Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(175.49 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use your wits and Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 517 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(175.49 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 323.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought this for the Ipad and enjoyed it ALOT!! Very challenging and I like the live person aspect of it. I got lost a bit but thats the challenge.... :-)
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite MCF to date! I am a huge MCF fan, and this one is by far my favorite! I love the story line, and everything that happens in this game. Personally I think this is the best in the series! I will admit there were a few moments where I got stuck, however when I first played this game I was much younger, and looking back I shouldn't have gotten stuck so much :P There are tons of area's to investigate, and what I love is that it's not too long, but it's not too short. :D
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games on Big Fish I haven't normally gone for the hidden object type of games but decided to give Dire Grove a try. WOW! I'm amazed. It is by for the most fun hidden object game I've tried yet! I don't recommend it for younger children though, as some of the images might be disturbing.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from penny I love playing dire grove it was alot of fun game to play
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 'real-life' feel I loved playing this game. The videos with real actors was a unexpected bonus which really added to the mystery and intrigue. Reminded me of 'Blair witch project'! The puzzles were a good challenge and the game didn't finish too quickly.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF Rules This was my first Big Fish game and after that I was hooked - literally. The graphics are great and the story line kept you wanting more. The HO scenes are challenging but not an object dump like some of the other/early (?) MCF games. The puzzles were also challenging yet fun! The mixture of live action and graphics was cool. As was the snow - BRRRR. There is a journal which I found to be thorough and helpful. No map which turned out to be OK.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and just a little Creepy I really enjoy these games. The story is always original, and the puzzles are innovative. I think one of my favorite parts are the changing items you can find. It makes the searches that much more of a challenge, and adds just a bit more fun. I wish they would come up with a genre for games with puzzles and hidden objects like this one, because that is what I like to play.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my very favorites. I can't think of a negative thing about this game. It was very challenging, great story and very clever. You will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my fav games of all time Don't think I can add much to what's already been said by other fans of this game. It's beautiful, some scenes hauntingly beautiful. It's been very well thought out by the developers and great gameplay. Lots of interesting puzzles and mini games. Awesome soundtrack which enhances the eeire atmosphere in the game. A very well done to all involved in the development and publishing of this game. A real must have for all puzzle/adventure gamers!
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun for your dollar! It was great, lots of running around, great puzzles, I enjoyed it. The graphics were good, good story line.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like a good movie or book that you can't stop thinking about.. Best game on Big Fish ever....I am reminiscent of the 7th Guest which in my opinion is hands down the game to compare to...worth the $!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Great! This game was very very fun to play. I loved how you had to solve puzzles, discover codes etc. You really should not miss this game. The graphics were fantastic too. I like it how they incorporate real people into this game too!
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game!! Great game. Graphics are beautiful. Challenging puzzles. Interesting story line. I couldn't wait to sit down and play. Completely enjoyed this game and began to look for others of similar qualities.
Date published: 2012-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best one The best of hidden object games I ever played. A very quality in sound, visual and story. try it!
Date published: 2012-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of the best i have played allot of hidden object games in my life and i think it is one of my top ten favorite games and if you like this one play some of the other MCF games and mystery trackers games.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must play game Just read all the other comments. This game is a must play, brill.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My All time favorite This game is my all time favorite. I loved the videos, they really scared me. The story line was "chilling" It kept on the edge of my seat. I have gone back to this game many times.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best of the hidden object games This was one of the first games I played and none have topped this one. Hidden objects were challenging as well as the different puzzles. It required thought and concentration. A great game. Well worth the price!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game This game was long and entertaining. I really liked it. My husband and I play together and we both just really loved that game.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best in my favorite series of HO games so far! Even though this game is already flooded with amazing reviews, it deserves another good one. Mystery Case Files is my favorite HO game series on BFG so far, and this game was my first and favorite of the series. If you can play the MCF games with a friend, it really helps because one of you will usually figure out what to do in each sticky spot. This game was challenging enough to be very engaging, but every puzzle had a logical solution. We had to use a strategy guide once to find out we had been clicking the wrong spot on the item we knew we needed, but the rest of the game really made up for the moment of frustration! (The videos you find throughout the game also do a wonderful job of building suspense without crossing the line into "Escape from Ravenhearst" territory.)
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Losing Sleep has never been more fun Awesome game. Real charachters brilliant Chill factor exellent..Made me and my GF jump a few time :-) Very nice touch the Tapes Love the Snowy Scenery Halfway through and I don't want it to end. Love the comments when you do something not quite right.
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing It really is a flawless game with challenging puzzles and superb storyline, graphics and sound. I really felt like I was in the game, and could feel the chill of the blizzard. Can't say enough about this game. You will need the walkthrough at some point when you get stuck, but if you can get through it without peek, hats off to you!
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting Adventure This is probably my favorite Mystery Case Files game. The plot and storyline was intriguing and kept my interest. I really enjoyed the videos, and I thought they were very well done. The HOS are relatively challenging, but not impossible. The mini games are varied and there were ones I'd never played before. The graphics are very good, and the music stays unobtrusively in the background. Some things to be aware of. No map and there's nothing in the game play that gives clues to figure out the mini games like some games have. Sometimes, it was difficult to know where to go next, and what item in the inventory to use. There are also some items that have dialog boxes but aren't used. The game can be kind of spooky at times, but not as dark as others I've played. One extra thing I liked is that you can change the attitude of the messages when you try using the wrong inventory item. I chose snarky, but you can choose other attitudes. This game is very enjoyable, and probably even worth the extra money for the CE (though I only have the SE).
Date published: 2012-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love, Love This Game I really thought I was gonna have difficulty at first without the strategy guide at my disposal, but I didn't need it. I had to do a little more searching between areas to maneuver my way around, but I made it through in about 3 1/2 hours total. (not at one time) It was an awesome game, love the graphics, sound, story line ......everything! I am not an expert by any means, but I enjoyed the challenge. I recommend this game! It was well worth the cost!
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought the game and glad i did This was a great story and lots of fun.. Wish i knew where to get the music.
Date published: 2012-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great game! I was pleasantly surprised with this one! I didn't think I would like the story at all until I got into the game. I found it to be very intriguing. The HOGS were perfect, not too hard but not too easy.The graphics are top notch and amazing!! It was a very good (LONG) challenging game; it didn't disappoint me in the least. MCF has really done it again with another captivating game with twists and turns that keep you going until the very end.
Date published: 2012-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reminds me of movie This story follows Return To Ravenhearst. It even says it in your journal log when you start which I liked. The story was done in an interesting way. Much like the Blair Witch movie with all the video logs. I would have liked to see the bloopers at the end of the game like they did on Return To Ravenhearst, but other than that I really liked this game.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dire Grove THIS is a game that really sucks you into its atmosphere. You get that feeling of being isolated all throughout the game which really increases the creepiness of the snowed-in village. The actors playing the grad students are amazing. I love watching the video clips of them because it's like watching a movie. Heck, the beginning of the game (where Master Detective is driving down the road in the car) LOOKS like a scene pulled straight out of a movie. It's that good. Love the whole game, one of my favorites.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My all-time Favorite game I've played so far! I LOVED this game! It was very challenging, long, entertaining and fun. The storyline was very cool with the video enhancements - which kept you incredibly interested in what happened to the missing people. I looked forward to finding each new video tape! The graphics and scenes were gorgeous! It really made you feel like you were there, in the snow, cold, etc. The challenge level of this game is high, as there are many difficult puzzles, tasks, things to find. (I had to look at the blog walk-through about 2 or 3 times) ;-) I honestly did not want this game to end - and to my surprise and delight - it did last a long time. You were never locked out of old scenes and there was some back and forth - which I actually really like. Great game - highly recommend! I can't wait for another Mystery Case Files game!
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! I must say hats off to the developers of this fantastic game, i couldn't tell you the amount of games i have played, but very few if any come close to Dire Grove. Not are the graphics outstanding, the storyline is engaging, Great sound...and very creepy. Can be quite challenging in parts, with lots of areas to explore...i could go on about this game...but all i can really say if you haven't yet tried this game, hit the Download Button NOW!
Date published: 2012-02-25
  • y_2020, m_4, d_2, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_323
  • loc_en_US, sid_5536, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.