Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows

Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(170.60 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After discovering an ancient painting, the Royal House Museum invites you to explore the recovered artifacts, and the mysteries within. Restore the royal amulet to break an ancient curse and stop an evil witch from regaining her terrible powers! Dive into Echoes of the Past

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 291 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
Reviews at a Glance

Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(170.60 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd in the series This is the 2nd game in the series, and I found it both fun and challenging. The HOs were good. The mini games were challenging without being overwhelming. The graphics, storyline and sound were all good. In the series, the first one gets your interest, the 2nd adds to that and the 3rd has just enough change to continue your interest. I definitely recommend this series!
Date published: 2011-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great series Another series that I own all of - and look forward to more.
Date published: 2012-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fun! I have played this one and House of Stone. I plan on playing all three titles in this series. Very enjoyable.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining Love locations, storyline and the grafic, pretty bright
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of fun! Great game.. loved the storyline, graphics, and HO scenes! It was pretty easy. Enjoyed it a lot!
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic adventure game Beautiful graphics, fun adventure game, one of my favorites!
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Challenging puzzles, great story, great artwork. One of the best games out there.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the story line I can not complain about this game, the story line was amazing. I love the graphics, the mini games kept me thinking and I was enthralled in the game. I wanted to know what was going to happen next.
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! What a great little game! Not too hard and moves along very smoothly. There is no feeling that you might have overlooked an important item and would have to go back and rectify that...just a nice easy little game. The only complaint I had was that some of the mini-games were just that little bit time consuming and so I tended to skip a few of these. The graphics, while not as true to life as some of the other games, were still good....music was not intrusive at all. This is my first 'Echoes of the Past' games and if this is a good indication of the quality then it will definitely not be my last!
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows Thoroughly enjoyed this game, loved the storyline along with the eerie gothic type music/sound and graphics.. Lot's off puzzles too keep you busy. Well done Big Fish:)
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Really enjoyed this game evn though it was only the hour it kept my mind goingall the time AND I could go back and forth there was allways something to do;;;; "I hate when I am told There's nothing to here at the moment" Ria
Date published: 2012-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second installment of a well-done series This time when you are visiting a museum an amulet on display sends you into a picture hanging on the wall and you wind up in a neglected chapel. Must be that witch again or maybe her sister. All of the people have been turned into shadows and you need to restore them to their human forms again. There is no map but there is a journal that is updated frequently and contains a goals list that is constantly updated as you enter new areas. There is a hint button and you gain more hints by finding mirrors in various scenes but they are only really useful in hidden object screens. There are a lot of HOS to find useful items needed in the locations you visit that help solve puzzles and set the shadows free. There were two basic types of HOS - a list of items to find and a list of items to place in proper places. There are some interactive items in most HOS and most items to be found are visible although some are pretty small or nearly colorless. The items found that are needed go to your inventory and are logical solutions to the situations presented. Be advised that some objects are hidden behind shadow people and only become available after you restore them to their human selves. Music was plesant when there and there were sound effects throughout. Each shadow restoration had a cut scene with voiceovers. Another nicely done game.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good game I really enjoyed this game. It's pretty much the standard set-up where you have to find objects and then figure out where to use them. You will find yourself running all over the place, back and forth. But part of the challenge is remembering where you saw certain things that might need one of the objects you've found. What is different about this game from another I played in the series is that there really isn't a hint button except for hidden object scenes. So if you're stuck about what to do next, you only have a couple of options. You can run all over the place looking for something to do, or you can look online at the blog walkthrough, which is what I did a few times when playing this game. It's not really that intuitive. In the game you're trying to foil a witch that has put a spell on people in a castle. It's very similar to the Royal House of Stone game. In addition to finding hidden objects, you have to find or create the right items to bring these people back. This game has great graphics and carefully but fairly hidden objects. I recommend this challenging game and look forward to playing more in the series!
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Sequel! While catching up on some older games, I played this first sequel in the Echoes of the Past series. It plays well, has a nice challenge level, and is a worthy sequel. My only problem with it (and the first) is that the hints only apply to the HO scenes, and the "?" button just gives general info, rather than pointing out areas or items of interest. Good game, not great!
Date published: 2013-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from INTERESTING STORY, CLEAR DIRECTIONS FOR GAME PLAY, LOTS OF FUN BASED ON COMPLETED GAME I don't think this game has more than one level, but don't let that stop you from playing it. It would be great for a first time player because the game explains EXACTLY how to play and guides you through the entire story. Even so, if you're an intermediate to expert player, I still think you will enjoy this game. Since this is an earlier game, it didn't expand fully to fit my screen and some of the objects were tiny and a bit of a challenge to find. But nothing in this game will keep you stuck or lost to the point of frustration. If you do get stuck, the hint system is pretty useless as it just explains where you are and what doors lead where. The hint does not tell you what you need to do or where you need to head, BUT, for you beginners out there, just go from room to room until you find the sparkles and you will be on the right track. I'm pretty strict when I give out stars, but I enjoyed this game too much to give it any less than a 4 even though it took me less than 3 hours to complete. It is just a heck of a lot of FUN. I like the way the ending left me anticipating game two. Bottom line: pretty cool story, fun X 10, lots of explanatory dialogue for beginners, enough challenge for intermediates, and an easy, but enjoyable play for experts.
Date published: 2013-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY GOOD ADVENTURE IN A SERIES STORYLINE: You are in the Royal House Museum and find yourself transported in time to a neglected chapel seen in the mysterious painting you were admiring. A witch has turned many of the kingdom’s subjects to shadow and you must restore them to life by providing them with an object they cherish and banish the witch. You explore a town, then a castle and its surrounding grounds. BASICS: A journal records the story and your tasks. No map needed. Widescreen available. Start with 10 hints; find 2 hidden mirrors in each HOS for additional hints. Regular and advanced mode of play. Records your playing time. Satisfying ending. About 3 ½ hours. There are other Echoes in the Past games I actually liked better. GAMEPLAY: Adventure game with a good blend of HOS, puzzles and mini-games. Objects in the HOS are logical. Some HOS are list based; others have you putting back items you found where they belong. Both are interactive. Puzzles and mini-games are enjoyable, come in a wide variety (not the usual tower or sliding puzzles), and vary in difficulty from fairly easy to challenging. You feel satisfied when you complete them. 30 minutes is added to your gameplay as a penalty for each skipped puzzle. GAME DESIGN: Very good production values. Graphics and animation are excellent with some scenes very moody and detailed. Limited back and forth until the last quarter of the game. Can’t comment on the helpfulness of the hint system outside of the HOS, as it usually straightforward what needs to be done next and where to go, so you’re not left wondering what to do next. (Consult your task list if you are.)
Date published: 2012-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Southern accents? I enjoyed the game. Good hints, and the blog walkthrough was great. Puzzles were a good mix of easy and challenging. The only problem I had was the southern accent on many of the characters. Since this is supposed to be a pseudo-English setting, the accents should have been different. Also, some of the settings were anachronistic - light bulbs in the 18th century?
Date published: 2012-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging game! For this game I had to use the walkthrough quite a number of times, because there is no clear description of what to do in the puzzles. The graphics are a bit grainy. There is a lot of walking and no map. The journal is helpful to know what to do next. The hint system, apart from the HOS, is of no use, since it gives you only a description of the location... I got frustrated a number of times: some objects are really hard to find in a location. The real plus of the game is the level of challenge. The puzzles are unique and I liked that. It took me approx. 3 hours to finish.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for a sequel This is the 2nd in the Echoes of the Past Trilogy and I was pleasantly surprised for a sequel. The story line followed right in step and kept me interested all the way to the end. This one was slightly more challenging than the first, music was suitable, another good mix of HO scenes and puzzles. Looking forward to playing the 3rd in the series. Again, another great game for beginners or upper level players looking for a relaxing good time.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it! I enjoyed this game. There is a LOT of running around, though. Even back to places you have already thought you were done with. The HO parts are relatively easy, except for a couple times with one item or so. Without the running back and forth the game would be pretty short. But, all in all, I did enjoy it.
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from churchwoman61 II ike the game. It has you thinking you know what is next, not so. Love Big Fish Games. Buy them all the time. Great for the young and old.
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Good I like the storyline. I didn't stop until I finished the game.
Date published: 2013-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Echos of the past This game was tons of fun with lots to do and many different scenes. The biggest draw back are the graphics: they are somewhat grainy and for that reason it's not a 5 star. Pros: long playing time at many different locations lots of HO'S and mini games plenty of challenge Cons: grainy graphics the music was monotonous after a while All and all a fun game I've played several times.
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from All Game play, No Story The game play was a lot of fun and I finished the game in one sitting. I was disappointed in the story line. I didn't find it compelling and I felt a little lost as far as the reason I was there doing all of this. The ongoing puzzles were my only motivation to continue. I wasn't impressed with the atmosphere at all. I don't feel the game play alone is enough to lure me back, so I probably won't play this again.
Date published: 2014-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waste of Money It must be me, as there are so many good reviews, but I did not enjoy this game. There was no guidance. The HOSs were dark and not easy. The hint does not automatically discharge. You must find mirrors to replace a hint and there are only two in each HOS, so I spent too much time on them, getting cross-eyed trying to find 3 corsets and an artificial limb. You need to be a brain surgeon to figure out the puzzles and even the walkthrough was of little help. Unfortunately, I purchased this game without trying because the reviews were good. I also purchased Echoes of the Past: Curse of the Witch - sure hope it is better.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So So game that plays fast The game isn't bad but it's not great either. The game play is ok, though the voice acting is horrible and the storyline is pretty hollow,. A typical evil baddy is causing havoc that needs to be set right. The game play is easy with a variety of hidden objects and puzzles to solve. There is a bit of back and forth travel but it's not over the top. An ok game for a short afternoon.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than Average The Castle of Shadows is the second installment in the Echoes of the Past series. The story type is similar to the original, you need to restore the royal amulet to break the witche's curse You also need to release the souls of the trapped spirits.. The storyline is still very attractive to children, but anybody will find this fun to do. The graphics and sound were good again, and there are many puzzles some of them I found a little harder than before and more interesting, which was great. However, I consider this to be the weakest of the series for the sole reason that some of the areas you visit were excact duplicates from the original game, the Royal House of Stone. That alone made me feel cheated, as if the programmers could not be bothered to conjure any new locations, it seemed that the graphics designer had been on holiday, and we were saddled with many of the same locations, which I did not like. That's the only reason I gave it 3 stars instead of 4. Still an enjoyable game though.
Date published: 2013-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of Better Ones Out There There are so many other games that are done amazingly well that it wouldn't be fair to rate this one 5 stars. However, the CE is available for the SE price right now, so that might make it worth buying. Graphics were pretty, though I've seen better (Final Cut: Silver Screen). And the witch was just plain hokey. This one won't be a replay for me.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Echoes of the Past: The castle of shadows At first I found this very challenging and fun, but when I got to the castle I found the puzzles very frustrating, there was no clear instructions even when you hit the hint button and when I went to the walkthrough the insturctions given made no sense. I don't like skiping puzzles but I found it the only way with quite a lot of them .
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Echoes of the Past The hidden objects portion was great - however the puzzles very mediocre.
Date published: 2013-01-08
  • y_2021, m_6, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_7292, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Echoes of the Past: The Castle of Shadows

Restore the royal amulet to break an ancient curse and stop an evil witch from regaining her terrible powers!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.