Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.47 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Take on the role of a lowly stagehand in an opera company tasked with solving a deadly mystery! The Opera troupe is invited by the reclusive Count Vladd Vansig III to his small hamlet to perform a special Opera for him. Strangely, there are no villagers to speak of except for the Count and his caretaker. Over the course of the night, people go missing and are killed! Use your Hidden Object skills to find out the identity of the killer and escape the village alive in Nightfall Mysteries

  • Spooky atmosphere
  • Dangerous mystery
  • Solve the case!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 197 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.47 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME! A lot of hours of fun! The game is sometimes difficult, but challenging and very intriguing. I reccomend this game!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game of the series. Love the creepy, grisly overtones of the game, both plot and artwork. Also like how some of the hidden object scenes are reminiscent of MCF (play Madame Fate). Plot ties in pretty well with first game. Games are moderately challenging. Probably not for kids. Good length, worth the money. much better than the 3rd game (this is the 2nd), and that one is a CE.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story I loved the game, best of all it had a great story that made you want to keep playing to see what would happen next.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great HOG, Tons of Fun This is one of my favorite games on this site. The mystery of who is killing off the characters one by one is great and lots of fun. The characters are well drawn and the voice-overs even sound good. Some of the puzzles are a bit difficult and a few of the items you have to find are...well, miniscule to say the least but it isn't impossible to find them. It kind of reminds me MCF: Madame Fate if it had a more adventure/point-and-click style to it rather than just strictly HOG and puzzle. It takes a while to play this, I've played it 3 times already since I bought it a year ago and it still takes me over 5 hours. Definitely a must have!
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game I had a lot of fun with this game, even played it over again a couple of times.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Good One Second in the Nightfall series, this takes the next step in the story of Viggo and Christine. There were a couple of narrative flaws that left me a little confused at the beginning of Black Heart, but I just chose to overlook them. This is also the worst of the three for descriptor errors in the HOS scenes. The writer does not appear to be a native English speaker but things were not so far off than they couldn't be guessed. I wish I had played these stories in order, this is the second in the series after Asylum and Asylum does set the stage for this story, though all can be enjoyed independently, it's preferable to play them in order.
Date published: 2013-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game overall. THE GOOD: Well, I like this game because of the graphics and sounds are excellent, also the character's sounds. The locations and HOS are interesting as well, and the journal is helpful. The puzzles are challenging, although I gave up on some. The hint refills are quite fast and its unlimited so yay, hahaha. I also like the aura of the game and the characters. This game is really addicting, I played this over 5 times. THE BAD: I find some HOS frustrating because AFTER you find items, you need to do something like "find a hammer and break the xxx" which is quite a waste of time for me. Since the puzzles are challenging, I stated before I gave up on some. The thing is, the skip button is REEAALLYYY long before you can click it! Last thing, I hate the ending. The whole game is interesting but the ending is just ew and dense. I won't state what happened in the ending to avoid spoilers but it's just... not that good. Although there are some not-so-good points in the game, I had a fun time playing this, despite some frustrating HOS/puzzles and THE ENDING. Oh god.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dated Classic Even though I played this game quite a while ago, I recently played it again and was compelled to write a review. It's much harder to review older games, as graphics and sound have continued to improve in hidden object games, but it would be wrong to think this is one you shouldn't check out if you haven't already. What I enjoy most about this game (which is the start of an ongoing series# is the plot. It's a murder mystery with several twists, and for once, when you finally discover what's going on at the end, it makes sense while simultaneously ending on a cliffhanger. Too often when playing these games, you're forced into purchasing a CE to get a satisfactory resolution. This game made me appreciate the time spent getting to the bottom of the mystery while also making me very excited for the next installment. You will notice this is a product of earlier days. Cutscenes have a great animated look, and the voice acting is quite good, but the HO scenes themselves do suffer from a junkpile quality and aren't that great looking. You'll collect items and then find one additional item to interact with before picking up what you need. You will be using the hint button, as unfortunately some of the items are far too difficult to see, but it charges quickly. You'll be doing some backtracking, to be sure, but sparkles always indicate areas to explore. #Veteran gamers would appreciate difficulty levels, I'm sure, but alas, none to be had here.) The puzzles are well-done variants of the usual suspects: Rube Goldberg contraptions, filling two jars with water, and memory tests. They are decently challenging. Where this game truly succeeds is establishing characters and setting the mood. Since 75% of HO games now use a spooky setting, we forget how innovative the early ones were. Do yourself a favor and check this one out. It's well worth your time.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For those who love hidden object games Some hidden object games don't have too many places to search for the hidden objects that there mostly puzzles. Not this one. There are ton of hidden object locations not so many puzzles. This game is geared towards hidden object lovers!
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from apache Not impressed that I was playing the trial, had to quit, and was required to completely start over when I went back to play. It does seem like a very good game.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this game This game kept my interest. It is a nice game for relaxation.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, fun game I really liked this game because it was actually a hog and I did not have to jump all over the game so much. It was difficult enough to be a challenge at times, but not so much I felt like I was in a maze. I also liked that it had vivid colors. I don't like when everything is dark blue and black. Very good game.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Game I really enjoyed this game. It was the first of a series. Actually, it came out 1st, but should have been 2nd to keep the story straight. It's a good buy at full price, even better as a DD.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Relaxing Game for HO Fans If you're not so much into the adventure side of HOPA games but like some meaning to what you're searching for, this is an excellent game for you. The story is loose and not meant to be believable and, really, just for fun. The ending, unlike what other reviewers have said, didn't seem too off-the-wall to me - but then how many games have stories that are believable and endings that make total sense? I haven't seen one after playing a couple of hundred of these HOPAs. The games are fantasy, or we wouldn't play them. At first it seemed a little difficult but past the first location, the game holds your hand throughout. Excellent map plus a journal plus a notebook for clues means you're never stranded wondering what to do or where to go. There are oodles of HO scenes and even HO scenes within others, and the hint button recharges quickly. The graphics show up a tiny bit fuzzy on my extra wide large monitor, but nowhere enough to create a problem. The scenes are colourful for the most part, and though occasionally objects are on the small side, they're all findable. The scenes are static - a little animation would have improved the feel of the game. Music is pleasant and unobtrusive. The puzzles were quite unusual and the skip is a long time coming, but again nothing to write this game off for. I loved being anything other than a detective or hysterical relative. The characters you meet are all funny and melodramatic and that's the fun of it. The voice overs are ham actors, just as it should be in an opera company being killed off one by one. Methods of dying are tongue in cheek as well. While not awe inspiring, this is a solid game, very relaxing, great for the times you don't feel like thinking too hard. The sequel is also a great way to relax and is a continuation of the story, in an entirely different atmosphere.
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera I really liked playing this game. If you enjoy mysteries, you'll love this one. Its about a killer that is killing off the characters one by one, and you don't know who it is because they (the characters) are all kind of weird in the first place. Well what do you expect in an opera company? The mini games were fun, and this game kept me guessing all the way through. I do enjoy playing this one over and over. If you are a murder mystery fan, you'll enjoy this one!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite Challenging Good game, two things spoiled it for me, the lack of any hints / clues on how to start the puzzles and some of the puzzles themselves. I play for fun, I don't want anything too complicated / difficult or I wouldn't have chozen a HOG! The HO scenes went from easy to quite challenging. Storyline was interesting, but the ending was very lame. Having said that its a good length and took me a few hours to complete and I have to admit having to consult the walkthrough about the puzzles on more than one occasion (just one comment on how to start would help enormously). I got this as a Daily Deal and consider it a very good deal indeed - will play it again probably better 2nd time round.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I didn't listen to the bad reviews I'm not done playing, but thought I'd put in a good review amongst a lot of negative ones. I am finding the game to have a good level of challenge, but still playable. Everything makes sense. The players voices are good, especially Giles. Enjoying it so far. I bought on sale, and am not sorry.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Challenge This game is not the usual h.o. game because of the format, which is; here is part of the storyline, here is what you need to acomplish for this phase, and while on the trail to do just that, you run into the h.o. scenes. The characters in this game are fun and quirky, the makers must have had a sense of humor and you can see where they may have relegated some of the characters into what they were by watching an old cozy mystery movie. Sometimes they are quite comical. The game does have its challenging moments, but I dont think it would have been as fun if it were just a "straight forward" typical puzzle game. The story line, like the characters is a little quirky, at times hard to follow, at the end maybe somewhat of a let down, and can leave one wondering if maybe there will be a second round. One hopes so. It is a nice, long game, which is replayable, because you wont be able to remember some of it. So, just like an old, silly mystery movie, go with it and enjoy.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game I made the mistake of playing and finishing Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy before I played this. It totally gave away the ending. Still it was a good game.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the Best of the Nightfall Games While I enjoy the Nightfall series as a whole, this is definitely the weak link in the bunch. Most of the issues with this game come from the fact that it is incredibly hard to find all the objects in fullscreen. While there were a few pieces lost along the edges in Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy, there are so many in this game that at some point I began to play completely in a small window. However, being out of fullscreen made the hidden objects that much smaller and harder to find. Some of the visual quality also seemed a little off. I understand HO scenes shouldn't just be filled with easy to find objects, but some of these were SO difficult to find simply because colors blended into each other. There were red on red, black on black objects, and while I generally try to never use hints, I found myself so frustrated that I no longer cared and just wanted to use a hint to complete the screen and move on. There were theater masks to find scattered throughout the board, but again, this was another part of the game I did not really like. The masks don't disappear when you click on them; the only way to really tell that you've gathered the mask is the little ringing noise that accompanies your click. This is less than optimum when you have to play with the volume down. To be fair, the mask doesn't appear the next time you enter that scene, but it would have been much more helpful if they disappeared as all other hidden objects did. There is a map and a guide which can come in handy, but the map is not a jump map, so you will have to return to each previous scene by clicking. The last glaringly obvious problem for me with this game was the music. It was awful. I'm a giant fan of movie music and scores, and that even extends to some game music as well. But this one was truly difficult to listen to on certain boards. The one improvement over Asylum Conspiracy is the games that are not HO. There are definitely a few more challenging games in this one. Still, none are overwhelmingly tough, but they did make game play a little less HO only. The storyline is still interesting, but it's also a little odd. It's enough like Asylum Conspiracy to be a sequel, but there are definitely elements that don't line up exactly. I don't want to say too much and spoil anything, but there are parts of the stories that don't gel. A little research shows both of these games being released in the same year, but it seems a bit hard to tell which came first. If you do play both, you can still follow along with the storyline pretty easily. I still recommend this game as it's a part of the series that I know gets better in the next chapter. But I don't have quite the enthusiasm for this one as I do for Asylum Conspiracy or the other games that followed.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera I got this a few months ago and didn't play it. I wish I had played the free hour before I bought it... I just played becaused I was thinking about getting rest of the series not so sure now... Way to many HOS. Overall this is not a game for people that like more of a story line and different games and puzzles. The visual was nothing special. I'll check out the others before I buy them...
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Think 'Madame Fate' with some adventure thrown in This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game. I played Asylum first, which gave me a pretty good idea of what was going on. Without giving anything away, what I knew didn't "ruin" the story for me, but I was a bit put off as this is a very different type of game. It took me a while to 'adjust'. The difference is akin to Return to Ravenhearst vs the original Ravenhearst. This is a Hidden Object Game with a little bit of moving around and some puzzles thrown in. The puzzles are either unique creations (like the Madame Fate Rube Goldberg machines), or else ones we've seen before (Towers of Hanoi, the Water Jugs) with an added layer of difficulty added. This is a very challenging game if you stay away from the hint/skip button and work your brain finding and solving everything yourself. It took me about six and a half hours, and I skipped at least two or three puzzles and used the hint quite a bit in the HOS. You're getting a very long game here. On to the review: THE GOOD: Loads of different HOS. If you don't like the HO part of HOPA's, this isn't the game for you. Most of what you do is move from one scene to the next - when you find everything, rather than simply give you the object for your inventory, you have to find one more thing and use it in the scene to get your 'reward. You have a 'journal' that includes the map, your current 'task list' and normal journal notes stuff (including clues to the puzzles). It was over seventy pages long by the time I finished the game so there's plenty to read to help you understand or keep track of what's happening. The 'puzzles' come with no instructions, though you can use your hint button for some clues on what you're supposed to do. I found them very challenging. One that I skipped I'm probably going to work out on paper (I was just ready for the game to be done at that point) - it was a very good take on an old classic. There is a small degree of freedom in the order you do things. So you may do some HOS with a flashlight since there's no power, or you might have gone and solved all the power issues first. That said, it's a pretty linear game. THE BAD: Unfortunately, there's a lot in this category. No difficulty levels, and you've got full on sparkles everywhere, even telling you which fork in the road you should take. The game 'distorts' to fill a widescreen monitor. There is no hint button outside of HOS and puzzles. In HOS, you can't select a specific item like you could in Asylum. On the plus side it recharges very, very fast though. The HOS: If this is the heart of the game (and it is), then the scenes need to be good ones. These aren't. This is the old, junkpile, objects completely out of scale, some blending completely into the background HOS. My eyes aren't the best, but when I use a hint and examine the circled area and still can't tell if what I'm clicking on is a rat, a gear, or a lightning bolt, there's an issue. The characters are caricatures for the most part. The voice overs were ok, but the dialog was just silly at times. They really could have done a much better job here (they did in Asylum). The 'plot' as it were is pretty thin to say the least. Even knowing what I did from playing Asylum a lot of things just didn't make sense. With a bit of imagination and suspension of disbelief the two stories do work together, it's just that this story was very, very weak - the same thing happens over and over again for each 'chapter'. While the ending did tie things up, it still left an 'unfinished' feeling in my mind. THE UGLY: Items in your task list not disappearing when done, so you've got permanent 'hot spots' on your map. Misspelled words (acrodian) and a few just completely misnamed items, along with the ambiguous, "Which clock do they want?" thing. BOTTOM LINE: I've got to give a review based on 2014 standards, as this is when you'll be spending your money (or later). IMHO this game doesn't hold a candle to Asylum, the 'prequel' game released by the same company in the same year as far as I can tell. If you want a pure HO game, there are better ones out there (like Prime Suspects or Madame Fate). If you want adventure, there are MUCH better games out there. If you're thinking of getting this to 'finish' the story started in Asylum - I say don't bother. It plays out (pun intended) exactly the way you expect it would (albeit with a higher body count). The one thing it's really got going for it is its length. It's a long game by SE standards (and especially by 2014 standards). If you don't mind the random junkpile HOS, this might be a great game for you. I'm on the fence on recommending it, but there was enough to keep me playing till the end, so overall the good outweighs the bad. I'm going to give it a cautious, be sure you try before you buy, recommendation. Two and a half stars rounded to three for it's length.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from IT'S OK THIS GAME IS OK. IT WAS TOO EASY FOR ME. THERE ARE LOTS OF HO SCENES. IT WAS KIND OF DARK TO SEE ALL OF THE OBJECTS AND THE STORY LINE WAS JUST OK. I THINK THAT THIS GAME IS GOOD FOR BEGINNERS. IT COULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH BETTER!
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My least favorite of the whole trilogy The only reason why I went ahead and paid for the full game is because I wanted to own the whole series. Not my best idea. I won't go into too many details about the poor graphics and the weird ending, since so many other reviews have. I will say that the music was OK, though.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmm… Interesting game to play, but too many HOS for my taste The good: Mystery, crime and horror story Music nicely goes with the whole ambient You have a notebook with shown objectives and map, along with a detailed journal Puzzles are rare but enjoyable The bad: Graphics are nothing special, locations are too dark, in some parts visibility is bad, character design is not to my likening, due to the creepy/funny mix HOS besides being too many, have no interaction except in the search for the final object; in spite scenes being overloaded you can easily spot most of the listed objects, but some of them are barely impossible to see – very frustrating
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HOG all but impossible without using hints This game had a great story line and not too many places to jump back and forth to. What lowered the rating is too many HOGs with objects too hard to find. Many of the objects were hidden in dark areas that only a hint could locate. Extremely frustrating. Because of this every time an HOG came up I wanted to quit playing.
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Heavy on the HOS I prefer the occasional HOS and more puzzles and finding and using objects. This was HOS after HOS, and I don't know if they were really hard or I was just bored because I kept hitting the hint button. Also, there was no option for play difficulty, so stuff sparkles. No hint button during play, so if you get stuck, you need to either go everywhere looking for sparkles or check the walkthrough.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me. It was just one HO scene after another. I couldn't even remember what the story was about after the 8th one in 20 mins. I like games with more adventure and puzzle solving aspects. If it weren't for the loads of HOs I think I'd really like this game. The atmosphere (which can make or break a game for me) is really good. Just the right amount of eerie and the graphics are perfect for the atmosphere of the game. I really wish I was able to like this game. Anyone who is a fan of LOTS of hidden objects could really like this game. So that's why I DO recommend it.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You had better like HOS to enjoy this game The Curse of the Opera has a lot going for it. I enjoyed the story line and thought that it was tied up well at the end. At the end of each hidden object scene, there was an additional task to complete which added a twist. The hint meter refills quickly, which can be a plus. The mini-games were challenging enough to be interesting. My main complaint is that there are way too many hidden object scenes. I enjoy the puzzle and adventure parts of games much more than hidden object, so this game didn't end up being my style.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Bad -- Not Good I played about 45 minutes of the demo. The story line is the same old, same old. Person gets stranded on deserted road, has to find town, weird things happen in town. Hidden objects scenes are dark -- not scary dark or gory dark, just dark in atmosphere. I prefer bright scenes, as with Travel League or Matchmaker. The hidden objects are not overly challenging and are straightforward, but do require some searching. The hint button recharges quickly. I encountered only one mini game in the 45 minutes that I played. There is a skip button that charges a little slowly. I would recommend this if it is a Catch of the Day or a Daily Deal, but not for full price.
Date published: 2012-09-24
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_5959, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

Take on the role of a lowly stagehand in an opera company tasked with solving a deadly mystery in an isolated village!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.