Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(122.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife, Sara, missing and now it's up to you to track her down and solve the mystery! Follow a mysterious black cat, who seems to be purposely helping you, and discover helpful clues in Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's The Black Cat. Use your Hidden Object talents to tackle the case, and discover the evil culprit behind Sara's disappearance.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 410 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(122.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best!!! I found this game to be one of the best games ever! However I was tying to get through it without the help of the walkthrough.......no way!! Expect the unexpected!
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best I've Played! I actually played the second collector's edition game, (Edgar Allan Poe the Golden Bug, and I enjoyed it.... so I decided to try this one, which I believe is the first game in the series. Actually I liked it much better! I started in challenge mode, and halfway through, I was stuck, so I started again and played in regular mode. Even then... I found it very challenging as it related to game flow (lot's of unmarked hidden clues; travel between areas..etc). The best part however, was the feeling that "I have to get to the end soon", (and being disappointed), but to my delight.. I kept entering new places/scenes :) Loved it.. and love ERS games.! Kat2013
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Black Cat Another Poe masterpiece reincarnated into a masterpiece game! Sarah Davies has been reported missing for nearly two weeks and Detective Dupin has once again asked for your sleuthing skills to help solve this case. People of the town have reported seeing Sarah walking the streets with her faithful feline, but when approached, Sarah vanishes into thin air, as if she were a ghost! (they never say if the cat disappears too) Is this an elaborate hoax, did her oddly behaving spouse, Monsieur Mark have anything to do with her disappearance? One thing's for sure, this black cat seems to be purposely leading you to places of interest as if helping you put the pieces together of this bizarre missing persons case Even though this is one of the older Dark Tales game, I was still amazed at how vivid and detailed the graphics are, Detective Dupin doesn't yet have a voice, meaning that the newer Edgar Allan Poe games have voiceovers and this game just has dialog boxes that you have to read. This feature actually annoyed me, not because I had to read what each character was saying, but because the dialog boxes popped up directly onto the inventory bar each time I would click on an active area, with a "helpful" description. You would have to then exit out of the dialog box or press continue, if it wasn't an item that could be picked up but rather a task that required an inventory item. No biggie, just sort of annoying. The Hidden Object Scenes were slightly interactive list finds where you might have to click to open a drawer for example, exposing more items. Almost every scene has a HOS, just the right amount, not too many not too few and some of the items are very well blended into the area. The Collector's Edition has wallpapers, soundtracks, a built in strategy guide and a bonus chapter available. These extra's are only available in the full version, not the demo, and because there is no hint system during the regular game (only for mini games and HOS) I think the Collector's Edition is the better choice, unless you don't want any hand holding, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Game Definitely recommend it to all levels.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great E.A. Poe game I'm a rabid Poe fan, so I love these mystery games based on his books. (I also like the other detective in the game - quite handsome and gallant. ^_^) You do really get your money's worth in this game. I started on it last night and spent most of today playing it. It takes time (which is good) and not every puzzle is easy. There are a few you'll work on for a bit. I like that - I don't want to spend money on a game only to blow through it like it was nothing. There are also several scenes where you have to assemble things in order to move forward in the game, and usually the game won't let you start until you have every piece needed. The art is beautiful: the mansion, its grounds, and the lake you have to navigate are all very well drawn. There were one or two objects in the HOS's that were really difficult to see, but they were minimal and I just used the hint button for those. The one thing that was different in this game compared to most of the others I've played is the lack of a hint button within the game itself. I'm not quite to the level of never needing a hint or two to navigate through the house. Hints were available during the HOS's. Finally, the one really bad aspect of the game (for me) was the lack of any information for the puzzles. I would suddenly find myself in the middle of a puzzle, see the "skip" button start to fill up, and there were NO directions as to what I was supposed to do. Thank goodness for walkthroughs, because I had to check one on most of the puzzles just to know what was expected. If this studio makes another game I hope they address this glaring omission. Other than that, the game is great.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Edgar Allen Poe's The Black Cat Plenty of twists and turns within an excellent storyline, normally I've finished these games in a couple of hours, gripped from the begining. Excellent value for money. Well Done.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely Done As with the others in this set,it was an overall good game, the kind of fun you would expect in this series.The graphics are nicely done and the gameplay fun even though it was a bit repetative at times.The backgrounds are so artistically done it is worth the purchase.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dupin and A Black Cat - Such Fun! PLUS = After playing Murders in the Rue Morgue, I decided to try this one and LOVED it. The story kept my interest, and surprised me at the end. I enjoyed moving from place to place, and the graphics were wonderfully pleasing to the eye. I got stuck a few times and had to use the walkthrough, but that's ok, it means that the game was not too easy. Also means I will have lots of replay value playing it again and making myself NOT use the walkthrough. Another great game from ERS MINUS = None that I can think of!
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery challenge with adventure every where. Great sound and visual. HO's and puzzles kept one busy looking for clues while going here and there to use them excersised your memory. Very intriquing use of machinery attivation was mindbogling as programer's ability showed great talent. Wonderful game.....
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat As one of Poe's biggest fans I was excited to have this be one of the 4 HO games I bought as soon as I became a Big Fish member. Loved the look and feeling of the game, highly recommend it!
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE coolest game! COULD NOT put it down!! kept my interest PEEKED on thru the very last scene! Great hidden object pages! absolutely great story line.challenging yet fun!! i give this game 2 thumbs up OVER 5 stars!!!!
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the Poe series i love the Poe series games. the story line is wonderful the challenge is just right. i wish i would have bought the collectors edition. 5 stars all the way!
Date published: 2012-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quality Hidden Object Adventure This great adaption of Poe`s story "The black Cat", brings many hours fun of playing it. This game is really worth its money....
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Gem from the Edgar Allan Poe series of games Loved this game! Hints are found only in the hidden object scenes and nowhere else so this increased the level of challenge. Graphics are not great but don't detract from the enjoyment the game provides. If you are after a bit of a challenge and like games set in the 19th century then this is definitely the game for you!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very playable interesting long game! I love this game and it is not easy. For that reason I strongly recommend getting the collectors edition. I wish that I had. I have to keep leaving the game to read the walkthrough.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite I love playing this game over and over. Excellent all around. Good hints, good Hos. And there is a real bonus game in the collector's edition! an excellent one at that. The story is good. I come back to this game when I'm bored with other games. I don't play games for the challenge, I play for entertainment. And this one is entertaining! I have most of the Dark Tales and this one is still the best. Kudos.
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love this game i love mystery games but these ones are my favorites i love dark tales its really cool!!!!!!
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game! I only played the trial version but it was really exciting and challenging. I think of purchasing games of Edgar Allan Poe's stories.
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Should Have Purchased the Collector's Edition This was a neat game and I enjoyed it. It took some thinking to make some of the connections to tasks that needed to be done before you could progress. The hint button only worked in the HOS so if you got stuck, your only option was the walkthrough. The strategy guide and the extras were only available in the Collector's Edition. It seemed like there were "jumps" in the game and I'm guessing that these were areas that would have been filled in in the Collector's Edition. The HOS were good and I used a few hints to finish some of them. The mini games were interesting and not too difficult. Not too much back and forth, going back through the same areas over and over again. That really spoils a game for me. An enjoyable game, but I'd recommend the Collector's Edition instead.
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good game! This was a nice, long game with several locations and HOGs. No map, but I liked that it made you remember the route. Some puzzles were illogical (the rocking chair was already mentioned), but at the same time I don't like the solutions to be too obvious. The ending was too abrupt. Once again (as in other games it too often seems that the writers use up all their ideas and rush the ending. After all that effort we should have a more satisfying ending!
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from exciting, lovely game! I just finished playing this game, and I loved it! Again another fantastic ERS game. The game sucks you in right from the first minute and you have to know how it ends, no way you could stop once you've started playing this game!! The graphics are superb and beautiful, crisp and clear. So are the HOS, though they are challenging, but just doable. Not much interactivity in the HOS, but it's there alright, just have to look for it :) Puzzles are fun and not too difficult, but they have their challenges as well! The diary is fine and sometimes gives extra clues. So, why not give it 5 stars then? Well, there is no hint button at all during the game #only in HOS# and no map either. So this ends up in running around a lot with items you don't know what they are for, or on the other hand, looking for items you don't know what you what they are or look like , nor where they eventuallly could be... Some people may think this makes it extra challenging of course. The hint button in the HOS loads way to slow. Don't like waiting until the button has charged up to find that last item, I want to get on with the game! And there are no VO's, pity. But all in all, I absolutely ADORED this game #altough the cat isn't really cute) and had loads of fun playing it. So try and buy I would say... Have fun gaming!
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good length and storyline I thought this game was entertaining and had a good storyline. The length of the games was REALLY good with a couple twists and turns where another game might have taken the easy way out and ended it. Instead it kept going and introduced new locations that I didn't expect, which pleasantly surprised me and made for a really enjoyable game. A few times I got lost and had to resort to the walk-through, but I also have less patience than others do. Overall, I thought this was well worth the money and would recommend it to others!
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyed playing it ERS has good games. I enjoy more hunting for clues than mostly HO and puzzles. Worth the money. All the dark tales are good.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Good Story This story was good like the prior game to this Murder's In The Rue Morgue. Although, in this game I found it was a little less fun because most of the problems were repetitive (i.e. You need a key for everything to unlock every door and chest). There was A LOT of search and finds in this game more so than puzzles and the puzzles were made too easy. Basically, once you unlocked a box or a door, it gave you the answer for another puzzle, which practically did the puzzle for you so you would not have to think about solving it, but you were missing a piece to solve it so you are given yet again another search and find to get the missing piece. The search and finds were somewhat made more difficult because the graphics was made poorer on those and the image you were shown was really jammed with stuff so your eyes could not focus properly. They did draw the people and the surrounding scenery good, but just not the close ups of things. Other then what I have mentioned above. I did continue to play because I wanted to know what happened to Monsieur Mark Davies' wife. Which was worth playing until the end.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it but; not as good as Premature burial I purchased this game because I enjoyed/loved premature Burial so much but this game someone got lazy. They did not have the inspector do any talking, you had to read the coversation; which was not as enjoyable. It is a delicate balance between too much talking and not enough I guess. For those who really like alot of HO and puzzles this is excellent becase ther seems to be more in this game as opposed to Premature Burial.
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game In my opinion, this is the second best game in the series. I prefer Premature burial to this and Rue Morgue. Still, it's a good game and worth the purchase. Hidden Object lovers will appreciate it.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but not the best Overall, an enjoyable game. If you like Adventure/Hidden Object games, you should enjoy this one. Good story (find missing woman) and good graphics (cartoon-like but mostly well done.) Long in length. Lots of places to explore! You have a tophat-wearing assistant (?) who periodically explains things to you, although, not too much. The mini-games were ok. The challenges are not particullary inspired (about seven steps to wash clothes), but it did hold my attention. Kind of heavy on the Hidden Object scenes for me and they required a very minor amount of interaction (open a box, move a curtain). I did use a few hints, but most of the objects were findable. Some HOS were on the darker side. I played in advanced mode (longer hint recharge) and wished I had chosen the easier one. Had to use the walkthrough four or five times and that is too much for me. I failed to find a few critical items and not all solutions are obvious or intuitive. Note that flat work surfaces are there so you can perform some sort of work on them, like putting together items (or taking them apart). Some of these work areas are used more than once. While I do recommend this game, I am glad I didn't pay full price.
Date published: 2012-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Here Kitty Kitty I really enjoyed this game. Beautiful graphics, mini-puzzles were challenging and a good spooky estate to roam around in. I got a good laugh out of the chicken at the back of the house.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but fairly straightforward The game is a nice length, so one of the better value games. Good graphics too. It's fun with a bit of a detective novelish story. It's a bit linear though. There's not really all that much to figure out as most of the objects you pick up are used close to where you found them. Side games are pretty easy too, so I'd say this is a good game for people who are newer to Hidden Object Game genre or like to play the casual ones.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but so many HO scenes! First off, the game overall was good. I like adventure games like this. Its widescreen, which I love, graphics are great, and it has many hours of gameplay, over 4 or 5 for sure, but I didnt time myself. And, thats without even doing the bonus chapter. I was so ready to be done with this game because there were just too many HO scenes for me. I'm sure there are a lot of people out there like me that initially fell in love with games like this never having played anything like them before, but once you have played them for a while, you just want the adventure part. Not constantly finding objects. So it depends on what type of gamer you are. Either this game is for you if you love the HO's, but if you're really tired of them, Id skip this one till youre ready to find a ton of objects!
Date published: 2013-06-07
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_7743, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife missing and now it

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.