Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove ™ Strategy Guide

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove ™ Strategy Guide

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 5 minute trial

(35.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Unlimited use

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use this helpful Strategy Guide and your Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

  • In-game screenshots
  • Helpful hints and tips
  • Explore dangerous Dire Grove!
  • Get the game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 39 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove ™ Strategy Guide

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 5 minute trial

(35.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Unlimited use

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove ™ Strategy Guide is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from was worth it had to use walk through which was free on net. took about 6hrs. to complete
Date published: 2012-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked it but... I liked this game. It was very challenging. Made me use my little gray cells A LOT! I agree, it is a difficult game. And there are not a lot of hints which just makes it more interesting. My biggest problem is decoding the end page with the celtic language and the riddles. I'm stuck there at the moment. Got two of the riddles figured. Working on the last 3 and then I think I'm done....(And until now on the last 3 riddles and decoding; ALL withOUT the guide!)
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was a challenge but really fun I read a lot of negative comments about this game, and I just had to send my review in. I loved this game. It would have been nice to have some hints, but you were able to keep going back to the book and find help. It was interesting and fun. I must admit I have not completed it yet, I am right at the very end and stuck but I know I will get it sooner or later. Just have the snowshoes and the vial of mercury and I found the kids, just have to get them out. But if you have patience I certainly would recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from keep your eyes peeled the graphics were great, storyline was good - kept your interest. hardly any hints available; so keep your eyes open. the very last bit at the end is where i got stumped and had to result to a walkthrough. after i found the error of my ways- it was like duh!!!!! so just keep your eyes peeled as you go from scene to scene so as not to miss anything. it usualy gives you a faint flicker of what to grab but you can miss it. overall i would recommend this game. i really enjoy the mystery case file strategy games - u can use your grey matter!
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from mystery case files puzzler great if you cant find which way to go and gives you clues to puzzles but you still have to work them out which is great
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a very nice game but difficult. it was a great game and exellent movies and drawing. but it was way to difficult, luck that i could get help in the free strategy guide, because you shoud not be forsed to have to bye the strategy guide. sorry if my english writhing is incorrect, im not an english speeking girl:)))
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from diregrove i enjoyed the game it can be solved hardest bit the stones but the clue is their
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun hidden object game very hard without stratergy guide
Date published: 2019-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sueross8821 Liked the game can't figure out how to open the suitcase or get the sparkplug off the lawn mower. But it is challenging.
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Concerned! Gotten through to the end, but I have gotten stuck because I did not get the third coin, just the snowshoes, therefore I could not get the sunflower seeds to finish the game. other than it was a great game!
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging Twist I really enjoyed the game, yes it is very challenging and no help is provided in the game itself. However that was the rewarding factor, it took me about 9 1/2 hours total to get through the game without a guide. There is some trial and error, you have to check everything sometimes 2 or 3 times. I wrote down notes on a pad to help me remember certain things and to figure out some of the puzzles.
Date published: 2013-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New to this, but impressed What a great game to have made a first impression! I really enjoyed the graphics, the level of difficulty (I downloaded the strategy guide b/c I was stumped!), and the storyline was really original and clever. I love that I can decide how snarky the comments could be, too. The only thing I would change would be fewer puzzles-they got to be kind of annoying, esp. with no clue what the object was until I got the strategy guide. Overall, though, it was great and I didn't want it to end!
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from mistery case files dire grove good challenging adventure with no help from guide thank s mdt62
Date published: 2012-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging Frustrating. Many hos items were same color as the ice,too hard to distinguish and a few had no instructions. Still, all-in-all, good game. I enjoyed it. (What's with the snowshoes?)
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Difficult but fun There are definitely parts of this game were I would have liked more guidance, but I was still able to beat it and sometimes it's more satisfying when you figure it out completely on your own. I liked the puzzles and I thought the actors were surprisingly good for this kind of project. Definitely want to try another game like this.
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok. Was very hard, got stuck many times! I need help to figure out where to place those stupid jewels!! HELP PLEASE!!!!!
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More Information The Strategy guide doesn't help as it should. For example, I need the heavy key from the desk in order to open the padlock on the boathouse door. Where is this key? It doesn't seem to exist. I can't seem to aquire all of the necessary items needed to get to the other side of the lake. I like the challenge, but am frustrated that I can't obtain all of the necessary equipment. Please help me so that I can complete this game.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not enough help I am to a point where I can go no further, The online walk thru is not much help, the game is very easy in the lower levels but not enough info to get you from one level to another. I will finish this game and do recommend it if you want a good challenge
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No clues I liked the game however I am not able to download the Strategy guide so I am not able to finish said game because there are NO hints available with the game and the strategy guide I purchase will not download!
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting game The game is fun and interesting. Cannot recommend until technical issues resolved.
Date published: 2013-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from an expensive disappointment I eagerly bought the standard edition only to realize I had to buy the strategy guide as well. A minor disappointment. Both are good in their own right but run into a problem during the game and the buyer is on their own! A major disappointment. I can not get the generator to start, no matter how I try to start it. It just wont start and I cant find the answer? End result is I can not complete the game. Another MAJOR disappointment. Seems more like an MCF Customer Service problem than anything? In either case, I need help starting the generator. I'll take all that is offered. Thanks.
Date published: 2013-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Humph!!! The game started out well but progress was seriously impeded because the "help" facility didn't work and I had to buy the strategy guide which took almost two hours to download! I was impressed with the art work and the animation but really disappointed with the issues already mentioned. I'm going back to the game to try and get further now that I've got the strategy guide.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lack of Hints When Stuck I was very disappointed that when I got stuck the HINT button did not work at all.. I only works when you are in a find-it screen but not when you are searching to get the items you need such as keys, the rope, chain or whatever to get across the covered bridge.. or how to get the valve wheel down to shut off the water... I would not have wasted my money on this game if I had known it is lacking in additional help to be able to enjoy playing this game.. I am very sorry I spent one cent for this ...
Date published: 2013-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just not fun I've played a lot of these HO games and this one just wasn't any fun. Too hard in one respect and too slow moving in another. I'm an average player and I spent way too much time trying to figure out what to do. Not fun at all.
Date published: 2012-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from wish I had seen the reviews I wish I had known you would need to purchase the guide to play this game or at least had seen the reviews that are based on others trying to play. . I saw the reviews on the game itself and purchased it based on that I am really upset that to play I now need to buy the guide. this is only the 2nd game I have purchased from Big Fish and am really sorry I bought this one. Probably will not spend anymore money on this game and will not finish it, due to lack of interactive help within the game itself.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from read before yu buy This is one of my favorite type of game and I have played several. This one is awful. Clues are almos non-existant and after going around in circles for about an hour, I QUIT. Lesson: READ REVIEWS before you buy. Rip off.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from hidden object I agree with others, not enough info between modes forcing you into buying the strategy game, unfair
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove ™ Strategy Guide This is my first Big Fish Game purchase and I am truly disappointed in the lack of help given. I don't want it to be easy, but this is just not what I expected.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't buy this for a laptop I got stuck and there are no clues to get unstuck. The Strategy Guide cost 6.99. We have several Big Fish games for the ipad and they are just fine. There are other issues but this is not the place to complain about them. I would like my money back. I high bar ratings are because, if the game worked properly it would be rated excellent. Maybe the one for the ipad works better.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove I've brought many games from Big Fish Games and I donot like the way this game is setup to play..Why should I have buy the Str-Guide when I paid for the game. It should have a walk-thru like the rest of the games.
Date published: 2012-11-26
  • y_2020, m_11, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_5560, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove ™ Strategy Guide

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.