Criminal Archives: City on Fire Collector's Edition

Criminal Archives: City on Fire Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(525.13 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Domini Games brings you a new riveting series in Criminal Archives: City on Fire!

When a string of mysterious murders leaves police in San Francisco stumped, only a crime reporter of your caliber can shed light on the case. A masked criminal calling themselves the Plague Doctor is committing arsons throughout the city in the name of justice. But who and why remains to be discovered. Along with your partner, you’ll plunge into a world of lies, corruption, and deception for your most compelling article yet. Can you uncover who’s behind the mask and stop him before the city’s consumed in flames? Find out in this gripping Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Solve a mysterious murder in the bonus chapter!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games and earn achievements!
  • Collect newspaper clippings, burned buildings, and tokens to decorate the Plague Doctor's office!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, music, videos, and concept art!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1486 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Criminal Archives: City on Fire Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(525.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Criminal Archives: City on Fire Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Criminal Archives: City on Fire Collector's Edition I enjoy playing games by this developer and it makes a change to play a game based on crime
Date published: 2021-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best criminal and mysterious murder ever with 2criminal great story with 2criminal killed that person , the music is fabulous , puzzle as hard and imadiately , hog is great challenge are enjoyable and the story iis completed the images are excellent chapters is great and action thankyou big fish
Date published: 2022-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good game really enjoyed the game. I'm not a lover of hidden object games and this did not have a lot of that in it ...
Date published: 2022-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best crime i give 5 stars good story , good musics , good puzzle with fun hidden object , colorful pictures this is my opinion
Date published: 2022-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Little Origami Dog Visited For Thanksgiving! Being thoroughly honest, Domini and I have a love/hate relationship (well, "hate" is too strong a word but it goes with the cliche). We've seen their offerings bomb and we've seen them rise above like a Phoenix from the ashes. We're hopping the Phoenix freight train for this one. First- let me get my biggest beefs with Domini out of the way (some which they've improved on, some not)- calm down that color palette! The world is not neon and it certainly isn't purple- BUT (there's that big 'BUT' again), in this game the purple is at a minimum and used properly- an improvement. But still, please ease up on the color saturation; it can become overwhelming. Attention to detail: this game takes place in San Franscisco in the early 1900's, around 1920. America has been its own country for almost two hundred years. Why then is Melinda, the San Fran cop, wearing a uniform cap that sports Her Majesty the Queen's Constabulary Metropolitan Police badge on it? <sigh> I know it's no big deal to some but those kind of details drive me nuts. Attention to detail- it's important!! Detail keeps the player in the moment! And please stop congratulating me for everything I do. It's silly. But then, some scenes have great detail that keep the moment real like floating clouds in the sky, people passing by, cars driving along. Love that. And Domini's scenes are always very interactive- I love clicking on everything in the scene and everything does something- it breaks, runs, barks, hisses, chatters, falls over; you name it, it does it. This simply adds to the interactive fun. So, here we have a great story- not going to go into a lot of detail as others do that waaaaay better than I. This game has great puzzles! Loved 'em! New twists! I played most on difficult mode, some I just couldn't. Thoroughly enjoyed the twists on the HOPs, not the usual junk piles- and you've got your Match-3 option should you need a little help. We also have our find- 'ems. I really have fun with these and we've got three types here: statues, newspaper clippings, and puzzle pieces in the close-ups. Adds to the interactive fun and can be challenging to find. The voice overs are believable- no valley girls!!!! Our villain is a bit over-acted, but hey, he's a villain so he's allowed (love his medieval plague mask). The ambient music fits very well and the storyline is fresh, definitely not a rehash of the same ol' grind. So, Domini, you and your little dog are certainly welcome at my house for Thanksgiving. Thanks for this- a definite recommend. Happy Holidays everyone!
Date published: 2021-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong New Series with Some Game Play Changes Good for you, Domini, in creating a new series with some new hidden object scenes and mini-games/puzzles. Also the tasks and inventory gathering were more integrated to the storyline so there were fewer but better (IMO) and not as much repetition of looking for the same object with a new task. Still more repetition than I would like but it is obvious Domini was trying some different game play ideas, and I liked them. Looking forward to the next game in this series, My review is based upon completed play of the main game and bonus chapter.
Date published: 2021-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Domini game to date This is the best Domini studios game to date. Not usually a fan of theirs but played the demo and purchased. Glad I did. Keep it up Domini.
Date published: 2021-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this has the potential for being a great new series score 4.5 - i loved that it was a new theme (reporter) instead of detectives and the paranormal ..... what it lost points for was (a) why doesn't the Reporter talk ? (have noticed that this appears to be happening in lots of games the main character doesn't talk - it is so frustrating because i don't see why not ???) (b) i understand that it is a "game" but some times you really need to make it "believable" - a safe in a police celll ???? (c) did i miss the reporter phoning the police to tell them were they were ??? I liked the hidden objects not just lists - that was good. I liked the puzzles a couple new ones - that also was good. (spoiler alert) I so very much enjoyed the bonus chapter better than the main game - perhaps the Developers could have expanded on that - the reporter helping the police together whereas in the main game the police didn't really do much e.g stood around and then when he was arrested left the Reporter in the cell. Overall it was a fun game and a great start for a new series. Well done developers. Try before you buy - happy gaming :)
Date published: 2021-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing new to see here... It was ok, nothing new. Big black mark for not allowing one to go back and find missing houses; that always strikes me as a cheap and mean spirited shot, as the customer has already bought the game, what's to prove here? Movement of characters was cheaply done like moving stick figures about a board. Lots of the same blocks like plugging holes with wine corks, finding gloves to move leaves or broken glass, etc. A few HOS that were actually clever but most same old, same old. Nice to have the constables appreciative of help and not defensive; of course in the main game you were doing all the work so why not? If you need a game at least get this one on a sale!
Date published: 2021-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Let's See What Domini Is Up To Today! The entire demo was spent on finding items I needed in absurd places and collecting multiple pieces to open or assemble something. The worst was coming up with a hidden smoker's pipe and using it with a pants belt to open a garage door! I guess we can't expect logic anywhere when it's ONLY a game, but a little sure would be nice once in a while! The Plague Doctor, called so because of the Medieval beaked mask he wore, made a couple of appearances and committed another murder right under my nose but I was too busy trying to get through the front door with the missing part. That's where I had to use the old pipe and belt trick to enter through the garage. Alas, by then the fellow was dead and Melinda and I continued on the trail of the killer. He told his story of woe via a storybook HOP. Melinda, the determined policewoman, was shot in the arm. We went into a dangerous underground area and found his hiding place by performing more tedious tasks for further evidence and to keep up with Mr. Looney Tune. That is it, as far as the action goes in the demo. Not much there other than a few HOPs and puzzles. I liked the puzzles more than the HOPs, they were playable in Easy and Hard Mode. The Easy was a little more difficult than in past games but both modes worked for me. Still, I think there are too many puzzles here and I never have the patience for them all. But each HOP and game was fun. The Skip Feature is accessed by clicking the Hint and in Custom Mode both can be reduced to zero seconds. The graphics were exceptionally nice and I wasn't bothered by any garish colors, they were fitting to the surroundings. I thought the characters were well rendered and the voices were appropriate to each role. Facial expressions were a little stiff but that did not spoil the appearance of anyone. The attire was also in line with that era and the autos, home interiors, office equipment, etc also seemed to be. A little authenticity always helps! As usual Domini has given us their old reliable package of collectibles, including lots and lots of notes. And today we're using our tokens to obtain 15 items for the Office. The building figurines are placed on a city map, the newspaper clippings go to an evidence board. The helpful side-tab for keeping count of our finds is again present, I had no difficulty spotting any of them. Never any challenge when it comes to Domini's collectibles. I imagine getting to the meat of the game will take quite a while. Based on the demo I can see where this might turn into a 10 hour game, as one reviewer suggests that is. I found the pace to be incredibly slow with so many tasks plus there are a lot of mini-games to take up even more time. At the end of the 90 min I had made no substantial progress though I did catch a glimpse of what might be waiting, just not enough time to get there which is too often the case. If I played at a fierce pace maybe I could've had a more satisfactory experience. But speeding through isn't fun either. Shouldn't have to rush. In the demo I wish the devs would let us get more into the story and meet more of the characters, to give us a better idea of what to expect. It is just too risky these days to buy a game. Just because it's a particular dev, the storyline grabs you, it's a favorite subject matter, or how they elaborate in the synopsis, there is still a good chance of disappointment. Too many poor quality games for a long while has changed my trust in BF and some devs. I purchase much more cautiously now. I hope this game turns out to be a winner. We certainly need one to make up for the duds we've been given on a pretty regular basis. I am quite interested in this new series but will wait for the SE if I purchase. Domini is no longer my top choice in devs for several reasons, but that's just me. I know they have many fans who wait for each new offering and especially a new series. This one might be just what you're waiting for. I recommend it with 3 stars because of the storyline and the fun HOPs and puzzles I played in the demo.
Date published: 2021-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'VE ARCHIVED THE OBVIOUS Completed Game approximately 5.5 hours (including completion of all Mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 24 Main Game Scene Locations +12 Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Beginner-extremely linear I'm a bit baffled by the rave reviews for this new series by Domini? It's not a horrible game, but how is it any different than the last 3 detective-themed games by this developer? Thanksgiving treated us to a new MCF game that had an amazing story, fantastic graphics, and above all, had non-linear, non-cookie-cutter game mechanics with tasks that made us actually have to think, but everyone hated it? Reviewers were brutal because it didn't live up to a Dire Grove standard (even though those days are long gone because the profit margins are slim to none nowadays, hence, the budgets are lower) yet here we get a cookie-cutter game with neon purple graphics and every cliche task known to HOPA mankind and it's adored? This game is no different than the last game Domini offered or the one before that! It took me two days to complete this game because it was so "typical" that I was bored. When I'd return after an hour or so, I couldn't remember what the plot was about, the characters' names, who the bad guy was, I couldn't even recall what my character's goal was or what I was supposed to be doing from an hour before...yet I can STILL remember everything about MCF nearly a week later! If I'm wrong about this game, then none of these tasks will sound familiar to you as you read them. If I am right, you'll instantly recognize these "same-ole, same-ole" tasks and have the same questions I stated above: *Corkscrews to open drawers that are missing knobs..every single one of them! *Carts missing wheels...4 different carts *Carts missing wheels AND blocking our path...every single one of them! *Crows that won't budge...shoo them with your own 2 hands, people, they are just birds, they aren't even pterodactyls! *Valves missing...I lost count after chapter 2 *Pipes with holes and whooshing pressurized steam, naturally 500 degrees or higher. Available in each unlocked scene! *Pipes with holes that just leak: shove a rag, sponge, or cork in it & don't forget to wrap it tightly with a belt or tape. 4 per chapter *Hanging Bird Cage: no Domini game is complete without at least 1 cage just out of reach and full of random items, why? *Objects too high/far to reach: you know what to do, shoot it down, throw something ate it, use a stick, where's a squirrel when you need him? *Rake Leaves: DO NOT use your foot to brush aside leaves covering something on the ground, that would be blaspheme! *Dig something up: If you find a spoon, shovel, bowl, hat, cup, or goblet ya better hang on to it because, in HOPA world, people bury random objects because no one ever suspects a thing. Clearly, it's magical dirt because no matter how long things are buried, they'll always come out clean & in mint condition, ALWAYS!.. it's HOPA WonderDirt! *Objects in a Sink full of nasty water even tho I'm pretty sure none of the pipes have running water...just pressurized steam? *Objects in a Fountain/Pond/Lake/Pool: requires a net, fishing pole, and or cup, usually a goblet...Goblet stores must make a killing! *Missing Gears: anyone feel a puzzle coming on? *Broken Chains every chain has a broken link, links break because the force was too high yet any low gauge metal will do the trick, even paper clips! *Heavy Object & Wedge: QUICK...think of any 2 random objects as fast as you can...that combination will be used at some point in the game, most likely, several times. *Diamond Ring: it's a Detectives best friend because it can cut glass in a perfect circle every single time. *Statues missing emblems/jewelry/limbs: replace them and the rigid cement statue will snap back into its original posture? *Secret Caches: yes, items ARE indeed buried behind brick, under floorboards, and behind wallpaper. *Sewn Caches: this task is used so many times I feel it needs its own category. Grab a glass shard and start cutting any and all patches that look suspicious! CHAPTER TWO *Lockpicks: at this point, I have literally found & discarded so many makeshift lockpicks that I've probably left a trail more noticeable than Hansel & Gretel could ever imagine. *Mailbox Flag: fun fact...mailbox flags do not activate a spring to open or close the mailbox, it just signifies "you've got mail" but I'm almost positive all Domini Games require replacing at least 1 flag. *Newspaper/Key poke: funny thing...I needed the newspaper for this clever trick 3 times...the 4th didn't require it, hmmmm? *Raise water levels to reach the floating objects: why can't I just make another fishing pole? *Speaking of Fishing Nets, at one point I found parts to repair a fishing net then I used the fishing net...and then I cut it up for parts, hmmm *Insects: I literally had to kill a dozen or more bees that were surrounding a bouquet of flowers inside someone's front room...seriously? I stopped writing down the cliche tasks after Chapter Two. You heard me correctly, all the above tasks were from just the first two chapters, some of which were repeated several times. I know a lot of people will say "it's HOPA world" that's just how things are. Cliche tasks are only used because developers don't want to have to think outside the box and we let them! As I said, MCF's latest game didn't have all these repetitive tasks and it was so much more enjoyable to play! BONUS CHAPTER: (CE Version Only) With the first case filed in the Archives, it's time to travel to New York for your next Criminal Investigation. Once again we have a dead body and no one to point the finger at so it's up to us to find the killer of a recently divorced woman who may have borrowed money from some shady Loan Sharks! There are 5 Hidden Object scenes and 10 Mini-games spread out over 12 additional scene locations, chock-full of the same repetitive tasks we just completed a million times in the main chapters. You will continue your search for the final 6 Morphing Building Figurines, 5 Newspaper Clippings, and 9 Zoom Zone Stone Coins of varying amounts to purchase the final Office Items...same collectibles/morphs different names...how creative guys! COLLECTOR'S EDITION EXTRA'S: (CE version only) 15 Wallpapers (why do they have to have characters slapped on every one of them? Can't you offer some of them with just the scenery?) 15 Concept Art Pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 26 Movie Video Cutscenes, 38 Achievements, 19 Replayable Mini-Games, 18 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 15 Morphing Building Statuettes, 15 Newspaper Clippings (sooo boring!) 70 Zoom-Zone Stone Coins...because people in the early 1900s totally saw the value in rocks versus Gold? 15 Office Items spread randomly throughout a dark and dusty room (purchase wheelchairs & skeletons with your stone-not-gold coins) 6 Main Chapters, +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-In Strategy Guide. Take a stroll in The Woods at my new forum where you can chat about games, find game help & solutions, game series lists, and so much more. All ya have to do is swing by and log on to reconnect with long-lost forum friends and maybe even feed a bear or two at thewoodsforum.boards.net
Date published: 2021-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Been there, done that Maybe it was because I started playing this game directly after Mystical Riddles, but I was disappointed. The similarities are so obvious. Scare the birds to get something, find something to attach 2 pieces of chain together, fan away the smoke, find something/anything to unscrew the screws and what is it about clipping everything with a finger nail clippers. The only thing I liked was the story line. I did come across some new mini games. It was an OK game. So glad that the recent releases of Elephant and GrandMA games were amazing, fun to play and non repetitive.
Date published: 2021-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A New Series Hits the Ground Walking There have been multiple murders in the city. As a reporter I am sent by my editor to investigate as well as write up the story with pictures. I meet my police contact next to the body of what seems to be the third victim laying on the ground outside of a still smoking building. We proceed to investigate murder and arson together. Good news: Some very nice puzzles join the HOPs with an alternative game available. There is a story and the characters are well done. The color pallet is more balanced and much easier on the eyes. There is an assortment of CE bling. Bad news: After multiple victims have already been found, the killer is going after the judge First. I know this because he said so. And I am confused by this slip as it is one of many, even as I rush after the escaping killer to the judge's house. The story rapidly dissolved after that into silliness. I can't give it away, so check the Demo out for yourself. Bottom line: As this game is a cut above most of what we have seen this year - but only just - do you want to accept it with the flaws or wait for something good that may never arrive? Try the Demo for yourself and keep in mind there is a sale on. Just saying.
Date published: 2021-11-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's not bad I like the different thought that goes into solving the puzzles compared to other games and the art style is nice. I have 2 main problems with it though. The cursor doesn't always work right and the storytelling isn't done very well. The ending is too quickly played out and there are several plot holes. This is more a game for those interested in the puzzles and minigames but not much else. It's not a bad game but it does need some work to be better. Play the standard edition instead.
Date published: 2021-12-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Was so bored, this took days to play It seems we are down to a few developers, Domini being one of them. You can play one and you've played them all except if you are playing one of their older games. It seems they are changing the game style so it's compatible with mobile devices. Which means super easy and dumbed down. You literally play the entire game looking for an object to open an object to use it on another object. Gone is the suspense, the story, the excitement of games of the past. The ones where you finished playing and said "wow that was good". Not an ounce of brain power since goodness forbid we go to more than 3 rooms before that area is finished. I suggest you break out the list of HOPA and find some from back in the day for any type of game excitement or challenge. I will not recommend this game.
Date published: 2021-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All Domini All The Time It feels like every week there's a different Domini game out. I mean, seriously, how many times can you break a key by just touching it?! If I see one more thorny bush I'm gonna scream. There ain't enough cloth, gloves, rags, etc to get rid of all the thorns in Domini games! I am just over the redundancy of it all. Christmas Wonderland 12 where are you?
Date published: 2021-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Annoying Hidden Object Game The police commissioner tells you each little thing you need to do. This is too much hand-holding. Maybe a beginner needs that, but not someone who has played more than two HOP games. It was also annoying that a circle appeared each time you clicked on anything. Pity; this could have been an excellent game.
Date published: 2021-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I like to skip puzzles, and I couldn't do that with all of them I gave up on this game when it became clear that I would have to solve three puzzles underwater without skipping them. I am an inveterate puzzle skipper unless they are of a variety I enjoy. These weren't. Bah. Also, the young constable isn't convincing for the San Francisco of the period. Also "Ms."? It was used in the 1700s but not again until the 1860s. And her hairstyle was just distracting.
Date published: 2021-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor user interface One of the games was so poorly designed as to be unplayable. With no skip option, I came to the conclusion I could never finish the game. I simply quit the game, and deleted it from my history.
Date published: 2022-01-05
  • y_2022, m_5, d_23, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_32953, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Criminal Archives: City on Fire Collector's Edition

Can you stop a merciless arsonist from destroying San Francisco?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.