Sherlock Holmes VS Arsene Lupin
Exclusive

Sherlock Holmes VS Arsene Lupin

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(881.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Embark on an investigation as Sherlock Holmes! Stop the legendary thief, Arsene Lupin, before he steals famous historical objects from England! The French thief, with an impressive track record, has crossed the Channel to provoke you on your own territory! Dive into this extraordinary game of cat and mouse in Sherlock Holmes Versus Arsene Lupin, a wonderful Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Legendary locations
  • Incredible puzzles
  • Embark on an investigation!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.1
  • Hard Drive: 1759 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Sherlock Holmes VS Arsene Lupin

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(881.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Sherlock Holmes VS Arsene Lupin is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful game Excellent plot, story development, characters, atmosphere, everything! You immediately delve into the world of Sherlock Homes and Dr. Watson to find the elusive, but brilliant Arsene Lupin. I did manage to solve a good amount of challenges on my own, however I was thankful that the built-in guide didn't completely spoil the problem-solving when I needed it. The guide is perfect for giving you a nudge-wink in the right direction. What I do wish is Big Fish Games should bring more games like this. EXCELLENT GAME!
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elementary, my dear Watson? Would it were so... This game is from Frogwares, which IMHO, is one of the best video game development studios out there. They take their time to get it right, and each of their games in the Holmes franchise does not fail to disappoint. This is not a game for beginners and involves linear logic. You need to pay close attn to the characters and the clues they give. All is not what it seems, and you have to make sure you investigate every scene carefully for all clues (objects) and listen to/interrogate all the speakers. The game takes place throughout London (London Museum, the Tower of London, etc), and is great for a rainy, snowy afternoon. You will find yourself immersed and not able to stop. Unlike "The Awakened", there's no gore, only fantastic graphics and storyline. You won't regret getting this one.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good entry in the series This is a good entry in the Sherlock Holmes series by Frogwares. Not as good as Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper but as good or better than the Awakened. The puzzles can be tedious so thank goodness for the strategy guide. I'm hoping that BFG releases Testament sometime soon.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who's Smarter? Lupene or Holmes? The graphics and sound in this game are absolutely amazing. However, it is rather verbose and I began to wonder if I would have to do anything at all. Also, there was quite a bit of reading that needed to be done in Arsenio Lupene's letter. Altogether, it probably took a good 15 minutes before my character had to do anything at all - after all, one must finish one's breakfast, mustn't one? I was a bit thrown off when the instructions of the game informed me that I needed "pen and paper" to write down clues, notes, etc. Shouldn't there be a journal or a diary that holds that info? Ces La Vie. I am not used to games such as these where I have control of the character and it proved quite difficult for me. Although, I truly believe those who are used to RPGs, etc. will thoroughly enjoy this game of cat and mouse. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sherlock Holmes VS Arsene Lupin Excellent value for money, Very long game-play. Enjoyed this game immensely! One teensy-weensy gripe: although the visuals were very detailed and made the whole game very immersive, I personally had a lot of trouble adjusting the graphics properties to enable me to see everything which did detract from the overall pleasure factor.
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful game! This game was really great, though it was too hard at some points. I had to use a walkthrough at some parts, but other than that, I made it through. The Quality was great. The storyline... eh, didn't really catch me at first.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A challenging adventure. In this adventure Sherlock Holmes is confronted with the famous french thief Arsène Lupin. This game is really fun to play. It offers a wide variety of challenging puzzles. When stuck, an in-built guide can be consulted. A lot of puzzles are set down in the form of rhyme. Good understanding of English is necessary. There are no timed actions nor use of stealth. Good graphics. Long gameplay.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Puzzles became monotonous - lost interest The game was okay. However,the number of puzzles in one location became quite tedious and monotonous. I thought the succession of them would never end. Over 12 puzzle/riddles to solve in there alone before progressing. It was really too much, and started to lose interest. I have played other adventure games and found them better. Holmes vs Jack the Ripper was much better.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An exceedingly linear stroll around London A potentially good game let down by the excrutiatingly linear gameplay. I know where I need to go and what I need to do, but the game won't let me do it until I've completed some trivial task first! It left me tired and frustrated. On the plus side, the game has convincing characters and really top-notch voice work, particularly that of Holmes. The storyline's interesting enough, with master criminal Arsene Lupin stealing England's national treasures and leaving a series of clues at each location for Holmes to decipher. The devs have used a great choice of top tourist locations to visit during the game: the British Museum, Buckingham Palace, The Tower of London etc - though I was a bit surprised that 221b Baker Street is located in the middle of a very short road! There's an excellent jump-map which builds as you explore each new location - but since there's no tutorial I only realised I could use it to jump around after spending ages plodding endlessly back and forth through the National Gallery's rooms. You control Holmes and Watson in turn. Moving around is clunky and awkward until you get used to it but you can double-click to get them to run. It's possible to switch to first-person viewpoint to have a look around, but as it's '360 degrees' you might feel a bit seasick while doing so (I know I did). The hint system's excellent as it's comprised of layered clues, so if you get stuck you can choose exactly how much info you want revealed about your current task. Pressing the spacebar brings up all the action you can perform in the scene (viewing or interacting with an object) which I really appreciated as it saves so much aimless wandering about and examining! The inventory's well laid-out, with conversations and documents available for viewing in addition to standard inventory items. On the negative side - and it's a big negative - you MUST perform actions in a particular sequence in order to progress in the game. Three times now (and I'm only into the 3rd location) I've spent 20 minutes or more examining and re-examining items I know I need with nothing happening. It's only after I've performed some other pre-determined action, such as showing an inventory item to one of the characters and sparking a conversation, that I can try again and the game moves on. It's wretchedly annoying. Now that I understand both its mechanics and shortcomings I'll probably try and finish this game, as I enoyed the characterisation and voice work. But it would have been good to have had access to a tutorial so that I could understand what was holding me up. I recommend this game with reservations.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to love this game, but it was too frustrating I love Watson and Sherlock as characters. I found the writing, characters, voice acting, and backdrops to be well done. However, as a player who has purchased this game and played two-thirds of it, I would suggest that you save your credit unless you like living inside a strategy guide. **Some spoilers ahead** The first segment--which is what most reviews are based on--is doable and charming. Directions and next steps are clear, and thus, it is fun figuring out puzzles yourself and being rewarded with what happens next. Hence, all the misleading five star reviews (either that, or those who have advanced simply like reading a strategy guide). Where the game starts to fail is during the second act--The British Museum--there are too many paintings, all with a description, and you must scan and backtrack rooms with no end in sight. Just when you've had enough, there is more scanning and backtracking to do. I was thinking, "You mean I'm not done here yet?" If you don't pick up the slightest clue (it is slight and IMHO unimportant), you can't advance. It is frustrating, and you start to feel a little dumb. No, it is NOT that--you are not dumb--but an area that you scanned a least half a dozen times before didn't become active until a later stage (but no one or nothing informed you), and you only discovered this through the strategy guide. These problems do not rectify themselves in the third act at the British museum. You constantly have to pixel hunt to look for missing items of which can be anywhere because of obscurity and lack of direction. There was one password quiz that required you to have knowledge outside the game. (I'm sorry but I hadn't studied Shakespeare since Gr. 10, and to exit the game and do a Google search is unfair to say the least.) Other times included simply not knowing what to do or where to go next in spite of scanning dialogue and documents several times. And then frustration on top of frustration occurred. The game does not automatically save when you exit. It's something you have to do manually, which I forgot to do only once, and it was like 'oh no, I lost at one hour of gameplay here. Now I will have to go back and retrace all my steps.' At this point, I decided to uninstall the game. If you search on Youtube for the walkthrough, the fellow playing is constantly checking in with the strategy guide. If it requires that much hand-holding, then the puzzles are not fair enough for you to figure out. I couldn't figure this game out either, so I'm out, and that is fair.
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from VERY FRUSTRATING The way you needed to move through this game was very frustrating for me. At first, I liked the 3-dimension feel of the game, but getting the hang of moving the characters through this was just too frustrating. Also, I could never figure out how I kept changing from the perspective of one person to another. I would be trying to direct Watson when all of a sudden I was playing from Sherlock's viewpoint. Also, at the beginning, you are told to "talk" to everyone you came in contact with, but I could never figure out how to do this. I searched the forums with no luck and there is no walkthrough, so I just gave up and uninstalled the game. It looked like a neat concept, but it was just too frustrating for me.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Try it First before Buying!! This seems like it could be a great game, but the controls were very hard to figure out. I had a hard time moving the person around. I know I would have liked to finish playing this game, and for sure bought it had the controls been not so difficult to work with.
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring game This is an old type adventure game and not the typical BFG game. Instead of pointing and clicking to change scenes and move around, one moves the character and the scene changes around him. There is a first-person option that allows one to scan the surroundings. Unfortunately, one can't do much but look in this mode. The menu is accessed via the escape key, and saving the game is not automatic, but is a menu option. The story is OK, but game play is very poor. Most of the "action" involves walking around seemingly endlessly. An IA map helps, but not enough. There is a built-in guide, which is very helpful. The game is well produced. Too bad its so boring.
Date published: 2012-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Menu Option When you are playing the game, it does not give you the option to go back and review clues. Worse still, there is no menu option to exit the game if you need to pause it.
Date published: 2012-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No, Holmes, the game is not afoot. The game is awful. To be perfectly honest, the main reason I forced myself to keep playing this game through to the end was to see how exactly it DID end. I liked it well enough at the outset, but as time went on, I came to regard it less as a game - that is, fun - and more as a chore. These are my very spoiler-laden thoughts on the whole matter. There were, of course, things I liked about the game. The graphics were usually good; during the final chapter, my cannon kept disappearing, but otherwise they were fine. The background music was nice and the voice acting was pleasing. I enjoyed the small references to another Frogware game, "Sherlock Holmes and the Secret of the Silver Earring," which I played many years ago. And I got a kick out of the fact that after Holmes fed him, the dog kept following him around Buckingham Palace. I also appreciated the interactive quality of the map, especially at the Tower of London. The final conversation between hunter and hunted (and I'm not sure which was which) was well written. Easily my favorite aspect of the game was getting to visit the two museums, the palace, and the Tower of London. I especially loved wandering around the painting gallery and having Holmes identify all the artwork for me. I was less impressed by the British Museum, though, mostly because I found the puzzles there to be considerably more tedious. Unfortunately, the list of things I didn't like far outstrips the list of things I did. For starters, I hate the way Frogware insists on having Watson behave like an idiot. I hated it about "Silver Earring" and this game is even worse in that respect. Try reading the stories sometime; he's not in Holmes's league, but Watson is far from stupid. Many of the puzzles really tested my patience, and some of them were so mind-numbing that I would have liked the option to skip them. I also despised all the running around I had to do to pick up items - I would rather have been able to collect them the first time I saw them, instead of coming back once I understood their connection to the puzzle. And my most frequent complaint about a game crops up here too... the devs didn't proofread as well as they should, and the game's written dialogue was rife with spelling and punctuation errors. The game also included some ~factual~ errors, one of which interfered with my ability to solve a puzzle. In Lady Leomunda's room at Buckingham Palace, she talks about how Henry the Eighth was the one who designed her chest to make it difficult to open. To solve this puzzle, as the strategy guide explains, you have to click on his portrait and take the crown from his head. Problem is, the portrait in question is that of Henry the THIRD. Some gamers might not realize the discrepancy, but since I've studied British royal family history extensively, I did; and so that puzzle was driving me crazy because I could not find a picture of Henry the Eighth anywhere. I didn't understand a few things about the increasingly nonsensical plot. I love Arthurian legend, but I felt like that whole subplot at the Tower of London was completely unrelated to the rest of the game, and deserving of an explanation. How would Lupin have known that such a chamber existed, since the Chief Warder himself didn't know about it? He must have figured out how to open it in order to put the bat inside, but how did he even know to look for it? What was with all that stuff in the sub-basement at Buckingham Palace, too? Are we supposed to believe that relics of the Norman kings would just be stuffed in an underground room to suffer the effects of time and moisture? And why did they have a collection of ~Native American~ artifacts? That entire sequence of puzzles was the most annoying to me out of the whole game, actually; it felt like Holmes had become trapped in one of those "escape the room" games, what with having to MacGyver different contraptions in order to keep moving forward. I deleted this from my game manager as soon as I was finished. Given everything I disliked about it (and I didn't list them all here), the replay value for me is nil, and I think I'm officially done with Sherlock Holmes games from Frogware.
Date published: 2013-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The Game is Afoot... but Not This One! I HATE this game. I am not a fan of games where you walk back and forth, back and forth, through rooms and tunnels and walkways again and again... seeing the same scenery until you are so thoroughly SICK of it that you feel nauseated at the thought of having to back to that place One More Time just to pick up an object that you have seen over and over. You wanted to get that object(s), you knew you would need it/them (blue sock, blue plate, blue munitions box for example) but you could not until you completed an asinine goal of sorts. And why couldn't it be picked up? For No Apparent Reason other than to make you go to that place AGAIN. Argh! There was plenty of room in the inventory. The game is chunky and you have to move Sherlock around in the lamest way possible. Click, click, click and he goes a few feet. The 360 is worthless and irritating. A map that puts your character in place immediately is called for (Eternal Journey-the best!). What good is a map if you can't interact with it and only identifies the places you have been to? Really? I need a map to know where I've BEEN?! I got to the London Towers and had to stop. I just couldn't go on. Hate, hate, hate this game.
Date published: 2012-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Time I bought this game when it was the daily special. Thankfully I did because if I had paid full price I would have been mad. What a terrible game. I can't believe it had good reviews! I should have suspected when there were only 5 review that it wasn't a good game. I only played for a little while and quit. The small part of the game I played was terrible. You have to "walk" your character around and spend way too much time trying to get where you need to be. It was ridiculous!! Don't buy this game.
Date published: 2012-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Five star no go I only go about 5 minutes into this totally worthless excuse for a game. The controls and such are awful. I would not accept this game if they we paying me to take it off their hand and deposit it in the dump. Worst thing I have ever come across in all the years I have been with Big Fish Games and I have played and bought a ton of games. I suppose the bottom of the pail had to show itself sooner or later.
Date published: 2012-10-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_7620, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Sherlock Holmes VS Arsene Lupin

Embark on an investigation as Sherlock Holmes! Stop the legendary thief, Arsene Lupin, before he steals objects from England!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.