Nick Chase: A Detective Story ™

Nick Chase: A Detective Story ™

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(74.58 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Nick Chase, a hard-boiled Private Investigator, is in need of a job. Lucky for him, one arrives from a man known only as The Collector. Solve a variety of puzzles and find hidden clues to uncover the mystery behind the missing manuscript penned by Leonardo Di Vinci. Explore gorgeous hand drawn scenes with a gritty film noir style in this one of a kind Adventure game where everyone is a suspect!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 83 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Animated Blood
  • Mild Language
  • Mild Suggestive Themes
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Nick Chase: A Detective Story ™

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(74.58 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nick Chase: A Detective Story ™ is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A shorty but a goodie I liked this game. I liked the comic strip type layout, and overall it was pretty enjoyable .... but pretty short. In book terms it's more like a short story rather than a full novel ...... because of that fact only I'm not sure it's worth paying full price ... but it's certainly worth getting on discount.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Noir style game I have always enjoyed noir style movies and games and this one did not disappoint. From the choice of music to the voice overs it was great, especially Nick's voice. The graphics were drawn comic book style that became the scenes of the story and the puzzles had some interesting twists. You are an ex-police officer that is now a private eye and in need of a client. The phone rings and you are hired to find a manuscript. It is very well done for this style. The animations were spot on. I especially liked the elevator. A nice change from the norm.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One-word: Synergy That's what came to me as I played this game: everything seems perfectly integrated into a cartoonish, film-noir experience. The games looks like an old-fashion detective cartoon, sounds like it, and ultimately feels like it. Gameplay-wise, while there certainly are plenty of objects to find, the game really is a mix of HO, misc puzzles, and even adventure, as you're being railroaded through the plot. My biggest complaint? The game is fairly short, by modern standards. I seem to recall finishing it in 3 hours.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Game the Plunges the Player into a Past Era I really enjoyed this game. I was not to sure what to expect when we grabbed this title, but having played through it, I found it quite enjoyable. The designers did a great job in setting up the surrounding environment to be like what one would see in old black and white detective flicks. And the voice overs were a perfect finishing touch, I think. Even the sketches used as play advanced adds to the charm of the game. Puzzles are fun, and the whole play systems is relatively easy to use. If you are looking for a fun title to immerse yourself into a detective story set in the 1930s, give Nick Chase a try!
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short Sometimes the puzzles were so vague I just guessed and won without knowing why. Haven't bought a Bigfish game in years. finished it in three hours.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LEFT ME SCRATCHING MY HEAD My impression is that the game was a little short. I played it in several sections, but none of them were for very long. I found this game wore me out trying to figure out what to do, particularly in the mini puzzles. The "tasK' button gives a short description of the goal of the puzzle, but often that is not enough to figure out how to play it. For instance, faced with a jumble of wires going in and out, over and through, from the outside of the circle to the side sets of screws, the instructions are to "cut the connecting wire". Connecting to what? My guess was wrong and I blew us all up. The hint button recharged extremely slowly. I can't remember if there was a choice of difficulty levels. The cut scenes were like the pages of a comic book, a black and white one with text in "talk" bubbles. I thought I left the sound on for the voiceovers, but they didn't work. At the end I was told to play again to get a gold star. I think the star I won was silver. Actually it is a badge in the shape of a star. I have no idea how the game is scored to come up with the different badge levels, so I had no intention of playing it again if I couldn't figure out what I needed to do better at and how much better. I know I had to skip a couple of puzzles and at one time I had to exit and go find a walkthrough. By the end of the game, when Nick supposedly saved the day, I couldn't remember exactly what he had to do or how he did it. I just couldn't follow the storyline that well. I may have a go at the other game in this series, just to see if I can figure it out better. I hate to play a game over because there are so many games out there to play, I hate to waste my time on a playover. I feel the same about reading a book a second time. Definitely "try before buy" this one.
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it was just Okay Nice game and different from any Hidden object , I like that it hasn't the ordinary hidden objects and you search for them but it introduce the hidden object is a different way. it was not difficult and easy and i don't track the story line very much
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointingly short I appreciate that the puzzles were varied and interesing, but the game was disapppointingly short. I felt like it should have been a 3 act play, but it ended after only one act.
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre Detective Story Nick Chase is a pretty good game. I absolutely loved the comic style animation. It was beautifully drawn. That's what really reeled me in. I'll be honest, the storyline is a little mediocre and not very interesting. But what really got me was how the game practically came to a hault at the end. I literally didn't realize it was over until the credits starting coming up; and even then, I was still confused. I even went to the menu afterwards to make sure there weren't more cases in the game to solve; and unfortunately, there weren't. I mean, I was left feeling like 'wow, did I really just pay 9.99 for such a short game?'. I mean, for people who really love comics and detective stories, you'll like this game. But the storyline is lacking, a little uninteresting, comes to a screeching halt at the end and leaves you hanging, all on the account that the game is too short.
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kind of disappointing I bought the game based on the reviews I read. Guess I should have tried it first. There are some nice things about the game. I liked the comic book style for telling the story. I like the characters. But each letter prints out fairly slowly when the story is being told, so you really need to be alert while playing or you'll miss some of it, but it's hard to be alert because it's kind of slow. There is no way to go back and read the part you may have missed. There is also a confusing method of hints. Bullets that you find in the scenes supposedly show you where things are or what to do next. Every time I clicked on a bullet nothing happened. There is a skip button for puzzles, and I needed it several times. Objects that you need are hidden, and I would up randomly clicking to find some of them. They were unfairly hidden, I thought. So in a way I enjoyed playing the game, but it has too many things wrong with it to recommend it.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not for smartphone I adore big fish games but this wasn't up to the usual standard. On my smartphone, sound is good but picture is slightly blurry. Some puzzles don't have instructions, and the blurry picture makes it difficult to work out what to do. The magnifying glass is often inaccurate. I'll have to abandon the game without finishing.
Date published: 2013-02-17
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_3626, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nick Chase: A Detective Story ™

Solve a variety of puzzles and find hidden clues as Nick Chase, a hard-boiled P.I. down on his luck with a keen eye for detail.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.