Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(188.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Learn more about the Collector's Edition

Be the first to play Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove with this special Collector’s Edition.
Use your wits and Hidden Object and Adventure game talent to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!
Experience all the exclusive Collector’s Edition extras including bonus “Easter egg” levels and puzzles that reveal secrets related to both past and future Mystery Case Files episodes. The integrated Deluxe Strategy Guide also includes extra video outtakes, concept art, screenshots, and desktop wallpapers.
The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay that reveals MCF “secrets”
  • A new Challenge and Achievement system
  • Collect over 50 hidden objects that continually change shape
  • A Deluxe Strategy Guide, integrated into the game
  • Check out our Blog Walkthrough

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 605 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(188.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 109.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting Quality Gaming! MCF Unsurpassed! Just finished the CE main game and still have bonus portion. Takes awhile for me to submit a review and that is usually after full game completion. This also helps me to remember if I've played the game already or not. :)) Immersive plot and fantastic all else--artwork, graphics, music and not to mention the "hair pulling out" puzzles. Now, that's something gamers don't find every day--a challenge. Overall game was rather easy to navigate although there was some back and forth action, yet, interactive map was helpful. Some areas--i.e. secret hideouts--could only be reached via map. As they say, 'the devil's in the details". Gotta love 'em! Elephant Games wins again. Fell in love with PC gaming through MCF and they're still tops on my List. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on the entire MCF series-- played most completely and this is still a favorite installment BASED ON FULL GAME- I bought the CE and completed this game 2-23-2011. They used live actors that were spot on. I actually play so many of these games that I have (3) notebooks now, and listed under this game in 2011 I notated then, this is the best game I've played to date; and I'd started these casual games around 2007-08. This game has continued to be a favorite of mine and it's almost 2016. I also prefer it over the the 2 newest MCF installments, Key to Ravenhearst and Ravenhearst ,Unlocked. I am bummed they stopped using live actors that this series has been known for. And I wonder if the sun ever shines in Ravenhearst. This game is interesting, with great hidden obj. play. I liked this installment better even than Dire Grove, Sacred Grove.... but the goodies were way better in the CE content of Sacred Grove. To date, my favorites in this series are this game, 13th skull, and I played Shadow Lake, which didn't have a MCF feel, or music, but I still adored it. This game is ageless to me and will be replayed again. I highly recommend the CE.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A sublime masterpiece This game is nothing less than the best hidden object game I've ever played. No, seriously, it's epic. From the first second to the very end the game experience is rather like being in a movie than playing a game. It starts with the music which perfectly emphasizes the story. It is pleasant, unobtrusive, yet really beautiful and varied. There's no endless loop of the same music piece as in other games, but a diverse set of different melodies that transport different moods. There are breaks as well, when the music stops and leaves you alone to dive into the atmospheric sounds such as crackling twings, calling birds in the distance, footsteps in the snow. The music together with the sounds create a dense and vivid atmosphere that still drags me in after all those years. Yes, I must've played the game at least six times, but still get hooked every single time. But the gripping atmosphere is only half of the game. The graphics are hand-drawn beauties that complement the story. The huge, eerie bed & breakfast house and the snowy village are just the old-fashioned location you would wish for in a classical scary bedtime story. To add even more uniqueness, the game has a so-called "found footage" element included, comparable to "Blair With Project". During your investigations you find video tapes the missing students made before they disappeared. They reveal a scary celtic folklore that threatens the world. The tapes are filmed with real actors who are doing a great job, I really loved this feature. The CE has 50 morphing objects, 14 achievements, a strategy guide, a highscore ranking, and a "playing room" you find later in the game with extra puzzles, hints to future (well, now past, that is) MCF games and some easter eggs. If you love HO games and haven't played "Dire Grove" yet, do it or else you'll miss the best game I know.
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites. Visuals are stunning, sounds are creepy, and the story is very good. Lots of bonuses in collectors edition(including a Benny Hill style tour of Big Fish studios!)
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doesn't Disappoint I always look for the new MCF as they are the standard in good mystery/hidden object games. This game incorporates some of the MCF music from previous games, which is great. The story is interesting enough to keep the player's attention, the puzzles are fun, and the game is very atmospheric with the blowing wind and cold. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game is fantastic! I just replayed this in preparation for the next Dire Grove. It was absolutely great. The live actors were amazing. The storyline was quite interesting and all of the puzzles good. There is almost no direction at all which made the strategy guide a must since the hints only worked during the HO scenes. I had not remembered that or how many HOS there were. Also forgotten by me was the lack of a map. I felt like I was walking around a lot. It reminded me of the first adventure game I played, MYST. As much as I loved this game I wonder if the CE was worth it. I love the concept art but I do not want wallpapers. I'd rather have bonus gameplay. It still amazes me how far ahead of their time these developers are. So very few games meet the standards they set years ago.
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the new bar for MCF I've been an avid fan of MCF ever since I've played Return to Ravenhearst. It just gets better from there with 13th Skull, and now, Dire Grove. The use of short vids akin to "Blair Witch's Project" was creative. Back then, I had enjoyed hidden objects enough to like playing many of them. Nowadays, however, I prefer more adventure to hidden objects. Still, this game bought fun and kept my interest up till the very end!
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Collectors Edition is Totally Worth It I love MCF: DR. I used to have a PC, and I've played the regular version on my PC and loved it. Now that I have a Mac, I decided to purchase this game again for my Mac and thought - why not go for the Collectors Edition. So worth it. The Collectors Edition has hidden bonus level, the "Find The Morphing Object" game, a look at the concept artwork, behind-the-scenes outtakes from the filming of the game videos and so much more! I'm really glad I went with the Collectors Edition this time around. Too bad there isn't one for Return to Ravenhearst as well. I'd have snagged that too!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best yet! It's a hidden object with an excellent story and quite entertaining! It's the best game of its type I have played in a long time. The graphics are beautiful with interesting little surprises. It also has some new puzzles to solve besides the hidden object scenes. Keep up the good work MCF!
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Great Game Everything about this game is really good. The story is fun and interesting, the puzzles were do-able with some being more challenging than others, and, unlike many other games of this kind, you never felt the devs were challenging you to read their mind to figure out what to do next. You have to think a little but, generally, the next step makes sense within the context of the game. The appearance and sound really work to set the tone for the adventure. This is easily one of the best in the Mystery Case File series.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game! As far as I'm concerned, Return to Ravenhearst, Dire Grove and Madame Fate are the best games out there. I've played these three games over and over again, and never get tired of the story lines and music, puzzles and HOS's. Plug for Return to Ravenhearst here: if you don't have it, get it. Dire Grove has so much to offer. The music and animation (cold, blowing, snow storm) set the atmosphere perfectly. The fourth time I played it, I really tried for the achievements. Get this one!
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT!! Couldn't ask for more from the brilliant creators of the MCF series! Sound, video and image-wise, these guys cannot find a match! The game drags you to its world PLUS there was a little something for those who had the patience to watch the credits and the perseverance to follow the lead to Felix. Love the intriguing easter-eggs and bonus content! Also, first time introduced, the achievements. This team had me play it twice just to get them all! Congratulations and wish you all to always be this inspired!
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Game of All Time I love this game and everything about it. It's the perfect creepy story which is believable because of the live-action actors playing roles in the vid scenes. The story and the first few locations grab you from the start. You feel compelled to keep on playing to solve the mystery. The graphics and the scenery are top notch, you can feel yourself shivering in all the scenes. I've played this one probably five times now and I keep wondering how long before I get a break to "warm myself up by building a fire" or stopping to rest. What I love about this story is that you don't need a map, but you do need to remember a few of the locations and how to return to them later in the story. Everything isn't linear and you do a bit of back-and-forthing but not much. A lot of tasks you'll find can be accomplished in the same location before venturing off to another snow-filled place. I love finding the morphing items and there's a point in the CE where you get a nice little reminder of where you stand with these items. Some of the items are very cleverly hidden and some are small and you might miss them if you blink. The MCF developers were quite clever with this game and with the two "Felix" fish, too. One of the hallmarks of a great game for me is being able to solve the minis and all of them are do-able even if you're impatient like I am. I found this refreshing in a CE because I tend to skip minis sometimes because I get so frustrated with some of them. And to top it all off, the music is haunting and perfectly fits the grim cold loneliness and despair of the broken-down wintery scenes. Kudos to the musicians and to those who used the tunes to make the game even better. To summarize: this is the type of game every developer should strive for. It's perfect in every way with the exception of having a map, which isn't necessary. THUMBS UP ALL THE WAY!
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No game compares with this one. The Best Bigfish Game so far! no other game has lived up to this one for me. I have played it every Winter since I bought it, its just the game to play on the run up to Christmas.
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No need to say much Best game ever! I love all MCFs, all really awesome (except for the Shadow Lake one). LOVE!
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely game!! superb!! awesome!! I luv d game muaaaaah....
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome very challenging even for the expert players
Date published: 2013-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it a lot My first ever HOG, I loved it a lot. The visual and audio quality is excellent, the creators noticeably put a lot of effort into the game. The music is also great and the ambience of the game is memorable (I looked it up recently, years after first playing it, because the whole mood of the game was so catching.) The storyline is also good, though most of the puzzles were too difficult for me, I think I only managed to do 2 or 3 of them, but at least there's the option to skip them after a while. In summary I recommend this game a lot!
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real life game! MCF, please keep making these real life games. I felt like I was in Dire Grove, feeling the snow. Your games are the best, so real-like, not animated. i can't wait for the next adventure. Love it!
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it!! I played the SE and now I definetly have to purchase the CE, very addictive HOG with hours of great play and challenging mini-games...love it!!
Date published: 2013-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Mystery Case Files Entry I have played all of the Mystery Case Files and this is probably my favorite. The graphics are superb as is the audio choices for the game. The puzzles are challenging without being so aggravating that you want to give up. The storyline is one of the very best out there today. As far as supernatural ghost HOGs go, Ravenhearst may be the champ, but for all around creepy and disturbing, Dire Grove is the best game out there. This is a must have for any HOG or adventure game fan and i cannot recommend it highly enough. Do yourself a favor and at least check the demo out!
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent scary adventure.... I highly recommend this game as it kept me on the edge of my chair throughout the game, lot's of puzzles..great soundtrack and wallpaper's...
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FUN AND CHALLENGING Casual mode over 5 hours. A very well thought-out and skillfully-told story. Provocative puzzles; fairly uncluttered HOS and flawless gameplay. Terrific production values. Video tapes you find throughout the game will tell the backstory of 4 students investigating the lore of Dire Grove – I found them somewhat boring and not necessary to view to enjoy the game. No map, but it’s fairly easy to keep track of what is where. Your journal is integral to your gameplay and will contain some information (including possible solutions to puzzles or where to look for the solutions) not found during gameplay. Satisfying ending. PUZZLES: If you’ve played a lot of HOGs, you will recognize many of the wide variety of puzzles. No instructions are provided. Experts and advanced intermediates should be able to figure out and solve most from having encountered them in other games. Other intermediates and novices will have to rely on trial and error or a walkthrough or the strategy guide for many of them. Suggestion: When the puzzle involves squares or tiles, you might first try moving one or two of them around. You might find a symbol underneath a tile or find that something lights up, which will provide a clue on how to solve the puzzle. You could end up feeling really smart. Clues for some puzzles (ex: combo for safe) are generally found very nearby. Suggestion: Also look through your journal (not just the last couple pages of entry). Sometimes solutions are included in the narrative. GAMEPLAY: Is smooth and logical, though sometimes rather challenging. As you know, you must usually do something in order to activate a HOS. So, if you get stuck on what to do next, try going to the different locations to see if you come across 2 or 3 HOS. The tools you get should give you some insight of what to do (since you were probably looking for them). Note that the hint works within the HOS, but will not give direction on where to go or what to do during gameplay. Some tools aren’t found until much later in the game (such as that sparkplug for the generator or a means to cross that break in the bridge). Note that, even after you find the 4 students, you still have a ways to go before the end.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! MCF: Dire Grove is the first game in MCF series that I bought. I loved the SE and now I bought the CE. Everything in this game is so great that I so wish that all game developers to be just as good as this. In this CE, there is no extra gameplay, but there's something special that you won't get in an SE and it doesn't involve the regulars wallpapers, screensavers and all the usual stuff. I don't need the extra gameplay as the regular game itself is already so good. The acting is really well done, and I love watching the videos (a thing that I dislike usually in a game) and kept me hooked. The SG is fine, if only it is together with the game and not to be accessed from the main menu, this game will get 110% score from me. Nothing bad to say about this game, just simply buy it and you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dire Grove great hidden object game! This game have been great fun to play! Great story line, love the live action, kept the game interesting. Keep making more live action games if possible, we need more games like this.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely done I purchased this game some time ago and had to buy a new computer so I had to re-start. Loved the graphics and the sound effects, the suspense of the story line. Loved the fact it wasn't too hard to get to the strategy guide which was fairly clear and consise. Was hard to make myself stop playing which has kept me up past 2 nights playing. I can hardly wait until I can replay it.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my all-time favorite I love this game and highly recommend it. It was my first BFG purchase and it got me completely hooked! This is one of the few games where I leave the music volume up. Great story, great attention to detail. It took me many hours to play, which was fine by me.
Date published: 2012-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab Out of all the games I have tried, this is without doubt the best one..... I am now gutted because I have not been able to find one like it thats any good, that has real footage ect.... I have tried MCF shadow lake, the newest one with leah Thompson.... big disapointment.....
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite This was my favorite and first. Began my interest in the games, but have yet to find one as good!
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game! Another MCF hit! This game drew me in and freaked me out! I really needed the strategy guide with this game, and even then I found myself going to the forum for answers when I was stumped. It is so worth getting the CE, if only for the strategy guide. I loved the music, it's haunting. The HOS are standard, not interactive, and the games are challenging.
Date published: 2012-11-12
  • y_2020, m_8, d_10, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_109
  • loc_en_US, sid_5200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition

Use your Hidden Object skills to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.