Book of Legends

Book of Legends

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(87.97 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Join Zoe and Charleston Black as they unravel a powerful and ancient Arthurian legend in this gripping Hidden Object game! What began as a casual interest quickly spirals into a dangerous obsession when a young researcher is consumed by the search for a mythic book of limitless power. Travel the world uncovering clues to one of the most powerful and sought-after tomes in human history. Delve into Book of Legends today!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 106 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Book of Legends

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(87.97 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Book of Legends is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Talk About Squabbles This is a beautifully crafted adventure/puzzle/HOS game; length is about 5 hours. The creators gave us real-life squabbling siblings through the entire game - brings back memories. Voice-overs are quite good and actually sound like authentic bickering. He is overenthusiastic, optimistic, and sees the world as one rosy adventure. She is the smart one, cynical and humors him and, for her reward, is exasperated. Their differences in personalities will make you laugh. There are 6 cities in which riddles are solved, puzzles played and money earned to pay the airfare to the next city. The siblings use a PDA to keep in touch. There may be too much handholding for some people because the characters are always making suggestions. Each chapter ends with variations of HOS and a few puzzles. Story is very well thought out and all the fairly easy riddles, puzzles and HOS are integrated into the game. The artwork is bright and colorful. An orchestra with an occasional choir provides a changing rhythmic music appropriate to the story. Definitely worth a try and a smile or two.
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game for younger players I want to give a shout-out to the voice acting in this game - it is really exceptionally good. Normally I am not a fan of lots of dialog, but in this case the actors are so good and the dialog is entertaining and very natural-seeming so it's not even annoying. The other sound effects and music are good too. Another plus - there is a lot of variety in what is basically a hidden object game. The objects one needs to find correspond to a great extent to the city where the action is located from time to time, which I think is a plus. The graphics are pretty but somewhat grainy but mostly it's not too hard to find the objects. It is definitely aimed at kids about 11-15, I would say, so adults may get bored after a while. I am still playing, though!
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something a bit different - try it for yourself After reading such conflicting reviews I had to try this. I love the riddle clues and the variety of tasks. Some hidden objects are easy, others are tricky even with a hint - the grid type hint is a good original twist. Not so thrilled that I will buy immediately, but for now it's at the top of my list of games to buy with my next monthly game club credit.
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and funny adventure great adventure with a brother and a sister. a lot of riddles and hidden objects
Date published: 2013-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from book of legends i have completed the game and it was a pretty good game can any1 tell me what the follow on from his one is as it ended it came to a part where it said catch the follow on and never specified what the follow on was can any1 help
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from review this game is signed as adventure but it is a HOG. An average story nice to play and to forget. Who like adventures look for another one.
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So-So Game This game had a lot of potential, but there were so many annoyances. A brother and sister are working through the clues in a mysterious book and searching for Excalibur. You play as the sister and stay in touch with your brother via cell phone. You travel to various countries and go through the riddles in the book to find clues to the location of Excalibur. The graphics are okay, but when you get to a location and begin clicking to find objects, the scene momentarily blurs. It became really annoying as the game progressed. After you find the clue in a scene, you receive requests via cell phone to find objects or take pictures. You are paid for these requests and use the funds to purchase airfare to the next country. This was actually an interesting twist and I enjoyed that part. When you are looking for objects, you can click them in the list and see an outline of them on the cell phone. This is actually very helpful as some of the objects are very difficult to locate. The hint button does not show the actual object, but displays a grid and tells you which grid to search. I actually enjoyed this pat. The brother and sister talk constantly. You can click through the dialogue, but it get really irritating after a few scenes. I finally muted the voice overs and read the dialogue. Some of it was snarky, which was fun. After you finish each location fanfare plays. While it was fun the first time or two, it was really annoying by the end of the game. Last, but not least, the game ends on a cliffhanger to set up a sequel. I really feel cheated when this happens. I was already somewhat annoyed with the game and this was the final straw. This game could have really been fun had the developers made some different decisions when writing the game. I'm not sure I recommend this game. If you can overlook the annoyances, it is a fun game, but they are hard to overlook.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me, but you may like it. :) This didn't really grab me. I've played through the whole of the demo, but won't be buying it. I like to start with positives, so... One good thing I noticed is that there doesn't seem to be a penalty for too much clicking, which is always a plus. :) Also, I see that one reviewer said that you can't skip the intro, but I found that it skipped just by clicking on the screen. :) As for the less good stuff... For me, the plot was a little too daft. I won't annoy myself by rehashing all the details of its daftness. However, I will say that, for an ancient mystery, it's remarkable how much of it seems to hinge on very modern things, and that, for an Arthurian mystery, it seems to have naff all to do with Arthur, apart from the mention of Excalibur, which, it seems, you won't find till the end of the game. However, if you don't mind daft plots - or indeed, if the plot aspect is of no interest to you - you may well enjoy the game. :) I also found the characters mildly annoying, but a lot of peeps who've reviewed this seem to like them, so hey - maybe you will too. :) Finally, I'd add that I haven't found it challenging enough to be interesting. If I enjoyed the plot more, I might not mind that, but as I've said, the plot doesn't grab me. So to sum up: It's really not for me. But what are minuses to me may be pluses for someone else. If the scenario seems interesting to you, you may as well try the demo at least, and see if you like it. :)
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from could have been better This was such a great concept, but the HO scenes killed it for me. The graphics were detailed but I'm realizing I don't like that type of drawing, there was no depth perception, just piles and piles of junk. Some HO were nearly impossible to see, and some of the objects I'd never even heard of before. There was no misclick penalty and the hint button recharged fairly quickly so that saved me. Also good was the banter between the brother and sister. I'm disappointed because this could have been much more fun if they had included interesting puzzles and better-drawn scenes. Towards the end I couldn't wait for it to be over.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stupid Little Game This is a stupid little game. Bad story, bad graphics, bad game play, two bickering characters, too much leading, not much in the way of challenge. But SOMETHING about this game kept me coming back and coming back and coming back until I finished it, only to find it wasn't finished and that there's a non-existent sequel. But I still enjoyed it! I have visited many of the places in the journey, and the scenes were true to the locales, although stretched a bit. Nice memories. But what a STUPID game. Not sure if I recommend it or not. If you like straight, difficult, HOS, maybe you'll like it. If you don't, you probably won't like this game.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A good intro game into hidden objects and great for Kids. This game admittedly is very simplistic, and as for the talking, if you just click right through it the talking almost disappears, and as was mentioned by SeaBamboo if you just go into options and turn down the talking and celebrating . As for their being no hints; there is a small area on the bottom right, and when you click on the object's name, a sillouette appears, which in itself is sort of a hint, but if you click on the little circled "?" a grid will appear over the picture telling you exactly where to look. So if you are looking for an easy game this will introduce a person to hidden object games.
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good story..but Tried the trial game. Not a bad game, but far too much voice over. If you shut off the sound - too much script. Other than that, it's a nice game. Not terribly challenging, Good for a relaxing afternoon. I suggest that everyone try before buying, as perhaps the voice overs won't bug other people.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Extremely Boring, Misrepresentative, and Pointless... :( This has to be the worst review I have given a game and that is saying a lot, considering I always try to err on the side of giving better reviews than a game usually deserves... I should begin by noting the particular "version" of the game I played, since it seems that the game has been released several times in different forms. Mine was a store-bought copy and, unlike what some reviewers have noted, mine did have both the Hints and the ability to skip dialog. But those two features did not make the game any better for me... Both the front and back covers of the game's case touted how it was supposed to be an "Adventure" game. There was absolutely no indication on the case at all that it was anything but an "Adventure" game. So the fact that it turned out to be a Hidden Object (HO) game was in itself quite disappointing, since I'd started the game thinking that it was going to be an Adventure game! So that is what I meant by "misrepresentative." In fact, the game is nothing *but* full of HO scenes. There are no puzzles whatsoever. Each "mission" is only a couple of minutes long, depending on how quickly you finish the HO scene. The objects are often tiny and difficult to find. In fact, if it weren't for the Hints, I might not have even bothered to finish the game, because these HO scenes are really not that interesting... Each mission also starts with a riddle. But if you don't like solving riddles, don't worry - you play no part in solving them. All you have to do is just sit back and (possibly hold your head if it hurts too much as you) listen to what sometimes seems like an endless chatter as the only two characters (a brother and a sister) in the game discuss and interpret the riddles *for* you. In other words, again, you get to do nothing but attend to the HO scene that follows each such chatter... Speaking of the characters now, once again the front and back covers of the game were so misrepresentative. These covers showed only a few screenshots which never revealed just how bad those "locations" really looked in the game OR that the two characters are nothing but cartoons set on either side of the bottom of the screen! And the music... Was there any music? I can't remember, it must have been quite inconsequential... If anything, I was probably being generous when I assigned 2 stars ("poor") to the Visual/Sound Quality of the game. I should probably have gone with only one star("Awful")... The storyline is probably the worst of all. It doesn't even make sense! The brother and sister split up, and we play the girl's part as she flies all over the world, trying to follow the clues of this so-called "Book of Legends." But that is not the part I find objectionable. What was really ... well, laughable actually.. is that she continues to communicate with her brother, who basically looks up his computer to help her translate languages, interpret symbols, etc. Considering she is supposed to be quite a smart cookie herself, why couldn't she have just taken her own computer along with her and gotten the same information on her own, rather than emailing him pictures of everything she sees?!!! In addition, it's hard to believe she can so freely explore and even exploit such historical places all over the world, without *any* resistance or intervention by *any* authorities that usually guard such places! In fact, not only does she explore and exploit for the sake of her main quest, she even blatantly *steals* objects for her so-called "side quests" in order to make money to fund her extensive travels! Indeed, one of the very first places where she does all this is no less than the OVAL OFFICE of the PRESIDENT of the UNITED STATES!!! So where is the Secret Service?!! Can any tourist break off from the tourist group and go into the Oval Office, and do whatever they like there, as she does?!! Of course, not!!! So, not just unbelievable, but actually ridiculous... :( Now I know it's only "nice" to say *something* nice about the object of a review, but the one and only thing I can think of is the Hint system, which was apparently added on to later versions of the game. As I mentioned, all you get in this game are the HO scenes. So that's the only place you use those Hints, of course. And the Hint system in this game is in fact quite unique. When you click on the Hint, a grid appears with letters in the left column and numbers in the top row. Along with the grid, a short sentence appears towards the top of the screen, telling you to look at a certain part of the grid, for example, "Check f3." Given the bad graphics, you might still have to struggle a bit, trying to find the object in that particular part of the grid. And the grid does disappear rather quickly, so you better not dawdle. But then, the Hint recharges fairly quickly, so you can try again. Frankly, it might have been better if the Hint just pointed out the object, as they do in most HO games. But, at least, it's a creative idea. In short, this is quite a boring, unbelievable, and poorly developed game. It's also quite pointless in the sense that you are basically going from one HO scene to another, without much incentive *or* drive to do so. I guess, one might enjoy this game if one were 10-12 years old *or* just having a childlike mood where you just want to sit back, clicking through one HO scene after another, listening to a seemingly never-ending chatter in between. Most of us are not like that, however. And so,
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What Sequel? I bought this game on a whim, mostly because it doesn't take much of a computer to run it. It is mostly a hidden object game. The constant voice overs bugged me. But I played through it anyway. When I got to the 'end', its says stay tuned for Part 2 then the game starts over. Part two doesn't exist - you are left hanging without out it ever coming to a conclusion. The sequel was never made. That should be a hint as to what to expect. It could have been much much better. Good for a 10 to 13 year old - maybe.
Date published: 2014-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good concept, bad game. Even with the bad reviews I thought this was going to be a good game. It definitely could have been, but wasn't. To start with, there is a very long, drawn out intro that you are not allowed to skip...ever...and it replays every single time you start the game. So if, like me, it takes you many, many attempts to get through the whole game, start it and go fix a cup of tea cuz it's going to be awhile. Like everyone else said, way too much dialogue although muting it and just reading it made it much better. Good snarky factor between brother and sister. And lastly, the graphics were annoying. Every time you clicked on something, whether is was right or wrong, the scene blurred and refocused. And there was so much stuff in every single scene, it was hard to see anything. Some of the hidden objects were so small you couldn't tell what they were. Heck, even some of the large ones you couldn't tell what they were. I used the hint button consistently in every scene, and all it did was give you a grid and "look in this box". More than once I found myself just clicking around in that box til I hit on the right thing. Finally, the ending...or I should say the beginning of the next adventure. More dialogue...white print over a character in a large, long white robe. So if you've muted it because the voice overs are so annoying, you also can't read it. Avoid this one, it's a bust.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not good played half of trial deleted game spent most of the time clicking no hint button could be a good game
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Book of Legends Auful game, to much clicking to find objects. to much talking , no hints. Need I say more
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Might be appropriate for very young teenagers Maybe older kids and very young teenagers can have fun with this game to get an introduction into adventure games. If you're older, forget it. The game doesn't require you to think at all, it boils down to a simple (though at times challenging) hidden object game. The voice-overs are annoying at best: I could so little tolerate the artificial excitement in the voices that I muted them. If you like hidden object games you might like this one. If you're into thinking and solving riddles, avoid it.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another older style game Just didn't care for it. The graphics were older style. The gameplay was a little glitchy, and the graphics weren't interesting. In fact that made the game less interesting. Didn't care for the hint system, either.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad game Just when I thought I'd already seen the worst game ever, along comes this dog. The format is different than most games, at least most games I like. You go to different locations from a map where you are supposed to accomplish some goal to get a clue. It's all hidden objects from there, and they are really hidden. The hint button points to a location on a matrix, not at the object. The story and presentation are awful with juvenile characters in a mind boggling exchange of chit-chat. I couldn't even stand to finish the demo. The artwork is very good, but that's all that is good about this game.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Run away from this one I lasted about 30 minutes with this and I only did that because I must have purchased it at some point. Not sure what I was thinking because this game is awful. Badly done HO scenes with poorly drawn object, many of them all but hidden in ways that make it so you can never find them. Absurd "jobs" to pay for your travel. And the dialogue is so bad...and performed so badly...it is a total mess. Not fun. Not even pleasant to look at. A huge combination of boredom, irritation and frustration. This game has absolutely no redeeming qualities
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad, BAD voice acting. The graphics are good, storyline original, but that is not enough to save this game from it's utterly cringe worthy, over the top voice acting. This is especially true about the actor portraying the brother. This is a "no buy" for me, even as a daily deal.
Date published: 2012-07-18
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_3501, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Book of Legends

Join Zoe and Charleston Black as they unravel a powerful and ancient Arthurian legend in this gripping Hidden Object game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.