Detectives United: Deadly Debt Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Detectives United: Deadly Debt Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(346.36 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Elephant Games brings the three superstar detectives together again in an intriguing new entry in the always enchanting Detectives United series!

Anna Gray, Dorian Brown, and James Blackthorn are back to take on their biggest case yet – with the assistance of the always reliable Agent Shade, of course. When our intrepid investigators each catch wind of a powerful mystical energy, they’re drawn in once again to investigate visions involving a sinister woman, an older man, and a mysterious violin with unthinkable powers! But who are the victims and who are the villains? More importantly, what dark deals could grant such terrible power? Prepare yourself to step into the shoes of three of the most gifted detectives of all time in this exciting new Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version.

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Solve more mysteries as detectives Anna Gray, Agent Brown, and James Blackthorn!
  • Earn every achievement, including ones from the Secret Rooms!
  • Collect all the clocks and puzzle pieces to learn more about the Detectives United agents!
  • An official strategy guide to help you crack the case!
  • Downloadable music and wallpapers to keep the mystery alive!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1238 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Detectives United: Deadly Debt Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(346.36 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Detectives United: Deadly Debt Collector's Edition is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Detectives United is always a must-buy for me. I've been waiting rather impatiently for this to be released, so you can believe I bought it without hesitation. This is one of my favorite series, and Agent Brown is one of my favorite BFG characters ever. I love the whole team, as far as that goes, and I was eager to see them together again. In largest part, I was not disappointed. The thing I love most about these games is the increasing bond between the DU members, and that was very clear here. I love that James and Anna call their partner by his first name now. The puzzles were sometimes tricky but interesting. I also appreciated that at one point where I screwed up and missed a step, the game didn't force me to restart and fix my mistake; it just plowed ahead as if I hadn't done anything wrong. I did find the ending a little confusing. I'm not sure why the people responsible for Henry's predicament decided to do what they did; it wasn't explained very well, or at least not as clearly as I would have wanted. I may need to play it a second time in order to be sure that I understand what happened. But on the whole it was a good installment and I'm hopeful for a #6 on the horizon.
Date published: 2022-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Less Puzzling, More Sleuthing Four stars are for the general design, more realistic use of objects, and interesting story. In general, I enjoy hidden object/puzzle games; but too many puzzles and I get frustrated because what I really want is to finish the story. I've only played through the demo. So far the story seems good. Playing three detectives without any transition from one detective to the next is awkward. I did buy the one in this series with the blue roses but only because I wanted to finish the story; not because of the game play. I'm probably going to purchase this one too because I want to finish the story. For my fellow players who are good at puzzle; I tip my hat to you.
Date published: 2022-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Go Detectives!! Anna, Brown & Blackthorn This is based on the demo. I saw the first 3 really negative reviews yesterday and was tempted to not even try it. Thank goodness I tried it anyway. To me it is a solid 4 star. This is a fun game and not sure why others have been so hard on it. I do not find it confusing and as someone else remarked the last several games were played where you play 3 different characters, and each has a unique skill that helps solve the case. So far, the game is fun and well worth trying it. I am enjoying the storyline (something different for a change) and I have always liked this series. Glad I tried it and made my own decision. My one negative comment is you do not know when there is a collectable (clock parts & puzzle pieces) and there is not one in each scene. I have sometimes not purchased a game because of this as I find it very frustrating!
Date published: 2022-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am a fan of this series The game had room for more cleverness. I still enjoyed the play.
Date published: 2022-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this game! I think this game has bad reviews. I really liked it and especially like games with good puzzles that are challenging but not too complicated. Give it a try!
Date published: 2022-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Liked it! Not great, but somewhat fun. Easy Peasy. Old fashioned.
Date published: 2022-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the others I love the Detectives United games so when this game came out I quickly bought it, however I don't think this game is of the same quality as the previous ones, first the entire game felt rushed (it only took me 3.5 hours to complete the main game + bonus) and didn't explain things fully along the lines of the investigation, it wasn't clear on why the characters went to places they did or came to the conclusions they did, and there was some dialog errors too, but the thing that bugged me the most was the motive of the bad guy wasn't explained at all, you never find out who/what she is and what her backstory is. Most of the puzzles are easy as are the Hidden object scenes, the collectibles are easy to find and only occur in close up scenes. Overall it's an ok games but I wouldn't waste money on the collector's edition, if you want to play this game I would wait till the standard edition comes out and use a free game voucher if you have one.
Date published: 2022-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring! Not enough Hidden object puzzles, Story was boring. Just Blah! Big Fish is getting sloppy!
Date published: 2022-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Adventure Game Graphics are very good. Overall the game is good and interesting. It plays like the previous game series. The game seemed to have been rushed in development as the way the game plays is kind of quirky but not bad. Some solutions are quirky. You have a jump map to navigate with and it shows if you have objects to find. There is 2 easter eggs to find, puzzle pieces and clock objects. Hops can be tricky. Most puzzles can be solved without brain strain, 2 or 3 are difficult, 1 is very difficult and another is arcade type. Of course, you have a detailed guide and a good variety of the advanced customizations as in most of the more current adventure games. Music is very good, fitting.
Date published: 2022-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The True Meaning of the Word "Meh" Well, Elephant, what can I say? I'm not going to be harsh, but I really think you can do better as your previous editions have proven. The great thing is your graphics. They are actually quite good and have been for quite a while now- great color palette, well rendered characters- you are to be commended for that. Alluding to Restville- that kinda said it all as Restville, in that particular game, was sometimes referred to mistakenly as "Roseville". Gettin' lazy in post-production there. So, I'm playing the game and zipping through it as it is a bit on the easy side (did the devs run out of ideas?). I don't hate it- actually kinda like it. It's just a lackluster game- nothing to make me oooh or ahhhh. Although, again, good job on those graphics. Oh, and please get rid of that silly badge our characters wear- make it look more dignified. Elephant went soft on the puzzles and HOPs- we need more of a challenge. Oh, wait, I almost forgot something...BUT (there it is!! my big 'but').uuhhmm, er uhhhh....hmmm, can't come up a with a big 'But'...huh, kinda sad. Well, that says it all.
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was ok Game was good until the end but played the bonus round it was ok. Kept me a little occupied being bored at home. Love Detective United anyway good to see all my favorite characters.
Date published: 2022-01-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Deadly Debt is Dead I normally really enjoy the Detectives United games. They offer a different perspective than just one person solving a mystery. I agree that solving the puzzles was easy, but then I like easy puzzles so that didn't bother me. The thing that did bother me and this is the reason why I won't buy the game is because it touches on the Occult. I never play games that go this route. I don't want to subject my brain to this particular subject. It's too bad because this would have been a fun game. Oh well, onto the next.
Date published: 2022-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from confusing Not to my liking, just didn't think it was a very good game...I would not recommend it.
Date published: 2022-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ??? I just finished the main game. Did ANYONE understand any of it? My favorite part of games is the storyline, but there are too many holes for it to be followed. Even the last 'battle' with the baddy; she just stood there smiling at the end. What happened? And what was accomplished? And why? I can't even put it down to bad translation issues in this case. They don't even explain the part the violin plays. Very strange, from beginning to end.
Date published: 2022-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from score 2.5 and that is pushing it purchased on a 60% special - i had played the demo and thought "possible if desperate" and when the special was on i purchased it. I am the sort of person that if i have a couple in a series i continue to collect the full series - this is the last one for me in this series. overall the game was just the same as all the others perhaps a little worse - the voiceovers were out of lynch - the storyline was poor. the hidden objects - could find them without having to look at the list (well 95% of the objects before looking at the list). the puzzles were the same in other games - nothing new. I have been so disappointed with the latest "new" games / series that i have started to play my old games - they are so much more fun and adventurous. Perhaps the developers can have a look at some of the old games and get inspiration because these games are boring, same old same old. Try before you buy - happy gaming :)
Date published: 2022-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from would not recommend Did not enjoy this game at all thought the storyline was very weak, the switching of characters seems pointless and the information in some of the Mini games is incorrect it is for a different mini game.
Date published: 2022-01-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DEADLY DEBT...IS THE ELEPHANT SIMPLY FULFILLING THEIR CONTRACT WITH BARE MINIMUM? Completed Game approximately 3.5 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 14 Main Game Scene Locations +5 Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Beginner Dear Developer: After much consideration, I've decided to give up on you. Although I was blown away by Crossroads, I'm confused by the lack of dedication you are putting forth consistently. This game is riddled with mistakes, freezing issues, and non-sensical timeline plots. You were once my favorite developer, but I've come to the conclusion that you are simply developing bare minimum quality games because you have to fulfill a contract and not because you care about the fans who put you on the map in the first place. Fans like myself who loved your games and thought they blew everyone else out of the park, fans like me who stuck by your side for longer than I should have when I saw the decline. We are actually pretty darn smart and quite capable of doing more than placing a zillion emblems. We are smart enough to see the decline of quality and can recognize when someone doesn't care about their product. I'm sorry it has come to this, it's not me, it's you! Prove me wrong, please! GADGETS/HELPER: There are no permanent gadgets (Agent Brown always has a new gadget) but you will play as all 3 characters, Agent Dorian Brown from Mystery Trackers, James Blackthorn from Haunted Hotel, and Anna Grey from Grim Tales...the one who always loses her kid lol. COLLECTIBLES & MORPHS (CE Bonus Chapter only) There are 12 Morphing Watch or Time Pieces, some of which have the wrong descriptions? There are 20 Puzzle Fragments as well that allow you to download 4 different Scenes when completed. All of the collectibles are located within zoom zones that don't close until you select them so they are hard to miss! HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES: There are 9 Hidden Object Scenes +5 in the CE Bonus Chapter, and 6 Zoom Zone HO's throughout the game. At first, I thought the HOs were pretty lame but as I progressed I began to notice that some of the objects were well-blended...but then again, some had weird descriptions such as a smilie face called a Badge! Although most of the main HOs are simple List Finds or Silhouetted Shape Finds, they mixed up the styles such as finding objects on Stained Glass, or removing Pairs of Symbols, etc. MINI-GAMES: There are 15 Mini-Games +8 in the CE Bonus Chapter. Usually, I enjoy Elephant Games puzzles but most of these were super simplistic. The worse part is that starting with the Coin & Cups game the instructions were mixed up, for example, the cups game had directions for the following navigation puzzle, and that navigation puzzle would have directions for the cups puzzle. When you get to the final puzzle of the third and last chapter, there are NO INSTRUCTIONS (just place the monster heads correctly and then repeat the sequence x3)...how do mistakes like this happen Benjamin? Anyway, the puzzles were easily solved on the first attempt, a ton of tile swap puzzles, swap numbers to add up to 15 horizontally, diagonally, and vertically, matching animals to pawprints, balance scales, or repeat the sequence. I did enjoy some of the Triangle swap puzzles! BONUS CHAPTER: (Collector's Edition version only) I forgot what I was doing, actually, after watching a news brief on a television screen, there's an awkward silent pause and then Anna explains they forgot everything...I haven't forgotten how confused I was by this explanation? Basically, it's the same situation as the main chapter only with a cursed Harp. There are 8 additional Mini-Games and 5 Hidden Object Scenes that take place over 5 additional locations. You'll continue your search for the final 4 Morphing Watch Timepieces and 5 Zoom Zone Puzzle Fragments that allow you to set the final screensaver. After completing the Bonus Chapter, you'll gain entry to the Archives and Expedition Rooms. COLLECTOR'S EDITION EXTRA'S: 10 Wallpaper, 4 Jigsaw Fragment Puzzle Pictures, 4 Music Soundtracks, 22 Achievements, 13 Replayable Mini-Games, 13 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 12 Morphing Watch Timepieces with mixed up descriptions, 20 Zoom Zone Jigsaw Puzzle Fragments, an Expedition Room (return to scenes to search for missed Collectibles & Jigsaw Puzzle Fragments) a Secret Room (Timed HO with trophies) 3 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-In Strategy Guide. If you go down in the woods today, you're sure of a big surprise...join us won't you? thewoodsforum.boards.net
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The death knell of the Elephant There was a time when Elephant Games was THE pachyderm in the hidden object game room. There was also a time when Big Fish was the automatic go-to for HO games. This game, Detectives United - Deadly Debt Collector's Edition, shows just how small an elephant can become, and how very little consideration Big Fish has for the thousands of loyal gamers who, like me, have been buying its offerings for more than ten years! The already confused story line is made even more addled by the frequent alternation of the three detectives. I lost track of who I was supposed to be, what I was supposed to be doing, where I was supposed to be. It was like playing three different games at the same time, with no connection between them! This inane game has been well described by other reviewers, so I won’t try to duplicate their good work, but I must make note of some extreme problems with this product of a once esteemed developer. If, like me, you occasionally go to the game guide to check that you’d found the collectable and morphing objects, you will find that this guide has only one page for this and only displays four or five scenes. The entire guide is only nine pages and does not cover most of the game play. There is little continuity in each detective’s individual sections, and certainly none when switching from one to another. Detectives United - Deadly Debt Collector's Edition is more like a Beta game than a finished, polished product and clearly demonstrates the contempt in which Elephant and Big Fish hold those of us who have supported both of them over the years by laying out good money for their products. Without us, there would not even be an Elephant nor a Big Fish! During the past decade, many game developers and game purveyors have appeared, and then vanished because of the poor quality products they offer. I see this same fate looming in the near future for this developer and this purveyor. Don’t waste your download bandwidth on this game and, certainly, don’t waste your money buying it.
Date published: 2022-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been better I have all the games in this series and have to say that this one did not stack up to the others. Game play went very quickly and seemed 'broken'. Feels like they rushed to get this one out.
Date published: 2022-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Elephant, where hav you gone??? I agree with Penmom, the elephant in no longer in the room. In years past, Elephant Games was at the top of the devs in terms of game quality in every respect. Sadly, like all the other BFG devs, quality now takes a back seat to whatever will run on even 25-year-old PCs. Everything looks like a cartoon. There's no challenge, and the most of the VOs are like fingernails on a chalkboard. The only word I can find to describe this game is....LAME! I, too, will not be buying this, and I'm ready to cancel my membership. Maybe one day before the adventure game market completely goes away, BFG will wake up! However, they seem to ignore all comments.
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This Is A Joke! Right?? I do not understand how this game received overwhelmingly positive reviews from the beta testers, as claimed in the synopsis! It is just a mess that certainly is not CE material. We have plenty of bad games to increase the junk pile, without adding this one to the heap. The demo was a glaring example of poor quality. I played til the end and it left me wondering "Why on earth would Elephant Games think this game is a 'wow'?? It is lacking on so many points which were apparent just in the demo. We don't even get a new TGT every day. A few times lately we've gotten an old $2.99 Daily Deal instead. We wait for something new and entertaining and we are just "thrown an old bone". It's bad enough already that the SE version of a CE game is considered a new TGT. Big Fish is really not the "tops" anymore but I remain faithful, hoping it will get back on track. This series has not been strong since the beginning, but today's game is a total loser, in my opinion. It may appeal to many others who love these characters or like to collect entire series regardless of the stories. But for me, I don't see the attraction with this one. Granted, the demo doesn't contain a great deal of the actual story, but within the 90 minutes I saw enough to know it would not be a good choice for me. I was bored, a bit confused and definitely disappointed. The puzzles and HOPs were easy, there was a problem with one game but don't know if it was me or a game error as I'm not a puzzle expert. The graphics were not so good, scenes were dark. Nothing stood out with the characters in their appearance. Try the demo. You might find it all very enjoyable, especially if you enjoy this group of detectives which includes Anna Gray.
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A DIZZYING BACK-AND-FORTH ROLLER COASTER RIDE THROUGH TIME REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 3 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 28 pages (My Time: 4.5 Hours) STORY: Join the three paranormal detectives as they tag team to battle an evil sorceress, Agatha. This evildoer grants wishes to her clients for a price. The terms of her contract can be murder for those who sign it. Zigzag back-and-forth through time as you play each of the three detectives. HELP ME! I AM LOST IN TIME! Where am I? I am still confused on some aspects of the story behind this game! With each of the three characters moving back-and-forth through different time periods and places, I felt overwhelmed. I found it difficult to keep up with where I was located and the time period I was in. Editor’s choice designation? Sorry, but I found this game one of the worst games I have played this year. In addition to the confusing stories in both the main game and the bonus chapter, I found several errors in the mini-games. The activities are lackluster, most lacking creative design. After the phenomenal game Elephant published a few weeks ago, this one is a surprise – a horrible surprise! This is a very short, dark game dealing with ritualistic practices of the occult. The collectibles are morphing watches and puzzle pieces. The collectibles are few and far between and many scenes do not have any at all. I found most easy to locate. However, unlike other games, all the collectibles are located within the close-up scenes. There is an Expedition Room which allows the players to return to scenes to retrieve any missing collectibles upon completion of the game. As in many this developer’s games, there is a Secret Room in which the player can return to the scenes to locate more items. MANY MINI-GAME ERRORS! Two mini-games have their directions switched. A sleight of hand puzzle has its directions switched with a map puzzle which follows it sequentially. One of the puzzles does not even have directions. I figured out the first part of this puzzle – matching skeletal heads to the proper ones emanating from Agatha; however, I could not figure out the second part of the puzzle. Finally, I just gave up and skipped it. Errors like this are unforgiveable. There is no reason that these errors should have not been discovered by the game testers. Unfortunately, we are seeing more errors within these HOPA games. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • 22 achievements. • Collect 13 morphing watches and 20 puzzle pieces • 10 wallpapers along with concept art, music, and video sequences • Replay 13 HOP scenes and 13 mini-games • Expedition Room which allows players to return to the scenes to locate missing collectibles • Secret Room in which to locate more items within the scenes. You are timed and can earn awards. BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel to the main game. Play the trio of paranormal investigators as they investigate another case of ritualistic magic. The case is like the violin case from the main game. It appears someone is trying to recreate Agatha’s ritual. I found the story in this chapter confusing as well. There are four (4) HOP scenes and six (6) mini-games. I did feel the activities were somewhat better than the main game. HOP SCENES: Beyond Boring! I counted fourteen (14) scenes, thirteen (13) of which can be replayed upon completion of the game. However, one of those is debatable as to whether the developer considered a HOP scene or a mini-HOP scenes with only nine (9) items. There are several mini-HOP scenes, each with a small number of items to be located – usually five or six. All the scenes are either lists of items or silhouette. However, there is one which uses sliders to place pieces of the items on top of the item itself to remove it. Another involves replace items back into the scene. Other than those two, all the rest of to me were repetitious. MINI-GAMES: There are twenty-two (22) mini-games, thirteen (13) of which can be replayed upon completion of the game. Some of the puzzles from this game are the only saving grace for this game. Most the puzzles are well-constructed, although three had issues with directions. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MINI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Switch puzzle. Switch picture fragments to restore two pictures. B. Sleight of hand puzzle. Take a token and put it under a cup. Then a mechanized machine will rotate them. Try to pick the cup with the token under it. 3X (Has the wrong directions) C. Map puzzle. Set the route for couple to move through the streets of a town. Set up the 5 directions and then the characters will move it see if you are correct. 3X (Has the wrong directions) D. Rotating tiles. Picture puzzle in which the player rotates triangular pieces of a picture until the picture is formed. E. Switch puzzle. Switch 15 tokens hanging on 3 bells (5 each bell) until each matches the pattern directly above it. F. Weights and balances puzzle. Place 3 weights int a the left-hand pan on a set of scales so that the weights equal the weight of the amber in the pan on the right side of the scales BONUS CHAPTER G. Weights puzzle. Pour wine into glasses so that the weight in each glass matches that given in a diagram. H. Rock, Scissors, Paper. Beat a sly skeleton at his own game. Choose between the 3. You need to win 2 out of 3 I. The Evolution of Man Puzzle. Switch puzzle. Switch slides to sequence the evolution of man – from a furry little monkey to a furry-faced modern man. For some out there – this evolution is reversed. **I usually never give a 2-star rating to a game; however, with the errors in this game, I feel it was necessary
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Now They Are Killing The Detectives! Three close co-workers dismiss each other as though they all were exposed to the plague and go in three directions. Suddenly they are all on a case, but no one of them is sure of what the others are doing or where they are. Since when did the team break into such disparate parts? As for a story, there is a violin, some involvement with the occult, and souls to be stolen to resurrect the dead. Oh, yes, and everybody is in trouble. We get a glimpse into two living quarters, only to find that the residents keep everything broken, locked, and inaccessible. That's OK as their office is much the same way. I won't speak to the game play as it is weak as water, the animation is stilted, and the scenes are bland. The closest they come to some excitement is the sneer on the victim's face. The overall effect of the game is to remind me that I had taken a break from reviews as I could not find anything to be happy about in the last few months. And this game is one more piece of sadness! Please play the demo.
Date published: 2022-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from One of the worst I've played from Big Fish in a while! This game was really boring, all over the place and super short. It had no real plot, I finished the game in an hour wondering what it was even really about. It is confusing and all over the place. You just keep jumping from scene to scene as different people with no real backstory.
Date published: 2022-01-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from big fish profit before pleasure what can I say, same old, same old. Please BFG these new releases are so formuleic, whether elephant, domini other contributors. Unless there is an improvement in what is offered I will no longer keep my account or purchase games, even though you have a monopoly
Date published: 2022-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unbelieveable I am an avid fan of these type of game. Since the pandemic I have noted with have gone down in the number and quality of the games but this game is the biscuit. The whole strategy guide is only 28pages one page of which is for collectibles. The game is same old same old and for me was far to easy. The strategy guide does not work properly in that the instructions for the mini games are not in sync with the actual mini game being played We have been in a pandemic for so long now it leads me to believe the developers are getting complacent at best or lazy. How on earth this can be viewed a CE edition I sball never know. Think I will consider a break if they do not improve.
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Something is missing here... If you choose to buy this game, be ready to jump from the beginning (demo) straight to the end (after demo). They just forgot to add the middle part of this story, that's why the story line is so incomprehendable. But if you think that the developers doesn't listen to users' opinions, you are wrong! There's Daddy's foto inside!
Date published: 2022-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from How does this series keep getting worse? Remember when the first Detectives United game came out and it was so appealing and different? Each game since gets worse and worse. I got this one with credits and, dang, what a waste. I had hoped the bad reviews were wrong but nope. Oh, Deadly Debt, let me count the ways you are awful. Or, as others have pointed out, how this seems hastily thrown together and poorly done. The HOs are so simple that you can usually find the majority of things without looking at the list. There's a map, but why bother? You're not going anywhere. At most you move between two scenes/rooms and that's rare. Usually you're stuck in just one room using whatever you found there. The puzzles are either super easy or tedious and there to pad out the time. There are multiple errors that don't completely stop game play but do make it difficult. The animation is so awful. I've been replaying a bunch of games from the early '10s and they're better than this! At one point a character's mouth kept moving after their voice stopped. Is this a 1960s Godzilla movie?! Worse, nobody has any real expression. Just wooden, bored faces. And the VO actors are as wooden as their images. They sound like they'd rather be doing anything else. There's frequently no emotion in their voices which matches the wooden animation. Come on, Elephant, you can do better. You used to be one of the best. This is an incredible disappointment.
Date published: 2022-01-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Time Usually when I play a mystery game, the mystery isn’t “What are these characters doing?” or “Where are we?” or “What’s going on?” This game is a waste of potential and surprisingly boring for a story involving multiple murders, magic, and time travel. There’s barely a plot. You progress from event to event abruptly and often inexplicably, with the general feeling that some critical exposition scenes have been left out. The game design is full of cut corners and a lack of investment in development. Instead of roaming an environment of linked spaces, the traditional conceit of exploring a meandering environment like a mysterious house or abandoned hotel, you’re stuck in one room, two at most at any given time. You’re not shown arriving and figuring out how to get in, then wandering around figuring out where to go and what to do, you’re just there. The characters could be teleporting at random for all you know. There’s little need to engage your brain. Aside from a lack of need to pay attention to any story, there’s no need to bother with building an inventory of stuff and exercising a little creative thought or recall to figure out how to use it, since needed objects are generally piled in the one room you’re allowed to be in. There’s not a lot of effort needed to do anything. “Puzzles” are usually not actually puzzles, just following explicit instructions or moving a set of objects into the correct places. You could pretty much disengage your brain and complete the game through button mashing alone. On top of that, the game is just sloppily made. It crashed several times during my play-through. Several item descriptions and in-game instructions were wrong, obviously meant to be in other places in the game. The coding was bad, with image overlays not mapping to the background correctly on several occasions, sometimes making the game unplayable until it resolved the issue by crashing. When I tried to explore the bonus content, instead of getting a loading or transitional screen, I often just got a black screen that hung around until I pulled all the way back to the main menu manually. Detectives United and other Elephant Games used to be the gold standard for hidden object games and used to be Must Buys, but I think I’m done. If this is what Big Fish holds up as an Editor’s Choice, then I’m cashing in my remaining game credits on some older classics and canceling my account before the next billing cycle.
Date published: 2022-01-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from whats happened with Bigfish? Im so disappointed! What has happened with bigfish games? They keep pitting out horrible games! No effort put into it. I have free game coupons I have not been able to use by the time they expire because the games have been so bad! I keep hoping! They try to throw out a new collectors edition while Every other game is an old one they are recycling! I really debate canceling my membership fee every day!
Date published: 2022-01-20
  • y_2022, m_7, d_4, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_33028, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Detectives United: Deadly Debt Collector's Edition

The tenacious trio takes on a master of the occult!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.