Sinking Island

Sinking Island

PC

Adventure

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 1.87 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

A billionaire has been murdered on a tropical island, and it`s up to Detective Jack Norm to crack the case! Walter Jones had planned on opening up a resort for the rich and famous, but was killed before his dream could be achieved. Interview the ten people on Sinking Island to get valuable clues. This Adventure game will require you to use all your wits to solve the mystery and find the murderer! Warning: Explicit Language

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2694 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Sinking Island

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 1.87 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

Customer Reviews
Sinking Island is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game I liked that I did not encounter any of those crumby HOG puzzles, however I do wish there were some actual puzzles in the game. This left me in the mind of the Agatha Christie games I have played, which were enjoyable. The character voices and the cursors put me in mind with the Syberia games. My biggest complaint was all of the back and forth in the tower and around the island and I felt the game could have done with a quick location map to avoid the extra 5 - 10 screens to get to a location you had already been before. The story was great and had me guessing most of the way through. I did feel like I did not get a complete resolution to certain parts of the story and the only real "puzzle" in the game I never really found an inkling to it except for a happenstance of a cursor change and me staring at it relentlessly.
Date published: 2012-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable crime investigation I'll admit my bias from the start. I love playing the role of the detective, whether it is a police detective or a private detective, and that is exactly what this game let me do. It is all about conducting detective work, including among other things interviewing suspects, collecting fingerprints and searching the crime scene for evidence. With a good detailed story, a diverse bunch of characters and very good graphics it was an enjoyable game even though the gameplay eventually started to feel a bit repetitive. While the gameplay involves various kinds of detective work, a large portion of it is interviewing suspects. And this is the main weakness of the game for two reasons. First, there is so much interviewing to be done that it does get a bit repetitive. Second, the suspect interviewing parts of the game can be performed by simply asking everyone about everything, and therefore do not present much of a challenge. It also means you have to do a lot of walking between different locations. However, with the beautiful graphics and pleasant music I did not mind a bit of strolling through the gameworld. Also the dialog is interesting enough that I didn't mind that there was a lot of it (and there really is a lot of dialog). The game has a few a bit more challenging puzzles, but since a large portion of the game, as mentioned above, can be solved by asking everyone about everything, the average challenge level is a bit lower than I would have preferred. The story was rather interesting and quite detailed. The characters are a fairly colorful bunch, and also reasonably realistic, and you get to learn more about each of them and their secrets throughout the game. The story lacked any real originality though, which is why I can't give it a full rating. In conclusion I would recommend this game to anyone who, like myself, enjoys playing the role of the detective.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Lonnnnng Game, Great Storyline Loved the premise of being a detective on a murder/mystery, playing in the first person mode. PROS *Great graphics. *First person character player. CONS *Too much character dialogue too have to remember- take good notes when playing!! and do not leave game for any length of time or you will forget important character info. *Limited environment interaction, to filter game in a desired direction.
Date published: 2013-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another fine Benoit Sokal game As a fan of the games mastermind Benoit Sokal. I can say I enjoyed this game. But not as much as I did Syberia and Paradise. Sinking Island is an old school adventure game. Point-and-click, talk to a lot of people about everything, collect everything you can grab, go up and down the stairs like 5 billion times and try to find what's going on. It was a bit long and boring. I personally think conversation parts could be little shorter but still, amazing graphics, amazing storyline, characters with actual character development and an unusual ending. I would recommend Sinking Island to those professional adventure game players. Stay away if you like cheesy hidden object stories...
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gave up in the end....too frustrating. I bought this game even after reading some of the negative reviews because I thought I would give it a go and I had a free game to use. First of all, I chose the hardest option (against the clock) for gameplay. I've never had to worry before, and I know I'll find a walkthrough to help if I really get stuck. Unfortunately for me - most of the reviews are right with this game... it is a game that has so much potential ruined by the slow pace of the characters and screens. It is so boring to just mouse click to move a few paces to go through 5 or 6 screens until you finally get where you want to go. I had to use the walkthrough for almost every scene - which I hate doing! - and even then I ran out of time and was told that I should start again. I'm not sure I want to. On the plus side - the very clever PPA for analysing clues was a plus and the graphics of the scenes (and believe me you see enough of them) was great. Overall too much dialogue, too much 'going nowhere' screens. The developers should take it away and re release it with a map so you can skip to the various places, and skim down the dialogue to the iterrogation questions that are only relevant. I've already bought my next game, so I will play that now and keep Sinking Island for another time when I am desperate.
Date published: 2012-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3.5 - only for a certain type of player - patient and methodical I wouldn't call this an adventure game by Benoit Sokal & White Birds but an interactive mystery novel. Most of this game is dialogue - questioning suspects and the rest is running back and forth between them. There is only 1 maybe 2 puzzles in the whole game. So it depends on your taste. I happen to love murder mystery so really enjoyed the change of pace of this game, although I do think the other games by this DEV are better. This game is set on a small island and most of your time you are in the tower building owned by the deceased whom you, as the inspector, are charged with discovering 'whodunit.' In the upper right corner you have a zipped purse which is your inventory and a PPA which you use to gather clues and sort out statements. There are 13 questions/mandates for you to answer and each question you have to assemble the clues and you need to prove each answer by evidence. You can work on multiple questions at once and will finish some questions out of sequence. At the beginning there is a lot of dialogue but as the game progresses it gets interesting as clues are uncovered and you are really immersed in the plot. I would say the plot is not for children, and the bad language I think is only about 5 words. cons (or things to note) -Great voiceovers but their is no lip movement at all - I would have loved a transporter map as there is a LOT of running around. - couple of illogical moments but I think is usual for games - I would have loved the game/plot to be moved forward by telling the story in some cutscenes rather than all dialogue, although the dialogue was very good. - I didn't like the characters - sometimes an answer would be given but the game didn't register and you would have to ask everybody about an item that you knew the answer to. -Best or more interesting part of the game was about 3/4 of the way through it and then to the end. For $6.99 I do recommend it, and it's a bargain. As you get a well thought out plot and long game. So if you always wanted to investigate a crime and love mystery novels then I think you will enjoy it. The learning curve of this takes a while, as you need to get to know your PPA but once you do, it's not that hard compared to other games. So I would recommend this game to beginners or new to LF games. As long as you keep going back to talk to suspects when each thing is revealed, and slowly go over every area to see if there is something to do you should be OK. The hardness is sorting through the clues and sifting them but you get there by trial and error. The second question, I found the hardest but once you get past that you should be OK. I enjoyed it, but I do try and be objective (if that's possible!) with the actual ratings and give you the facts so you can see if it's for you or not.
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A disappointment for White Bird I am a huge fan of Benoit Sokal and White Bird, and when I say "huge", I definitely mean HUGE. Syberia is, and remains, my all-time favourite, I like Amerzone, I love Paradise... and so on and so forth... so, how about Sinking Island? Well, sorry ... I can't get into the game. Oh yes, the graphics are absolutely GORGEOUS, but the gameplay is so tedious, so slow, so undirectional... I like sleuthing around, interviewing people, investigating... but aimlessly running around is not my cup of tea... and having to click five times to run along a beach to get from one point to another, followed by the same number of clicks to get from the bottom of a tower to the top, just to ask a few questions to somebody, really is too much ... even if I adore the graphics of the scenes... No, sorry, this is way too slow, way too tedious, way too uneventful for me to be a good game. I cannot recommend this game... please, folks, spend your money on a book by Benoit Sokal, or go for Syberia...
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excruciating and slow... I love mysteries and this would be a good one were it not for the slow movement in the game. Whenever Inspector Norm has to walk anywhere, it's as though he's walking the last mile... Also, I missed some stuff out of sequence and it became, "Too bad, so sad, you don't get to solve the mandate". I considered starting over to resolve this but decided not to, since it would mean another several hours of "We're walking, we're walking, we're walking..." I don't recommend this game unless there is absolutely nothing else going on in your life.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit heavy going! SInking Island wasn't as good as I hoped. Long winded and far too much conversation to deal with. Story line was good and the graphics were pleasant but needed a map with shortcuts as it took way to long going up and down lifts and back and forth between hotel and beach with not much to do inbetween. So many unnecessary screens shots to walk/run through just wasted time. Did need the walkthrough an awfull lot which I don't like relying on. So overall a thumbs down
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Your world gets smaller all the time... I've played this game in the DVD version. It is a good game, lots of puzzles to solve, not truly mind boggling most of the time, though there are some tricky ones. My main complaint about this game is, because of the story line: Sinking Island, your world gets smaller all the time. This reduces the fun, because there is nothing new to discover. That said, the price you pay at big fish is that low, that it is quite affordable. I would not spent $ 40.00 on this game, but for $ 6.99 you get many hours of puzzles...
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Time Consuming I guess this game is ok for those that don't mind having to play for a long time to get anywhere. Since you can not skip dialog and it takes time for the talking to finish before you can move forward, it gets boring quickly. Even with the dialog, it is difficult to understand what you need to do next. This game needs a walk through or at least some hints what you need to do, since I can not seem to get off the beach.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me! Tried and tried to get into the game but found it boring, clueless, and repetitive, just my opinion. It's really not for me.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth it getting from one area to another takes forever! should have some type of shortcut. they repeat the same lines over and over and over again.... just could not get into this game.
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not my choice After two hours of playing the game, I was not only very frustrated, but bored beyond description. My personal opinion, I wasted not only my time, but my money as well. Bear in mind though, that is just my opinion, others may like it a lot.
Date published: 2012-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I now know why there is no trial version Had I been able to try this, I never would have purchased it. Slow, boring, repetitive. To move from one place to another (to often have nothing to do once there) takes forever. Multiple pages just to move to a new location. The questions to different people are all the same, no interactive dialog according to who you are talking to. And the fact their lips don't move is just creepy. Read the reviews and Do not waste your money!
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Excruciatingly Bad Game Let me start by saying that I tried to play this game on expert, as I usually do. The timing and the horrific repetition, made me switch to normal play. Even then, I played it all the way through, so it's not that I didn't give it a chance. It has a good storyline, although the family in the story is the most dysfunctional one I've ever seen. Some of the elements that ruined it for me were as follows: * The characters had poor motion, and mouths didn't move when they spoke, although almost everything else did. * The women were grossly over-endowed and exaggerated. * The detective's wife called him incessantly whining and nagging him to come home, not caring that he was in the middle of a category 4 storm on a sinking island. She kept complaining that she was waiting at a restaurant where the reservations were hard to get, and every time she called, he had to go back to his room to speak to her... which was annoying, too. You'd have to travel back to wherever you were when her call came to resume the investigation. * The script was repetitive ad nauseum, he asked each character the same questions in the same words. With 12 possible suspects it got old REALLY fast! * The tower set-up was also annoying as were the number of pages between scenes. In the tower, there was one set of stairs and elevator that went to the 18th floor, and then you had to change to another set of stairs or elevator to the 22nd floor, across the building. It was a lot of work for nothing. * This storm was supposed to be a killer storm, and characters were sitting on the beach, out on a 19th floor heliport platform and in a garden, all in thunder, lightning and rain.... DUH! All in all, the story was OK, and the culprit was not immediately discernible, but the game was just too annoying to be fun.
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sinking Island should already be sunk! This game is horrible. Very boring and way to slow. Kinda like watching paint dry. The controls are awkward, the storyline is decent but lacks the software to go with it.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I can't believe they still make these types of games I don't usually play this type of game because you have to be in the right mood for it. That being said, it was not the long dialogues that bothered me, it was the sloooooooooooooow movement of the game that finally did me in and made me uninstall it. To get from point A to point B you have to go through 3 to 5 useless screens - and if that wasn't bad enough, you have to watch the character walk slowly across the screen before you can get to the next useless screen. Such a waste; the storyline was somewhat interesting but the old-fashioned graphics and slow "real-time" movements across the island killed my enthusiasm.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Play FarmVille, It's More Exciting! I have never seen a game with so many screens where all you do is walk from one side to the other and then enter another screen through which you walk. When there is something to do, it's click, click, click... no thought. When the characters talk, their mouths don't move. Unnerving.
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for me I got this game and just did not like it. I tried to get into it, just couldn't. Gave it two days then uninstalled it.
Date published: 2011-11-15
  • y_2019, m_3, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_4168, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Sinking Island

A billionaire has been murdered on a tropical island, and it`s up to Detective Jack Norm to crack the case! Can you solve the mystery?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.