Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(147.59 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

1000 years ago, Sleeping Beauty was kissed by a prince, which removed a terrible curse from the kingdom. The rampant briars were held at bay, but the poor princess was left in her slumber. Follow a modern day detective as he travels to Edinburgh, Scotland, and attempts to end the curse once and for all in Dark Parables: Curse of Briar Rose. Dive into this eerie Hidden Object Adventure game and save Sleeping Beauty today!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 160 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(147.59 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 92.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my Favorites I love the Dark Parables series because of the beautiful graphics and challenging gameplay. I'm not typically a huge fan of Hidden Object games that require you to build objects with parts that you find, but this one doesn't bother me. The story is intriguing and whenever I was confused about what to do, the Hint option was almost always useful.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Winner Exiled Prince was my first FROG and I loved it so much had to have this one. I like that the background music is not obtrusive and annoying. There are lots of HO's, no annoying voice interactions, and a few puzzles that are fairly easy - I have a tendency to skip when I get frustrated but I achieved all of these. I did not follow a very logical path to success but that was no problem. The hint has a good recharge time even without finding all the morph items. The only downside for me was the darkness of the 'inspect' pictures' which I found annoying but which did not detract from the overall enjoyment.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Dark Parable games are wonderful! I am a huge fan of the Dark Parable games. They're extremely well done - beautiful graphics, great music, great ambient sound. This one isn't quite as good as the later ones (they have a few improvements), but given that it's the first one, it's still really well done. And for a first game in a series, it's definitely a five star one. This is a fragmented object hidden object game with other puzzles, first off. So if you don't enjoy having to find your objects in multiple pieces, this isn't the game for you. I think it's rather well done in this game, though. Rather than being the typical scene after scene full of random (and possibly totally out of place) junk, which starts to look silly sometimes, the pieces are cleverly hidden in the scenes. It shows you pictures of the pieces you're looking for, and doing it as the fragments makes it fit better with the story for me. Once you've found all the fragments, you end up with an item to use somewhere in the game. The puzzles tend to be on the easy side, but it's still an enjoyable game. It's more of a hidden object than a puzzle game anyway, but I like the fact that there's some of both. This may also have a bit too much back and forth between scenes for some people, but I've honestly seen much worse in other games and it didn't really bother me. It's also not a perfectly linear game like some, so how much back and forth you do is partially up to what order you decide to do things in. Of course, just like any game, there are some things that will have to be completed before some other things. It's just not 100% linear like some other games. If you like fairy tales, don't mind a darker twist to them, and don't dislike fragmented hidden object games, then I highly recommend this game and the others in this series. (In fact, I'd recommend many of the games done by Blue Tea Games.) Just fabulous!
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great one! Personally I love dark fairy tales and this falls into that category. Thing about the collector's edition though is I don't really feel that the extras are worth it... It's definitely worth it as a regular edition as the length of the game is good. Just don't feel that the extra gameplay is enough to warrant double the price. Maybe an extra $2 or $3, but not double. But that's just me. Other than that, it's a really great game. In my top 10% of favorites ^_^ So buying the regular version would be a good thing.
Date published: 2011-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TRUELY ENJOYABLE I saw the Dark Parable sale and read the reviews which were very good on each one, and started with this the first one. I just plain had a lot of fun with it. The story is simple, but it is threaded nicely through out the game. The music was nice and fit the game and just flowed along with me. The graphics where beautiful, sharp, crisp. Because it is an older game, it doesn't have any of the bells and whistles like a map, interactive FROGS and the hint button only works in the FROGS (fragmented objects found to create an item.) It should be noted that there are only FROGS in this game. This was a nice break for me. Also , there are only a few not difficult puzzles. With all that said I found the game to be a challenge of my memory and ability to figure out items as to where the go. I should say there is a INSPECT button which is basically a task list which actually shows you the sences you need to go to. Given that this was so helpful I didn't have to use the walkthrough once. There are lots and lots of things to make with the FROGS and lots of freely roaming the game environment. So many nooks and crannies to explore with hidden rooms etc. I just really enjoyed placing this game and would highly recommend this to anyone (except those of you who hate backtracking, or ones who love conventional HOS.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a thrill! I had played the demo quite a while back on another site and had, in all honesty, forgotten about this game. More recently, I had played the demo of the Exiled Prince, enjoyed it and purchased it. I decided to go looking for more games in the Dark Parables series and rediscovered the Briar Rose. I am so glad I did. This is a very enjoyable game. The storyline is compelling and draws you in. And once you're in, you are hooked. The graphics are excellent, you can almost feel being pricked by the thorns. The HOs are well done, with objects being not too easy nor too hard to find. I did have to use the hint a few times because my old eyes cannot always discern slight differences in contrast. I enjoyed the sound track. I usually have it turned way down or completely off but this one actually added to the sense of enchantment. Well done! I would say the level of challenge is perfect for the intermediate player. I you are a beginner, I advise getting the collectors edition or keep the blog walkthrough close at hand until you get used to the style of the gameplay. I loved it. Wish I had waited to get the collectors edition simply for the additional items that come with a collectors edition, not necessarily the strategy guide but I was impatient and didn't want to wait another month for the additional game credit! A word of caution: you can get so wrapped up in the story line that you forget to look for the enchanted items! I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty fun game Not that difficult to play. It was a good game for HO and the puzzles can be hard to understand at times. All in all a good game to play.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Beginning To An Excellent Series! Despite all the new and improved Dark Parable games, I still go back and play this one again. Perhaps, for its simplicity? I love the FROGs, the door puzzles and the lovely scenery and music. You can play it in hard mode (no hints or skips) once you finish, but you'll only need to until you find the rope, then you can go down into the well to open the secret door. Briar Rose will appear again throughout the many DP games, and this is one of the few where the detective doesn't get thrown off her horse, LOL!
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Near Perfect Game This game is so uniqe. I just loved it. Another success for Blue Tea Games! Good Parts: Brilliant graphics. These were very detailed and really suited the game. The Story had me absolutely spellbound. A brilliant voice-over and great scenes helped this to be even more great. The Hidden Object Scenes were unlike anything I had ever seen before. They were really great and provided an exra bit of challenge as they showed you a picture of the object instead of the name. As you found all the objects, they joined together to frm something that would help you on your quest. The Hint recharge speed was brilliant. I'd only just use it and it would be back again. This really helped me, because the Hidden Objects were placed so cleverly. OK Parts: While the hint was useful, it couldnot be used outside the HO scenes. A strategy guide should be used while playing this game. Bad Parts: The puzzles were extremely frustrating. They were really hard and coud not be completed. The punishment for not doing the puzzle was having the hint button inactive for 5 minutes. I felt this was over the top and a bit too much. I get you should have some punishment, but that was just too much. These minor flaws are the only things I could find wrong with this game. I really loved it. I'm positive you will too.
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining Hidden Object Game Beautiful graphics, nice music, & appropriate ambient sound. The hidden object scenes involved finding fragments of items that became inventory items, which did require lots of moving back & forth between scenes at times. This back tracking was the only real thing I didn't enjoy. The puzzles were a little bit on the easy side but I didn't mind that. A very enjoyable game.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Have Played This Game Again And Again I have tried and bought many games on Big Fish and there are only a couple I would play again and again and this is one of them. I own both games in this collection and this one is by far the best. I have played it twice the whole way through and I am sure I will play it again in the future.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I thoroughly enjoyed this game one of the best I have played in a while My first Dark Parables game and I was not disappointed. I found it hard to stop playing. I found the story engaging and well written and the music was very easy to listen to while playing. The graphics were excellent being clear and easily viewed even in dark scenes. The game is an adventure in which you work through hidden object screens where you find fragments of three parts of an item that will be used somewhere. The fragments are well blended in the scene and you have to look closely to find some of them. Also, you will have various puzzles scattered along the way such as placing colored marbles on specific colored squares, matching items to places in a scene, etc. Most are fairly easy but may require some thought. There are a lot of places to visit and many are just one visit for an iten needed later. There are some morphing objects to be found also. After finishing the game, I was told that I could play it again in hard mode, which apparently is without hints. I have purchased some of the other games in this series and can't wait to play them. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Cool I have to say I really enjoyed this game. The entire game however doesn't really have to do with saving Briar Rose rather finding Briar Rose.As for the witch or whatever she was you don't actually fight her. She appears at the end and thats it. I really did have to think at times which I do like. If any body wants to see what it like before buy and find out what the bonus chapter is about just go on to youtube. Several people have posted the game. As well as other bigfish games . All the Dark Parable games and bonus chapter are there as well. This really helps with letting you see what its like before you buy it and if you get stuck on something. I find actually seeing someone do something more helpful than just reading what to do. I love the scenery in these games they are beautiful.I defiantly recommend this game. Fair warning thou if you skip a puzzle the hint button freezes for 5 minutes. There is also a tip icon that says Investigate. However I personally didn't find it very helpful . A little but not much and there is no map or a mode to choose from. (easy ,hard ect.)
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent hidden object game! One of my favorite games to play. I recommend it to all o my friends and family. I like building objects in the hidden object games. Games within games are my favorite.There was nothing about the game that I disliked. I is a game and story at its finest. Kudos to the developers !
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The beginning of a different type of series I'm reviewing a bunch of diff games I've played long after buying/playing them. That being said, this is just a couple weeks after "The Final Cinderella" (or the fifth in this series# came out that I'm doing this, just so you know if I say anything comparative, lol... The graphics are....well, dark. Not blurry or grainy. They're good, for sure. One thing is for sure, Dark Parables screws with your eyes with the 'morphing objects' you find throughout the game. You don't have to have CE for this- these are SE objects. You don't even HAVE to collect them; but if you are one of the elite with extraordinary eyesight you'll feel great about yourself. The puzzles are medium. You can skip on easy...which is the only mode available in the beginning. But, play through the second time with the same name, and the hint/skip is locked completely and all puzzles are upped level wise...I think they're hard second time around, but that's me. The music is good, not overly annoying #like we know some games can be, lol# and when you get into more intense scenes it'll change. The storyline is good- you're the detective, solving the mystery of the briars. You just get whopped with something else along the way. The cutscenes are good. I might be slightly misjudging them at the moment though, after playing 4 other newer ones today. Which leads to length of game- I've played this game quite a few times, as well as the others, so know my around. It took me three or three and a half hours without skipping ahead, though, the first time. And, all Dark Parables give you the added bonus of a hint at the end of your game of what/where your going next :)
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Dark You Know I Played That Game!.That's my 2nd favourite game!.Really pumped out!.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Parables games are my favorite I absolutely love the Dark Parables series and
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT...WONDERFUL...TERRIFIC This line of games is superb. Blue tea games has done a wonderful job. The music is hauntingly beautiful. This is the first in the series and not as crisp as the sequels but still a game well worth playing. PROS: beautiful music long game play with loads to do this is a FROG (fragmented object) game great storyline The only con is some graininess in the graphics. I got use to it and was able to find what I needed to find. This entire series is worth buying and playing again and again.
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Fun Hidden Object Game! With an air of mystery and beautiful graphics, this game doesn't disappoint! As the first of the Dark Parables games, you are introduced into a world of real fairy tale princesses and godmothers with a darker twist. The game itself is pretty long and any bonus with collector's editions is worth it. Briar Rose was the first Dark Parables game I played and I fell in love with the graphics and the stories and I've played the others with just as much enthusiasm. The challenge could be a little higher, but the game is still entertaining. The ending is a good lead-in to the second game in the series. Expect to "use" each hidden object scene twice, so if you're stuck, just check the scenes you haven't visited in a while to see if they're active. Beginner or expert, this game is fun and you'll probably end up finishing it in one sitting.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun I love these types of games. Good amount of puzzle and hidden object games.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A retelling of Sleeping Beauty with hidden object scenes- what's not to love? (please note that this is my first review!) This game has a great storyline, it's a retelling of Sleeping Beauty - where the kiss didn't wake her up, and she's kinda in a Snow White glass coffin state where she hasn't aged, and it's 1000 years later, and the briars from the story have started growing, and growing so rapidly they are going to envelop the town below if not stopped in a week. That's where you come in. This is the first hidden object game I played, and when I had nothing to compare it to(since I played it I became slightly addicted, and now have played quite a few others) it was INCREDIBLE, and it's one of the few games that even after you have things to compare it to it's still incredible! The gameplay was probably around 4 hours for me, the graphics are good for a hidden object game, the hidden objects themselves are rather on the hard side, in my opinion. Pros: Great gameplay, great storyline, pretty good level of challenge, and overall great game. Cons: It takes a looonngg time for the game to start up - I don't know if this is just my laptop or not, but it has to slowlllyyyy scroll through Dark Parables : The Curse of Briar Rose and then through The True Tale of Sleeping Beauty - it ends up taking forever! The animation is slightly... chunky at times, for lack of a better word, it's kinda slow, and even the drawings themselves ( particularly ones of Briar Rose in *SPOILER SPOILER STOP READING NOW IF YOU MIND SPOILERS* spirit form aren't that good, but overall it is a good game, I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Starter For the Series The Best advice for any series is to always start with the first one. This game is great at swallowing you in to the Dark Parables Series.
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful game It's a delightful mix of an old story and a great game. The graphics are beautiful. Out of the Dark Parables games, this is my least favorite, but it's still a wonderful game. It's a game I recommend to anyone who enjoys this genre.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Dark Parables Please! I love the atmosphere of these games. The hidden object scenes are clever, the puzzles and storylines awesome.
Date published: 2012-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT !!!!! Loved it!!!! Bought every game in the series!! Cant wait for Red Riding Hood Version!!!
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS GAME! Great HOs, good story line, nice music, beautiful graphics. I like the fact that there were so many "rooms" to explore. Really nice job.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT ,LOVED IT!! Loved the game...graphics are beautiful, storyline great..would love to see more Dark Parables games. Already played all of them!
Date published: 2012-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this. I thought this was a good game. I wasn't aware of the walkthroughs, so I just kept walking through until I figured out what I needed to do to finish this. Know this is one that I will play again. I plan on playing The Exiled Prince. Hope it's at least as good.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Done I like how they made the story into a fractured fairytale. They did a good job making the game flow. A lot of going back and forth to areas for HOS, but at least they tell you where to look so you are not searching everywhere for them.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved this i love all the dark parables! more please. pretty and detailed settings, intriguing story line, and unique puzzles.
Date published: 2012-02-19
  • y_2020, m_11, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_92
  • loc_en_US, sid_6304, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Help a detective explore a rampant briar growth in Scotland, and discover the true tale of the real Sleeping Beauty!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.