Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(213.31 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A dreadful murder and kidnapping has occurred in the Rue Morgue and only you can solve the dark crime! Follow the clues to find the killer and the missing family. Become the apprentice of the famed C. Auguste Dupin and solve the devious puzzles to find the hidden clues that will lead you to the monstrous murderer. Based on Edgar Allan Poe

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 232 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(213.31 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Beginning Of A Beautiful Series! Word to the wise...this game is nearly a decade old, so it won't have the fancy customization and maps we have nowadays, but if you're like me and you just have to play a series from the beginning, give it a shot. You won't regret it! The idea of making games out of Edgar Allen Poe's short stories was one of the more brilliant one's I've ever heard of...who better to spin a dark story than the master? I feel like while playing these games I'm getting some literary education, as well. I played in expert mode and instantly regretted it (you cannot change it once you've decided) because spotting some of the things I needed to move forward was a toughie and you could only use hints in HO scenes. I only consulted the Big Fish walk-through once though, relying mainly on looming over each scene carefully until the eyeball pointer popped up. Some of the mini-games were a bit challenging but skips are available even in expert mode. I was truly surprised by the ending...it was the last thing I expected!
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful game with lots of fun HOS The graphics are very well done. The art is lovely and everything is very crisp and clear on the screen. I really liked the music soundtrack and I'd rate it among the best I've heard in any HOPA game. The storyline is nothing super original but it's well done and it definitely drives gameplay. You play as the assistant to a master detective and you visit various locations to search for clues to a murder. The game is designed so that once you've found everything you need at a given location you move on to the next. This minimizes the pointless backtracking which plagues many other games of this type. There are many HOS which is why I purchased the game after finishing the demo. The generous amount of HOS persists right to the end of the game. In some areas there are up to 4 HOS all in the same room. I loved this because I buy HO games to do HOS. The HOS generally are fairly easy but most have at least one or two objects that take a little bit of hard looking to find. They are very well drawn and pretty to look at. The number of puzzles felt just right. There aren't so many you're tripping over one every second but you will find several in each location you visit. The puzzles are mostly easy and fun to do. There aren't any that will make you tear your hair out. The adventure component flows well most of the time. As stated, it flows linearly and the objectives are very clearly laid out by the storyline. Occasionally, I hit points where the task I needed to perform to complete an objective wasn't clear. There is no hint button so I managed to get through all of these points on my own except for one where I had to resort to an online walkthrough to find out the next step. If it weren't for this I would have given the game a five. Overall, this is a very well-crafted game that I had a lot of fun playing. People who don't like HOS should not buy this game because it has far more HOS than the average HOPA. For people who like HOS this is a game I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game While this game was not the most challenging I've ever played, I enjoyed it a lot. Some of the "commentary" was really entertaining and I laughed out loud several times. The graphics were good. I really enjoy HO scenes, so this game was perfect since it has quite a few of them. This is the type of game you can play after a long day at work as a way to unwind a bit. You don't leave a location until you've found/done everything, so you don't have to stress over continually running back and forth. I will definitely try the other Edgar Allen Poe games.
Date published: 2012-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great story, good gameplay At its best, this was like being part of a detective story. The characters, especially Dupin, were charming. The chapters were distinct with very little overlap, which is great for those of us who don't always play through in one or two sittings. The puzzles were on the simple side, but I didn't find them boring. Hidden Object scenes varied between fun and sadistic, with a great variation in the graphics quality as well. A few more HO scenes than my personal preference, but the player never has to play through the same HO scene twice. Overall, a fun game, and one I'd recommend, especially to a new player.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game Better than the black cat. A good fun game to play. Not difficult at all.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really good game I really like this game. I thought the story was preaty good. I was glad that I got the CE. I enjoyed the scenery & I'm glad that I as able to have the screensaver of one of my favorite spots in this game. The game is a good lenght. It also has great mini games that fit into the game. I also like the fact that the story is a actual story by Poe. In the CE they give you the real story to read as a extra which I think is excellent.
Date published: 2012-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mayzy's Review: Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue I really enjoy the Edgar Allan Poe series. Unfortunately, I played it backwards, starting with 'The Premature Burial' and ending with this one. That wouldn't have been too much of a problem, as they are stand-alone games, but the very beginning of 'The Black Cat' totally spoiled the ending of 'Rue Morgue'. Alas! Regardless, this was a very enjoyable game. Most of the art was gorgeous, as always, but some of it was a bit off. Without giving anything away, once you come to find the root of all the hubbub, you find that it looks rather ridiculous. The gameplay is fun, could be a little more tricky, but it's not bad. The story has some weird holes, but generally is very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this game, along with all of the others in the Edgar Allan Poe series- just make sure to play them in the right order!
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dupin and the Rue Morgue PLUS = I have enjoyed playing several of the ERS games, so thought I would try this one. Loved it! I like Hidden Object searches, and this game was loaded with them. I got stuck a few times, had to use the walkthrough, but enjoyed exploring the rooms (the kitchen scene was funny, the flipping fish in the bucket surprised me!) MINUS = I wish the game would have been a little longer
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Story I thought the story was interesting. Visually the graphics was mixed between good quality and oldish poorer quality. Overall it was fun to play. I bought the game at a store that came with another game called The Black Cat, which follows after this story. They are 2 seperate mysteries, but the second mystery does mention this one.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game Its OK, in overall. Graphics are adequate. Puzzles are fair. Storyline is good, given that I never read Edgar Allan Poe stories before. Its worth the money.
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game for any Poe fan The first story in this trilogy is truley a must for any Poe lover. While the were no VO, the music was soothingly appropriate and the graphics crisp and clear. Loved the map that transported you to the next area. Not a lot of going back and forth either. While the puzzles offered no directions they were simple enough to sovle anyway. Slightly on the short side, the story is classic Poe and a good game to have.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game If you like lots of HO scenes, this is a good game for you. Even though there was no map to help guide you, there wasn't a lot of going back and forth which helps make it seem like you're actually progressing in the game. Fairly easy scenes, but some objects are hidden within cupboards, drawers etc so they did require some attention to detail to pick them out. Wish those ones were in a different colour so you knew to look out for something to do to get them. Mini games were also fairly easy, but some could have used better instructions. Disappointed it was so short, finished over half of it just during the demo so it's worth while waiting until you have a free game coupon to use on it. As it is one of the first games in the series it is lacking the voiceovers of the later ones which does take a little bit away from the storyline. Even if you've already played the other games in the series, recommended getting this one to add to the collection.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL HAND-PAINTED SCENES AND HOGS, PLUS LOTS OF HOGS! SETTINGS, ART and GRAPHICS: Lots of different locations to go to. So many nooks and crannies to investigate in so many different styles of houses and buildings. So much fun. So beautiful to look at. STORY: Disappearances with indications of foul play. MUSIC & SOUND: Music nice, but repetitive. Not very pleasant sound when you click on something, a kind of downward trill. However if you place an inventory item correctly, you are rewarded with a pleasant-sounding upward trill. No talking, no mouth sync; you must read the conversation. HOGS & PUZZLES: LOTS of HOGS. Every new location has many! All beautifully hand-painted. Puzzles were mixed but over all pretty easy. I skipped some because I couldn't figure out what to do; there's no instructions. HINT:***NO HINT!!!***There is only a hint button in HOGS. Therefore you must have the BFG walkthrough handy, which you can locate by Googling it. MAP: NO map. The game will automatically take you to different places that you will then have up to 3 or 4 different rooms/areas to investigate. TASKBAR: No taskbar. Inventory items appear in little circles at the bottom of the screen. LEVELS OF DIFFICULTY: Only 2 and NOT interchangeable once started. CONS: -No hint except for in HOGS, -does not fill your whole screen (didn’t mine) therefore smaller objects, -plus those mentioned under ‘music & sound,’ -finishes rather abruptly, - no changing your level of difficulty,once started, -no voices. BUT IF YOU WANT HAND-PAINTED HOGS, AND LOTS OF 'EM, then this is just the ticket! All-in-all, I really enjoyed this game. Therefore it still gets a 4* from me.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game Although it was pretty short, it had a good storyline. I liked the variety of puzzles and hidden objects. It was certainly not my favorite but it was fun to pass the time.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK Game This was a pretty fun game, the hidden object scenes were fun and the puzzles weren't really dificult. Although, if you're a fan of Poe and have read his stories, then you already know the killer and the ending isn't a huge surprise. Overall, I think it was worth the purchase.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rue Morgue I had played the black cat prior to this game and found it more of a challenge more enjoyable for me. This ending was a total let down for me, sort of wimpy. I did not pick up on the ending of this game being revealed in the black Cat, otherwise I wld not hv purchased this game.To short also, finished it quickly. Probably will not purchase another of this series.
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not bad i enjoy the first the dark cat but this one story is quiet good as the first
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good and bad If you are a Hidden objects game lover, then this game is for you, because that's pretty much all it is. I prefer balance of puzzles, HOs, and adventure, so I would NOT recommend this game. The sound track was pretty cool, made me feel like I was in France. Premature Burial was the best one in the series.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Earth Shattering! This was another HOG that I purchased as a dual pack by BFG, along with the Black Cat, which I haven't played yet. You might want to play the trial version before purchasing this. I can't say that there was much to this one. The visual is really nice quality, however, all of the audio was extremely annoying to me, so I completely opted out of it. Especially, since you have to read the entire storyline, anyways. Which I also skipped! I just couldn't get into the plot of this game, at all. They have this map that keeps you skipping around to different scenes, which is fine to see different variety. However, I kept thinking there was something else that I needed to do, before quickly going to another location. It seemed rather short-lived for the mystery problem solving in this game. The mini-game puzzles are also rather easy, even for me, which says a lot. LOL! The game itself ended rather quickly considering they show you this super large map to visit many locations. If you're looking for a relaxing game, mainly for hidden objects only, this would be fine, for that purpose. It does ask if you want normal mode or expert mode. So, for more of a challenge you probably should go with expert. I don't think anyone would have a problem getting through this game rather quickly, even on that mode! The only reason I'd recommend this game, is because some people may actual like this sort of thing, but I wasn't very impressed. Maybe I was just expecting more out of it.
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Relaxing game I thought this game was fun and relaxing. The puzzles were pretty easy tho but thats what made it so relaxing I suppose. The music was not annoying either. :)
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For the time, this game is pretty good This game came out about 6 years ago, and for the time, it was pretty good! I like the characters and the artwork. The music drove me bonkers at times, and the gameplay became a bit tedious towards the end. The puzzles are not very challenging. I think this would be a good beginner game.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Before Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot, there was Dupin amateur detective with incredible powers of observation Loosely based on a short story by Edgar Allan Poe, the game is rather short and a basic hidden object game that involves solving a murder in Paris in the 1890's and finding her missing sister. The only clue is a tuft of hair clutched in the murdered woman's hand. You assist C. Auguste Dupin, a man fond of puzzles and analytical thinking. Your investigation takes you from location to location and interviewing people associated with the crime in some way. You soon find yourself traveling all over Paris in an attempt to track down the killer. The game is very linear being controlled by a map that is used to travel to the locations only when you have completed a location and found the clue to where to travel to next. There is a diary that keeps track of clues and information that you will need to remember. There is a skip button to bypass puzzles or help find a hidden object if needed. Graphics were nicely drawn but the lack of animations detracted from the experience and music was ok but appeared to be one tune played continuously. There were no voiceovers which would have helped the game a lot. The dialogue was well-written. Hidden object scenes were well drawn and contained occasional "zoom areas" that, when clicked on, opened another area within the scene that held objects. Unfortunately, the list of objects did not use color to indicate those items that may be in a "zoom area" but most were easily identified. Not a very memorable experience that would have been better with a little more work put into the detective work, character depth, voiceovers, and animation.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK Based on the completed game. First the pluses: Terrific graphic detail in each of the scenes. Good thing this game is not timed because there is so much beautiful to look at. The settings are absolutely LUSH, and I loved that part of the game. The story was a good adaptation of the Edgar Allen Poe. As I've read everything he ever wrote, I knew the outcome, but that was OK. It was fun finding out how the game did it. And the culprit is just horrifying when you finally find him! In between. HOS were many, many, many, often more than one in a scene. Some required you to finish one before you could finish another. You are also not allowed to leave a setting until you have finished everything there is to do there. Which is good because of the hint system (see "Not so good" below). No voice overs, just text in the many interactions with the characters, who are not drawn with the loving detail of the settings. Most of the puzzles were doable, except the one with the wolf, where I spent at least 10 minutes trying to figure out the logic and then skipped. I didn't even want to check the walk-through for that one! Now, the not so good. The hint system is awful. Only works in the HOS, so if you get stuck anywhere else, you random click until you find the "eye." Eyes and hands won't let you proceed if you don't have the needed item in inventory, but you get no help in figuring out what the missing item might be or where you might find it. (As I said above, the only help was that you can't leave a scene until you've discovered everything it has to offer.) I had to refer to walk-through about 12 times. . . The things to discover in the HOS are tiny. Many require the hint to find because they are so small. Maybe that's just my 13" screen, but these were tough. I do think that most HOS advanced the game, so I am less critical of how many there are. The third down is how exact you must be with your mouse placement in order to find an HO or get an eye or hand. Even with the sparkles in the easiest mode, I couldn't locate many things until after trying a lot of times. Oh, yeah, and then there's the "map" which isn't really a map at all, just another lush setting that you can look at and enjoy. But be careful scrolling down too close to the bottom of the screen, you will lose the location you need to go to. And that brings me to my final complaint (and I have this about a lot of games): If you move your cursor too quickly and too close to the bottom of the screen you got the menu, and because I was swirling around a lot looking for the next clue, I got the menu A LOT! But overall, I guess I recommend this game, although not wholeheartedly. (I have all 5 of these games. I hope the others are better. . .)
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loosely based on the Poe short story If you know the story, this will be a disappointment. It's merely the framework for an unending series of HOS -- two, three or more per room. A handful of extremely simple games and far too much direction in the "Normal" mode, but not nearly enough in the "Hard." Lots of reading. A few glitches with the games -- a "striped tie" turns out to be a solid blue tie, a few puzzle pieces refused to take -- but nothing serious. The changes to the story do not improve it. Mademoiselle L'Espanaye is Madame L'Espanaye's sister, rather than her daughter. So how do they have the same last name? L'Espanaye is Madame's married name. And Madame L'Espanaye is given a 5-year old sobbing son; very cliched. I won't spoil it for those who do want to play, but will simply say that the case bears no resemblance whatsoever to that in the story. No interviewing of witnesses, no clues found at the scene.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Finished Review Having played the other Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's hidden object games I beleive this must have been the first attempt. I was easy to play and not a long game. I was a little disappointed because had I tried this one first I would never have played the other two which are excellent HO games. If you get stumped at the table with the microscope put the snail shell at the middle of the pitcher not up at the top like you are dropping it in or you will be there forever. LOL GL Have fun.
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short This is my first game in the Dark Tales series. This review is based on the SE. I was disappointed in the length of this game. I finished this in a day. The visuals/graphics were excellent. The storyline was just ok and the puzzles themselves were easy. A bit too easy. I look forward in playing the next games and hope they are better.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ho Hum! This was one of the most boring games I've purchased. Sorry BFG - but there was no puzzle here. Every location - you were lead to..could not leave - finished all scenes which were not even barely Hidden Object. Disappointing but on the good side if you are a first time Hidden Object player - you won't get stuck! The Black Cat, Premature Buriel and other EdgarA Poe games were much better!
Date published: 2012-02-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from To many HOG scenes These Allan Poe games are HOG games and I concede that but not because I like HOG games that you have to give me an HOG scene every two seconds and sometimes three or four at the same time. I bought three Allan Poe games at the same time after playing the demos - big mistake. They must make the games more interesting and space out these HOGs and my goodness find ways to insert them into the game that draws life into the game and not 'kill it' Also use some imagination and find different type of scenes (although Murder in the Rue Morgue explored that area better than the first two). Still within a few minutes I have searched dozens of the same items. Boring. The mini games are not bad and the stories are good. However, Allan Poe games could get me to hate HOG's. That is until I came across an HOG where a character threw a bomb into a garbage bin to destroy evidence. Quickly I acting the part of the cameraman rushed to get water to douse the flames and low and behold the most wonderful HOG scene you ever saw, with the coals still burning the search is on to find evidence in the cinder remnants. Now that is an HOG with interest. Not you open a door and four HOG scenes are waiting for you. Heh! I am rolling my eyes to the ceiling so much at the sight of these HOG scenes that I feel my eyes will get stuck somewhere in the back of my head. I like the stories and would like to see improvement. If you are reading this review and like HOG scene much like a solitaire game, from one to the other, then go ahead and enjoy.
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointment Sparkles everywhere even in advanced mode, a map to follow step by stepand no backtracking. The only pro I've found is the high number of HOS.
Date published: 2014-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HOG To The Max This game is one of the worst I've played. The "Expert" mode is just what it says. There is absolutely no help on where to go or what to do next. You have to luck onto most items. The HO's are add nauseam, one after another. As you get on in the game, there are as many as 3 HO scenes in each location. If you want an HO game, this is it. Wish I would have played the 60 min. demo longer. I would not have bought the game.
Date published: 2012-03-29
  • y_2020, m_1, d_22, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_5699, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

A dreadful murder and kidnapping has occurred in the Rue Morgue and only you can solve the dark crime! Follow the clues to find the killer and the missing family. Become the apprentice of the famed C. Auguste Dupin and solve the devious puzzles to find the hidden clues that will lead you to the monstrous murderer. Based on Edgar Allan Poe

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.