Echo: Secret of the Lost Cavern

Echo: Secret of the Lost Cavern

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(945.02 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Walk the path of Arok, a prehistoric tribesman in search of his destiny in Echo: Secret of the Lost Cavern. His journey will take him into the heart of an enchanted mountain and through a cavernous maze. Armed with his wits, and the help of a mysterious spirit guide, Arok seeks out magic cave paintings to help him solve cunning puzzles and face deadly traps. Modeled after the real-world cave network of Lascaux in France, this Adventure game is sure to challenge and inspire.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1031 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Echo: Secret of the Lost Cavern

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(945.02 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Echo: Secret of the Lost Cavern is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough? Absolutely! Fun? You bet!!! Now and then I like a game that gives me a real challenge, and "Echo" definitely does! If you're the type who likes to figure everything out no matter how long it takes, you'll love "Echo" -- however, for me, all I can say is, "Thank Goodness for walkthroughs!!" ;) (You'll have to use a search engine to find one....) I'm nowhere near done playing "Echo" yet, but enjoying every minute... and this is a game that will take a long time to play.... For one thing, it's not one you'll accomplish in one sitting. For me, I'll play for a while then switch to a more casual game.... If you're a curious person who loves history, you'll enjoy all the reading material that comes with it.... (also helps you figure out some things....) If not, you can just ignore it. The graphics are great and the voice-over is good, but the mouths just move regardless of what's being said, which looks weird to me ;) -- Anyway, fair warning..... this one's no walk in the park but, for me, well worth playing!
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT!!! I wish there was a part 2 or other games similar to this! Most adventure games are really hidden object but this one was a true adventure game with excellent graphics!
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Difficult but outstanding gameplay You will need to download a walkthrough for this game BUT it is worth it. The graphics, audio, and storyline are superb. This game is VERY challenging, but can be done. I highly recommend it :)
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME!!! One of the best. It's a large file but the story line is nice and interesting. Some challenge but when I got stock I was able to find a walkthrough in the web.
Date published: 2012-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is awesome! Omg, it's the Daily Deal and I really hope that this message gets to the review board today rather than later. This game is totally awesome. I found it educational, entertaining and challenging. At first I was totally clueless (something that often happens to me in large file adventures) but if you put yourself into the situation of a stone age man and allow yourself to think a lot more basic when having to solve a problem (e.g. if you need certain tools you may have to build them without any mod-cons and without materials that hadn't yet been invented) you'll get to the end.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game. Another winner from Kheops. Great graphics, sound, story, and educational too. Play time ~9 hours As with other Kheops games, the games visuals are wonderful. The atmosphere and settings are very foreign to me and looked splendid. It makes you feel like you are in the old age depicted according to the story. It felt very adventurous. The puzzles were also quite fresh, and I love how they integrated the puzzles in to the environment of the various settings. The story is good but not too involving; the main interesting parts of the game are how they involve you directly in to the center of the story. You may also learn some things from playing this but it is completely optional, as there is a hub that keeps track of things you encounter and give you some interesting historical facts. The game is also suitable to all ages, as I am concerned. As any violence in the game is purely for the survival of the main protagonist and is characteristic of the age in which the story takes place.
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just a Few Things Simply fantastic, I must say. Great graphics and story, an amazing amount of background information, and all around, I'd love to see more games like this - truly adventure games without hidden object scenes. BUT. Some of the puzzles are not 'intuitive' at all and if there is a logic behind them, I can't find it. The Hands puzzle for instance, seems totally random. I want to be able to understand the point of the puzzle and logic behind it, and that one simply eludes me. Other puzzles were simply frustrating by the lack of information. Several of them neglect to tell you that all the colors need to be the same (after I'd spent ages graduating the colors). Having the character gives a few words of information for the mechanics of the puzzle would be excellent. The colors for the various puzzles could be a bit more clear, the brown and black were difficult to distinguish, and the 'clear' for white was confusing. The final puzzle is a teeth gritter due to game mechanics and was difficult to finish. Again, a few explanations would be helpful. Overall, it's worth the price of admission, and I'd love to see more of these. The story itself was engaging, the characters likable, and the history fantastic.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wanting a hard adventure game with challenging puzzles? This is a KHEOPS game. The same people that made return to mysterious island. If you like this game or played RTMI it's the same kind of play, same interface. Once you get used to the games interface you can slip right into the other game. You play as a prehistoric caveman and his life. I did need a walkthrough with this game, as the game play area seems so vast (it's not really). Also it's useful to help you at the beginning to know how to play - instructions. I would rate this at the harder end of adventure games that are out there, this is not an easy game! The puzzles were a bit hard but I think the challenge was more in figuring out what the puzzles are and how to do it. This game takes patience and a lot of time. Which to me is great! If you are a HOPA/IHOG player, don't expect large file games to be like a HOPA without the hidden objects. It's not. It does take a while to get the hang of how any large file game plays. But if you want a long, go on an adventure with lots of puzzles type game, then you will be rewarded for your patience and persistance. I love how they incorporate some history and the inbuilt encycopedia into the game, I learned stuff playing this! It's certainly worth the money and plays on my windows 7 nivida card computer.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly short but edutaining cave painter adventure I've found most of Kheops studio's games to be enjoyable and this one was no exception. Additionally, it is actually educational, but only if you want it to be. The story is a rather simple affair about a young Cro-Magnon man striving to be a painter in a world where cave paintings have supernatural powers. While this is an interesting idea for a story, there is barely any background information or detail and I found the story to be the weakest aspect of the game. On the positive side the game contains plenty of information about life in pre-historical times but this is optional reading in a small built in encyclopedia and does not form part of the story. Like most Kheops games the game also has a pleasant atmosphere. Puzzles are fairly challenging and for the most part quite fun. They also fit the theme of the game quite well with. For example you need to do some crafting, such as making a simple weapon, and a bit of painting. There are also some fairly original puzzles that are based on manipulating cave paintings that come alive. On the downside the game is very linear and there is often only a single puzzle to work on at a time, which means that if you get stuck on that puzzle, you cannot do something else in the game and come back to that puzzle later. Graphics and sound are good but nothing exceptional. The game is rather short and unfortunately not all that replayable since it is mainly the puzzles and not the story that make the game fun and having solved them once they won't present much challenge on a second playthrough. In conclusion, this is an enjoyable and potentially educational game with fairly challenging puzzles and an interesting and original setting. Unfortunately short length combined with lack of replayability, a story without much depth and excessive linearity keeps it from being the great game it could have been but it is still good enough that I can recommend it.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fun even though travel made me dizzy! Even though I knew the motion in traveling through this game would make me dizzy, I tried the demo and found the game to be fun & challenging. The graphics and voice overs are very good. This game will make you think and then think again. Loved the challenge of the bison hunt and the fact there is so much history documented in this game Played 50 minutes of the demo and got as far as finding the torches for the journey through the other caves. Decided then to purchase, since I wanted to continue the adventure and knew I would not complete that challenge in the next 10 minutes!. Try the demo. As far as game controls, remember you can also right click......
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was fun Beautiful graphics of a prehistoric era. Yes, there can be some 'dizziness' if you do not control your cursor. The first game I played like this took me 3-4 times (just getting started) to finally determine how to handle it. The puzzles were interesting and do get you mind working - but many will take so long that you really need to use a walkthrough. And that is the problem with so many of these adventure games, you really need to use a walkthrough -unless you want to wander around & have to keep going back to pickup something OR spend forever figuring out a puzzle. But overall it was interesting even while using a walkthrough (which I had to print out). (could only put one game for favorite but ALL Syberia is my favorite, not just part 1)
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feels like time travel! First, this game is just like a large file game & not sure why it is only in the adventure section. I found it because I was looking for more games like "Return to Mysterious Island" and it is by the same developer. I don't quite get the organization of games on this site... Anyway, you can try this first so there is no reason to be disappionted if it's not your genre. Pros: Beautiful graphics like Mysterious Island, Interesting time frame with real historical data that makes you feel like you are experiencing life during the distant past, difficult but interesting puzzles, cool music and sound effects, neat characters. Cons: Storyline is a little flat, not much suspense or mystery or surprise involved. And although there are some beautiful scenes, there is a lot of time spent in dark caves. Honestly I enjoyed this game & it is well worth it; I'm just giving it a 4 because Mysterious Island, Nancy Drews, Rhiannon, etc are 5's imo and it is close but not as good. I wish I could give it 4 1/2.
Date published: 2012-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very hard, but doable with walk-through Thankfully, I got this game as the free game of a buy one, get one free promotion. When I got it, there were only 4-5 star ratings, but they all said it was very hard. And it is. But I do like to push myself, and I also like historical games. This one may take me a while to finish, though. The graphics are beautiful for most things, but the people look cartoony. I was unable to adjust the sound volume, but that may just be something I need to look up in help. If you do a web search, you'll find several sites with walk-throughs. Each walk-through is different, though, so look at more than one before bookmarking the one you like best. To play this game: First, it's really important to read all the help notes first, and read the documents as you go along. When you click on the documents (seashell), an article will open that refers to the task you are doing. Sometimes that is helpful, other times it isn't. Right-click to access, and to close the inventory. You have to close the inventory to move around. There is NO automatic save! Save the game before quitting if you're pleased with the progress you've made so far.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not One Of The Lucky Few Some reviewers have said it's a good game if you can get past the beginning. I fear that i was not among those lucky few. I got about half an hour into the game before I was completely stuck. During that time, I was only able to progress by lots of random clicking. If you go to the forums, you will see that most questions get the same answer. Which is to get the walkthrough. IMHO, an average player should have a fighting chance to make progress in a game. If I have to get a walkthrough and follow a set of instructions to make progress, then it takes all the fun out of the game. You should only get this game if you enjoy frustration.
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hopelessly lost This is my third experience playing a Kheops Studio game, and I found it incredibly disappointing. I know they have a proud tradition of not telling you what's going on or giving much in the way of a clue about what to do. However, in previous games that I've played of theirs, I can at least get an idea of things from the shape into which my mouse pointer turns. In this game, not so much. The arrow is comprehensible enough, but I can't understand what the other symbols are or what they mean. I'm still stuck in the very first part of the game, in which Arok is trapped by the lion, because I don't have the slightest idea what I'm supposed to do. The game has no hint button, no manual, no information of any kind at all. The graphics are excellent and what little I've seen of the story looked really good. It's also certainly a challenging game - unfortunately, it's TOO challenging because it doesn't provide any information about how to proceed. A simple tutorial, even just information about what the different symbols that the cursor becomes, would have been a big help. I usually like Kheops games, but I wish I'd never bothered with this one.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from They made it challenging but forgot to make it fun! Positives: Very challenging, with minimal instruction on what needs done or how to do it. Lovely atmospheric, immersive visuals. Old-school adventure with freedom to wander around and explore. Unique, unusual game. Large file, lengthy game. Possibly historical and educational (I cannot verify that). Negatives: Awkward gameplay and use of inventory. Puzzles and tasks require arbitrary actions and sequences, rather than logical. No direction, instructions, or hints. Half a dozen items remain in inventory throughout the game, never to be used again. I completed the entire game, so I did become accustomed to the controls and gameplay, but I still didn’t like the game. On principle, I hate using walkthroughs and hints. I play games and solve puzzles because I enjoy the challenge, so I don’t like ‘cheating’ with walkthroughs. This game proved impossible for me and most other players (according the other reviews) without resorting to a walkthrough. When a game cannot be played without Internet cheats, there is a flaw in the game design. Here are some examples. After being told to get a reed, you have to wander around and try to pick up every tuft of weeds you see until you happen upon the correct one. Inventory contains items like: twig, stick, gnarly tree, skin, piece of skin, bladder, animal fat, strap, flint; and you are expected to somehow know the correct items to place on a rock, and the correct sequence, in order to create a useful tool. After assembling a puzzle, the random next step that you’re supposed to figure out is picking up the item and looking around the room while holding it. Things that don’t work when you try them suddenly work later on, after returning to talk to someone again, so even though you tried everything earlier, you now have to try everything again. I think there are two ways to complete the game: use a walkthrough OR be willing to try clicking on every stick, rock, tree, leaf, and blob, in every different sequence, over and over again. My primary complaint about the game is that, despite the lovely setting and challenging puzzles, they forgot to make the game FUN!
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Motion sickness alert! The graphics were great, and they did a good job of making this 3D, but almost immediately, it made me nauseous with all the moving around. I can't say much more about this game, because I couldn't stand more than 2 minutes of it. Interesting and different concept, though.
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from i wanted SO MUCH to like this game i am a fan of large file games and of adventure games, and i have an especially soft spot in my heart for games that are (or appear to be) educational. but i was unable to get this game to work for me. i could collect the items in the cave, but was unable to recall the item inventory so i could use those items to progress. there is a walkthrough on this site that is downloadable but it's only for PCs, so that was zero help for a mac game. i finally found a walkthrough on a gaming discussion forum elsewhere on the web, which told me i was on the right track, but since i couldn't access my inventoried items, i was left spinning in circles.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Help-less If you like to have to figure everything out for yourself, then this game is for you. There was no help as to what buttons I need to use to grab or let go of objects or how to put things into or out of inventory, not even how to find your inventory. No help to tell what the cursor means when it changes from one shape to another. There was just no help whatsoever. It would be prudent to show basic game controls, but it does not. After solving several puzzles, because of the tedium in having to figure out basic (and all) gameplay by myself (as it does not follow other HOG basic controls) I found this game too boring.
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't Figure It Out Storyline: You are Arok, a young man/boy, a cave dweller back, back, way back in the day. You've gone out hunting and, as luck would have it, you see a huge deer. But before you can sling your spear it runs off. Then, from the direction the deer has gone, a jaguar looking animal comes stalking in your direction. You take a step back and fall. There is an entrance to a cave behind you - you had seen a strange symbol on it and remembered your grandfather (?) telling you how art/drawing was important, that it not only told a story but much more. You throw yourself into the cave and half cover the entrance with a huge stone.h Graphics: 3 D which is unusual in gameplay. I know a lot of people have problems when playing a 3D game. So, beware, it may cause motion sickness, dizziness. Having said that, I would expected a lot more coloring so was disappointed that everything was so dark and dismal (yes, I know, cave). Sound: Sorry, I tend to tune things out. I vaguely recall music directly in correlation to the time period. Nothing loud and annoying. Gameplay: Unfortunately, here is where everything went south for me. So south I left the country. Seriously, you are now inside a cave, a very dark cave. What do you do first? Find something to scare away the animal at the door to the cave? Or, build a fire? Or, make a light source? I can't answer it because I couldn't do anything. I could move around in a 360 degree circle (not the right number is it?), could be on the ceiling, whatever, that's supposedly one of the great benefits of playing with 3D characters. You can pick up objects almost everywhere. The picture will pop up in the top left-corner of the screen, but there is no way to retrieve that inventory. There is no hint button, not even the ones I detest which only have limited numbers and then you have to catch a ghost, or kill the robber, whatever, to get more. There is also no map AND NO TUTORIAL. No strategy guide (well, it is an SE). I simply could not figure out what to do, how to get to my inventory and use the items there. One reviewer compared it to a game that you had to really think and figure out your next move. I get that, my favorite game is exactly that kind of game and I loved it and would love more like it. However, even in that game I had to use my inventory items to progress. In this game, I cannot even access the inventory. Very confusing. I wish I could have gotten into the real "meat" of the game because I think I would have truly enjoyed it. Unfortunately, that just wasn't meant to be. Because of the above issues, this Glam-ma cannot in good conscience recommend this game. This review is based on my unbiased opinion of the game - mine, and only mine. If this review was helpful, please click on the "yes" button below. If not, there is also a "no" button. Happy Gaming.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much twisting back and too little instruction I had to keep getting out and going to the walkthrough. Could have used real hints, rather than vague descriptions of an historical nature.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful Graphics A great concept, with beautiful graphics which fell short in terms of gaming. It was not easy to move around in free space. Suddenly I am twirling in circles and am upside down on the cavern ceiling. It was awkward to pick up and use tools and accessing the menu and information was also difficult. It was very informative but not really enjoyable. If you can master the movement it may be one of the most stunning games I have ever attempted. I tried so hard to like it because the content fascinates me. I could not get through the free hour.
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Motion Sickness Unfortunately, I have motion sickness and at the start of this game you begin in a dark cave and have to find certain items where the cursor has a 360 degree rotation. I hate to say this but it did make me feel like vomiting. Sorry. I deleted the game and wish I could get me money back.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lots of potential I am a old pro at big fish games and I love challenges. However, this game had no direction what-so-ever. After five minutes of spinning in circles (literally) I had to go online to find a walkthrough so I could figure out the control. The game is gorgeous and I suspected the story line would be great as well. It's just too bad that I couldn't get anywhere and my frustration level ruined the game for me. I didn't even what to continue. A little direction or instruction would have been nice, even a tutorial would have made the game better. If you are looking for a game that has zero direction then this game is for you but, this game was NOT for me.
Date published: 2012-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't see anything, no help I couldn't get past the first part in the cave. The environment is so dark that I couldn't see much even with my computer's brightness turned all the way up. I found some items but not enough to make the fire I was apparently supposed to make. There was no help available at all and no way to access the inventory of items I'd collected. Definitely wouldn't recommend this game--it really needs work!
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Darned Awful Game once starting the game, and got to the safety of the cavern, my cursor could not move and the scene spun round and round each time i moved it. could not access the menu button or anything to exit the game not even when i pressed escape, in the end i have to totally shut down my imac, and then the inconvenience of signing in etc etc. i found this crude game a nightmare
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Visuals made me sick and dizzy, terrible concept for a game Uninstalled after four minutes. Dont waste your time. This is certainly not Big Fish quality!
Date published: 2012-04-13
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_37
  • loc_en_US, sid_3523, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Echo: Secret of the Lost Cavern

Help Arok navigate an underground maze filled with tribal magic and ancient denizens so he may fulfill his destiny.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.