Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(334.80 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

This is a Collector's Edition special release. As a bonus, Collector's Editions purchases counts toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

Use your Hidden Object and Adventure game talent to solve a dreadful Murder in the Rue Morgue! Experience all the exclusive Collector’s Edition extras including additional Adventure and Hidden Object scenes.
The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Exclusive adventure scenes and inventory items
  • Bonus hidden object puzzles & minigames
  • Includes the strategy guide, concept art & wallpapers
  • A sneak preview of the next game in the story
  • Complete details about our Collector’s Edition

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 391 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(334.80 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 24.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoy the Entire Poe Series. This one too many HOS. Yes, in my opinion, there were too many HOS. But overall I enjoyed the storyline, visuals, Mr. Dupin. I believe this was the first in the series and each one has gotten better and better. I also enjoy voice overs which this did not have. But I believe it was created in 2009. As the story progressed, the items in the HOS got smaller. Still much better than the depressing monsters in so many of the games. I'm glad I bought it. If you like Poe, you should include this in your Poe games.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It all starts here. Although this is the first game in the Dark Tales series, it was actually the last one of the five that I played. I think it's for the best that I came by this later, because I don't like it as well as the other four. It's not a bad game by any means - it was certainly worth playing - but ERS takes the formula they introduce here and continuously improve on it with the subsequent games. This is how you, as the unnamed detective, first become acquainted with C. Auguste Dupin. Once you prove to him that you're a worthy sidekick, he takes you with him on a trek through Paris to solve a baffling and chilling murder, and also a possible kidnapping. I don't care much for Poe's writings; his stories are a little too macabre for me. I really enjoy the Dark Tales, therefore, because they make the stories much more fun. I knew who the murderer was all along because of having read the original story, but I was curious to see how ERS would handle it and they rose to the occasion beautifully. My only real complaint was that I felt a little abandoned at times. Many of the puzzles have no instructions, leaving me to ponder exactly what I'm supposed to do with each one. This isn't really a bad thing, but it would have been nice to have the option of a little guidance. Even on the easiest setting, no instructions. It's still a good way to ease into the adventure, though, and you and Dupin will remain good friends for a long time to come!
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved This Game I'm still playing the Black Cat Game, but I love it so far.
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average Start to a Great Series Poe's work has been the basis of many a casual game, but Rue Morgue was the first in this series and not a bad play overall. As another reviewer mentioned, the series improves as it goes along, so the first installment has a bit of a "warts and all" feel. If you're a fan of the genre, you'll appreciate the chance to play alongside Dupin, the fictional investigator who appears in several Poe stories and is considered to be the forefather of later intellectual detectives like Poirot and Holmes. The game itself recreates the excellent "Rue Morgue" story, and there are plenty of HO scenes throughout. They are a bit thrown together and you'll collect similar objects very often, but they do the job. Minigames are very simplistic, so the biggest challenge you'll face is navigating some of the technical issues. The caption box at the bottom pops up way too often, and it can be difficult to find what you're looking for with the cursor. As the main story lacks a "hint" feature #the frequent HO scenes do not#, don't be surprised if you end up needing a bit of assistance. The game itself is fairly brief, as you travel through Paris to find a murderer. The game itself is loosely attached to the original story, particularly as it relates to the ending, and suffice it to say the master author does it better #and scarier#. Animations and soundtrack are fine. No voice acting. The extras on the CE are the usual array, plus a sneak peek at Black Cat. I appreciated how you uncover them in playing the bonus chapter, but overall it felt tacked on and more like a merchandising shill than a successful add-on. At the end of the day, the game is a decent entry into the genre and would set the stage for bigger and better sequels to come. Should you decide to take the plunge, you're in for a reasonable HO. Skip the CE.
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue Collector's Edition Was overall just Ok. Nothing else to add.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lot of HO's I like most of the Dark Tales Edgar Allan Poe series. This one had a lot of HO's and no hint button when I got stuck to know what to do next. Only travel by map when it is time to travel. If there was a way to travel between site during a chapter then I did not figure it out. So I am a little disappointed.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's just average Of all the Edgar Alan Poe mystery games this is the least fun. It still has the high quality as the other games, but far too many HOGs and a lot of the objects are in the dark and, to my mind, cheating the player as they are seriously hard to find and one is reducted to using the hint button more often than usual. I also find it irritating that the cursor goes off on its own if you click more than three times around the scene. The story line is fair, but the characters are not as believable. Compared to the other games of the same ilk it doesn't match up. Nevertheless it still passes the time pleasantly
Date published: 2013-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Middle of the Road Not what I had anticipated, given it's a Poe. Too easy, gets boring because of that. The graphics are great. If you like HOS period then you would like this. To each their own. I recommend this only if you are into a lot of HOS.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok game. Pretty good game. Good graphics and puzzles. Was not crazy about the storyline.
Date published: 2012-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from One HO Scene after another This was my least favorite because it had way too many HO scenes, I liked Black Cat the best, it had much more adventure and items to find and figure out. It was also on the easy side and a bit boring.
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dark Tales, Edgar Allan Poe, the black cat Worse game ever... been stuck two days now and there is no hint button or anything to help... waist of money
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Action, HOG Only (NAHO) I bought this game because I have the other three of the series and I like all of them. Imagine my surprise when I bought this game during the sale (so I can't really complain, but I can't help it), that this is the worst HOG game ever made. I can't believe that there are 4 HOG scenes in one area.. Can you imagine that.. all corners of the room are sparkled and you are to find just one item from a pile of junks. The game itself is short and I think it's cheating us that the HOG scenes are there to prolong the gameplay. definitely not happy. Furthermore there is no hint button during the regular game, and it's only in the HOG scene. The button itself recharges very slowly. I am almost at the end of the game, only being given HOG scenes after scenes. Getting tired and weary over a short period of time. I am even dreading the bonus chapter and not looking forward to it. Will not replay this game for a long time. I am glad, though, that the games after this one is getting better and better. Can't wait to finish this game. Ugh!
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tedious Presentation/material is fine. Expect multiple tedious HOGs in each room. Puzzles are juvenile at best. A lot of text with little visual action and no voice over. I suppose this is definitely a HOG and not at all "adventure". Being Poe, it is of course very classical in pace. I didn't realize what I was getting into until after the demo and purchasing. If you're interested in the story go find the book. If you love frequent HOGs try this game out.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of $$$$ ok for a few, but total waste of money, should have just played the 1hr trial. not a long game like the others
Date published: 2013-01-22
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_US, sid_5559, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue Collector's Edition

Use your Hidden Object and Adventure game talent to solve a dreadful Murder in the Rue Morgue!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.