Empress of the Deep: The Darkest Secret

Empress of the Deep: The Darkest Secret

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(160.16 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A beautiful young woman wakes up in a vast and mysterious undersea temple complex, not knowing who or where she is. She soon learns that she has been frozen in a death-like slumber in a secret crypt for over a century. Now she must escape the crypt and explore the ancient underwater chambers to unravel the mystery. Use your Hidden Object and puzzle-solving skills to help Anna unlock the enchanted Royal Relics, and reveal the terrible secrets of the Empress of the Deep!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 178 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Empress of the Deep: The Darkest Secret

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(160.16 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Empress of the Deep: The Darkest Secret is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Empress of the Deep rules! This game and its sequel are the most fun I've had within this genre. In fact, anything engineered by Silverback Productions is a likely choice. The art work is wonderful, the engineering that underlies the game play is impeccable, and they are a nice change from the ghosts, vampires werewolves and other dark story lines that seem to dominate the genre.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystical A fabulous adventure with a mysterious quest & weird characters who may be friends or foes . . . Lovely graphics & scenes with nice hidden object games & moderately difficult puzzles . . . The music & sounds are suitably New Age & ambient . . . No timer, so leisurely fun all the way . . . !
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Silverback made this and they didn't hold anything back!! This is a stunning work of great storyline, fantastic graphics, beautiful music and some challenging game play. All in one game!!! I've played this over and over, in addition to the sequel, Empress of the Deep 2 (CE version is the best). It's a kind of game where you can emersh yourself in the entire plot and enjoy every minute of it! It's that good!!! I wish Silverback would come out with more along this same line!
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great puzzles and HOS! I love this game and the second one, Empress of the Deep:Song of the Blue Whale. It is challenging, the puzzles are great and the hidden object scenes attractive. Graphics are a treat and the whole idea is fascinating. I recommend it highly. In fact I go back and play it over and over, and considering I have well over 100 games that is a good sign!
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites I love the graphics and sound effects of this game--both are of the highest quality you can get in these types of games. (The narrator's voiceover could definitely be better, but it is very typical of this type of game.) The storyline is so-so (yet another "person wakes up and has to figure out what's happening" type of tale) but the puzzles are a challenge to solve and are mostly non-linear, and you have to visit every screen in order to solve the game, which I find to be more interesting than a more straightforward and linear style. The game keeps the HO screens in balance with the overall adventure style of the game. Highly recommended! (And try it on the iPad, too--the graphics are ideal for the HD screen!)
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Agree with the reviews This game is wonderfully done with the graphics. Really loved the HO part and the puzzles were a bit challenging at times. As I am a huge HOG fan and not one to track all over the place, this game was a good fit for me!
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique, Gorgeous, Truly Special - Great Features BASED ON COMPLETED GAME - Loved Start to Finish! Didn't find difficulty selection. OVERVIEW: The graphics provide superb eye candy, especially for those drawn to Atlantis-Greek style motifs. The cut scenes, character interactions, and music were all lovely and fit together.There was a good balance of HOS and mini-game.The tale itself is immediately engrossing and stays that way until the unhurried and satisfying conclusion that promises a sequel which is already available. I highly recommend this game. DETAILS: Storyline-- Cohesive, well thought out, holds together through the climactic end. In the course of the game, our amnesic Heroine learns who she is and of the two disembodied voices that have been giving her instructions, which is friend and which is foe. GAME STRUCTURE: Sparkles, Winks, Twinks, Blinks -- There were few if any. This allows the gamer to go at whatever pace desired. Black Bar Comments -- There were only a few of these which was a nice touch. No unasked for or unwanted hints. AREA COMPLETE -- YES! Thank you Silverback Productions. Great feature! JOURNAL -- YES. It contained written journal entries, map, clues, and flowers representing completion of areas. I didn't find need for the written journal. The map showed areas the player had visited, pictures on mouse over, and gamer location. No jumping to location or active areas shown. The clues section contained solutions to the mini-games. The flowers were added as part of scene completion to the back of the journal. HINTS - YES. Available sometimes in mini-games, always in HOS and in game play. Very good - in HOS they would circle the area and for mini-games it helped by providing guidance on next steps, for what to do next it would show on the map where to go. HOS -- Fantastic, artfully done, with clever twists. No matter the style, traditional or otherwise, all were engaging. Example - In a scene that seems to contain only a fountain that is covered in frogs and lily-pads were are asked to find everything except those frogs and lily-pads -really fun and beautiful. MINI-GAMES-- Elegant and well executed. The solutions are available at any time in the clues section of the journal and sometimes hints are offered during mini-games otherwise there is the skip option.There is a mix of games we've seen and some that were new to me. All great fun. ADVENTURE-- There didn't seem to be much adventure in this one as despite the beauty of the surroundings of the few items to collect they were easily seen and collected and not much room for exploring. ACHIEVEMENTS-- NO. COLLECTIBLES-NO. Even the flowers automagically add to the journal on scene completion. GENERAL NOTES: Mini-Game instructions- I didn't find a way to get instructions, but if stumped the hint button would give guidance, otherwise most were self-evident. Pass-Through Scenes- As mentioned, lots of beautiful scenery but a number of the scenes turned out to be pass-through with no action required and others were single purpose. Cursor-- Is an over-sized hand limited to pointing to the next scene and turning into a magnifying glass. Small nit to pick, but while it's great to have cursors that enhance the theme, it's obnoxious when they are large and clunky. In this case the hand/magnifying glass were generic not adding much. ------ All that said, I LOVE THIS GAME and can't wait to start the sequel.The look, feel, and structure are excellent. Very nice job Silverback Productions!
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful and an Imersive Game Presented in a Wonderful Environment! My wife and I were profoundly surprised by Empress of the Deep. The game just sucks you in. The visuals are wonderful, the story is grand, and the gameplay is fun. The sound and music fit right in with the whole game experience. The player is imersed right into the story! And the difficulty was "just right."
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from empress of the deep the darkest secret i loved the demo so much it will be my next purchase. i can't wait. it was just difficult enough to be challenging but not so difficult i stopped having fun. the imagery and and activity as well as the sounds were beautiful. I went straight to the empress of the deep 2 song of the blue whale and played it. loved it to.
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unexpected I tried the Empress of the Deep for the $2.99 special, and loved it. As I was reading the reviews, this game was recommended, so I trialed it, and bought it. What a great game!!! So now I am the proud owner of both games. Just finished this one, now off to the finish the other one.
Date published: 2012-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Wonderful I throughly enjoyed this one and will start on the sequel shortly. The whole experience was great game play. Superb atmosphere throughout, marvelous graphics, a map to keep you on course, fun HOS, puzzles for thought, and a story line that keeps you wondering. Definitely recommend this one!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Myst goes casual Reminded me of a somewhat Myst-like theme game for the casual gamer. Guided by a male voice 'overseer' with varying linear gameplay and varying puzzles. The main character's voice is very calm and soothing and recognizable #to me# similar to the voice actor in Vision in White. Definitely give it a try.... a solid new age impact-visual and music.... a mesmerizing game to play at leisure.
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Empress of the Deep is a winner! The first game in the series...and it's amazing! You awaken in an underwater temple with no memories...you get a friendly guide and get to explore beautiful locations. The artwork is incredible! The voice overs are wonderfully done. The story is amazing. There are some twists that make this game even more fun to play.
Date published: 2012-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my favorite games! I absolutely loved the graphics and the music/sound effects of this game. It is beautifully drawn, and I love the storyline. I also liked the 2nd in the Empress series, Song of the Blue Whale.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time Killer I really enjoyed playing this game...time passes by so quickly when I play.
Date published: 2012-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Fun This game doesn't have the high graphics that others do, but I actually enjoyed this more than the high graphics games. It's simple and very fun.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game this game was great to play but I liked the second game better
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game, but short! I liked the story of Empress of the Deep, the story of a woman who has to rescue an undersea kingdom from an evil empress. The voices were well-done, the back-and-forth-ing limited, and the hint system was very helpful. I wasn't particularly a fan of the story freezing while the characters talked, and the graphics seemed less sharp and clear than some of the newer BF games I've enjoyed, but I understand that aspect of the game. The puzzles were challenging, but not overwhelming, and a good mix of types and kinds. I really did think the story was short, though I didn't time myself playing it. It just felt that way. The ending was good! I already have the sequel to the game and look forward to playing it!
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it but was rather short I was playing the 2d part of this game on my Kindle and decided to try the PC version of the 1st game. The game reminded me somewhat of Myst. It had somewhat of a lonesome feel as you wandered thru the various areas - which added to the atmosphere. It wasn't some cutesy game, but had a slight edge. The puzzles were not nearly as difficult as Myst. In fact some had been modified to be easier compared to other versions of the same puzzle I have played in earlier games. I liked the game play. It was logical and the game even tells you when an area you are in is "clear" meaning you have finished all activities. This way you dont have to revisit locations to determine if you really finished all the puzzles. I would recommend this game because it had a good feel, the puzzles were fun, even the HO games were OK. My only complaint would be that it should be longer.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Empress of the Deep Delivers What a magical, mystical adventure! I enjoyed the story and moody soundtrack, and I felt the voice acting was quite good as well. The graphics were lovely but I did have trouble identifying the last one or two objects in almost every hidden object puzzle. Sometimes the scenes seemed to be filled with random junk and several items were not drawn clearly. The hint system is generous and refills quickly so this is a minor complaint. On the plus side I had a ball with the other puzzles and traveling about this unusual world. This is not a long game but it will certainly give you a full evening of enjoyment!
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Quick Game This is a nice quick game which you can play. Its worth the money, if its on sale ($2.99). The puzzles are easy to moderately-hard. Safe for kids too. My 4-year-old watched me while I played and he enjoyed this game a lo!
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Empress of the Deep: The Darkest Secret Empress of the Deep was the first Hidden Object Adventure games that I played, and it drew me in hook, line, and sinker. I bought this game when it was first released, and it seemed so awesome in it's heyday. After re-visiting this game, everything about it seems different after all those years. I remember it being difficult and complex, in fact it's a very easy and basic game. I remember the graphics as being very detailed when in reality the graphics are just okay, and in fact are blurry in the HOS's. Don't get me wrong, it is a great game with a really unique story, it's just a different style of game then most. Anna has been released from a sarcophagus that held her prisoner for a century. She doesn't remember anything, who she is, where she is, or even why she was held captive! All she knows is that the voice of a kind old man named Jacob is encouraging her to seek the truth. That's not the only voice she hears, the voice of a young girl has been taunting her as well, and she is encouraging Anna to question Jacob. One thing's for sure, the entire city is deep beneath the ocean, so how are you going to escape, and who is telling the truth? When I first played this game, I found one feature invaluable, once you complete all available tasks in a location, a star will appear on the upper left of the screen saying "area complete". Now I realize just how easy this game is, with usually just one inventory item available, and occasionally a HOP or a Mini Game. The map isn't the best either, just a piece of paper with stars showing the locations you have visited. The Hidden Object Scenes can be difficult at times, mostly because the items are blurry, and at times unrecognizable. All HOS are list finds with no interactions available. The Mini Games are really good, many of them requiring you to find clues or combinations first. My favorite game required you to light up 6 connectors along a round tablet, by turning several round tokens with wire connections on the inside, to allow the power source at the center to flow freely along those wire connections. During it's heyday, I would have given this game five stars, but I now realize that this game had some flaws. Still a fantastic story and I really do enjoy playing it, give it a try, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining Funny game, very much diffrent from other games I have plaied
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FABULOUS STORY!! Totally Enjoyed the story The map was okay but i wish you could click on a location and be Transported to the area Too many HO scenes and mini games were Beginner Level The story was so good I Enjoyed the game anyways..
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just not up to standards I decided to try all the empress of the deeps. Not worth it. Too much talking and the hint button is not really all that good for you. The HOS and puzzles are quite easy. Somewhat of an adventure but there is tons of better games out there. Game is slow and boring.
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game, not my favorite... This game has beautiful scenery, aquatic themed. Liked the plot and idea. One thing I really like was it tells you when you are done with an area. That was helpful, instead of going over your tracks repeatedly, like in other HOG's. I did find the game to be a bit short. I bought the second one as well, haven't gotten around to it yet. If you are looking for a HOG with puzzles, brain teasers, but not extremely difficult and easy game play, give it a shot :)
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unique enough to get a recommendation Really deserves 3.5 stars. The story is good and flows, even if it isn't unique. The HOS scenes are good, interesting,probably the best part of the game and the minigames you've mostly seen before. I don't like that you have to use a hint to get instructions for a minigame. The game also ran slow for me. It would have been nice to have a map that allowed you to jump from place to place. It's not at all difficult, and there is only one mode of play. The graphics make it better than average, but it's pretty short, even for an SE. Nothing scary except for the 100+ yr old lady. My advice: play it, but buy it on sale.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More of 3.5 stars Now the graphics weren't great but they weren't horrible either. The story was interesting and the puzzles and HOS in balance in number and difficulty. The variation in puzzles was wonderful but there were a few short sides with this game. One was the map I ended up getting turned around and this would have been a great game for fast travel to be in. Two it was far too short and three the back tracking at the end of the game drove me crazy I hate how long it takes and that it just seems like a padded way to make it this much longer. Aside from those personally seen flaws I did enjoy the game and plan on playing the next one which looks loads better graphic wise. I recommend this game only if you don't mind what you experience in the trial version.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not age very well well, for todays standards the graphical appearance is completely out of date - especially the render scenes look very basic and the HOG scenes are a bit blurry. Sometimes it was not easy to identify an object because of this. However, all in all the game is nice. It reminded me a bit of Myst (while the puzzles in Myst are way harder). But I don´t know if I could recommend this game. I recommend it to people who want interesting puzzles and a nice storyline. I do not recommend it to people who hate backtracking and somewhat outdated grapical styles.
Date published: 2013-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Storyline makes this one I started with the second game of this series first and it was very interesting, tho i did not finish it yet, as i thought to try out the orginal game first. As others have stated before me (checkout the 2 and3 stars as i do if u really want to get a balanced perspective of any game) the graphics are very grainy and the mood music, tho very nice if you want to meditate, is bothersome for playing a game. But, ironicly i quite enjoyed the storyline. And that is what kept me going, the desire to find out what happens next and therefore the three stars. Try to purchase this for the 2.99 special or buy one get one free as i did, it would then be a very nice game to have.
Date published: 2012-04-08
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_6043, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Empress of the Deep: The Darkest Secret

Explore beautiful underwater temples! Search for artifacts to uncover the dark secrets of the Evil Empress and her hideous plans.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.