Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(122.56 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife, Sara, missing and now it’s up to you to track her down and solve the mystery! Follow a mysterious black cat, who seems to be purposely helping you, and discover helpful clues in Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe’s The Black Cat. Use your Hidden Object talents to tackle the case, and discover the evil culprit behind Sara’s disappearance.

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Stunning soundtrack
  • Wonderful wallpapers

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 602 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(122.56 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must buy! Had the SE and I want more, so I bought the CE. As my SE review, it is one of my favorite games from ERS games. It is creepy, dark and has a good storyline. The ending really creeps me out, and there are so many things to see and explore in this game, good game length and good amount of puzzles and mini games. The only flaw I see is the hint and skip buttons so slowly recharge. Also there is no hint during gameplay. So SG is very useful here. Recommended this to buy :)
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing it was chalenging at point but sooo fun we all love tbh my daugter wanted to buy it so we did and my wife hates creepy games and she even likes it not saying its not scary or creepy because it is at some points but not on others its so fun even thoug we finished it we play it all the time even my daugters friends love it best game ever
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend! Absolutely loved it! More like this please, loved the dark feel to the whole story and with the lights switched off, playing this game is brilliant!
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Really enjoyed this game. Lots of content. Fun blend of puzzles and hidden object screens.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big fan of Dark Tales I loved this game! HOG and walking around. Some good interactions. Fun game!
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent i enjoy this game clear graphic and excellent story you won,t regret if you purchase this game will like it
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Object Game I love this game and play it every few months. I never tire of it. The scenes are beautifully done. The story moves along nicely and I never get bored playing it. There are HO scenes and things to find and do. This game, in my opinion, is a real keeper. Anyone who may think this is a story about a cat is mistaken. The cat is a small part of the story. The bonus match 3 games at at the end can keep me amused for an hour or more at a time.
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition One of the first 10 games I bought when becoming a member: look, story and music were superb for a new hidden object player.
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's The Black Cat CE Poe wrote some creepy stories that's for sure, and this game would have made him proud. Mark Davies has reported his wife Sarah, missing for nearly two weeks and Detective Dupin has asked for your assistance once again. People around town are beginning to believe that this is either a hoax or a haunting because people have actually seen Sarah walking the streets with her beloved black cat (more like creepy with that single red eye!) but when approached, Sarah simply vanishes into thin air! You would normally brush that off to superstition if you hadn't seen Sarah holding her cat by the window with your very own eyes, this case is going to require all of your detective skills. I do have a few gripes with the mechanics of this game, mainly in the fact that there is no hint button other than in a hidden object scene, and the strategy guide (and Collectors Edition extras) is only available if you purchase the game. Personally, I want to see what goodies are inside before I buy. There are no voiceovers, you will have to read a lot of dialog boxes, and they sometimes get frustrating when you click on an item and the dialog box pops up directly on top of the item you are trying to figure out what to do with, and you have to click the continue button or click out of the zoomed in area and return to the area. Other than that this is a fantastic story, I loved the graphics and the characters are very well drawn. The soundtracks are creepy and pleasant all rolled into one! The Hidden Object Scenes are slightly interactive list finds requiring you to click to open drawers or doors to expose more items. The mini games are fun, not frustrating and each scene has several areas of interest with many items combining before being able to use them such as using a string to tie a razor onto a stick so that you can cut the guard dog's leash from a safe distance. I won't say this is an easy game, there were a few things that even I got stumped on, but most of the game is logical meaning the solutions are usually solvable with uncomplicated solutions. The Collectors Edition has wallpapers and soundtracks available as well as a Strategy guide (not available on demo) and of course a bonus chapter. I think the strategy guide in the collectors edition is a wise choice due to the lack of a hint or directional button, but I plan on checking out the Standard Edition next, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this game this is my favorite hidden object game still to date, I love it, don't pass it up. its a great story and once you start playing, you wont want to quit
Date published: 2013-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Feast for the Eyes! NOTE: NO HINT button, except for on the HOS. The CE has a strategy guide. Luckily I read other reviewers mentioning this, and already by Chapter 2 I had referred to it twice. However, BFG does have a walkthrough you can refer to. What I like about this game is the type of graphics it has. BEAUTIFUL! It’s like walking around in one of the paintings that are hanging on the wall in the house you’re exploring! It is a wealthy person’s house and so the wallpaper, the furniture, the building, the details…they’re all sumptuous, ornate, and fancy. The lighting and shading is done SO WELL, that the game’s look is a combination of cozy, extravagant and mysterious. I guess they took a lot of care over it! The detail reminds me of the game ‘Curse of the Nightingale’ and roaming around at night, a little of Dark Parables: Briar Rose and Dark parables: The Exiled Prince. The fact that it doesn’t fit my whole screen really doesn’t matter because the items in the HOS are mostly adequately sized. After having played a decent amount of very enjoyable HOPAs that are more recent e.g. 2013-2015, this one is different because it has relatively more HOS and they’re of the word-list type and mostly not interactive. I LIKED this for a change. The atmosphere of this game kept a steady grip on me throughout. It isn’t a horror game, it’s mysterious. Another reviewer mentioned that when you click on items you get a rather annoying sound and I agree with this. After the initial loveliness of the stormy weather sounds, the music does tend to dominate and in most games I have to switch most music off after a while. But since the outdoor sounds are tied in with the music, so I too ended up playing in silence some of the time. I prefer it when games have more division of sound control. There are no personalized options available except for a choice between casual or expert mode. This game after all is a few years old now (2010-2011?) In casual mode, the hint button takes about 20 seconds on the HOS. Also I bought the CE which says has a Bonus game, but I really couldn’t find one anywhere. I tried all the regular places, like the Extra’s and just looking out for a separate selection button, but it wasn’t there. Maybe I did something? I’ve come to the conclusion that it would be really good if DEVS could make SOME of their games with the balance of HOPAs in favor of more HOS(like this one), and some of them with the balance in favor of the adventure component and to make it known in the game description. Personally I also like a MIX of interactive and non-interactive (not all interactive, because it just makes it like the rest of the game). Psst! Click on the chicken! ? Stand still as it makes it way past you…
Date published: 2015-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but fairly straightforward The game is a nice length, so one of the better value games. Good graphics too. It's fun with a bit of a detective novelish story. It's a bit linear though. There's not really all that much to figure out as most of the objects you pick up are used close to where you found them. Side games are pretty easy too, so I'd say this is a good game for people who are newer to Hidden Object Game genre or like to play the casual ones.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game I liked everything about the game except for the strategy guide not saving your place. Having to click through all of the previous pages in order to get to the page you want every time is really annoying! Otherwise, I loved the HOG scenes which were a bit challenging at times, and the graphics were very good. I would have preferred voice-overs, however. As far as length, I thought it was plenty long enough for the price. I was really pleased that I came across no occult themes-at least none that I saw. Would I recommend the game? YES!
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs a lot of help I love the Edgar Allan Poe HO games. This was a good game as far as story and interesting things to do, however, the following cons made the game very aggravating: No map. I got lost many times trying to get to where I needed to go. Strategy Guide would not keep my place. Having to go back through a bunch of pages to get back to where I stopped off was very aggravating. NO Hint except for HO games was aggravating. A lot of the HO objects were pure darkness and there was no way to find them with the naked eye. Hint and Skip were slow to refill. Right now I am stuck trying to get a gear out of a fish bowl with a magnet. The magnet will not catch onto the gear. So very aggravating especially when I am so near the end of the game. Will I get to finish the game? It looks doubtful.
Date published: 2019-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great I loved playing this game On my iPad. Now it is no longer available for my iPad. Boo that it is no longer available. Why.
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Poe Story Pros: Excellent graphics; challenging hidden objects; intelligent story Cons: Too much backtracking; I was lost without the online walkthrough because I didn't know where to go next; so many rooms to remember; music was uninspiring; some of the impediments to proceeding were downright silly, e.g., the carriage--you are not allowed to simply walk around it; some of the objects that should have worked were not the "right" ones.
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK.......kinda..... I love Poe. Dark Tales games are awesome. My only problem is, why are no hints? This is wonky. I think they could have made it a lot better. Anyway, pretty cool game.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Edgar Allen Poes The Black Cat This game was nothing like I expected. There are more HOPs than there are game. The puzzles are not really explained and items are very hard to find. I have played other ERS games that were really good, but not this one. I hated it. I feel I wasted $13.99 on a game that was horribly disappointing. It is not scary and there is no fear factor. Yes, there are ghosts, but they do not jump out and frighten you. So, unless you want a lot of HOPs with hard to find items, I would not recommend this game. I do not want to see you waste your money.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Black Cat I bought this game after reading the reviews. I was very disappointed. The only good thing about the game was the music and the graphics which were excellent. Right now I can't finish because I am stuck trying to get an object for inventory and the game won't let me have it. I read the comments on the forum and there have been LOTS of the same type of problems. There is not hint button except in the HOP's and there are a ton of HOP's. The puzzles are difficult to do because the instructions are not helpful and only a few of them have reset buttons. There is no vocal interaction and I thought the storyline was lame. I'm sure Poe did it much better. There is also no map. There is a strategy guide but there are a number of errors in it. The forum was started back in November and it doesn't appear that any of the problems have been fixed. At this point I am unable to finish the game. I have played other ERS games and enjoyed them, I will not buy any other Dark Tales games.
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Missing a few things 1) The Hint button isn't there!!! 2) What happened to the voices? Nothing was there and it would be enjoyable if we had voices. I even turned up my speakers it is not a game without the characters speaking. Apart from that, the drawings are excellent. Love the black cat in it.
Date published: 2020-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I must be playing another version? This has to be the absolutely worse game I have ever played, or rather attempted to play. Without having to go back and forth to the strategy guide, I would be totally clueless. This game is a great disappointment. I will give kudos for the rest of the games in this series though, wish they were the same format. No hint button or map to help. Total disaster.
Date published: 2017-09-15
  • y_2021, m_9, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_7506, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife missing and now it’s up to you to help!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.