Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.47 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Take on the role of a lowly stagehand in an opera company tasked with solving a deadly mystery! The Opera troupe is invited by the reclusive Count Vladd Vansig III to his small hamlet to perform a special Opera for him. Strangely, there are no villagers to speak of except for the Count and his caretaker. Over the course of the night, people go missing and are killed! Use your Hidden Object skills to find out the identity of the killer and escape the village alive in Nightfall Mysteries

  • Spooky atmosphere
  • Dangerous mystery
  • Solve the case!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 197 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(185.47 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 74.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 40 PLUS HOPS in a spooky/creepy, who-dunnit type game- 1st in the series of the nightfall mysteries OLDER GAME. WALKTHROUGH AVAILABLE FROM BFG. You get to roam around a forsaken town in the middle of the moonlit, foggy night… The crazy characters of the opera are visiting on special request of the creepy Count Vladd Vansig, to prepare for a private performance. Death soon begins to follow the troupe. Spooky atmosphere, but relaxing at the same time with all those stars and fog floating around. Backtracking IS required in this game. Hunting for what to do next IS required in this game. Short cutscenes are used at the beginning and end, but very little during the game. When you do meet the characters they tend to be stationary. I base the 5* on the fact that it was thoroughly enjoyable and was exactly what I was looking for at this time, in terms of pace, variety of scenes and atmosphere…NOT MANIC. That’s why I play a lot of older games. They’re good and offer a different gaming experience. I find a lot of the modern games get boring after the first hour. GRAPHICS: Very nice. Play this game on full computer brightness. Does NOT fill whole screen HOPS: At least a few items are not easy to see per HOP, but sometimes they are just cleverly hidden. Wordlists of 12. Most scenes are used at least twice. PUZZLES: Mix. All SKIPPABLE after a minute. My favorite was the mechanical puzzle you set up to have a knock-on effect. SOUNDS: Music and Sound. The music is appropriately spooky. HINT: WALKTHROUGH AVAILABLE FROM BFG. Hint won’t lead you. A written next step is all you get, and is usually something like “find such and such.” During the HOPS, Hint will find an item for you and then takes 20 seconds to recharge. DIFFICULTY LEVELS: ONE MODE ONLY. JOURNAL: Yes, and NOTEBOOK on other side has tabs for the MAP and TASKS. MAP: YES, but NOT travel. Does have INDICATORS for areas/rooms where there are actions to be done. INVENTORY: NOT lockable. CHARACTERS: I loved the variety of characters, who were thoroughly different to each other. Intermittent and regular interaction. Good voice-overs, but characters remain stationary.
Date published: 2016-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this site & its games i love this game curse of the opers most as it is exciting & full of challenges...
Date published: 2012-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game I had a lot of fun with this game, even played it over again a couple of times.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well done I like the Nightfall Mysteries series. It's of a good length and has a great story line and great characters. I guess if you're not a real HOG fan, perhaps this isn't for you. It's not the easiest HOG out there, it's just challenging enough to keep you interested and if the puzzles are too much, there is always the skip button. I am looking forward the next installment in this series, I've played all three and liked them all.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME! A lot of hours of fun! The game is sometimes difficult, but challenging and very intriguing. I reccomend this game!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Good One Second in the Nightfall series, this takes the next step in the story of Viggo and Christine. There were a couple of narrative flaws that left me a little confused at the beginning of Black Heart, but I just chose to overlook them. This is also the worst of the three for descriptor errors in the HOS scenes. The writer does not appear to be a native English speaker but things were not so far off than they couldn't be guessed. I wish I had played these stories in order, this is the second in the series after Asylum and Asylum does set the stage for this story, though all can be enjoyed independently, it's preferable to play them in order.
Date published: 2013-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game overall. THE GOOD: Well, I like this game because of the graphics and sounds are excellent, also the character's sounds. The locations and HOS are interesting as well, and the journal is helpful. The puzzles are challenging, although I gave up on some. The hint refills are quite fast and its unlimited so yay, hahaha. I also like the aura of the game and the characters. This game is really addicting, I played this over 5 times. THE BAD: I find some HOS frustrating because AFTER you find items, you need to do something like "find a hammer and break the xxx" which is quite a waste of time for me. Since the puzzles are challenging, I stated before I gave up on some. The thing is, the skip button is REEAALLYYY long before you can click it! Last thing, I hate the ending. The whole game is interesting but the ending is just ew and dense. I won't state what happened in the ending to avoid spoilers but it's just... not that good. Although there are some not-so-good points in the game, I had a fun time playing this, despite some frustrating HOS/puzzles and THE ENDING. Oh god.
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Relaxing Game for HO Fans If you're not so much into the adventure side of HOPA games but like some meaning to what you're searching for, this is an excellent game for you. The story is loose and not meant to be believable and, really, just for fun. The ending, unlike what other reviewers have said, didn't seem too off-the-wall to me - but then how many games have stories that are believable and endings that make total sense? I haven't seen one after playing a couple of hundred of these HOPAs. The games are fantasy, or we wouldn't play them. At first it seemed a little difficult but past the first location, the game holds your hand throughout. Excellent map plus a journal plus a notebook for clues means you're never stranded wondering what to do or where to go. There are oodles of HO scenes and even HO scenes within others, and the hint button recharges quickly. The graphics show up a tiny bit fuzzy on my extra wide large monitor, but nowhere enough to create a problem. The scenes are colourful for the most part, and though occasionally objects are on the small side, they're all findable. The scenes are static - a little animation would have improved the feel of the game. Music is pleasant and unobtrusive. The puzzles were quite unusual and the skip is a long time coming, but again nothing to write this game off for. I loved being anything other than a detective or hysterical relative. The characters you meet are all funny and melodramatic and that's the fun of it. The voice overs are ham actors, just as it should be in an opera company being killed off one by one. Methods of dying are tongue in cheek as well. While not awe inspiring, this is a solid game, very relaxing, great for the times you don't feel like thinking too hard. The sequel is also a great way to relax and is a continuation of the story, in an entirely different atmosphere.
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dated Classic Even though I played this game quite a while ago, I recently played it again and was compelled to write a review. It's much harder to review older games, as graphics and sound have continued to improve in hidden object games, but it would be wrong to think this is one you shouldn't check out if you haven't already. What I enjoy most about this game (which is the start of an ongoing series# is the plot. It's a murder mystery with several twists, and for once, when you finally discover what's going on at the end, it makes sense while simultaneously ending on a cliffhanger. Too often when playing these games, you're forced into purchasing a CE to get a satisfactory resolution. This game made me appreciate the time spent getting to the bottom of the mystery while also making me very excited for the next installment. You will notice this is a product of earlier days. Cutscenes have a great animated look, and the voice acting is quite good, but the HO scenes themselves do suffer from a junkpile quality and aren't that great looking. You'll collect items and then find one additional item to interact with before picking up what you need. You will be using the hint button, as unfortunately some of the items are far too difficult to see, but it charges quickly. You'll be doing some backtracking, to be sure, but sparkles always indicate areas to explore. #Veteran gamers would appreciate difficulty levels, I'm sure, but alas, none to be had here.) The puzzles are well-done variants of the usual suspects: Rube Goldberg contraptions, filling two jars with water, and memory tests. They are decently challenging. Where this game truly succeeds is establishing characters and setting the mood. Since 75% of HO games now use a spooky setting, we forget how innovative the early ones were. Do yourself a favor and check this one out. It's well worth your time.
Date published: 2012-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera I really liked playing this game. If you enjoy mysteries, you'll love this one. Its about a killer that is killing off the characters one by one, and you don't know who it is because they (the characters) are all kind of weird in the first place. Well what do you expect in an opera company? The mini games were fun, and this game kept me guessing all the way through. I do enjoy playing this one over and over. If you are a murder mystery fan, you'll enjoy this one!
Date published: 2012-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game I made the mistake of playing and finishing Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy before I played this. It totally gave away the ending. Still it was a good game.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Challenge This game is not the usual h.o. game because of the format, which is; here is part of the storyline, here is what you need to acomplish for this phase, and while on the trail to do just that, you run into the h.o. scenes. The characters in this game are fun and quirky, the makers must have had a sense of humor and you can see where they may have relegated some of the characters into what they were by watching an old cozy mystery movie. Sometimes they are quite comical. The game does have its challenging moments, but I dont think it would have been as fun if it were just a "straight forward" typical puzzle game. The story line, like the characters is a little quirky, at times hard to follow, at the end maybe somewhat of a let down, and can leave one wondering if maybe there will be a second round. One hopes so. It is a nice, long game, which is replayable, because you wont be able to remember some of it. So, just like an old, silly mystery movie, go with it and enjoy.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For those who love hidden object games Some hidden object games don't have too many places to search for the hidden objects that there mostly puzzles. Not this one. There are ton of hidden object locations not so many puzzles. This game is geared towards hidden object lovers!
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this game This game kept my interest. It is a nice game for relaxation.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, fun game I really liked this game because it was actually a hog and I did not have to jump all over the game so much. It was difficult enough to be a challenge at times, but not so much I felt like I was in a maze. I also liked that it had vivid colors. I don't like when everything is dark blue and black. Very good game.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I didn't listen to the bad reviews I'm not done playing, but thought I'd put in a good review amongst a lot of negative ones. I am finding the game to have a good level of challenge, but still playable. Everything makes sense. The players voices are good, especially Giles. Enjoying it so far. I bought on sale, and am not sorry.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite Challenging Good game, two things spoiled it for me, the lack of any hints / clues on how to start the puzzles and some of the puzzles themselves. I play for fun, I don't want anything too complicated / difficult or I wouldn't have chozen a HOG! The HO scenes went from easy to quite challenging. Storyline was interesting, but the ending was very lame. Having said that its a good length and took me a few hours to complete and I have to admit having to consult the walkthrough about the puzzles on more than one occasion (just one comment on how to start would help enormously). I got this as a Daily Deal and consider it a very good deal indeed - will play it again probably better 2nd time round.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Game I really enjoyed this game. It was the first of a series. Actually, it came out 1st, but should have been 2nd to keep the story straight. It's a good buy at full price, even better as a DD.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from apache Not impressed that I was playing the trial, had to quit, and was required to completely start over when I went back to play. It does seem like a very good game.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Think 'Madame Fate' with some adventure thrown in This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game. I played Asylum first, which gave me a pretty good idea of what was going on. Without giving anything away, what I knew didn't "ruin" the story for me, but I was a bit put off as this is a very different type of game. It took me a while to 'adjust'. The difference is akin to Return to Ravenhearst vs the original Ravenhearst. This is a Hidden Object Game with a little bit of moving around and some puzzles thrown in. The puzzles are either unique creations (like the Madame Fate Rube Goldberg machines), or else ones we've seen before (Towers of Hanoi, the Water Jugs) with an added layer of difficulty added. This is a very challenging game if you stay away from the hint/skip button and work your brain finding and solving everything yourself. It took me about six and a half hours, and I skipped at least two or three puzzles and used the hint quite a bit in the HOS. You're getting a very long game here. On to the review: THE GOOD: Loads of different HOS. If you don't like the HO part of HOPA's, this isn't the game for you. Most of what you do is move from one scene to the next - when you find everything, rather than simply give you the object for your inventory, you have to find one more thing and use it in the scene to get your 'reward. You have a 'journal' that includes the map, your current 'task list' and normal journal notes stuff (including clues to the puzzles). It was over seventy pages long by the time I finished the game so there's plenty to read to help you understand or keep track of what's happening. The 'puzzles' come with no instructions, though you can use your hint button for some clues on what you're supposed to do. I found them very challenging. One that I skipped I'm probably going to work out on paper (I was just ready for the game to be done at that point) - it was a very good take on an old classic. There is a small degree of freedom in the order you do things. So you may do some HOS with a flashlight since there's no power, or you might have gone and solved all the power issues first. That said, it's a pretty linear game. THE BAD: Unfortunately, there's a lot in this category. No difficulty levels, and you've got full on sparkles everywhere, even telling you which fork in the road you should take. The game 'distorts' to fill a widescreen monitor. There is no hint button outside of HOS and puzzles. In HOS, you can't select a specific item like you could in Asylum. On the plus side it recharges very, very fast though. The HOS: If this is the heart of the game (and it is), then the scenes need to be good ones. These aren't. This is the old, junkpile, objects completely out of scale, some blending completely into the background HOS. My eyes aren't the best, but when I use a hint and examine the circled area and still can't tell if what I'm clicking on is a rat, a gear, or a lightning bolt, there's an issue. The characters are caricatures for the most part. The voice overs were ok, but the dialog was just silly at times. They really could have done a much better job here (they did in Asylum). The 'plot' as it were is pretty thin to say the least. Even knowing what I did from playing Asylum a lot of things just didn't make sense. With a bit of imagination and suspension of disbelief the two stories do work together, it's just that this story was very, very weak - the same thing happens over and over again for each 'chapter'. While the ending did tie things up, it still left an 'unfinished' feeling in my mind. THE UGLY: Items in your task list not disappearing when done, so you've got permanent 'hot spots' on your map. Misspelled words (acrodian) and a few just completely misnamed items, along with the ambiguous, "Which clock do they want?" thing. BOTTOM LINE: I've got to give a review based on 2014 standards, as this is when you'll be spending your money (or later). IMHO this game doesn't hold a candle to Asylum, the 'prequel' game released by the same company in the same year as far as I can tell. If you want a pure HO game, there are better ones out there (like Prime Suspects or Madame Fate). If you want adventure, there are MUCH better games out there. If you're thinking of getting this to 'finish' the story started in Asylum - I say don't bother. It plays out (pun intended) exactly the way you expect it would (albeit with a higher body count). The one thing it's really got going for it is its length. It's a long game by SE standards (and especially by 2014 standards). If you don't mind the random junkpile HOS, this might be a great game for you. I'm on the fence on recommending it, but there was enough to keep me playing till the end, so overall the good outweighs the bad. I'm going to give it a cautious, be sure you try before you buy, recommendation. Two and a half stars rounded to three for it's length.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My least favorite of the whole trilogy The only reason why I went ahead and paid for the full game is because I wanted to own the whole series. Not my best idea. I won't go into too many details about the poor graphics and the weird ending, since so many other reviews have. I will say that the music was OK, though.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hmmm… Interesting game to play, but too many HOS for my taste The good: Mystery, crime and horror story Music nicely goes with the whole ambient You have a notebook with shown objectives and map, along with a detailed journal Puzzles are rare but enjoyable The bad: Graphics are nothing special, locations are too dark, in some parts visibility is bad, character design is not to my likening, due to the creepy/funny mix HOS besides being too many, have no interaction except in the search for the final object; in spite scenes being overloaded you can easily spot most of the listed objects, but some of them are barely impossible to see – very frustrating
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the one before it. Nightfall Mysteries: Asylum Conspiracy was much much better than this one. Where that one was a dark, somewhat suspenseful thriller, this game is rather silly with annoying comically exaggerated characters. Like the other game, the backgrounds and search scenes are drawn much better than the characters. At least I think I remember there is a decent amount of game time if nothing else. Others may enjoy this game, but it will help your opinion of the game to know that it's not very similar to the first one.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could have been so much better Excellent storyline that draws a player in. Many of the puzzles are virtually impossible to complete. Using the walk-through in this respect could be helpful to avoid frustration that comes with not knowing what to do. The game does offer a skip option for the more difficult parts. The ending was very disappointing, in my opinion. The mystery is not solved and the player is just notified that they are a good detective.
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Heavy on the HOS I prefer the occasional HOS and more puzzles and finding and using objects. This was HOS after HOS, and I don't know if they were really hard or I was just bored because I kept hitting the hint button. Also, there was no option for play difficulty, so stuff sparkles. No hint button during play, so if you get stuck, you need to either go everywhere looking for sparkles or check the walkthrough.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from oh those HOG's... i liked the game..except for those tiny HOG's that had nothing to do with the theme of the scene. (a fried egg on a dresser mirror is worse than a sucker and a guitar in a cemetary lol)..stick to the theme so we dont get distracted from the point of the story, and pleeeeaaaseee no HOG's in EVERY scene! geeze give us chance to walk through a door or down a street w/o an HOG every two seconds...
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was... Okay... But not my thing. I am not saying it was bad, or good, but I simply didn't enjoy it that much. Too many HOG scenes, barely any puzzles, and an extent of limited gameplay. The storyline was fair; I could understand the point, but I think that some things were a little off at times. I would suggest that this game is only thought of after playing the demo and enjoying, not to be bought without an idea of what you're going into. I think someone would like this game, just not me.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay as a Sequel, Better as a Stand Alone I played the first Nightfall Mysteries Game about the Asylum and was excited to try out the sequel. Knowing the back story already, it wasn't difficult to figure out what was going on with the character histories. I will say that I wasn't a fan of the heroes, from the first one, this second time around. This was part of my rating for the game. I also wish they had kept the same look of the characters. I missed the eerie spookiness that was in the first one. The graphics were more cartoonish in the sequel and while some of the music sounded creepy, it mostly reminded me of the Haunted House ride at Disneyland. Even the found object sound in the HO scenes sounded like Tinkerbell. "Look, Tink has found a dagger!" The length was good but I will say several of the objects in the HO scenes are annoyingly well hidden that even after using a hint, you're still left thinking, "Really?! Really?!!" Also, the puzzles start easy but get more complicated with no help from hints ("I think I need to use the marbles"). Yeah, thanks, Sherlock. Then there's the downright "Where in the heck did you even get that number from" puzzle on the Count's Safe. Not a fun challenge; an aggravating one. Perhaps it was just over the top revenge taken too far that left me wishing the entire lot of characters had perished, but this just wasn't near as good as the first and left a Blech taste in my mouth. Get if you're curious about the continuing storyline to the series but use a credit or wait for a DD on this one. Overall Grade: C
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Who will leave the game alive? Ok, I read some of the reviews, and I have not played the game through fully, I like to take my time with a game and savor it when I like it....so I cannot say whether I like the ending or not, but with seeing several so-so reviews, I am afraid many folks will pass up an enjoyable game at a great sale price. I played the demo of this game when I was a newbie, and I got stuck and very frustrated early on, but I played the first sequel and very much liked it although the game style is quite different than the first one. I am sorry to say the Third sequel didn't catch me, but I will be looking for it on sale, because Elephant makes a very respectable and better than average game. When I came back to the demo this time around, as a far more experienced player, I found it challenging, but very doable. This version has great voiceovers and animation.and The characters are richly drawn and acted. Some of the HiOS had items very smalls ome were too light and very hard to find, but not impossible and the hint button recharges quickly. The "penalty" for over clicking isn't bad and only seems to occur if you click on the same object too often, but there is no screaming banshee. Sometimes there are a lot of comments to enjoy if you explore the scenes before and after dialogue and games, which I personally love. It took me a little bit to find out how to find these without random clicking, but it was worth it. there is a map, and though it doesn't take you to any destinations by clicking on it, you can see where you are and what areas are closed. The artistry of the game is not really crisp and clear, which is what I prefer, but it has a pleasant painterly quality and it is not impossible to see and find what you are looking for. There are mini games but not enough in my opinion, and not enough variety in the HOGs which are somewhat of the junkyard variety, but are better than some of the garbled layer over layerr over layer hogs I have seen. I think it is mostly the story line that will keep a gamer happy, but this is not so bad to pass it up on a good deal.
Date published: 2012-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eyestrain is probable I bought this game at the sale price, so I'm not too upset. It isn't the worst game I've played, but it is certainly far from the best. If you adore hidden object games, this is for you, although some of the items are unrecognizable. The "cow" silhouette is actually a sheep, and the "acrodian"...well, you can figure it out! And I absolutely hate puzzles that have you filling bottles of liquid at different levels. In all, the storyline wasn't too bad, but the Rube Goldberg ending was out of left field. Try the game; you might like it.
Date published: 2012-02-05
  • y_2020, m_2, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_US, sid_5959, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightfall Mysteries: Curse of the Opera

Take on the role of a lowly stagehand in an opera company tasked with solving a deadly mystery in an isolated village!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.