Mishap: An Accidental Haunting

Mishap: An Accidental Haunting

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(144.71 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Burtons have just moved into a beautiful new home, which just happens to be haunted. Now it's up to you to help them deal with some particularly unfortunate ghosts as you search for Hidden Object through beautifully illustrated rooms. Help the Burtons survive the paranormal and take back their home in Mishap: An Accidental Haunting.

Please Note - You may experience graphic issues when starting this game if you have recently upgraded your older computer to Windows 7.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 371 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mishap: An Accidental Haunting

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(144.71 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mishap: An Accidental Haunting is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It !!!! It made me laugh and jump.Loved the game.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charming and fun story I am writing this view because this is a DD today & was surprised it only had one review, because I remember this game fondly. I don't want anyone to dismiss this game because of one mildly discouraging review -- and keep in mind the reviewer's experience was disappointing due, in part, to a technical issue. I remember this game as delightfully comic with some surprising twists that are very entertaining. I really liked the characters and the visuals -- Oh, And the overall game itself. I think it's a great deal for a DD! Please give the sample download a try. I think you might be pleasantly surprised.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mishap: An Accidental Haunting What a quirky game this turned out to be. This game is all about the Hidden Object Scenes with a few mini games tossed in for good measure so if you're expecting anything else you will be disappointed. My only complaints are that some of the listed items are just way too small, and the "ghostbuster" narrator, interrupts gameplay too often and talks too slowly. The Burton's invested all their money into buying their new house, which has turned out to be haunted. With no place to go, they invite Mr. Hobblepop inside to do whatever he can to permanently remove the ghosts so they can live happily ever after. (at least until the second Mishap which appears to be an intentional haunting) Each section of the house will have 4 rooms to explore and find useful items. There will be a door icon when you can move to the next room. Whenever Mr. Hobblepop's Monocle begins to shake, there is a ghost that needs to be caught 3 different times before he will leave for good. There is a meter at the bottom of the screen that will help you locate him, which completely lights up when you find the exact area he is hiding in. You can click on the Ghost Icon to read a bio on each ghost you catch. There are a few Extra's available in this game, similar to a Collector's Edition. There are 8 replayable Mini Games, 12 replayable Cutscenes, 9 Awards and even Bonus Content available after completing the game, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute game with lots of fun Excellent fun for all the family type of game. It's cute, whimsical and silly, but not in a bad way at all. It doesn't have an overly dramatic plot, but it isn't overly simplistic, either. Don't underestimate the family friendly look, it's more challenging than it appears at first. I know I did. The mini-games are about rapid clicking and they're a nice change to the HO. The hint takes a while to fill up and that makes it even more of a challenge. Then there is the penalty for rapid clicking, it teaches the player not click around in no time. For once the HO scenes aren't that cluttered, it makes sense within the story, supernatural things are happening, so yeah, clutter and weirdness. The art is unique to the game, cartoonish and whimsical without being too silly or childish. It's older and the graphics and loading screen show their age a little, but considering this, it stands the test of time better than many other HOGs I have played, it's just a well-made game with a lot of heart. The side-scrolling can be annoying if you aren't used to it, but it's nothing major in my opinion. I highly recommend the game to anyone that's in the mood to play something fun and different.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from silly hidden object game This game was actually pretty fun. Silly goofy and something a bit different. Some of the scenes were a bit dark and made for finding objects a bit difficult. The mini games were fun and if you did not get them right away you could replay or skip completely
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is not your grandma's hidden object game! This is a great game. I love the mini games. This is the first Hidden Object game with such different & unique Mini games. The area of play are done wth such skill. The characters talk which I am a BIG fan of. The story was ok. It was a comic book haunting. Another thing that really got me was what happen when you hit the wrong item. You will have to play to see for your self. If you play the hour demo you will be hooked. I hope you at least try the hour demo you won't be sorry.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple fun rolled into a package of Quirky Humor I just finished the first chapter of Mishap and am loving the game although I can see where it wouldn't be to another person's taste. I love the quirky graphics and even pulled out my magnifying glass so I could enjoy the detail. I don't do that for every game, though I wish I could. So many sly jokes hidden in the graphics. I enjoyed the ghost stories in the logs and the HOS breaks while hunting for them, and even though the REBUS riddle was very easy, had fun with it. Maybe this is a SPOILER, but the game had a point and shoot at the end of the chapter that was great fun, though I wished the ghosts didn't go by as fast because I wanted to enjoy the art work on the different poses. Well worth the buy even at 6.99 if someone likes quirky, bent humor
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun story I like the story and a game with a sense of humor. A lot of games have very dark dramatic themes and this one is light and funny ghost-busting story that is well integrated with the HO portions.
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game This game was fun, no real heavy supernatural elements. The HO scenes are a bit crowded but I enjoyed all the little riddles and ghosts. Since it was the Daily Deal, 2.99 isn't too muchfor a few hours fun.
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different But Fun I also was almost discouraged by the reviews and almost decided not to buy it. I'm glad I decided to play it because as the story went on I thought it was fun. I think it's different and that might hold some people back. You can't go wrong for $2.99!
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game I played this game a long time ago and thought what a good good game. The animation is very colourful and well done the story is fun and the gameplay was overall fun to play. Short and sweet a good game.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable 'Ghost Buster' type game I too was discouraged with the first two reviews but once you get the hang of it, it;s really fun movin around the room trying to find the objects and looking for ghosts
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different, Enjoyed It I enjoyed playing this game. It is quite different and I found it an interesting change for game play. Some sequences can be hard but not too difficult to take away from the game.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than I expected! The initial 2 reviews were discouraging and I didn't think I'd care for this game. Warning - the scenes in this game scroll from side to side, and some players may become nauseous. At first the game was overwhelming with SO much going on. But the trial hour gave me a good feel for it and I was hooked. The extra rebus riddles and use of the monocle ended up being my favorite parts. Yes, you can click past the narration. I liked the fact that items where hidden in logical settings - BBQ fork in the kitchen, razor in the bathroom. Not vice versa. Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ghostbusters Revisited I had a lot of fun with this game. The voiceovers and graphics are excellent. Dialogue can be skipped. The H0 scenes are a bit cluttered and hard to see, but not impossible, and there is no time limit. The Hint meter takes about 1 minute 15 seconds to recharge, and there is a rather startling misclick penalty. Options are reasonable. It doesn't list widescreen, but fills my 17" Monitor with no sidebars. Each scene has a puzzle that you collect clues for, and doors off the main room for additional scenes. As well as finding objects you have to capture ghosts by clicking on them. There is also a Bonus game involving rapid clicking. This takes speed and dexterity, which I did find difficult. This is a long game and well worth the price.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Not Hang with This One Opted to quit prior to the trials end. Just could not get into this one. Found the fog and obnoxious pop up irritating . I started the game, and went back to it later, really trying to like it....but had to say uncle in the end.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Fun Game For An Hour A different kind of hidden object game. Grahpics are cartoon-like but reasonably good. All the text has voice over. Storyline is basically Beetlejuice meets Ghostbusters with music to match. Turn the sound down as the music can be annoying after a while. There are three tasks for each room - find the objects on the list (some are very small), capture the ghost/or ghosts and find the riddle pieces. Once you have completed these tasks you then have the mini-game which consists of very quick headshots(mouse clicks) of the character - you are then awarded bronze, silver or gold trophy. You then move on to the next room. Fun for an hour but I wouldn't play this game any longer ( becomes boring).
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mayzy's Review- Mishap: An Accidental Haunting Mishap is a very cute game. You need to help a young couple rid their house of ghosts with the help of the mysterious Mr. Hobblepop. While ghosts abound, the game is more silly, with a Beetlejuice feel, than scary. The hidden object portions are quite detailed, with nice long lists of objects to find. The mini-games are imaginative and have a good variety. A couple of things brought the score down. The lighting in some of the rooms was clearly intended to enhance the ambiance but at the sacrifice of visibility, which got a bit frustrating. I also had a very hard time with some portions of the mini-games and with the two cutscenes. My computer simply couldn't handle them and the games were unplayable and, what should have been probably a 30 second cutscene, took fifteen minutes to play on my computer. This is surely something that is a result of my slower computer, as opposed to an issue with the game itself, but may be something you want to be aware of, if you are running the game on an older computer.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Busy for my Taste. This is based on partial play of demo. The HOS were good -- items a bit tiny and sometimes obscured by fog or smoke, but still a time consuming good HOS. Within each HOS there were 3 doors which also had a HOS. However the fun stopped there for me. Then there were the ghosts. They were easy to find. Then there was the riddle which I halfway solved. I figured out what it said, but didn't know how to execute it. There was a hidden can of something to find in each HOS. The hint works inside the HOS only. I think there was other stuff to do but by then I was confused and quit. There were also things that popped up and, at first, made me jump, like the miss-click penalty. This is just too busy for my taste. Read some reviews and please play the demo. Who knows, you may love it like others submitting reviews. I really didn't like it.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from good trial but dont go further So glad this was a cheap purchase, the game just didn't develope from the try out, pure HOS and I found the majority of items far too small for my more 'mature' eyes lol. The ghost chase rapidly became annoying and repetitive with no challange, Colourful but not much else, sorry , this was not for me and in fact I didn't bother finshing, the 1st game in over 40 purchases :(
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Funny story...but only HOS ! Story begins with a couple discussing the presence of supernatural beings living in the house. The participation of the comic character, the ghost hunter Mr. Hobblepop, short and fat, with funny face, contributes to appear that will be a fun game. But...despite having excellent graphics, sharp and colorful, good voice over, and ghostly sounds well appropriate... is a really disappointing game. Except for those who like plain HOS !! Long dialogues and explanations - You can skip by clicking on Mr. Hobblepop ! In addition to finding objects in many many locations inside the house, - with more hidden places, with HOS also, you have to hunt ghosts with a magnifying glass. Not challenging. Caution - do not click randomly - you will take a scare! Recommend for "only HOS" lovers !
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from wineguy terrible game - even for free. Objects way to small and too many on a page. Don't bother!
Date published: 2012-02-11
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_5954, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mishap: An Accidental Haunting

The Burtons have just moved into a beautiful new home, which just happens to be haunted. Help them deal with the ghosts!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.