Deadtime Stories

Deadtime Stories

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(100.27 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sinister thrills await in this gorgeously dark and unsettling telling of a real-life ghost story from New Orleans’ shadowy history. Free trapped spirits, cast spells and unlock fragments hidden in the paranormal world to reveal the story of a misguided voodoo queen. Use your wits as you dive into a spooky world in Deadtime Stories, a haunting Hidden Object Adventure game. Discover the history and secrets of 19th century New Orleans!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 130 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Deadtime Stories

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(100.27 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Deadtime Stories is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 89.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An awesome game I just finished playing Deadtime Stories, and felt very satisfied. I loved everything about the game including the visuals, music, and the storyline. Unlike most games where you have some relation to the main character, in this game, you are a visitor who's being told a story. However, you also get to relive that story as well. The story is about a young Voodoo Priestess in Louisiana named Jesse Bodeen. You follow her tale and in doing so, perform tasks that also include casting spells. I must warn you, though, that this story takes place during a time when slavery was still a big part of American history. So much so, that part of the dialog will reflect the negative sentiments of a rich, white woman towards Jesse. You will also see the ghost of a lynching victim still hanging from a tree (but one of your tasks is to free that spirit). If that part of American history deeply disturbs you, then this game may not be to your liking. Game play wasn't too difficult, and the hint system is unique. If you require a hint during a HOS, then a circle will highlight the item for you. If you need a hint during game play, then your "host" Edward gives you clues as to what to do without giving you the complete answer. The hints charge up pretty quick and I haven't encountered a click penalty in the hidden object scenes. What impressed me most was the voice acting. It was excellent! The actors truly sounded like they were from the time period and it gave the characters an authentic feel to them. As far as the music goes, it suits the mood pretty good. It gives it the right aura without making the game seem way too creepy or scary. In general, I highly recommend this game. However, because of the time period that it takes place, some scenes may not be suitable for young children. The game currently does not have a rating, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone under 13.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites Great colorful graphics and fun to boot! I really enjoyed this one. Very different in the color and style. Easy play but entertaining in it's format. I'll play this one again. Very relaxing and easy on the eyes. HOS' not too difficult but somewhat challenging and other puzzles not too difficult either. Great from beginning to end. Just right for a lazy afternoon or a few hours in a couple of evenings. I actually lost track of the time! Enjoy...I did.
Date published: 2013-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An enchanting evening........left me wanting a sequel!! POSITIVES:- Sound effects and graphics were of the highest quality Engrossing storyline and intriguing mystery to solve SUPERB voice acting......could not fault at all. Clever puzzles which were indeed different to any others ive encountered to date. Fast loading times in between scenes. Involves you in the world of voodoo......you get to find spell ingredients, cast spells and dispell spirits using the potions that you made. Interesting characters MINUS POINTS:- Little bit of a misleading title...........the plural 'storieS' makes you think there was more than one main story to play..............unfortunately theres only the one, but its a good one, its just a shame that there wasnt a couple more. Quite a short game, can be finished in a couple of hours. Great game for beginners, but wont pose much of a challenge to experience gamers. Would have loved to have seen more puzzles, and more little things to do such as collecting items for extra bonuses, or had some mini games included. This would have made it fantastic. A couple of times the music seemed a bit out of place as it didnt fit the mood. Quite a linear story and scenes. HOG scenes were very easy. CONCLUSION Dont let the minus points put you off getting this game, especially if its reduced or you choose it for free. Its an EXCELLENT quality game and i loved it; only wish it was much longer and a bit more of a challenge but hopefully there will be a sequel that addresses that.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real gem! Thoroughly enjoyed this game. Graphics, sound, gameplay - all excellent. Not too difficult but still a bit of a challenge, Only drawback was I wish it was longer :( Hope a sequel is in the pipeline??
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A keeper! Lots of different character tales with a common story weaving them together. Great graphics. Colorful and clear. Ambience is really well done. Loved the feel to this game. Soundtrack fits and is not intrusive. Mini games are inventive and fun. This is a game that scored on all levels for me. Well done! (original review May 4, 10)
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This should be a Tim Burton movie! Fantastic Game We LOVED this game, great graphics, challenging seek and finds, fun mini games and a story line that actually makes sense and makes you want to know what happens next. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make a sequel, and FAST! Only problem was it made us sulk for a day or two afterward as nothing else seemed to measure up.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite all time games! This game was beautifully crafted, from the graphics to the voice-overs. The story line was fabulous, the game play challenging and interesting. It had a great mix of hidden object as well as puzzles--a good enough balance to please HOG lovers while not boring non-HOG lovers. I keep hoping they will make a sequel to this game.
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best HOG The graphics in this game are literally outstanding. There is a good storyline and although it is not too brain challenging, the game is really enjoyable. The HO screens deserve your concentration as items are well placed and sometimes hard to find. I loved this game and it is one of the best I have played so far.
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You do voodoo This is a really great game. There is some challenges to this game. I had a couple of hidden objects that I just couldn't locate without using the hint. The puzzle games also presented some challenge. After some time, I was able to figure them out without any problem. Just pay attention. The storyline was good. Nothing like getting to put a spell on someone that did someone wrong. I really did enjoy this game. As I stated, it does present some challenges.
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky yet Awesome! One of the few HOG games that (actually) looks good on 20in+ widescreen monitors. The graphics and excellent voice cast alone should rate this at least four stars. The story at first glance may seem scary or even creepy, but personally I never found it to be either. I did find a wonderfully told story that fit almost perfectly with the atmosphere. Nothing seemed "unbelievable" or out of place, and the writers managed to avoid any "cliche" feelings in this tale. The immersion into the story line was help out greatly by two things: 1- you don't have to pixel hunt and 2- the objects actually match the surroundings. While you end up visiting the various scenes multiple times, the list changes each time to keep it fresh. Watch out however, as items may not always be what they seem at first. The mini-games and inventory puzzles were also masterfully done, providing just the right amount of challenge in which I didn't need to use the hint system but also never felt the puzzles "too easy". Subtle hints will also pop up at the top of the screen to further you along. Those who are scared easily or aren't interested in voodoo magics in a New Orleans setting may find this game just doesn't sit right with them, as the main character is a (not so) newly deceased voodoo-priestess-spirit from beyond the grave. I suggest, as always, giving the trial a full out test run before buying the game if you're hesitant. While the game itself was by and large on the shorter side of things, most people will have no problems playing it at least once or twice more just for kicks.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Old Wife Beautiful artwork. Fun game. Interesting story line based on a historical character of New Orleans. So far, this has been my favorite game of over hundreds I've bought through Big Fish. Would love to see a sequel.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Times Loved the artwork and the story line (based on a real historical character) was engrossing.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leatrice This is the best game about voodoo, spells, and curses I have ever played.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent game! Beautiful game, good plot I love these kind of games and this one does not disappoint
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thats it?! This isn't a series?! I hope they decide to make more! This game was great! As soon as I got over the sadness of it ending, I went to look for more in this series because the ending made it seem like there would be more, but nope, nothing. I'm so bummed. I loved the idea that I was interacting with the story being told. It was a lot of fun and I was very sad when it ended. I don't know if it was long or short since I played off and on until I finished it. It felt short to me, but that could just be because I was so into it I didn't want it to end. Even if it really was short, it was worth it. Especially as the daily deal. I feel lucky to have gotten it for $3 since I'd pay full price for it if I had to. The graphics are beautiful and well drawn, each location seemed magical. The voice acting was great. As if they got real citizens from New Orleans. The Characters were well drawn & interesting. Pretty good story too. There aren't very many puzzles, mostly just HO. That usually ruins a game for me, when its most HO but this game was fun anyway. Didn't get tedious, like so many HOGs do these days.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from whodo? youdo. voodoo Great story about voodoo practices in New Orleans. Great characters with VOS HOS, standard, some with same items, very clear but tricky You have to find ingredients for spells, a lot of fun Puzzles had no instructions. some were easy to figure out, others had no clue. Long skip button No diary No map Beautiful graphics Nice music Cool sounds, like crickets chirping Good length: casual 4.25 hours
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mon Dieu, it's Voodoo! Loved this game because of the New Orleans theme. It definitely has the feeling of old New Orleans, the swamps, the architecture. Graphics were sensational and the story rocked. Didn't have to use the hint much at all. I was also hoping for a level of play that involved the swamp family seen in the family portrait hanging in the tree. Their swamp house was part of one scene but the people were never seen. The voodoo theme was well done and increased the creepy fear factor for me. This is what I love about HOGs and mystery puzzles -- a good story. My only complaint was that the game could have been longer as it was a lot of fun. Anyway, looking forward to a sequel if the developers are planning one! Thanks!
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from want more i loved this game why haven't they come out with another one similiar???
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Voodoo Story I really enjoyed this Voodoo HO game. Collecting the items and creating the spells was fun. The HO scenes were sometimes tricky. The mini games could have been harder, but for a relaxing game that doesn't tax the brain it is perfect. I would have liked to have seen this in a collectors edition, but for the low cost of a standard game, it was well worth it. I also would have liked to have seen Delphine LaLaurie get it a little worse, only because she is a real character taken from history. I will play this one again!
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What Fun/graphics great and colorful If you are looking for a game that is just fun to play this the game for you. That's not to say that you don't have to think to play the games, some were more difficult than others and very original. No, it s not a particularly long game, but I dont think the intent was to give you an long drawn out intensive brain boggling game. It's just fun to play all the way around. Graphics are colorful and distinct, well done and really pleasing to the eye, You don't have to strain with fuzziness. I bought this game because I was looking for a break after playing 13th Skull, which I thought was terrible (loved the other games in series). Characters and voices were likeable in this game but I can't comment on the music, because I always turn it down. But I can tell you there are very real insect noises. I swore there was a cricket in my house until I realized it was the game. I will play this game over and over again!
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Southern Fried creepy fun! Come on down to N'awlins , ya'll and join Jessie Bodeen the voodoo queen in casting spells and freeing spirits .. Lots of creepy places to explore , fun puzzles and more! I'm I give this game five stars ! It's one of my favorites!
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deadtime Stories I absolutely LOVED Deadtime Stories...I was sad when the game was over...this HOG is going to be in my lift of the top 10...it would be wonderful to have more of this style while taking place in New Orleans....The Gorgeous Visual combined with outstanding sound quality instantly made me purchase Deadtime Stories...I want MORE MORE MORE..
Date published: 2012-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HO and others this has to be our favorite HO game so far, the story line is great, exporing the different areas and going all around was good, I didnt want it to end, I keep looking for more games like this one, it has to be our fav so far!!
Date published: 2012-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this game! I was just randomly choosing games to play that have a dark story line with the type of graphics I like, and I had such a great time with the demo, I purchased it. I love games that deal with spirits, fantasy, good vs evil, breaking spells, and this game has it all! Being used to more medieval settings, being in the swamps where voodoo is practiced was a pleasant change. Exploring the various settings and figuring out puzzles to get ingredients for mixing to cast spells was challenging. The final ending to the story was great! Wish there would be another game developed by the creators of this one to pick up the story theme and keep it going. I cannot comment on the sound quality as I tend to go back and forth between playing and watching an interesting TV show, or listening to what others are doing around the home.
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eerie fun After playing the trial for 5 minutes I just knew I had to have this and I'm glad I did because I had a lot of fun with it. The spells make it very different from others I've tried and I really liked those. Hidden object had a good level of difficulty, the objects to find fit the time period and atmosphere well and they had the right size, something that's always important to me.
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NOT YOUR TYPICAL HOG This game is different in the fact that there are several stories and plots you try and master before the whole story comes together. you travel on a horse driven coach to the new destinations and conjure spirits and potions with objects you gather. I really enjoyed the refreshing aspect of this game! the story line and graphics are very colorful and intriguing! i woulf recommend this game for sure
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game Took me to another world, Loved it.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Your Typical Bedtime Story! I played this game when it first came out about 3-4 years ago, usually older games don't appeal to me because they are so dated. Not this game, it was just as exciting as the first time I played it. The features of this game are unique and developers seemed to either stray away from them or just plain ole forgot about em. Shortly after starting the game you will find two books that stay with you throughout the game. The first one is a botany book to help you identify plants you will need to create spells, the second book is your spell book with the listed ingredients you will need for each individual spell. Once you have the ingredients (a checkmark will appear next to the item once found) you will follow the directions to mix the ingredients upon the potion table for each spell. The Hidden Object Scenes are simple list finds, but you will also interact with the scenes such as using your botany book to identify listed flowers as well as using the scissors from your inventory. Some of the scenes are repeated which isn't necessarily bad, but I was disappointed that several of the listed items were repeated as well, it wouldn't have been so bad if I didn't have to find the same exact items a second time, where's the challenge? The hint system is unique as well, when you click on the hint icon, a list of available hints will show up according to the tasks at hand and you choose which question or item you want to know about or how you go about locating it. The mini games are part of the story such as finding a clue phrase in one drawer and a ouija board (simply called a spirit board) in another. You have to click on the letters one at a time that spells out the phrase clue you found. The graphics are stunning, vibrant and colorful, and the story is very captivating, well worth the purchase price, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love It!! this game was so awesome after i finished the game i wanted more cant wait till the next story
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game!!! Bought this little gem at another store, I just never got a chance to review on BF. It was so fun and had a great mix of macabre history and colorfully set in one of my fave places New Orleans. It is not really scary *but I love eerie games*, just a good mystery hog with an great storyline. Yes, it is short but will constantly keep you on your toes and that's worth it. See... Originally, it came with another game, "Dr Lynch Grave Secrets" (but it never worked for me/ store refused to fix glitch). Note-Always buy from BF!!:) I do wish the devs would make another addition like this one as well. Deadtime Stories is a great game to get (esp since it is a DD today to fill up your card-*wink*)..You won't be disappointed! Have fun:)
Date published: 2013-02-06
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_6549, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Deadtime Stories

Sinister thrills await you in this gorgeously dark and unsettling real-life ghost story from New Orleans’ shadowy history!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.