Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(175.49 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use your wits and Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 517 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(175.49 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 321.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dire grove An in-game ID is a unique sequence used to identify your player profile in free to play games
Date published: 2015-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another mystery worth solving I have enjoyed all of the MCF games so far and this one was no exception. An interesting story which is fleshed out through the use of video tapes found throughout the game. You are dealing with ancient relics and legends that unfold as you play and you must release a spirit to set things right. Being more of an adventure game then HOG, there are a lot of puzzles to figure out with some HOS sprinkled throughout. You need to find a lot of items during the game that are used to solve the puzzles while some objects are not needed until the very end. I especially enjoyed the final scenes where the celtic alphabet was needed. I almost forgot I had found a piece of paper that had that on it but when I did realize I had it I was able to finish the game. Another area I had trouble with was one of the objects needed at the very end which was obtained from the thermometer you discover early in the game. The graphics and sound were excellent and you actually get the illusion that it is getting colder if you are immersed in the game. A very well done game.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! What took me so long to find this game?! This game's been out for a few years so, of course, there are things that were annoying at first just because they're out of date - i. e. no transporting map, no map at all, no lockable inventory, no help other than in the HOSs, and junkpile HOSs without the interactivity we've come to enjoy. With all that you may ask yourself why in the world would I give this 5 stars? Well, because even without all of that, this is hands down, ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED! Seriously.... and I own a lot of these BF games. Those missing components simply added to the intricacy and made the game more entertaining. The game is challenging. Very challenging. If you're a beginner, you may wanna skip this one. There is a lot of backtracking - but it's a good thing. This game really makes you work your memory. You have to pay attention to detail and actually listen to the cut scenes because a great many of the clues are in the cut scenes. There are no hints or info provided for puzzles, and there are no hints during the adventure parts of the game. You have to figure it out cold turkey... (or quit the game and check the forum, heh heh.) I enjoyed the challenge! The story line is great! I'm a sucker for a good story. If the plot has holes then it ruins it for me, but this one was perfect! The puzzles were excellent, the HOs were just good. There's no info that tells you what to do in the puzzles so you have to figure it out. Great! The HOs were junkpiles - like pretty much all the games 3 or 4 years ago; but they were fairly simple and made sense in the story. There's hint in the HOs. The cut scenes weren't animated with voice-overs but live actors and actresses playing the parts of the lost students. They were actually very good!!! It was believable acting that pulled you into the story and made you want to find out what happened to the actors. All around this was an excellent game! I can't sing its praises highly enough. Now I'm looking forward to completing the newer game Dire Grove, Sacred Grove. If it's anything like this one, then it'll quickly become one of my favorites.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The One That Started It All! This was one of the first games I played when I stumbled across BFG and I have to say, It's one of the very best games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. It has everything! Creepiness (I recommend scaredy cats like myself to not play this in the dead of night), mystery, excitement, and was so very fun because I (after calling up some of my sisters to come over and finish it with me) had a small crowd helping figure it out. The graphics were awesome, I am so much more engrossed into games that have good, believable graphics and scenery. They are a much funner game play experience! The developers of this game have a good thing going and they do not disappoint!
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF needs another one of those! I'll be starting my fifth or sixth time around playing this game, because, honestly, it's that good. As an avid MCF fan, I look forward to every single one of their game releases and, so far, this is my favorite one. 13th skull and Shadow Lake were also excellent, but nothing tops Dire Grove. It's eerie, perfectly executed, the storyline is just amazing and I can't wait for MCF to come up with a new original game. The series are also very entertaining (the Ravenhersts and Madame Fates) but I feel like the single title ones are much more polished. This masterpiece, however, is to be enjoyed time and time again, I just can't get tired of it.
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is really hard to play because it doesn't have hints This game is really great to play but is so hard to know what's next because is doesn't have hints, the only mini games of hidden objects are the one that have hints so is hard to know what's next in the story you need to keep up reading your diary and watching the videos of the case. amazing!
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good eerie vibe i hope to find more games of this quality.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best This is the best game I'm ever played. A friend introduced me to Hidden Object games a few years ago and one of them was Dire Grove . Bought and played many of them and still Dire Grove is my favourite. Have fun and enjoy !!
Date published: 2014-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy and Fun This game out of all the MCF series spooked the living tar out of me. Finding those students In all that ice and then all of a sudden they'd wake up and talked had me covering my eyes. Loved the visual and sound effects.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT In capital letters - EXCELLENT!! I played it all the way through in one shot. It's 9am and I didn't sleep last night!! I loved the film part - that was new! Acting was great. LOVE IT! What an adventure!! :)
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Challenging Was actually a challenge at times. Good animation and great story line. Took more than a day to solve.
Date published: 2014-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsome as a thought the mystery case files was full of adventure this one was the best of all this beats mystery case files the 13th skull and newer upcomeing games to mcf i relly hope you like this game because it rocks.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove The atmosphere of this game is fantastic, especially the first time you play it. I got really involved with my surroundings and it was delicious. You've gotta' try this one!
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST BUY!!! I played this some time ago and wish there were more like it in everyway. Not having played it in such a long time, I can't give any details on the game play. What I do remember is the awesome graphics and how much I enjoyed playing it. I keep looking for a game that compares, but, alas, I cannot. This is a great bargain at this price. Don't pass it up!! You won't regret it.
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT IS GOOD IT IS INTERESTING many adventure
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well, Dire, Of Course! *groan* Sorry! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS You know, I’ve rather enjoyed my role as MCF heretic, believing myself to be not as all that impressed with the series as most fishies are. But replaying them all in conjunction with the latest in the series, I have come a long way towards changing my tune. For the first hour or more, I found my usual objections to MCF. It was too in-your-face creepy, too ‘loud’, and altogether too over done. As well as being unforgivingly and unforgivably hard. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The videos drove me nuts! Right from the very start. They were totally nerve wracking. They were also splendid of course. To be able to present video of this quality in 2009! With actors, not cartoons! The use made of tapes as an slowly unfolding suspense/horror movie was inspired. Admittedly, by today’s standard the graphics are a little grainy – again, not bad for a game produced in the age of the dinosaur! The sound track is one feature I am not at all conflicted about. It is brilliant. There are everything from haunting melodies to crashing thunderous chords that scared the living daylights out of me. WHAT’S HAPPENING Having survived yet another clash at Ravenhearst, you find yourself snowed in by an unseasonable blizzard near a township called Dire Grove, well known for its Celtic heritage. A stalled car, a shocking video, played on your Crime Computer, and you are knee deep in the snow drifts, trying to locate 4 missing post grad students, who have come to see some Celtic relics recently found in the area. It is a terrifying mystery and tests all your skills as a Master Detective. MAKING PROGRESS This is an adventure game with a heavy tendency towards HOPs, which are all interactive lists and visited twice. There are also a lot of tricky puzzles, covering a wide selection of the sorts of puzzles and mini-games we have seen since then and now. There are some nastier aspects to this typically MCF utterly impossible game. No hint outside HOPs and no map!! In a game that covers about 30 locations, across a never ending supply of snow drifts inside and out. The journal is your only hope for much of the game, and it rarely spells things out. It simply lets you work out the meaning of what you’ve seen for yourself. FINAL VERDICT This is, of course, the reason MCF games have such a following. They are always cutting-edge in the game mechanics, daring to do something genuinely different with every new release. They have great stories told extremely well, usually in unusual ways. And they are demanding games, expecting more from you than any other series (that I can think of, anyway). Love them or hate them, MCF games are in a class of their own. And the more often I play them, the more I find them irresistible.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from frist game my frist game and now I love these game and help my gremen too, in reading and spelling
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not your typical Time Waster This game requires you to use a few grey cells. Where did I see that item before, keep your wits about you remember what the characters tell you and you actually might actually find the missing. Have fun I did.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stands the Test of Time This was the game I spent my very first Club Credit on. This is the first time I've replayed it since then, December 2009. I think I loved it now more than I did then! It has a plot. It has great live acting. It has a great soundtrack and sound effects. It has no map and no hint outside of the HO scenes. You really need to think, and remember. The puzzles are good, not too hard, not too easy. I wish there were more of them. There are a lot of HOs, I wish there were less but they are all in context and found in appropriate places, you don't have to wander all the way to the other end of the game looking for a random one. I'm glad I got the SE version instead of the CE. I think the morphs would have distracted from the story and the immersive atmosphere, and not having a strategy guide at your fingertips really makes you work. Excellent game, I really loved it.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Great Hidden Game Challenge" I had a lot of fun with this game. Intense parts kept me intrigued. I recommend this game, you will love it!
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far, the best of the series!!! Combining excellent game play, with fabulous graphics, a very ominous soundtrack, and a very dark story-line, this MCF game is, by far, the best in the series. You will want this game in your gaming collection. It takes you deep into the background of mythical legends, and transports you into the realms of Celtic folklore. You will learn, you be startled (if not downright scared), and you will enjoy!
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINE GAMING THIS GAME HAD A VERY INTERESTING PLOT. VERY CREATIVE AND FUN TO PLAY NOT TO MENTION CREEPY. THIS ONE IN MY OPINION IS THE BEST MCF TO DATE. THE SCENES ARE VERY BELIEVABLE! FINE GAMING AT IT BEST. THE MUSIC WAS VERY EEERRIE! I LOVED IT AND COULDN'T WAIT TO FINISH. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I played this game with my family and we all loved it. I wish I could find another as good as this one.
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Fun! Loved this game. It was definately challenging at times which kept me intrigued. Didn't feel like it was really short either, took me awhile to beat. I recommend to anyone who likes mysteries
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun to play not to hard nor to easy. Plenty of game types. entertaining plot story. did not get stuck so long that it became irritating .Loved it. Thanks
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game Had a great time playing Dire Grove. Challenging puzzles, great graphics and lots of thinking to do. Mystery Case File Games never let me down. I have almost all of them and they are never boring to go back and play again and again. Keep them coming!!
Date published: 2013-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another hit for me, great game! I really enjoyed this game. In the top 2 of my list of favorites. MCF does a great job with graphics, storline and interaction. I like the recorded tapes and live people interaction concept. I'm an intermediate level and found the game challenging enough and entertaining. Great job MCF I'm a big fan.
Date published: 2013-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the better MCF excellent graphics with a creepy setting and soundtrack, a storyline that good and more importantly hooks you in until the end, and no over-reliance on hidden object screens. I recommend this game!
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesmerizing!! I had my doubts about Dire Grove, what with the actors instead of animated characters...but they really didn't take away from the game. I adored Dire Grove. It had just the right amounts of creepiness and beauty, which is a combination I can never turn down! The story was truly amazing and I enjoyed it every time I played it. I do regret not buying the Collector's Edition and I wish there was a simple way to upgrade, instead of buying the whole thing over again.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC Oh my just finished it, the best game ever, scared me in some parts and the end well just amazing,thank you x.
Date published: 2013-09-30
  • y_2018, m_8, d_13, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_321
  • loc_en_US, sid_5536, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.