Roads of Rome

Roads of Rome

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(75.59 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Follow a romantic story, explore barbarian lands, win recognition, and achieve success in Roads of Rome, a fun Time Management game! You are the only one who can help Victorius accomplish lots of challenging tasks, and marry Caesar's daughter, the young and beautiful Julia. Bring Roman spirit and culture to the barbarians, build roads, and prove that you are the best Roman legionary in the whole empire!

  • Fascinating levels
  • Beautiful animations
  • Build the Roads to Rome!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 81 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Roads of Rome

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(75.59 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Roads of Rome is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent! This was my first time playing this type of time management game and I loved it! The graphics were great, the level of difficulty was perfect. It was not so hard that you'll get frustrated, but tough enough that it took a couple of tries and some strategy to get expert in each level. I played it all weekend and hope to get the next two in the series one day.
Date published: 2012-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from clear your schedule because this one's an all-nighter! in this time management game, you are helping victorius, caesar's most trusted general, build a road across the roman empire. but why -- after winning a zillion wars -- does victorius get stuck building a bunch of *infrastructure*? because he fell in love with caesar's daughter, and she also loves him. rather than allow his daughter to marry a warrior, caesar decides to distract his most valued soldier from pursuing true love by forcing him to rebuild the entire empire. so in this game, you help victorius by supervising workmen as they (re)build roads, bridges, farms, quarries, forts and such, and you also direct your workers to collect crystals, gold and scrolls along the way. graphics: wonderful. cartoonish, yes, but in a nice way. adorably-drawn characters, lovely scenery, and rich colours. i especially loved the feeling of depth in this game through the use of shadows, and especially as the eagle/vulture flew over the game board. it made me feel i was standing on a cliff overseeing the actual work being done. further, there is no sluggishness in this game, neither when it loads each level nor when your cursor is zooming rapidly around the screen as you direct your workmen to their respective tasks. after level eight or so, accomplishing all the tasks in time to earn an "expert" rating requires some planning and strategy. music: lovely, solo guitar in places, otherwise "orchestral". frenetic pace to the music, but not annoyingly so. good sound effects too. storyline: absolutely believable. my complaint: you cannot queue tasks! grrr!! seriously, this is incredibly annoying -- SO annoying that i actually would give this game 4.5 stars if i could. my interaction: one hour demo. i most definitely plan to purchase this game. (as if i don't already have too many in my collection!) in summary: this is a fabulous time waster ... er, time management game with goals that are challenging but not impossible to accomplish. if you are a time management game fan, like i am, then this game is definitely worth adding to your collection. if you are new to time management games, this is an excellent one (“excellent” as in, “addictive” in this case) to introduce you to the genre.
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love games like empires this empire games are very beautiful i like this so much but we cannot pay free
Date published: 2012-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It! I'm a big My Kingdom For The Princess fan (all three) and this game is quite similar. It took me a little while to get used to the differences, but once I did I couldn't stop playing. I guess I'm happy to see that there are two more in the series, but once again my work will suffer! ;)
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game Great game, needs more levels!
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game - Highly Recommended! Loved this game so much I got the 2 sequels when they came out! Very similar to the game 'My Kingdom For The Princess'. Don't know which one came out first but I like both games equally. I found it to be exciting & challenging. The levels get really hard & you have to be precise in order to finish them, but that's the aim of the game otherwise it would get boring very quickly :-)
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fun, fast paced TM Very enjoyable! Love time management games & this opened up a whole new type of TM game for me!!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, not too hard, not too easy I love time management games, but since I am looking for escapism, I don't like ones that are almost impossible to get "Expert" on because I'm not looking for my game to just add more stress to my life! I love Roads of Rome because, like Goldilocks said, "it's just right." The characters are cute, you can reach expert after playing harder levels a few times to figure out the best way to do so, and the levels are long enough to provide a nice challenge without causing me to break into a stressed-out sweat. I was thrilled when Roads of Rome 2 came out - I just finished playing it as well. :-)
Date published: 2011-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely and not too hard This game is very similar to My Kingdom for the Princess, but I personally prefer the Roads of Rome series. The levels are a bit less "busy", the graphics are prettier, the animations and little details lovely, and the gameplay feels less frantic and stressful. The levels are very well thought-out and the timing perfect, not at all frustrating (I'm not the greatest with timed games, but this one wasn't too hard for me). Absolutely love it!
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Up All Night I stayed up all night playing! I like the graphics, sound effects, music, and game play. Level of challenge slowly increases throughout the game in a logical way. In the later levels, I found myself playing over and over to achieve expert. There is always a different way to complete a level as there are many options for game play.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing game ever! my review was so amazing.The game was fun!
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good time for all Love this game. Challenging and fun for all. Hail Caesar!
Date published: 2011-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Got all three and they all rock...Different and the same...Just a very neat series of games.
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New obsession I'm not usually a fan of time management games, but this one is fun, challenging, and addictive. I'm on my second time through and there are new landscapes to navigate and surprises along the way. The music is upbeat; the sound effects are actually helpful and not just more noise. The storyline is sort of weak, but I don't think that's a problem with this kind of game. I got this on a buy-one-get-one-free deal and it was definitely worth it. Think it'd still be worth it using a whole game credit. Hours of entertainment (and not getting household chores done)!
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun TM game I played ROR2 first and really enjoyed it so went back for this one. It's great that the difficulty mode can be adjusted and there's no limit to the number of times or at what point in a level it can be replayed. If a level is played all the way through and you realize that you should have done something differently, you can replay it and the system automatically assigns you the higher score. Being able to read the chapter descriptions, view the layout and see the starting levels of each commodity before beginning each level is quite helpful - it allows you design a winning strategy. Broken down - Pros: *Good clear animation/graphics *Not so difficult - "expert" is achievable for each level *Skill/strategy development is made fun *Pleasant music *Unlimited re-do ability for each level at any time Cons: *Tasks cannot be queued *End chapter of each level is an exploding blocks game (not my forte) Overall, very enjoyable.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neat little challenge You have several levels to work your way up through by completing quest. You can play timed or un-timed. Timed was more fun. If you fail to finish the task within the allotted time, you can try again with your new found knowledge! It's definitely entertaining if you like challenges!
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Terrible story kills this game series for me I love gameplay here really, but storyline and some art are TERRIBLE . Such historical trolling is annoying: - Cesar's only daughter Julia married Pompey the Great as political deal between to men and dead soon after unsuccessful childbirth - there WERE NO and COULD NOT BE such romantic story; - such clothes on Roman god's statues (we got them for excellent time) are nonsense. Jupiter in loincloth??? If you hate like me when devs take real historical names missing or trolling historical spirit - try other TM series. Otherwise this is fun game, yes. Relaxing mode is nice for kids - no time limit.
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this game even though there were some glitches. I have arthritis in my hands and cannot do some time management games. There is a relaxed mode to this game that I like. I can enjoy the strategy and not get frustrated by having to repeat a level until I get it I get it the first time. .Also in that relaxed mode they do not rate you as gold or average,just the same icon for having finished.The game froze in a few spots and I had to restart my computer but I liked the game so much that I perservered. I have an old non-intel computer which uses leopard.
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good not as great Personally I liked the my kingdom for the princess series a lot more than this one. The my k4p series (my kingdom for the princess) was more fast paced and with the day turning to night quite fast it was a challenge and you would redo the levels to "expand your castle" the story was o.k and the game play was terrific all I can say is that the my k4p is better period. This game is fun n all but is not as fast or fun as my k4p this game has better graphics but the my k4p isn't that bad. This game was good but not as great as My Kingdom For The Princess. Plz say if helpful or not thx
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite good Nice game! But how I wish to play for free.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it! One of the best time mgmt games!
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Building with a story! Here is a building strategy game - it is fairly similar to My Kingdom for The Princess but just does not, to me, give the same fun factor. There is the usual manner of finding out by trial and error the correct strategy to finish a level with the highest score - the little men run around and do your bidding (got to love that part) - the story is good - its makes sense - moves your forward and gives good reason for actually building the levels! Would recommend.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Roads of Rome games I really enjoyed playing all the "Roads To Rome". They were relaxing to play & enjoyed playing them. Make sure your in the relax mode session.
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't stack actions... I would love this game but you can't stack actions and have to wait til the guy gets back to the hut. Drove me nuts. I like that atleast you can stack one or two other actions in just about all the other games like this. I couldn't play more than 5 minutes. It is good for someone who isn't used to playing that way.
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be much better... The guys move fast. But you can not see your resources power, to know when they will be ready. So you sit and wait. You can not buy more people when needed, only what is alloted. You can not delete when not needed.... Whomever did these just needs to do the extra and he will have the others beat. It was a slow day/week/month for bigfish, so I bought this one and #II for the extra 99 cent.... Or I would not have purchased either... Enjoy...
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Starter TM game I really like builder games and I feel like maybe I should have started with this one if I was new to this genre. It took me a couple levels to really get used to the system it takes to beat a level but once you realize the strategy then its very easy to beat every level and get gold. I played My Kingdom for the Princess first and in that game you don't need to get a bunch of helpers as sometimes you can finish the level all by yourself or with one other guy and it works out BUT in this game having all the buildings up to the maximum and all the workers out that are possible is the way to do this game. More helpers are better in this game as it can be frantic. HOWEVER, In other builder games I have played there is a lot more variety in what to do. You can tell this game is the first in the series not just by the title but by what you are supposed to do. In all levels, you are either finding crystals, rune stones or idols. It's all there ever is and it never changes so the game kind of loses its charm if played too long. Its definitely a game I needed to stop and come back to later because it became boring. I would have liked more to do than just break down rocks and build a road. And because of just having those tasks, I found this game get easier as time went on having the strategy and then the same goals. I was able to complete almost every level the first or second time. I like to be challenged where I need like 3 or 4 times to really get it but this game was simple and I beat it quite fast. It really did feel short after I finished it and the storyline kind of faded so the ending was predictable and kind of lame. Now, I've tried Roads of Rome 2 & 3 and have purchased them but wanted to start from the beginning of the series and just by demoing those, I can already tell the developers made those games harder and more challenging with lots more to do. I would give this game a 3.5 as its fun but not challenging enough and kind of bored me halfway through. I would recommend this game though to people who are new to this genre so they can get a handle on how to play these types of games or to anyone interested in this series because I can see how starting at the beginning and moving forward will be something quite special since the games appear to evolve with each new title. Kudos.
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Play this one 1st other wise you won't appreciate it. Don't play the series II & III until you play series 1 first, otherwise you will be spoilt and not enjoy series 1. Series 1 is fun, but way to easy compared to the other series. It's a good place to start to get a handle on the game.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't Queue Workers, So I Quit I can't give too indepth a review, because I have a strict rule for pathway games -- if I can't queue workers, I quit. I wish it were mentioned beforehand because I feel like it's an important part of gameplay, but this is why I always try the demos first. It's a minor issue and one that may not be a dealbreaker for you, so I would definitely give it a try, but just in case it is, here's my warning.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very old-fashioned game This game has outdated graphics and does not allow you to queue actions. It also has this non-stop tutorial thing at the start which is really annoying. It leads you along one step at a time which sort of blows the whole idea of creating a strategy away. I managed about 10 minutes and had to quit...it's truly awful. If you're looking for a good game in this genre try the Gardens, Inc series or Kingdom Chronicles.
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth buying Having just loved Kingdom Chronicles, I thought I’d try another Time Management genre. I played the whole free hour and was stuck on level 7. The game does not allow you to assign a task until a worker is free and that causes delays. Then there are disasters and of course waiting for critical supplies at the onset. Not worth playing. I erased the game and am looking for something relaxing, which this was not.
Date published: 2012-07-08
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_7644, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Roads of Rome

Follow a romantic story, explore barbarian lands, win recognition, and achieve success in Roads of Rome, a fun Time Management game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.