Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows Collector's Edition

Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(224.42 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your   Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • A new bonus adventure
  • Concept art
  • Amazing wallpapers

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 388 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(224.42 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows Collector's Edition is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed the Game The graphics and sound was good. Enjoyed the HO’s and the puzzles were rather easy. Please designers: put the inventory bar on the bottom and put the SG in so you can access it without having to close the game.
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This was, for the most part, an enjoyable game to play. The storyline was interesting, the puzzles interesting and the hidden object scenes were good. There is a journal that is updated with the story and there is a task list. The voice acting was okay but the accents did not match the setting! There are a different variety of hidden object scenes from finding one type of object to putting objects back into the scene and the regular find the object listed. There were a good number of mini-games / puzzles and they were, for the most part, easily solvable. Some instructions were not very clear and by looking through the walkthrough I was able to figure out what was supposed to be done. The hints for the hidden object scenes were limited but could be replenished by finding mirrors in the scene. I found that most objects were easy to find. The general hints for the game were not very helpful at all and if you get stuck then the strategy guide is available to look through. Although in order to look at the strategy guide you have to exit the game and go to the main menu and then go to the Extras and then select the guide. During the game in a couple of places the game would freeze and only by using Windows to stop the game could I get back to playing it – for some reason it did not lose any game progress. Upon exiting the game each time it would try to bring up the Big Fish Games home page. As soon as I closed the window it would halt the game properly. No game progress was ever lost though. The minor problems were not big enough to not want to continue they were just minor nuisances! The bonus adventure was fun and enjoyable as it unlocked the rest of the extras.
Date published: 2012-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Easy Game Good enough for a buy, Plenty to do, Beautiful graphics, Nothing annoying and Characters nicely done. Loved the twist on HO's. Reusing the list items to be placed back into their proper places.
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT WHAT IT PROMISED The detailed description of this game indicated that there was an integrated strategy guide. I did not see that available at all. I played the expert mode so maybe that was why the strategy guide was not available. The hint button only worked in the HOS. I could click the hint button at other times, but the information it gave was completely useless. I had to refer over and over to the walk through to figure out where to go next, which is just unacceptable. The hint button at least should point you in the right direction. I also skipped a few puzzles when I got tired of guessing and really didn't want to go to the walkthrough to figure out how to solve them. However, there was one puzzle where the walkthrough didn't help at all. This game was too frustrating at the expert level for me to give it a good review.
Date published: 2013-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So So Game I really enjoyed the first game in this series, but this follow up was so-so. The good things were nice graphics, fun and inventive HOS, some interesting mini games, lots of places to explore. The bad things were almost no storyline, SG was not integrated into the game (had to exit to the main menu to access), the music was so annoying I muted after a few minutes, the voice overs were bad (accents were all wrong for the period). The bonus chapter was really odd. There was no storyline to it. There were a couple of mini games I didn't get to complete because I "completed" the bonus chapter without realizing it was the end. I don't recommend this game. However, for those that want to play all four games in the series, buy the SE of this game. The bonus chapter isn't worth the money.
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from follow the echos of time enjoyed the game alot the only complaint is the guide for the collectors edition was not very excessable had to leave game each time to look up something i needed help with should have had link to it.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from FIND ALL PIECES OF THE AMULET AND DEFEAT THE WITCH Now, this is a very old game which I played years ago and pulled it out again to play today. You have: * Regular and Advanced modes of play; * Voiceovers; * Diary; * Help people to collect pieces of the amulet. There is a Strategy Guide but you have to leave the game to read it. If you need it, then this could be annoying as it is distracting from the game. As you meet people and help them, they will give you pieces of the amulet. There are lots of HOS and mini-games. The HOS was pretty easy and the mini-games vary from being easy to medium. Mainly it can be just putting things in the right order. If you decide to skip a game then this will add 30 minutes to your time - that is, if you want to get on the Top 10 score list. The graphics are mediocre, but it is an old game. Some of the HOS were quite cluttered which make it hard to see items, but I just went very slowly. The game all up took me a little over 7 hours, so its quite a long game. There is no Bonus game. Overall, I quite liked the game. I've played it a couple of times now. Best that you demo the game before you buy it to get a feel for it.
Date published: 2014-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thankfully I only paid $6.99 for this not full price When I play games like this and then read what other reviewers write, I begin to wonder if my standards are too high. Look at all of the other reviews. They gave this five stars. That's laughable. This is a mediocre game at best. Nice graphics, but nothing you haven't seen before. Music is lousy and repetitive. The story line is sillier and more vapid than most. There were periods where there was no story, like the developer occasionally forgot they were supposed to have a plot line with their hidden object scenes and puzzles. Some of the puzzles are new. I liked having to find "missing" objects elsewhere in the game and replace them to remove curses. A few innovative puzzles, but most are standard fare. The game is VERY linear. You will not have a lot of choice over what you can accomplish next. The game doles out items in a pretty precise order, sort of like a path with very high walls to keep you from deviating. Decent length of play compared to others. I completed the game in about three hours or so. That's longer than most on here, yet it was not all that challenging. I found about 95%+ of the hidden objects with no trouble at all. The puzzles in most cases, all but solve themselves since you have gotten the codes and clues earlier. The extras are disappointing. While I got about an hour of play on the bonus content, it was totally bolted on. No story. No reason to be in the environment. It was like running an obstacle course of puzzles and hidden object scenes without any real purpose. The developers could have taken 10 minutes to come up with some sort of flimsy plot like most of these games do. Bottom line is that the game is OK but hardly the amazing experience some of the other reviewers describe. If you have been on Big Fish for more than a week than you have played a ton of similar games that are equally generic and uninspired. It's not that it is a horrible game. It's just completely undistinguished. You can skip it and your life will not be worse for it.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hard as could be I liked the scenes and the graphics were pretty good. BUT this is one hard game. The hint system is terrible, it doesnt tell you where to go if you get stuck. I had to consult with a guide in order to beat this game. I got so frustrated at parts. You really have to pay attention to what you have in inventory and where you need to go. I dont like this game.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from review it is not possible to finish this game. In the castle is a tower and in the tower is a gate that is not to open. There is no way out from the castle.
Date published: 2013-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mediocre game with terrible graphics This game at first looked like it would be fun to play EXCEPT the graphics were awful. The cursor would leave "ghost trails" of itself all over the screen. And the "book" with hints was terrible in that I had to run my cursor over the whole page in order to read it. Like the first page covered the second page and had to be erased. I'm surprised Big Fish allows a game with such horrible graphics on it's site. I have been a member for years, and this is the first game that after two or three "screens" I had to leave because I could not stand the "ghosts trails" left behind of the cursor.
Date published: 2014-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful, Awful, Awful! GAME COMPLETED A COUPLE OF TIMES (although I’ve no idea where I got the patience, didn’t last the distance this time) Why do I hate this game? Let me count the ways... Absolutely appalling graphics. Even without the problems of low definition due to the age of the game, the visuals are ugly. And there were these ugly shimmery patches wherever an item was needed, in the shape of the item. So a missing handle showed as a shimmery handle. Yuck! It looked ghastly. Really slow game play. Each move requires multiple mini-games, puzzles or HOs. Nothing is logically apparent, so it is a constant struggle to figure out what comes next. Hardly any of the puzzles come with specific instructions, it’s all “press the buttons in the right order” kind of stuff. Hint is useless bordering on offensive. “This is the door to the tavern” – well, I know that you idiot!... The categorically worst thing about this game is the fact the SG is in the main menu. You have to leave the game to look it up!! What a waste of money, I can do that with the standard game. Which is another thing. I wrote a very disparaging review of the SE of this game based on a demo a year ago, how the heck did this get on my desktop? I’m thinking evil magic! Lol It does have a couple of redeeming features, particularly for such an old game. It uses three different HOs – slightly interactive lists, multiples and misplaced items. I particularly liked that the misplaced items were indeed actual items I had picked up in an earlier scene. There are a lot of locations and close up scenes, complex enough to have needed a map, which unfortunately we didn’t get. But the exploring through all the many castle rooms was fun. Still, not enough to justify buying this, at any price.
Date published: 2013-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yuck What a dumb game! Endless looking for hidden objects without a story or puzzle to go along.
Date published: 2012-06-03
  • y_2020, m_7, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_7045, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows Collector's Edition

Restore the royal amulet to break an ancient curse and stop an evil witch from regaining her terrible powers!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.