we wanted another lame HOPA game like they are today versus games of the past that received ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-EIGHT FIVE STAR reviews? I haven't figured out if it's Big Fish that doesn't "get it" or if the developers are the ones who are clueless? Everyone LOVEs older HOPAs, we replay them daily because back then they had amazing storylines, and they made us use our brains to figure them out versus playing on auto-pilot! How many times do we have to complain about how lame HOPAs are nowadays before Big Fish and the developers finally see the light? When a game gets 138 Five Star reviews and it doesn't have a single Hidden Object scene, that should be your first clue that HO scenes aren't necessary...just look at the HOPAs today, you'll be hard-pressed to find one that received 4-stars much less 138 Five-star reviews...think about it! Because this game still has some of the original aspects...it is still a Fantastic game and lightyears better than HOPAs lately. My only complaint here is that FF felt the need to "add" to an already amazing game versus simply remastering a 5-star Classic?? (the original cannot be played on today's newer 64-bit computers) They have added 62 Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces and 62 Morphing Red Scarves as well as a pull-out tab that tells you how many collectibles remain in each scene. I don't have an issue with the collectibles because the SE version will not include them if someone wants a version without these added collectibles. If they truly wanted to remain true to game features of the past, the morphs would have been much smaller and slower. This adventure is like no other, yes you will still collect a few inventory items here and there, these items are to help you find the clues that Iris has left you within her drawings. First, you have to find the missing fragment of the torn picture, then you enter the picture and solve the puzzles within, usually in the form of a Progressive-Interactive puzzle where you may need to find a knife first and then use the knife to expose an item within a pumpkin, and so forth until you have found the last item that will help you to progress to the next door in the Painted Tower. If you are a puzzle fanatic like me, listen up, cause there are so many clever puzzles you're going to love. Some are simple such as swapping tiles to create a picture or rotating disks, some are a little more difficult. My favorite one was replacing window fragments by rotating and placing the glass geometrical shapes, the pieces have to go into specific slots and at first, it seemed as though there weren't enough pieces no matter what I tried. Then I realized that a space will be empty to create a specific shape! (I won't tell you what that shape is) HOWEVER, in ReDrawn, they dumbed it down and took away the Rotating feature so all you had to do was snap pieces into place...it doesn't get any easier than this folks, the question once again is WHY would you take a great challenge and make it so simple a 6-year old could complete it??? Bonus Chapter (CE Version only): Follow Iris on the day before she is taken to the tower as she is quested with 3 tasks to prove her worthiness as Queen. There are 7 additional scene locations with 14 additional Puzzle Pieces and 14 Morphing Scarves. There are 7 Mini-games but just one Hidden Object Scene within the Bonus Chapter. Collector's Edition Extra's: 7 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art Pictures, 7 Screensavers, 5 Music Soundtracks, 14 Movie Videos, 9 Replayable Mini-Games, 4 RePlayable Hidden Object Scenes, 62 Morphing Scarves, 62 Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces (you can return to the scenes to pick up any missed collectibles) 25 Mini-Games, 4 Hidden Object Scenes, 4 Main Chapters, Bonus Chapter, Strategy Guide. As I stated in my title, the original Drawn was as amazing as amazing games can get! I loved this series so much that I simply have to give it 5-stars for the uniqueness it presents...as far as the ReMastered ReVamped ReDrawn scenario, I would only give that 3-Stars. I had to turn off the Wide Screen option and play in a smaller screen because the edges were cut off and I couldn't see any of the features like the pull out tabs, the Hint, Diary (LOVE diary features of games from the past, don't you?) or the inventory bar. I hated that they added HOP's that didn't really fit in with the "painted" graphics and I hated that they dumbed-down the mini-games and took away the awesome Riddle/Question Hint Feature...still love the unique story...please keep remastered games the same, just remaster the graphics and make them work on new computers...especially when the original game is so fantastic that it earns 138 Five Star Reviews!!!!! Come join the Woodsey's at my new forum at thewoodsforum.boards.net
Date published: 2021-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST OF ADVENTURES! I played the original Drawn, and the second part Dark Flight which I am now starting to replay, on its terms with puzzles and thinking things through. But playing it now as Redrawn I adopted a different approach: that of skipping every puzzle and just going through it as journey through the story. This strategy avoids the question of whether there is too much dumbing down or "hand-holding" and leaves... Leaves what I found an immensely enjoyable story rediscovered and enjoyed more than I have any game play here for a long time... Players differ and for me with any game story ,character and the sense of place, are my first concerns but few games will stand simply on those alone and be fully satisfying. This best and most richly imagined of stories is one that will and thanks so much to Friendly Fox for this miracle and my recommendation is to not hesitate over secondary questions of game play and so miss the beauty and power of this game.
Date published: 2021-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ReDrawn ..The Painted Tower ReDrawn Love it …I read a few of the reviews and decided to make a comparison. I played ReDrawn trial til my time ran out and then I played Drawn .. the painted Tower (the old version) to the same point. Although similar there have been a few changes.. I have to say though… I found the flow of the game nicer. One of the updates that I loved is the close ups… eg. In the old version you have to place fragments of glass in the window.. the window is off to the side and small… in the new version you click on the window and a nice and large window pops up and so much easier on the eyes. I am really glad that some of the older games are being updated and playable again…I hope they update more ..then they will work with the new versions of window… At any rate… you will have to excuse me as I am now going to purchase ReDrawn and play the rest of my game. My advice give it a try and draw your own opinion..:) Enjoy!
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My All Time Favirote Game! This is my favorite game I've ever played on Big Fish more than 12 years ago. SO glad they remastered it. The original version doesn't play well in windows 7. But, we now have the remasterpiece of games. This game is difficult, but so worth it! This is a must have game in your library. You won't regret buying this stunning beautiful and best game of all time! Imo Thank you for the remastered version. Breath taking!!
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Friendly Fox Hit this One Out Of The Park To take something excellent, and then make it more excellent...what do you call it? Superpufabulous? Sorry, it's the only word that comes to mind. The Fox never disappoints- but this little opus really surprised me- the artwork, the atmosphere. The ambient music is so sadly melancholy. The voice overs are excellent; they can't get any better. The plot- sooooo different from the usual...and the artwork- did I mention that? Surreal- like Dali and Picasso had a baby but the baby wasn't obnoxious. (let's face it, you can't game with Picasso art but the scenery can be influenced by it). The use of light and dark is done so well. And the puzzles are great- a good time there. The HOPs are well done also and I enjoyed everyone of them but I am more of a puzzle enthusiast. It come down to this- our Friendly Fox took something great and made it even better- improved story, improved artwork, improved atmosphere, improved VO's, different puzzles (they ain't easy!), HOPS, characters- you name it: it's a Fox of a different color- Bravo, Fox! Big Three, one of you guys just got knocked off the bench
Date published: 2021-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rated on it's own merits. I have never played the first game which in a way is a good thing. So this review is purely on this game and not comparing it with the original. I did install the original a couple years ago but could not play it on my 64 bit machine so this is all new to me. I also am not a great lover of hidden object games so the fact that it had hardly any hogs appealed to me. Most hopas of late are all the same and very predictable and I get bored with them but now and then along comes a game that I just want to keep playing and this one is no exception. The first picture with the scarecrow had me hooked and also you need to take in the story as it is all part of what makes this so enthralling. For me I am a puzzle geek so love all the puzzles but can understand that for those who love hogs this could be a bit of a let down. I am sure going by the many 5 star reviews the earlier game had that it was one of the best games ever and just wish I could have played it on the other hand an updated version is good for those who can't play the original. For me this game has everything I enjoy in a game and I can't wait to continue. Reviews for me are a great way of deciding if a game is worth a look and worth playing the demo. Different games suit different people. What some love, others hate, it's only natural. Because of this ,do take in what the reviews say but always demo. A lot of games get very bad reviews but I actually like them. Although it is very easy to use the hint system I am doing without it as for me it is more challenging and if I am stuck I have a quick read of the great strategy guide . So for me it is a winner and another addition to my growing collection of Hopa games. Enjoy.
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adventure game I beta tested this game and I loved it so much I bought the original. The original plays fine on my Windows !0 PC. Just click the aspect ratio and the game fills the screen of my 21" monitor (I have a less than 1 year old Dell all in one computer), I loved Drawn so much That I also bought the 2nd and 3rd episodes. I will also buy Re-Drawn because it gives an enhanced experience!
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Absolute Favorite! I was so excited to see this game updated as I loved the original and the sequels. The storyline and art were exceptional. Don't laugh but I'm not sure the added voices enhance it, sometimes you need to leave things to the imagination. The hints and skips are nice if you're new to the game but I'm old school, sometimes you need to work these things out.
Date published: 2021-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do Not Understand why some players nitpick games! I love this game! I just don't get how some of these players have to critique like they do! If you are like me it is so refreshing to play a game that is reminiscent of the games we used to play and enjoy so much. Pixel art, time management games seem to have taken over Big Fish. Bottom line short....if you want to play a game that takes you back to yesteryear play this game!! Don't worry about how many hop's there are (there are just 4 by the way). Just have fun!!
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I DIDN'T THINK I'D LIKE IT...I WAS WRONG! I never played the original but this is very fun! The scenes are pretty and there's a lot to do. Never boring! Great storyline as well. If you're like me and you're going by the title and/or description, try it anyway. I think you'll be glad you did!
Date published: 2021-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm so happy this was made! But there are some areas for improvement To start off, I am overall very very happy with this game being rebooted. It’s a classic, and it’s nice to see it getting the attention and care it deserves! In regards to this being a fun game that is worthy of playing, I absolutely recommend, hence the 5 stars. That being said, I do have some nitpicks on some of the choices and changes Friendly Fox made, that I want to share so as to hopefully further improve on and encourage this trend of revamping these classic games. I’m going to be pretty harsh, so fair warning. First off, the morphing objects is a good idea that has been stripped of all soul and turned into a gimmick. Morphing objects, and collectable items, are meant to be difficult to find, an extra layer of challenge for those players who want to notice things and engage more with the game. You can see this used most effectively in it’s early usage in early Mystery Case Files games such as Shadow Lake, where there are no side tabs, the morphing objects are a real challenge and are somewhat randomly distributed among the scenes (no requirement of 2 morphing objects and 2 collectables a scene, which is a personal pet peeve of mine, it drains all the fun out of it), and there is a sense of satisfaction when finding them. While I like the use of the scarves and the different artistic representations of it throughout the scenes, I am NOT a fan of their morphing status. I think it would have been a much stronger added element if they took the place of the puzzle pieces, and were less frequent, more randomly distributed. If you absolutely have to use morphing, at least make it subtle. The voice acting is a pretty mixed bag on this one. Most of the actors seem way too peppy and alert, giving a weird contrast to the somber, grave mood of the art style, music, and story. Personally, I prefer the original game’s noises for the characters over the voice acting (the creaking sigh of the tree in particular was much more powerful). On that note, Franklin is made of STONE. Why did you animate him with a moving face??? If he looked like he was struggling to move his features, as if his transformation was not yet complete, that could have been pretty cool, but you had his features move completely normally and the only indication of him being stone is the fact that he’s gray and he says he’s stone. In regards to the updated art in places, I think that was handled very well. Nothing felt too out of character or place, and although I love the unique style of the original, this new version had its own style that was just as intriguing. With the streamlining & changing of the quests (such as the collecting of ingredients for the witch doctor), I think it was done fine, no real harm was done, but a lot of the changes felt like they weren’t for any reason other than being different, and occasionally they made things a bit more confusing. Why am I compelled to randomly catch a butterfly, for example, when I don’t know I’ll need it for a potion? The new dialogue is just weaker. Less poetic, less realistic, less thematic. I believe I remember that Friendly Fox is not a primarily English speaking company, but that is a reason why I think they should have left the dialogue and writing alone, or have hired writers who were already fans of the Drawn franchise who could have made actual improvements, or at least who could make changes without creating a weaker product. Like me! I messaged you on Facebook a bit back suggesting you take on Dire Grove next, feel free to reach out to me if you want someone to spice up and/or rewrite dialogue. The added minigames are good! No complaints there The magic paints HOS is good, except when you put a sparkly circle around all of the paints! When I choose “expert”, generally, I think it can be assumed that I’m not a fan of being spoon-fed this kind of thing. I’m not sure why you changed the original two dragon and griffin items into two identical, boring blue gems as griffin eyes. Again, it’s a pointless change that only makes things less interesting. Okay, now for the bonus chapter, the real opportunity for you to show what you got! My main issue with this segment is how saccharine and sugary-sweet it is. It feels like Disney, not Drawn. What made the original Drawn so iconic in its artstyle was that even in places that were happy, like the field with the scarecrow or the tree, there were elements of darkness for balance. Strange proportions, beautiful but somber settings, imperfect creatures. The whole point of the dragon and griffin story is that there has to be elements of both for a strong game. Which, now that I think of it, it’s a bit ironic that you replaced the duality dragon and griffin puzzle of the original with two griffin eyes. It’s a good example of what I think really limits Redrawn. Putting aside my big issue with the tone, the bonus game is pretty good! The new locations are well done, if a bit bland, with the inside of the Griffin’s lab being my personal favorite, that was a good new location that fit the Drawn tone. Does…does turning back into a farmer mean getting swallowed by vine demons? What was up with that? Seriously, what a weird way to wrap up that storyline. Okay, I LOVE the choice to make the player character a creation of Iris trying to make a hero. That is good stuff, that actually has an impact on the story that makes it more interesting. Whoever made that decision, I salute you, great idea. A random thing I noticed was some of the actions you had to take were pretty cliched. I should make a drinking game of every time in one of these modern games you have to do something like: use a rag to wipe off some dirty surface, attach a handle to a shovel, use an emblem to unlock a door (like emblem locks exist and are useful. Why not just make the end of the key the emblem?) etc. Anyway, it’s not necessarily a problem, it can be entertainingly subverted (see the books on emblems in True Fear 1, that was a funny and great nod to people like me who play so many of these.) but I enjoy seeing new and creative ways to do these actions. IN CONCLUSION: It feels like there was some higher up meddling and pressure to make all the changes more Disney-like, relentlessly positive, no complicated emotions to be had. If that is the case, I would like to formally address those higher ups: Stop. Not even kids, if your goal is to make things more “child friendly”. Kids can tell when they’re being spoken down to and having things sugar coated for them. It’s annoying for them, so just imagine how annoying it is for the adults that are playing these games. That being said, there is potential here. I can tell, even through the layers of glitter and sugar, that there are people on the Friendly Fox staff that both care about and understand the themes and tone of Drawn. I hope that they will be given more creative control over their next project!
Date published: 2021-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I really enjoyed to demo. Love the graphics, the theme of the game and the gameplay. Also the puzzles and minis. What's not to like. Cant wait to buy it.
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THANKS BFG AND FRIENDLY FOX I was thrilled to get this game. It is everything I wanted it to be.....winner winner big fish dinner.
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A REMASTERED GAMING WORK OF ART Enjoy a wonderful, remastered gem from the past! This game is puzzle lover’s delight, and one which is more of an adventure game than a HOPA game. There are only a few HOP scenes in this game. The game takes the player to a dark, dismal world, one which is devoid of color and light, to save Iris, a little girl, who is the only hope to save this world from evil. The setting is a tower in which Iris is imprisoned. Move through winding staircases and enter the worlds created by Iris’ paintings as you attempt to reach her at the top of this tower. You need to find the source which will save her and the world from an evil king Since I did not play the original game, I am uncertain what alterations were made to this game. However, I can understand why this game was remastered. It is an artistic masterpiece, and much better than many of the current games being offered. The game is set in the background of a dark fairytale. It is a beautifully illustrated game, somewhat surrealistic with a touch of arte noire. I thought it was spark of genius to have the player enter Iris’ paintings which are vibrant and full of color and light, contrasted that to the drab world of the tower. It is evident a lot of work went into this game, and it appears many scenes were hand-drawn. The game consists of entering the imaginary worlds created by Iris through her artwork, getting help from her friends within each of these works of art to reach the tower in which she resides. Most of the activities involve art in some way. The collectibles are morphing red scarfs and puzzles pieces which are used to play a jigsaw puzzle upon completion of the game. As in their other games, the developer provides an indicator on the left side of the screen indicating how many collectibles are within each scene. It also keeps track of how many have been found and how many remain to be located. Unlike other HOPA games, this one has no achievements. Are there missing jigsaw pieces? I found some of the puzzle pieces extremely difficult to locate. Two I never found and believe they were omitted from the game. I researched the strategy guide for the location but never found them. One is supposedly on a gear system and the other is supposedly located on the side of an elephant. Upon completion of the game, the player can return to the scenes to locate the jigsaw pieces if they are missed while playing the game. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • There are no achievements. • Collect 60 jigsaw puzzle pieces (most scenes have 2 per scene) • Collect 60 morphing red scarfs (most scenes have 2 per scene) • 7 wallpapers and 7 screensavers along with concept art, music, and video sequences • Replay 4 HOP scenes and 9 mini-games BONUS CHAPTER: It is a prequel. It is the day prior to the beginning of the main game. The Griffin prepares Iris for her future responsibilities as queen by giving her three tests to assess the qualities she must possess. They are solving problems, saving lives, and being wise. Play Iris as you accomplish three (3) sets of tasks to prove your worthiness as a future queen. I found this chapter well-crafted and equal in quality to the main game. However, I do believe this chapter was not part of the main game. The puzzles created are much different. There is only one HOP scene and seven (7) mini-games. Upon completion of the game, the player will discover the character he or she plays in the main game. HOP SCENES: There are only four (4) HOP scenes within this game. All can be replayed upon completion of the game. There are also several mini-HOP scenes with a small number of items to be located. There is one within the bonus chapter which I found very confusing. It consists of locating qualities based upon mythical creatures on a tapestry. For me, the qualities to be located did not match up to the mythical creatures to which they were assigned. For example, I don’t understand how the quality of bravery is related to a minotaur. MINI-GAMES: This is a puzzle-oriented game and there are some challenging puzzles within this game. Luckily, some of the puzzles have two versions in which they can be played – casual or hard. Some of the puzzles have multiple steps or sequential puzzles to solve. There are twenty-five (25) mini-games, only nine (9) of which can be replayed upon completion of the game. I do wish this developer had included more of the mini-games to be replayed. I do not want to replay the entire game to replay some of the puzzles which I found somewhat difficult. There are several tracing activities (not considered puzzles by this developer) which I found tedious. In one chapter, I became tired of tracing a sun and a moon to change the time of day. I did feel this was excessive. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SAMPLE OF SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Assembly puzzle. Locate pieces of Roman numerals for a clock and then set the time based on clues within the scene. B. Checkers puzzle. On a grid with one blue token and several red ones, have the tokens jump over each other to remove them leaving only the blue token centered in the middle of the grid. C. Casual/Hard. Jigsaw puzzle. Place glass shards into the correct position to assemble a broken hourglass. In the hard version, the pieces must be rotated. 2X D. Mirror puzzle. Rotate mirrors to center a beam on a seed to grow a tree during the day and then repeat to make a flower bloom at night. E. Sequence puzzle. Move the teeth on two lions by clicking on their whiskers so the upper and lower set of teeth intermesh with each other. This puzzle is somewhat confusing on how to proceed after the player is finished. F. Casual/Hard. Jigsaw puzzle. Create a dragon by placing pieces into position on a grid. In the hard version, the pieces are clear – no color until they are placed within the scene. BONUS CHAPTER: G. Casual/Hard. Matching. Uncover tokens to reveal pictures to match. The tokens move after each match. The hard version has two more tokens to match. H. Rope puzzle. Switch knots on a rope so that rope segments do not intersect with each other. I. Lock puzzle. Set the combination on a cryptex following a given clue. J. Paint by number (symbol). Paint a picture on a piece of cloth according to a guide which assigns a symbol for each color.
Date published: 2021-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun game I Played the original and i think this is a nice updated version. not a fast paced game but a nice easy play calming music. it you liked the original you will enjoy this one too.
Date published: 2021-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ReDrawn: The Painted Tower Collector's Edition I enjoy playing games through this developer I enjoyed playing the original game but this version was a lot sharper to see because the original was duller to see
Date published: 2021-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where is the map? I absolutely love this game, but I have one question, where is the map?
Date published: 2021-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT ! It's a great game, more fun than the old version. Thanks Big Fish Game.
Date published: 2021-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from slooooowwww to move through the game So far, I like the content and the challenges. The greatest challenge is on my patience while waiting for the next frame to load. You cannot jump between places but have to go backtrack to go back and go through everything to move forward again. VERY SLOW to load the frames. Makes me not want to play because it is so slow.
Date published: 2021-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost as great as the original! I still have the original Drawn series on an older Mac Mini which I keep around specifically to play some of my favourite old games. I just replayed the Drawn series a couple of months ago so I'm quite familiar with the original game. "Redrawn" is very much like the original except for a few baffling changes. Baffling to me anyway, as I don't understand why you would rework a game that was so incredibly popular in its original form. Why make changes to something that was so well loved by its fans? However, atmospherically the game is very close to its original roots. The music, the storyline, the artwork - all brilliant. I was irked but not put off by the changes, except for the voice-overs for the painting characters which were too "cartoony" sounding. There is no voice-over in the original except for Franklin - who, I have to say, was voiced quite well. I wasn't as fond of Iris' voice, though. I much preferred the original. My one BIG bone of contention with this reissue was the bonus game. If it wasn't for the bonus game I would have rated this title a perfect 5 Stars. The bonus game is silly and boring and childish and does not fit with the main game. Why oh why did the developers drop the original bonus game for this piece of dreck?? The original bonus game is superior in every way. As frustrating as it can be to find all of those teeny stained glass pieces, I really enjoyed it. This new "bonus" game is geared for 8-year-olds. I knew I was in trouble when the characters started talking about fairy tales. "Drawn" is not a fairy tale. It's a dark fantasy. I hope Big Fish and FF are not planning to make similar changes to the rest of the Drawn games. Keep them faithful to the original stories and game play please! They are brilliant games - there is no need to alter something so nearly perfect.
Date published: 2021-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautifully Done But A Little Slow What a beautiful game! I missed Drawn in its original form so I'm happy it has been updated to ReDrawn! Like I said, beautiful graphics and beautiful music. The only complaint I have is about halfway through it begins to slow enough to take about 10 seconds to transition between scenes. It can be annoying when you need to repeatedly go back to a point of origin. Still glad I bought it!
Date published: 2021-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Game! I thought the first version was exquisite and imaginative...This version is even more so. Thanks for the re-draw!
Date published: 2021-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game My only "complaints" are collectibles were too easy to find and the game is too short. I could have played forever!
Date published: 2021-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ReDrawn - Sometimes better, sometimes worse I'm an OG Big Fish Games member, as one could say. I was a huge fan of the original Drawn trilogy, and I was so excited to see a remastered version coming to Big Fish when I played the beta demo. First off, HUGE kudos to Friendly Fox for actually changing a few of the poorer choices in the demo - namely, the voice acting. It's much better in this final game (albeit far from the quality of the original). I'll start with the good: -Art, of course. Graphics were redone, resized, and enhanced to fit screens, plus some new scenes were made full screen, like the scarecrow's field. A welcome addition in my book. -Remastered soundtrack. Instrumentation can be more clearly heard and audio levels are more evenly balanced. -Addition of collectibles. Loved the puzzle pieces and their reward at the end (half good, half bad - I'll elaborate later) -Bonus chapter, obviously. -Tech issues removed -New interactions and plus items, many of which I was pleasantly surprised with And, of course, to the bad: -Voice acting. Aside from Iris's voice actress and the scarecrow, which both did very well here, the rest were either slow, bland, or comically performed, especially the king at the end. -Collectibles. The scarves were not necessary at all... I figured there would at least be an achievement for them, but there was nothing. No recognition that I'd even found any by the end. -The game was very clearly dumbed down, for lack of a better term. Many puzzles have been replaced by HOP scenes (like the paints or the spider eye puzzle -- the latter I didn't mind as much). The scarecrow literally gives you a blueprint of the items to find to fix him, as if it weren't obvious enough. -Notes were shortened and flavor text on interacting with the world was removed. I adored the flavor text in the original, which kept making the player think about the world and the broader symbolism of the story. Now it's just "Locked." or "Glowing symbols on the wall". Very bland. -Removal of the ending teaser. This is a minor one, but really, the game's ending is lackluster at best without that post-credits teaser. In the original, players KNEW the story would continue and had a hint as to how... here it just feels like an abrupt ending like the game had no payoff. And now I'll talk exclusively about the bonus content (spoiler-free) if this is the deciding factor for anyone. The puzzle pieces are my favorite collectible because they actually unlock a bonus jigsaw with the pieces you've collected, and there's even another surprise after that (which I loved). Further, the bonus game, while clearly made by a different developer from the main game, fit very well with the main story, though it did feel a bit forced. After the intro segment I greatly enjoyed it, and that ending of the bonus, WHOA, I was not expecting that! That made the bonus content much more worth it for me overall. However, the devs clearly skimped, because only five out of the twenty-something songs in the original (and in this game, too) appear in the soundtrack in the bonus content. The concept art is okay, but there's not much because most of the game was remastered, not made new. I wish they would've taken some concept art from the original game and put it here, maybe even some art we didn't see in the original Drawn series or other concept ideas? That would have been so cool. Other than that, you have the standard replay HOP, minigames, cutscenes, wallpapers, and screensavers. As much as achievements are overdone nowadays in HOPA games, this game would have greatly benefited from it. All in all, Redrawn: The Painted Tower is a great game by today's standards, but an okay game when compared to the original. This game feels lighter and more fantastical, whereas the original was deeper and had both more symbolism and darkness in its tone. Though I do prefer the original, I don't regret buying this game, and the bonus game is a welcome addition to the Drawn lore. Let's just hope they do as well with Dark Flight and Trail of Shadows...
Date published: 2021-11-06
  • y_2021, m_12, d_8, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_32922, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

ReDrawn: The Painted Tower Collector's Edition

Can you rescue a child with magical powers in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.