Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(175.49 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use your wits and Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 517 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(175.49 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 321.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The One That Started It All! This was one of the first games I played when I stumbled across BFG and I have to say, It's one of the very best games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. It has everything! Creepiness (I recommend scaredy cats like myself to not play this in the dead of night), mystery, excitement, and was so very fun because I (after calling up some of my sisters to come over and finish it with me) had a small crowd helping figure it out. The graphics were awesome, I am so much more engrossed into games that have good, believable graphics and scenery. They are a much funner game play experience! The developers of this game have a good thing going and they do not disappoint!
Date published: 2014-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF needs another one of those! I'll be starting my fifth or sixth time around playing this game, because, honestly, it's that good. As an avid MCF fan, I look forward to every single one of their game releases and, so far, this is my favorite one. 13th skull and Shadow Lake were also excellent, but nothing tops Dire Grove. It's eerie, perfectly executed, the storyline is just amazing and I can't wait for MCF to come up with a new original game. The series are also very entertaining (the Ravenhersts and Madame Fates) but I feel like the single title ones are much more polished. This masterpiece, however, is to be enjoyed time and time again, I just can't get tired of it.
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stands the Test of Time This was the game I spent my very first Club Credit on. This is the first time I've replayed it since then, December 2009. I think I loved it now more than I did then! It has a plot. It has great live acting. It has a great soundtrack and sound effects. It has no map and no hint outside of the HO scenes. You really need to think, and remember. The puzzles are good, not too hard, not too easy. I wish there were more of them. There are a lot of HOs, I wish there were less but they are all in context and found in appropriate places, you don't have to wander all the way to the other end of the game looking for a random one. I'm glad I got the SE version instead of the CE. I think the morphs would have distracted from the story and the immersive atmosphere, and not having a strategy guide at your fingertips really makes you work. Excellent game, I really loved it.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All time favorite! Okay, this was one of the first games I ever played and it spoiled me for almost all the other games out there... There are only very few games which can reach the high standards of "MCF: Dire Grove", one them being "Enigmatis: The Ghosts of Maple Creek". This game has everything: An amazing and very gripping storyline, wonderful graphics, a great soundtrack and believable actors as characters. Play it! You wont be disappointed, I promise!
Date published: 2013-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Cool Wow. Just finished playing this game and I'm impressed. The story line is superb, the real actors can actually act and the graphics are amazing. Not only is this game enjoyable, but is easily solvable with some thought and imagination. I haven't enjoyed a game this much in quite a while. The only negative about this game (and this is being picky) is that some of the HOGS have you searching for the same objects more than once in identical scenes. But really, it won't bother you because you will be too immersed in the story. Truly fun.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from COMPLETED GAME - FUN AND CHALLENGING Casual mode a little over 4 ½ hours. Not like the first MCF games. A very well thought-out and skillfully-told story. Provocative puzzles; fairly uncluttered HOS and flawless gameplay. Terrific production values. Video tapes you find throughout the game will tell the backstory of 4 students investigating the lore of Dire Grove – I found them somewhat boring and not necessary to view to enjoy the game. No map, but it’s fairly easy to keep track of what is where. Your journal is integral to your gameplay and will contain some information (including possible solutions to puzzles or where to look for the solutions) not found during gameplay. Satisfying ending. PUZZLES: If you’ve played a lot of HOGs, you will recognize many of the wide variety of puzzles. No instructions are provided. Experts and advanced intermediates should be able to figure out and solve most from having encountered them in other games. Other intermediates and novices will have to rely on trial and error or a walkthrough for many of them. Suggestion: When the puzzle involves squares or tiles, you might first try moving one or two of them around. You might find a symbol underneath a tile or find that something lights up, which will provide a clue on how to solve the puzzle. You could end up feeling really smart. Clues for some puzzles (ex: combo for safe) are generally found very nearby. Suggestion: Also look through your journal (not just the last couple pages of entry). Sometimes solutions are included in the narrative. GAMEPLAY: Is smooth and logical, though sometimes rather challenging. As you know, you must usually do something in order to activate a HOS. So, if you get stuck on what to do next, try going to the different locations to see if you come across 2 or 3 HOS. The tools you get should give you some insight of what to do (since you were probably looking for them). Note that the hint works within the HOS, but will not give direction on where to go or what to do during gameplay. Some tools aren’t found until much later in the game (such as that sparkplug for the generator or a means to cross that break in the bridge). Note that, even after you find the 4 students, you still have a ways to go before the end.
Date published: 2013-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST GAME EVER I loved everything about this game. I still go back to play it from time to time and I own over 50 Big Fish games. The story line, the characters, the morphing objects and the graphics along with videos of real character's comments all make this my #1 favorite.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from O-M-G this is friggin' off the chain!!! From the limited time I've been a Game Club Member by far this game ROCKS! The visuals are in tune with just the right amount of HO's, puzzles and adventures. I just finished the trial and fortunately I was just awarded a free game (thanks to the handy punch card being filled# so this is the ONE. Oh and the soundtrack.....SICK!! #as in good) reminds me of the films The Exorcist & Omen trilogies. I wouldn't be surprised if Jerry Goldsmith had a hand with the score. This is definitely one to own!
Date published: 2012-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I usually don't do reviews, but this is so good that I couldn't go without recommending it to everyone. Will be hard to meet the standards of this game. More...Please!
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game Graphics, music, scenery are great. Enjoyed playing this game. It's a long one with a great deal to explore. Many places to visit and re-visit for clues. This is not a boring game. You will be entertained for many hours of fun.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever I've played many games, and this is the one I play again and again! The music is top notch, the ambience and sound effects mesmerizing. There may be games with better graphics, but I have yet to find a game as continually satisfying as this one. Love the abundance of HOS scenes; not too many annoying puzzles. ( I do believe I have heard some of the soundtrack on The Young & the Restless.) Good ending, too.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hidden object adventure. A great mix of point and click adventure and hidden object. Loved the fact that real video was used in the game. If you love hidden object or adventure games then definitely get this.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Without Equal This game is outstanding. I do not believe you will ever find a game like it. The graphics and sound are amazing, the story is gripping and the puzzles are interesting, challenging and different. An absolute gift to gamers every where!!!
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard at times but very worth it Had a great time with this game, play with your headphones on, so you can hear all the creepy stuff in the background. For those who can't figure out the celtic rune puzzle, the game tells you the answer right before you get there... look at your crime computer! And yes you will use all your items except the snow shoes, at least for me it was like that. Great game, I'm glad a bought it!!
Date published: 2012-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great adventure/hidden object game This game and 13th Skull are two of the best games available. Great story, videos, tricky but not impossible.
Date published: 2012-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The game that got me hooked on Big Fish My first download from Big Fish, and my favorite game. The storyline gets you hooked from the beginning. The graphics are very clear and easy on the eyes. The overall story is challenging, and the mini games are colorful and challenging. The live action adds to the pace, rather than slowing it down. I still enjoy this game after a year of playing other games.
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Worth the money. Long enough. Perfect gameplay. Loved the story line. Im very conservative when thinking about purchasing a game. I watch the video, read the reviews and play free trial when available. Im not very good at reviewing a game as others are... but, I know what getting my money worth is all about. This one is worth it. Excellent.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOP NOTCH GAME Just finished playing and I have to say, this game is excellent. The graphics are gorgeous, the storyline kept me interested (sometimes I skip the 'narrations' but this one kept me tuned in), the music and sound effects were great and I found the 4 humans very likable and didn't mind listening to them or watching the videos. I think the videos added another interesting aspect to the game. My only complaint is that on some of the mini-games there were no instructions and I wasn't sure how to play them so I did skip a few that I couldn't figure out. (I'm not a big fan of mini-games anyway). I did consult the walkthrough about 3X but I didn't mind, this game is that good! I know that this is one I will play over and over again!
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the 'GREAT' ones! I was browsing through the "Felix's Favorites" for another GREAT game to play when I came across this MCF game that I had somehow missed when it first came out. I played about 5 minutes of the demo and that was all it took for me to click the 'BUY' button. If you have never played one of the Mystery Case File #MCF# games then you don't know what you're missing! They are all great but this is one of the best! These games have it all; graphics, storyline, characters, sound, effects and more. I always look forward to exploring the new releases and specials everyday. Today, I am happy that I decided to stray from my normal routine!
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leading The Way The Ravenhurst folks have lead the way to my introduction to hidden object games. Starting with their first simple ones to the more deluxe games like this. My oldest son buys them and I use to go over to their place and play for hours. They are hard to beat in every way. Games like this have it all. Luxury car of adventures. Fantastic interactions and compelling story line. Out of all the games their grouping I have played over and over and still could play them again. Once I ever get a computer with bigger graphics I will own this game myself so I can keep on playing. Dire Grove was magical and griped me to the edge of my seat.
Date published: 2012-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing one of the best mystery case files yet! i loved it
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Adventure game Loved this game because of the adventure, object games and much more. Thrilling game.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great Great Challenging puzzles, interesting story, not too many hog. Really creative, many varied locations. Just when you think you've done all you can do, a way opens up. Really good game.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite I own many, many of these games and this one is one of my favorite. I have gone back to it and replayed it a couple times and will probably replay many more times.
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved a fun challenge This was not your typical hidden object game! I loved the fact that it was more SLEUTH and Mystery than just clicking objects. The puzzles were medium challenging but the use of the objects and how to figure it out was the best. For those seeking a challenge: You cannot hint your way out of the sleuthing == only the puzzles. So if you want a fun challenge - it is worth the buy! It mixes realistic video and historic plot.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games! The storyline is fantastic! Real people are integrated in the game. - The sound is really adding to the atmosphere, creepy. - The graphics are crisp, very realistic. - The HOS are clear. - The puzzles are quite easy. - There are 16 tapes to find. They remind me of "The Blair Witch Project"! - There is a very helpful journal. - There is no map and a lot of going back and forth, but after some time, you don't get lost anymore.... - The game is quite long, about 5 hours. This is one of my favourite games, because there is a lot of thinking, searching, trying... and the story is just awesome!
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! I love Solitaire games and HOG, this game was excellent! Challenging, fun and lovely graphics
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I really liked this game. The graphics were good and I found it quite challenging
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great and amazing game....! i really love this game....i'm addicted to finish it and my friends feel sick of me just because i'm too focus enjoying this....hahaha....but, they also like it when i give the a try...well done guys....
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought this for the Ipad and enjoyed it ALOT!! Very challenging and I like the live person aspect of it. I got lost a bit but thats the challenge.... :-)
Date published: 2012-06-27
  • y_2019, m_10, d_14, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_321
  • loc_en_US, sid_5536, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.