Green Moon

Green Moon

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(159.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Prepare to go on a fantastic journey which will take you from damp prehistoric forests, to the sultry deserts of ancient Egypt, to dirty Wild West saloons, and luxurious medieval castles! Green Moon is a Hidden Object game like no other, combining science with magic and reality with mysticism. Travel to a unique world full of mystery and exciting opportunities as you learn ancient and timeless secrets!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 179 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Green Moon

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(159.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Green Moon is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED THIS GAME! This game was quite an adventure and I enjoyed every minute! It includes time travel, gathering items, creating potions, puzzles, arcade action, and gorgeous scenery! I would very much like to play a sequel if there is one to be made! Thank you Big Fish for the 2 for 1 sale, as I bought this one during the sale. Thank you Margie B for the excellent walkthrough, as I peeked for much needed assistance with the ships and glasses, and thanks to the forum for providing excellent tips!
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from review this is an adventure for professional gamers. I had much fun with it, but without a walkthrough you are lost in this game. There is no hint no skip for the puzzles and no HOS. You on you own. In the beginning it is easy but the game becomes more and more complicated.
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games ever! Yeah, this is one of my favorite games ever! The music is wonderful, I wish I had the soundtrack... Wonderful graphics! And at the end: Challenging! CHallenging! Challenging! ...like all my favorite games, no mather the storyline... I recomand this game to all that love challenge games! I wish there was a sequence... I really hope one day there will be one...
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I adore this game! Green Moon was a little confusing at first, but once I got the hang of the navigating and handling of objects, I had a lot of fun playing this game! Whenever I play an adventure game, the first thing on my mind is the scenery and Green Moon had plenty of it! Not only do you get to travel to different locations in your current time period, but you get to travel to other eras as well, which was my favorite part. It exhibited a massive amount of diversity. There are mini-games that can be a little tricky, but they're not TOO difficult, making it a great game for a family to play together. I also love that it's not one of those games that is impossible to fail. There are ways you can "die", but your game autosaves after important parts so you don't have to start all over again. The only thing I would've changed about it is audio dialogue and the fact that the ending is very abrupt. You complete the last task, it shows a cutscene, but then there's no story explaining what happens after you achieve your overall goal. I recommend this game to adventure & mystery lovers with a curious mind!
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Mature Sleeper I had bought this game back in 2010 and have just recently replayed it. I had forgotten how great it is. First off, it is not a hidden object game. In fact, it's not like any other game in Big Fish's inventory. It requires the player to think - really think - because some of the solutions are based on common sense combined with objects encountered on the journey. It has a definite European feel to it, and the storyline - although fantasy - is one of the most sensible I've encountered in years of puzzle gaming. A couple of the mini-games can be frustrating (the 3-card monty in the pirate era, and the target shooting in the western era come to mind), but they don't diminish the overall game play. I believe that anyone who enjoys a cerebral challenge will certainly enjoy Green Moon.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely recommend this game Pros: * Excellent length of game play, good value purchase * Exciting, varied, full of colour, immersive atmosphere Cons: * Ends very suddenly, not enough time to experience success * No audio dialogue
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Have to Play This One after so many HOGs and RPGs, this was such a welcome pleasure...different from any other game I've played!...You will LOVE it!!
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Game I loved this game! It kept me hopping. It's not often that I have to resort to the walkthrough for help, but I had to several times.
Date published: 2012-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very unique game! This hidden object adveture doesn't make things easy and plain. All the time you should think and figure out something new. The game isn't linear, so there are lots of possibilities of finishing it. Lots of fun and hours of a good time. Thanks.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a good challenge i usually dont play games like this, but i think i changed after playing. i tried so hard not to use the walkthrough, but had to a few times. i wouldve threw my comp across the room hadnt i. really makes you use youre noggin...loved it!
Date published: 2012-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We need more like this I almost didn't buy Green Moon and Green Moon 2 because of the reviews but I am so glad I did. Both are wonderful. The level of difficulty is just right. The book tells you what to do but does not hold your hand. Green Moon 2 has more help from the book and hints. Both of these games are the kind of adventure games I love (looking for things I actually need) instead of junk piles. Never had to find one butterfly or horseshoe, Yaaay ! No witches or ghosts no black smoke pouring into scenes from entities. Fixing things, finding things, time travelling, all good fun. Graphics are great, there is no sappy dialogue, lets you take stuff when you find it so you don't have to make forty trips to the same place. Really really wish we could have more of this kind of game.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All adventure, no hand-holding...YES! Green Moon Review based on completed game (and several replays) PROLOGUE... Even in a casual game, gameplay and storyline should be substantive, engaging, and logical (within the context of the game universe). The so-calls bells and whistles—gorgeous graphics, stunning animation, and superb music—cannot save a game that is monotonous and easy. ONCE UPON A TIME... After inheriting an abandoned house, you discover it holds an ages old mystery, one that combines magic and science to transform the lifeless lunar surface into a thriving, verdant paradise. Enchanted with the myth of the Children of the Moon, you set off on the adventure of a lifetime that might well mean the preservation of the human race. PLAY THE GAME... Green Moon is a pure first-person adventure game with no hints, strategy guide, or other hand-holding. There’s a brief tutorial covering how to use the inventory and move around the environment, then you’re on your own. This is no brief three-hour tour; you’ll be playing for days. There are 12 tasks to accomplish through the space-time continuum, including helping a phalanx of Hoplites defeat an attacking fleet, contributing to build the pyramids, and assisting prehistoric men to build a cart. You’ll learn how to travel through time and space by gathering ingredients and spells to formulate alchemical potions. Fortunately, there’s a book to help you, as well as clues to find here and there. While there are no HO scenes (yay!), there are a number of mini-games: • Fishing: time your casting and reeling and fish until you find the fish that swallowed the key you need. • Catapult: sink 30 ships before they reach you, using the arrow keys to aim and the spacebar to fire. • Reflections: place the mirror pieces in the correct places to reflect the sunbeam to the sarcophagus. • Chopped: correctly prepare three dishes for the finicky king, following his preferences and the recipes. • Gunfight: shot three out of six shot glasses while drunk…it’s difficult to aim! • Slider: using the clue, rotate the 15 pieces until they’re facing the right way, then slide them until they’re in the correct place. • Gardener: using the clue, find all the right plants in the garden. SIGHTSEEING... The graphics are, as is usual for FPAs, fairly realistic, and I think they’re done quite well. Animation is limited, though. NPCs don’t move or lip synch at all. However, the full palette is used to represent a diverse variety of environments, and items are dimensional, so I didn’t find that the lack of animation detracted from the experience. SOUNDBOARD... The music is quite varied and changes from scene to scene. A lovely acoustic guitar piece with a medieval theme accompanies the king’s scene. A piano number that reminds me of Moonlight Sonata, but in a major key, heralds the beach at sunset. The snowy winter scene is accented with a heavily chorused and layered keyboard melody. Clearly, a lot of thought was put into developing the music. TOOLBOX... Your inventory only holds 14 items, so choose them wisely. It helps to have a look at the book and see what the current task requires, rather than randomly picking up everything you can. Remember, this is an adventure game, not a HOPA. The icon to the right allows you to travel in time and space and generates the magical spells you’ve mastered through alchemy. The icon at left brings up the moon map when you’re on the moon, and functions as the “done” button when you’re at the alchemical device. OH BOTHER! No technical difficulties either on my MacBook running 10.6 or on my iMac running 10.11.3. EPILOGUE... It’s so refreshing to be left alone in a game universe and have to figure out what to do without things constantly sparkling or black bars popping up! I know a lot of fishies don’t like this, but I find it challenging and fun. It hearkens back to the days of Myst when you actually spent a week or more on a single game, wracking your brain to figure out what to do, and taking pages of notes of clues. For lovers of adventure games, I highly recommend Green Moon. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good adventure game with nice puzzles This is a really enjoyable game. It is a lot of pick-ups and interactions type game. This is made more of a challenge as you have a limited amount of slots which you can carry items. You make up magic concotions which you can use to travel to lots of different places and time. The latter is a good addition as you can only do things in a certain time period so it makes the game slightly more difficult. There are a lot of different environments to explore and really fun minigames (and are not hard) It's not one of those tear your hair out hard adventure games. It's just a perfect balance. In fact I think this is a good adventure game for someone who wants more of a challenge than IHOGs but who is used to inventory items type games. The only time I was a bit lost, was wondering what to do next as there was so many places to explore near the end but I like that! For a good length game (it took me a long time to finish it) fun mini puzzles, amazing choice of different environments I don't think you will be disappointed.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A long and complex game After finishing City of Fools, I just HAD to come back to Green Moon. And yes, it IS a great adventure game, but oh so complex, due to the fact that the dev's really did nothing to make life easier for the player... no map, no notebook, no hint button, no nothing to tell you in which direction to look, what to use and how to use it. Moreover, there are tons of objects to be found, but you can only carry 14 of them around, so you are left with no choice but to drop some in order to pick others up, without even knowing where and when you are going to need them. After playing the game twice, I still feel that you cannot do without de BF walkthrough, unless you want to spend weeks searching around and trying everything out - which is exactly what playing Myst was all about. Nevertheless, Green Moon is a great game which any lover of adventure games should try his hand at. My advice: keep a record, save your game now and then - on thop of the autosaves - don't loose heart... and in the end, you will be rewarded with a message that all of us should take at heart: why want to turn the moon into the beautiful planet that we all share, instead of taking care of our own homestead?
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frustratingly good. This is definatly the kind of game that is beautifully done and you need to be kinda brilliant to solve. What was so frustrating is you don't know what you have to do next about 98 percent of the time. I had to keep going back to the walk though to figure it out. If you want a serious challange this is the game for you. Good luck!
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Among the best games I played in the last months Green Moon was very fun to play. With an interesting storyline, the game enriches the usual paradigm travel-collect-solve with some good ideas like - magic abilities that you acquire through an alchemistic ritual - travels in space and in time - pleasant and well-balanced puzzles, neither too difficult nor too trivial Graphics was nothing special, but the background music was nice and always adequate to the surrounding environment. The only thing I didn't appreciate was the sensible acceleration that the game took near the end, as if the programmers were in a hurry, or budget was all spent. Apart from this, if you want to see something new, give Green Moon a chance
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked Time Travel but got tired of Travelling I enjoyed the game but not a 5 level. The actions were fun and I enjoyed travelling to different times and places initially. But after awhile I got tired of having to have a specific inventory item and leaving one location, grabbing the item from another and returning. You have limited inventory slots so you can't just pack up your "steamer trunk" and pull out what you need where you need it. But all in all it was worth playing....frankly I've paid ten times as much for PC games that were not as well crafted or as graphically pleasing. Worth the money!
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was good until ..... Shooting 30 ships! Please, that is a bit of overkill. I love the puzzles and making the formulas but an ARCADE game? I unfortunately cannot make it beyond this point. What a shame. So if you do not like Arcade shoot 'em up style games then bypass this one. Someone probably mentioned the arcade part but I didn't read all the comments and was simply happy that this one was NOT a HOG. :(
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pleasant but shallow adventure This was one of those games that seemed promising at first only to gradually become less and less interesting the more I played. The game has an interesting premise. You, as one of the "children of the moon", mix potions to gain magical powers, which you can use to perform various tasks with the ultimate goal of making the moon "green". Unfortunately the story sufferes from a severe lack of detail. You find a book early on in the game which has a single page of information about the "children of the moon", and that is all you will learn about that topic throughout the entire game. The book also contains short descriptions of tasks you must do, without giving any more detail about why you are doing these tasks. As you gain control of magic to travel through space and time various new locations become available, also without any motivation about why you would want to travel to those locations in particular (although sometimes you can guess the reason). The one page of information on the "children on the moon" in the book you find at the start of the game and what I told you, and what you can guess from the title, about the task being to make the moon "green" is all there is to the story unfortunately. The actual gameplay mainly consists of looking for the various objects that are needed to make the magical potions. This is fun at first.but quickly becomes repetitive. It is also not very challenging since many of the objects you need to find are simply lying around in plain sight. Sometimes you need to play a mini game or perform a task (the task generally involve finding another object) to get an object from a character. I found the mini games to be quite easy. Some of the objects you need to find need to be created by doing something to an existing object, and some objects are given a description such that it requires some puzzling to figure out which object fits the description. These kind of challenges made the gameplay a bit more interesting, but they were underused and too easy for my taste. The graphics and music were fairly good and gave the game a pleasant atmosphere. The main negative aspect of the graphics is the almost total lack of character animation. Characters mostly stand or sit absolutely still, as if they were frozen in a certain pose, which in some cases looks quite unnatural. The game involves travelling to a wide variety of different locations and different time periods. Unfortunately, the only thing you can do at many of these locations is pick up one or a few objects. Characters that you meet either don't talk to you at all, simply tell where to find someone else or give you some task to do in order to obtain an object. The characters completely lack any personality or background that you can learn. Therefore, travelling to different locations across a number of different time periods is not nearly as exciting as it sounds. In conclusion, while the pleasant atmosphere, the attractiveness of the environmental premise and the inital appeal of the task of mixing magic potions made the game enjoyable enough to not be outright bad the lack of any depth in terms of story and/or character development and the repetetiveness of the object hunting prevented the game from being good enough that I would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2012-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting Indeed I enjoy roll playing games yet Green Moon is ok...it took away from the fun when I had to keep returning to the walkthough to get help. Right now I'm stuck on task 8. I have everything done except the last stone. I cant seem to pass the king's cooking standards. I cook all the dishes correctlly and still get my head cut off. Is there any way to skip this part?
Date published: 2013-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Green Moon I admit that I gave up on this extremely challenging game about 15 minutes into the demo. Why? Because my brain hurts, there's barely a tutorial, there's no hint system whatsoever, there's not even a feature to point you in the right direction, and I couldn't figure out what to do within the zoomed in zones. The tutorial explains a few very basic features in the beginning. You can pick up certain items, but you must place them into the inventory bar yourself. The tutorial also shows you how to pick up the item from your inventory bar and use that item in the scene. The last thing it shows you is how to combine items, by placing one item into the inventory bar, then picking up the second item and placing the second item onto the same square as the first item which automatically combines the two items. (there's no indication marker on items that can be combined) That's it as far as the tutorial goes, everything else you must figure out on your own. For the life of me, I couldn't figure out what to do once I found the item the zoom zone indicated I need. For example, the note in the zoom zone says the gemstone to the ring (also shown) is missing somewhere in the bedroom. I found the key to unlock the bedroom door, and I eventually found the gemstone in the bedroom but when I returned to the zoom zone I realized that the inventory bar isn't available, so I tried picking up the gemstone before I zoomed into the scene but that didn't work either. Finally I tried to pick up the empty ring itself to no avail, frustrated, I moved on to discovering new scenes. As soon as I came across the next zoom zone with the same dilemma, I cried Uncle and deleted the game!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT AN HO GAME By no stretch of the imagination can this be called a HO game. Not sure exactly what you would call it; maybe an adventure game. Regardless of what it was supposed to be, the sinking of the Greek ships sunk the game for me. After trying for several hours, I left it for the next day, gave it one more try, then uninstalled it. There is no way to skip this mini-game and it is not worth all the time needed to finally get it right, if you ever do. The game was sort of interesting, kind of different at the beginning, but I sure wasted a lot of time on it that I could have used having more fun with a different game.
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me Not for me. Not much in the way of explanation of what you are supposed to do, so you are left on your own. You go around picking up things and have to figure out what you are supposed to do with them without knowing why. Not enjoyable.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry, have to pass on this one! Well, I played the trial version for 30 minutes and that was enough for me. No help/hints, no reason for what you were doing or why. I found this game very frustrating and confusing. I'm certainly no expert, but the graphics looked plain and uninteresting. The game may have gotten better, but I could not figure out how to do 3 rooms let alone travel to the moon! With no help, I was lost. I just finished "Song of the Phoenix" and it was wonderful as was all of the other games I've purchased, including several $2.99 and I have games and enjoyed them very much. This time I felt I should have been paid the $2.99 for the time I spent on this game! I have many games, and I greatly enjoy all of them, but this one I will pass on (quickly). Certainly don't purchase without playing the trial version. Thanks for letting me express my feelings. Maybe I just had a bad day! ha.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring and frustrating! I put this one in the recycle bin after about 20 minutes. Completely lacked atmosphere and intrigue! And there is not much fun in finding items such as stones, soil, water etc. Perhaps I should have been a little more patient, although really, I think a game should grab you from the start...
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Green Moon Found this game very boring, it almost put me to sleep right from the start. Walk through was hard to follow. I wound NOT recommend this game :(
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT for casual gamers Wish someone had posted warning on level of difficulty. Feel like I wasted my money. I play when I have time so this game would probably taken me a month to complete and I would have forgotten what it was all about. First time I've been disappointed in a game.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Green Moon I hated this game right from the start no hints or help the tutorial; allows you to put stuff in the inventory but I was wasted with this one because I couldn't use the inventory just have stuff on the cursor to go around
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Well, I was looking for more of a challenge than the regular... I read the reviews and purchased this game because many of the reviews gave it stars for challenging. Problem is, there are no hints and the game has no method to it where you could get by without hints...well, that could be challenging if there was a decent plot, a story, or even a common sense theme regarding what the game was asking you to do. BUT, NOOOOO! This as insane. Not only will you need to go online and get a walk-through, you will need to refer to it almost every step of the way. What fun is that? The few mini games that were presented were not at all fun, and if you didn't win them, the game just ENDED. *POOF* Game over! That was it. And then you would have to go back and start over. Seriously, if you want a fun game that is uniquely challenging and different...yet entertaining and amusing .. get City of Fools. Save your precious life's minutes and don't bother with this one.
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to like this one too! I really wanted to like this game. As one who learned to play adventure games by typing in every command and drawing maps myself to visualize what the locations must look like, I thought I'd be good at playing Green Moon. How wrong I was! Although this game is one step up from the text adventure games I'm familiar with, nothing I tried seemed to work or make much sense with what I had in inventory. Swapping out one item for another and trying to use it in different locations didn't seem to work either. The tutorial was useless and the walkthrough didn't show the items I already had in my inventory and with only a few minutes remaining in the trial version, I'm deleting this from my computer because, honestly, I was bored from the opening sequence and really don't care enough to try any harder with it. None of the game is attractive enough for my taste so that's a turnoff, and the multitude of items in each location make it impossible to know what to take and what to leave. I know that's supposed to be the challenge of this game, but Green Moon is just too complicated for me to care enough about finishing the six remaining minutes I have left. I'm a visual person and I guess I've been spoiled by the beautiful scenes that are prevalent in games today and are what I prefer to see. What initially attracted me to Green Moon was its title and what the purpose was of wanting to make the moon green. I guess I'll never know the answer to that one unless I dig around the forums and elsewhere to find out. And I was interested in visiting the different locations and especially the moon itself, but I only got as far as the yard and the basement holding a lit match with nothing to use it on. I can't recommend Green Moon as I consider myself an experienced gamer who had higher expectations for it, but I know that others will find the challenge in it because it already has so many good reviews. So the challenge and, I suppose, the fun is there for those who like this kind of game and want to spend the great amount of time it requires to play it. I just don't have the desire or the intuition to figure it out
Date published: 2012-10-12
  • y_2019, m_12, d_5, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_5866, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Green Moon

Go on a journey which will take you everywhere from damp prehistoric forests to the sultry deserts of ancient Egypt!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.